FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE APPLICATION

Department of Health Florida Board of Dentistry 4052 Bald Cypress Way, #C-08 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258 (850) 245-4474 Telephone – (850) 921-5389 Fax http://www.floridasdentistry.gov/ Email: info@floridasdentistry.gov

Dental Hygiene Licensure Application Instructions

Applicants are strongly encouraged to review s. 466.007, Florida Statutes and Chapter 64B5-2, Florida Administrative Code, prior to submitting the application. Links to these documents are located at www.floridasdentistry.gov.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:

- Successful completion of the National Board Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination prior to application (Graduates from non-accredited dental schools may submit proof of successful completion of Parts I and II National Board Dental Exam or National Board Dental Hygiene Exam)
- Successful completion of the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination in its entirety
- Successful completion of the state Laws and Rules Examination

Applicants must apply for the Florida Laws and Rules examination with The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA). Please visit <u>www.cdcaexams.org</u> to register.

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

GRADUATION from a Dental/Dental Hygiene school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association (A.D.A.); or

GRADUATION from a dental school not accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association; must have completed four (4) academic years of postsecondary dental education and possess a dental school diploma which is comparable to a D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree. Transcripts must be translated into English, and we must receive a subject analysis evaluation report from Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.

Effective January 1, 2009, s. 466.007, F.S. states that applicants graduating from a dental school not accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association may be required to complete additional coursework only after failing the initial examination. (Reference Rule 64B5-2.0144, Florida Administrative Code)

FEES:

Application fee	\$ 50.00
Licensure fee	1 <u>05.00*</u>
TOTAL FEE	\$ 155.00

*Licensure fee is \$55 for applicants applying in the second year of the biennium. All initial licenses expire February 28 of the following even numbered year. Licensure biennium dates are March 1 – February 28 of the even years.

The fee must accompany the application. Please make check or money order payable to the **Department of Health** and mail application with fee and supporting documentation and credentials to:

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH P.O. BOX 6330 TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32314-6330

Any supporting documentation and credentials mailed separately from the application should be mailed to:

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH BOARD OF DENTISTRY 4052 BALD CYPRESS WAY, BIN #C08 TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32399-3258

REFUNDS

The application fee is non-refundable. Applicants who require board approval will be scheduled for an appearance at the next board meeting.

If an application is received without the fee attached, the application will automatically be returned. A social security number issued by the Federal Government is required for licensure. After completing the application, double check to make sure you have marked all questions as "yes" or "no" or not applicable. Also be sure to sign and date the application. If you answered, "yes" to question(s) 3A-C, 4A-E, and/or 9A-F, please submit all supporting documentation with the application.

CREDENTIALS:

All credentials must be mailed to the Board of Dentistry office at 4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C08 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258.

- (1) **National Board Score:** The Board office must receive proof of successful completion of the National Board Dental Hygiene or Dental Examination. The scores must be mailed to our office from the American Dental Association.
- (2) **Final Official Transcript:** Transcripts mailed to the Board of Dentistry by the registrar's office with appropriate stamps, seals, degree, and signatures are necessary. ALL final transcripts must indicate the matriculation date, graduation date, degree earned, and be embossed with the school seal. We will not accept any transcript that has "issued to student" stamped on the transcript. Any transcript, which does not conform to these standards, shall be deemed unofficial and unacceptable.
- (3) <u>Certification of Licensure:</u> Please submit certification of licensure from each state in which you <u>HOLD OR HAVE HELD</u> a dental or dental hygiene license. This certification should state that your license is in good standing; appropriate signatures and embossed seal of the certifying Board are needed for validation.
- (4) **Prevention of Medical Errors Requirement:** Each applicant must complete a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors from a Board of Dentistry approved provider. "Proof of completion" of this course must be in the form of a certificate or letter from the provider and must be completed within the past two years. Information regarding providers and courses can be viewed at www.cebroker.com.
- (5) <u>CPR Certification</u>: Each applicant must provide proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.
- (6) Other: If you have changed your name in any way or added or deleted part of your name from the time you started your dental education, you must submit a copy of your name change document. If you do not have a name change document filed with the courts, submit a notarized affidavit stating the names are one and the same. Please notify the board office if you have documents being sent to us in another name.

If any question in section 3A-B, 4A-E, and/or 9A-F on the application is answered "yes", you must send all documentation filed with the courts, all letters/correspondence from the attorney explaining your situation, all letters from treating physicians, all information pertaining to any board of dentistry action taken against your license in another state, and any other information/documentation considered appropriate.

-	RIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH VISION OF MEDICAL QUALITY ASSURANCE BOARD OF DENTISTRY		ATION FOR IENE LICENSURE	DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
	ADEX Dental Hygiene Exam e Location			
1. APPL	ICANT PROFILE DATA	 Please attach cashier's Please print or type of 	s check or money order r Application will be returned	
Name:	Last First	Middle	Primary Telephone Area Code ()	: Business Telephone: Area Code ()
Mailing	Street and No.	Apt. No.	Social Security Nur Required; enter on	
Address	City Sta	ite Zip	Place of Birth:	(City, State, Country)
Practice	Street and No.	Apt. No.		nged your name through marriage or a court, or have you ever been known by any es No
Location	City Sta	ite Zip	If yes, list name(s)	and date(s) of change(s) below:
Height	Weight Eye Co	lor	Hair Color	
We are require (August 25, 19 RACE: Caucasia 2. APPL	ress (optional) ed to ask that you furnish the following information as part of 178). This information is gathered for statistical and reporting n African-American Hispanic As ICANT EDUCATION AND EXAMINATI f Dental Hygiene or Dental School you attende	ian Native Amer	t in any way affect your cano SED	lidacy for licensure.
Location	i City	State	Country	Did you Yes No Graduate? Results Pending Degree: Year graduated:
B. Other Colleges or Universities: Location From (Date)To: (Date)Did you graduate? Degree: > A final official transcript sent DIRECTLY from your school of Dentistry or Dental Hygiene must be received by the Board of Dentistry to be approved for licensure. C-1. Have you successfully completed the National Board Dental Examination? (applicants from unaccredited schools) Yes No Results Pending - If it is under another name, please give other name C-2. Have you successfully completed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination? Yes No Results Pending - If it is under another name, please give other name				

3. APPLICANT HISTORY – GENERAL	(ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESS	ARY)
A. Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no offense? You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was wi conviction. Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is not a minor traffic	hheld by the court so that you would not have a record or	affic
 If yes, please list date, jurisdiction (state and county), offense, disposition, and a on reverse side or an attached sheet and mail disposition papers to the Board off 		e No
B. IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and can certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as esta YES to any of the following questions, please provide a written explanation for each que conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documenta court dispositions or agency orders where applicable.	blished in Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes. If you an estion including the county and state of each termination o	r
 Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regar Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relat F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in a (If you responded "no", skip to #2.) 	iting to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893,	No
a. If "yes" to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than sentence and completion of any subsequent probation?	15 years from the date of the plea, Yes	No
b. If "yes" to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years f and completion of any subsequent probation? (This question does not apply to felo Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes).	• •	No
c. If "yes" to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Flori 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent prob		No
d. If "yes" to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted withdrawn or the charges dismissed? (If "yes", please provide supporting documer		No
2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, rega 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 Medicare and Medicaid issues)?		No
a. If "yes" to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since period of probation for such conviction or plea ended?	the sentence and any subsequent Yes	No
 Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursu Statutes? (If "No", do not answer 3a.) 	ant to Section 409.913, Florida Yes	No
a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the for the most recent five years?	ne Florida Medicaid Program Yes	No
 Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures esta state Medicaid program (If no, do not answer 4a or 4b.) 	blished by the state from any other Yes	No
a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recen	t five years? Yes	No
b. Did the termination occur at least 20 years prior to the date of this application?	Yes	No
5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Serror of Excluded Individuals and Entities?	vices Office of Inspector General's List Yes	No
6. If "yes" to any of the questions 1 through 5 above, on or before July 1, 2009, were program in the profession in which you are seeking licensure that was recognized be Department of Health? (If "yes", please provide official documentation verifying your series of the second s	y this profession's licensing board or the	N/A

4. APPLICANT HISTORY – PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE		
A. Have you ever been denied the right to take a Dental or Dental Hygiene examination in any state?		No
B. Have you ever been refused a license to practice Dentistry, Dental Hygiene or any other license – or the renewal thereof in any state?	Yes	No
C. Have you ever had a license revoked or a certificate of registration to practice Dentistry, Dental Hygiene or any other licensed profession revoked, suspended or otherwise acted against (including probation, fine or reprimand) in a disciplinary proceeding in any state?		No
D. Are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of the complaint against you was in alleged negligence, malpractice or lack of professional competence?	Yes	No
 E. Is there currently pending against you in any jurisdiction a complaint against your professional conduct or competence as a Dentist or Dental Hygienist? > If Questions 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D or 4E above are answered "YES", you must provide complete details as to state(s), license number(s), dates, and relevant circumstances on reverse side or on attached sheets. 		No
5. APPLICANT LICENSURE STATUS		
A. Do you now hold or have you ever held a license to practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene in any state, U.S. territory or foreign country? (List most recent first) Yes No If "YES", list ALL such State: License # If license is not in force, how and when was variable		
B. Do you have any applications for Dental or Dental Hygiene Licensure currently pending in any state or foreign country? Yes No If "YES", list ALL such state or juris	dictions	bolow
	actions	Delow
6. OATH		
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Florida Department of Health my information files or records requested by the department in connection with the processing of this application. I further authorize the Florida Department of Health my information files or records requested by the department in connection with the processing of this application. I further authorize the Florida Department of Health to release to the organizations, individuals and groups listed above, any information which is material to my application. I understand that it is my responsibility to supplement my application as needed to reflect any material changes in any circumstance or condition stated in the application which might affect the decision of the department and which takes place between the initial filing of the application and the final granting or denial of licensure. I understand that the application fee is non-refundable. I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of any license to practice in the State of Florida the profession for which I am applying.		
Applicant Signature Date		
STATE OF COUNTY OF Before me, personally appeared, whose identity is known (type of identification) and who, under oath, acknowledges that his signature app Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of	to i iears a	me by bove.
7. REMARKS		
This section is for any additional information you would like to give us. Please refer to the section number (within the application) you are r example would be: #1, Applicant Profile Data.	eferring	to. An

CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE*

Florida Department of Health Board of Dentistry

8. Name:

Last

First

Middle

Social Security Number: _____

*This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The Department of Health is required and authorized to collect Social Security Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCA s. 666(a)(13). For all professions regulated under chapter 456, Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is required by section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes.

9. - APPLICANT HISTORY - HEALTH

If you answer "YES" to any of the following questions, you must submit a current mental health status report from a licensed mental health professional, wherein this professional practitioner opines that you are able to practice with reasonable skill and safety to patients or clients.

A. In the last 5 years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in	□ YES □ NO	
any drug or alcohol recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or		
alcohol abuse that occurred within the past 5 years?		
B. In the last 5 years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired	🗆 YES 🗖 NO	
practitioner program for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment?		
C. During the last 5 years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed	🗆 YES 🗖 NO	
mental disorder that has impaired your ability to practice your profession within the past 5		
years?		
D. In the last 5 years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a	□ YES □ NO	
diagnosed substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a		
program, did you suffer a relapse within the last 5 years?		
E. During the last 5 years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed		
substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice your		
profession within the past 5 years?		
F. During the last 5 years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed	🗆 YES 🗖 NO	
physical disorder that has impaired your ability to practice your profession?		
	il l	

CERTIFICATE OF LICENSURE		
Instructions: For your convenience, you may tear out this page and send it to the Secretary of the Board in the state(s) where you hold or have held a license. However, only certificates bearing the ORIGINAL signature of certifying authorities will be accepted by the Florida Board of Dentistry.		
CERTIFICATION OF SECRETARY OF BOARD OF THE STATE IN WHICH APPLICANT HOLDS OR HAS HELD A DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE (Required of all previously licensed candidates)		
I,		
Secretary of		
Official name of Board		
hereby certify thatwas granted State Certificate No		
to practice Dentistry Dental Hygiene in the state of		
on the day of, 20, on the basis of		
 I hereby certify that the said applicant is in good standing with this board and there have not been any disciplinary procedures against, or pending on, said applicant. 		
(SEAL) NOT VALID WITHOUT STATE SEAL		
Secretary		
 If disciplinary action has been taken, please indicate, and submit supporting information. 		

CERTIFICATION OF COURSE COMPLETION FOR PREVENTION OF MEDICAL ERRORS REQUIREMENT FOR DENTAL HYGIENE APPLICANTS

PLEASE MARK ONE

Applicant's Name:	
	Name should be the same as stated in exam application
Provider Name:	
Provider Address:	
Title of Course:	
Title of Course:	
Date of Course:	
Number of credit hours offered:	

Signature of Authorized Agent

Date