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Review chapter (ch.) 64B5-14, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), prior to completing your application. 
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64B5-14  

Pediatric Moderate Sedation Permit          $300.00 

 

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
  

Application for Pediatric 
Moderate Sedation Permit 

Board of Dentistry 
P.O. Box 6330 

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 
Fax: (850) 921-5389 

Email: info@floridasdentistry.gov 

Do Not Write in this Space 
For Revenue Receipting Only 

Name: _______________________________________________________________________   Date of Birth: _______________ 
Last/Surname   First   Middle                  MM/DD/YYYY 

Mailing Address: (The address where mail and your license should be sent) 

___________________________________________________  _______  ___________________________________ 
Street/P.O. Box        Apt. No.     City  

________________________________ ________  ___________________  __________________________________ 
State     ZIP       Country          Home/Cell Telephone (Input without dashes) 

Florida Dental License Number: _______________________ 

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY DATA: 

We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with 41 CFR Part 60-3-Uniform 
Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978); 43 FR 38295 and 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is gathered for 
statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 

Gender:   Male  Race:    Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander Hispanic  or Latino  White 
  Female    American Indian or Alaska Native  Black or African American Asian 

   Two or More Races  

 
 

Email Notification: To be notified of the status of your application by email, check the “Yes” box and fill in your email address on the 
line provided. If you choose to be notified via email you will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your email 
address with the board office. 

Yes No Email Address: ____________________________________________________ 

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records 
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing. 

Total fee includes the following: 

Application Fee (non-refundable)     $100.00 
Permit Fee         $200.00 

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Department of Health. 
Requests to withdraw or for a refund must be made in writing. The permit fee may be refunded if the application is denied 
without inspection of the applicant’s facilities.  
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

2. APPLICANT BACKGROUND

A. Do you currently hold, or have ever held an anesthesia permit, license, and/or certificate?          Yes       No 

If you responded “Yes,” complete the following:

License 
Type 

License # State/Country 
Original Date 

Issued 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Expiration 
Date 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
Status of License 

3. TRAINING PROGRAM

Refer to Rules 64B5-14.0025 and 14.003(3)(a), F.A.C., which establish the criteria for issuance of a moderate
sedation permit.

A. Have you completed a formal training course offered through a Commission on Dental Accreditation
accredited dental school or program in the use of moderate sedation or through an accredited teaching
hospital (Clinical training must take place at the accredited dental school or accredited teaching hospital)?

      Yes          No 

If you responded “Yes,” complete the following: 

Training Program or Institution 
Date of 

Certification 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Training Dates: 
From-To (MM/DD/YYYY) 

to 

to 

Applicants must provide the following: 

A copy of certification or letter from the dean of the dental school or head of the teaching hospital 
attesting to and describing the formal training. 

A patient chart or log containing type(s) and concentration of medication used for sedation. 

Documentation of actual clinical administration of anesthetics to 20 patients within two years of this 
application.  

B. Have you completed clinical administration of anesthetics to 20 dental or oral and maxillofacial patients within
two (2) years prior to application of the particular type of anesthetics for the permit applied for?      Yes       No

Practice Location (Where the administrations were provided) 
# of Administrations 

Given 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

C. Have you experienced any mortality or other incident resulting in temporary or permanent physical or mental
injury requiring hospitalization or emergency room treatment of a dental patient that occurred during or as a
direct result of the use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, pediatric moderate sedation,
minimal sedation, nitrous oxide, or local anesthesia?          Yes          No 

If you responded “Yes” to C, you must provide the following: 

A description of dental procedure(s) 

A description of preoperative physical condition of patient(s) 

A detailed list of the drugs administered and the dosage administered  

A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs 

A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of complications and 
the onset and type of symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and type of treatment 
rendered to the patient; 3) the onset and type of response of the patient to the treatment rendered; and 
4) final disposition of the patient.

4. FACILITY INFORMATION (Attach additional pages for any additional facilities)

List each location where anesthesia or sedation will be administered. The locations you provide will be inspected prior 
to issuance of your moderate sedation permit. 

Facility Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Facility Address: 

_____________________________________________________  _______  __________________________________________ 
Street/P.O. Box      Suite No.  City

_________________________________________ __________  ____________________________________   
State                      ZIP            Country 

Contact Information: 

________________________________________      
Telephone (Input without dashes)        

5. FACILITY OPERATIONS

A. Is your anesthesia/sedation location(s) properly equipped as outlined in Rule 64B5-14.010, F.A.C.?
 Yes         No 

B. At your anesthesia/sedation location(s), do you employ two or more qualified assistants/dental hygienists
who, working under the direct supervision of the dentist, assist the dentist, and assist in emergency care of
the patient as defined in Rule 64B5-14.001(9), F.A.C.?          Yes           No

All locations at which you administer sedation must be provided in writing to the board office. The holder of 
any general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation permit is authorized to practice 
pursuant to such permit only at the location or locations previously identified to the board office.  

Official notification must be provided to the board office at MQA.Dentistry@FLHealth.gov for any additions, 
deletions, or changes of locations. 
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 Name: _____________________________________________ 

6. DISCIPLINE HISTORY

A. Have there been any disciplinary actions initiated against your license in any state?    Yes  No 

B. Has any action been initiated against your license, permit, or certificate to administer anesthesia or sedation
in any state?          Yes          No

C. Is there any pending litigation or dental malpractice proceeding being conducted against your license, permit,
or certification related to the practice of dentistry or the administration of anesthesia/sedation?

        Yes  No 

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, complete the following: 

Name of Agency State 
Action Date  

(MM/DD/YYYY) Final Action 
Under 

Appeal? 

  Y  N 

  Y  N 

  Y  N 

 If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following: 

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action. 

A copy of the Complaint and Final Order.  

7. CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION

Review 64B5-14.003(3)(e) F.A.C. to view requirements for a dentist utilizing pediatric moderate sedation.
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64B5-14.

List staff available when pediatric moderate sedation is being administered.

Name  
Currently CPR 

Certified? 

   Y     N 

   Y     N 

   Y     N 

Effective March 1, 2022, if treating a patient 7 years of age or under, a dentist utilizing any level of sedation must 
be currently trained in Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS). 

Attach proof of your Basic Life Support (BLS) and Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) 
certification, and after March 1, 2022, PALS certification, if required. 

Attach proof of BLS certification for each support staff listed above. 

CPR certification must be from the American Heart Association or American Red Cross or an equivalent agency 
sponsored CPR course at the basic life support level to include one person CPR, two person CPR, infant 
resuscitation, and obstructed airway. Note: The “Heartsaver” course does not meet this requirement.  
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Name: _____________________________________________ 
 

8. APPLICANT RELEASE 
 

I, the undersigned, state that I am the person referred to in this application for licensure in the state of Florida. 
 
I understand that Florida law requires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any 
circumstances or condition stated in the application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or 
denial of the license and to supplement the information on this application as needed. Failure to do so may result in 
action by the board including denial of licensure. 
 
 
Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________ Date ________________ 
      You may print out this application and sign it or sign digitally.    MM/DD/YYYY 
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Board of Dentistry  

Anesthesia Credentialing Supplement 

Rule 64B5‐14.003(3)(2), F.A.C. 

 

 
This form is to be completed and signed by the program director or instructor, and the school or 
hospital seal embossed on this certification. Failure to comply may delay approval of your moderate 
sedation or pediatric moderate sedation application. Rule 64B5-14.003(3)(2), F.A.C., specifically 
requires certification that the dentist is competent in the administration of moderate sedation or 
pediatric moderate sedation and that the dentist completed at least 60 didactic hours and personally 
administered this anesthesia to at least 20 patients in a competent manner. 

 
I ______________________________, hereby certify that ____________________________,  
    (name and title of director or instructor)                                                (name of applicant) 
 
completed at least 60 didactic hours as described in above rule, including 4 hours in Airway 

Management, and personally administered moderate sedation or pediatric moderate sedation to at 

least 20 patients while completing this program and has been trained to competency. 

 
_________________________________________  _________________ 
Print Name of Director/Instructor                                                    MM/DD/YYYY               
 
 
_________________________________________              
Signature – Instructor/Director                      
 
 
__________________________________________________________________ 
School Name 
 
__________________________________________________________________ 
School Address 
 
 
Dates of Training:   Start: _______________          End: _______________ 

            (MM/DD/YYYY)                       (MM/DD/YYYY) 
 
              
(School/Hospital Seal) 
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