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INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this booklet is to assemble andientify in one place the Florida laws and rulesvtoch the
Board of Dentistry, the Department of Health anatiflh licensed dentists and dental hygienists aulisére.

All of the Florida statutes and administrative suieentioned in this introduction are not includedhis booklet
but are easily obtained on request. (Those in &@dncluded.)

Chapter 466 Florida Statutes, is the law which governs thectice of dentistry in the State of Florida. In
addition to the law, the Board promulgates rulesitther define the mandate of the law.

Chapter 64B5 (formerly 59Q) Florida Administrative Code, includes the rulesrpulgated by the Board of
Dentistry. The Board is required by law to pronatégcertain rules to implement specific mandateis Rlorida
Statutes, Chapters 466, 455 and 120, and the Beardpecific authority to promulgate other rulethiwithese
statutes so long as the rules are not inconsisiénthe laws.

Chapter 456, Florida Statutes, is the law that gwsghe Department of Health. Within Chapter 466 t
Department's and the Board's scopes interrelaténtgrtivine and the Board must/may promulgate ridesrder
for the Department to carry out the mandate ofahe

Chapter 120, Florida Statutes, is the Administeafirocedures Act. The purpose of the act is tarertbat the
general public has access to information regartiagunctions and duties of administrative bodéeg, Board of
Dentistry and Department of Health, whose actioay affect the interests of private citizens.

Under Chapter 120, the Administration Commissitie (Bovernor and Cabinet) has adopted model rulespter
28) by which agencies are required to abide whetirdgwith rulemaking and hearing procedures togkient
that each agency does not adopt a specific ruprarfedure covering the subject matter containettiermodel
rules applicable to that agency.

Complaints against @ liCENSEE.........c.vuiirii e e e e (850) 245-4339
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ANSWERS TO MOST FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

(As a licensee, you are responsible for knowing tHaws and rules governing dentistry in Florida. Kep this
rule book for reference.)

RENEWAL PERIOD & FEES - Licenses must be renewed each biennium. Thenioie is March 1st through
February 28th of every even-numbered year. The &epresent are $305.00 for dentists and $10®600 f
hygienists. The fees for future bienniums areexthjo change Renewal notices are mailed at least 90 days
prior to the expiration date of the license; howeve pursuant to rule 64B512.013(5), it is the licensee’s
responsibility to renew his/her license whether onot he/she receives a renewal noticél he expiration date is
printed on each license. Ref: 64B5-15, F.A.C.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS - All licensees are required to notify the Boarawriting within 10 daysof any change
in their addresses. There is no way for a licemsaeceive communication from the Board if it hasircorrect
address. Ref: 64B5-17.0011, F.A.C.

CONTINUING EDUCATION DENTIST - For renewal of dental licenses, a total of 3@rkoof continuing
education is required which must include 2 hourshim prevention of medical errors. To receiveditrall
courses must be taken with board approved provideesh licensee must complete a course in HIV/AHDSr
to the first license renewal. Each licensee masipete a two (2) hour course on domestic violea@art of
every third licensure renewal. In addition to 8@ hours, for each license renewal biennium, ansied dentist
must complete a CPR course at the basic life stgpwel, which includes training in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support leveluiting one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for adcfitdgren,
and infants; the relief of foreign body airway albstions for adults, children, and infants; the wu$ean
automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the wfeambu-bags resulting in certification or redeséition by
the American Heart Association, the American Reds€ror an entity with equivalent requiremenxO NOT
SEND PROOF UNLESS YOU ARE AUDITED. Each licensee is required to retRROOF at least 4 years.
Ref: 64B5-12, FAC.

Anesthesia permit holders are required to comgétieast four (4) hours of continuing educatioratialy to
anesthesia each biennium the permit is held, tadectwo (2) hours dealing with the management edlical
emergencies. These hours would be included in3thénours of continuing education required by Sectio
466.0135(1), Florida Statutes.

CONTINUING EDUCATION DENTAL HYGIENIST - For renewal of a dental hygiene license, a twit@4
hours of continuing education is required, and rmgdtide 2 hours in the prevention of medical exrofo receive
credit, all courses must be taken with board apmoproviders. Each licensee must complete a caaorse
HIV/AIDS prior to the first license renewal. Eatibensee must complete a two (2) hour course onedtion
violence as part of every third licensure renewaladdition to the 24 hours, for each license watdiennium, a
licensed dental hygienist must complete a CPR eoatshe basic life support level, which includesning in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the bagipstt level, including one-rescuer and two-resdctiéR for
adults, children, and infants; the relief of foreigody airway obstructions for adults, childrend é&mfants; the
use of an automatic external defibrillator (AEDndathe use of ambu-bags resulting in certificatan
recertification by the American Heart Associatidghe American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent
requirements. DO NOT SEND PROOF UNLESS YOU ARE AUDITED. Each licensee is required to retain
PROOF at least 4 years. Ref: 64B5-12, FAC.

REACTIVATION OF LICENSE - To reactivate a license, the licensee may beinedjto submit the following
fees: renewal fee, active or inactive fee; delergy fee; and, if applicable, a processing feais iE not a penalty
fee, but the normal process a license goes threigh allowed to go inactive, pursuant to Chaptér. @36, F.S.

Proof of continuing education must be submittechwlite application to reactivate; 12 hours per yeadental
hygienists and 15 hours per year for dentistsdohe/ear inactive or delinquent.



AUDITING CONTINUING EDUCATION - Each licensee must show proof of completion aftiouing
education if he/she is selected by random audfte licensee will be contacted by the Board offfcgelected.
Ref: Chapter 466.0135 & 466.014, F.S.

DISPENSING PRACTITIONERS - This designation refers to dentists who, inrtbéfices, fill the prescriptions
they write. Thisdoes notrefer to a dentist who writes prescriptions tofiled at a pharmacy. Dispensing
fluorides and chlorohexidine rinse solutions arenegt from this requirementDo not register as a dispensing
practitioner unless you are one. The Departmemegsired to inspect the dental facilities of alp&nsing
practitioners.

DENTAL LAB PADS - Dentists are required to use dental laboratoogguure prescription forms when
prescribing work for dental laboratories. Only themtist to whom the pads are issued may use tifatre dental
laboratory used is located in Florida, it mustégistered and the dentist shall place the labistration number
on each prescription form. Dentists may utilize piinting company of their choice for printingtbé dental work
order pads. Rule 64B5-17.006, F.A.C., providestiiiremum information approved by the Board that nings
included on the form.

MILITARY STATUS - Licensees who are members in good standingeiiitied Forces and/or their spouses
are exempt from the fees and continuing educatguirements for license renewal. Military statngst be
indicated on the license for this to be applicabRractice in the private sector is prohibited wtoh military
status. Ref: 456.024, F.S.

FEES FOR DUPLICATE LICENSES AND CERTIFICATIONS - There is a $25 fee for each duplication of a
license, certification of licensure and permit.f:R@4B5-15.016, F.A.C.

REMEDIABLE TASKS - To perform remediable tasks an assistant orelmagi shall post his/her certificate of
completion from a dental hygiene or dental asgjstirogram accredited by the American Dental Assiocia
Commission on Dental Accreditatiam a course or program approved by the Board fopthipose of providing
expanded duties traininglf a new task is determined delegable in the rule it was not included in the
licensee's training, the Board approved expanded dy course teaching this task must be completed befo
the auxiliary can perform the task. The only intra-oral tasks deemed delegable are those listed in 68R6.
Ref. Chapter 466.024, F.S. & 64B5-16, F.A.C.

CERTIFICATION FOR DENTAL RADIOGRAPHERS - If an auxiliary has completed a dental hygiene o
dental assisting program approved by the Americant® Association's Commission on Dental Accreiditat
he/she need only post in the dental office hisietificate of completion to position and exposentde
radiographic film. If not, an auxiliary must woukder the direct supervision of a Florida licendeditist assisting
in the positioning and exposing of radiographimficomplete an ADA or Board approved radiology sewsnd
apply for certification on forms provided by thed8d. A $35 fee must accompany the applicatiorf: B4B5-9,
F.A.C.

LICENSURE EXAMINATIONS - Applicants for licensure as dentists and ddmgglenists must successfully
complete the practical or clinical examinations eleped by the American Dental Board of Examinens, |
(ADEX) and administered by the North East Regiddahrd of Dental Examiners, Inc. (NERB). Pleasét vis
www.nherb.orgfor information about the examinations, such aamémation schedules, candidate manuals and
forms.

Dental applicants who take the ADEX exam outsidé&lofida must meet practice requirements duringfitise
year of licensure. For complete information, ptegessiew s. 466.006, F.S.

ANESTHESIA PERMITS - Each dentist in Florida who plans to adminigieneral anesthesia, conscious
sedation or pediatric conscious sedationmust be permitted by the Board. Each facilityndtich he/she
administers must be on file in the Board officehwitte type of anesthesia indicated for each facilll permit
holders shall inform the Board office in writing of any change in authorized location for the use ofush
permits prior to accomplishing such changes Applications are available on the website

i v



http:/Mmww.floridasdentistry.gov. As soon as thpplication is complete, it shall be submitted te #nesthesia
Committee for review. The applicant must be eualiand the office(s) where anesthesia will be aiteired
must be inspected prior to issuance of the perRut. requirements to be permitted, refer to rulB®44, F.A.C.
Ref: Chapter 466.017, F.S., & 64B5-14, F.A.C. gthesia permit holders are required to completesat four

(4) hours of continuing education relating to ahesia each biennium the permit is held, to inclwee(2) hours
dealing with the management of medical emergenci@hese hours would be included in the 30 hours of
continuing education required by Section 466.018%{brida Statutes.

Telephone number for Board of Dentist§850) 245-4474

Make checks payable:to Board of Dentistry
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CHAPTER 466

DENTISTRY, DENTAL HYGIENE, AND DENTAL LABORATORIES

Legislative purpose and intent.

Persons exempt from operation of chap-
ter.

Definitions.

Board of Dentistry.

Expert witness certificate.

Examination of dentists.

Regional licensure examinations.

Application for health access dental [i-
cense.

Renewal of the health access dental
icense.

Revocation of health access dental li-
cense.

Repeal of a health access dental license.

Examination of dental hygienists.

Applicants for examination; medical mal-
practice insurance.

Certification of foreign educational institu-
tions.

Reexamination.

Licensure.

Renewal of license.

Continuing education; dentists.

Continuing education; dental hygienists.

inactive status.

License i be displayed.

Prascription of drugs; anesthesia.

Dentist of record; patient records.

Advertising by dentists.

Retention of dental laboratories by dentist;
penalty.

Peer review; records; immunity; confiden-
tiality.

Dental hygienists; scope and area of
practice.

Dental charting.

Delegation of duties; expanded functions.

Permitting of dental intems serving at
state institutions; certification of dentists
practicing at government facilities; per-
mitting of nonprofit corporations.

Prohibitions; penalties.

Sexual misconduct.

Lawful investigations; consent handwrit-
ing samples; mental or physical exam-
ination.

Establishment of practitioner profile for
designation as a controlled substance
prescribing practitioner.

Grounds for disciplinary action; action by
the board.

Specialties.

Proprietorship by nondentists.

“Dental laboratory” defined.

Registration.

Registration certificaies.

Change of ownership or address.

Advertising.

466.036 information; periodic inspsctions; equip-
ment and supplies.

466.037 Suspension and revocation; adminisita-
tive fine.

466.038 Rules.

466.039 Violations.

466.041 Hepatitis B carriers.

466.001 Legislative purpose and intent.—The

legislative purpese for enacting this chapter is to ensure
that every dentist or dental hygienist practicing in this
state meets minimum requirements for safe practice
without undue clinical interference by persons not
licensed under this chapter. It is the legislative intent
that dental services be provided only in accerdance with
the provisions of this chapter and not be delegated {o
unautharized individuals. It is the further legisiative
intent that dentists and dental hygienists who fall
below minimum competency or who otherwise present
a danger to the public shall be prohibited from practicing
in this state. All provisions of this chapter relating to the
practice of dentistry and denta! hygiene shall be liberally

construed to carry out such purpose and intent.
History.-ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330. ss. 2, 3. ¢h. 81-318; s5. 1, 28, 24, ch. B6-291; s.
60, ch. 91-137; . 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. 81-429; 5. 1, ch. 97-67.

466.002 Persons exempt from operation of
chapter.-——Nothing in this chapter shall apply o the
following practices, acts, and operations:

(1} The practice of her or his profession inciuding
surgical procedures involving the oral cavity by a
physician or surgeon licensed as such under the laws
of this state.

(2} A qualified anesthetist giving an anesthetic for a
dental operation under the direct supervision of a
licensed dentist.

{3) The practice of dentistry in the discharge of their
official duties by graduate dentists or dental surgeons in
the United States Army, Alr Force, Marines, Navy,
Public Health Service, Coast Guard, or United States
Department of Veterans Affairs.

(4} The practice of dentistry by licensed dentists of
other states or couniries at meetings of dental crganiza-
tions approved by the board, while appearing as
clinicians.

(5) Students in Florida schools of dentistry and
dental hygiene or dental assistant educational pro-
grams, while performing regularly assigned work
under the curriculum of such schools.

(6) Instructors in Florida schools of dentistry, in-
structors in denial programs that prepare persons
helding D.D.S. or D.M.D. degrees for certification by a
specialty beard and that are accredited in the United
States by January 1, 2005, in the same manner as the
board recognizes accreditation for Florida schools of
dentistry that are not otherwise affiliated with a Florida
school of dentistry, or instructors in Florida schools of
dental hygiene or dental assistant educational pro-
grams, while performing regularly assigned instructional
duties under the curricuium of such schools. A fuli-time
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dental instructor at a dental school or dental program
approved by the board may be allowed to practice
dentistry at the teaching facilittes of such school or
program, upon receiving a teaching permit issued by the
board, in strict compliance with such rules as are
adopted by the board pertaining to the teaching permit
and with the established rules and procedures of the

dental school or program as recognized in this section.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; ss5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. &, 23, 24, ¢h. 86-281, 5.
B0, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 84-156; s. 4, ch. 91-428; 5. 22, ¢h. §3-268; &. 2, ch. 84-104;
5. 280, ch. §7-103; 5. 1, ch. 20(35-188.

466.003 Definitions.—As used in this chapler:

{1) "“Board” means the Board of Dentistry.

(2) “Dentist” means a person licensed to practice
dentistry pursuant to this chapter.

(3) “Dentistry” means the healing art which is con-
cerned with the examination, diagnosis, reatment
planning, and care of conditions within the human oral
cavity and its adjacent tissues and structures. itincludes
the performance or attempted performance of any
dental operation, or oral or oral-maxiliofaciat surgery
and any procedures adjunct thereto, including physical
evaluation directly related to such operation or surgery
pursuant to hospital rules and regulations. 1t also
includes dental service of any kind gratuitously or for
any remuneration paid, or to be paid, directly or
indirectly, to any person or agency. The term “dentistry”
shall also include the following:

(8) The taking of an impression of the human tooth,
teeth, or jaws directly or indirectly and by any means or
method. .

() Supplying artificial substitutes for the natural
teeth or fumishing, supplying, constructing, reprodu-
cing, or repaiting any prosthetic denture, bridge, appli-
ance, or any other structure designed to be worn in the
human mouth except on the written work order of a duly
licensed dentist.

{c) The placing of an appliance or structure in the
human mouth or the adijusting or attempting to adjust
the same.

{d) Delivering the same to any perscn other than the
dentist upon whose work order the work was performed,

(e} Professing to the public by any method to furnish,
supply, construct, reproduce, or repair any prosthetic
denture, bridge, appliance, or other struciure designed
1o be worn in the human mouth.

() Diagnosing, prescribing, or treating or professing
te diagnose, prescribe, or freat disease, pain, deformity,
deficiency, injury, or physical condition of the human
teeth or jaws or cral-maxillofacial region.

{g) Extracting or altempting to exiract human teeth.

{hy Correcting or attempting to correct malformations
of teeth or of jaws.

{) Repairing or attempting to repair cavities in the
human teeth.

(4) “Dental hygiene” means the rendering of educa-
tional, preventive, and therapeutic dentai services
pursuant to ss. 466.023 and 466.024 and any related
extra-oral procedure required in the performance of
such services.

(5) "Dental hyglenist” means a person licensed to
practice dental hygiene pursuant to this chapter.

{6) “Dental assistant” means a person, other than a
denta! hygienist, who, under the supervision and
authorization of a dentist, provides dentai care services
directly 1o a patient. This term shall not include a
certified registered nurse anesthetist licensed under
part | of chapter 464.

(7) “Depariment” means the Department of Health.

{(8) “Direct supervision” means supervision whereby
a dentist diagnoses the condition to be treated, a dentist
authorizes the procedure to be performead, a dentist
remains on the premises while the procedures are
performed, and a dentist approves the work performed
before dismissai of the patient.

{9 “Indirect supervision” means supervision where-
by a dentist authorizes the procedure and a dentist is on
the premises while the procedures are performed.

{10} “General supervision” means supervision where-
by a dentist authorizes the procedures which are being
carried cut but need not be present when the authorized
procedures are being performed. The authorized pro-
cedures may also be performed at a place other than
the dentist's usual place of practice. The issuance of a
written work authorization o a commercial dental
laboratory by a dentist does not constitute general
supervision.

{11) "lrremediable tasks” are those intraoral treat-
mant tasks which, when performed, are irreversible and
create unalferable changes within the oral cavity or the
contiguous structures or which cause an increased risk
to the patient. The administration of anesthetics other
than topical anesthesia is considered to be an "trreme-
diable task” for purposes of this chapter.

(12) “Remediable tasks” are those intracral treatment
tasks which are reversible and do not create unalterable
changes within the oral cavity or the contiguous
structures and which do not cause an increased risk
to the patient.

(13} “Oral and maxillofacial surgery” means the
specialty of dentistry involving diagnosis, surgery, and
adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries, and defects
involving the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard
and soft tissues of the oral and maxiliofacial regions.
This term may not be construed to apply ¢ any
individual exempt under s. 466.002{1).

(14) “Health access selting” means a program of an
institution of the Department of Children and Family
Services, the Department of Health, the Depariment of
Juvenile Justice, a nonprofit community health center, a
Head Start center, a federally quaiified health center or
iock-alike as defined by federal law, a school-based
prevention program, a clinic operated by an accredited
coliege of dentistry, or an accredited dental hygiene
program in this state if such communily service program
or institution immediately reports o the Board of
Dentistry all violations of s. 466.027, s. 456.028, or
other practice act or standard of care violations related
to the actions or inactions of a dentist, dental hygienist,
or dental assistant engaged in the delivery of dental
care in such setting.

(15) “School-based prevention program” means pre-
ventive oral health services offered at a school by one of
the entities defined in subsection {14) or by a nonprotit
organization that is exempt from federal income taxation
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under s, 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, and

described in s. 501(¢)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; s5. 2, 3. ch, §1-318; 85, 3, 23, 24, ¢ch. 86-291: 5.
&0, ch. 91-137; 8.7, ch. §1-156; 8. 4, ch, 91-429: 6. 1, ¢h, 94-104. 5. 126, ch. 94-218;
s. 2, ch. 97-67, 5. 107, ch. 97-264; 5. 130, ch. 2000-318; 5. 1, ¢h. 2008-64; 5. 4, ch.
2011-95,

466.004 Board of Dentistry.—

(1) To carry out the provisions of this chapter, there
is created within the department the Board of Dentistry
consisting of 11 members who shall be appaointed by the
Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senale.
Seven members of the board must be licensed dentists
actively engaged in the clinical practice of dentistry in
this state; two members must be licensed dental
hygienists actively engaged in the practice of dental
hygiene in this state; and the remaining two members
must be laypersons who are not, and have never been,
dentists, dental hygienists, or members of any closely
related profession or occupation. Each member of the
board who is a licensed dentist must have been actively
engaged in the practice of dentistry primarily as &
ciinical practitioner for at least 5 years immediately
preceding the date of her or his appointment to the
board and must remain primarily in clinical practice
during all subsequent periods of appecintment to the
board. Each member of the board who is connected in
any way with any dental college or community college
must be in compliance with s. 456.007. At least cne
member of the board must be 60 years of age or older.
Members shall be appointed for 4-year terms, but may
serve no more than a total of 1¢ years.

{2} To advise the board, # is the intent of the
Legislature that councils be appointed as specified in
paragraphs {a), (b}, and (¢). The depariment shall
provide administrative support to the councils and
shall provide public notice of meetings and agenda of
the counciis. Councils shall include at least one board
membper who shali chair the councii and shall inciude
nonboard members. Al council members -shall be
appointed by the board chair. Council members shall
be appointed for 4-year terms, and all members shali be
eligible for reimburgement of expenses in the manner of
board members.

(@) A Councii on Dental Hygiene shall be appointed
by the board chair and shall include one dental hygienist
mamber of the board, who shail chair the council, one
dental member of the board, and three dental hygienists
who are actively engaged in the practice of dental
hygiene in this state. In making the appointments, the
chair shall consider recommendations from the Florida
Dental Hygiene Association. The council shall meet at
the request of the board chalr, a majority of the
members of the board, or the council chair, however,
the council must meet ai least thtee times a year. The
council is charged with the responsibility of and shall
meet for the purpose of developing rules and policies for
recommendation o the board, which the board shall
consider, on matters pertaining o that part of dentistry
consisting of educational, preventive, or therapeutic
dental hygiene services; dental hygiene Hcensure,
discipiine, or regulation; and dental hygiene education.
Rule and policy recommendations of the council shall be
considered by the board at its next regularly scheduled

meeting in the same manner in which it considers rule
and policy recommendations from designated subcom-
mittess of the poard. Any rule or policy proeposed by the
board pertaining to the specified part of dentistry defined
by this subsection shall be referred to the council for a
recommendation before final action by the board. The
board may take final action on rules pertaining to the
specified part of dentistry defined by this subsection
without a council recommendation if the council fails to
submit a recommendation in a timely ifashion as
prescribed by the board.

{oy A Councit on Dental Assisting shall be appointed
by the board chair and shall include one board member
who shall chair the council and three dental assistants
who are actively engaged in dental assisting. The
council shall meet at the request of the board chair or
a majority of the members of the board. The council
shall meet for the purpose of developing recommenda-
tions to the board on matters pertaining to that part of
dentistry related to dental assisting.

(c) With the concurrence of the State Surgeon
General, the beoard chair may create and abolish
other advisory councils relating to dental subiects,
including, but not limited to: examinations, access to
dental care, indigent care, nursing home and institu-
tional care, public health, disciplinary guidelines, and
other subjects as appropriate. Such councils shall be
appoinied by the board chair and shall include at least
one board member who shall serve as chair.

(3) The board shali maintain its headguarters in
Tallahasses.

(4) The board is authorized to adopt rules pursuant
to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54 o implement the provi-
sions of this chapter and chapter 456, including the
establishment of a fee to defray the cost of duplicating
any license certification or permit, not to exceed $10 per
duplication.

{5) The board is authorized to publish and distribute
such pamphiets, newsletters, and other publications as
are reasonably necessary.

(B) Ali provisions of chapter 456 relating to the beard

shall apply.

Histary.-—ss, 1, 3, ch, 79-330; 55, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 4, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5.
17, ch. B7-172; 5,47, ch, 80-228; 5. 1, ch. 80-341; 5. 80, ch. 91-137; 8. 7, ¢h. 37-156;
5. 4, ch, 91-428; 5. 87, ¢h. 92-148; 5. 127, ch. 94-218; 5. 1, ch. 98-281; 5. 1107, ch.
97-103; 2. 69, ch. 88-186; s, 128, ch. 98-20Q; 5. 55, ch. 98-5; 5. 1, ch, 99-183; 5. 1,
oh. 20600-115; 5. 128, ch. 2000-160; 5. 2, ch. 2005-189; 5. 55, ch. 2006-1: 5. 85, ch.
2008-6.

466,005 Expert witness certificate.—

{1i{a} The department shall issue a certificate
authorizing a deniist who holds an active and valid
license fo practice dentistry in another state or a
province of Canada to provide expert testimony in this
state, if the dentist submits to the department:

1. A compiete registration application containing the
dentist's legal name, mailing address, telephone num-
ber, business [ocations, the names of the jurisdictions
where the dentist holds an active and valid license 1o
practice dentistry, and the license number or other
identifying number issued to the dentist by the jurisdic-
tion's licensing entity; and

2. An application fee of $50.

(k) The department shall approve an apglication for
an expert witness certificate within 10 business days
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after receipt of the completed application and payment
of the application fee if the applicant holds an active and
valid license to practice dentistry in another state or a
province of Canada and has not had a previous expetrt
witness certificate revoked by the board. An application
is approved by default i the department does not act
upon the application within the required period. A dentist
must notily the department in writing of his or her intent
o rely on a certificate approved by default.

(c) An expert witnass certificate is valid for 2 years
aiter the date of issuance.

{2) An expert witness certificate authorizes the
dentist to whom the certificate is issued to do only the
foliowing:

(a) Provide a verified written medical expert opinion
as provided in 5. 766.203.

(k) Provide expert testimeny about the prevalling
professional standard of care in connection with medicai
negligence iitigation pending in this state against a
dentist licensed under this chapter.

(3} Anexpertwitness caertificate doas not authorize a
dentist to engage in the practice of dentistry as defined
in s. 466.003. A dentist issued a certificate under this
section who does not otherwise practice dentistry in this
state is not required to cbtain a license under this
chapter or pay any license fees. An expert witness
certificate shall be treated as a license in any discipiin-
ary action, and the hoider of an expert witness certificate

shall be subject to discipline by the board.
History,—s. 6, ch, 2011-233.

466.006 Examination of dentists.—

{1¥{a) ltis the intent of the Legisiature to reduce the
costs associated with an independent state-developed
practical or clinicai examination to measure an appli-
cant's ability fo practice the profession of dentistry and
to use the American Dental Licensing Examination
developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners,
Inc., in lieu of an independent state-developed practical
or clinical examination. The Legislature finds that the
American Dental Licensing Examination, in both its
structure and function, consistently meets generally
accepted testing standards and has been found, as itis
currently organized and operating, to adequately and
reliably measure an applicant’s ability fo practice the
profession of dentistry.

{b) Any person desiring {0 be licensed as a dentist
shall apply to the department to take the licensure
examinations and shall verify the information required
on the applicaticn by cath. The application shall include
two recent photographs, There shali be an application
fee set by the board not to exceed $100 which shall be
nonrefundable. There shall also be an examination fee
set by the board, which shall not exceed $425 plus the
actual per applicant cost to the department for purchase
of some or all of the examination from the American
Board of Dental Examiners or its successor entity, i
any, provided the board finds the successor entity’s
clinical examination complies with the provisions of this
section. The examination fee may be refundable if the
applicant is found ineligible to take the examinations.

(2) An applicant shall be entitled to take the exam-
inations required in this section to practice dentistry in
this state if the applicant:

(a) Is 18 years of age or older.

(b)1. Is a graduate of a dental school accredited by
the American Dental Association Commission an Dental
Accreditation or its successor entity, if any, or any other
dental accrediting entity recognized by the United
States Department of Education; or

2. isadental studentinthe final year of a program at
such an accredited dental school who has completed all
the coursework necessary o prepare the student to
perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures required
to pass the examinations. With respect to a dental
student in the finai year of a program at a dental school,
a passing score on the examinations is valid for 365
days after the date the examinations were completaed. A
dental school student who takes the licensure examina-
tions during the student's final year of an approved
dental school must have graduated before being
certified for Hicensure pursuant to s. 466.011.

(c)1. Has successfully completed the National Board
of Dental Examiners dental examination; or

2. Has an active health access dental license in this
state; and

a. The applicant has at least 5,000 hours within 4
consecutive years of clinical practice experience pro-
viding direct patient care in a health access setting as
defined in 5. 466.003; the appiicant is a retired veteran
dentist of any branch of the United States Armed
Services who has practiced dentistry while on active
duty and has at least 3,000 hours within 3 consecutive
years of clinical practice experience providing direct
patient care in a heaith access setting as defined in s.
466.003; or the applicant has provided a portion of his or
her salaried time teaching health profession students in
any public education setting, including, but not limited
to, a community coliege, college, or university, and has
at least 3,000 hours within 3 consecutive years of
clinical practice experience providing direct patient care
in a health access setting as defined in s. 466.003;

b. The applicant has not been disciplined by the
board, except for citation offenses or minor violations;

c. The applicant has not filed a report pursuant to s,
456.049; and

d. The applicant has not been convicted of or pled
nolo contendere te, regardless of adjudication, any
felony or misdemeanor related to the practice of a
healith care profession.

(3) Ianapplicantis a graduate of a dental college or
school not accredited in accordance with paragraph
(2)(b) or of a dental college or schoeol not approved by
the board, the applicant is not entitled ic iake the
examinations required in this section to practice den-
tistry until she or he satisfies one of the following:

{a) Completes a program of study, as defined by the
board by rule, at an accredited American dental school
and demonstrates receipt of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. from
said schoof; or

(b) Submits proof of having successfully completed
at least 2 conseculive academic years at a full-time
supplemental general dentistry program accredited by
the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
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Accreditation. This program must provide didactic and
clinical education at the level of & D.D.S. or D.M.D.
program accredited by the American Dental Association
Commissicn on Dental Accreditation.

(4} Notwithstanding any other provision of law in
chapter 456 pertaining to the clinical dental licensure
examination or national examinations, to be licensed as
a dentist in this state, an applicant must successfully
complete the following:

(a} A written examination on the laws and rules of
the state regulating the practice of dentistry;

(b)1. A practical or clinical examination, which shali
be the American Dental Licensing Examination pro-
duced by the American Board of Dental Examiners, inc.,
or its successor entity, if any, that is administered in this
state and graded by dentists licensed in this state and
employed by the departiment for just such purpose,
provided that the board has attained, and continues to
maintain thereafter, representation on the bhoard of
directors of the American Board of Dental Examiners,
the examination development committee of the Amer-
ican Board of Dental Examiners, and such other
committees of the American Board of Dental Examiners
as the board deems appropriate by rule to assure that
the standards established herein are maintained orga-
nizationally. A passing score on the American Dental
Licensing Examination administered in this state and
graded by dentists whoe are licensed in this state is valid
for 365 days after the date the official examination
results are published.

2.a. As an alternative to the requirements of sub-
paragraph 1., an applicant may submit scores from an
American Dentai Licensing Examination previously
administered in a jurisdiction other than this state
after Qctober 1, 2011, and such examination results
shall be recognized as valid for the purpose of licensure
in this state. A passing score on the American Dental
Licensing Examination administered out-of-state shall
be the same as the passing score for the American
Dental Licensing Examination administered in this state
and graded by dentists who are licensed in this state.
The examination resuits are valid for 365 days after the
date the official examination resulls are published. The
applicant must have completed the examination after
October 1, 2011.

b. This subparagraph may not be given retroactive
application.

3. If the date of an applicant's passing American
Dental licensing Examination scores from an examina-
tion previously administered in a jurisdiction other than
this state under subparagraph 2. is older than 365 days,
then such scores shall nevertheless be recognized as
valid for the purpose of Ecensure in this state, but only if
the applicant demonstrates that all of the following
additional standards have been met:

a.{ly The applicant completed the American Dental
Licensing Examination after October 1, 2011,

(1) This sub-subparagraph may not be given retro-
active application;

k. The appiicant graduated from a dental school
accredited by the American Dental Association Com-
mission on Dental Accreditation or its successor entity,
ff any, or any other dental accrediting organization

recognized by the United States Department of Educa-
tion. Provided, however, if the applicant did not graduate
from such a dental school, the applicant may submit
proof of having successfully completed a full-time
supplemental general dentistry program accredited by
the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation of at least 2 consecutive academic years
at such accredited sponsoring institution. Such program
must provide didactic and clinical education at the level
of a B.D.S. or D.M.B. program accredited by the
American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation;

¢. The applicant currently possesses a valid and
active dental license in good standing, with no restric-
tion, which has never been revcked, suspended,
restricted, or otherwise disciplined, from ancther state
or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia,
or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico;

d. The applicant submits proof that he or she has
never been reporied to the National Practitioner Data
Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data
Bank, or the American Assocciation of Dental Boards
Clearinghouse. This sub-subparagraph does not apply
if the applicant successfully appealed to have his or her
name removed from the data banks of these agencies;

afl) Inthe 5 years immediately preceding the date
of application for licensure in this state, the applicant
must submit proof of having been consecutively en-
gaged in the full-time practice of dentistry in another
state or territory of the United States, the District of
Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or, if
the applicant has been licensed in another state or
territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico for less than 5 years,
the applicant must submit proof of having been engaged
in the fuli-time practice of dentistry since the date of hig
of her initial ficensure. ‘

(i) As used in this section, “ful-time practice” is
defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours per year for each
and every year in the consecutive 5-yaar period or,
where applicable, the period since initial ficensure, and
must inciude any combination of the foliowing:

(A} Active clinical practice of dentistry providing
direct patient care.

(B} Full-time practice as a faculty member employed
by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the
board or accredited by the American Dental Asscciation
Commission on Dental Accreditation.

(C) Fulktime practice as a student at a postgraduate
dental education program approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Com-
mission on Dental Accreditation.

(1) The board shall develop rules to determine what
type of proof of full-time practice is required and to
recoup the cost to the board of verifying full-time
practice under this section. Such proof must, at a
minimum, be:

(A) Admissible as evidence in an administrative
proceeding;

(B} Submitted in writing;

{C) Submitted by the applicant under oath with
penalties of perjury atiached;
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{D) Further documented by an affidavit of someone
unrelated to the applicant who is famiiar with the
applicant’s practice and testifies with particularity that
the applicant has been engaged in full-time practice;
and

(E) Specifically found by the board to be both
credible and admissible.

(V) An aftidavit of enly the applicant is not acceptable
preof of full-time practice uniess it is further attested to
by someone unrelaled to the applicant who has
personal knowledge of the applicant’s practice. i the
board deems it necessary o assess credibility or
accuracy, the board may require the applicant or the
applicant’s withesses to appear before the board and
give oral testimony under cath;

. The applicant must submit documentation that he
or she has completed, or will complete, prior to licensure
in this state, continuing education equivalent to this
state’s requirements for the last full reporting biennium;

g. The appiicant must prove that he or she has
never been convicted of, or pled nole contendere to,
regardiess of adjudication, any felony or misdemeanor
related to the practice of a health care profession in any
jurisdiction

h. The applicant must successfully pass a written
examination on the laws and rules of this state regulat-
ing the practice of dentistry and must successfully pass
the computer-based diagnostic skills examination; and

{. The applicant must submit documentation that he
or she has successfully compieted the National Board of
Dental Examiners dental examination.

(5¥a) The practical examination required under
subsection (4) shall be the American Dental Licensing
Examination developed by the American Board of
Dental Examiners, Inc., or it$ successor entity, if any,
provided the board finds that the successor entity's
clinical examination complies with the provisions of this
section, and shall include, at a minimum:

1. A comprehensive diagnostic skilis examination
covering the full scope of dentistry and an examination
on applied clinical diagnosis and treatment planning in
dentistry for dental candidates;

2. Tworestorations on a live patient or patients. The
board by rule shall determine the class of such
restorations;

3. A demonstration of periodontal skilis on a live
patient;

4. A demonstration of prosthetics and restorative
skills in complete and partiat dentures and crowns and
bridges and the utilization of practical methods of
evaluation, specifically including the evaluation by the
candidate of completed laboratory products such as, but
not limited to, crowns and inlays filled to prepared model
teeth;

5. A demonstration of restorative skills on a man-
nequin which requires the candidate to complete
procedures performed in preparation for a cast restora-
tion;

6. A demonstration of endodontic skills; and

7. A diagnostic skills examination demonstrating
ability to diagnose conditicns within the human oral
cavity and its adjacent tissues and structures from
photographs, slides, radiographs, or models pursuant to

rutes of the board. It an applicant fails ¢ pass the
diagnostic skills examination in three attempts, the
applicant shall not be eligible for reexamination unless
she or he completes addifional educational require-
ments established by the board.

(b) The department shall consuit with the board in
planning the times, places, physical facilities, training of
personnel, and other arrangements concerning the
administration of the examination. The board or a duly
designated committee thereof shall approve the final
plans for the adminisiration of the examination;

(c) If the appiicant fails 10 pass the clinical examina-
tion in three attempts, the applicant shall not be eligible
for reexamination uniess she or he compietes additional
educational requirements established by the board; and

(d) The board may by rule provide for additional
procedures which are to be iested, provided such
procedures shall be common to the practice of general
dentistry. The board by rule shall determine the passing
grade for each procedure and the acceptable variation
for examiners. No such rule shall apply retroactively.

The department shall require a mandatory standardiza-
tion exercise for all examiners prior to each practical or
clinical examination and shall retain for employment
oniy those dentists who have substantially adhered to
the standard of grading established at such exercise.

(8)(a) lis the finding of the Legislature that absent a
threat to the health, safety, and welfare of the public, the
relocation of applicants to practice dentistry within the
geographic boundaries of this state, who are lawfully
and currently practicing dentistry in ancther state or
territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, based on their
scores from the American Dental Licensing Examina-
ticn administered in a state other than this staie, is
substantially related to achieving the imporiant state
interest of improving access to dental care for under-
served citizens of this state and furthering the economic
development goals of the state. Therefore, in order to
maintain valid active licensure in this state, all applicants
for licensure who are relocating to this state based on
scores from the American Dental Licensing Examina-
tion administered in a state other than this state must
actually engage in the full-time practice of dentistry
inside the geographic boundaries of this state within 1
year of receiving such licensure in this state. The
Legislature finds that, if such appiicants do not actuaity
engage in the full-time practice of dentistry within the
geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year of
receiving such a license in this state, access to dental
care for the public will not significantly increase,
patients’ continuity of care will not be attained, and
the economic development goals of the state will not he
significantly met.

(h)1. As used in this section, “full-time practice of
dentistry within the geographic boundaries of this state
within 1 year” is defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours in
the intial year of licensure, which must include any
combination of the following:

a. Active clinical practice of dentistry providing
direct patient care within the geographic boundaries
of this state.
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b. Full-ime practice as a faculty member employed
by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the
board or accredited by the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation and located within
the geographic boundaries of this state.

c. Full-time practice as a student at a postgraduate
dental education program approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Com-
mission on Dental Accreditation and located within the
geographic boundaries of this siate,

2. The board shall develop rules to determine what
type of proof of full-time practice of dentistry within the
geographic boundaries of this state for 1 year is required
in order o maintain active licensure and shail develop
rules to recoup the cost to the board of verifying
maintenance of such fuli-time practice under this
section. Such proof must, at a minimum:

a. Be admissible as evidence in an administrative
proceeding;

b. Be submitted in writing;

c. Be submitted by the applicant under cath with
penaities of petjury attached;

d. Be further documented by an affidavit of some-
one unrelated to the applicant who is familiar with the
appiicant’s practice and lestifies with particularity that
the applicant has been engaged in full-fime practice of
dentistry within the geographic boundaries of this state
within the last 365 days; and

e. Include such additional proof as specifically
found by the board tc be both credible and admissible.

3. Anaffidavit of only the applicant is not acceptable
proot of full-time practice of dentistry within the geo-
graphic boundaries of this state within 1 year, unlessitis
further attested to by someone unrelated to the
applicant who has personal knowledge of the appli-
cant’s practice within the last 365 days. If the beard
deems it necessary {0 assess credibility or accuracy,
the board may require the applicant or the applicant's
witnesses to appear before the board and give oral
testimony under oath.

(c) It is the further intent of the Legislature that a
license issued pursuant to paragraph {a) shall expire in
the event the board finds that it did not receive
acceptable proof of full-ime practice within the geo-
graphic boundaries of this state within 1 year after the
initial issuance of the license. The board shall make
reascnable attempis within 3G days prior {0 the expira-
tion of such a license to notify the licensee in writing at
his or her last known address of the need for proof of
full-time practice in order to continue licensure. If the
board has not received a satisfactory response from the
licensee within the 30-day period, the licensee must be
served with actual or constructive notice of the pending
expiration of licensure and be given 20 days in which to
submit proof required in order to continue licensure. if
the 20-day period expires and the board finds it has not
received acceptable proof of full-time practice within the
geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year after
the initial issuance of the license, then the hoard must
issue an administrative order finding that the license has
expired. Such an order may be appealed by the former
licensee in accordance with the provisions of chapter
120. In the event of expiration, the licensee shall
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immediately cease and desist from practicing dentistry
and shall immediately surrender to the board the wallet-
size identification card and wall card. A person who
uses or attempts to use a license issued pursuant to this
section which has expired commits unlicensed practice
of dentistry, a felony of the third degree pursuant to s.
466.026(1)(b), punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.

775.083, or 5. 775.084.

History.—s8s. 1, 3, ch. ¥8-330; 5. 13, 15, 25, 26, 30, 34, 62, ch. 80-406; 88. 2, 3,
cihn §1-318; ss. 8, 38, 41, ch. 82-179, 5. 1, ¢h. 82-220; s. 1, ¢h. 83-172, 5. 87, ¢ch,
83-218; 5. 4, ch. 85-156; 88, 5, 23, 24. ch. B6-281; 5. 15, ¢h, 88-205, 5. 10, ch. 8%-68,
8. 48, ¢h, B0-228; 5. 2, ch. 80-341; ss. 13, 80, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-156; s 4, ch.
91-429; 5. 251, ch. §7-103; 5. 108, ch. 97-264; 5. 1, ch. 2004-300, 8. 3, ch. 2005-18%;
s, 2, ch. 2008-64; =. 8, ch. 2011-95; 2. 1, ch. 2G12-14,

466.0065 Regional licensure examinations.—

(1) It is the intent of the Legislature that schools of
dentistry be allowed to offer regional licensure exam-
inations to dental students who are in the final yearof a
program at an approved dental schoo! for the sole
purpose of facilitating the student’s licensing in other
jurisdictions. This section does not allow a person t¢ be
licensed as a dentist in this state without taking the
examinations as set forth in 3. 466.006, nor does this
section mean that regional examinations administered
under this section may be substituted for complying with
testing requirements under 5. 466.006.

(2) Each school of deniistry in this state which is
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the
American Dental Association or its successor agency
may, upon written approval by the Board of Dentistry,
offer regicnal licensure examinations only to dental
students in the final year of a program at an approved
dental school, if the board has approved the hosting
schools written plan to comply with the foliowing
gonditions:

{a) A member of the regional examination body's
board of directors or equivalent thersof must be a
member of the American Association of Dental Exam-
iners.

{b} The student must have successfully passed parts
tand 1l of the National Board of Dental Examiners
examination within 2 years before taking the regional
examination,

{¢) The student must possess medical malpractice
insurance in amounts not less than the amounts
required to take the Florida licensure examinations.

{d} Atleast one of the examination monitors must be
a dentist licensed in this state wha has completed all
necessary standardization exercises required by the
regional examination body. Recruitment of examination
menitors is the responsibility of the regional examination
body.

{e) Adeguate arrangements, as defined by the
regional examination body and as otherwise required
by faw, must be made, when necessary, for patients
who require followup care as a result of procedures
performed during the clinical portion of the regional
examination, The regional examination body must
inform patients in writing of their right to followup care
in advance of any procedures performed by a student.

{f) The board chair or the chair's designee must be
aliowed to observe testing while it is in progress.

{g} Each student, upon being deemed eligible by the
dental school to apply to the regional examination body
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to take the regional examination, must receive written
disclosure in at least 12-point boldface type that states:
“This examination does not meet the licensure require-
ments of chapter 466, Florida Statutes, for licensure in
the State of Florida. Persons wishing to practice
dentisiry in Florida must pass the Florida licensure
examinations.”

(h) The student must be enrolled as a dental student
in the student’s final vear of a program at an approved
dental school that is accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or its
SUCCBSSOr agency.

() The student must have completed all coursework
deemed necessary by the dental school to prepare the
student to perform all clinical and diagnostic procedures
required to pass the regional examination.

(i) The student's academic record must not include
any evidence suggesting that the student poses an
unreasonabie risk to any live patients who are required
for the clinical portion of the regional examination. In
order 1o protect the healith and safety of the public, the
dental school may request additional information and
documents pertaining to the candidate’s mental and
physical health in order to fully assess the candidate’s
fitness to engage in exercises involving a five patient.

(3} A student who takes the examination pursuant to
this section, a dental school that submits a plan
pursuant o this section, or a regional examination
body that a dental school proposes to host under this
section does not have standing to assert that a state
agency has taken action for which a hearing may be

sought under ss. 120.569 and 120.57.
History.-—s. 2, eh. 2004-308; 5. 11, ch, 20+1-95,

1466.0067 Application for health access dental
license.—The Legislature finds that there is an im-
portant state interest in attracting dentists to practice in
underserved health access settings in this state and
further, that allowing out-of-state dentisis who meet
certain criteria to practice in health access setlings
without the supervision of a dentist licensed in this state
is substantially refated to achieving this important state
interest. Therefore, notwithstanding the requirements of
s. 466.006, the board shall grant a health access dental
license to practice dentistry in this state In health access
settings as defined in s. 466.003 to an applicant that:

(1} Files an appropriate application approved by the
board,;

{?) Pays an application license fee for a health
access dental license, laws-and-rule exam fee, and
an initial licensure fee. The fees specified in this
subsection may not differ from an applicant seeking
licensure pursuant to s. 468.006;

{3) Has not been convicted of or pled nolo con-
tendere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeancr related to the practice of a health care
profession;

{4} Submits proof of graduation from a dental school
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Associaticn or its successor
agency;

(5) Submits documertation that she or he has
completed, or will obtain prior o licensure, continuing

education equivalent to this state’s requirement for
dentists licensed under s. 466.006 for the last full
repotting biennium before applying for a health access
denial license;

{6) Submits proof of her or his successful completion
of parts  and il of the dental examination by the National
Board of Dental Examiners and a state or regional
clinical dental licensing examination that the board has
determined effectively measures the applicant’s ability
to practice safely,

(7) Currently hoids a valid, active, dental license in
good standing which has not been revoked, suspended,
resiricted, or otherwise disciplined from another of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or a United
States territory;

{8) Has never had a license revoked from another of
the United States, the District of Columbia, or a United
States territory;

{9) Has never failed the examination specified in s.
466.006, unless the applicant was reexamined pursuant
10 5. 466.006 and received a license to practice dentistry
in this state; _

(10} Has not been reported to the National Practi-
tioner Data Bank, unless the applicant successfully
appealed to have his or her name remaved from the
data bank;

(11} Submits proof that he or she has been engaged
in the active, clinicat practice of dentistry providing direct
patient care for 5 years immediately preceding the date
of application, or in instances when the applicant has
graduated from an accredited dental school within the
preceding 5 years, submits proof of continuous clinical
practice providing direct patient care since graduation;
and

{12) Has passed an examination covering the laws
and rules of the practice of dentistry in this siate as
described in s. 466.006(4}a).

History.—ss. 3, 8, ¢h. 2008-64; s. 104, ch. 2010-5; &. 10, ch. 2011-55.
'Note.~Repeaied January 1, 2015, by s. 6, ch. 2008-64, unless reenacted by the
Legislatues,

1466.00671
license.—

(1) A health access dental licensee shall apply for
renewal each biennium. At the time of renewal, the
licensee shall sign a statement that she or he has
complied with ail continuing education requirements of
an active dentist licensee. The board shall renew a
health access dental license for an applicant that:

(a) Submits documentation, as approved by the
board, from the empioyer in the health access setting
that the licensee has at all times pertinent remained an
employee;

(b) Has not been convicted of or pled nolo conten-
dere to, regardiess of adudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a health care
profession;

(¢) Has paid a renewal fee set by the board. The fee
specified herein may not differ from the renewal fee
adopted by the board pursuant to s. 466.013. The
depariment may provide payment for these fees
through the dentist’s salary, beneiits, or other depart-
ment funds;

Renewal of the health access dental
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{d) Has not failed the examination specified in s.
466.008 since initially receiving a health access dental
license or since the last renewal; and

(8) Hasnotbeen reported to the National Praclitioner
Data Bank, unless the applicant successfully appealed
to have his ot her name removed from the data bank.

(2) The koard may undertake measures to indepen-
dently verify the health access dental licensee’s on-

going employment status in the health access setting.
History.—ss5. 4, 6, ch 2008-84; 5. 12, ch. 2011-95.
"Note,—Repealed January 1, 2015, by 5. 8. ch. 2008-84, unlass reanacted by the
Legislature.

1466.00672 Revocation of health access dental
license.—

(1) The board shaill revoke a health access dental
license upon:

(a) The licensee’s termination from employment
from a qualifying heaith access setting;

{b} Finalagency action determining that the licensee
has viclated any provision of 5. 466.027 or s. 466.028,
other than infractions constituting citation offenses or
minor violations; or

(c) Failure of the Florida dental licensure examina-
fion.

(2} Failure of an individua! licensed pursuant to s.
466.0067 to limit the practice of dentisiry io health
access settings as defined in s. 466.003 constitutes the

unlicensed practice of dentistry.

History.—-ss. 5, 6, ch. 2008-64; s. 8, ch. 2011-85.

‘Mote.—Repealed January 1, 2015, by 5, €, ch, 2008-64, unless reenacted by the
Leglistaiure.

466.00673 Repeal of a health access dental
license.—Effective January 1, 2015, ss. 466.0067-
466.00673 are repealed unless reenacted by the
Legistature. Any health access dental license issued
before January 1, 2015, shall remain valid according to

$5. 466.0067-466.00673, without effect from repeal.
History.—s. £, ch. 2008-64.

466.007 Examination of dental hygienists.—

(1) Any person desiting o be licensed as a dental
hygienist shall apply to the department to take the
licensure examinations and shali verify the information
required on the application by cath. The application
shall include two recent photographs of the applicant.
There shall be a nonrefundabie application fee set hy
the board not to exceed $100 and an examination fee
set by the board which shall not be more than $225. The
examination fee may be refunded if the applicant is
found ineligible to take the examinations.

{2} An applicant is entitied to take the examinations
required In this section to practice dental hygiene in this
state if the applicant:

(a) Is 18 years of age or older.

(b}1. Is a graduate of a dental hygiene coliege or
school approved by the board or accredited by the
Commission on Accrediiation of the American Dental
Association or its successor entity, if any, or any other
dental hygiene program accrediting entity recognized by
the United States Depariment of Education; or

2. 1s a graduate of a dental! college or school
accredited in accordance with s. 466.006(2)(b), or a
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graduate of an unaccredited dental college or school,
and has met the requirements of subseclion (3).

{c)1. In the case of a graduate of a dental hygiene
college or school under subparagraph (2){b)1.:

a. Has successfully completed the National Board
of Dental Hygiene examination at any time before the
date of applhcation;

b. Has been certified by the American Dental
Association Joint Commission on Nationa! Dental Ex-
aminations at any time before the date of application;

c. Effective January 1, 1897, has completed cour-
sework that is comparable 1o an associate in science
degree;

d. Has not been disciplined by a board, except for
citation offenses or minor viclations; and

e. Has not been convicted of or pled nolo con-
tendere to, regardiess of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a health care
profession.

2. In the case of a graduate of a dental college or
school under subparagraph (2)(b)2.:

a. 'Has successfully compleied the National Board
Dental Hygiene Examinaticn or the National Board
Dental Examination;

b. Has not been disciplined by a board, except for
citation offenses or minor violations; and

¢. Has not been convicted of or pled nolc con-
tendere to, regardiess of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a health care
profession.

(3) A graduate of a dental college or school shall be
entitied to take the examinations required in this section
to practice dental hygiene in this state H, in addition to
the requirements specified in subsection (2), the
graduate meets the foliowing requirements:

(a) Submits the following credentials for review by
the board:

1. Transcrpts totaling 4 academic years of post-
secondary dentai education; and

2. Adental school diploma which is comparable to a
D.D.S. or D.M.D.

Such credentials shall be submilted in a manner
provided by rule of the board. The board shalt approve
those credentials which comply with this paragraph and
with rules of the board adopted pursuant to this
paragraph. The provisions of this paragraph notwith-
standing, an applicant of a foreign denial college or
school not accredited in accordance with s.
466.006{2){b} who cannot produce the credentials
required by this paragraph, as a result of political or
other conditions in the country in which the applicant
received his or her education, may seek the board’s
approval of his or her educational background by
submitting, in keu of the credentials required in this
paragraph, such other reasonable and reliable evidence
as may be set forth by board rule. The board shall not
accept such other evidence until it has made a reasen-
ahle attempt to obtain the credentials required by this
paragraph from the educational institutions the appli-
cant is alleged to have attended, unless the board is
otherwise satisfied that such credentials cannot be
obtained.
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(b) Successfully completes one or more courses, of
a scope and duration approved and defined by beard
rule, that meet the requirements of law for instructing
health care providers on the human immunodeficiency
virus and acquired immune deficiency syndrome. In
addition, the board may require an applicant who
graduated from a nonaccredited dental college or
school to successiully complete additional coursework,
only after failing the initial examination, as defined by
board ruie, at an educational institution approved by the
board or accredited as provided in subparagraph
(2)(b)y1. A graduate of a foreign dental college or school
not accredifed in accordance with s. 466.006(2)(b} may
not take the coursework set forth in this paragraph until
the board has approved the credentials required by
paragraph (a).

{4) Effective July 1, 2012, to be licensed as a dental
hygienist in this state, an applicant must successfully
complete the following:

(&) A wrilten examination on the laws and rules of
this state regulating the practice of dental hygiene.

(b} A practical or clinical examination approved by
the board. The examination shall be the Dental Hygiene
Examination produced by the American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc. (ADEX} or its successor entity, if any, if
the board finds that the successor entity's clinical
examination meets or exceeds the provisions of this
section, The board shall approve the ADEX Dental
Hygiene Examination if the beard has attained and
continues to maintain representation on the ADEX
House of Representatives, the ADEX Dental Hygiene
Examination Development Committee, and such other
ADEX Dental Hygiene committees as the board deems
appropriate through rulemaking to ensure that the
standards established in this section are maintained
organizationally. The ADEX Dental Hygiene Examina-
tion or the examination produced by its successor entity
is a comprehensive axamination in which an applicant
must demonstrate skills within the dental hygiene scope
of practice on a live patient and any other compangnis
that the board deems necessary for the applicant to
successfully demonstrate competency for the purpose
of licensure. The ADEX Dental Hygiene Examinaticn or
the examination by the successor entity administered in
this state shall be graded by dentists and dental
hygienists licensed in this state who are employed by
the department for this purpose,

(5) Effective July 1, 2012, an applicant who has
completed the ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination in a
jurisdiction other than this state and who has obtained a
passing score may practice dental hygiene in this state if
the applcant:

{a) Has successiully compieted the National Board
Dental Hygiene Examination at any time before the date
of appiication;

(v) Has been certified by the American Dental
Association Joint Commission on National Dental Ex-
aminations at any time before the date of application, as
specified by state law;

{c) Has successfully completed a written examina-
tion on the laws and rules of this state regulating the
praciice of denfal hygiene;
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(d} Has not been disciplined by a board, except for
citation offenses or minor violations; and

(&) Has not been convicted of or pled nolo conten-
dere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a health care
profession.

(6)(a) A passing score on the ADEX Dental Hygiene
Examination administered out of state shall be con-
sidered the same as a passing score for the ADEX
Dental Hygiene Examination administered in this state
and graded by licensed dentists and dental hygienists.

{0) If an applicant fails to pass the ADEX Dental
Hygiene Examination in three atiempts, the applicant is
not eligible to retake the examination uniless the
applicant completes additional education requirements

as specified by the board.

History.—-ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 6, 23, 24, ch. 86-201,; 5.
14, ch. 88-208, 5, 60, ch, 81-137;5. 7, ch. 91-156, 5. 4, ch, 91420, 5. 98, ch. 82-149;
s 1, ch 244105, ¢, 2, ch, $8-287; 5, 1108, ch. 97-103; 5. 70, ch. 98-166; 5, 129, ch.
2000-160; s. 4, ch. 2005-189; . 11, ¢h. 2008-64; 5. 13, ch. 2011-85; 5. 2, ch.
201214,

'Nete.—-The word "Has” was inserted by the editars lor clarity.

466.0075 Applicants for examination; medical
malpractice insurance.—The board may require any
person applying to take the examination to practice
dentistry in this state or the examination to practice
dental hygiene in this state to maintain medical mal-
practice insurance in amounts sufficient to cover any
incident of harm fo a patient during the clinical

examination.
History.—s. 4, ch. 98-281.

466.008 Certification of foreign educational in-
stitutions.—

(1) The Legislature recognizes the need to ensure
that graduates cf foreign dental schools who have
received an education which is reascenably comparable
to that of similar aceredited institutions in the United
States and which adequately prepare their studenis for
the practice of dentisiry shall be subject to the same
licensure requirements as graduates of accredited
dental schools or colleges. It is the purpose of this
section to provide for the evaluation of foreign dental
schools and the certification of those foreign dental
schools which provide an education which is reasonably
comparable to that of similar accredited institutions in
the United States and which adequately prepare their
studenis for the practice of dentistry.

{2) The department shall be responsible for the
certification of foreign dental schools based on stan-
dards established pursuant to subsection {4). The
department may contract with outside consuliants or
a national professional organization tc survey and
evaluate foreign dental schools. Such consultant or
organization shall report to the depariment regarding its
findings in the survey and evaiuation.

(3) The department shali establish a technical
advisory group to review and comment upon the survey
and evaluation of a foreign dental school contracted for
pursuant to subsection (2} prior to any final action by the
department regarding certification of the foreign dental
school. The technical advisory group shall be selected
by the department and shall consist of four dentists, two
of whom shall be selected from a list of five recognized



F.S. 2012

DENTISTRY, DENTAL HYGIENE, AND DENTAL LABORATORIES

Ch. 466

United Slates dental educators recommended by the
foreign school seeking certification. None cf the mem-
bers of the technical advisory group shall be affiliated
with the schoot seeking certification.

(4) Any foreign dental school which wishes to be
certified pursuant to this section shall make application
to the department for such certification, which shall be
based upoen a finding that the educational program of
the foreign dental schoot is reasonably comparable to
that of similar accredited institutions in the United States
and adequately prepares iis students far the practice of
dentistry. Curriculum, facuity gualifications, student
attendance, plant and facilities, and other relevant
factors shall be reviewed and evaluated. The board,
with the cooperation of the department, shalf identify by
rule the standards and review procedures and metho-
dology to be used in the certification process consistent
with this subsection. The department shall not grant
certification if deficiencies found are of such magnitude
as to prevent the students in the school from receiving
an educational base suitable for the practice of den-
tistry.

{5) Periodic surveys and evaluations of all certified
schools shall be made to ensure continued compliance
with this section. Certification shall include provisional
and full certification. The provisional form of certification
shali be for a period determined by the department, not
to exceed 3 years, and shall be granted to an institution,
in accordance with rule, to provide reasonable time for
the school seeking permanent certification to overcomse
deficiencies found by the department. Prior to the
expiration of a provisional certification and before the
fult certification is granted, the school shall be required
to submit evidence that deficiencies noted at the time of
initial application have been remedied. A school granted
full certification shall provide evidence of continued
compliance with this section. In the event that the
depariment denies certification or recertification, the
department shall give the school a specific listing of the
deficiencies which caused the denial and the require-
ments for remedying the deficiencies, and shall permit
the school, upon request, to demonsirate by satisfactory
evidence, within 80 days, that it has remedied the
deficiencies listed by the department.

(8) A school shall pay a registration fee established

by rule of the department, not 1o exceed $1.,000, at the
time of application for certification and shail pay all
reasonabie costs and expenses the depanment expacts
to incur, in an amount not 1 exceed $40,000, for the
conduct of the certification survey.
- (7) The depariment shall renew a certification upon
receipt of a renewal application, accompanied by a fee
not o exceed $500. Each fully certified institution shai!
submit a renewal application every 7 years, Any
certification which is not renewed shall automatically
axpire.

History.-—s. 93, ch. 92-148.

466.009 Reexamination.—

(1) The department shali permit any person who falls
an examination which is required under s. 466.006 or s.
466,007 to retake the examination. If the examination to
he retaken is a practical or clinical examination, the
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applicant shall pay a reexamination fee set by rule of the
hoard in an amount not to exceed the original examina-
tien fee.

{2} If an applicant for a license to practice dentistry
fails the practical or clinical examination because of a
failing grade on just one part or procedure tested, she or
he shall be required to retake only that part or
procedura. However, if any such applicant fails more
than one part or procedure of any such examination,
she or he shall be required to retake the entire
examination.

(3} I an applicant for a license o practice dental
hygiene fails one portion of the practical or clinicat
examination, such applicant shall be required to retake
only that portien if she or he reapplies within 12 months.
if, however, the applicant falls the prophylaxis, she orhe

shall be required to retake the entire examination.
Higtory ~-sg. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; 88, 2, 3, ¢h. 81-318; g5, 23, 24, ¢h, 86-291; 5. 604,
ch. 81137, 5.7, ¢h. 91-156; 8. 4, ch. 81-429. 5, 252, ch. 87-103; 5. 14, ch. 2011-85.

466.011 Licensure.—The board shall cerify for
licensure by the department any applicant who satisfies
the reguirements of s. 466.006, s. 466.0067, or s.
466.007. The board may refuse to certify an applicant
who has violated any of the provisions of 5. 466.026 or s.

466.028.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 50,
ch 80-228: 5. 4, ¢h. 90-341; 5. 60, ch. 91-137. 5.7, ¢ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. §1-428. 5, 3,
ch. 94-105; 5. 3, ch. 96-281; s. 8, ch. 2008-64; 5, 15, ch. 2011-85,

466.013 Renewal of license.—

(1) The department shali renew a license upon
receipt of the renewal application and the fee set by
the board not to exceed $300.

(2) The department shail adopt rules establishing a

procedure for the biennial renewatl of licenses.,
History.—-s5. 1, 3, ¢h. 78-330; 88, 2, 3, ¢h, 81-318; 85, 23, 24, ch. 86-281, 5. 36,
ch, B9-162, 5. B0, ¢h. 91-137, 5. 7, ¢k, 91-156, 5. 4, ch. $1-429, 5, 180, ch. 34118

466.0135 Continuing education; dentists.—

{1} in addition to the other requirements for renewal
set out in this chapter, each licensed dentist shall be
required to complete bienniaily not less than 30 hours of
continuing professional education in dental subjects.
Programs of continuing education shali be programs of
learning that contribute directly to the dental education
of the dentist and may include, but shali not be limited to,
attendance at lectures, study clubs, college posigrad-
uate courses, or scientific sessions of conventions; and
research, graduate study, teaching, or service as a
clinician. Programs of continuing education shall be
acceptable when adhering to the following general
guidelines:

{a) The aim of continuing education for dentisis is to
improve all phases of dental health care delivery io the
public.

{by Continuing education courses shall address one
or more of the following areas of professional develop-
ment, including, but not limited to:

1. Basic medical and scieniific subjects, inclugding,
but not Hmited to, biology, physiology, pathology,
biochemisiry, and pharmacology;

2. Clinical and technological subjects, including, but
not fimited to, clinical technigues and procedures,
materials, and equipment; and
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3. Subjects pertinent to oral health and safety.

(¢} The board may also authorize up to three hours of
credit biennially for a practice management course that
includes principles of ethical practice management,
provides substance abuse, effective communication
with patients, time management, and burnout preven-
tion instruction.

{d) Continuing education credits shall be samed at
the rate of one-half credit hour per 25-30 contact
minutes of instruction and one credit hour per 50-60
contact minutes of instruction.

(2) Programs meeting the general requirements of
subsection {1) may be developed and offered to dentists
by any of the following agencies or organizations:

(a) The American Dental Association, the National
Dental Asscciation, and state, district, or iocal dental
associations and societies affiliated with the American
Dental Association or the Nationai Dental Association.

{b) National, state, district, or local dental specialty
organizations affiliated with the Amaerican Dental Asso-
ciation.

{c) Dentai colleges or schools accredited as pro-
vided in this chapter.

{d} Other organizations, schools, or agencies ap-
proved by the board.

{3} In applying for license renewal, the dentist shall
submit a sworn affidavit, on a form acceptable 1o the
department, attesting that she or he has compieted the
continuing education required in this section in accor-
dance with the guidelines and provisicns of this saction
and listing the date, location, sponsor, subject matter,
and hours of completed continuing education courses.
The applicant shall retain in her or his records such
receipts, vouchers, or certificates as may be necessary
to document completion of the continuing education
courses listed in accordance with this subsection. With
cause, the board may request such documentation by
the applicant, and the beard may request such doc-
umentation from applicants selected at random without
cause.

(4) Compliance with the continuing education re-
quirements of this section shali be mandatory for the
issuance of a renewal certificate by the department;
however, the beard shall have the authority to excuse
licensees, as a group or as individuals, from said
requirements, or any part thereof, in the event of an

urusual circumnstance, emergency, or special hardship.
History.—ss. 3, 5, ch. 85-156; ss. 7, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 60, ch. 91-137: 5, 7,
of. 81-156; 5. 4, ch. 81-426; 5. 258, ch. 87-103; 5. 5, ch. 2005-189.

466.014 Continuing education; dental hygie-
nists.—In addition to the other requirements for re-
licensure for dental hygienisis set out in this act, the
board shall require each licensed dental hygienist to
complete not less than 24 hours or more than 36 hours
of continuing professional education in dental subjects,
biennially, in programs prescribed or approved by the
board or in equivalent programs of continuing educa-
tion. Programs of continuing education approved by the
board shall be programs of learning which, in the opinion
of the board, contribute directly to the dental education
of the dental hygienist. The board shail adopt rules and
guidelines to administer and enforce the provisions of
this section. in applying for license renewal, the dental
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hygienist shall submit a sworn affidavit, on a form
acceptable to the department, attesting that'she or he
has completed the continuing education required in this
section in accordance with the guidelines and provisions
of this section and listing the date, location, sponsor,
subject matter, and hours of completed continuing
education courses. The applicant shall retain in her or
his records such receipts, vouchers, or certificates as
may be necessary to document completion of the
coniinuing education courses listed in accordance
with this section. With cause, the board may request
such documentation by the applicant, and the hoard
may request such documentation from applicants
selected at random without cause. Compliance with
the continuing education requiraments shall be manda-
tory for issuance of the renewal certificate. The board
shall have the authority to excuse licensesas, as a group
or as individuals, from the continuing educational
requirements, or any part thereof, in the event an
unusual circumstance, emergency, of hardship has

prevented compliance with this section.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 831-318: 55, 8. 23, 24, ch. 86-281: 5.
80, oft. §1-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-156; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s, 254, oh. §7-103; 5. 122, ch.
2000-153

466.0M15 Inactive status.—

(1) The board shall adopt rules relating to application
procedures for inactive status, to the renewal of inactive
licenses, and to the reactivation of licenses. The board
shall prescribe by rule an appilication fee for inactive
status, a biennial renewal fee for inactive status, a
delinquency fee, and a fee for the reactivation of a
license. None of these fees may exceed the bienniat
renewal fee established by the board for an active
license.

(2) The department shall not reactivale a license
unless the inactive or delinguent licensee has paid any
applicable biennial renewal or delinquency fee, or both,

and a reactivation fee.

Higlory.-—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; 5. 327, ch. $1-259: 58, 2, 3, ch. B1-318; 5. 104, oh.
83-329; 55. 5, 23, 24, ch. 868-291: 8, 60, ch. $1-137, 5. 7, ch. 91-158; 5. 4, ch. §1-429;
5. 181, ch. 94-118,

466.016 License to be displayed.—Every practi-
tioner of dentistry or dental hygiene within the meaning
of this chapter shall post and keep censpicuously
displayed her or his license in the office wherein she
or he practices, in plain sight of the practitioner's
patients. Any dentist or dental hygienist who practices
at more than one location shall be required to display a
copy of her or his license in each office where she or he

practices.
History.--s5. 1, 3, ¢ch, 79-330; s8. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; eg. 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 3. 60,
ch. 81-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-158, 5. 4, ch. $1-429, 5. 255, ch. 97-103.

466.017 Prescription of drugs; anesthesia.—

(1) A dentist shall have the right to prescribe drugs
or medicine, subject to limitations imposed by law;
perform surgical operations within the scope of her or
his practice and training; administer general or local
anesthesia ot sedation, subject to fimitations imposed
by law; and use such appliances as may be necessary
to the proper practice of dentistry.

(2) Pharmacists licensed pursuant to chapter 465
may fill prescriptions of legally licensed dentists in this
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state for any drugs necessaty for the practice of
dentistry.

{3) The hoard shall adopt rules which:

{a) Define general anesthesia.

{b) Specify which methods of general or local
anesthesia or sedation, f any, are limited or prohibited
for use by dentists.

{c) Establish minimal training, education, experi-
ence, or ceriification for a deniist to use general
anesthesia or sedation, which rules may exclude, in
the board's discretion, these dentists using general
anesthesia or sedation in a competent and effective
manner as of the effective date of the rules.

{d} Establish further requirements relating to the use
of general anesthesia or sedation, including, but not
imited to, office equipment and the training of dental
assistants or dental hygienists who work with dentists
using general anesthesia or sedation.

{e) Estabiish an administrative machanism enabling
the board to verify compliance with training, education,
experience, equipment, or certification requirements of
dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants
adopted pursuant to this subsection. The board may
charge a fee 10 defray the cost of verifying compliance
with requirements adopted pursuant to this paragraph.

(4) A dentist or dental hygienist who administers or
employs the use of any form of anesthesia must
possass a certification in either basic cardiopulmonary
resuscitation for health professionals or advanced
cardiac life support approved by the American Heart
Association or the American Red Cross or an equivalent
agency-sponsored course with recertification every 2
vears. Each dental office which uses any form of
anesthesia must have immediately available and in
good working order such resuscitative equipment,
oxygen, and other resuscitative drugs as are specified
by rule of the board in order to manage possiole adverse
reaciions.

(5) A dental hygienist under the direct supervision of
a dentist may administer local anesthesia, including
infraoral block anesthesia, soft tissue infiltration an-
esthesia, or both, to a nonsedated patient wheo is 18
years of age or older, if the folfowing criteria are met:

{a} The dental hygienist has successfully completed
a course in the administration of local anesthesia which
is offered by a dental or dental hygiene program
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association or approved by the
board. The course must include a minimum of 30 hours
of didactic instruction and 30 hours of clinical experi-
ence, and instruction in:

Theory of pain control,
Selection-of-pain-control modalities.
Anatomy.

Neurophysiology.

Pharmacology of local anesthetics.
Pharmacology of vasoconstrictors.
Psychological aspects of pain control.
Systematic complications.

. Technigues of maxillary anesthesia.
10. Techniques of mandibular anesthesia.
11. infection control,

12. Medical emergencies involving local anesthesia.

CoONOGALDT
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(b} The dentai hygienist presents evidence of current
certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support.

() The dental hygienist possesses a valid certificate
issued under subsection (6).

(6) Any dental hygienist seeking a cettificate to
administer local anesthesia must apply to the depart-
ment, remit an application fee, and submit preoof of
successful completion of a course in the administration
of local anesthesia pursuant tc subsection (5). The
board shall certify, and the department shall issue a
certificate to, any dental hygienist who iuifills the
qualifications of subsection (5). The board shall estab-
lish a one-time application fee not to exceed $35. The
certificate is not subject to renewal but is part of the
dental hygienist's permanent record and must be
prominently displayed at the location where the dentat
hygienist is authorized to administer local anesthesia.
The board shall adopt rules necessary to administer
subsection (5) and this subsection.

(7} Alicensed dentist may utiize an X-ray machine,
expose dental X-ray films, and interpret or read such
films. The provisions of part IV of chapter 468 io the
contrary notwithstanding, a Hcensed dentist may author-
ize or direct a dental assistant ¥ operate such equip-
ment and expose such films under her or his direction
and supervision, pursuant to rules adopted by the board
in accordance with s. 466.024 which ensure that said
assistant is competent by reason of training and
experience to operate said equipment in a safe and
efficient manner. The board may charge a fee not to
exceed $35 to defray the cost of verifying compliance
with requirements adopted pursuant to this section,

{8) The provisions of s. 465.0276 notwithstanding, a
dentist need not register with the board or comply with
the continuing education requirements of that section if
the dentist confines her or his dispensing activity to the
dispensing of flucrides and chicrohexidine rinse solu-
tions; provided that the dentist complies with and is
subject to all iaws and rules applicabte to pharmacists
and pharmacies, including, but not limited to, chapters
465, 429, and 893, and all applicable federal laws and

reguiations, when dispensing such products.

History.-—ss. 1,3, ¢h, 78-330; 8s. 13, 16, 25, 27, 30, 34, 62, ch. 80-406; s. 328,
ch, 81-259; 45, 2, 3, ¢h, 81-318; 5. 1, ch, 85-156; ss. 10, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 1, ch.
87-208; 5, 37, ch. 89-162; 8. 60, ch. 81-137, 8. 7, ch. 91-156; 5, 4, ch, 91-429; 5. 34,
ch, 95-144; 5. 256, ch. 97-103; 5. 109, ch. 97-264; 5. 3, ch, 2012-14.

466.018 Dentist of record; patient records.—

{1) Each patient shall have a dentist of record. The
dentist of record shall remain primarily responsible for
alt dental treatiment on such patient regardless of
whether the treatment is rendered by the dentist or by
another dentist, dental hygienist, or dental assisiant
rendering such treatment in conjunction with, at the
direction or request of, or under the supervision of such
dentist of record. The dentist of record shall be identified
in the record of the patient. if freatment is rendered by a
dentist other than the dentist of record or by a dental
hygienist or assistant, the name or initials of such
person shall be placed in the record of the patient. Inany
disciplinary proceeding brought pursuant to this chapter
of chapter 456, it shall be presumed as a matter of law
that freatment was rendered by the dentist of record
uniess otherwise noted on the patient record pursuant to
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this section. The dentist of record and any other treating
dentist are subject to discipline pursuant to this chapter
or chapter 456 for treatment rendered the patient and
performed in violation of such chapter. One of the
purpeses of this section is 1o ensure that the respon-
sibiiity for each patient is assigned to cne dentist in a
multidentist practice of any nature and to assign primary
responsibility to the dentist for treatment rendered by a
denta! hygienist or assistant under her or his super-
vision. This section shall not be construed to assign any
responsibility to a dentist of record for treatment
rendered pursuant o a proper referrat to ancther dentist
not in practice with the dentist of record or to prohibit a
patient from voluntarily selecting a new dentist without
permission of the dentist of record.

(2} If the dentist of record is not identified in the
patient record as required by subsection (1}, it shall be
prasumed as a matter of law that the dentist of record is
the owner of the dental practice in which the patient was
treated. Further, the dentist of record in a muliidentist
practice shall not change uniess the subsequent treat-
ing dentist acknowledges in writing in the record that
she or he is now the dentist of record for the patient, It
shall be presumed as a matter of law that a new dentist
of record has faken or reviewed the patient’s medical
history and dental records, that she or he has examined
the patient, and that she or he has either developed a
new treatment plan or has agreed tc continue the
preexisting treatment plan. However, the dentist of
record shall be changed when the dentist of record
leaves the practice where the treatment was being
rendered and the patient elects to continue treatment in
the office where treatmeni began.

(3} Every dentist shall maintain written dental re-
cords and medical history records which lustily the
course of freatmant of the patient. The records shall
inciude, but net be fimited to, patient history, examina-
tion results, test results, and, if taken, X rays.

(4) Inamultidentist practice of any nature, the owner
dentist shali maintain either the original or a duplicate of
ali patient records, including dental charts, patient
histories, examination and test resulis, study models,
and X rays, of any patient treated by a dentist at the
owner dentist’s practice facility. The purpose of this
requirement is to impose a duty upen the owner ¢of a
multidentist practice to maintain patient records for all
patients treated at the owner's practice facility whether
or not the owner was involved in the patient’s tfreatment.
This subsection does not relieve the dentist of record in
a multidentist practice of the responsibility to maintain
patient records. An owner dentist of a multidentist
practice may be relieved of the responsibility to maintain
the ocriginal or duplicate patient records for patients
ireated at the owner dentist’s practice facility if, upen
request of the patient or the patient's legal representa-
tive, she or he transfers custody of the records to
another dentist, the patient, or the patient’s legal
representative and retains, in lisu of the records, a
written statement, signed by the owner dentist, the
person who received the records, and two witnesses,
that lists the date, the records that were transterred, and
the persons to whom the records were transferred.
Further, the dentist of record may be relieved of the
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responsibility to maintain the original or duplicate patient
records if she or he leaves the practice where the
treatment was rendered, transfers custody of the
records to the owner of the practice, and retains, in
Eeu of the records, a written statement, signed by the
dentist of record, the owner of the practice, and two
withesses, that lists the date and the records that were
transferred. The owner dentist shall provide reasonable
access to duplicate records at cost.

{5} Al patient records kept in accordance with this
section shall be maintained for a period of 4 years from

the date of the patient's iast appointment.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 3, 41, ch. 82-179; ss5. 11,
23, 24, ch. 88-281; 5. 80, ch. 91-137; s. 7, ch. 91-156; s. 4, ch. 31-42%, s, 267, ch.
97-103; 5. 71, ch. 98-166; 5. 130, ch. 2000-160.

466.019 Advertising by dentists.—

(1) The purpose of this section is to ensure that the
public has access to information which provides a
sufiicient basis upon which to make an infermed
selection of dentists while also ensuring that the public
is protected from false or misleading advertisements
which would detract from a fair and rational selection
process. The board shall adopt rules to carry out the
intent of this section, the purpose of which shall be to
regulate the manner of such advertising in keeping with
the provisions herecf.

{2} No advertisement by a licensed dentist shall
contain any false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive
statement or claim or any stalement or claim which:

{a) Contains misrepresentations of fact;

(b} Is likely to mistead or deceive because in context
it makes only a partial disclosure of relevant facts;

{c) Contains laudatory statements about the dentist
or group of dentists;

() Is intended or is likely to create false, unjustified
expectations of favorable results;

(&) Relates to the quality of dental services provided
as compared o other availabie dental services;

(fy Is intended or is likely to appeal primarily to a
laypersor's fears;

(g) Contains fee information without a disclaimer that
such is a minimum fee only; or

(hy Contains other representations or implications
that in reascnable probability will cause an ordinary,
prudent person to misunderstand or {0 be deceived.

(3} For purposes of this section, D.D.S. or D.M.D.
are synonymous and may be used inferchangeabiy by
licensed dentists who have graduated from an accre-
dited American dental school with a D.D.5. or D.M.D,

degree, when advertising dental services.
History.—ss. 1,3, £n. 79-330; 58, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 88, 12, 23,24, eh, 88-291; 85,
t4, 80, ch. B1-137; 8. 7, ch. 81-188; 5. 4, ch. 91428

466.021 Retention of dental laboratories by
dentist; penalty.—Each licensed dentist who uses
the services of any dental laboratory for the purpose
of constructing, altering, repairing, or duplicating any
denture, implant, veneer, partial denture, bridge spling,
orthodentic or other prosthetic appliance, or other
suitable form of artificial oral restorative device shall
be reguired to furnish the dental laboratory with a written
prescription in & form prescribed by rule of the board.
This prescription shall be dated and signed by the
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dentist and shall include the license number of the
dentist, the patient's name or number with sufticient
descriptive information to clearly identify each separate
and individual piece of work 10 be performed by the
dental laboratory, and a specification of materiais to be
contained in each work product. A copy of the prescrip-
tion shall be retained in a file in the prescribing dentist's
office {or a period of 4 years following the date the
prescription was issued, and the original prescription
shall be retained in a file by the dental laboratory for a
period of 4 years. A registered dental laboratory shall
cisclose in writing at the time of delivery of the final
restoration to the prescribing dentist the materials and
all certificates of authenticity that constitute each
product manufactured and the point of origin of man-
ufacture of each restoration, including the address and
contact information of the dental laboratory. The file of
prescriptions to be kept by the dentist and the dental
faboratory shali be open to inspection at any reasonable
time by the department or its constituted agent. Failure
of the dentist to keep records of each prescription shail
subject the dentist to suspension or revocation of her or
his license to practice dentistry in this state. Failure of a
dental Jaboratory that has accepted a prescription to
have the originai or electronic copy of each prescription
and to ensure the accuracy of each product's material
disclosure at the time it is delivered to the prescribing
dentist as required by this section is admissible
evidence of a viclation of this chapter and constitutes
a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as
provided in 5. 775.082 or 8. 775.083. This section does
not preciude a registered dental laboratory from working
for another registered dental laboratory if that work is
performed pursuant to written authorization, in a form to
be prescribed by rule of the board, which evidences that
the originating laboratory has obtained a valid prescrip-
tion and which sets forth the work to be perfarmed and
the resulting material certifications to be provided. A
dental laboratory accepting prescriptions from dentists
is liakle for damages caused by inaccuracles in the
material disclosure, certificates of authenticity, or point
of origin provided by the denial laboratory to the
prescribing dentist. This section does not preclude a
registered iaboratory from providing its services to
dentists licensed and practicing in another state i that
work is requested or otherwise authorized in written
form that clearly identifies the name and addrass of the
requesting dentist and sets forth the work to be
performed and otherwise complies with all appiicable

laws and ireaties.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2. 3, ch. 81-318; 55, 23, 24, ch. 86-201; 5. 60,
ch, 81137, 8. 7, ¢h. 81-156; 5. 93, ch. 91-224; 5. 4, ch. 81-42%; 5. 258, ch. $7-103; 5.
2, ch. 99-183; 5. 126, ch. 99-367; 5. 6, ch. 2005-189; s. 8, ch. 2006-64.

466.022 Peer review; records; immunity; con-
fidentiality.—

(1) The Legislature finds that effective peer review of
consumer complaints by professional associations of
dentists is a valuable service to the public. In performing
such service, any member of a peer review organization
or committee shall, pursuant to s. 466.028(1)(f), report
10 the department the name of any licensee who he or
she believes has violated this chapier. Any such peer
review committee member shall be afforded the
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privileges and immunities of any other complainant or
witness which are provided by s. 456.073(11). Further-
more, a professional organization or association of
dentists which sponsors, sanctions, or otherwise oper-
ates or participates in peer review activities is hereby
afforded the same privileges and immunities afforded to
any member of a duly constituted medical review
committee by . 766.101(3).

{2) Information obtained from the official records of
peer review arganizations or commitiees shall not be
subject to discovery or introduction into evidence in any
disciplinary proceeding against a licensee. Further, no
person who voluntarily serves on a peer review
committee or who investigates a complaint for the
committee shall be permitted or required to testify in
any such disciplinary proceeding as to any evidence or
other matters produced or presented during the pro-
ceedings of such organization or committee or as o any
findings, recommendations, evaluations, opinions, or
other actions of such organization or committee or any
members thereof. However, nothing in this section shall
be construed to mean that information, documents, or
recards otherwise available and obtained from original
sources are immune from discovery or use in any such
disciplinary proceeding merely because they were
presented during proceedings of a peer review organi-
zation or committee. Members of peer review crganiza-
tions shall assist the department in identification of such
original sources when possible.

(3) Peer review information obtained by the depari-
ment as background information shall remain confiden-
tial and exempt from ss. 119.07{1) and 286.011%
regardless of wheather probable cause is found, The
provisions of s. 766.101 continue to apply in full
notwithstanding the fact that peer review information
becomes avallable to the department pursuant to this
chapter. For the purpose of this section, official records
of peer review organizations or committees include
correspondence between the dentist who is the subject
of the complaint and the organization; correspondence
between the complainant and the organization; diag-
nostic data, treatment plans, and radiographs used by
investigators or otherwise relied upon by the organiza-
tion or committee; resulls of patient examinations;
interviews; evaluation worksheets: recommendation
worksheets; and peer review report forms.

(4} The provisions of this section shall apply to ethics
review commiitees of a professional assocciation of

dentists.

History,—ss. 13, 24, ¢h, 86-281; 5. 2, ch. 87-208; s. 8, ch, 89-162; . 60, ch.
91-137,5. 22, ¢h, 81-140; 5. 7, ch. 81-156; . 4, ch. 81-42%: s 35, ch. 05-144: 5. 318,
ch. 56-406, 5. 1109, ch. 97-103; 5. 72, ch. 98-166; s, 131, ch. 2000-160.

466.023 Dental hygienists; scope and area of
practice.—

(1) Except as otherwise provided in 5. 466.024, only
dental hygienists may be delegated the task of removing
caleulus deposits, accretions, and stains from exposed
surfaces of the teeth and from the gingival sulcus and
the task of performing root planing and curettage. In
addition, dental hygienists may expose dental X-ray
films, apply fopical preventive or prophylactic agents,
and perform all tasks delegable by the dentist in
accordance with 5. 466.024. The board by rule shall
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determine whether such functions shall be performed
under the direct, indirect, or general supervision of the
dentist.

(2) Dental hygienists may perform their duties:

(a) In the office of a licensed dentist;

(b} In public health programs and institutions of the
Depariment of Children and Family Ssrvices, Depart-
ment of Health, and Department of Juvenile Justice
under the general supervision of a licensed dentist;

{c} In a health access setting as defined in s.
466.003; or

(d) Upon a patient of record of a dentist who has
issued a prescription for the services of a dental
hygienist, which prescription shalt be valid for 2 years
unless a shorter length of time is designated by the
dentist, in:

1. Licensed public and private health facilities;

2. Other public institutions of the state and f{ederal
government;

3. Public and private educational institutions;

4. The home of a nonambulatory patient; and

5. Other places in accordance with the rules of the
board.

However, the dentist issuing such prescription shall
remain responsibie for the care of such patient. As used
in this subsection, “patient of record” means a patient
upon whom a dentist has taken a compiete medical
history, compieted a clinical examination, recorded any
pathologicat conditions, and prepared a treatment plan.

{3) Dental hygienisis may, without supervision, pro-
vide educational programs, faculty or staff training
programs, and authorized flucride rinse programs;
apply fluorides; instruct a patient in oral hygiene care;
supervise the oral hygiene care of a patient, and
perform other services that do not invoive diagnosis
or treatment of dental conditions and that are approved
by rule of the board.

(4) The board by rule may limit the number of dental
hygienists or dental assistants to be supervised by a
dentist if they perform expanded duties requiring direct
or indirect supervision pursuant to the provisions of this
chapter. The purpose of the limitation shall be to protect
the health and salety of patients and to ensure that
procedures which require more than general super-
vision be adequately supervised. However, the Depart-
ment of Children and Family Services, Department of
Health, Department of Juvenile Justice, and public
institutions  appreoved by the board shall not be so
limitad as to the number of dental hygienists or dental
assistants working under the supervision of a licensed
dentist.

(5) Dental hygienists may, without supervision, per-
form dental charting as provided in s. 466.0235.

(6) Dental hygienists are exempt from the provisions
of part iV of chapter 468.

{7) A dental hygienist may administer local anesthe-

sia as provided in ss. 466.017 and 466.024.

Histery.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55. 14, 23, 24, ¢h. 86-231; 5.
830, ¢h. 91-137; 5. 7. ch. 91-158; 5. 4, cn. 91-429: 8. 36, ¢h. 95-144; s 5, ch, 98-281;
s. 225, ch. 98-8, 5. 1, ch. 2006-148; 5. A, ch. 2011-85; 5. 4, ch, 2012-14,
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466.0235 Dental charting.—

(1) For purposes of this section, the term “dental
charting” means a recording of visual observations of
clinicat conditions of the oral cavity without the use of X
rays, laboratory tests, or other diagnestic methods or
equipment, except the instruments necassary to record
visual restorations, missing teeth, suspicious areas, and
periocdontal pockets.

{2) A dental hygienist may, without supervision and
within the lawful scope of his or her duties as authorized
by law, perform dental charting of hard and soft tissues
in public and private educational institutions of the state
and Federal Government, nursing homes, assisted
iiving and long-term care facilities, community health
centers, county health departments, mabile dental or
health units, health access seftings as defined in s.
466.003, and epidemioiogical surveys for pubtic health.
A dental hygienist may alsc perform dental chartingon a
volunteer basis at health fairs.

(3) Each person who recelves a dental charting
pursuant to this section, or the parent or legal guardian
of the person, shall receive and acknowledge a written
disclosure form beiore receiving the dental charting
procedure that states that the purpose of the dental
charting is to collect data for use by a dentist at a prompt
subsequent examination. The disclosure form shall also
emphasize that diagnosis of caries, soft tissue disease,
oral cancer, temporomandibular joint disease (TMJ),
and dentofacial malocciusions can only be completed
by a dentist in the context of delivering a comprehensive
dental examination.

{4) The board shall approve the content of charting
and disclosure forms fo be used under this section. Both
forms shall emphasize the inherent imitations of dental
charting and encourage complete examination by a
dentist in rendering a professional diagnosis of the
patient's overall oral health needs.

(5) Dental charting performed under this section is
not a substitute for a comprehensive dental examina-
tion.

(6) Medical clearance by a physician or dentist is
required before a pericdontal probre may be used on a
person who receives a dental charting.

(7) Nothing in this section shail be construed to
permit direct reimbursement for dental charting per-
formed under this section by Medicaid, health insurers,
health maintenance organizations, prepaid dental
plans, or other third-party payors beyond what is
otherwise ailowable by law.

(8) All referrals made in conjunction with the provi-
sion of dental charting services under this section shail
be in strict conformance with federal and state patient
referral, anti-kickback, and patient brokering laws.

(9) A dental hygienist performing dental charting
without supervision shall not be deemed to have created

efther a patient of record or a medical record.
History.—s. 2, ch, 2008-149; s. &, ch, 2011-95.

466.024 Delegation of duties; expanded func-
tions..

(1) A dentist may not delegate irremediable tasks to
a dental hygienist or dental assistant, except as
provided by law. A dentist may delegate remediable
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tasks to a dentat hygienist or dental assistant when such
tasks pose no gisk o the patient. A dentist may only
delegate remediable tasks so defined by law or ruie of
the board. The board by rule shall designate which tasks
are remediable and delegable, except that the foliowing
are by law found to be remediable and delegable:

{a) Taking impressions for study casts but not for the
purpese of fabricating any intraoral restorations or
orthodontic appliance.

{b) Placing periodontal dressings.

) Removing periodontal or surgical dressings.
} Removing sutures.

} Placing or removing rubber dams.

Placing or removing matrices.

Placing or removing temporary restorations.
Applying cavity liners, varnishes, or bases.
i) Polishing amalgam restorations.

(i) Polishing clinical crowns of the teeth for the
purpose of removing stains but not changing the
existing contour of the tooth.

(k) Obtaining bacteriological cytological specimens
not involving cutting of the issue.

(I} Administering local anesthesia pursuant to s.
466.017(5).

c
d
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This subsection does not limit delegable tasks to those
specified herein.

(2) A dental hygienist licensed in this state may
perform the following remediahble tasks in a health
access setting as defined in s, 466,003 without the
physicai presence, prior examination, or authorization of
. a dentist:

(a) Performdentaicharting as definedin s, 466.0235
and as provided by rule.

(b} Measure and record a patient's blood pressure
rate, puise rate, respiration rate, and oral temperature.

{c) Record a patient's case history.

{d} Apply topical Huorides, including fluoride
varnishes, which are approved by the American Dental
Association or the Food and Drug Administration.

(e} Apply dental sealants.

(f) Remove calculus deposits, accretions, and stains
from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from tooth
surfaces within the gingival suicus.

1. A dentist licensed under this chapter or a
physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapler 458
must give medical clearance before a dental hygienist
removes calcutus deposits, accretions, and stains from
exposed surfaces of the teeth or from tooth surfaces
within the gingival sulcus.

2. Adentist shall conduct a dental examination on a
patient within 13 months after a dental hygienist
removes the patient's calculus deposits, accretions,
and stains from exposed surfaces of the teeth or from
tooth surfaces within the gingival sulcus. Additional orat
hygiene services may not be performed under this
paragraph without a clinical examination by a dentist
who is licensed under this chapter.

This subsection does not authorize a dental hygienist to
perform root planing or gingival curettage without
supervision by a dentist.
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(3) For all remediable tasks listed in subsection (2),
the following disclaimer must be provided to the patient
in writing before any procedure is performed:

(a) The services being offerad are not a substitute
for a comprehensive dental exam by a dentist.

(b) The diagnhosis of caries, soft tissue disease, oral
cancer, temporemandibular joint disease (TMJ), and
dentofacial malocclusions will be completed only by a
dentist in the context of delivering a comprehensive
dental exam.

(4) This section does not prevent a program oper-
ated by one of the heaith access settings as defined in 5.
468,003 or a nonprofit organization that is exempt from
federal income taxation under s. 501(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code and described in s. 501{c)(3) of the
Internal Revenue Code from billing and obtaining
reimbursement for the services described in this section
which are provided by a dental hygienist or from making
or maintaining any records pursuant to s. 458.057
necessary o obtain reimbursement.

{(5) A dental hygienist who performs, without super-
vision, the remediable tasks listed in subsection (2)
shail:

{a) Provide a dental referral in strict compliance with
federal and state patient reterral, anti-kickback, and
patient brokering laws.

(b) Encourage the establishment of a dental home.

(c) Maintain professicnal malpractice insurance cov-
erage that has minimum limits of $100,000 per cccur-
rence and $300,000 in the aggregate through the
empioying health access setling or individual pelicy.

{6) Notwithstanding subsection (1) or subsection (2,
a dentist may delegate the tasks of gingival curettage
and root planing to a dental hyglenist but not to a dental
assistant.

(7) All other remediable tasks shall be performed
under the direct, indirect, or general supervision of a
dentist, as determined by rule of the board, and after
such tormal or on-the-job fraining by the dentat hygienist
or dental assistant as the board by ruie may require. The
board by rule may establish a cettification process for
expanded-duty dental assistants, establishing such
training or experience criteria or examinations as it
deems necessary and specifying which tasks may be
defegable only fo such assistants. if the board does
establish such a certification process, the depariment
shall implement the application process for such
certification and administer any examinations required.

{8) Notwithstanding subsection (1) or subsection (2),
a dentist may not defegate to anyone other than ancther
ficensed dentist:

(a) Any prescription of drugs or medications requir-
ing the written order or prescription of a licensed dentist
or physician.

(h) Any diagnosis for treatment or treatment plan-
ning.

(9) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a
dentist is primarily responsible for all procedures
delegated by her or him.
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(10} A dental assistant may not perform an intraoral
procedure except after such formal or on-the-job train-

ing as the board by rule shall prescribe.

History.—-ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; 8. 13, 15, 25, 28, 30, 34, 62, ch. BO-406; 8. 2, 3,
ch. 81-318; 5. 2, ch. 85-156; 85, 15, 23, 24, ¢h. 86-297; 5, 60, ch. 91-137; 8. 7, ch.
81-1686; 5. 4, ch. 91-428; s, 269, ch, 97-103; 5, 7, ch. 2011-85; &. 5, ¢ch. 2012-14.

466.025 Permitting of dental interns serving at
state institutions; certification of dentists practi-
cing at government facilities; permitting of non-
profit corporations.—

{1} The department shall, upon presentation of
satistactory credentials meeting such requirements as
the board may by rule prescribe, issue a permit to a
graduate of an approved dental schoof or college who
has not been licensed to practice dentistry in this state
to serve as a dental intern in state-maintained and state-
operated hospitals or institutes of Flosida that may offer
such a post or in such hospitals or instituticns as shat be
approved by the board; provided such hospitals or
instiutions maintain a recognized staff of one or more
licensed dentists. Such intern shall function under the
general supervision of the dental staff of such hospital.
Her or his work shalt be limited to the patfients confined
to the hospital in which she or he serves, and she or he
shali serve without fee or compensation other than that
received in salary or other remuneration from such
hospital. The beoard shall have the power to revoke the
permit of any such intern at any time upon the
recommendation by the executive officer of the dental
staff of the hospital or institution in which the intern
serves or for any other just cause,

{2) The department shall have the authority to issue
temporary certificates to graduates of accredited dental
schools to practice in state and county government
facilities, working under the general supervision of
licensed dentisis of this state in the state or county
tacility, provided such certificates shall be issued only to
graduates of schools approved by the board and further
supject to cancellation for just cause. A certificate
issued under this section is valid only for such time as
the dentist remains employed by a state or county
government facility.

(3} The department shall have the authority, upon
presentation of satisfactory credentials and under such
ruies as the board may prescribe, to issue a permitto a
nonprofit corporation chartered for one or more of the
following purposes:

{a) Training and teaching dental assistants in the
public schools of the state.

{by Promoting research and training among duly
licensed dentists in the state.

{€) Providing dental care for indigent persons.

Such nonprofit corporations shall function pursuant to
ruie of the board. The board shall have the power to
revoke the permit issued to any such corporations for
any violation of the rules. Such permits shali be granted
and issued for a period of 1 year and shall be renewed
only upon application and approval of the board and
upon a showing by the nonprofit corporation that it is
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complying and will comply with the rules and regulations

and all provisions prescribed by the board,

History.--ss. 1, 3, ch, 79-33Q; ss. 13, 15, 25, 28, 30, 34, 82, ch, 80-406; ss. 2, 3,
ch. 81-318; ss. 16, 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. B0, ¢ch. 81-137; 5. 7, ch. 21-156; 5. 4, ch.
91-429; 5. 100, ch. 92-149; 5. 260, ch. 87-103; &. 7, ch, 2005-189.

466.026 Prohibitions; penalties.—

(1) Each of the following acts constitutes a felony of
the third degree, punishable as provided in 5. 775.082,
s. 775.083, or s. 775.084:

{a) Practicing dentistry or dental hygiene unless the
person has an appropriate, active license issued by the
department pursuant to this chapter.

(b} Using or attempting to use a license issued
pursuant to this chapter which license has been
suspended or revoked.

(c) Knowingly employing any person ic nerform
duties outside the scope allowed such person under
this chapter or the rules of the board.

(d}y Givingfalse or forged evidence to the department
or board for the purpose of obtaining a license.

(e} Seling or offering to sell a diploma conferring a
degree from a dental college or dental hygiene schocl or
college, or a license issued pursuant to this chapter, or
procuring such diploma or license with intent that if shall
be used as evidence of that which the document stands
for, by a person cther than the one upon whom it was
conferred or to whom it was granted.

(2) Each of the foilowing acts constitutes a mis-
demeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in
§. 775.082 or 5. 775.083:

(a} Using the name or title “dentist,” the letters
“D.L.S” or "D.M.D.", or any other words, letters, title,
or descriptive matter which in any way represents a
person as being able to diagnose, treat, prescribe, or
operate for any disease, pain, deformity, deficiency,
injury, or physical cendition of the teeth or jaws or oral-
maxillofacial region unless the persen has an active
dentist’s license issued by the department pursuant to
this chapter.

{p} Using the name “dental hygienist” or the initials
“R.D.H." or otherwise holding herself or himself out as
an actively licensed dental hygienist or implying to any
patient or consumer that she or he is an actively
licensed dental hygienist unless that person has an
active dental hygienist's license issued by the depart-
ment pursuant to this chapter.

{c) Presenting as her or his own the license of
another.

(d) Knowingly concealing information relative to
violations of this chapter.

{e) Performing any services as a dental assistant as
defined herein, except in the office of a licensed dentist,

unless authorized by this chapter or by rule of the board.

History.-—ss. 1, 3, eh. 78-330; 55. 2, 3, ¢ch. 81-318; s5. 17, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; &,
60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7. ch. 91-156: 5. 94, ci, §1-224; 5. 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 261, ch,
57-103; s. 56, ch. 2000-318.

466.027 Sexual misconduct.—The dentist-patient
refationship is founded on mutual trust. Sexual mis-
conduct in the practice of dentistry means viclation of
the dentist-patient relationship through which the dentist
uses sald relationship to induce or attempt to induce the
patient to engage, or to engage or attempt tc engage the
patient, in sexual activity outside the scope of the
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practice or the scope of generally accepted examination
or treatment of the patient. Sexual misconduct in the

practice of dentistry is prohibited,
History.--ss. 1, 3, ch, 78-330; 5. 329, ch, 81-259; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 88, 23, 24,
ch. 86-291; 8. B0, ch, 91-137; s. 7, ch. 91-156; s. 4, ch. 91-429.

468.0275 Lawiul investigations; consent hand-
writing samples; mental or physical examination.
Every dentist who accepts a license to practice dentistry
in this state shall, by so accepting the license or hy
making and filing a renewal of licensura to practice in
this state, be deemed to have given consent, during a
lawiul investigation of a complaint to the following:

(1) To render a handwriting sample to an agent of
the department and, further, to have waived any
objections to its use as evidence against her or him.

(2) Only in those circumstances where there is
probable cause that the dentist is guilty of viclations
involving moral turpitude, impairment, violations of laws
governing controlied substances, or any violation of
criminal law, the dentist shali be deemed o waive the
confidentiality and to exscute a release of medical
reports pertaining to the mental or physical condition of
the dentist herself or himsel. The department shall
issue an order, based on the need for additional
information, to produce such medical reports for the
time pericd relevant to the investigation. As used in this
section, "medical reports” means a compilation of
medical treatment of the dentist herseli or himself
which includes symptoms, diagnosis, treatment pre-
scribed, relevant history, and progress. The dentist shait
alsc be deemed to walve any objection o the admis-
sibiity of the reports as constituting privileged commu-
nications. Such material maintained by the depariment
shall remain confidential and exempt from s. 119.07(1)
until probable cause is found and an administrative

complaint issued.
History.—s, 20, ¢h. B88-392; ¢. 1, ch. 89-286; ss. 60, 64, ch. 91-137; 5. 23, ch.
81-140;858. 7,8, ¢n. 91156, 5. 4, ¢h, B1-420, & 319, ch. 88-406; 5, 1110, ch. §7-103.

466.02751 Establishment of practitioner profiie
for designation as a controlled substance prescrib-
ing practitioner.—The Department of Health shall
establish a practitioner profile for dentisis licensed
under this chapter for a practitioner's designation as a
controlled substance prescribing practiticner as pro-

vided in s. 456.44.
History.—s. 20, ch, 2011-141,

466.028 Grounds for disciplinary action; action
by the board.—

{1) The following acts constitute grounds for denial
of a license or disciplinary action, as specified in s.
456.072(2):

(a) Attempting 1o obtain, cbtaining, or renewing a
license under this chapter by bribery, fraudulent mis-
representations, or through an error of the department
or the board.

(b} Having a license fo practice dentistry or denta
hygiene revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted
against, inciuding the denial of licensure, by the
licensing authority of another state, territory, or country.

{c) Being convicted or found gquilty of or entering a
plea of nolo contendere to, regardiess of adjudication, a
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crime in any jurisdiction which relates to the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene. A plea of nolo contendere
shall create a rebuitable presumption of guilt to the
underlying criminal charges.

{d) Advertising goods or services in a manner which
is fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misieading in form or
content contrary to 5. 466.019 or rules of the board
adopted pursuant thereto.

{e} Advertising, practicing, or attempting o practice
under & name other than one’s own.

(f} Failing 1o report to the department any person
who the licensee knows, or has reason o believe, is
clearly in violation of this chapter or of the rules of the
department or the board.

(g) Aiding, assisting, procuring, or advising any
unlicensed person to practice dentistry or dental hy-
giene contrary to this chapter or to a rule of the
department or the board.

(h) Being employed by any corporation, organiza-
tion, group, or person other than a dentist or a
professional corporation or limited liability company
composed of dentists o practice dentistry.

() Failing to perform any statutory or legal obiigation
placed upon a licensee.

() Making or filing a report which the licensee knows
w0 be false, failing to file a report or record required by
state or federal law, knowingly impeding or obstructing
such fifing or inducing another perscen to do so. Such
reports ot records shall include only those which are
signed in the capacity as a licensee.

(k) Committing any act which would constitute sex-
ual battery, as defined in chapter 794, upcn a patient ar
intentionally touching the sexual organ of a patient.

() Making deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent repre-
sentations in or related to the practice of dentistry.

{m} Failing to keep written dentat records and medical
history recerds justifying the course of treatment of the
patient including, but not limited to, patient histories,
examination results, test results, and X rays, if taken.

(m Failing to make available to a patient or client, or
to her or his legal representative or to the department if
authorized in writing by the patient, copies of documents
in the possession or under controi of the licensee which
relate to the patient or cilent.

(o) Performing professional services which have not
been duly authcrized by the patient or client, or her or
his legal representative, except as provided in ss.
766,103 and 768.13.

{p) Prescribing, procuring, dispensing, administer-
ing, mixing, or otherwise preparing a legend drug,
including any controlled substance, other than in the
course of the professional practice of the dentist. For the
purposes of this paragraph, it shall be legally presumed
that prescribing, procuring, dispensing, administering,
mixing, or otherwise preparing legend drugs, including
all controlled substances, in excessive or inappropriate
quantities is not in the best interest of the patient and is
not in the course of the professional practice of the
dentist, without regard to her or his intent.

{q} Prescribing, procuring, dispensing, or adminis-
tering any medicinal drug appearing or any schedule
set forth in chapter 893, by a dentist to herself or
himself, except those prescribed, dispensed, or
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administered t¢ the dentist by another practitioner
authorized o prescribe them:.

(ry Prescribing, procuring, ordering, dispensing, ad-
ministering, suoplying, selling, or giving any drug which
is a Scheduie Il amphetamine or a Scheduie Il
sympathomimetic amine drug or a compound thereof,
pursuant to chapter 893, to or for any person except for
the clinical investigation of the effects of such drugs or
compounds when an investigative protocol therefor is
submitted to, and reviewed and approved by, the board
before such investigation is begun.

{s} Being unabie to practice her or his professicn with
reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of
iliness or use of aicohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or
any other type of material or as a result of any mental or
physical condition. In enforcing this paragraph, the
department shall have, upen a finding of the State
Surgeon General or her or his designee that probable
cause exists to believe that the licensee is unable o
practice dentistry or denta! hygiene because of the
reasons stated in this paragraph, the authority to issue
an order to compel a licensee to submit to a mental or
physical examination by physicians designated by the
department. If the licensee refuses to comply with such
order, the depariment’s order directing such examina-
tion may be enforced by filing a petition for enforcement
in the circuit court where the licensee resides or does
business. The licensee against whom the petition is filed
shail not be named or identified by initials in any public
court records or documents, and the proceedings shall
be closed to the public. The department shail be entitled
to the summary procedure provided in s, 51.011. A
licensee affected under this paragraph shall at reason-
able intervals be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate
that she or he can resume the competent practice of her
or his profession with reasonable skil and safety to
patients.

(ty Fraud, deceit, or misconduct in the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene.

(u) Failure to provide and maintain reasonable
sanitary facilities and conditions.

(v) Failure to provide adequate radiation safeguards.

{w) Performing any procedure or prescribing any
therapy which, by the prevailing standards of dental
practice in the community, would constitute experimen-
tation on human subjects, without first obtaining full,
idormed, and written consent.

(x) Being guilty of incompetence or negligence by
failing to meet the minimum standards of performance
in diagnosis and. treatment when measured against
generally prevailing peer performance, including, but
not limited to, the undertaking of diagnosis and treat-
ment for which the dentist is not qualified by training or
experience or being guilty of dental malpractice. For
purposes of this paragraph, it shall be legally presumed
that a dentist is not guilty of incompetence or negiigence
by declining to treat an individual if, in the dentist's
professional judgment, the dentist or a member of her or
his ciinical staff is not qualified by training and experi-
ence, or the dentist's treatment facility is not clinically
satisfactory or properly equipped to treat the unique
characteristics and heatth status of the dental patient,
provided the dentist refers the patient to a qualified

20

dentist or facility for appropriate treatment. As used in
this paragraph, “dental maipractice” includes, but is not
fimited to, three or more claims within the previous 5-
year period which resulted in indemnity being paid, or
any single indemnity paid in excess of $25,000 in a
judgment or settlement, as a resutt of negligent conduct
on the part of the dentist.

{(y} Practicing or offering to practice beyond the
scope permitied by law or accepting and performing
professional responsibilities which the licensee knows
or has reason to know that she or he is not competent to
perform.

{z) Delegating professional responsibilities to a per-
son who is not qualified by training, experience, or
licensure to perform them.

(aa} The violation of a lawful order of the board or
department previcusly entered in a discipiinary hearing;
ot faillure to comply with a lawfully issued subpoena of
the board or department.

(bb) Conspiring with another licensee or with any
person to commit an act, or committing an act, which
would tend to coerce, intimidate, or preclude another
licensee from lawfully advertising her or his services,

(cc) Being adjudged mentally incompetent in this or
any other state, the discipiine for which shal! last only so
long as the adjudication.

{dd} Presigning blank prescription or laboratory
work order forms.

{ee) Prescribing. ordering, dispensing, administer-
ing, supplying, selling, or giving growth hormonas,
testosterone or its analogs, human chorionic gonado-
tropin (HC@G), or other hormones for the purpose of
muscle building or to enhance athletic performance. For
the purposes of this subsection, the term “muscle
buitding” does not include the treatment of injured
muscie. A prescription wiitten for the drug products
listed above may be dispensed by the pharmacist with
the presumption that the prescription.is for legitimate
medical use.

(ff) Operating or causing tc be operated a dental
office in such a manner as to result in dental treatment
that is below minimum acceptable standards of perfor-
rmance for the community. This includes, but is not
limited io, the use of substandard materials or equip-
ment, the impositicn of time limitations within which
dentat procedures are to be performed, or the failure to
maintain patient records as reqguired by this chapter.

{gg) Administering anesthesia in a manner which
violates rules of the beard adopted pursuant o s.
466.017. '

(hh)  Failing to report to the depariment any licenses
under chapter 458 or chapter 459 who the dentist knows
has violated the grounds for disciplinary action set out in
the faw under which that person is licensed and who
provides health care services in a facility licensed under
chapter 395, or a health maintenance organization
certificated under part | of chapter 841, in which the
dentist also provides services.

(i) Failing to report to the board, in writing, within 30
days if action has been taken against one's license {o
practice dentistry in another state, territory, or country.

(i) Advertising specialty services in violation of this
chapter.
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(kk} Allowing any person other than another dentist or
a professionat corporation or limited liability company
composed of dentists to direct, control, or interfere with
a dentist's clinical judgment; however, this paragraph
may not be construed to limil a patient's right of
informed consent. To direct, control, or interfere with
a dentist's clinical judgment may not be interpreted to
mean dental services contractually excluded, the apoli-
cation of alternative henefits that may be appropriate
given the dentist's prescribed course of treatment, or
the application of contractual provisions and scope of
coverage determinations in comparison with a dentist's
prescribed treatment on behalf of & covered person by
an insurer, health maintenance organization, or a
prepaid limited health service organization.

(I Providing deceptive or fraudulent expert withess
testimony related to the practice of dentisiry.

(mm) Violating any provision of this chapter or
chapter 456, or any rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(2} The beard may enter an order denying licensure
or imposing any of the penaities in 5. 456.072(2) against
any applicant for licensure or licensee who is found
guitty of violating any provision of subsection (1) of this
section or who is found guilty of violating any provision
of 5. 456.972(1).

{3) There shall be a minimum 6-month suspension
of the license of a dentist who is convicted of a viotation
of paragraph (1)(z).

(4) The department shall reissue the license of a
disciplined licensee upon certification by the board that
the disciplined licensee has complied with all of the
terms and conditions set forth in the final order.

(5) In addition, if the department finds that an
applicant has a complaint filed against her or him in
another jurisdiction, the board may deny the application
pending final disposition of the complaint.

(6) Upon the depariment’s receipt from an insurer or
seif-insurer of a report of a closed claim against a dentist
pursuant fo s. 627.912 or upon the receipt from a
claimant of a presuit notice against a dentist pursuant to
§. 766,106 the department shall review each report and
determine whether it potentially involved conduct by a
llcensee that is subject to disciplinary action, in which
case the provisions of s. 456.073 shall apply. However,
if it is reported that a dentist has had any indemnity paid
in excess of $25,000in a judgment or settiemeant or has
had three cr more claims for dental malpractice within
the previous 5-year period which resulted in indemnity
being paid, the department shall investigate the occur-
rence upon which the claims were based and determine
if action by the department against the dentist is
warranted.

{7y Subject to the authority and conditions estab-
lished in 5. 456.073, the probable cause panel of the
hoard may recommend that the department seek a
specified penalty in cases in which probable cause has
heen found and the panel has directed that an admin-
istrative complaint be filed. If the department seeks a
penaity other than that recommended by the probable
cause panel, the department shall provide the board
with a written statement which sets forth the reasons
therafor. Nothing in this subsection shall preclude a
probable cause panel of any other beard under the
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jurisdiction of the department from making similar
recommendations as penalties.

(8) The purpose of this section is to factitate uniform
discipline for those acts made punishable under this
section and, to this end, a reference to this section
constitutes a general reference under the doctrine of

incorporation by reference.

Histesy.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; 5. 5, ch. B3-354; 8. 330, ch. B1-259; 5. 2, 3, ch.
B81-318; 8. 2, g, 83-172; 5. B, ch. 85-6; 55, 18, 23, 24, ch. B6-291; . 42, ¢h, 88-1; 5.
21 ch. 88-277; 5. 21, ch. 88-382; 5. 11, ch. 89-66; ss. 29, 49, ¢h. 90-228; 5. 3, ch.
90-341; s, 80, ch. 81-137; 5.7, ch. $1-156; 5, 66, ch. 91-220; 5. 4, ch. 81-429: 5. 46,
ch. 92-149; s, 6, ch. 92-178; 5. 2, ch. 84-105; 5. 61, ch. 25-144; s. 3, ch. 87-67; 5.
282, ch, 87-103; 5. 110, ch. 97-264; 5. 73, ¢h, 98-166; 5. 132, ch. 2000-160, 5. 34,
ch. 2001-277; 5. 31, ch. 2003-418; s. {1, ch, 2005-240; 5. 86, k. 2008-6; 5. 7, chh,
2011-233.

466.0282 Specialties.~

(1} A dentist licensed under this chapter may not
hold himself or herself out as a specialist, or advertise
membership in or specially recognition by an accredit-
ing organization, unless the dentist:

{a) Has completed a specialty education program
approved by the Amearican Dental Association and the
Commission on Dental Accreditation and:

1. 15 eligible for examination by a national specialty
board recognized by the American Dental Asscciation;
or

2. ls a diplomate of a national specialty board
recognized by the American Dental Association; of

(b) Has continuously held himseif or herself out as a
specialist since December 31, 1964, in a specialty
recognized by the American Dental Association.

(2) A dentist licensed under this chapter may not
represent to the public without appropriate disclosure
that his or her practice is limited to a specific area of
dentistry other than a specialty area of dentistry
authorized under subsection (1}, unless the dentist
has aitained membership in or has otherwise been
credentialed by an accrediting organization which is
recognized by the board as a bona fide organization for
such an area of dental practice. In order to be
recognized by the board as a bona fide accrediting
organization for a specific area of dental practice other
than & specialty area of dentistry authorized under
subsection (1), the organization must condition mem-
bership or credentialing of its members upon &l of the
following:

{a) Successiul completion of a formal, full-time
advanced education program that is affitiated with or
sponsored by a university-based dental school and is:

1. Beyond the dental degree;

2. At the graduate or postgraduate level; and

3. Of at ieast 12 months in duration.

() Prior didactic training and clinical experience in
the specific area of dentistry which is greater than that of
other dentists.

{c) Successful completion of oral and written exam-
inations based on psychometric principles.

{3) Notwithstanding the requirements of subsections

{1} and (2), a dentist who lacks membership in or

certification, diplomate status, or other similar creden-
tials from an accrediting organization approved as bona
fide by either the American Dental Association or the
board may anncunce a practice emphasis in any other
area of dental practice if the dentist incorporates in
capital letters or some other manner clearly
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distinguishable from the rest of the announcement,
solicitation, or advertisement the following statement:
“_(MAME OF ANNOUNCED AREA OF DENTAL PRAcTICE) 15 NOT
RECOGNIZED AS A SPECIALTY AREA BY THE
AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION OR THE FLOR-
DA BOARD OF DENTISTRY.” If such an area of dental
practice is officially recognized by an organization which
the dentist desires to acknowledge or otherwise refer-
ence in the dentist's announcemsent, solicitation, or
advertisement, the same announcement, solicitation, or
advertisement shall also state prominently: * vame oF
REFERENCED oRpganizaTion) IS NOT RECOGNIZED AS A
BONA FIDE SPECIALTY ACCREDITING ORGANIZA-
TIGN BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION
OR THE FLORIDA BOARD OF DENTISTRY .

(4) The purpose of this section is to pravent a dentist
from advertising without appropriate disclosure mem-
Rership in an organization which may be perceived by
the public as recognizing or accrediting specialization or
cther unique competencies in an area of dentistry that is
not recognized or accredited by the American Dental
Association or the board in accordance with this section.
The purpose of this section is alsc to prohibit a dentist
from advertising a specialty or other area of dental
practice without appropriate disclosure unless the
special compeiencies held by the dentist satisfy the
requirements of subsection (1) or subsection (2). The
Legislature finds that dental consumers can reasonably
rely on these requirements as satisfactory evidence of a
dentist’s attainment of meaningful competencies in the
specialty or other bena fide area of dental practice
advertised. The Legislature also finds that this process
for the recognition of dental specialties and other bona
fide areas of dental practice is the least restrictive
means available tc ensure that consumers are not

misled about & dentist's unique credentials,
History.—s. 4, ch, §4-105; 5. 6, ch. 98-281; 5. 1111, ch. 97-103, 5. 3, ch. §9-183,

466.0285 Proprietorship by nondentists.—

(1) No person other than a dentist licensed pursuant
to this chapter, nor any entity other than a professionat
corporation or fimited liability company composed of
dentists, may:

{a) Employ a dentist or dental hygienist in the
operation of a dental office.

{b) Control the use of any dental equipment or
materiai while such equipment or material is being
used for the provision of dental services, whether those
sarvices are provided by a dentist, a dental hygienist, or
a dental assistant.

{¢) Direct, control, or interfere with a dentist's clinical
judgment. To direct, control, or interfere with a dentist’s
clinical judgment may not be interpreted to mean dental
services confractually excluded, the application of
afternative benefits that may be appropriate given the
dentist’s prescribed course of treatment, or the applica-
tion of contractual provisions and scepe of coverage
determinations in comparison with a deniist’s pre-
scribed treatment on behalf of a covered person by
an insurer, heaith maintenance organization, or a
prepaid limited health service organization.
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Any lease agreement, rental agreement, or other
arrangement between a nondentist and a dentist
wheraby the nondentist provides the dentist with dental
equipment or dental materials shall contain a provision
wheraby the dentist expressly maintains complete care,
custody, and control of the equipment or practice.

(2} The purpose of this section is to prevent a
nondentist from influencing or otherwise interfering
with the exercise of a dentist's independent professional
judgment. Inn addition to the acts specified in subsection
{1}, no person who is not a denist licensed pursuant to
this chapter nor any entity that is not a professionai
corporation or limited lability company compased of
dentists shall enter into a ralationship with a licensee
pursuant to which such unlicensed person or such entity
exercises conirol over the following:

(a) The selection of a course of hreatment for a
patient, the procedures or materials to be used as part
of such course of treatment, and the manner in which
such course of treatment is carried out by the licensee;

{b) The patient records of a dentist;

(¢} Policies and decisfons relating to pricing, credit,
refunds, warranties, and advertising; and

{dy Decisions relating to office personnel and hours
of practice.

{3) Any person who violates this section commits a
felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s.
775.082, 5. 775.083, or 5. 775.084,

(4) Any contract or arrangement entered into or
undertaken in violation of this section shall be void as
contrary 1o public policy. This section applies to con-
tracts entered into or renewed on or after Ociober 1,
1997.

History.—ss. 4, 41, ch. 821798519, 23, 24, ch. 86-281;5.60,¢h. §1-137;8. 7,
ch. 91-156; & 4, oh. 91-429; 5. 4, ch. 87-67.

466.031 “Dental laboratory” defined.—The term
“dental laboratory” as used in this chapter:

(1) Includes any person, firm, or corporation who
performs for a fee of any kind, gratuitoustly, or otherwise,
directly or through an agent or employee, by any means
or method, or who in any way supplies or manufactures
artificial substitutes for the natural ieeth, or who
furnishes, supplies, constructs, or reproduces or repairs
any prosthetic denture, bridge, or appliance to be womn
in the human mouth or who In any way holds itself out as
a dental laboratory.

(2) Excludes any dentai laboratory technician who
constructs or repairs dental prosthetic appliances in the
office of a licensed dentist for such dentist only and

under her or his supervision and work order.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 78-330; 55, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55, 20, 23, 24, ¢h. 88281 5,
60, ch. 81137, 5. 7, ch. 31-156; s. 4, ¢h, 91-429; 5. 263, ¢h, 97-103.

466.032 Registration.—

(1} Every person, firm, or corporation operating a
dental laboratory in this state shall register biennially
with the department on forms to be provided by the
depariment and, at the same time, pay to the depart-
ment a regisiration fee not to exceed $300 for which the
department shalf issue a registration certificate entitling
the holder to operaie a dental laboratory for a period of 2
years.
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{2) Uponthe failure of any dental taboratory operator
to comply with subsection (1}, the depanment shall
notify her or him by registered mail, within 1 month after
the registration reneawal date, return recsipt requested,
at her or his last known addyess, of such failure and
inform her or him of the provisions of subsecticns (3)
and (4).

(3) Any dental laboratory operator who has not
complied with subsection (1) within 3 months after the
registration renewal date shall be required to pay a
delinquency fee of $40 in addition to the regular
registration fee.

(4} The department is authorized fo commence and
maintain proceedings to enjoin the operator of any
dental laboratory who has not complied with this section
from operating a dental laboratory in this state untii she
or he has obtained a registration certificate and paid the
required fees.

(5) The dental laboratory owner or at least one
employee of any dental laboratory renewing registration
on or after July 1, 2010, shall complete 18 hours of
continuing education biennially. Programs of continuing
education shall be programs of iearning that contribute
directly to the education of the dental technician and
may include, but are not limited to, attendance at
lectures, study clubs, college courses, or scientific
sessions of conventions and research.

(a) The aim of continuing education for dental
technicians is to improve dental health care delivery
to the public as such is impacted through the design,
manufacture, and use of artificial human oral prosthetics
and related restorative appliances.

(b) Continuing education courses shall address one
or more of the following areas of professional develop-
ment, including, but not limited to:

1. Laboratory and technological subjects, including,
but not limited to, laboratory techniques and proce-
dures, materials, and equipment; and

2. Subjects pertinent to oral health, infection contral,
and safety.

(cy Programs meeting the general requirements of
continuing education may be developed and offered to
dental technicians by the Florida Dental Laboratory
Association and the Fiorida Dental Association. Other
organizations, schoois, or agencies may also be
approved {o develop and offer continuing education in
accordance with specific criteria established by the
department.

{d) Any dental laboratory renewing a registration on
or after July 1, 2010, shall submit a sworn affidavit, on a
form approved by the department, attesting that sither
the dental laboratory owner or one dental technician
employed by the registered dental laboratory has
compieted the conlinuing education required 'in this
subsection in accordance with the guidelines and
provisiens of this subsection and listing the date,
location, sponsor, subject matter, and hours of com-
pleted continuing education courses. The dental labora-
tory shail retain in its records such receipts, vouchers, or
certificates as may be necessary fo document comple-
tion of the conlinuing education courses listed in
accordance with this subsection, With cause, the
depariment may request that the documentation be
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provided by the applicant. The department may also
request the documentation from applicants selected at
random without cause.

{ey1. This subsection does not apply to a dental
laboratory that is physically locaied within a dental
practice operated by a dentist ficensed under this
chapter.

2. A dental laboratory in another state or country
which provides service to a dentist licensed under this
chapter is not required to register with the state and may
continue to provide services to such dentist with a
proper prescription. A dental laboratory in another state
or country, however, may voluntarily comply with this
subsection.

Histery.——ss. 2, 3, ¢h. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ¢ch. 81-318; s5. 21, 23, 24, ¢ch, 86-291; 5,

38, ch. 88-162; 5. 1, ¢h. 88-374; 5. 1, cn. 89-543, 5. 80, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-156;
g 4, ch. 91-426, 5. 7, ch. 96-281; 5. 1112, ch. 87-103; s. 10, ch. 2008-84.

466.033 Registration certificates.-~The depart-
ment shall not require an examination, but shall issue
a registration certificate upon completion of the regis-
tration form and compliance with any rules promulgated

by the department under s. 466.038.
History.—ss, 2, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55, 23, 24, ¢h. 86-281; 5. 60,
ch. 91-137, &. 7, 6h, 91-166; 5. 4, ch. 91428,

466.034 Change of ownership or address.—
When the ownership or address of any dental laboratory
operating in this state is changed, the owner thereof
shall notify the department within 30 days of such

change of ownership or address.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch, 79-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 5. 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 60,
ch. #1-137; 8. 7, ch. 81-156; 8. 4, ch. 31-429.

466.035 Advertising.—Dental laboratories shall
not solicit or advertise, directly or indirectly, by mail,
card, newspaper, pamphlet, radio, television, or other-
wise to the general public to construct, reproduce, or
repair prosthetic dentures, bridges, plates, or other
appliances to be used or worn as substitutes for naturat

teeth or for the regulation of natural teeth.
History.—ss, 2, 3, ch. 78-330: ss. 2, 3. ch. 81-318; ss. 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. B0,
ch. 91-137; 8. 7, ¢h, 91-156; s. 4, ch. 91-423.

466.036 Information; periodic inspections;
equipment and supplies.—The department may re-
quire from the applicant for a registration certificate o
operate a dental laboratory any information necessary
te carry out the purpose of this chapter, including proof
that the applicant has the eguipment and supplies
necessary to operate as determined by rule of the
department, and shal require periodic inspection of all
dental laboratories operating in this state. Such inspec-
tions shall include, but not be limited to, inspeaction of
sanitary conditions, equipment, supplies, and facilities
on the premises. The department shall specify dental
equipment and supplies that are not permitted in a

registered dental laboratory.
History.—ss. 2, 3. ¢h. 79-330; 55, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 58, 23, 24, ¢h. 86-281, 5. 2,
ch. 89-374; s, 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch, 81-106; 5. 4, ¢h. §1-429; 5. 3, ch, 98-130.

466.037 Suspension and revocation; adminis-
trative fine.—The department may suspend or revoke
the certificate of any dertal laboratory registered under
s. 466.032, for failing to comply with the provisions of
this chapter or rules adopted by the department under
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this chapter. The department may impose an adminis-
trative fine.

History.--ss. 2, 3, ch. 79-330: s5. 2. 3, ch. 81-318; s5. 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 3,
ch, 89-374; 5. 60, ch. 91-137: 5. 7, ch. 81156, 5, 4, ¢h. 91-429; g, 35, ¢k, 2001-277,

466.038 Rules.—The department, upon consulta-
tion with the Board of Dentistry and industry represen-
tatives of the dental laboratory profession, has authority
to adopt rules pursuant to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54 to
enforce the provisions of this chapter pertaining to and

reguiating dental laboratoties.
History,—s3. 2, 3, ch. ¥8-330; ss. 2, 3, ch, 81-318; 5. 23, 24, oh, 88-281; 5. 4.
¢h, 89-374; 5. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7. ¢h, 91-156; 5. 4, ch. 81-420; &, 129, ch. 98-200.

466.039 Violations.—It shall be unlawful for any
person, firm, or corporation to operate as a dental
laberatory as defined in this chapter, except those
registered as provided in 5. 486.032. Violation shall
constitute a misdemeanor of the second degree,

punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s, 775.083.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 78-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; s5. 23, 24, ch. 86-291, 5. 60,
ch. 91-137, 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 95, ch. $1-224; 5, 4, ch. 91420,
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466.041

(1) Any licensee or applicant for ficensure who is a
carrier of the hepatitis B virus is required to so notify the
board.

{2) The board shall by rule establish proceduras for
reporting carrier status and shall establish practice
requirements which will protect the public from trans-
mission of the hepatitis B virus in a dental practice
setting or during dental procedures,

(3) Any report of hepatitis B carrier staius filed by a
Hcensee or applicant in compliance with the require-
ments established by the board shall be confidential and
exempt from the provisions of 5. 119.07(1), except for
the purpose of the investigation or prosecution of

alleged violations of this chapter by the department.
History.—ss. 18, 19, ch. 89-374; ss. 60, 65, ch, 91-137; 5. 25, ¢h. 81-140; 83. 7,
9, ch. 81-158; 5. 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 320, ch, 96-408.

Hepatitis B carriers.—



CHAPTER 64B5-1
BOARD ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE

64B5-1.021 List of Approved Forms; Incorporation
64B5-1.025 Delegation of Certification for Licensure to Chair of Examination Committee: When Permitted (Repealed)

64B5-1.021 List of Approved Forms; Incorporation.
The following forms used by the Board in its dealings with the public are listed as follows and are hereby adopted and incorporated
by reference, and can be obtained from the Board office at 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C08, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258:

(1) Application for Dental Examination/Dental Hygiene Examination, DPR/DN/G03-(Rev. 2/94), effective 8-19-97;

{2) Application for Reactivation of an Inactive Florida Dental/Dental Hygiene License, AHCA/DN/04-(Rev. 5/96), effective 8-
19-97;

{3} Financial Interest Disclosure Form, DPR/DN/O17-(Rev. 5/97), effective 8-19-97;

(4} Application for General Anesthesia Permit, AHCA/DN/0GS-(8/96), effective 8-19-97;

(5} Application for Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permit, AHCA/DN/006-(8/96), effective 8-19-97:

(6} Appiication for Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit, AHCA/DN/O8-{12/96), effective 8-19-97:

(7) Application for Certification for Dental Radiographer, AHCA/DR/001-(Rev. 5/95), effective §-19-97:

(8) Appiication for Continuing Education Credit for Individual Study, instructors, Teachers and Lecturers, AHCA/DN/D0O9-
(4/80), effective 8-19-97; _

(9) Application for Biennial Providers of Continuing Education, AHCA/DN/O01-(4/86), effective 8-19-97:

(10} Application for Dentist/Dental Hygienist Limited Licensure, DOH/MQA/DNDH LL APP/mew, effective 9-20-01.

(11) Any person wishing fo be issued a Health Access Dental License shall apply to the Board of Dentistry. The application
shall be made on the Application for Health Access Dental License form #DH-MQA 1154 (revised 9/11/08) liereby adopted and
incorporated by reference, and can be obtained from the Board of Dentistry’s website at http:/www.doh.state. flus/mqa/dentistry/.

Rulemaking Authority 466,004 FS. Law Implemented 120.52¢15} IS, History—-New 8-19-97, Amended 9-20-01, 5-28-009,

64B5-1.025 Delegation of Certification for Licensure to Chair of Examination Committee; When Permitted.

Rufemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.013(2) FS. History- New 4-19-87. Formeriy 21G-1.023, 61F5-1.0235, 390-1.023,
Amended 3-20-01. Repealed 2-13-12
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64B5-2.0125
64B85-2.0120
64B5-2.013

64B5-2.0135
64B35-2.014

64B5-2.0142
64B5-2.0144
64B5-2.0146
64B5-2.0148

64B5-2.0150
64B5-2.0152

64B5-2.0155

64B5-2016
64B5-2.017
64B35-2.020
04B35-2.021
04B35-2022

CHAPTER 64B5-2
EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE OF DENTISTS AND DENTAL HYGIENISTS

Examination Security

Conduct at Examination Site {Repealed}

Florida Dental Examinations.

Dental Hygiene Examination

Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Accredited Schools or Colleges

Application for Health Access Dental License

Licensure Requirements for Dental Hygiene Applicants from Unaccredited Dental Schools or Coileges

Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colleges

Credentials Requirements for Applicants from Noen-Accredited Schools or Cofleges, Whose Records Are
Unavailable

American Dental Licensing Exam Scores from Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time Practice Requirements

Licenses Granted Based on The American Dental Licensing Exam From Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time Practice
Requirements

Time Requirements for Application, Disposition of Untimely or Incomplete Applications and Associated Fees
(Repealed)

Evalaation of Credentials (Repealed)

Acceptable Variance of Examiners

Selection of Examiners

Additional Education Requirements for Reexamination

Examination Review

64B5-2.6125 Examination Security. :
Security of the examination shali be maintained by compliance with such procedures and requirements established by ihe
Department of Health, unless specifically provided otherwise by these rules.

Rulemaking Authority 456.007(0(d) FS. Law lmplemented 456.007¢1)id} FS. History-New 3-23-90, Formerfy 21G-2.0125, 61F5-2.0125, 390-

210125

64B5-2.0126 Conduct at Examination Site.

Rulemaking Authority 436.004(5), 466.004(4) FS. Lavw Implemented 436.017(1)(d). 436.079 FS. Historv-New 2-7-96, Amended 5-21-96, Formerly
590-2.0126, Amended 5-1-02, Repealed 3-18-12,

64B85-2.013 Dental Examination.
Each applicant applying for a Florida dental license is required to complete the examinations as provided for in Section 466.006,

F.S. The Florida examinations for dentistry shall consist of a Written Examination, a Practical or Clinical Examination and a
Diagnostic Skills Examination. Al three examinations wiil be conducted in English. Applicants for examination or re-examination
must have taken and successfully completed Part | and Part [T of the National Board of Dental Examiners dental examination.

(1) Practical or Clinical Examination:

(a) Bffective October 1, 2011, the Florida Practical or Clinical Examination and the Diagnostic Skills Examination is currently
the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc., or its
successor entity if the successor entity is determined by the Board of Dentistry to comply with the provision of Section 466.006, F .S,
The ADLEX is inclusive of a comprehensive diagnostic skills examination covering the full scope of the practice of dentistry.

(b) The ADLEX shal! be administered irr the State of Florida and shail be graded by Florida ticensed dentists.

(c) All parts of the ADLEX shall be completed within eighteen (18) months from the initial start of any portion of the
examination. A failure to complete all parts of the examination within eighteen {18) months will require the applicant to retake the
entire examination,

(d) Each part of the ADLEX shall be completed with a grade of at least seventy-five (75%) percent.
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(e} Provided the Board of Dentistry maintains representation on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Deatal
Examiners, Inc., and the Examination Development Commities of the American Board of Dental Examiners Ine., the practical or
clinical examination procedurss, standards, and criteria of the ADLEX are approved,

() If any portion of the clinical or practical portion of the ADLEX exam was completed in z jurisdiction other than Florida,
applicants must comply with the applicable provisions of Sections 466.006(4)(1)3. and 466.006{6), F.S.. Rules 64B5-2.0150 and
64B5-2.0152, FAC.

(2) Written Examination:

(&) The Written Examination for dental licensure shall consist of the Jaws and rules of the State of Florida regulating the practice
of dentistry and dental hygiene.

(b} A final grade of seventy-five (75%) percent or better s required to pass the Written Examination.

Rudemaking Authortty 456.007¢1ith), A66.004(4). 46600653 u) FS. Law Implemented 436,00 7(1)(b), (2). 466.006(4), 466.006(5)(a). 466.009 FS,
History—New [0-8-79, Amended 6-22-80. 12-3-81, 12-6-82, 5-24-83, 12-12-83. 5-2-84. 5-27-84, Formerly 21G-2.13. Amended 12-8-85, 12-31-86,
3-A0-87. J0-19-87 12-10-89, J2-24-91. 2-1-83, Formerly 20G-20103, 61F3-2.013, Amended [-9-95, 2-7-96, 7-16-97, Formerly 580-2.01 3,
Amended 8-25-98, 3-25-99, 11-]15-99, 8-3-05, 7-17-007. 8-1-08. £-28-09, 8-25-10, 5-8-12.

64B5-2.0135 Dental Hygiene Examination.

(1) Practical or Chinical Examination:

(a) Currently, the Fiorida practical or clinical examination is the Dental Hygiene Examination deveioped by the American
Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (ADEX) and administered by the North Eastern Regional Board, Inc, (NERB). Any ADEX Dental
Hygiene Examination administered after June 1, 2010, will meet the clinical or practical examination requirement, regardiess of the
Jjurisdiction in which the exam was administered.

(b) Any dental hygiene applicant, who fails to pass the Practical or Clinical Examination in three (3) attempts, shall not be
eligible for reexamination until the successful completion of one academic semester of clinical course work at the senier clinical
practice level at a dental hygiene school approved by the American Dental Association Commission on Accreditation. A failure to
comply with the remedial course work in this paragraph will result in a denial of licensure or a denial to i1 for reexamination.

(¢) The Board of Dentistry hereby approves the practical or clinical Dental Hygiene Examination developed by ADEX. All
ADEX clinical or practical examination procedures, standards, and criteria are approved and shall remain approved contingent on
the Board of Dentistry maintaining representation on the ADEX House of Representatives and the ADEX Dental Hygiene
Examination Development Committee.

(2} Laws and Rules Examination:

(a) The written examination shall be an examination covering the laws and rules applicable to the practice of a health care
profession, the practice of dentistry and the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Fiorida.

(b) The examination shall, at a minimum, cover the following subject areas:

I. The provisions of Chapter 466, F.S.;

2. The provisions of Chapter 456, F.S.; and

3. Fhe provisions of Chapter 64B5, F.A.C.

(¢} No more than three percent (3%) of the examination shall cover the topic of Chapter 456, F.8.

{3) Grading, Passing Resuits, and Time Requirements:

(a} The practical or chinical examination administered in the State of Florida shall be graded ty Florida licensed dentists and
hygienists.

(b) The practical or clinical examination must be completed with a score of seventy-five (73) points or greater or: both portions
of the examinations, whether administered in Florida or another jurisdiction.

(¢} The written examination shall be completed with a seventy-five percent (75%) or greater,

{d) In order to be eligible for licensure, the written examination must be completed within eighteen (18) months of successfully
completing the practicai or ¢linical examination. If the applicant takes a board approved laws and vules course governing the practice
of health care professions and deatal and dental hygiene, the eighteen months is extended to twenty-four {24) months. The course
must be attended in person and consist of no fewer than five (5) clock hours.

(4) Historical Note Florida Dental Hygiene Exam:
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(a) On March 23, 2012, legislation became effective, SB 1040, which amended Section 466.007, F.S. Beginning July 1, 2012
the amendment made the Florida Dental Hygiene Exam the hygiene examination developed by ADEX.

(b) Prior to the legisiative change. the Board voted and implemented the Dental Hygiene Exam developed by ADEX and set
June 1, 2010, as the controlling date for accepiance of this exam. Preceding June 1, 2010, the hygiene examination was an
mdependent administered state exam.

{¢) In accordance with the applicable rules and statutes, June 1, 2010, is the earliest date the Board shall accept for a valid
Dental Hygiene bExam developed by ADEX, as this is the earliest date the Board and Council found the ADEX exam met the
requirements of Section 466.007, F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 466.007 FS. History-New 3-16-82, Amended 5-2-84. 3-19-85, 10-8-85. 12-8-83, Formerfy
210-2.{35, Amended 12-31-86, 10-19-87, 2-21-88 3-29-88. Formerly 21G-2.0135, 61F5-2.6135, Amended 11-15-95. Formerly 590-2.0135.
Amended 10-31-0], 7-60-0512-31-68 10-10-40, 12-28-11, 5-8-12.

64B5-2.014 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Accredited Schools or Colleges.

Any person who has graduated, or expects to graduate prior to the examination, or is in their final year of a dental or dental hygiene
program and has completed all the coursework necessary to prepare the student to perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures
required 1o pass the examinations, from a school or college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental
Association or its successor agency, or any other dental or dental hygiene program accredited by an accrediting entity recognized by
the United States Departiment of Education, may seek licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist in the following manner:

(1) Dental Hygiene Candidates.

(a} Successfully complete the practical or clinical dental hygiene examination developed by American Board of Dental
Examiners. Inc., (ADEX), as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners,
Inc.;

{b) Successfully complete the National Board Dental Hygiene Written Examination prior to application;

(c) Submit a completed application for licensure, Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1210 (Rev 8/12),
incorporated herein by reference and available at Hjip /vy (nlos ore Conowayrelorenceasp?No s Bei=0201 Tor available on the
Department of Health’s website at hitp://www.doh state.fl.us/mqa/dentistry. An applicant is eligible for licensure upon receipt of a
compieted application, passing scores from the ADEX clinical examination, National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, and
successful completion of the written examination on the faws and rules of Florida regulating the practice of dentistry and dental
hygiene. Applicants must comply with ail time requirements for passing the examinations as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C.

(2) Dental Candidates:

(@) Successfully compiete the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) produced by the American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc., as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners, Inc., which
includes the Diagnostic Skills Examination. Candidates whe have completed the ADLEX after October 1, 2011 in another
jurisdiction other than Florida and whose scores are over 365 days old are subject to additional application requirements as
mandated in Section 466.006(4)(b)3.. F.S. Additionally, all Candidates who submit ADLEX scores from another jurisdiction other
than Florida are subject to post licensure requirements as mandated in Section 466.006(6), F.S.

(b) Successfully complete the National Board of Dental Examiners Written Examination:

(¢) Submit a completed application for licensure, Dental Licensure Application, DH-MQA 1182 (Rev. 812), incorporated
herein by reference and available at hitp www Hrules orgidiatewavaeforance psn®MNo=Re =070 {dor available on the Department of
Health's website at http://www.doh.state fl.us/mag/dentistry. An appliicant is eligible for licensure upon receipt of a completed
application, passing scores from the ADLEX clinical examination, Diagnostic Skills Examination, National Beard Dental
Examination and successtul completion of the written examination on the laws and rules of Florida regulating the practice of
dentisiry and dental-hygiene. Applicants must comply with all time requirements for passing the examinations as specified in Rule
64B5-2.0i3, F.AC

(3) 1t is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the application for licensure is complete, including ensuring that all reguired
documents are submitted timety.

Rulemaking Authority 466,004 FS. Lenw tmplemented 456,033 466.006. 466,007, 466.028 FS. History-New [0-8-79. Amended 4-1-80, 4-20-8]. 3-
J6-82. 5-2-84. 9-4-84, Formerlv 21G-2. 14, dmended 12-31-86. 10-8-87. T1-16-8%, 10-18-90. Formerfy 21G-2.014. 61 F5-2.01 4. Amended 9-24-90.
Formerhy 390-2.014, Amended 8-20-97, 3-16-06, 12-26-06, 4-26-10. 3-18-12, 8-5-12. 12-11-12.
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64B5-2.0142 Application for Health Access Dental License.
Any person wishing to be issued a Health Access Dental License shall apply to the Board of Dentistry. The application shall be
made on the Application for Health Access Dental License form #DH-MQA 1154 {(Rev. 8/12), available at
heopww flrales.org Gateway referenvs asp o Ref-02075, hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, and can be obtained
from the Board of Dentistry’s website at htip//www.doh.state.l.us/mqga/dentistry/.

Rulemaking Avthority 466004 FS. Law Implemented 466.0067 FS. Historv—New 2-12-12 Amended 12-11-12.

64B5-2.0144 Licensure Requirements for Dental Hygiene Applicants from Unaccredited Dental Schools or Colleges,
Applicants for licensure as dental hygienists who have graduated from an unaccredited dental school or coliege may seek licensure
in the following manner:

{1} Submit the following: A completed credentials application, Application for Credentials Review for Graduates From Non-
Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools, Form DH-MQA 1253, 10/11, and incorporated herein by reference. Application for
Credentials Review for Graduates From Non-Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools, Form DH-MQA 1253, 10/11 can be obtained
af Bttpswewos Trodes oo 'Cateway/relorence asp T Mo Re L 637 or at the Board of  Dentistry website at
http:/fwww . doh.state fl.us/mga/dentistry,

{2) An initial credential evaluation is not an approval for licensure; rather, the applicant must comply with all provisions of
Chapter 466, F.S.

(3) A certified photocopy of the dental school diploma and a certified translation if the diploma is in a language other than
English, which diploma shall be comparable to a D.D.S. or a D.M.D.

{4) Final official transcripts received directly from the schools where post-secondary dental education was received and from
the dental school which veflects the applicant’s matriculation and graduation dates and degree carned; the transcript shall be
authenticated by the official school stamp or seal as well as the signature of an authorized school official and shall be accompanied
with a certified translation if the documents are in a language other than English.

(5) Proof which establishes successful completion of 4 academic years of post-secondary dentai education. Proof of the 4 years
of required education shall include a report from an Education Credential Evaluators (ECE) approved evaluating service, which
cvaluation includes a year by year evaiuvation of the applicant’s credentials. Said report shall not be conclusive, but shalt anly be
advisory to the Board.

(6) Any graduate of a foreign dental college or school not accredited or approved in accordance with Section 466.007(2)(b),
F.S., and not accredited in accordance with Section 466.006(2)(b), F.S., who seeks licensure as a dental hygienist pursuant to
Section 466.007(2)(b)2., F.S., but is unable to supply proper educational credentials due to the political or other conditions of the
country in which the education was received, shall submit any and all documents which would tend to support the applicant’s ¢laim
of proper credentials and shall submit with the application.

{a) A writien statement which shall include:

i A compiete chronological account of all schools attended during the candidate’s entire education, including dates of
attendance and graduation, the addresses of all schools attended;

2. A description of all dental school courses which the applicant successfully completed:

(b) At least five (3) written statements concerning the applicant’s dental education from persons who are directly acquainted
with the candidate’s educational credentiais. If the applicant relies on these wrilten statements to establish qualifications for
licensure, then at least three (3) of the written statements must be from dentists who are not related to the applicant;

(c} Any applicant who provides false information to the Florida Board of Dentistry on his or her licensure application and/or
written statements as required by this rule will be referred for criminal prosecution pursuant to Section 456.067, F.S.

(d) Uniess the Board is otherwise satisfied that the credentials required by subsections (3) through (5) above cannot be obtained,
the Board will not accept such other evidence as described in this section until the applicant has demonstrated to the Board that he or
she has made a reasonable attempt to obtain the credentials.

(7) Proof received directly from the American Dental Association, that the National Board of Dental Examiners Written
Examination has been successtully completed within 10 years prior to application; or that the National Board of Dental Hygiene
Examination has been successfully completed within 10 years prior to application.

(8) I the applicant’s name has changed since initiation of dental education, a certified copy of the Jegal document changing the
name or an affidavit sworn before a notary public or ather person authorized to administer oathis that the person named in credentials
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submitted and the applicant are the same person.

{9 Twa 2 inch by 2 inch photographs of the applicant which are suitable for identification.

(10)(a} The Applicants applying for licensure under Section 466.007(2)(b)2., F.S., whose applications do not indicate they have
obtained Dental Hygiene clinical education to the level of the clinical experience required by an American Dental Association
(ADA) accredited Dental Hygiene program in the areas set forth in paragraph (10)(b) below, who have failed the initial examination,
shall be required to obtain remedial coursework in those designated areas that the applicant has not successfully completed that
would meet the ADA clinical requirements at an ADA accredited dental or dental hygiene school, before being permitted to re-take
the dental hygiene examination. Such additional coursework shall be obtained from a program aceredited by the ADA, only after the
applicant satisfies and the Board approves the education and testing requirements of subsections (3) through (9} above. Such
additional coursework must be obtained by the applicant and approved by the Board prior to the applicant being allowed to sit for
the Dental Hygiene examination.

(b) The accredited clinical coursework referenced in paragraph (a) above shall be in the following areas:

1. Radiology: 15 hours didactic and {0 hours lab/clinical;

2. Prophyiaxis Performance: 25 hours didactic and 100 hours clinical:

3. Infection Control: 10 hours didactic and 10 hours clinical;

4. Periodontal Therapy: 20 hours didactic and 30 hours clinical;

5, Pharmacology: 15 hours didactic and 10 hours clinical;

6. Biomedical Sciences: 10 hours didactic;

7. Clinicat History Management: 10 hours didactic;

8. Special Patient Care: 5 hours didactic and ¢ hours clinical; and

9. Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for
adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator {AED): and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall
be sufficient for and shall resull in current certification or re-certification by the American Heart Association, the American Red
Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

{c} The additional coursework required by paragraphs (10%a) and (10)h) of this rule must be obtained and approved by the
Board prior to the applicant being allowed to sit for the Dental Hygiene examination.

(1) Upon approval of the credentials, the applicant shall apply for licensure in the following manner;

{a} Successfully complete the Florida practical or clinical examination developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners,
inc.. (ADEX}), as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135. F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners, inc. (NERB):
and

(b) Submit a complete application, Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MOQA 1210 (Rev. 8/i2), incorporated
herein by reference. Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1216 (Rev. 8/12), is available at
Bt Thles.ong/Oalowanyrelorenoe ot Mo Re 02016 on the Department of Health’s website at
htp://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentisiry. An applicant is eligible for licensure upon receipt of a completed application, passing
scores from the ADEX dental hygiene examination, the National Board Dental Hygiene or National Board Dental Examination, and
successful completion of the written laws and rules of Florida regulating the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. Applicants
must comply with all time requirements for passing the examinations as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C.

Ritlemaking Autheriy 466,004, 466,607 FS. Law lmplemented 460,007 FS. History-New 1-18-93, Formerly 390-2.0144. Amended §19-97. 8-20-
97, 820001 2-21-006, 5-8-08, 4-26-70), 3-18-12, [2-11-12.

64B5-2.0146 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colleges.
Prior to applying to take the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX), as specified in Rule 64B35-2.013, F.A.C., complete
and submit Application for Credentials Review For Graduates From Non-Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools, Form DH-MQA
1254, (10-11), incorporated herein by reference and available at fupivas il
Department of Health's website at http://www.doh.state. fl.us/mga/dentistry,

(1) An applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of Section 466.006(3), F.S., and chooses to apply pursuant to Section
466.006(3 K a), F.S., will be required to:

(a) Comptete, at an accredited American dental school, a matriculated general dental program which consists of either 4 vears of
dental subjects or 2 years of predental education followed by 3 years of dental subjects,

s oreGateunay reforenceasp?Nor Ref~02 2 or the
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(b} Receive a D.D.S, or D.M.D. from the institugion at which the dental school is located.

(c) Present to the Board at least 30 days prior to the dental examination the following documents;

t. Official transcripts issued by the dental school which verify completion of ai! coursework requirements of the dental program
or certified copies thereof.

2. A D.D.S. or D.M.D. issued by the dental school or a cestified copy thereof,

(2 An applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of Section 466.006(3), F.S., and chooses to apply pursuant to Section
466.006(3)(b), F.S., will be required to:

(a) Complete a full-time, matriculated, American Dental Association recognized dental specialty education program accredited
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or a Commission on Dental Accreditation of the
American Dental Association accredited supplemental general dentistry programs, which provides didactic and clinical education to
the level of an accredited D.D.S. or D.M.D. program, either of which have a duration of at least two consecutive academic vears at
the sponsoring institution.

(b) Receive a dental diploma, degree or certificate from the sponsoring institution upon successful completion of the program.

(¢} Present to the Board the following documents: _

L. Official transcripts issued by the sponsoring institution which verify completion of all coursework requirements of the
supplemental dental education program;

2. A dental diploma, degree or certificate issued by the sponsoring institution or a certified copy thereof; and

(3) It is the applicant’s responsibility 1o assure that the application for licensure is complele, including assuring that all required
documents are submitted timely.

(4) After approval to sit for the ADLEX examination, the applicant shall successfully complete the practical or clinical
examination which is the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) produced by the American Board of Dental Examiners
and the Diagnostic Skills Examination, as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc. (NERB). Cndidates who have completed the ADLEX after October |, 2011 in another jurisdiction other than
Florida are subject to additional requirements as stated in Section 466.006, F.S.

(5) After completion of the ADLEX examination, applicants shall submit Dental Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1182
(Rev. 8/12), incorporated herein by seference and available at Ligpn v frules. ore/Gateway/relerenseasn No - Bei 62019 or the
Department of Health’s website at hitp://iwww.doh.state. fl.us/mga/dentistry.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.006(3) FS8. Law Implemented 466.006 FS. Histon-—-New [0-15-92, Formerly 21G-2.0146. 61F5-2.0146,
Amended 9-24-96, Formerty 590-2.0146. Amended 8-19-97, 5-20-01, 6.7-05, 12-26-06, 6-30-09, 3-18-]2. 12-1}-12.

64B5-2.0148 Credentials Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colleges, Whose Records Are
Unavailable.
Any person who seeks licensure as a dentist but is unable to supply proper educational credentials due to the political conditions of
the country in which the education was received shall submit any and all documents which would tend to support the applicant’s
claim of proper credentials and shall submit prior to the examination:

(1) Preoof received directly from the American Dental Association, that the National Board of Dental Examiners Written
Examination has been successfully completed in no more than three atiempts 1o successfully complete it, prior to application.

(2) An affidavit sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths which shall include:

(&) A compiete chronological account of all schools attended during the candidate’s entire education, including dates of
aftendance and graduation, the addresses of all schools attended:

{b) The date that the appticant received any license to practice dentistry, including the name and address of the issuing authority
and any license number assigned;

(¢} A description of all dental school courses which the applicant successfully completed;

{d) A complete chronological dental practice history, including addresses of practice, names of associates in practice and current
location of any practice associates; and

{e) Complete disclosure regarding any Htigation in which the candidate is or was involved;

(3) Affidavits concerning the applicant’s dental education or dental practice history, swom before a notary public or other
person authorized to administer oath, from persons who are directly acquainted with the candidate’s dental practice history or
educational credentials. 1f the applicant relies primarily on affidavits to establish qualifications for licensure, at lease three affidaviis
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must be from dentists who are not related to the applicant;

(4) Any other evidence that may aid in verification of graduation from a bona fide dental school:

(5) In cases where actual credentials cannot be presented, the Board shall be the judge of the evidence presented and shall
decide if evidence presented is sufficiently substantial to warrant the applicant’s acceptance,

Rulemaking Authority 466 004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466,006 FS. History-New 11-16-89, Amended 16-18-90. Formerly 21620148, 61F5-
200148, 590-2.0148. Amended 7-29-97. 12-26-06, 3-18-12.

64B5-2.0150 American Dental Licensing Exam Scores from Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time Practice Requirements.

The Florida dental clinical or practical examination is currently the American Dental Licensing Fxamination (ADLEX) developed
by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. The examination shall be administered in Florida and shall be graded by dentists
licensed in Florida. An applicant for a dental license in Florida can submit ADLEX scores from a jurisdiction other than Florida if
the examination was completed after October 1, 2011 If, however, the passing scores from the ADLEX are over 365 days old, the
results will not be recognized unless all criteria below are met.

(1} Applicabte Definitions:

(a) Fuli-time practice - means completing one thousand two hundred (1.200) hours of practice per calendar year; when
applicable, the hours shall be broken down to one hundred (100) hours per month.

(b} Month ~ means thirty (30) days,

(¢} Practice - means any combination of the foliowing: 1) Active ciinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient care; 2)
Full-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or accredited by the
American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation; or 3) Full-time practice as a student at a postgraduate dental
education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

(d) Recognized or Other Jurisdiction — means a state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

(e) Veritfied — means the document shatl be verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S.

(2) Mandatory Criteria: The applicant shall meet all of the following criteria,

(a) Compliance with all provisions of Section 466.066(4)(b)3., F.8. The applicant should carefully review this section of the
Florida Statutes.

(b) Provide documentation that the applicant has been consecutively engaged in full-time practice in a recognized jurisdiction
for the preceding five (5) years or since initial lcensure, if less than five years, prior to the date of application for licensure to the
Florida Board of Dentistry.

(3) Mandatory Documentation: The applicant shall comply with providing the following mandatory documentation.

{(a) Full-Tame Practice Spreadsheet:

I. The submission of a calendar month-by-calendar month and year-by-year chronological history of the applicant’s fuli-time
practice in a spreadsheet format.

2. The spreadsheet shail be headed with the applicant’s full legal name and sub-headed “History of Full-Time Practice.”

3. Each page shall be sequentially paginated in the lower right hand corner with the applicant’s last name followed by a hyphen
with an Arabic numeral. (Example: Smith-2, Smith-3, Smith-4, etcetera).

4. The applicant shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet by placing at the end of the documens, “Under penalties of
perjury, | declare that I have read the foregoing History of Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet and that the facts stated in it are frue.”
The applicant shall sign directly under the verification statement and date the document. Reference Section 92.525, F.S., concering
verification of documents.

5. Someone unrelated to the applicant shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet, by signing the same document with the
same verification clause or by submiiting a document {affidavit) verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S. The verified
document must attest that the applicant has been engaged in the full-time practice as indicated by the Full-Time Practice
Spreadsheet.

(b) Additional Verified Documents:

Fach category of full-time practice claimed must be supperted by the following documentation, which establishes or supports the
spreadsheet submitted. There must be documentation submitted from subparagraph 1. and 2. below, if applicable.
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I. A verified copy of financial or business record documents, reflecting the dates of employment that match the spreadsheet; a
verified copy of a patient log or appoiniment schedule (names of patients shall be redacted to refiect the initials only). The Board
will request verified financial billing documents to corroborate the patient log if the Board finds the patient log or appointment
schedule lacking credibility.

2. An original and official letter from the dean of the school or program sent directly from the program or school to the Board.
that supports that the applicant did engage in full-time practice as a faculty member or as a student which matches the dates month-
for-month and year-for-year as listed on the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.

3. Any other verified documentation that supports the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.

{(4) Mandatory Board Appearance and Defays:

(a) It is in the best interest of the applicant to caueiuiiy review afl documents submitted for accuracy, authenlacnty legibility, and
statutory and rufe compliance to avoid unnecessary delays, board appearances, or denials.

{by The Board is authorized to require the applicant and the applicant’s witness to appear before the Board to give oral
testimony under oath to assess credibility or accuracy of the full-time practice requirements. Section 466.006(4)(b)3.e{IV), F.S. In
addition, the Board can requite a mandatory appearance regarding any licensure application and a failure to appear at one of the next
two regufarly scheduled meetings shall result in a denial of licensure and will toll the time for ruling on the application, Section
456.013(3), F.S. Finally, any incomplete submission can delay the application process. Section 120.60(1), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4}, 466.006(41(0)3.e.(11]} FS. Law Implemented 466,004, 466.006/6) FS, History-New 7-]-12.

64B5-2.0152 Licenses Granted Based on The American Dental Licensing Exam From Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time

Practice Requirements.
The Florida dental clinical or practical examination is currently the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) developed
by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. The examination shall be administered in Florida and shall be graded by dentists
licensed in Florida. An applicant for a dental license in Florida can submit ADLEX scores from a jurisdiction other than Florida if
the examination was completed after October |, 201 1. Applicants who are relocating to this state based on scores from the ADLEX
that was administered in a jurisdiction other than Florida must engage in the full-time practice of dentistry inside the geographical
boundaries of this state within the first year of receiving a dental license in Florida. In order to maintain the dental license the
ficensee must meet the following critetia,

(1} Applicable Definitions:

(a} Full-Time Practice — means completing one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours of practice within the geographical
boundaries of Florida within the first vear of obtaining a Florida dental license.

(b) Practice — means any combination of the following: 1) Active clinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient care; 2)
Full-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or accredited by the
American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation; or 3) Full-Time practice as a student at a postgraduate dental
education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

(¢) Another or Other Jurisdiction — means another state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

{d} Full-Time Practice Log — means a log the licensee must keep from the initial date of licensure in Florida which documents
the daily practice time of the licenses. :

{e) Relocating Applicants - means those applicants who are lawfully and eurrénily practicing dentistry in another jurisdiction
who apply for licensure in Florida based on the ADLEX administered in another jurisdiction, Lawfully and currently means those
applicants that have or had a license to practice dentistry in another jurisdiction within the past six (6) months and those who have
practiced the profession in any manner utilizing such license within the past six (6)months, prior to submitting the application for
licensure in Florida.

(1) Verified - means the document shall be verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S.

{2) Mandatory Critena:

The ficensee shall meet ali of the following criteria,

(a) Compliance with all provisions of Section 466.006(6), F.S. The dentist should carefully review this section of the Fiorida

Statutes,
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(b} Provide documentation that the relocating dentist has been consecutively engaged in fuli-time practice within the first year
of licensure in Florida.

(¢} Maintain a Full-Time Practice Log.

(d) A failure to meet the required full-time practice requirements will cause the dental license to expire as enumerated in Section
466.006(6), F.S.

(3) Mandatory Documentation:

The dentist shall comply with providing the following mandatory documentation.

(a) Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet:

1. The submission of a month-by-month chronological history of the dentist’s full-time practice in a spreadsheet format from the
date of initial license in Florida.

2. The spreadsheet shal! be headed with the dentist’s full legal name and sub-headed “History of Full-Time Practice.”

3. Bach page shall be sequentially paginated in the lower right hand corner with the dentist’s last name foilowed by a hyphen
with an Arabic numeral. (Example: Smith-2, Smith-3, Smith-4, etcetera.).

4. The dentist shall verify the Fuil-Time Practice Spreadsheet by placing at the end of the document, “Under penalties of
perjury, 1 declare that 1 have read the foregoing History of Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet and that the facts stated in it are true.”
The dentist shall sign directly under the verification statement and date the document. Reference Section 92.525, F.S., concerning
verification of documents.

3. Someane unrelated to the dentist shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet, by signing the same document with the
same verification clause or by submitting a document (affidavit) verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S. The verified
document must attest that the dentist has been engaged in the full-time practice as indicated by the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.

{b} Additicnal Verified Documents:

Each category of full-time practice claimed must be supported by the following documentation, which establishes or supports the
spreadsheet submitted.

I A verified copy of financial or business record documents, reflecting the dates of employment that match the spreadsheet: 2
verified copy of a patient log or appointment schedule (names of patients shall be redacted to reflect initials onty). The Board will
request verified financial billing documents to corroborate the patient log if the Board finds the patient log or appointment schedule
lacking credibility,

2. A verified copy of the Fuli-Time Practice Log.

3. An original and official letter from the dean of the school or program sent directly from the program or school to the Board,
that supports that the dentist did engage in full-time practice as a faculty member or as a student which matches the dates month-for-
month as listed on the spreadsheet,

4. Any other verified document that supports the Full-Tine Practice Spreadsheet.

{4) Mandatory Submission:

{a) All documentation shall be submiited to the Board office within thirty days prior to the expiration of the first year of
practice. The initial day of licensure shall not count. A failure to timely submit all required documentation will {ead to the expiration
of licensure in compliance with Section 466.006(6)(c), F.S.

{b) The dentist shall make certain that all submissions are timely, accurate, legible, and authentic to avoid the expiration of the
dental licensee. The Board is authorized to require the licensee and the licensees™ witnesses to appear before the Board and give oral
testimony under oath to assess credibility and accuracy.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4), 466.006(6)(h)2 FS. Law Implemenied 466,004, 466.006(6) FS. History-New 5-13-12.

64B5-2.0155 Time Requirements for Application, Disposition of Untimely or Incomplete Applications and Associated
Fees.
Rulemaking Auihority 466,004 FS. Law Implemenied 366,606, 466.007 IS, iligtom=New 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-2.0155, 61F5-2.0155. 590-
201055, Repealed 327812,

64B5-2.0L6 Evaluation of Credentials.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Tmplemented 466.006. 466,007 FS. Histor--New 10-8-79. Amended 10-26-80. 5-2-84. Formerh: 21G-2.16.
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Amended 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-2.016, 61F5-2.016, 590-2.016. Repealed 3-18-12

04B5-2.017 Acceptable Variance of Examiners.

(1) ANl clinical gradings by examiners are to be made independently. Each clinical procedure shall be graded by three (3)
examiners. On the clinical portion of the dental hygiene examination described in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C., the three independent
grades shall be utilized in a system of corroborated errors to determine an applicant’s final grade on each procedure of the clinical
portion. The corroborated errors grading system requires that at least two of the independent examiners must agree on the presence
of the error before the error may be used in calculating an applicant’s grade,

(2) There shall be a variance review of all grades of all applicants taking the clinical part of the examination for the purpose of
determining inter-examiner variance,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 466.006(5Hd) I'S. Levw Implemented 466.006¢5)() FS. History-New 12-10-79, Amended 6-22-80, 4-20-81. 3-
24-8212-6-82. 5-24-83, 5-2-84. 5-19-85. Formerly 21G-2.17. 21G-2.007. 61F5-2.017, 390-2.017. Amended 10-]2-04. ]0-16-10. 1-10-72.

64B5-2.020 Selection of Examiners,

(1) In order to be efigible for selection and retention as an examiner, a Florida licensed dentist or dental hygienist must meet the
following minimum qualifications:

(a) Has been actively engaged in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene in Florida for five vears immediately preceding
selection; .

(b) Has demonstrated interest in continuing dental education; and

{c) Is not connected in any way with any medical coflege or dental coliege.

(2) Licensees who meet the base qualifications listed in paragraphs (1)a) and (b) and have never acted as an examiner must be
recommended to the Department of Health by the Board. Those licensees who meet the base qualifications listed in paragraphs
(1)(a) and (b) and have acted as an examiner at previous examinations may be asked to be an examiner by the Department so long as
their previous performance as an examiner was satisfactory as determined by post-examination examiner variance statistics
compiled by the Department.

(3} Prior to cach examination the Department will determine the number of examiners it will need to administer the
gxamination. Once that determination is made, the Department will establish a pool of individuals from which the actual examiners
will be selected. In forming this pool the Department will initially contact those individuals who have previously examined and
whose past performance s deemed satisfactory based on post-examination examiner variance statistics compiled by the Department,
When the Department is unable to establish a sufficient pool of individuals with satisfactory experience as examiners, it will notify
the Board who wiil then recommend a list of individuals meeting the qualifications of paragraphs (1)}a) and (b). The Department
will select from the Board’s recommended list sufficient individuals to insure that there will be an adequate pool from which to draw
the requisite number of examiners.

(4) Those individuals forming the pool from which the examiners will be selected shall attend every session of the pre-
examination standardization exercise conducted by the Department. At the conclusion of standardization, the mdividual members of
the pool will be tested on their ability to adhere to and apply the examination grading criteria and they will be rank-ordered based on
their performance on the standardization fest. Selecting those individuals in the pool with the highest rank-order, the Department
will submit a list of proposed examiners to the Board for its approval, However, if an individual has examined previously and his
score on the Departiment’s post-examination examiner variance study reflects a higher adherence to the criteria than his rank-order
on the standardization test, the Department will utilize his post-examination variance score rather than his standardization rank-order
in determining whether to recommend him as an examiner. If the Board rejects any proposed examirer the Department shall return
ta the rank-ovder list and shall recommend remaining peol members based on their rank-order.

(5) Subsequent to the examination, the Department will compile posi-examination variance statistics for each examiner which
statistics shall be utilized in determining whether a particular examiner will be requested fo participate in any future pools of
prospective examiners, '

(6) In an attempt fo continually replenish the peol of possible examiners, no individual will be permisted to examine for more
than four (4) consecutive years. Any such individual will be eligible for the pool of prospective examiners after not examining for a
period of one (1) year. However, this prohibition will not be enforced when the Departiment is unable to establish a sufficient pool of
prospective examiners.
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(7) In determining whether to ask an otherwise qualified individual to participate in the examiner peol, the Department and the
Board may also consider the following factors:

(a) Whether the individual is currently or has ever had a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene revoked, suspended, or
otherwise acted against, including the denial of licensure by the licensing authority of another state, territory or country;

(b} Whether the individual imits his practice of dentistry to a recognized specialty area;

(¢} Whether the individual has any criminal convictions;

() Whether the individual has been involved in any civil litigation and, if so, the nature and result of the litigation;

{e) Whether the individual has been associated with a dental hygiene program.

Rulemaking Authority 456.007¢1)(b). 466.004(3) FS. Law Implemenied 456.017(1j1b} FS. Historp- New 5-24-83, Amended 5-27-84, Formerdy 210-
2200 20G-2.020. 61F3-2.020, 390-2.020. Amended 2-13-06.

04B5-2.021 Additional Education Requirements for Reexamination.

(1) Any applicant who has failed to pass the clinical examination in three attempts shall not be eligible for reexamination until
he or she completes a one year general practice residency, advanced education general dentistry residency, or pedodontic residency
or a minimum of one academic year of undergraduaie clinical coursework in dentistry at a dental school approved by the American
Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation, At the time of application for reexamination the applicant must furnish
proof from the educational institution of successful completion of one of the residency programs listed above or the required
coursework. However, for those applicants completing their coursework immediately prior to the examination or those applicants
who have completed at least 9 months of a general practice residency, who cannot provide an official transcript, proof of having
successfully completed the required coursework or residency shall consist of a statement from the dean of the school where the
coursework or residency was completed that the requirements of this rule will have been met prior o the date set for issuance of
examination grades. Grades received by a candidate taking the examination pursuant to this exception will not be certified, and
grade resufts will be null and void if successful completion of the coursework or residency has not been established prior to the date
set for issuance of examination grades. Successful completion of coursework shall be established by submission of an official
transcript. ,

(2} The statutory provision that an applicant complete additional educational requirements if he or she fails to pass a specified
portion of the examination three times is interpreted by the Board to mean that additional education shall be required after every
third unsuccessful attempt, i.e., after the third, sixth, ninth, etc., attempts.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.006 FS. History New 9-4-84, Formerly 21G-2.21, Amended 1-6-87. 11-16-89, Formerly
20G-2.021 61F5-2.021, 590-2.021, Amended 6-12-0¢),

64B5-2.022 Examination Review,
A candidate is entitled to review his examination under such terms and conditions as may be prescribed by the Department of Health
and upon payment of the fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.020, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 456,01 72} FS. Law Implemented 456.017(2) I'S. History-New 3-25-90. Formerly 21G-2.022. 61F5-2.022. 590-2.022.
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CHAPTER 64B5-4
ADVERTISING

64B5-4.002  Advertising and Soliciting by Dentists
64B5-4.003  Advertisement of Fees and Discounted Services
64B5-4.004  Advertising Specialty Services {Repealed)
64B5-4.005  Advertising of HIV/AIDS Status

64B5-4.002 Advertising and Soliciting by Dentists,

(1) As used in the rules of the Board, the terms “advertisement™ and “advertising” shall mean any statements, oral or written,
disseminated to or before the public or any portion thereof with the intent of furthering the purpose, either directly or indirectly, of
selling professional services, or offering to perform professional services, or inducing members of the public to enfer into any
obligation relating to such professional services. The provisions of this rule shail apply to media exposure of any nature regardless of
whether it s in the form of paid advertising.

(2) All advertising in any media must identify the Florida licensed dentist, who assumes total responsibility for the
advertisement. The term “identify” shall mean the use of the license number of the dentist as it appears on his license and renewal
certificate or the use of the licensee’s commoniy used name together with the current address and telephone number the licensee has
on file with the Department.

(3) No dentist shall disseminate or cause the dissemination of any advertisement or advertising which is in any way fraudulent,
false, deceptive, or misleading in form or content. Additionally, no dentist shali disseminate or cause the dissemination of any
advertisement or advertising which:

(a) Contains misrepresentations of fact;

(b} Is likely to mislead or deceive because in its context or in the context in which it is presented it makes only a partial
disclosure of relevant facts;

{c) Contains lavdatory statements ahout the dentist or group of dentists;

{d) Is intended or is likely to create false, unjustified expectations of favorable results;

{e} Relates to the quality of dental services provided as compared (o other available dental services;

(1) Contains other representations or implications that in reasonable probability will cause an ordinary prudent person to
misunderstand or to be deceived. For example, it is fraudulent, false, deceptive, and misleading for a dentist wha utilizes the laser in
his dental practice to advertise that the use of lasers is painless, heals faster, or provides better results than other dental procedures.
However, a dentist may advertise that he treats patients with a laser in certain instances.

{g) Is intended or is likely to appeal primarily (o a layperson’s fears.

(4) In person and telephane solicitation of dental services by a dentist or his agent poses an inherent danger to the public
because such advertising cannot be supervised, may exert pressure, and often demands an immediate response without affording the
recipient an opportunity for comparison or refiection. Unlike an advertisement appearing in print or on tefevision or radio, in persen
and telephone solicitation does not simply provide information and leave the recipient free to act or not, but is ripe with the potential
for overbearing persuasion. Accordingly, in person and telephone solicitation of dental services by a dentist or his agent is
prohibited. The term “solicitation™ as used in this rule does not include in person or telephone communication by a dentist or his or
her agent with a patient or former patient for purposes of scheduling an appeintment or offering follow-up care.

(5) Advertising which includes the name of a person who is not either actually invoived in the practice of dentistry at the
advertised location or an owner of the practice being advertised is not permitted. However, to facilitate the smooth transition of a
practice after its sale from one licensee to another, it is permissible to identify the previous owner in advertising by the new owner
for a reasonable period of time not to exceed a peried of 2 years. This rule does not provide authority to use a previous owner's
name in any advertising without {irst obtaining that licensee’s written permission to do so.

{6} Any dentist who advertises by, through or with a referral service shall be held responsibie for the content of such advertising
and all such advertisements shall comply with this rule and contain the following:

{a) A statement that the advertisement is for a dental referral service and is in behalf of the dentist members of the referral
Service.

{b} A statement that the referral service refers only to those dentists who have paid or been otherwise selected for membership
in the referral service,
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(¢) A statement that membership in the referral service is limited by the referral agency.

(d) A statement that dentists who receive referrals from the referral service charge no more than their usual and customary
professional fees for service,

(e) These required statements shall be present in reasonably recognizable print or volume equivalent to the size or volume of
other information in the advertisement.

(7) No licensee may use, or cause the use of the term “sleep dentistry™ in any advertisement, unless the licensee possesses a
valid general anesthesia permit issued by the Board of Dentistry pursuant to the requirement of subsection 641B35-14.003(1) and Rule
64B5-14.005, FAC.

Specific Authority 466.004(4), 466.019 FS. Law huplemented 466.019, 466.028(1 )i FS. Hisiory-New 7-7-87. Amended 1-11-89, 10-29-90, £.24-
91, 7-14-92. Formerly 21G-4.002. Amended 3-30-94. Formerly 61775-4.002, 390-4.002. dmended 5-20-01. 1-29-03, 2-26-06.

04B5-4.003 Advertisement of Fees and Discounted Services.

(1) An appropriate disclosure regarding advertised fees is necessary to protect the public since there is no uniform code
available which would enable a fatr and rational selection based upon advertised fees.

(2} Any advertisement containing fee information shall contain a disclaimer that the fee is a minimum fee only.

{3) Any advertised fee for a dental service shall state a specified period during which the fee is in effect or that service shall
remain availabie at or below the advertised fee for at least 90 days following the final advertisement for that service.

{4) Any dental service for which a fee is advertised shall be accompanied either by a description of that service using the exact
wording for that service contained in the American Dental Association’s “Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature” which is
hereby adopled and incorporated by reference or by the specific ADA Code number or numbers which accurately and fully describes
the advertised dental service, Listing of a category of service (diagnostic, preventive, restorative, endodontics, periodontics,
prosthodontics-removable, prosthodontics-fixed, oral surgery, orthodontics) or a sub-category {any procedure whose ADA Code #
ends in 00, e, root canal therapy 03300) is not sufficient for the purpose of advertising a fee. The advertisement must specify by
use of exact nomenclature or exact code number what procedure within the sub-category is being offered. 1f no fee is specified for a
procedure advertised then a general description of procedure by category or sub-category is permitted.

(5} Any advertusement for free or discounted services must comply with the requirements of Section 456.062, F.S., and must
also clearly identify the dates that free, discounted or reduced fee services will be available.

Specific Authority 466.004¢(4). 466,019 FS. Law Implemented 466.019, 466.028(1iidi FS. Historv-New [-11-89, Amended 10-29-90, 3-11-92,
Formerly 21G-4.003. 61 F5-4.003, 590-4.003,

64B5-4.004 Advertising Specialty Services.

Rulemaking Auihority $66.004(4). 466,009 FS. Law fmplemented 466,019, 466.028¢1)(d). 4666282 FS. Histor--New [-11-89, Formerty 210-
L0004, 61F5-4.004, Amended 6-9-96. Formerly 390-4.004, Repealed 7-5-10

64B5-4.005 Advertising of HIV/AIDS Status.

(1} Public fear regarding the possibility of HIV transmission from health care workers to patients, although scientifically
unfounded, has resulted in concerns regarding the safety of dental care. In order to prevent the inappropriate exploitation of such
fears and the fostering of such concerns, the advertising of dental health care workers” HIV status must be sufficiently reguiated.

(2) Public misunderstanding of the significance of HIV test results may cause an inappropriate reliance on negalive test results.
Reliance on test results may diminish vigilance necessary for the success of universal precautions in the safe practice of dentistry.
HIV antibody testing is extremely accurate in detecting existing HIV antibodies, However, there are limitations to the testing
technelogy. The “window™ period between infection and the appearance of HIV antibodies may produce false negative results, The
existence of this “window” peried diminishes the reliability of any negative test results.

{33 1t is the position of the Board of Dentisiry that HIV/AIDS issues are best handled on an individual basis directly between
patients and dental health care workers. However, if such advertising is to be utilized the following guidelines must be foliowed:
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(a) No dental health care licensee may represent that he or she is HIV negative or free from AIDS. Only representations as to
test results may be advertised or noticed; and

(b) Any such advertisement or notice must clearly state the following:

THIS NEGATIVE HIV TEST CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT | AM CURRENTLY FREE OF HIV.

(¢) Any referral or endorsement of a dental health care licensee based upon the licensee’s negative HIV test result must clearly
state the following: :

THIS NEGATIVE HIV TEST CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT THE PERSON TESTED IS CURRENTLY FREE OF HIV.

{d) Any representation as (o a dental health care licensee’s HiV test results must include the exact date of the HIV test result that
is the basis of such representations.

(&) No dental health care licensee may state or imply in any advertisement or notice of his or her own HIV test results that any
other licensee is or may be a greater risk to patients due to a failure or refusal to provide similar advertising or notice.

(f) Any dental health care licensee who advertises or provides notice of his or her HIV test results must produce upon the
request of a patient, a prospective patient, a former patient, or a Department of Health Investigator, an original HIV test result
provided by a clinical laboratory regulated by the Department of Health, indicating the result of an HIV test. If the advertisement or
notice stales that the dental heaith care licensee has tested negative for HIV, the required test resuit must indicate a negative result.

Spectiic Authority 456,032, 466,004 F5. Law Implemented 456.032, 466.079 FS. History-New §2-10-91, Formerly 21(-4,005, 61F5-4.005, 390-
4005
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CHAPTER 64B5-7
DENTAL PRACTICE PERMITS

64B5-7.001 Requirements for Approval and Operation of Internship and Residency Programs

64B5-7.003 Permit Requirements for Dental Interns and Residents '

64B5-7.0035  Temporary Certificate Requirements for Dentists Practicing in State and County Government Facilities
64B5-7.005 Teaching Permits

64B5-7.006  Non-Profit Corporation Permits

64B5-7.007 Limited License as Allowed in Section 456.015, F.S

64B5-7.001 Requirements for Approval and Operation of Internship and Residency Programs.

(1) For the purpose of receiving a dental intern permit pursuant to Section 466.025(1), F.S., dental internships include dental
residency programs for dental school graduates,

{2) All dental internships or residency programs approved by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation are deemed to be Board approved programs.

{3) Any hospital or institution which seeks fo provide a dental internship or residency program which has not been approved
pursuant to subsection 64B5-7.001(2), F.A.C., shall apply to the Board for approval, The application for approval shall contain;

(a) A plan for operation of the program which establishes compliance with subsection 64B5-7.001(4), F.A.C,,

{b) An outline of the duties and proposed schedule for dental interns or residents;

{c) Any information relating to the program review by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation
or information regarding the program not being reviewed; and

{(d) Any other information requested by the Board which is relevant to the Board’s evaluation of the program.

(4) Any dental internship or residency program shall be directed by an identified staff consisting of at least one Florida licensed
dentist who shall provide for the continued education and instruction of the dental interns or residents.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.023 IS, Law Implemented 466025 IFS. History--Repromuigated 1-1-735, Formerly 21G-7.00, Amended 1-29-
89, Formerly 21G-7.001, 61F3-7.001, 590-7.001, Amended 3-28-99.

64B5-7.003 Permit Requirements for Dental Interns and Residents,

(1) Any person wishing to be issued a permit as a dental intern or resident, pursuant to Section 466.025(1), F.S., shall apply on
the Residency/Intern  Application, form DH-MQA {224, (8/12), incorporated herein by reference and available at
Bitps S www fhrules org/vatewnvireterence asp? N O Re 01 89 or on the Department of Health’s  website  at
kttp:/fwww.doh.state. fl.us/mqa/dentistry, and provide proof of the following:

{a) Applicant’s name and age,

(b) Applicant’s graduation from a dental college or school or verification that the applicant is expected to graduate within the
next sixty days. (The proof submitied shall include either a true and correct copy of a diploma awarded by the dental schoo! or
college or a letter from the dean of the dentai school or college.);

(c) Applicant’s licensure status in other jurisdictions, including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action:

{d) The status of any dental maipractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction;

{e) The name and address of the internship or residency program at which the applicant will be practicing dentistry; and

{2) Graduates of dental schools or colleges that are not accredited by the ADA shall be issued permits only for practice in
internship or residency programs that are accredited hy the ADA,

(3) Any hospital, institution or clinic employing a dental intern or resident shall inform the Board office of the termination of
that individual. Such notice shall be in writing and within 30 days of termination of employment or training.

(4) Experience obtained by an individual pursuant to a permit issued under the authority of this rule and Section 466.025, F.S.,
is not acceptable for the purpose of fulfilling the supplemental education program set forth in Section 466.006(3%b), F.S.

(5) Every applicant is required to provide proof of current CPR certification prior to being issued a permit. Applicants who are
not certified but who are otherwise eligible for a permit shall be allowed 60 days to obtain such certification following issuance of
the permit,

{6) Dental intern and resident permits are subject to cancellation, revocation or other discipline by the Board for failure to
comply with Chapters 456 and 466, ¥.5., and Chapter 64B5, F.A.C,
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Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 466.025 FS. Law Implemented 456.0635, 466.025 IS History—Repromulgated 1-1-75. Amended 1-6-77.
Formerly 21G-7.03, Amended [-29-89, Formerly 21G-7.003. dAmended 8-12-93, 3-30-94, 7-18-04. Formerfy 61F5-7.003, Amended 7-12-93,
Formerly 590-7.003, Amended 11-10-98, 3-28-99, []-19-12,

64B5-7.0035 Temporary Certificate Requirements for Dentists Practicing in State and County Government Facilities.

(1) Any unlicensed dentist who wishes to practice dentistry at a state or county government facility in Florida is required 1o
obtain a temporary certificate,

{2) Any unlicensed dentist who is a graduate of a dental schoo! accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American
Dental Association and who applies to the Board for such certification shall be certified by the Board for receipt of a temporary
certificate.

{3) Prior to issuance of a temporary certificate, the unlicensed dentist shall submit proof of current CPR certification. The
facility at which the unlicensed dentist intends to practice shall provide to the board office the name(s) and license number(s) of the
licensed dentist(s) under whose supervision the certificate holder shall work.

(4) Each state or county facility at which an unlicensed dentist practices dentistry shall inform the Board office of the
termination or transfer of the temporary certificate holder. Such notice shall be in writing and within 30 days of termination or
transfer of the certificate holder.

(3) A temporary certificate shall be renewed each biennium. At the time of renewa! the certificate holder shall sign 2 statement
that he or she has complied with all continuing education requirements of active licensees. Additionally, each certificate hoider shall
complete, no later than upon first renewal, a Board-approved course on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV}) and Acquired
Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. A temporary certificate shall be
canceled by the Board upon the unlicensed dentist being terminated from employment by a state or county government facility or
upon a finding by the Board that the temporary certificate holder has violated any provision of Section 466.027 or 466.028, F.§, or
has failed the Florida dental licensure examination.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS. Lew Implemented 456,033, 466.017¢4), 466.025 F§ History-New §-12-93, Formerly 61F3-7.0035, 590-
F0035, Amended T1-10-98, 3-25-99, 12-25-01, 1-12-04, 12-25-05.

64B5-7.005 Teaching Permits.

{1) A teaching permit shall be issued by the Board of Dentistry to a full time dental instructor of a dental program accredited by
the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association and, except for the orthodontic specialty program at
Jacksonville University, shall be located within a dental school as defined herein or in a medical schoot accredited by the American
Medical Association’s Liaison Committee for Medical Education upon the request of the dean if the faculty member:

{a) Has a degree in dentistry and either: 1) is eligible 1o take the Florida dental licensure examination and has net failed the
examination or three occasions or; 2} was at one time eligible to take the Florida examination, and has not failed the Florida dental
licensure examination on three occasions or; 3) has successfully completed a post-doctoral fraining program of at least two years in
duration and accredited by the Comimission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or; 4} is not eligible to take
the Florida examination, but obtained the degree from a foreign dental education program and agrees to practice dentistry only under
the general supervision of a Florida licensed dentist; and

(1) 1s a full-time dental instructor; and

(¢) Does not engage in the practice of dentistry, except at the teaching facilities under the accredited dental program.

(2) A dental schocl is an educational institution that includes a predoctoral dental education program of not less than four vears
from which students graduate with a D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree.

(3) A teaching permit or temporary teaching permit authorizes the holder to practice dentistry at the teaching facility under the
following terms and conditions:

(@) All records pertaining to the teaching practice shall be subject to review and available to the Board.

(b) Upon the Board’s request, the permit holder shall submit any information the Board deems necessary to evaluate compliance
with Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., and Chapter 64B5, F A.C,

{¢) Permits shall be in effect only as long as the holder is a full-time denta! instructor and shall be automatically cancelled and
nullified by the termination of the holder as a dental instructor at the teaching facility or third time failure of the Florida dental
licensure examination.
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(d) Teaching permits are subject fo cancellation or revocation by the Board for failure to comply with Chapters 456 and 466,
F.S., and Chapter 64B35, F.A.C.

(4) Prior to issuance of a teaching permit, each faculty member must provide proof of current CPR certification. If otherwise
eligible, the faculty member wiil be granted a permit with the requirement that current CPR certification be obtained within 60 days.
Each faculty member holding a teaching faculty permit shall maintain current CPR certification.

{5} An applicant for a teaching permit shall submit Application for Teaching Permit, form DH-MQA 1225 (8/12), incorporated
herein by reference and available at tpwww flrules arp/Gaeway refercnce.asp?No - Rel-0 1890 or on the Department of Health’s
website at hitp://www.doh.state fl.us/Mqa/dentistry.

Rulemaiing Awthority 466.002(6). 466.604¢4) FS. Law [mplemenied 466.002¢6) FS. Hisrory-New #-30-80, Amended 1-13-8]. Formerly 21G-7.05,
Amended 1-29-89, Formerly 21G-7.005, 6/F5-7.005, Amended 10-16-96, 3-16-97. Formerly 590-7.003, Amended 11-10-98, 8-3-04). 1-12-04. §-
H1-06, 11-19-12.

64B5-7.006 Non-Profit Corporation Permits,

(1) Any non-profit corporation which is chartered for the purposes specified in Section 466.025(3), F.S., seeking a permit to
employ a non-Florida licensed dentist who is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of
the American Dental Association shall fite an application with the Board which contains the following information:

(a) A certified copy of the non-profit corporation’s charter which establishes one or more of the purposes for the organization
which are specified in Section 466.025(3), F.S., and proof of registration with the Internal Revenue Service as a nonprofit
organization pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 361(c)(3).

(by Justification for the need to provide dental services by dentists who are not licensed in this state.

{c) A pian of operation which establishes that any non-Florida ticensed dentist employed by the permit holder will be practicing
dentistry under the general supervision of a Florida licensed dentist.

{d} For non-profit corporations which provide dental care to indigent patients, statistics which establish that only indigent
patients have been treated or admission criteria that only indigent patients will be treated. A description of the physical plant,
available equipment and resources which establish that minimum standards of dentistry are or will be practiced at the facility.

{¢) Any other information pertinent to the application which is requested by the Board.

(f) As to each non-Flarida licensed dentist employed or sought to be employed:

I, The dentist’s name and age,

2. Proof of said dentist’s graduation from an accredited dental college or school,

3. The dentist’s licensure status in other jurisdictions. including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action,

4. The status of any dental malpractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction,

5. Proof of having successfully completed Board approved courses on Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Acquired immune
Deficiency Syndrome, a course in domestic vioience, and proof of current CPR certification.

(2) A non-profit corporation permit holder shail follow the requirements of subsection 64B3-7.001{4}, F.A.C., and Rule 64B5-
7.003, F.A.C., regarding application, requirements for conducting the program and qualifications for any permit holders who will be
employed at their facility.

(3) Any non-Florida licensed dentist employed by the holder of a permit pursuant to this rule shal! be bound by all requirements
for permit holders set forth in Rule 64B5-7.003, F.A.C., and shall be compensated only by salary which is not based upon
productivity,

{4) Each non-profit corporation at which a non-Florida ficensed dentist practices dentistry shall inform the Board office of the
termination of practice of said dentist. Such notice shall be in writing and within thirty (30) days of termination,

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4) IS, Lene fmplemenied 466.025(3) IS History New 1-16-89. Formerfy 21G-7.006, 61F3-7.006, S90-7.006,
Amended 3-25-99, 6-12-00, 12-25-06.

64B5-7.007 Limited License as Allowed in Section 456.015, F.S,

(1} A limited license shall be issued by the Board of Dentistry to an applicant who has retired or intends to refire from the
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene and intends to practice only pursuant to the restrictions of the limited license granted pursuant
to Section 456.015, F.5., if the applicant;

{a) Has been licensed for practice in any jurisdiciion in the United States for at least ten (10) vears in the profession for which
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the applicant seeks a himited license,

(b) Has not committed or is not under investigation for prosecution for any act which would constitute the basis for discipline
pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 466, F.S.

{c) Practices only in the employ of public agencies or non-profit agencies or institutions which meet the requirements of Section
501(e)3). F.S., of the Internal Revenue Code, are permitted under Rule 64B5-7.006, F.A.C., and which provide professional
liability coverage for acts or omissions of the limited licensee.

{d) Complies with all continuing education requirements of active licensees,

(e} If the applicant for a limited license submits a potarized statement from the employer stating the applicant will not receive
monetary compensation for any service involving the practice of dentistry or dental hyvgiene, the application fee and all licensure
fees shall be waived.

() Submits Form DH-MQA 1201, Application for Limited Licensure Dentist/Dental Hygienist (Rev. 8/12), incorporated herein
by reference and available at hilp7www Hrulesorn/Catewsyireivrence. asp " ™No=Ref-01939 or available on the Department of
Health’s website at hitp://www.doh.state.fl.us/mga/dentistry.

(2) A limited licensee may provide services only to the indigent, or critical need populations within the state. The standard for
determining indigency shall be recognized by the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines produced by the United States Department of
Health and Human Services.

Rulemalking Authority 436,005, 466,004 FS. Law Implemented 456,015, 466,006, 466,007, 466.011 FS. History-New 7-19-0]. Amended 6-22-05,
11-29-12,
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CHAPTER 64B5-9
PRESCRIPTIONS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE SERVICES AND CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL RADIOGRAPHERS

64B5-9.010  Prescriptions for the Services of a Dental Hygienist
64B35-9011 Radiography Training for Dental Assistants

64B5-9.018 Prescriptions for the Services of a Dental Hygienist,

(1) For the purposes of Section 466.023(2)(c), F.S., a dentist’s preseription for his patient of record for dental hygiene services
shall contain the following information:

{a) The patient’s name and address;

{b) The dentist’s name, business address and license number;

(c) The name, business address and professional license number of the dental hygienist who is being authorized to perform the
service; and

(dy A statement of the specific services authorized and the frequency of the services authorized.

(2) The prescription must be printed, handwritien or typed on the dentist’s prescription pad or on his professional letterhead
stationery.

(3) The original prescription shall be given to the patient, and a copy shall be maintained in the patient’s file in the office of the
preseribing denfist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 466.023(2)(c) FS. History-New 8-4-80, Formerly 21G-9. 10, Amended 1-18-89. Formerfy
21G-9.01, 6IF5-9.014, 590-9.010,

64B5-9.011 Radiography Training for Dental Assistants,

(1) Licensed dentists may position and expose dentai radiographic films pursuant to Section 466.017, F.8.

(2) Dental hygienists may position and expose dental radiographic films pursuant to Section 466.023, F.S., and Chapter 64B5-
t6, FAC

(3) Dental assistants may position and expose dental radiographic films only if they have been certified by the Department as
dental radiographers or have graduated from a Board-approved dental assisting schoo! or program.

{4) Dental assistants may be certified as dental radiographers if they comply with the following requirements:

{a) Apply for certification on DH-MQA 1202, Dental Radiography Certification Application (Rev. 8/12), incorporated herein by
reference and available at Nitip: www Srulesove/Garewn reforence aapi Mo le 02027 and available on the Department of
Health's website at htip://www.doh.state.fl.us/mga/dentistry, and submit the nonrefundable fee prescribed by Rule 64B5-15.015,
F.AC,

(b) Document having completed at Jeast 3 months of continuous on-the-job training through assisting in the positioning and
exposing of dental radiographic film under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist; and

(c) Document successful completion of a Board-appreved course which meets the requirements of subsection 64835-9.011(35),
F.A.C. within 12 months after completion of the on-the-job training required by paragraph 64B5-9.011(4)(b), F.A.C.

(5) Only courses which provide training in the following areas may receive Board approval;

{(a) Dental radiography practice and equipment;

{b) Radiation biology and radiation safety techniques;

(¢) Hands-on instruction in the positioning of dental radiograph films through the use of appropriate mannequins that will
provide the didactic objectives; '

(d) Radiographic anatomy;

(¢) Radiographic film and processing;

(1) [ntra-oral radiographic techniques;

(g) Supplemental techniques of dental radiography; and

(h) Infection control and sterilization technigues.

(6) A dental assistant’s certification as a dental radiographer must be conspicuousty displayed to the public in any dental office
where these services are performed.

Rudemaking Authority 466,004, 466.017(7) IS, Law Implemiented 466.017(7) S, History-New 9-20-80, Amended 1-28-81, Formerfy 21G-9.11,
Amended 12-31-86. 1-18-89. 4-24-91, Formerfv 21G-9.011, 61F5-9.001, 590-9.011, Amended 6-12-00, 3-20-01.12-11-12.
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CHAPTER 64B5-10
INACTIVE LICENSURE STATUS, RENEWAL, REACTIVATION, AND EXEMPTIONS

64B5-101.004  Exemption of Spouses of Members of Armed Forces From Licensure Renewal Provisions
64B5-10.005  Inactive Status and Renewal of Inactive Status

64B5-10.007  Requirements for Reactivation of an Inactive License

64B5-10.010  Delingquent Status License

64B5-10.011  Retired Status and Reactivation of Retired Status License.

64185-10.004 Exemption of Spouses of Members of Armed Forces From Licensure Renewal Provisions.
A licensee who is the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was caused to be absent from the State of
Florida for a period of at least six consecutive months because of the spouse’s duties with the armed forces and who at the time the
absence became necessary was in good standing with the Board of Dentistry and entitled to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in
Florida shall be exempt from all licensure renewal provisions under these rules. The licensee must show satisfactory proof of the
absence and the spouse’s military status,

Speciilc Authority 43602472}, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemenied 436.024(2) IS, History-New 12-31-86, Formeriy 21G-10.004, 61 F5-10.004. 390~
HLOO4,

64B5-10.005 Inactive Status and Renewal of Inactive Status.

{1} A Bicenses may eclect at any time to place the license into inactive status by filing with the Department a completed
application for inactive status as set forth in Section 456,036, F.S., and the appropriate fees required by Rule Chapter 64B5-15,
F.A.C. Active status licensees choosing inactive status at the time of license renewal must pay the fee for renewal of inactive license
required by Rule 64B3-15.008, F.A.C., any applicable delinguency fee as required by Rule 64B5-15.011, F.A.C., and the Change of
Status Processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012. F.A.C. Active status licensees choosing inactive status at any time other than at
the time of license renewal shall pay the change of status processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C.

(2) Inactive licenses must be renewed biennially including payment of the renewal fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.008, F.A.C.

(3) An inactive license can be reactivated at any time provided the ticensee meets the requirements of Rule 64B5-10.007, F.A.C.
Inactive status licensees choosing active status at the time of license renewal must pay the renewal fee required by Rule 64BS-
15.006, F.A.C., the reactivation fee as required by Rule 64B5-15.009, F.A.C., any applicable delinquency fee as required by Rule
04B5-15.011, F.AL, and the change of status processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C. Inactive status licensees
choosing active status at any time other than at the time of license renewal shall pay the reactivation fee as required by Rule 64B3-
15,000, F.AC,, and the change of status processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C,

Specific duthority 466.004(4), 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 456.036 FS. History-New 7-12-95, Formerty S90-10.005, Amended 5-20-0].

64B5-10.007 Requirements fur Reactivation of an Inactive License.

An inactive license shall be reactivated upon demonstration that the licensee has paid the applicable fees set forth in Rule Chapter
64B5-15, F.A.C,, and has complied with the following requirements:

(1) As a condition to the reactivation of an inactive iicense, a dentist or denta} hygienist must submit proof of having completed
the appropriate continuing education requirements as set forth in Rule 64B5-12.013, FA.C.

(2) However, any licensee whose license has been inactive for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and who has
not practiced for two out of the previous four vears in another jurisdiction shall be required to appear before the Board and establish
the ability to practice with the care and skili sufficient to protect the health. safety, and welfare of the public. At the time of such
appearance, the licensee must:

{a) Show compliance with subsection (1) above;

(b) Account for any activities related to the practice of dentistry in this or any other jurisdiction during the period that the
license was inactive and establish an absence of malipractice or disciplinary actions pending in any jurisdiction;

(c) Prove compliance with the financial responsibility requirements of subsection 456.009, F.S., and Rule 64B5-17.011, F.A.C.
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(dentists only);

(d) Prove compliance with subsection 456,033, F.S., and Rule 64B3-12.019, F.A.C.

{3} The Department shall not reactivate the license of any dentist or dental hygienist who bas;

{a} Committed any act or offense in this or any other jurisdiction which would constitute the basis for disciplining a licensee
pursuant to subsection 466,028, F.S,

{b) Failed to comply with the financial responsibility requirements of Section 456.009, £.S., and Rule 64B5-17.011. F.A.C.
{dentists only).

{¢) Failed to comply with the provisions of Section 436,033, F.S., and Rule 64B3-12.019, F.A.C.

Specific Authority 466.004(4), 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 156,036, 366,015 S, History--New 7-12-95. Formerly 590-10.007. Amended 5-20-
.

64B5-10.010 Delinquent Status License.

{1} The failure of any license holder to either renew the license or elect inactive status before the Heense expires shali cause the
license to become delinguent.

(2) The delinquent status licensee must affirmativety apply for active or inactive status during the licensure cycle in which the
iicense becomes delinguent. The failure by the delinguent status licensee to cause the license to be renewed or made inactive before
the expiration of the licensure cycle in which the license became delinquent shall render the license null and void without further
action by the Board or the Department. '

(3) The delinquent status licensee who applies for license renewal or inactive status shall:

(a) Apply to the Department for either license renewal as required by Section 466.015, F.S., or inactive status as requived by
Section 436,036, .S,

(b) Pay to the Board either the ticense renewal fee as set forth in Rule 64B5-15.006, F.A.C., or the inactive status fee as set forth
in Rule 64B5-15.008, F.A.C.; the definquency fee as set forth in Rule 64B5-15.011, F.A.C.; and, if applicable, the processing fee as
set forth in Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C.; and

(c) If renewal is elected, demonstrate compliance with the continuing education requirements found in Rule 64B5-12.013,
FAC

Specific Authorify 468.004(43, 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 456,036 S, Historvy-New 7-12-95, Formerly 390-10.010,

04B5-10.011 Refired Status and Reactivation of Retired Siatus License.

(1) A licensee may place an active or inactive license in retired status at any time. If the license is placed in retired status at the
time of renewal the licensee shall pay the retired status fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0122, F.A.C. If the licensee chooses to place
the license in retired status at any time other than at the time of license renewal the licensee shall pay the change of status processing
fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0121, F.A.C., and the retired status fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0122, F.A.C.

(2) A licensee may reactivate a retired status license at any time, subject to meeting the following requirements:

{a) Paying the reactivation fee set forth in Rule 64B3-15.0091, F.A.C.;

{b) Showing documentary proof of satisfying the continuing education requirements of Rules 64B3-12.013, 64B5-12.016,
641335-12.019, 64B35-12.020, F.A.C.. for each licensure biennial period in which the license was in retired status.

(c) Dentists must demonstrate compliance with Rule 64B5-17.011, F.A.C., Financial Responsibility,

(3) Any dentist whose ticense has been on retired status for more than five (5) years or a licensee from another state who has not
been in the active practice of dentistry within the past five (5) years shall be required to appear before the Credentials Commitiee of
the Board and establish the ability to practice with care and skill sufficient to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public. At
the time of such appearance, the denfist must:

(a) Demonstrate compiiance with subsection (2) above;

{b) Account for any activities related to the practice of dentistry during the period that the licensee was on retired status or not
practicing i another jurisdiction and establish an absence of malpractice or disciplinary actions pending in any jurisdiction.

(4) The Department shall refuse to reactivate the license of a retired status dentist who is under investigation or prosecution in

P46



any jurisdiction for an action that would constitute a violation of this chapter or the professional practice acts administered by the
department and the boards, untii 15 days after the Department receives the final results of the investigation or prosecution.

Rulemaking Authority 436.036 FS. Law Implemented 456.036 FS. Historv- New 2-14-06. Amended 6-9-11)
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CHAPTER 64B5-12
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION

64B35-12.013 Continuing Education Requirements

64B5-12.0135  Licensees Excused from Continuing Fducational Reguirements
64B5-12.014 Committee on Continuing Professional Education

64B5-12.016 Subject Area Reguirements

64B5-12.017 Application for Provider Status

64B5-12.0175  Standards for Approved Providers

64135-12.018 Individual Study

6485-12.0185  Standards for Board Approval of Pro Bono Programs
04B5-12.019 Courses Required for Initial Licensure, Renewal, or Reactivation
64B5-12.020 Courses Required of Licensees for Renewal and Reactivation

64B5-12.013 Centinuing Education Requirements,

(1) Dentists shall complete 30 hours of continuing professional education during each license renewal bienntium as a condition
of license renewal. Dentists shall also complete a Board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on domestic violence as
defined in Section 741.28, F.8., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C.. as part of every third biennial licensure renewal. In
addition to the 30 hours required herein, each licensed dentist shail compiete the training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
required in subsection 64B5-12.020(1), F.A.C. Furthermore, each person is required to complete no later than upon first licensure
rencwal a Board approved course on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (H1V) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
as required by Section 456.033, F.S., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C.

{2} Dental hygienists shall complete 24 hours of continuing professional education as a condition of license renewal. Dental
hygienists shall also complete a Board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on domestic violence as defined in
Section 741.28, F.8., and described in Rule 64B3-12.019, F.A.C.. as part of every third biennial licensure renewal. In addition,
during each license rencwal biennium licensed dental hygienists shall complete training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at
the basic support level, which resuits in certification or recertification in CPR by the American Heart Association, the American Red
Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements. Furthermore, each person is required to complete no later than upon first licensure
renewal a Board approved course on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
as required by Section 456.033, F.8., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C.

(3) Continuing education credit shall be awarded only for educational experiences that are specifically appropriate for, and
contain useful information divectly pertinent to, dentistry and only if received through the following methods:

{a) By participating in courses offered by a Board-approved continuing education provider; or

(b) By participating in courses offered by:

I. The American or National Dental Associations and their constituent and component and affiliate dental associations and
societies, including affiliated specialty organizations or a provider organization recognized by either the American or National
Dental Associations; _

2. The American or National Dental Hygienist Association and their constituent and component associations and societies:

3. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent and component organizations or a provider approved by the Auadcmy
of General Dentistry’s National Sponsor Approval Program;

4. A dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation;

5. A hospital, college, university, or community college, accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the United States
Department of Lducation;

6. The American Red Cross, American Heart Association, and the America Cancer Society; and

7. An educational program or course associated with a medical schoo! which is accredited by the American Medical
Association’s Liaison Committee for Medicat Education;

(c) By participating in Board-Approved individual study; and

{d) By participating in examination standardization exercises. Dentists and dental hygienists may receive a maximum of 6
continuing education credits per bienniuwm for participating in the dental hygiene exercise; dentists may receive a maximum of 8
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continuing education credits for the dental clinical exercise; and dentists may receive a maximum of 11 continuing education credits
per biennjum for participating in both exercises;

(e) By participating in programs approved by the Board pursuant to Rule 64B5-12.0185, F.A.C., that provide substantial pro
bono dental and dental hygiene services to the indigent, to dentally underserved populations or to persons who reside in areas of
critical need within Florida. Dentists and dental hygienists may obtain a maximum of 7 hours per biennium of required continuing
education credit for participating in such programs. Continuing education credit shalt be caleulated at a ratio of | continuing
education credit for each 1 hour of patient services provided to approved programs,

(f) By participating as an expert witness in the review of disciplinary cases, 2 licensee may receive a maximum of 11 hours of
continuing education credit for completing five disciplinary cases in each biennium. By participating as an expert witness in the
review of disciplinary cases, a licensee may receive a maximum of 4 hours of continuing education credit for completing two
disciplinary cases {n each biennium. A maximum of 11 hours in any one biennium may be earned toward license renewal.

(g) By participating as part of a course at a dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the ADA Commission
on Dental Accreditation, its successor agency or other nationally recognized accrediting agency, an adjunct, part-time faculty
member may receive 3 continuing education hours per semester/quarter by providing the foilowing requirements: application,
documentation from the teaching institution which shali include the number of the semesters/quarters the licensee taught the course.

{h) Up to 4 hours of credit per renewal cycle may be earned by attending a meeting of the Board of Dentistry wherein
disciplinary cases are considered. The licensee must check in with staff prior to the beginning of the disciplinary proceedings. Afler
the cenclusion of the meeting, Board staff will issue a certificate of attendance to the licensee. Credit hours shall be awarded on an
hour for hour basis up to a maximum of 4 hours. Credit hours may not be earned when the licensee attends a disciplinary case
session as a party to a disciplinary action,

(i) By participating as an anesthesia inspection consultant, a licensee may receive two hours of continuing education credit each
biennium.

(4) The Department shali send a license renewal application ro each licensee at the licensee’s last address of record during each
license renewal period. The application shall contain an affidavit form to be completed and sworn to by the licensee stating that the
licensee has completed required continuing education. The ficensee shall retain documentation of having completed the continuing
education hours claimed on the renewal application for a period of 4 years.

(5) Failure of the Department to send or the licensee to receive a license renewal notice shall not affect the licensee’s
responsibility fo timely renew licensure.

(6) The Board wili randomly audit licensees’ continuing education documentation to assure compliance with continuing
education requirements, Failure to maintain documentation or the submission of false or misleading information or documentation
shall subject the licensee to discipline, up to and including revocation of licensure.

Rulemaking Authority 436.013(8). 456,031, 466.004(4), 466.0135 466,014, 466.017(3), (4) FS. Law Implemented 456.013(8), 456.031. 466.01 35,
466014, 466.017(3;, (51, 466.028(1)(i), (bb) FS. Historv-New 4-2-86, Amended 12-31-86. 4-26-87, 7-20-87, 6-16-87, []-18-89 7-9-91}, Formerly
21G-12.01H3. dmended 3-19-94. 7-18-94, Formerly 61F3-12.013. Amended 11-15-93. 4-8-96, Formerly 390-12.013. Amended 2-17-98, 2-15-99, 3-
FI-99 1)-9-04), 5-20-0F, 8-25-03, 3-3/-(04. 7-13-05, 2-]4-006, 12-25-06. 10-10-70).

0485-12.0135 Licensees Excused from Continuing Educational Requirements,

(1} Licensees shall not be required to complete continuing education requirements during the biennium in which they receive
initial Heensure.

(2) Dentists shall not be required to complete continuing education requirements during any biennium in which they are:

(a) Enrolled full-time in a post-graduale specialty iraining or residency program at a dental school aceredited by the American
Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation; or

(b) Serving as full-time faculty members at a dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American
Dental Association’s Commission of Dental Accreditation.

(3) Dental hygienists shall not be required to complete continuing education requirements during any biennium in which they
are:

(a) Enroiled full-time in an academic program directly related to dentistry or dentai hygiene; or

{b) Serving as full-time faculty members at a dental, dental hygiene school or dental assisting school accredited by the
American Denfal Association’s Commission on Dental Acereditation,
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(4) No provision of this section shall relieve a ficensee from the obligation to obtain training required by Sections 456.013(7),
456.031, 456.033, F.S., as a condition of licensure renewal.

Rulemalking Authority 466.004(4). 466.0135. 466.014 5. Law Implementodd 456.013(7). 456,031 456,033, 466.0/35. J66.014 FS History--New -
18-8Y. Formerty 21G-1 20135, 6115-12.0133, 590-12.0135. Amended 5-17-06.

64B5-12.014 Committee on Continuing Professional Education.

(1} The Chairman of the Board shall appoint a Continuing Professional Education Committee to effectively administer
continuing education requirements.

(2) The committee shall consist of at least one dentist member, one public member, and one dental hygienist member. A quorum
shall be a majority of the commitiee members.

(3) The committee shall prepare for the Board's consideration and final approval or disapproval, requests for continuing
education provider status and requests for continuing education credit for individuai study.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Law [mplemenied 466.0133, 466.014 FS. Hisiory-New 4-2-86. Amended 6-36-86. 1-18-89.
Formerly 21G-12.014, 611512014, 390-12.014.

64B5-12.016 Subject Area Requirements. _

{1) Regardless of the manner by which a licensee obtains continuing education, no credit will be awarded unless the subject
matter falls within the following subject matter categories:

(a) Basic medical and scientific subjects, including but not limited to — biology, microbiology, anatomy, dental anatomy,
microscopic anatomy, pathology, physiology, chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry, neurology, pharmacology, anesthesia,
analgesia, diet and nutrition as it relates to the conditions of the human oral cavity.

(b) Clinical and technical subjects, including but not limited to - techniques in general dentistry or recognized specialties, dental
materials and equipment, diagnosis and treatment planning, asepsis and sterilization technigues and radiology.

(¢} Patient heaith and safety subjects including but not limited to — public heaith problems, communicable diseases, emergency
care, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, advanced life support, anesthesia, patient stress management and risk management.

(d) Subjects dealing with licensees’ legal responsibilities, inciuding but not limited to the laws and rules governing the practice
of dentistry and dental hygiene.

(e} Formal group discussions concerning case presentations sponsered by approved providers.

(2) Except as expressly allowed below in this section, no continuing education credit shall be given for courses which do not
directly relate to providing dental care. The following types of courses do not relate directly to providing dental care — organization
or design of a dental office, practice development or management, marketing of dental services, investments or financial
management and personnel management,

{3) No continuing education credit shall be given for identical courses taken during the same biennium.

{4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section to the contrary, a dentist may earn up lo three hours of continuing
education renewal credit per biennium, by completing an approved course in dentisiry practice management, that meets the criteria
set forth in Section 466.0135(1)¢), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 466.0135, 466.014 FS. Law Implemened 436,031, 466.0135, 466,014 S History-New 4-1-86, Amended 1-18-
89, 7-9-90, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-12.016, 61F5-12.016, Amended 9-27-95, Formerly 390-12.016, Amended 16-29-00, 5-20-01, 5-31-04, 7-6-06,
12-25.00.

64B5-12.017 Application for Provider Status.

(1) Entities or individuals who wish to become approved providers of continuing education must submit the approval fee set
forth in subsection 64B83-15.022(1), F.A.C., and an application on the appropriate form set forth in Rule 64B3-1.021, F.A.C.. which
contains the following information and which is accompanied by the following documentation:

(a) The name of the contact person who will fulfill the reporting and documentation requirements for approved providers and
who witl assure the provider’s compliance with Rule 64B5-12.0175, F.A.C,; and

(b) The quatifications of all instructors, which may be evidenced by a curriculum vitae or professional licensure in the subject
area taught. Because demestic violence courses must contain information specificafly appropriate for, directly pertinent to, and
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useful in, dentistry, all domestic violence instructors shall identify dental injuries indicative of domestic violence, mandatory
reporting and patient records confidentiality for dentists under Florida and federal law, and incidence statistics in the dental
profession.

(2) Provider approval may be granted for a period not to exceed the time from the date of approval to the end of the next
successive licensure biennium after approval was obtained. Application for renewal of provider status shall be made at least 90 days
priot to the end of the biennium in which approval expires and must be accompanied by the biennial renewal fee set forth in
subsection 64B5-15.022(2), F.A.C. Renewal applications shall contain all information required for initial provider approval as well
as course outlines and information evidencing compliance with Rule 64B3-12.0175, F.A.C., for each course offered during the
provider status.

(3) Study clubs which are composed of at least five licensees, are formed for the purpose of scientific study and which have
adopted written by-laws may apply te become approved continuing education providers.

Rulemaking Authority 456.027, 466.00404). 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 456027, 466.0135. 466.014 FS, Historv-New 4-2-86, Amended 10-26-
87, 1-]18-89, 7-9-80, 5-2-91, Formerly 21G-12.007, 615512017, 390-12.017. Amended 8-19-97, 10-29.00. 5-20-01.

64B5-12.0175 Standards for Approved Providers.

Approved continuing professional education providers and providers authorized pursuant to paragraph 64B3-12.013(3xb), F.A.C.,
shall comply with the following requirements:

(1) All courses shall reflect appropriate didactic and clinical training for the subject matter and shall be designed o meet
specifically stated educational objectives.

(2) Instructors shail be adequately qualified by training, experience or licensure to teach specified courses. Because domestic
violence courses must contain information specifically appropriate for, directly pertinent to, and useful in. dentistry, ail domestic
violence instructors shall be familiar with dental injuries indicative of domestic violence, reporting obligations under Florida and
federal law, and incidence statistics in the dental profession. Instructors who have had a professional license revoked, suspended, or
otherwise acted against, in Florida or in another jurisdiction, shall be disqualified when the nature and number of disciplinary actions
indicate a conscious disregard for the laws, rules and ethics of the profession.

(3) Any clinical dental hygiene course in which patients are treated during instruction must be supervised by a licensed dentist.

(4) Facilities and equipment for each course in which patients are treated during instruction shal] be adequate for the subject
matter and method of instruction.

(5) Course length shall be sufficient to provide meaningful education in the subject matter presented. One half hour or one hour
of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 25 or 5¢ minutes of actual classroom or clinical instruction, respectively,
No continuing education credit shall be awarded for participation of less than 25 minutes.

(6) Providers shall provide written certification to each participant who completes a continuing education course or portion of
that course which consists of at feast 25 minutes of instruction. Certification shall include the participant’s name and license number,
the provider’s name and number, the course title, instructor, location, date offered and hours of continuing education credit awarded
and validation through the signature of the provider, official representative or instructor.

{7) Providers shall maintain records of each course offering for 4 years following each licensure biennium during which the
course was offered. Course records shall include a course outline which reflects its educational objectives, the instrucior's name, the
date and location of the course, pasticipants™ evaluations of the course, the hours of continuing education credit awarded for each
participant and a roster of participants by name and license number,

(8) Providers’ records and courses shall be subject to Board review. Failure to maintain the standards set forth in this rule shall
subject the provider to the suspension or rescission of the providership.

(9) The provider number shall not be used on any advertisement or certification for a course that does not meet the requirements
of Rule 64B5-12.016, F.A.C.

(10} A Ticensee who has been approved as a provider may not give more than 12 hours of continuing education credit in subjects
other than cardiopulmonary resuscitation to office staff, employees, or fellow employees during a biennium.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 406.014 FS. Law Implemented 466.0135. 466.014 FS. Historv-New 1-18-89, Amended 7-9-90, Formerly 21G-
[2.0775 61F5-12.0§75 590-12.0175, Amended 10-3-99, 10-29-000, 3-7-12,
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64B5-12.018 Individual Study,

(1) Licensees may receive continuing education credit for individual study by submitting an application for approval on a form
provided by the Board which is accompanied by documentation of compliance with the requirements of this rule.

(2} Credit for individual study shall only be awarded in the following manner, for the foilowing educational experiences:

(a) The initial presentation of materia} falling within the subject areas set forth in Rule 64B5-12.016, F.A.C., which is part of
professional conference or meeting or which is offered at a formal course given in conjunction with a professional conference or
meeting. Two hours of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 50 minute segment of a presentation. The licensee
must submit documentation which includes: the name of the professional conference or meeting and its sponsoring organization; the
date, location and subject of the presentation; and written confirmation of this information by the sponsoring organization.

{b} Publication of an asticle or book devoted to a subject area set forth in Rule 6485—12.016, F.A.C., in journals or other media
which select materials through an editoriaf review process. Continuing education credits in an amount determined by the Board may
be awarded for a published articie or for a published book upon the licensee’s documentation of the following; the title, authors,
subject and length of the article or book; the publisher’s name and date published; and i the licensee co-authored an article or book,
documentation of the licensee’s actual contribution to the finished product,

(¢} Presentation of & lecture devoted 1o a subject area set forth in Rule 64B5-12.016, F.A.C., when given as part of a course at a
dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation, its successor agency or other nationally recognized accrediting agency, or as part of a formal course or program
approved by the Board pursuant to Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C. Two hours of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 50
minutes of actual lecture time upon the ficensee’s documentation of the following: name of the institution, course and program;
subject, length and date of the lecture; and written confirmation of this information from the sponsaring institution or program.
Licensees may obtain a maximum of 15 hours per biennium.

Rulemaking Authority 466.604(4). 466,014 FS. Law Implemented 4660135, 466.014 FS. History-New 4-2-86, Amended 9-7-87, 3-28-88. 1-18-89,
Formerly 2/G-12.018, 61F3-12.018, 390-12.018. Amended 7-13-05.

64B5-12.0185 Standards for Board Approval of Pro Bono Programs.

(1) To receive Board approval, programs secking to provide continuing education credit for the provision of pro bono dental
services must meet the following guidelines:

(a) Programs must be organized as or as part of a not-for-profit entity that provides substantial pro bono dental services to the
indigent or dentally underserved popuiations or persons who reside in argas of critical need within Florida.

(b) The program must require the dentist and dental hygienist volunteers to provide beneficial dental services to indigent
patients, without compensation.

{¢) Any volunteer dental hygienist must be under the appropriate supervision of a Florida licensed dentist as set forth in Chapter
64B5-16, F.AC.

(d) The program must require the volunteer dentist or dental hygienist to register with the program director or designee before
comimencing to provide dental or dental hygiene services. Such registration shall occur on each day that the volunteer participates in
the pro bono activities.

(&) The program must require the volunteer dentist or dental hygienist to sign out with the program’s director or designee upon
concluding the rendering of pro beno dental or dental hygiene services.

{f) The program shall calculate the award of continuing education credit based upon the time each dentist or dental hygienist has
actually dedicated to the performance of substantial professienal dental or denta! hygiene services for indigent patients.

{g} The program must retain documentation of the number of hours of volunteer professional service contributed by each
volunteer invelved in the program’s pro bono activities. This documentation shall contain the name and license number of each
participant; the dates and times of all pro bono activity; the location of the related patient records; and in the case of dental hygienist
volunteers, the name and license number of the supervising Florida licensed dentist, Such records must be maintained for a
minimum of 4 years following the biennium in which the pro bono services are provided.

{2} The following pro bono programs are found by the Beard to meet the foregoing requirements and are hereby approved by
the Board:

(a) Programs affiliated with Project Dentists Care.

(b} Programs operated by accredited dental colleges or schools and accredited dental hygiene programs.
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(3} Other formalized not-for-profit programs may petition for Board approval by filing a written petition with the Board that
establishes the program’s compliance with the requirements of this rule.

Rutemaking Authorify 436.013(8) FS. Law Implemented 436.013(8) FS. History- New 2-15-99,

64B5-12.019 Courses Required for Initial Licensure, Renewal, or Reactivation.

{1) No license shali be granted and no license shall be renewed or reactivated unless the applicant or ficensee submits
confirmation to the Board that he or she has successfully completed, no later than upon first renewal, a Board-approved course on
Human Immunodeficiency Virus {HIV) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome {AIDS), and other infectious diseases pertinent
to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene and a Board-approved course on prevention of medical errors. All licensees must
complete a Board approved two (2) hour continuing education course on domestic violence as definred in Section 741.28, F.S., as
part of every third biennial licensure renewal,

(2) To receive Board approval, courses on HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and denta
hygiene shall consist of instruction which shall include, but need not be limited to, viral counts, hepatitis, sterilization and infection
control requirements, identification of oral lesions associated with infectious disease, how the presence of infectious disease directly
affects treatment decisions of dentists, and the subject areas set forth under Section 456.033, E.S.

(3} Every such course for the purpose of obtaining initial licensure shall have a minimum of two (2) hours dedicated to the
subject areas set forth. Every such course for the purpose of renewal or reactivation of licensure shall have no jess than one (1} hour
dedicated to the subject areas set forth. Furthermore, every such course shali include information on current Florida law and its
impact on testing, confidentiality of test results, and treatment of patients. However, any such course completed outside of Florida,
which complies with the criteria set forth in paragraph (2) above shall be approved by the Board if the applicant or licensee submits
to the Board a statement that he or she has reviewed and studied current Florida law and its impact on testing, confidentiality of test
results, and treatment of patients. To fulfill the requirements of this paragraph every HIV/AIDS course shall include or each
applicant or licensee shall review and study Chapters 381 and 384, F.S,

(4) Only courses on HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene that meet the
requirements set forth in subsections 64B5-[2.019(2) and (3), F.A.C., and that are offered in compliance with subsection G4B5-
[2.013(3), F.A.C., shall be and are hereby approved by the Board. Home study courses are permitted for the purpose of meeting the
requirements of HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene education, provided they
comply with the requirements set forth in subsections {2) and (3), above.

(53 Each applicant or licensee may submit contirmation of having completed a course which complies with subsections 6485-
F2.019(1), {2) and (3), F.A.C., on the form prepared by the Department of Health and provided by the Board. Each licensee shall
submit confirmation of having completed a Board-approved domestic violence continuing education course, on a form provided by
the Board, when submitting fees for every third biennial renewal.

(6) The requirements of this rule shall also apply to the initial issuance and renewal of any permit heid pursuant to Chapter
64B3-7, F.A.C. Confirmation of completion shall be submitted at the time of applying for an initial permit and biennially thereafter.

(7) Courses taken subsequent to licensure and for the purpose of compliance with the HIV/AIDS portion of this rule may be
included by the licensee in the total continuing education hours required pursuant to subsections 64B5-12.013(1) and (2), F.A.C., as
a condition of biennial license renewsl.

(8) To receive Board approval, courses on domestic viclence must be a minimum of 2 hours long, must cover the substantive
areas set forth in Section 456.031, F.S., and must be approved by any state or federal government agency or professional association
or offered by a Beard-approved continuing education provider.

(9) To receive Board approval, courses on prevention of medical errors shall include a study of roof cause analysis, etror
reduction and prevention, and patient safety. Every such course shall have a minimum of two (2} hours dedicated to the subject areas
set forth.

Rulemaking Authority 436.031, 436,033 FS. Law Implemenied 456.013, 456.031, 456.033 S, History-New 1-18-89, Amended 10-28-97. 2-].93.
Formerly 21G-12.019, Amended 6-14-94. Formerly 611°5-12.019, Amended 11-15-95 2-10-97, Formerly 590-12.019, Amended 10-29-00, 8-2-0],
0-27-00, 12-23-02, 1-12-034, 12-25-06.

64B5-12.020 Courses Required of Licensees for Renewal and Reactivation. .
Licensed dentists and dental hygienists are required to complete the following continuing education during each license renewal
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biennium,

(1) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for
adults, children, and infants; the relief of foreign body airway ebstructions for adults, children, and infants: the use of an automatic
external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags resulting in certification or recertification by the American Heart
Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

(2) A course in the prevention of medical errors of at least 2 hours in relevant topics including a study of root cause analysis,
error reduction and prevention, and patient safety,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law [mplemented 456.013(0). (7). (8). 466.0135, 466.014, 466,01 7(4) FS. History—New H-11-94, Amended 7-
{8-94, Formerly 61F5-12.020, 390-12.020, Amended 1-23-01, 6-7-001, 92707 12-23-02, {0-8-03. 5-1]-05.
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CHAPTER 64B5-13
IMSCIPLINARY ACTION

64B5-13.001 Determination of Probable Cause
64B5-13.002 Time for Payment of Administrative Fines
64B5-13.0045  Minor Violations

64B5-13.0046  Citation Asthority

64B5-13.005 Disciplinary Guidelines

64B5-13.006 Post Board Order Activity

64B5-13.001 Determination of Probable Cause.

(1) The probable cause panel by majority vote shall determine whether probable cause exists to believe that a licensee has
violated the provisions of Chapter 456 or 466, F.S., or the rules of the Department or Board.

(2) The probable cause pane! shall be appointed by the Chairman and shall be composed of three members, two of which must
be dentists who hold valid and active dental licenses in this State. At least two members of the probable cause panel must be present
to constitute a quorum. If only two members are present, the determination of probable cause shail require the affirmative vote of
both members present.

{a) One or two members may be former dentist or consumer Board members.

(b) At least one member must be a current Board member who holds a valid and active license in this State.

(c) At least one member must be a current or former consumer member of the Board if one is available and willing to serve.

(d) Any former dentist member of the Board appointed to the pane! must currently hold a valid and active dental license in this
State.

(¢) Probable cause panel members shall serve for one year terms but may serve successive terms.

(3) The probable cause pane! shall meet as necessary to conduct business as determined by the Chairman of the Board or the
Chatrman of the panel.

Rulemaking Authority 436.073(4). 466.004(4i FS. Law Implemented 456.073(4) IS, History—-New 11-11-79, Amended 12-7-81, 7-13-82. Formerly
21G-13.01. Amended [-18-89, Formerly 21G-13.001. Amended 11-22-93, Formerly 61F5-13.001, 590-13.00{. Amended 9-27-01.

64B5-13.002 Time for Payment of Administrative Fines.
When the Board imposes an administrative fine in a disciplinary or initial licensure proceeding, the fine shall be paid within 30 days
from the effective date of the Board’s final order, unless specifically provided otherwise.

Rudemaking Authority 456.072(2). 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 436.072(2) FS. History-New 10-26-80. Formerly 21G-13.02, Amended 1-15-
89 Formerly 21G-13.002, 61F5-13.002. 590-13.002.

64B5-13.06045 Minor Violations,

(1) Subject to the limitations imposed by this rule, the following violations are designated as minor for the purposes of Section
436.073(3), F.S.

{a) Violation of Section 466.026(1)(a), F.S., by practicing for a period of less than two months without an active license.

{b) Violation of Section 466.028(1)(d), F.S., by the following errors ar omissions:

I. Violation of subsection 64B5-4.002(2), F.A.C.

2. Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(2), (3), {4) or (5), F.A.C., so long as there is no allegation of consumer injury as a result
of the violation and the advertisement which is in violation is capable of being withdrawn from circulation to the public within 15
days of issuance of the notice of noncompliance.

3. Violation of Ruie 64B5-4.004, F.A.C., so long as there is no allegation of consumer injury as a result of the violation and the
advertisement which is in violation is capabie of being withdrawn from circulation to the public within 135 days of issuance of the
notice of noncompiiance.

{c) Violation of Section 466 028(1)n), F.S,, so long as the records have been released.

(d) Violation of Section 466.028(1 }(aa), F.S., by violating Rule 64B3-17.0011, F.A.C., which requires the licensee to notify the
Board of changes of address.
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(e) Violation of Section 466.028{1){dd), F.8.. by presigning laboratory work order forms.

(2) This designation of violations as minor for the purposes of Section 456.073(3), F.S., is limited to initial violations.

(3) A monthly report of notices of noncompliance issued by the Department shall be reviewed by the Board to monitor the use
and success of this procedure,

(4) Notices of noncompliance issued shali be reviewed by the Probable Cause Panel in any consideration of subsequent
allegations of similar violations by the ficensee.

Rulemaking Authority 456.073(3) FS. Law Implemented 456.073(3) FS. History-New 7-9-90. Formerhy 21G-13.0045. 61F5-13.0045. 590-
130045,

64B5-13.0046 Citation Authority.

(13 Pursuant to Section 456.077, F.S. (2000}, the Board sets forth below those violations for which there is no substantial threat
to the public health, safety, and welfare; or, if there is a substantial threat to the public health, safety, and welfare, such potential for
harm has been removed prior to the issuance of the citation and the appropriate penalties for specific viotations. In addition to the
penaity, the costs of the investigation and prosecution shall be assessed pursuant to Section 456.072(2), F.S. The following
subsections indicate those violations which may be disposed of by citation, with the accompanying penalty.

(2} Violation of Section 466.026(1 ¥a) and/or 466.028(1)aa), F.S., by practicing for a period of 2-6 months without an active
ticense. The penalty for a dentist shall be a $1.000.00 fine fo be in addition to any reactivation fee, and compietion within 6 months
of 4 hours of continuing education in risk management. Said continuing education to be in compliance with Rule Chapter 64B35-12,
F.A.C.. and tn addition to any continuing education required for biennial renewal of licensure. The penalty for a dental hygienist
shall be a $250.00 administrative fine.

(3} A first time violation of Sections 466.028(1)(i) and/or 466.028{1)(a), F.S., and/or subsection 64B5-12.013(1) or (2), F.A.C.,
by renewing a license without completing the required continuing education credits. The penalty for a dentist shall be an -
administrative fine of $100.00 per hour not completed as required and completion of all continuing education hours that were not
completed. The penalty for a dentist shalf be an administrative fine of $150 for not completing the required training in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic life support level. Said continuing education shall be in compliance with Rule
Chapter 64B5-12, F.A.C., and shall not count toward any continuing education required for the biennium in which it is completed.
Furthermore, the Ticensee shall submit proof of completion of all required continuing education under this rule to the Board office no
later than 12 maonths from the date of the citation. The penalty for a dental hvgienist shall be an administrative fine of $25.00 per
hour not completed as required and completion of all continuing education hours that were not completed. The penalty for a dental
hygienist shali be an administrative fine of $50 for not completing the required training in cardiopuimonary resuscitation (CPR) at
the basic life support level. Said continuing education shell be in compliance with Rule Chapter 64B5-12, F. A.C., and shall not
count toward any continuing education required for the biennium in which it is completed. Furthermore, the licensee shall submit
proof of completion of all required continuing education under this rule to the Beard office no Jater than 12 months from the date of
citation,

{4) Violation of Rule 64B5-4.002, F AC., as follows:

{a) Violation of Rule 64B5-4.002, F.A.C., by failing to properiy identify through license number or use of the licensee’s
commonly used name the Florida licensed dentist, who assumes total responsibility for the advertisement.

(b} Viclation of subsection 64B3-4.002(3), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement or
advertising which is in any way fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading in form or content,

{¢} Vialation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(a), F A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that
contains misrepresentations of facts.

(d) Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(b), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that is
likely to mislead or deceive because in its context or in the context in which it is presented it makes only a partial disclosure of
relevant facts.

(e} Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(c}, F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that
contains laudatory statetments about the dentist or group of dentists.

(f) Violation of paragraph 64B85-4.002(3)(d), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any adveriisement that is
intended or is likely to create false, unjustified expectations of favorable results,

(g} Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(¢), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that
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~ relates to the quality of dental services provided as compared to other available dental services.

(h} Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(f), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that
contains other representations or implications that in reasonable probability will cause an ordinary prudent person to misunderstand
or to be deceived.

(i} Violation of subsection 64B5-4.002(4), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement through
in person and telephone solicitation of dental services by a dentist or his agent.

(3) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.602(5), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement that
includes the name of a person who is not either actually involved in the practice of dentistry at the advertised location or an owner of
the practice being advertised.

{5) Violation of Rule 64B5-4.003, F.A.C., as foliows:

(a) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(2), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement that failed to contain fee information with a
disclaimer that the fee is a minimum fee only.

{b) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(3), F.A.C., by providing an advertised fee for a dental service which does not state a
specified period during which the fee is in effect.

{c) Vioiation of subsection 64B5-4.003(4), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement which states a particular dental service is for
a fee yet it is not accompanied by a description of that service using the exact wording for that service contained in the American
Dental Association’s “Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature”.

{d) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(3), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement for free or discounted services which does
not comply with the requirements of Section 456.062. F.S.. and/or clearly identify the dates that free, discounted or reduced fee
services wili be available.

{6) Violation of Rule 64B5-4.004, F.A.C., as follows;

(a} Violation of subsection 64B5-4.004(2), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement of speciaity services which does not state
whether the service will be performed by a general dentist or a specialist.

(b) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.004(4), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement that states that a dentist is a specialist when
the dentist does not meet the applicabie criteria.

{c} Violation of subsection 64B5-4.004(5), F.A.C., by advertising a service in a manner which in its form or content would jead
a reasonable person to believe that the service is a specially unless that service is a specialty recognized by the Board.

(7) The penalty for a violation of Rule Chapter 64B5-4, F.A.C., as enumerated above is as follows: first offense wilt result in a
$250.00 fine: second offense will result in a $1,000.00 fine, reprimand and four (4) hour continuing education in ethics. Violations
occurring subsequent to the secorid offense of the same rule or statute shall require the procedures of Section 436.073, F.S., to be
followed.

(8) Violation of subsection 466.028(1)(n), I'.S., failure to make available to a patient or client, or to his legal representative or to
the Department, if authorized in writing by the patient, copies of documents in the possession or under control of the iicensee, which
refate {0 the patient or client. Failure to comply will result in a $1,000.00 fine.

(9} Violation of subsection 466.028(1)(11), F.S., by violation of Section 456.035(1), F.S.. which requires licensees 1o notify the
Beard of change of address. Faiture to comply will result in a $250.00 fine,

(10) Violation of subsection 466.028{1 {dd), F.5., by presigning laboratory work order forms. Failure to comply will resuit in a
£500.00 fine.

(11} Violations of Rule 64B5-15.030, F.A.C., through a violation of Section 466.028(1)(11), F.S., for failing to pay the one-time
fee by no later than February 28, 2008, will result in & $1,000 fine,

{12} Viclation of Sections 466.028{!){a), {aa} and (11}, F.S., by means of submission of insufficient funds for mitial license or
renewal or any other payment to the Depariment of Health. .

{13} Citations shall be issued fo licensees by the Bureau of Investigative Services only afier review by the legal staff of the
Depariment of Health. Such review may be by telephone, in writing or facsimile machine.

{14} Except for violations of Rule Chapter 64B5-4, F.A.C,, as stated above, the procedures described herein apply only for an
initial cffense of the alleged violation. Subsequent violation(s) of the same rele or statute shall require the procedures of Section
456.073, F.S., to be followed. in addition, should an initial offense for which a citation couid be issued occur in conjunction with
violations not described herein, then the procedures of Section 456.073, F.5., shall apply.

(15) Citations are fo be served upon the subject either by personal service or by certified mail, restricted delivery, to the last



known business or residence address of the subject,

(16) The subject has 30 days from the date the citation becomes a final order to pay the fine and costs. All fires and costs are to
be made payable to the “Board of Dentistry — Citations™ and sent to the Department of Health in Tallahassee. A copy of the citation
shall accompany the payment of the fine or costs.

{17) 1f the subject rejects the Department of Health’s offer of the citation then the procedures of Section 456,073, F.S., shall
apply to the original charge. in cases where the subject fails to comply with the penalty, a complaint for violation of Section
456.072(1)q), F.S., shall be filed and investigated.

Rulemaking Authovity 456.077, 466.00404) FS. Law Implemented 36.072{3)fa), 456077 FS. Hisiory-New 12-24-91. Formerly 210G-13.0046.
Amended 11-22-93, Formerly 61F5-13.0046, 390-13.0046. Amended 7-19-61. 10-9-06, 2-7-08, §-25-10.

64B5-13.005 Disciplinary Guidelines,

(1) When the Board finds an applicant, licensee, or certificate holder whom it regulates under Chapter 466, F.S., has committed
any of the acts set forth in Section 456.072(1) or 466.028, F.S., it shall issue a final order imposing appropriate penaities as
recommended in these disciplinary guidelines. For any violation found that is for fraud or making a faise or fraudulent
representation, the Board will impose a fine of $10.000.00 per count or offense. The use of terms 1o describe the offenses herein
within the individual guidelines is intended to be only a generally descriptive use of the terms. For an accurate description of the
actual otfenses, the reader shouid refer 1o the statutery disciplinary provisions. The maximum penalties set forth in any individual
offense guideline include all of the less severe penalties that would fall in between the maximum and the minimum penalties stated:

VIOLATION PENALTY
RANGE
MINIMUM MAXIMUM
{a) Attempting to obtain, obtaining or
renewing a license by bribery, fraudulent
misrepresentations or error of the Board.
{Sections 466.028(1)a), 456.072(1)(h),

F.8)

First Offense Denial $300 fine and Denial/revocation $10,000 fine and
referrat to State Attorney’s referral to State Attorney’s office if not
office if not Hcensed licensed

Second Offense Probation with conditions Revocation $10,000 fine permanent
3500 fine denial and revocation

{b) Having a license to practice dentistry

or dental hygiene revoked, suspended, or

otherwise acted against, including the

denial of licensure, by the licensing

authority of another state, territory, or

country.

{Sections 466.028(1)}b), 456.072(1(9),

F.S)

First Offense $1.,000 fine Suspension/denial until the license is

unencumbered and active in the
Jurisdiction in which the disciplinary
action was originally taken, or up to
five years followed by probation and
£10,000 fine or revocation
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Second Offense

Third Offense

{c) Guilty of a crime directly relating to
practice or ability to practice,

{Sections 466,028(1)(c), 456.072(1 (<),
F.8)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(d) Advertising goods or services in a
manner which is fraudulent, false,
deceptive, or misleading in form.

(Section 406,028(H)(d), F.S)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(e) Advertising, practicing, or atlempting
to practice under a name other than one’s

OWil,

(Section 466.028(1)e), F.8)
First Offense

Second Offense

Imposition of discipline
which would have been
imposed if the substantive
violation occurred in
Florida. Probation and
$1.,000 fine

One vear suspension

followed by probation and
$3,000 fine

$1,000 fine

One year suspension
fallowed by probation and
$1.,000 fine

Revocation and $2,3500 fine

$500 fine

| year probation with
conditions and $3.000 fine

2 years probation with
conditions and $5,000 fine

£1.000 fine

Probation with conditions
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Revocation until the license is

unencumbered in the jurisdiction in
which disciplinary action was taken and
$10.000 fine

Revocation and permanent denial and
$10,000 fine

Denial or 2 years suspension,

2 years probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine, or revocation

Denial or revocation and $10,000 fine,

with conditions

Revocation and $10,000 fine

| year probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

1 year suspension 2 years probation
with conditions and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

I vear suspension and $10,000 fine

Denial or revocation and



and $3.,000 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions
and $3.000 fine

(f) Failing to report any person in

violation of this chapter or of the rules

of the department or the board.

(Sections 466.028(1)(f), 456.072(1 i), F.8.)

First Offense $500 fine

Second Offense I year probation with
conditions and $1.,000 fine

Third Otfense } year probation with
conditions and $3,000 fine

{g) Aiding, assisting, procuring, or

advising any unficensed person to

practice dentistry or dental hygiene.
(Sections466.028(1)(g), 456.072(1)(j), F.8.)

First Offense $1.000 fine

Second Offense i year suspension, 2 years
probation with conditions
and £5,000 fine

Third Offense 2 years suspension followed
by 2 vears probation with
conditions and $16,000 fine

{h) Being employed by any corporation,
organization, group, or person other
than a dentist or a professional
corporation or limited lability company
composed of dentists to practice
dentistry.

(Section 466.028(1)(h), F.S.)

First Offense $1.000 fine

Second Offense 1 year probation with
conditions, reprimand and
$3,000 fine
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$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

[ year probation with conditions
and $1,000 fine

6 months suspension, | vear probation
with conditions and $3,000 fine

I year suspensian, | year probation with
conditions and $5,000 fine

_ 6 months suspension, | vear probation

with conditions and $10,000 fine
2 years suspension, 2 years probation

with conditions and $10,000 fine

Denial/revocation and $10,000 fine

2 years probation with conditions and
up to suspension, and $10,000 fine

Suspension, 1 year probation with
conditions and $10,000 fine



Third Offense ! year suspension,
reprimand and $3,000 fine

(i} Failing to perform any statutory or
jegal obligation placed upon a licensee.
(Sections 466.028(1)(1), 436.072( 1)k},

F.S)

First Offense £500 fine

Second Offense ! year probation with
conditions and $1.000 fine

Third Offense 2 years probation with

conditions and $2,000 fina

() Making or filing a false report,

faiting to file a report or record required

by state or federal law, knowingly
impeding or obstructing such filing.
(Sections 466.028(1)(j}, 456.072(1)(1), ¥.8))

First Offense 1,000 fine

Second Offense 1 year probation with
conditions and $2,500 fine

Third Offense 2 years probation with
conditions and $5.000 fine

() Sexual battery, as defined in Chapter
794, F.S., upon a patient.

{Sections 466.028(1 k), 456.072(1)u),
F.S)

First Offense 6 morniths suspension
followed by probation and
$2,500 fine

Second or Subsequent Offense 5 years suspension foliowed

by probation with

conditions and $5,000 fine

(I Making deceptive, unfrue, or

fraudulent representations in or related
to the practice of dentistry.
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Revocation and $10,000 fine

2 years probation with conditions and
510,000 fine

2 years probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

I year suspension and 510,000 fine

I year probation with conditions and up
to suspension, and $10,000 fine

Suspension, probation with conditions
and $10,000 fine

Denial/revocation and $10,000 fine

Denial or revecation and $10,000 fine

Denial/revocation and $10.,000 fine



(Sections 466.028(1)(1). 456.072(1)a). F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(m) Failing to keep written records and

history justifying the course of treatment

of the patient.
(Section 466.028(1Ym}, F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{n} Failing to make available to a patient

or client, copies of documents which
refate to the patient or client,
(Section 466.028(1)(n}, F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{0} Performing professional services
which have not been authorized by the
patient or client.

(Section 466.028(1)(0), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

S1.,600 fine
| year probation with
conditions and $1,000 fine

2 years probation with
conditions and $2,500 fine

$500 fine
Probation with conditions
and $1.000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

$500 fine
$1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$1,000 fire

Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine
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6 months probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

6 months suspension and $10,000 fme

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $7,500
fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$7,500 fine

Probation with conditions and $16.000
fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8.000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



Third Offense

(p) Preseribing a legend drug, other
than in the course of the professional
practice of the dentist.

{Section 466.028(1)py, F.S.)

First Offense
Second Offense
Third Offense

{q) Prescribing any medicinal drug
scheduled in Chapter 893, F.S., to
herself or himself,

{Section 466.028(1)(q), F.8.)

First Offense
Second Offense
Third Offense

(r) Prescribing any drug which is a
Scheduie 1 amphetamine or a
Schedufe [1 sympathomimetic amine
drug, pursuant fo Chapter 893, F.S.
(Section 466.028(1)r), F.S.)

First Offense
Second Offense

Third Offense

(s) Being unable to practice her or his
profession with reasonable skill and
safety to patients by reason of illness

Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $5,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $3.000 fine

£1,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine
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Revocatien and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions, $10,0600 fine
and up to suspension

Suspension and §10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Suspension followed by probation with
conditions and $10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $10.000
fine

Suspension followed by probation and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine



or use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics,
chemicals, or any other type of material
or as a result of any mental or physical
condition.

(Sections 466.028(1)(s), 436.072(1)(¥),
F.53

First Offense Denial, or suspension until
licensee petitions the Board
and demonstrates ability to
practice with reasonable
skiil and safety, followed by
probation with conditions
and up to $5,060 fine

Second Offense Denial, or suspension until Suspension followed by probation and
ticensee petitions the Board $10.000 fine
and demonstrates ability to
practice with reasonable
skill and safety, foliowed by
probation with conditions
and up to $5,000 fine

Third Offense Denial, or suspension until Revocation and $10,000 fine
ticensee petitions the Board
and demonstrates ability to
practice with reasonable
skill and safety, followed by
probation with conditions
and up to $10,000 fine

{t) Fraud, deceit, or misconduct in
the practice of dentistry or dental
hygiene.

(Section 466.028(1)(t), F.5.)

First Offense $2,3G0 fine ' Probation with conditions and $8,000
fine
Second Offense Probation with conditions Suspension followed by probation and
and $8,000 fine $10,000 fine
Third Offense Probation with conditions Revocation and $10,000 fine

and $10.000 fine

{u) Failure to provide and maintain
reasonable sanitary facilities and
conditions.

{Section 466.028( ){u), F.5.)
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First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(v} Failure to provide adequate
radiation safeguards.
(Section 466.028(1)v}, F.5)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{w) Performing any procedure which
would constitute experimentation on
human subjects, without first obtaining
full, informed, and written consent.
{Section 466.028(1)(w), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(x} Being guilty of incompetence or
negligence, including, but not limited
to, being guilty of dental malpractice.
(Section 4066.028(1)x). F.S.}

First Offense

Second Offense

£500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $3,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $8,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $3,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $8,000 fine

$1,000 fine
Probation with conditions
and $3,300 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $5,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $1,000 fine

PES

Probation with conditions and $8.000 _
fine

Suspension, probation with conditions
and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $8,000
fine

Suspension followed by probation and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10.000 fine

Probation with conditions and $3,000
fine

Suspension followed by probation and
£10,000 fine

Revoecation and $10.000 fine

Probation with conditions and $10.,000
fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



Third Offense $£2.300 fine Revocation and $10,000 fine

{(v) Practicing bevond the scope that
she or he is competent to perform.
{Sections 466.028(1)y), 456.072(1)0),

F.5
First Offense £500 fine Probation with conditions and $10,000
fine
Second Offense Probation with conditions Suspension and $10,000 fine
and $1,000 fine
Third Offense $2.500 fine Revocation and $10,000 fine
(z) Delegating or contracting for
professional responsibilities to a
persan who is not qualified to perform
them,
(Sections 466.028(1)z), 436.072(1)p),
F.S)
First Offense . $2,500 fine Probation with conditions, $10,000 fine
and suspension
Second Offense Probation with conditions Suspension followed by probation and
and $3,000 fine 510,000 fine
Third Offense Probation with conditions Revocation and $10,000 fine

and §$7,500 fine
Any violation of Section 466.028(1)z), F.8., will result in a minimum licensure suspension of six months, in addiion to any other
renalty authorized for this violation, except where revocation is imposed.

{aa) The violation of a lawful order
of the board, or failure to comply
with subpoena of the board or
department.

(Sections 466.028(1)(aa),
456.072(1)q), F.8.)

First Offense $5,000 fine Suspension untii compliant with
order or subpoena, probation
with conditions and $ 10,000
fine

Second Offense $10,000 fine Suspension until compliant with
order or subpoena followed by
probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine
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Third Offense

{bb) Conspiring with another
ticensee or with any person to
commit an act, which would fend
to coerce, intimidate, or preclude
another licensee from advertising
services.

(Section 466.028(1%bb). F.8))

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{cc) Being adjudged mentally
incompetent in this or any other
state, the discipline for which
shall tast onty so fong as the
adjudication.

(Section 466,028(1 )(cc), F.S.)

First and any subsequent offense

{dd) Presigning blank prescription
forms.

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(ee) Prescribing growth hormones,
testosterone or its analogs, human
chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), or
other hormones for the purpose of
muscle building or to enhance
athletic performance.

{Section 466 028(1)(ee). [.5))

Revocation and $10.000 fire

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5.000 fine

Suspension unti} adjudged
competent by same court

$300 fine

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine
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Revocation and $10,080 fine

$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fme

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Suspension untif adjudged
competent by same court

Probation with conditions and
$500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$7.500 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(ff) Operating a dental office such
as to result in dental treatment that

is below minimum acceptable

standards of performance for the

community.
{Section 466.028(1)M, F.S)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(gg) Administering anesthesia in
a manner which viclates rules of

the board.
(Section 466.028(1)gg), F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(hh) Failing to report any ficensee

under Chapter 458 or 459, F.S.,

who the dentist knows has violated

the grounds for disciplinary
action,
{Section 466.028(1}hh}, F.8)

First Offense

Second Offense

$1.800 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2.500 fine

$5,000 fine

$300 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,3500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$4,000 fine

S$1.000 fine
Probation with conditions and
$2.,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
34,000 fine

$1,006 fine

$2.500 fine
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Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
510,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditidns and
$10.000 fine

Suspension and $16,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

$10,600 fine



Third Offense $3.500 fine

(ii) Failing to report to the board,
within 30 days action has been
taken against one’s license to
practice dentistry in another state,
tersitory, or country. '
(Section 466.028(1)(ii), F.S.)

First Offense $1.000 fine
Second Offense _ Probation and $1,500 fine
Third Offense Suspension followed by probation

and $3.000 fine

(1)) Advertising specialty services
in violation of this chapter,
(Section 466.028(1)(ji), F.S.)

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense $2,500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$3,000 fine

(ki3 Allowing any person to
interfere with a dentist’s clinical
Jjudgment,

(Section 466.028(1)(kk), F.S.)

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$2.500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

(i) Violating any provision of
Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., or

any rules adopted pursuant thereto.
(Sections 466.028( (11,
456.072(1)(h), 456.072(1)ce), F.8.)
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$10,000 fine

Denial, revocation and $8,000
fine

Denial, revocation and $10,000

" fine

Denial, revocation and $10,000
fine

§7,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10.000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine

$5,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
510,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



First Offense $750 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and

$1,000 fine
Third Offense Probation with conditions and

£2,300 fine

{mm) Failing to comply with the
educational course requirements
for HiV.

{Section 456.072(1)(e), F.8)

First Offense $3500 fine
Second Offense $1,000 fine
Third Offense $1.500 fine

{nn)y Having been found liable in
a civii proceeding for knowingly
filing a false report or complaint
with the department against
another licensee.

{Section 456.072(1)(g), F.5.)

First Offense $1.000 fine

Second Offense $3.500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

{oo) Making deceptive, untrue, or
fraudulent representations in or
related to the practice of a
profession or employing a trick or
scheme in or related o the practice
of a profession.

(Section 456.072(1)(m), F.S)

First Offense $1,000 fine
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Probation with conditions and
$ 10,600 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$1.504 fine

Probation with conditions and
£5,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£7,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8,000 fine ’

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

“Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and



Second Offense

Third Offense

(pp) Exercising influence on the
patient or client for the purpose of
financial gain of the licensee or a
third party.

{Section 456.072(1)n), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{qg) Wrong patient, wrong-site
procedure, a wrong procedure,
medically unnecessaty.
(Section 456.072(1)aa), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(rr) Irnproperly interfering with an
investigation or inspection
authorized by statute, or with any
disciplinary proceeding.

{Section 456.072(1)(r), F.5.)

First Offense

Second Offense

£3,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

51,000 fine
Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$3,500 fine

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$£2.000 fine

Suspension followed by probation
with conditions and $3,000 fine

$1.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£2.500 fine
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$8,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10.000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and

16,000 fine

Revocation and $10.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine



Third Offense

(ss} Failing to comply with the

educational course requirements

for domestic violence,
{Section 456.072(1)s), F.5)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(tt) Failing to comply with Sections
381.026 and 381.0261, F.S., patient
rights and how to file a patient .

complaint.

(Section 456.072(1)(1), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{uu) Engaging or attempting to

engage in sexual misconduct as
defined and prohibited in Section

456.063(1), F.S.
{Section 456.072(1)(u), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

$300 fine

Probation with conditions and

$1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions and

£1.000 fine

$2.500 fine

$2,300 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5.000 fine

Suspensien followed by prohation
with conditions and $8,000 fine
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Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$4,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£2.300 fine

Probation with conditions and
$4.,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£8.000 fine

Revocation or probation with
conditions and $10,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions or

revocation, and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $16,000 fme



(vv) Failing to report to the board,
in writing within 30 days after the
licensee has been convicted or
found guilty of, or entered a plea
of nolo contendere to regardless
of adjudication, a crime in any
Jjurisdiction.

(Section 456.072( 1) w), F.8)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{ww) Using information about
people involved in motor vehicle
accidents which has been derived
from accident reports.

(Section 456.072(1}x), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{xx) Leaving a foreign bodv in a
patient.
{Section 456.072(1)(bb), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Otfense

Third Offense

{yv} Testing positive for any drug,
on any presmployment or

$500 fine
Probation with conditions and
$1,000 fine

Suspension followed by probaiion
with condifions and $2,500 fine

$300 fine
$1.,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2.500 fine

Probation with conditiens and
$5,000 fine
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Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $16,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$3,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$£8.000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10.000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and/or revocation
and $10,000 fine



employer-ordered drug screening.
(Section 436.072(1)z), F.S))

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{zz) Intentionally submitting a
personal injury protection claim
reguired by Section 627,736, F S,
statement that has been “upcoded™
as defined in Section 627.732, F.S.
(Section 456.072¢1 {dd), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{aaa) Intentionally submitting a
personal injury protection ciaim
required by Section 627.736, F.5,,
for services that were not rendered.
{Section 456.072(1)ee), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(bbb} Engaging in a pattern of
practice of prescribing medicinal
drugs or controlled substances
which demonstrates a lack of

$300 fine

$1,000 fine

$2,5300 fine

$500 fine

$1:.000 fine

$2,500 fine

$500 fine

F1,000 fine

$2,500 Tine
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Probation with conditions and
$8.000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and
$ 10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£8.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$:0,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
£8.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and
$10.600 fine



reasonable skill or safety to
patients,
(Section 456.072( 1)), F.S)

First Offense $1,500 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$3,000 fine

Third Offense $5,000 fine

{cee) Failing to comply with,
failing to successfully complete,
or being terminated from an
impaired practitioner treatment
program.

{Section 456.072(1 ¥gg), F.5)

First Offense Suspension, unt:l compliant,
followed by 2 years probation
with conditions and $2,000
fine

Second or Subsequent Offense Three years suspension
fotlowed by 3 vears prebation
with conditions and $10,000
fine

{ddd) Being convicted of, or enlering
a plea ol nolo contendere to, any
misdemeanor or felony, regardiess of
adjudication, under 18 U.S.C. 5. 669,
ss. 283-287,5. 371, 5. 1001, s. 1035,
s. 1341, 5 1343, 5. 1347,5. 1349, ors.
1518, or 42 U.S.C. s5. 1320a-7h,
relating to the Medicaid program.
{Section 456.072(1)(i1), F.S)

First Offense Misdemeanor — Reprimand,

$10,000 fine, suspension

Second Offense Felony — Revocation

{eee) Failing to remit the sum owed to the
state for any overpayment from the
Medicaid program pursuant io a final order,
judgement, or stipulation or settlement.
(Section 456.072(1){(jj), F.8.)
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Probation with conditions and
$8,000 fine
Suspension and 510,000 fine

Revecation and $10,000 fine

Suspension until compliant,
foliowed by 5 years probation
with conditions and $35.000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Misdemeanor — $10,000 fine,

revocation

Felony — revocation



First Offense $1,000 fine, letter of
concern

Second Offense 37,500 fine, reprimand

(ftf) Being terminated from the state
Medicaid program pursuant to Section
409.913, F.§., any other state Medicaid
program, or the federal Medicare program,
unless eligibility to participate in the
program from which the practitioner was
terminated has been restored.

{Section 456.072(1}kk), F.S.

First Offense $1,000 fine, letter of
concerm

Second Offense $7,500 fine, reprimand

{gge) Being convicted of, or entering a plea
of guilty or nolo contendere, to any
misdemeanor or felony, regardless of
adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction
which relates to health care fraud.

{Section 436.072(1%1, E.S)

First Offense Misdemeanor — $10,000
fine, Reprimand

Second Offense $10.000 fine, revocation

(hkh) Failure to comply with the
controlled substance prescribing
requirements of Section 456.44, F.S.
(Section 456.072(1)}(mm), F.5.}

First Offense Suspension of license for a
period of six (6) months
foliowed by a period of
probation and an
administrative fing in the
amount of $10,000.00

Second Offense Suspension of license for a
period of one (1) vear
followed by probation and
an adminstrative fine in the
amount of $10,006.00
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$10,000 fine suspension

$10,000 fine, revocation

$10,000 fine, suspension

$ 10,000 fine, revocation

Misdemeanor ~ $10,000 fine,
suspension

$10,000 fine, revocation

Revocation and an administrative fine
of $10,000.00

Revocation and an administrative fine
in the amount of $10,000.00



(1ii) Providing false or deceptive expert
witness testimony related to the practice of
dentistry.

(Section 466.028( 1), F.S)

First Offense Reprimand and an Revocation and an administrative fine
' administrative fine of of $10,000.00
$5,000.00
Second Offense Revocation and an Revocation and an administrative fine
administrative fine of of $10,000.00
$10,000.00

(2) Based upon consideration of aggravating or mitigating factors, present in an individual case, except for explicit statutery
maximum and minimum penalty requirements, the Board may deviate from the penalties recommended in subsections (1) above and
{3} below. The Board shaii consider as aggravating or mitigating factors the following:

{a) The danger to the public;

(b) The number of specific offenses, other than the offense for which the licensee is being punished.;

{c) Prior discipline that has been imposed on the licensee;

{d) The length of time the licensee has practiced,

(e) The actual damage, physical or otherwise, caused by the violation and the reversibility of the damage;

{f} The deterrent effect of the penalty imposed;

@) The effect of the penalty upon the licensee;

{h) Efforts by the licensee towards rehabilitation:

{1} The actual knowledge of the licensee pertaining to the violation;

(j) Attempts by the licensee o correct or stop the vielation or refusal by the licensee to correct or stop the violation; and

() Any other relevant mitigating or aggravating factor under the circumstances.

(3) Penalties imposed by the Board pursuant to subsections (1} and (2} above may be imposed in combination or individually,
and are as follows:

(a) lssuance of a reprimand or letter of concern, which may be imposed in any disciplinary case, regardless of whether the
penalty is referenced in any individual offense guideling;

{b) Imposition of an administrative fine not to exceed $10,000.00 for each count or separate offense; for any violation found that
is for fraud or making a faise or fraudulent representation, the Board will impose a fine of $10,000.00 per each count or offense,
pussuant to Section 456.072(2)(d), F.S.;

(¢} Restriction of the authorized scope of practice or license. In taking disciplinary action against any person, whether or not the
action also invoives placing a licensee on probation, or imposing any penalty, the Board may impose restrictions on the practice or
the license that include, but are not limited to the following;

1. Requiring remedial education as a requirement of continued practice;

. Restricting the licensee from practicing in certain settings;

. Restricting the licensee to work in only certain settings or under designated conditions;

. Restricting the licensee from performing or providing designated clinical and administrative services;
. Restricting the licensee from practicing a designated number of hours;

6. Any other restriction found to be necessary for the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare,

() Placement of the licensee on probation for a period of time and subject to such conditions as the Board may specify:

I. Probation Term. Unless otherwise specified above within each individual offense guideline, or unless a lesser period of time
is stated in the order imposing probation, the period of probation will be for a period of five (5) years;

2. Probation Conditions. Probation conditions may include but not be limited to the following and may be imposed regardless of

L s L ko
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whether the term “conditions” is referenced in an individual offense guidefine:

a. Requiring the ficensee to attend additional comtinuing education courses or remadial education,

b. Requiring the licensee to pass an examination on the content and requirements of Chapters 456 and 466, I.S., and Chapter
04B5, FAC, _

¢. Requiring the licensee to work under the supervision of another licensee, including the submission of documents and reports
from the supervisor and licensee,

d. Tolling of the running of the prebationary period when the licensee ceases to practice in Florida, or fails to maintain
compliance with the probation requirements,

e. Compliance with all terms of the order that imposes probation,

f. Evaluation by an impaired practitioners network or program and entering or maintaining compliance with a recommended
impaired practitioners program contract,

£. Submitting to a continuing education audit for the next two consecutive biennial licensure renewal periods beginning with the
date of the order imposing probation

h. Corrective action refated to the violation, including but not Himited to the repayment of any fees billed and collected from a
patient or third party on behalf of the patient,

i. The licensee is responsible for all costs associated with compliance with the terms of probation.

(¢) Suspension of a license. Unless otherwise specified above within each individual offense guideline, or unless a lesser period
of time is stated in the order imposing suspension, the period of suspension will be for a period of three years;

{f) Revocatior: of a license; which shall be permanent unless specified otherwise in the final order:

(g) Denial of an application for licensure, any violation of a provision of Section 456.072(1) or Section 466.028(1), F.S,. may
be the basis for denial or issuance of licensure with restrictions or conditions; and

(h) Costs. The licensee is responsible for payment of all costs of investigation and prosecution related to a disciplinary case.
Additionaily, all costs related to compliance with an order taking disciplinary action are the obligation of the licensee.

(4) The provisions of subsections (1) through (3) above are not intended and shall not be construed to limit the ability of the
Board to informally dispose of disciplinary actions by stipulation, agreed settlement or consent order pursuant to Section 120.57(4),
F.5.

(5) The provisions of subsections (1) through (4) above are not intended and shall not be construed to limit the ability of the
Board to pursue or recommend the Agency pursue coliateral civil or criminal actions when appropriate.

Rulemaking Authority 436.079(1; FS. Law Implemented 456.072(2), 436.079¢1). 466.028 FS. History-New 12-31-86. Amended 2-21-88, 1-18-89,
12-24-81, Formerly 21 G-13.005, 61F5-13.005. 590-13.005, Amended 1-2-02, 8-25-03. 2-27-06, 12-25-06. 6-11-G7. 9-15-10, 12-2-10, ]-24-12.

64B3-13.006 Post Board Order Activity.

(1) Any licensee whose license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene has been revoked or suspended by the Board shall;

(a) Immediately surender the revoked or suspended license to the Department of Health or its authorized representatives. When
a suspension is ordered, the license shall be held by the Department for the duration of the suspension period:

(b} Refrain from misrepresenting the status of his Jicense to practice dentistry or dental hygiene to any patient or o the general
public;

(¢) Be prohibited from receiving any compensation from any petrson, group practice, partnership, or corporate practice for dental
or dental hygiene services provided to any person subsequent to revocation or during the period of suspension. This subsection is not
intended to preclude a revoked or suspended iicensee from receiving fees to which he is entitied as a result of services performed
prior to the effective date of his suspension or revocation but which are received subsequent to revocation or during the period of
sugpension,

(d) During a peried of suspension, a licensee shall not accept fees from any capitation or third party payment program to which
he might otherwise be entitied, This subsection is not intended to preclude a suspended licensee from receiving such fees for
services performed during a period of time prior to the effective date of his suspension,

(2} Any licensee whose license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Florida has been revoked or suspended for a period of
one {1) vear ot more in length shall:

(a) Notify his patients of record of the suspension or revacation by mail no later than one (1) month after the effective date of
the suspension or revocation;
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(b) Remove any telephone listings identifying him as licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the State of Florida;
(c) Remove his name from any sign, door or advertising material identifying him as one licensed to practice dentistry or dental
hygiene in the State of Florida;

(d) Refrain from addressing the public in any manner which may suggest that he is licensed to practice dentisiry or dental
hygiene in the State of Florida.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(2) FS. History-New 9-1-87, Formerly 21G-13.006, 61F5-13.0086, 590-13.660.
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CHAPTER 64B5-14
ANESTHESIA

64B5-14.001 Definitions

64B5-14.002 Prohibitions

64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for [ssuance of Permits
64B5-14.0032  ltinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — Physician Anesthesiologist

64B5-14.0034  Itinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — General Anesthesia Permit Holders
64B5-14.0036  Treatment of Sedated Patients by Dentists Without an Anesthesia Permit
064B5-14.004 Additional Requirements

64B5-14.005 Application for Permit

64B85-14.006 Reporting Adverse Occurrences

64B5-14.007 Inspection of Facilities and Demanstration of Sedation Technique
64B5-14.008 Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation

64B5-14.009 Conscious Sedation

64B5-14.010 Pediatric Conscious Sedation

64B5-14.001 Definitions.

(1) Anesthesia — The loss of feeling or sensation, especially loss of the sensation of pain.

(2) General anesthesia — A controlled state of unconsciousness, produced by a pharmacologic agent, accompanied by a partial or
complete Joss of protective reflexes, including inability to independently maintain an airway and respond purposefully to physical
stimulation or verbal command. This modality includes administration of medications via parenteral routes; that is: infravenous,
mtramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral, rectal, or transmucosal,

{3) Deep Sedation — A controlled state of depressed consciousness accompanied by partial loss of protective reflexes, including
cither or both the inability to continually maintain an airway independently or to respond appropriately to physical stimulation or
verbal command, produced by pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic method or combination thereof. Deep sedation includes
administration of medications via parenteral routes; that is intravenous, intra muscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as
well as enteral routes, that is oral, rectal, or transmucosal,

{4) Conscious sedation — A depressed level of consciousness produced by the administration of pharmacoclogic substances, that
retains the patient’s ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical stimulation
and verbal command. This modality includes administration of medications via all parenteral routes, that is, intravenous,
intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral, rectal, or transmucasal. The drugs, and
techniques used should carry a margin of safety wide enough to render unintended loss of consciousness unkikely.

(5) Pediatric Conscious Sedation — A depressed level of consciousness produced by the administration of pharmacologic
substances, that retains a child patient’s ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to
physical stimulation or verbal command. This medality includes administration of medication via ail parenteral routes; that is
intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, and all enteral routes; that is oral, rectal, or transmucosal. The
drugs, doses, and te;.hmques used should carry a margin of safety wide enough to render unintended loss of conscicusness unlikely.
For the purposes of this chapter, a child is defined as an individual under 18 years of age, or any person who has special needs,
which means having a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.

(6) Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia — The administration by inhalation of a combination of nitrous-oxide and oxygen
producing an altered level of consciousness that retains the patient’s ability to independently and consinuousty maintain an airway
and respond appropriately (o physical stimulation or verbal command,

(7) Local anesthesia ~ The loss of sensation of pain in a specific area of the body, generally produced by a topically applied
agent or injected agent without causing the loss of consciousness.

(8) Analgesia - Absence of sensibility of pain, designating particutarly the relief of pain without loss of consciousness.

(9) Office team approach — A methodolegy employed by a dentist in the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation,
conscious sedation, and pediatric sedation whereby the dentist uses one or more qualified assistants/dental hygienists who, working
under the direct supervision of the dentist, assist the dentist, and assist in emergency care of the patient,

(10) Minimal Sedation (anxielysis} — The perioperative use of medication to relieve anxiety before or during a dental procedure
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which does not produce a depressed level of consciousness and maintains the patient’s ability to maintain an airway independently
and to respond appropriately to physical and verbal stimulation. This minimal sedation shall include the administration of a single
enteral sedative or a single narcotic analgesic medication administered in doses appropriate for the unsupervised treatment of anxiety
and pain. if climcally indicated, an opiod analgesic may also be administered during or following a procedure if needed for the
treatment of pain. Except in extremely unusual circumstances, the cumulative dose shall not exceed the maximum recommended
dose (as per the manufacturers recommendation). It is understood that even at appropriate doses a patient may occasionally drift into
a state that is deeper than minimal sedation. As long as the intent was minimal sedation and all of the above guidefines were
observed, this shall not automatically constitute a viclation. A permit shall not be required for the perioperative use of medication
for the purpose of providing anxiolysis.

{11) Titration of Oral Medication — The administration of small incremental doses of an orally administered medication until an
intended level of conscious sedation is observed.

(12) Physician anesthesiologist — Any physician licensed pursuant to Chapter 458 or 459, F.S., who is currently board certified
or board eligible by the American Board of Anesthesiology or the American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiclogy, or is credentialed
to administer anesthesia in a hospital or ambulatory surgical facility licensed by the Department of Health.

(13} Qualified Anesthetist: means an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner who is licensed in this state to practice
professional nursing and who is certified in the advanced or specialized nursing practice as a certified registered nurse anesthetist
pursuant to Chapter 464, Part 1, F.S.

{14} Certified Registered Dental Hygienist: means any Florida licensed dental hygienist who is certified by the Board and has
received a certificate from the Department of Health that allows the administration of local anesthesia while the CRDH is
appropriately supervised by a Florida licensed dentist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢3) 466.017(3), 466.17(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.002(3), 466.0717(3), 466.017¢5) FS. History-New 1-31-80,
Amended 4-7-86. Formerly 21G-14.01. Amended 12-31-86, 6-1-87, 9-1-87, 2-1-93. Formerly 21G-14.001. Amended 12-20-93. Formerly 61F5-
14001, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.001, Amended 3-9-03, 1/-4-03, 7-3-06. 6-11-07. 8-5-12.

64B5-14.002 Prohibitions.

(1) General anesthesia or deep sedation. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer general anesthesia or deep sedation in
the practice of dentistry until they have obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter.

(2) Conscious sedation. No dentists Heensed in this State shail administer conscious sedation in the practice of dentistry until
they have obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter.

(3) Pediatric Conscious Sedation: No dentist licensed in this State shall administer Pediatric Conscious Sedation in the practice
of dentistry until such dentist has obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter.

(4) Nitrous-oxide mhalation anaigesia. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer nitrous-oxide inhalation anaigesia in
the practice of dentistry untif they have complied with the provisions of this rule chapter.

(5] Local anesthesia. Dentists licensed in this State may use local anesthetics to produce local anesthesia in the course of their
practice of dentistry. Certified Registered Dental Hygienists are the only hygienists allowed to adminster local anesthesia,

(6) The only agents that can be used for inhalation analgesia pursuant to Rule 64B35-14.003, F.A.C., below are nitrous-oxide and
oxXygen.

(7) Titration of Oral Medication. The Board of Dentistry has determined that the perioperative titration of oral medication(s)
with the intent to achieve a level of conscious sedation poses a potential overdosing threat due to the unpredictability of enteral
absorption and may result in an alteration of the state of consciousness of a patient beyond the intent of the practitioner. Such
potentially adverse consequences may require immediate intervention and appropriate fraining and equipment. Beginning with the
effective date of this rule. no dentist ficensed in this state shall use any oral medication{s) to induce conscious sedation until such
dentist has obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter. The use of enteral sedatives or narcotic analgesic
medications for the purpose of providing minimal sedation (anxiolysis) as defined by and in accordance with subsection 6415-
14.001(10), F.A.C., shali not be deemed titration of oral medication and shall not be prohibited by this rule.

(8) The following general anesthetic drugs shall not be emploved on or administered to a patient by a dentist uniess the dentist
possesses a valid general anesthesia permit issued by the Board pursuant to the requirements of this chapter: propofol, methohexital,
thiopental, etomidate, or ketamine.

Rulemaking Authority 466.00404), 466.017¢3). 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), 466.017(3) FS. History-New [-31-80, Amended 4-20-
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84, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.02, 21G-14.002, dmended [2-20-93, Formerly 61F5-1 4. 002, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 390-14.002, Amended 3-
9-03, 11-4-03. 6-13-06, 12-25-06, [2-11-11, 8-5-12.

64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits.

{1) General Anesthesia Permit.

(a) A permit shall be issued to an actively licensed dentist authorizing the use of general anesthesia or deep sedation at a
specified practice location or iocations on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided the dentist:

1. Has completed a minimum of one year residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation in dental
anesthesiology or has completed an oral and maxillofacial surgical residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation beyond the undergraduate dental school level; or

2. Is a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; or

3. Is eligible for examination by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; or

4. ls a member of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons; or

{(b) A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the
administration of general anesthesia, staffed with supervised assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handiing
procedures, problems and emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive
pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of general anesthesia or deep sedation requires at least three individuals, each
appropriately trained: the operating dentist, a person responsible for monitoring the patient, and a person to assist the operating
dentist.

{c) A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation and all assistant/dentai hygienist personnel shall be
certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency spensored cardiopulmonary resuscitation
course at the basic life support level to include one person CPR, two person CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway, with a
periodic update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and alt
assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator
and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR
certification, a dentist utilizing general anesthesia or deep sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life
Support) or ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support).

(d) A dentist permitted to administer general anesthesia or deep sedation under this rule may administer conscious sedation and
nitrous-oxide inhalation conscious sedation.

(e) A dentist employing or using deep sedation shall maintain an active and cusrent permit to perform general anesthesia.

{2} Conscious Sedation Permit.

(a) A permit shall be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of conscious sedation at a specified practice location or focations on
an outpatient basis for dental patients provided such dentist:

|. Has received formal training in the use of conscious sedation; and

2. 1s certified by the institution where the training was received to be competent in the administration of conscious sedation; and

3. 1s competent to handle all emergencies relating to conscieus sedation.

(b) Such certification shall specify the type. the number of hours, the number of patients treated and the length of training. The
minimum number of didactic hours shall be sixty. Clinical training shall include personal administration for at least twenty patients
including supervised training, ctinical experience and demonstrated competence in airway management of the compromised airway.

(¢) This formal training program shail be sponsored by or affiliated with a university, teaching hospital or other facility
approved by the Board of Dentistry or part of the undergraduate curriculum of an accredited demtal school,

(d) A dentist utilizing conscicus sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the administration of conscious
sedation, staffed with supervised assistant/dental hygienist personned, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems, and
emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive pressure oxygen ventilation.
Administration of conscious sedation requires at least two individuals: a dentist, and an auxiliary trained in basic cardiac life
support. It shall be incumbent upon the operating dentist to insure that the patient is appropriately monitored.

(e} A deniist utilizing conscious sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be certified in an American Heart
Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support
level to include one man CPR, two man CPR, mfant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic update not to exceed two
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years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel
shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibriftator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their
cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing conscious
sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support) or ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support).

(f) Dentists permitted to administer conscious sedation may administer nitrous-oxide ishalation conscious sedation.

(g) Dentists permitted 1o administer conscious sedation may administer pediatric conscious sedation in compliance with Rule
654B5-14.010, FA.C.

(3) Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit.

(a) A permit shall be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of pediatric conscious sedation at a specified practice location or
locations on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided such dentist;

I. Has received formal training in the use of pediatric conscious sedation. This formal training program shali be sponsored by or
affiliated with a university, teaching hospital or other facility approved by the Board of Dentisiry or part of the undergraduate
curriculum of an accredited dental school; and

2. 1s certified by the institution where the training was received 1o be competent in the administration of pediatric conscious
sedation. This certification shall specify the type, the number of hours, the number of patients treated and the length of training. The
minimum number of didactic hours shall be sixty. Clinical training shalf include management of sedation for at least twenty patients
mcluding supervised training, clinical experience and demonstrated competence in airway management of the compromised airway;
and

3. Is competent to handie all emergencies relating to pediatric conscious sedation. A dentist utilizing pediatric conscious
sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the administration of pediatric conscious sedation, staffed with supervised
assistant/dentat hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems, and emergencies incidental thereto. The
facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of pediatric conscious
sedation requires at least two individuals: a dentist, and an auxiliary trained in basic cardiac life support. It shall be incumbent upon
the operating dentist to insure that the patient is appropriately monitored.

(b} A dentist utilizing pediatric conscious sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be certified in an American
Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life
support fevel to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic update not to
exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist
personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as
part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing
pediatric conscious sedation must be cuirently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support), PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life
Support), or a course providing similar instruction which has been approved by the Board. An entity seeking approval of such a
course shali appear before the Board and demonstrate that the content of such course and the hours of instruction are substantially
equivalent to those in an ACLS or PALS course.

(c} Dentists permitted to administer pediatric conscious sedation may administer nitrous-oxide inhalation conscions sedation.

(d) Dentists permitted to administer conscious sedation may administer pediatric conscious sedation.

(4) Nitrous-Oxide Inhalation Analgesia.

(&) A dentist may employ or use nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided such
dentist:

1. Has completed no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Pental Association’s “Guidelines for
Teaching and Comprehensive Controf of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry” or its equivaient; or

2. Has training equivalent to that described above while a student in an accredited school of dentistry: and

3. Has adequate equipment with fail-safe features and a 25% minimum oxygen flow.

{(b) A dentist utilizing nitrous-oxide inhalation anaigesia and such dentist’s assistant/dental hvgienist personnel shall be certified
in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivelent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course af
the basic life support level to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway with a periodic update
not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and all assistant/dental
hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and
electrocardiograph as part of their cardiepulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR
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certification, a dentist utilizing pediatric conscious sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support),
ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support), or PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support).

{c} A dentist who regularly and routinety utilized nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an cutpatient basis in a competent and
efficient manner for the three-year period preceding January 1, 1986, but has not had the benefit of formal fraining outlined in
subparagraphs 1. and 2. of paragraph (4)(a} above, may continue such use provided the dentist fulfilis the provisions set forth in
paragraph 3. of paragraph (4)(a) and the provisions of paragraph (b) above.

(d) Nitrous oxide may be used in combination with a single dose enteral sedative or a single dose narcotic analgesic to achieve a
minimally depressed level of consciousness so fong as the manufacturer’s maximum recommended dosage of the enteral agent is not
exceeded. Nitrous oxide may not be used in combination with more than one (1) enteral agent, or by dosing a single enteral agent in
excess of the manufacturer’s maximum recommended dosage unless the administering dentist hoids a conscious sedation permit
issued in accordance with subsection 64B5-14.003(2), F.A.C., or a pediatric conscious sedation permit issued in accordance with
Rule 64B5-14.010, F.A.C.

(5) Local Anesthesia Certificate or Permit: A permit or certificate to administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of a
Florida licensed dentist to non-sedated patients eighteen (18) years of age or older shall be issued by the Department of Health to a
Florida licensed dental hygienist who has completed the appropriate didactic and clinical education and experience as required by
Section 466.017(3), F.S., and who has been certified by the Board as having met aii the requirements of Section 466.017, F.S.

(a} A registered dental hygienist who is seeking a permit or certificate for administering local anesthesia must appiy to the
department on form DH-MQA 1261 (May 2012), Application for Dental Hygiene Certification Administration of Local Anesthesia,
herein incorporated by reference and available at hip:www firules.ore/Gaieway/relorence.asp?No=Re -01 469, or available on the
Florida Board of Dentistry website at http//www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentistry.

(b) An applicant shall submit the following with the application;

b A thirty-five doliar {$35) non refundable certificate or permit fee;

2. A certified copy of the applicant’s transcripts that reflect the required didactic and clinical education and gxperience;

3. A certified copy of the diploma or certificate issued by the applicant’s institution, program, or school; and

4. Proof of acceptable certification in Cardiopuimonary Resuscitation for health professionals or Advanced Cardiac Life
Support as defined in Section 466.017, F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), (6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), £3), (6} FS. History-New [-31-80, Amended 4-20-8], 2-13-86.
Formerly 21G-14.03, Amended 12-31-86. 11-8-90. 2-1-93. Formerly 21G-14.003. Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.003, Amended 8-8-96.,
10-1-96, Formerly 390-14.003, Amended 2-17-98, 12-20-98. 5-31-00, 6-7-(1] . 1 [-4-03, 6-23-004, 6-]1-07. 2.8-12 8-16-12 (iak-(fi, 8-16-12 (5},

64B5-14.0032 ltinerate/Mobile Anesthesia - Physician Anesthesiologist.
The provisions of this rule contro} the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office setting where a physician
anesthesiologist has performed the sedation services, This rule shall control notwithstanding any rule provision in this Chapter that
prohibits such conduct. The level of sedation is not restricted to the level of the permit held by the treating dentist. The level of
sedation may be any level necessary for the safe and effective treatment of the patient.

(1) General Anesthesia Permit Holders:
A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit may treat their adult, pediatric, or special needs patients when a physician
anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following conditions shall apply:

(a} The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia and the physician anesthesiologist is
responsible for the anesthesia procedure;

(b) The dental treatment takes place in the general anesthesia permit holder’s board-inspected and board-registered dental office.

{2} Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit Helders:
A pediatric dentist, as recognized by the American Dental Association, who holds a pediatric conscious sedation permit may treat
their pediatric or special needs dental patients when a physician anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following
conditions shall apply:

(@) The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the physician anesthesiologist is
responsible for the anesthesia procedure;

{(b) The treatment takes place in the permit holder’s board-inspected and board-registered dental office;

(c) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C.:
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(d) A board-approved inspector performs an inspection of the dental office and the inspector reports the office to be in full

compliance with the minimum supply, equipment, and facility requirements.
A pediatric dentist who holds an active conscious sedation permit and not a pediatric conscious sedation permit shall meet the
sedation permit requirement of this rule until the next biennial license renewal cycle that follows the effective date of this rule. At
the next biennial license renewal cycle that follows the effective date of this rule, 2 pediatric dentist who hold a conscious sedation
permit may transfer the permit to a pediatric conscious sedation permit without any additional cost besides the renewal fee,

(3} Conscious Sedation Permit Holders:

A dentist who holds a conscious sedation permit may freat their adult or adult special needs dental patients when a physician
anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following conditions shall apply:

(a) The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the physician anesthesiologist is
responsible for the anesthesia procedure;

(b) The treatment takes place in the permit holder’s properly board-inspected and board-registered dental office;

(c) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C.;

(d) A board-approved inspector performs an inspection of the dental office and the inspector reports the office to be in full
compliance with the minimum supply, equipment, and facitity requirements.

(4) Non-Sedation Permit Holders:

All provisions of this Chapter relating to the administration of any type of anesthesia or sedation and treatment to sedated patients
shall remain in full force and effect. Nothing in this section supersedes, alters, or creates a variance to any prohibitions and mandates
applicable to non-sedation permit holding dentists,

(5) Staff or Assistants: .

A dentist treating & patient pursuant fo this rule must have at least three (3} properly credentialed individuals present as mandated in
Ruje 64B5-14.003, F.A.C. To fulfili the mandatory minimum required personnel requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003, FA.C., a
physician anesthesiologist assistant or a certified registered nurse anesthetist in addition to, or in leu of a dental assistant or dental
hygienist may be utilized, However, the dentist must have a dedicated member of the team to assist in the dental procedure or during
dental emergencies,

(6) Equipment: .

A dentist may comply with the electrocardiograph and end tidal carbon dioxide monitor equipment standards set by Rule 64B5-
14.008, F.A.C., by utilizing mobile or non-fixed equipment if the dentist meets the following conditions:

(a) During the required board inspection, the equipment is available for inspection, and the dentist supplies an inspection of the
equipment, which a licensed health care risk manager performed. A licensed health care risk manager inspection is valid for a period
of twelve months; and

(b} The dentist shall make the inspected equipment available during all required inspections and the equipment must be
immediately available for an adverse incident inspection.

{7} Records:

The weating dentist shalt maintain a complete copy of the anesthesia records in the patient’s dental chart. The dentist shall make
certain that name and license numbers identify the treating dentist, the physician anesthesiologist, and all personnel utilized during
the procedure,

Rulemaking Authorily 466.004(4). 466.017(3) FS. Law {mplemented 466.017(3) FS. History-New 8-20-12, Amended 11-19-12, 2.21-13.

6485-14.0034 ltinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — General Anesthesia Permit Holders.
The provisions of this rule control the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office where a dentist with a genera
anesthesia permit performs the sedation services for a treating dentist. The treating dentist must possess a general anesthesia permit,
conscious sedation permit, or pediatric conscious sedation permit. The level of anesthesia administered shall be te any level
necessary to safely and effectively treat the dental patient. This rule shall control notwithstanding any rule provision in this Chapler
that prohibits such conduct.

(1) General Anesthesia Permit Holder's Office:
A general anesthesia permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another general anesthesia permit holder or
conscious or pediatric conscious sedation permit holder in his or her office or in another generai anesthesia permit holder’s office. in

this setting, the following shall apply:
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(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by a treating dentist who holds a valid anesthesia permit of any level,

(b).The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident reporiing under Rule 64B5-
14.006, FA.C

(2) Conscious and Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit Holder’s Office:
A general anesthesia permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another dentist who holds a conscious
sedation permit or a pediatric conscious sedation permit at the office of the treating dentist. In this setting, the following shall apply:

(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by the conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation permit holder;

(b} The general anesthesia permit holder may perform general anesthesia services once an additional board-inspection
establishes that the office complies with the facility, equipment and supply requirements of Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C.:

(¢) The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident reporting requirements under
Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C.

(3) Equipment:
When the general anesthesia permit holder performs the anesthesia services in a dental office of a conscious or pediatric conscious
sedation permit holder’s office, the electrocardiograph and end tidal carbon dioxide monitor equipment mandates may be met as
follows:

(a) The general anesthesia permit holder provides the equipment which has already been inspected during the general anesthesia
permit holder’s required inspection;

(b) The equipment is available for inspection during the office’s mandated inspection; and

(¢) The equipment is immediately available for an adverse incident report inspection.

(4 Staff or Personnel:
An anesthesia provider and the treating dentist are both responsible for ensuring that a minimum number of three (3) personnel are
present during the procedure. The personnel must meet the minimum credentialing requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.

(5) Records: The treating dentist shall maintain a complete copy of the anesthesia records m the patient’s dental chart. The
dentist performing the anesthesia must maintain the original anesthesia records. The treating dentist must identify by name and
ficense number all personnel utilized during the procedure.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017 FS. Low Implemented 466,017 FS. History-New 3-14-13.

6485-14.0036 Treatment of Sedated Patients by Dentists Without an Anesthesia Permit.

The provisions of this rule control the treatment of patients where an anesthesia permitted dentist sedates the dental patient in his or
her board-inspected and board-registered dental office and a Florida licensed dentist without an anesthesia permit performs the
dental treatment. This rule shall control notwithstanding any rule provision ir this Chapter to the contrary, which prohibits such
conduct.

(1) The permitted dentist shall perform the sedation in his or her out-patient dental office where the permitted dentist is
registered to perform the anesthesia services;

(2) The permitted dentist shall remain with the patient from the onset of the performance of the anesthesia unti] discharge of the
patient;

(3) The permitted dentist shall have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin the performance of any other anesthesia
services until the patient is discharged;

(4} The treating dentist shall have taken a minimum of four hours of continuing education in airway management prior to
freating any sedated patient. After the initial airway management course, the treating dentist shall continue to repeat a minimum of
four hours in airway management every four years. The continuing education courses taken shail be credited toward the mandatory
thirty hours of continuing education required for licensure renewal,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4), 466,017 FS. Law implemented 466.017 FS. Mistory—New 2-14-13,

64B5-14.004 Additional Requirements.

(1) Office Team - A dentist licensed by the Board and practicing dentistry in Florida and who is permitted by these rules to
induce and administer general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, pediatric conscious sedation or nitrous-oxide inhalation
analgesia may employ the office team approach.

(2} Dental Assistants, Dental Hygienists ~ Dental assistants and dental hygienists may monitor nitrous-oxide inhalation
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analgesia under the direct supervision of a dentist who is permitted by rule to use general anesthesia, conscious sedation, pediatric
conscious sedation, or nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia, while rendering dental services allowed by Chapter 4606, F.S., and under
the following conditions:

(a) Satisfactory completion of no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental Association’s
“Guidelines for Teaching and Comprehensive Controf of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry” or its equivalent; and

(b) Maintenance of competency in cardiopulmaonary resuscitation evidenced by certification in an American Heart Association
or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to
inciude one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway, with a periodic update not to exceed two years.

(3) After the dentist has induced a patient and established the maintenance level, the assistant or hygienist may monitor the
administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making only adjustments during this administration and turning it off at the completion
of the dental procedure.

{4} Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow a dentist or dental hygienist or assistant to administer to himself or to any
person any drug or agent used for anesthesia, analgesia or sedation other than in the course of the practice of dentistry.

(5} A dentist utilizing conscious sedation in the dental office may induce only one patient at a time. A second patient shall not
be induced until the first patient is awake, alert, conscious, spontaneously breathing, has stable vital signs, is ambulatory with
assistance, is under the care of a responsible aduit, and that portion of the procedure reguiring the participation of the dentist is
complete. In an office setting where two or more permit holders are present simultaneously, each may sedate one patient provided
that the office has the necessary staff and equipment, as set forth in paragraph 64B5-14.003(2)(d), F.A.C., for each sedated patient.

(6) Each anesthesia permit holder must complete at least four (4) hours of continuing education relating to anesthesia each
biennium the permit is held, to include two (2) hours dealing with the management of medical emergencies. These hours would be
included in the 30 hours of continuing education required by Section 466.0135(1), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4}, 466.017(3; FS. Low Implemenied 466.017¢3) FS. MHistorv—New [-31-80, Amended 2-i 3-86. Formerly 210-
14.04. Amended 12-31-86, 12-28-92. Formerly 21G-14.004, Amended 12-20-93, Formerty GiF5-14.004, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.004,
Amended 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 5-24-015,

64B5-14.0065 Application for Permit.

(1) No dentist shall administer, supervise or permit another heaith care practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001. F.S., to
perform the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation. conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation in a dental office
for dental patients, unless such dentist possesses a permit issued by the Board. A permit is required even when another health care
practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001, I'S., administers general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, or pediatric
conscious sedation in & dental office for a dental patient. The dentist holding such a permit shall be subject to review and such
permit must be renewed biennially. Each dentist in a practice who performs the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation,
conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation shall each possess an individual permit. Nothing in this paragraph shall be
construed to prohibit administration of anesthetics as part of a program authorized by Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C., any other
educational program authorized by Board rule, for training in the anesthetic being administered, or pursuant to a demonstration for
inspectors pursuant to Rule 64B3-14.007, F A C.

(2) An applicant for any type of anesthesia permit must demonstrate both:

(a) Training n the particular type of anesthesia listed in Rule 6435-14.003, FA.C.; and

(b) Documentation of actual clinical administration of anesthetics to 20 dental or oral and maxillofacial patients within two (2)
years prior to application of the particular type of anesthetics for the permit applied for,

(3) Prior to the issuance of such permit, an on-site inspection of the facility, equipment and personnel will be conducted
pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C., to determine if the requirements of this chapter have been met.

(4) An application for a general anesthesia permit must include the application fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C.,
which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B3-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied
without inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and
identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ general anesthesia or deep
sedation.

(5} An application for a conscious sedation permit must include the application fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C.,
which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied
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without inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating-compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and
identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires 1o be authorized to use or employ conscious sedation.

(6) An application for a pediatric conscious sedation permit must include the application fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017,
F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is
denied without inspection of the appticant’s facilities; evidence indicating compiiance with all the provisions of this chapter; and
identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ pediatric conscious
sedation.

(7) The Board shall renew the permit biennially upon application by the permit holder, proof of continuing education required
by subsection 64B5-14.004(6), F.A.C., and payment of the renewal fee specified by Rule 64B5-15.019, F.A.C., unless the holder is
informed in writing that a re-evaluation of his credentials and facility is to be required. In determining whether such re-evaluation is
necessary, the Board shall consider such factors as it deems pertinent including, but not limited to, patient complaints, reports of
adverse occurrences and the resulis of inspections conducted pursuant to Rule 64B35-14.007, F.A.C. Such re-evaluation shall be
carried out in the manner described in subsection {2) set forth above. A renewal fee of $25.00 must accompany the biennial
application.

(8) The holder of any general anesthesia, conscious sedation, or pediatric conscious sedation permit is authorized to practice
pursuant to such permit only at the location or locations previously reported to the Board office.

Rufemaking Authority 466,004, 466.017(3). 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017, 466.017(5) F5. History-New 4-7-86, Amended 1-29-89, I 1-
16-59, 11-8-90, 4-24-91, Formerly 21G-14.005, Amended 12-26-93. Formerly 6}F5-14.005, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.005, Amended 12-
12-00, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 2-22-06, 6-28-07. 7-5-111, 8-5-12.

64B5-14.006 Reporting Adverse Occurrences.

(1) Definitions:

(a) Adverse occurrence — means any mortality that occurs during or as the result of a dental procedure, or an incident that results
in the temporary or permanent physical or mental injury that requires hospitalization or emergency room treatment of a dental
patient that occurred during or as a direct result of the use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, pediatric
conscious sedation, oral sedation, minimal sedation (anxielysis), nitrous oxide, or local anesthesia.

{b) Supervising Dentist — means the dentist that was directly responsible for supervising the Certified Registered Dental
Hygienist (CRDH) who is authorized by proper credentials to administer local anesthesia.

{2) Dentists: Any dentist practicing in the State of Florida must notify the Board in writing by registered mail within forty-eight
hours (48 hrs.) of any mortality or other adverse occurrence that occurs in the deniist’s outpatient facility. A complete written report
shaill be filed with the Board within thirty (30) days of the mortality or other adverse occurrence. The complete written report shall,
at a minimum, inciude the following: '

{a) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient;

{(b) A detailed description of the dental procedure;

{c) A detailed description of the preoperative physical condition of the patient:

(d) A detailed list of the drugs administered and the dosage administered;

(e) A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs;

(f) A detaited description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of complications and the onset and type of
symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and type of treatment rendered Lo the patient; and 3) the onset and type of
response of the patient to the treatment rendered; and

(g) A list of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address.

(3) A failure by the dentist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements mandated by this rule is a basis
for disciplinary action by the Board, pursuant to Section 466.028(1), F.S.

(4) Certified Registered Dental Hygienists: Any CRDH administering local anesthesia must notify the Board, in writing by
registered mail within forty-eight hours (48 hrs.) of any adverse occurrence that was related to or the resuit of the administration of
local anesthesia. A complete written report shall be filed with the Board within thirty (30) days of the mortality or other adverse
occurrence. The complete written report shall, at a minimum, include the following:

{a) The name, address, and telephone number of the supervising dentist;

{b) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient;
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{¢) A detailed description of the dental procedure;

{d) A detailed description of the preoperative physical condition of the patient;

(e) A detailed st of the lecal anesthesia administered and the dosage of the local anesthesta administered:

(D) A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs;

{g} A detailed description of any other drugs the patient had taken or was administered;

(h} A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of complications and the onset and type of
symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and type of treatment rendered to the patient; and 3) the onset and type of
response of the patient to the treatment rendered; and

(i} A list of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address,

(5) A failure by the hygienist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements mandated by this rule is a
basts for disciplinary action by the Board pursuant to Section 466.028(1), F.S.

{6} Supervising Dentist:

[fa Certified Registered Dental Hygienist is required to file a report under the provisions of this rule, the supervising dentist shall
also file a contemporaneous report in accordance with subsection {2). _

(7) The initial and complete reports required by this rule shall be mailed to: The Florida Board of Dentistry, 4052 Bald Cypress
Way, Bin #C08, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(3). 466.017(3). (6) F'S. Law Implemented 466.01773}), (5} FS. History-New 2-12-86. Amended 3-27-90, Formeri
21G-14.000, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F3-14.006, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.006, Amended 11-4-03, 12-25-06, 8-5-72.

64B5-14.007 Inspection of Facilities and Demonstration of Sedation Technique.

(1) The Chairman of the Board or the Board by majority vote shall appoint consultants who are Florida licensed dentists to
inspect facilities where general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, or pediatric conscious sedation is performed.
Consultants shall receive instruction in inspection procedures from the Board prior to initiating an inspection.

(2) Prior to issuance of a general anesthesia permit, conscious sedation permit, or pediatric conscious sedation permit, the
applicant must demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of the use of the required equipment and drugs as follows:

(a) Demonstration of General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing general anesthesia/deep sedation must be
observed and evaiuated. Any general anesthesia/deep sedation technique that is routinely emploved may be demonstrated. The
patient shall be monitored while sedated and during recovery. Furlhermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically
demanstrate by stmulation an appropriate response to the foliowing emergencies:

I. Airway obstruction;

2. Bronchospasm;

3. Aspiration of foreign object;

4. Angina pectoris;

5. Myocardial infarction;

6. Hypotension;

7. Hypertension;

8. Cardiac arrest;

9. Allergic reaction;

0. Convulsions,

11, Hypoglycemia;

2. Syncope; and

13. Respiratory depression.

(b) Demonstration of Conscious Sedatien. A dental procedure utilizing conscious sedation must be observed and evaluated. Any
conscious sedation technique that is reutinely employed may be demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while sedated and
during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically demonstrate by simulation an appropriate response to
the foliowing emergencies:

b, Airway obstruction;

2. Bronchospasm;

3. Aspiration of foreign object;

P89



4. Angina pectoris;

5. Myocardial infarction;

6. Hypotension;

7. Hypertension;

8. Cardiac arrest;

9. Alfergic reaction;

10, Convuilsions;

i 1. Hypoglycemia;

12. Syncope; and

13. Respiratory depression.

{c) Demonstration of Pediatric Conscious Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing pediatric conscious sedation must be observed
and evaluated. Any pediatric conscious sedation technique that is routinely employed may be demonstrated. The patient shall be
monitored while sedated and during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically demonstrate by
simulation an appropriate response to the following emergencies:

I. Airway obstruction;

2. Bronchospasm;

3. Aspiration of foreign object;
4. Angina pectoris;

5. Myocardial infarction;

6. Hypotension;

7. Hypertension;

8. Cardiac arrest;

9. Aliergic reaction;

10. Convulsions;

11, Hypogiycemia;

2. Syncope; and

3. Respiratory depression. .

(3) Any dentist who has applied for or received a general anesthesia permit, conscious sedation permit, or pediatric conscious
sedation permit shall be subject to announced or unannounced on-site inspection and evaluation by an inspection consultant, This
inspection and evaluation shalt be required prior to issuance of an anesthesia permit. However, if the Department cannot complete
the required inspection prior to licensure, such inspection shall be waived until such time that it can be completed following
licensure.

{4} The inspection consuitant shalt determine compliance with the requirements of Rules 64B5-14.008, 64B5-14.009 and 64B5-
14.010, F.A.C., as applicable, by assigning a grade of pass or fail. :

(3} Any applicant who receives a failing grade as a resuit of the on-site inspection shall be denied a permit for general
anesthesia and conscious sedation.

(6} Any permit holder who fails the inspection shall be so notified by the anesthesia inspection consultant and shail be given a
written statement at the {ime of inspection which specifies the deficiencies which resuited in a failing grade. The inspection team
shall give the permit holder 20 days from the date of inspection to correct any documented deficiencies. Upon notification by the
permit holder to the inspection consultant that the deficiencies have been correcied, the inspecior shall reinspect to insure that the
deficiencies have been corrected. If the deficiencies have been corrected, a passing grade shall be assigned. No permit holder who
has received a failing grade shall be permitted 20 days to correct deficiencies uniess he voluntarity agrees in writing that no general
anesthesia or deep sedation or conscious sedation will be performed until such deficiencies have been corrected and such corrections
are verified by the anesthesia inspection consuttant and a passing grade has been assigned.

{7y Upon a determination of the inspection consuitant that a permit holder has received a failing grade and that the permit holder
has not chosen to exercise his option by taking immediate remedial action and submitting to reinspection, or reinspection has
established that remedial action has not been accomplished, the Inspection Consuitant shall determine whether the deficiencies
constitule an imminent danger to the public. Should an imminent danger exist, the consultant shall report his {indings to the
Executive Director of the Board. The Executive Director shall immediately request an emergency meeting of the Probable Cause
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Panel. The Probable Cause Panel shall determine whether an imminent danger exists and upon this determination of imminent
danger request the Secretary of the Department to enter an emergency suspension of the anesthesia permit. If no imminent danger
exists, the consultant shall report his findings to the Probable Cause Panel for further action against the permit holder. Nothing
herein is intended to affect the authority of the Secretary of the Department to exercise his emergency suspension authority
independent of the Board or the Probable Cause Panel.

{8) When a patient death or other adverse occurrence as described in subsection 64B5-14.006(1), F.A.C., is reported to the
Department pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., the initial report shall be faxed or otherwise telephonically transmitted to the
Chairman of the Board’s Probable Cause Panel or another designated member of the Probable Cause Panel to determine if an
emergency suspension order is necessary. If so, the Department shall be requested to promptly conduct an investigation which shall
include an inspection of the office involved in the patient death,

(a) I the results of the investigation substantiate the previous determination, an emergency suspension order shall be drafted and
presented (o the Secretary of the Department for consideration and execution. Thereafter, a conference call meeting of the Probable
Cause Panel shall be held to determine the necessity of further administrative action,

(b) I the defermination is made that an emergency does not exist, the office involved with the patient death shall be inspected as
soon as practicable following receipt of the notice requived by Rule 6485-14.006, F.A.C. However, in the event that the office has
previously been inspected with a passing result, upon review of the inspection results, the Chairman of the Probable Cause Panel or
other designated member of the Probable Cause Panel shall determine whether or not a reinspection is necessary. The complete
written report of the adverse occurrence as required in Rule 6485-14.006, F.A.C., shall be provided to the Probable Cause Panel of
the Board 1o determine if further actior is appropriate.

(c) It a routine inspection reveals a failure to comply with Rule 64B5-14,006, F.A.C., the Inspection Consultant shail obtain the
information which was required to be reported and shall determine whether the failure to report the death or incident reveals that an
imminent danger to the public exists and report to the Executive Director or Probable Cause Panel as set forth in subsection 64B5-
14.007(6), F.A.C.

(9 The holder of any general anesthesia, conscious sedation, or pedialric conscious sedation permit shall inform the Board
office in writing of any change in authorized locations for the use of such permits prior to accomplishing such changes. Written
notice shall be required prior to the addition of any location or the closure of any previously identified location.

{10) Failure to provide access to an inspection team on two successive occasions shall be grounds for the issuance of an
emergency suspension of the licensee’s permit pursuant to the provisions of Section 120.60(8), F.S.

Rutemaking Authority 466.01773) FS. Law Implemented 120.60(8), 466.017(3) FS. History-New 10-24-88, Amended 3-27-90. 11-8-90, 4-24-91, -
193, Formerly 21G-14.007, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.007, Amended 8-8-96, Formeriv 590-14.007. Amended | -4-03, 6-11-07,

6485-14.008 Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation.

General Anesthesia Permit applicants and permit helders shail comply with the following requirements at each location where
anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at each
location.

(1) The operatory where anesthesia is {0 be administered must:

(a) Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnel and to permit effective
BMErgency management,

(b} Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatiment, including a chair or cardiopulmonary resuscitation
{CPR) board suitable for CPR;

(c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction.

(2) 1 a recovery room is present it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and
sufficient fight o provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to allow emergency
access and management. The recovery room shall be situated to aliow the patient to be abserved by the Dentist or an office team
member at all times,

(3} The following equipment must be readily avaiiable to the operatory and recovery room and maintained in good working
order:

(a) A posilive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for adults and for pediatric patients,
if pediatric patients are treated;
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{b) Oral and nasal airways of various sizes;

{c} Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope; and

{d) Cardioscope — electrocardiograph (EKG) machine, pulse oximeter, and end tidal carbon dioxide, to provide continuous
monitoring of heart rhythm and rate, oxygen saturation of the blood, and ventilation. This equipment shall be used for each
procedure; '

() Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; and

{f) Thermometer.

{#4) The following emergency equipment must be present:

(a) Appropriate 1.V. set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

{b) Laryngoscope with current batteries;

(cy McGill foreeps and endotracheal tubes:

(d) Suction with backup suction;

(e) Appropriate syringes;

() Tourniquet and tape;

{g) CPR board or chair suitable for CPR;

(hy Stylet;

(i) Spare bulbs and batteries;

(j) Cricothyrotomy equipment;

(k} Precordial stethoscope or capnometer; and

(I Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope.

{5) The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be maintained and easily accessible from the operatory
and recovery room:

(a) Epinephrine;

(b) Atropine;

{c) Lidocaine;

{d) Amiodarone;

{e) An antihistamine,

(fy A vasodiiator;

{g) A bronchodilator;

{h) An antihypoglycemic agent;

(i) A vasopressor;

{3y A corticosteroid;

{k) An anticonvulsant;

{I) A muscie retaxant;

{m} A narcotic and benzodiazepine antagonist;

{n) An appropriate antiarrhythmic medication;

{0} Nitroglycerine;

(p)y Antiemetic,

(g} Adenosine; and

(r) Dantrolene, when used with volatile gases.

(6) The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency protocols, and shall provide training to familiarize office
personnel in the freatment of the following clinical emergencies:

{a) Larynpospasm;

{b} Bronchospasm;

{c¢) Emesis and aspiration;

{d) Airway blockage by foreign body;

{e¢} Angina pectoris;

(f) Myocardial infarction;

(g} Hypertension/Hypotension;
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(h) Hypertensive crisis;

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions;

(i3 Convulsions;

(k) Seizures;

{I) Syncope;

{m) Phiebitis;

() Intra-arterial injection; and

{0} Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation.
The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which reflects the date, fime, duration and tvpe of
training provided to named personnel.

{7) The following records are required when general anesthesia is administered:

{a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies and previous surgery; and

{b) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and pulse; and

(c) An anesthesia record which shall include:

1. Continuous monitoring of vital signs taken at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and sequence of administration;

3. Duration of the procedure;

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity;

5. Status of patient upon discharge, and to whom the patient is discharged;

{d) Names of participating personnel.

Rulemalking Authority 466,004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New [0-24-88, Amended 11-16-8%, Formerly 21G-14.008.
Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.008. Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.008, Amended 5-31-00, 6-23-04, 9-14-05, 3-23-06, 11-24-11,

64B5-14.009 Conscious Sedation,

Conscious Sedation Permit applicants or permit holders shall comply with the following requirements at each Jocation where
anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at each
location.

(1) The operatory where sedation is to be administered must:

(a) Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnet and to permit effective
gmergency management:

(b) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a CPR board or chair suitable for CPR;

{c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction catheters.

{(2) 1f a recovery room is present it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and
sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to aliow emergency
access and management. The recovery room shall be situated so that the patient can be observed by the dentist or an office team
member at all times.

{(3) The following equipment must be readily avaitable to the operatory and recovery roem and maintained in good working
order:

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for adults and for pediatric patients,
if pediatric patients are treated;

(b) Oral and nasal airways of various sizes;

(c} Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope;

(d) Suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction;

{e} A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxygen saturation of the blood shall be used
during each procedure;

{Fy A backup lighting system;

{g) A Precordial stethoscope or capnometer;

{h) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; and

(i) Thermometer.
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{4) The following emergency equipment must be present;

(a) Appropriate infravenous set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

(b} Appropriale syringes;

{c) Tourniguet and tape.

(5) The foilowing drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be maintained and easily accessible from the operatory
and recovery room:

(a) Epinephrine;

(b} Atropine;

(cy Lidocaine;

{d) Narcotic {e.g., Naloxone HCT) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil} antagonists, if these agents are used;

{e) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine HCI);

{(f} A corticosteroid (e.g., Hydrocortisone);

{g) Nitrogiycerine;

{h) A bronchodilator (e.g., Albuterol inhaler);

(i) An antihypoglycemic (e.g., 50% glucose);

{) Amiodarone;

(k) Vasopressor;

(1} Anticonvulsant;

(m) Antihypertensive;

(n) Anticholinergic; and

{0) Antiemetic.

(6) The applicant or permit holder shall provide writien emergency protocols, and shall provide training to familiarize office
personnel in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:

{a) Laryngospasm;

(b) Bronchospasm;

(c) Emesis and aspiration;

(d)y Amrway blockage by foreign body:

{e) Angina pectoris;

(f} Myocardial infarction;

{g) Hypertension/Hypotension;

(h) Hypertensive crisis;

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions;

(i) Convulsions;

{k) Seizures;

() Cardiac arrest;

{m) Intra-arterial injection;

{n) Syncope; and

{0} Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation.
The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which refiects the date, time, duration and type of
training provided to named personnel.

(7} The following records are required when conscious sedation is administered:

{(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies and history of previous surgery and anesthesia
history;

{b) Physical and risk assessment (e.g.. ASA classification);

{c) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and puise; and

{d) A sedation record which shall include:

i. Periedic vital signs recordad at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and sequence of administration;

3. Duration of the procedure;
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4. Documentation of complications or morbidity;

3. Status of patient upon discharge and to whom discharged; and

6. The patient who is administered a drug(s) for conscious sedation, must be continuously monitored intraoperatively by pulse
oximetry. A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope must be available to assist in the monitoring of heart and rtespiratory rates. A
sphygmomanometer shall be immediately available,

(e} Names of participating personnel.

Rulemaking Authority 466,004, 460.017 FS. Law Implemented 466 017 FS. History-New 10-24-88, Amended 1-16-89, 4-24-9{, Formerly 210-
14.008, 61 F5-14.009. Amended 8-8-96. 10-1-96, Formerly 590-14.009, Amended §-2-00, 1{-4.03, 6-23-04, 3-23-06. 1(-26-1].

64B5-14.010 Pediatriec Conscious Sedation,

Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit applicants or permit holders shall comply with the following requirements at each location
where anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at
each location.

{1) The operatory where the sedated child patient is to be treated must:

{a) Be of adeguate size and design to permit physical access of emergency eguipinent and personnel and to permit effective
emergency management,

(b) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a CPR board or chair suitable for CPR:

(c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction catheters.

(2) 1T a recovery room is present, it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and
sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to allow emergency
access and management. The recovery room shall be situated so that the patient can be observed by the dentist or an office team
member at all times, ‘

(3} The following equipment must be readily availabie to the operatory and recovery room and maintained in good working
order:

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for pediatric patients;

(b} Airways of appropriate size for the pediatric patient;

(¢} Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope;

(d} Suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction cathsters;

(e} A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxygen saturation of the blood shal} be used
during each procedure;

(f) A scale for weighing pediatric patients; and

{g) Thermometer.

{4) The following emergency equipment must be present:

{a) Appropriaie intravenous set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

(b) Appropriate syringes;

{¢) Tourniquet and tape; and

{d) Defibriliator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated.

(5) The foliowing drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf iife must be maintained and easily accessible from the operatory
and racovery room:

(a) Epinephrine;

(b} Atropine:

{c) Lidocaine;

(d) Narcotic (e.g., Naloxone HCI) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil) antagonists, if these agents are used;

{e) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine HCI);

{fy A corticosteroid (e.g., Hydrocortisone);

{g) Nitrogiycerine;

{hy A bronchodilator {e.gz.. Albuterol inhaler);

(i) An antihypoglycemic (e.g., 50% glucose);

(i) A vasopressor;

P95



(k) An anticonvulsant;

(1} An antihypertensive;

(m) Nitroglycerin;

{n) An antichohlinergic;

{0} An antiemetic; and

{p} Amiodarone.

(6) The appiicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency protocols, and shall provide training to familiarize office
personnel in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:

{a) Laryngospasm;

(b) Bronchospasm;

(¢) Emesis and aspiration;

(d) Airway blockage by foreign body;

(e) Cardiac arrhythmias;

{f) Hypertension/Hypotension;

{g) Hypertensive crisis;

(h) Ailergic and toxicity reactions;

(i} Convulsions;

(j) Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation;

(k) Syncope;

{1} Seizures;

{m) Cardiac arrest;

{n) Intra-arterial injection;

{0) Angina pectoris; and

{p) Myocardial infarction.

The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which reflects the date, time, duration and type of
training provided to named personnel.

(7) The following records are required when pediatric conscious sedation is administered;

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies, history of previous surgery and anesthesia, and the
patient’s age, weight, and calculation of maximum allowable local anesthesia.

{b) Physical and risk assessment (e.g., ASA classification);

(c) Base line vital signs, including pulse, percent hemoglobin oxygen saturation, and when possible, blood pressure;

(d} A sedation record which shall include:

L. Periodic vital signs recorded at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Dyugs, including local anesthetics, administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage. time and
sequence of administration;

3. Duration of the procedure;

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity; and

5. Status of patient upon discharge and to whom discharged.

{e) Names of participating personnel.

(8) Drugs for conscious sedation must be administered in a dental office and the patient must be observed by & qualified office
staff member. Continuous monitoring with pulse oxymetry must be initiated with early signs of conscious sedation and continued
until the patient is alert. A precordial, pretracheal stethoscope or capnometer must be available to assist interoperatively in the
monitoring of heart and respiratory rates. A sphygmomanometer shall be immediately available.

Rulemaking Authorily 466,004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New 8-8-96. Formerty 590-14.070, Amended 8-2-00, 5-20-01,
3-23-06, 16-26-11.
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CHAPTER 64B5-15
FEE SCHEDULE

64B3-15.001  Collection and Payment of Fees
64B5-15.002  Application Fees

64B5-15.003  Examination Fees

64B5-15.004 Reexamination Fees

64B3-13.006  Licensure and Renewal Fees
64B5-15.008  Fee for Renewal of Inactive License
64B5-15.009  Fee for Reactivation of Inactive License
64B5-15.0091 Fee for Reactivation of Retired License.
04B5-15.011  Delinquency Fee

064B5-15.012  Change of Status Processing Fee

64B35-15.0121
64B5-15.0122

Change of Status Processing Fee for Retired Status.
Retired Status Fee.

64B5-15.015  Fee for Certification as a Dental Radiographer

64B5-15.016  Fee for Duplicating Licenses, Certifications, and Permits

64B5-15.017  Application Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permits

64B5-15.018  Initial Permit Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation
Permits

6485-15.019  Renewal Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permits

64B5-15.020 Examination Review Fee (Repealed)

64B5-15.022  Fees for Continuing Education Providers

64B5-15.023  Fee for Certification of a Public Record

64B5-15.024  Fees for Enforcement of Unlicensed Practice Prohibitions

64B5-15.025  Registration Fee for Dispensing Practitioners

064B5-15.030  One Time Fee

64B5-15.601 Collection and Payment of Fees.
All fees shall be made payable to the Department of Health.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢3) FS. Law lnplemented 456,023 I'S. History-New 4-1-80, Formerly 21G-15.01, 21G=13.001. 61F3-15.001, 590-
13.001,

64B5-15.002 Application Fees.
The application fee for licensure as a dentist shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00), and the application fee for licensure as a dental
hygienist shall be fifty dollars (§50.00). The application fee for a Health Access Dental License shall be one hundred dollars
($100.00).

Rulemaking Authordy 4606.004(3) IS, Law Implemented 466.00671). 466.007 FS. History-New 4-1-80. Amended 3-9-82. Formerly 21G-15.02,
21G-15.002. 61 F3-15.002. 590-15.002, Amended 4-27-19.

64B5-15.003 Examination Fees, _
The examination fee for the dental examination is $423.00 plus the actual costs to the Department for the portions of the
examination purchased from the Northeast Regional Board of Dental Examiners or similar national organization; the examination
fee for the dental hygiene examination is $225.00; and the examination fee for the manual skills examination is $250.00. The
examination fee must be submitted at the same time the application and application fee is submitted. However, the Department of
Health will refund one-half of the examination fee of any applicant who notifies the Department in writing at least 14 days prior 1o
the gxamination date that he is not going to take the examination.

Rulemaking Aulhority 460.00404). 166.0006¢7), 466.007(13 IS, Law implemented 456 00671), {3)(c). 466.007¢1) 5. Hisiorn—New o-1-80), Amended
H-26-80, 3-9-82, 3-11-84, 10-8-85, Formerlv 2]G-15.03, Amended 9-14-87. 10-4-88. Formerly 21G-15.003, 61F5-15.003, 590-15.003.
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64B5-15.004 Reexamination Fees.
A person applying to retake the dental or the dental hygiene examination, or any portion or part thereof, must pay the appropriate
applications and reexamination fees. The reexamination fee for the practical portion of the dental examination, or any part of the
practical portion of the dental examination shall be $345.00; the reexamination fee for the practical portion of the dental hygiene
examination shall be $200.00; the reexamination fee for the manual skills examination shall be $250.00; the reexamination fee for
the diagnostic skills portion of the dental examination shall be $30.00 pius the costs of the examination; and the reexamination fee
for the written portion of the dental examination shall be $50.00 and the dental hygiene examination shall be $25.00.

Rulemaking Authority 436.017(2}, 466,004{4j FS. Lirw Implemented 456.017(2), 466.009(1) FS. HistorsNew 4-1-80, Amended 6-22-80. 5-9-82. 3-
11-84, Formerly 21G-15.04, Amended 9-14-87, 10-24-88, Formerly 21G-15.004, 61F5-15.004, 590-15.004,

64B5-15.006 Licensure and Renewal Fees.

(1) The fee for biennial renewal of both a dental Heense and of a health access dental license shall be $300.00. The biennial
renewal fee for a dental hygiene license shall be $100.00.

(2) Initial licensure fees shall be the same as renewal fees. However, applicants granted initial licensure during the second year
of the biennium shall pay one half of the normal fee.

Rulemaking Authority 456.013, 456.025. 466.013 FS. Law Implemented 456.013, 456.025, 466.013 FS, History-New 4-1-80, Amended 1-25-82,
10-3-83, Formerly 21G-15.06, Amended 11-16-89. 8-13-92. Formerly 21G-15.006. 61F5-15.006, Amended 5-6-96. Formerhy 590-15.0Gia,
Amended 8-2-01, 6-11-07, 4-27-09.

64B3-15.008 Fee for Renewal of Inactive License.
The fee for renewal of an inactive dental license shall be $300. The fee for renewal of an inactive dental hygiene license shall be
$100.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004. 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 466.015 FS. History-New 4-2-84, Formerly 210G-15.08, Amended [-18-87, []-i6-
8Y, 8-13-92, Formerly 21G-15.008, 61F5-15.008, Amended 5-6-96. Formerly 590-15.008, Amended 9-27-01. 6-18-07.

64B3-15.069 Fee for Reactivation of Inactive License.
The fee for reactivation of an inactive dental license shall be $300. The fee for reactivation of an inactive dental hygiene license
shall be $100.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466,015 FS. Law Implemented 466.013 FS. History--New 4-2-84. Formerly 21G-15.09, Amended 1-18-87, 11-16-
89, 8-13-92, Formerly 21G-15.009. 61F5-15.009, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 590-15.009, Amended 9-27-0]. 6-18-G7.

64B5-15.0091 Fee for Reactivation of Retired License.
The fee for reactivation of a retired license shall be payment of all biennial renewal fees that would have been imposed on an active
status licensee pursuant to Rule 64B5-15.006, F.A.C,, for all of the biennial periods wherein the licensee had a retired license.

Rulemaking Authority 456.036 FS. Law [Impleimented 456.036 FS. History-New 2-14-06.

64B5-15.611 Delinquency Fee.
The fee for delinquent status of a dental license shali be $30.00 for renewals postmarked no later than March 31 of the even
numbered years. The fee for delinquent status of a dental license renewal postmarked after March 31 of the even numbered years
shail be $150.00. The fee for delinquent status of a dental hygiene license shail be $25.00 for renewals postmarked no later than
March 31 of the even numbered years. The fee for delinquent status of a dental hygiene license renewal postmarked after March 31
of the even numbered vears shall be §75.00.

Rulemaking Aurhority 436,036, 4606.004(4), 466,013, 466.015 FS. Law Implemenied 436036, 466.015 FS. History-New 7-12-95. Amended 5-6-96,
Formerfy 390-13.011. dmended 9-27-01, 5-11-015.

64B5-15.012 Change of Status Processing Fee.
The fee for processing a licensee’s request to change status af any time other than at the beginning of a licensure cycle shall be $300
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for a dental license and $100 for a dental hygiene license.

Rulemaking Authority 456.036, 466.004741 FS. Lesw Implemented 456.036 S Historv-New 7.12-95, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 590-15.012,
Amended 9-27-01, 6-11-07.

64B5-15.0121 Change of Status Processing Fee for Retired Status.
The fee for changing to retired status at any time other than at license renewat shall be $300 for a dental license and $100 for a
dental hygiens license.

Rulemaking Authority 456.036 FS. Law /n'tp/em@mcﬂ 436,036 FS. History-—New 2-14-06, Amended 6-11-07.

64B5-15.0122 Retired Status Fee,
The retired status fee shall be $50.00.

Rulemaking Authority 456,036 FS. Law Implemented 456 036 FS. Historv-New 2-14-06,

64B5-15.015 Fee for Certification as a Dental Radiographer., _
The fee for certification as a dental radiographer pursuant to Rule 64B3-9.011, F.A.C., shall be $35.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004{4) £5. Law Implemented 466.017(5) FS. History-New [-18-87, Formerly 21G-15.015 61F5-15.015. 390-15015,
Amended 6-11-07.

64B5-15.016 Fee for Duplicating Licenses, Certifications, and Permits.
The Board shali charge a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per duplication to defray the cost of duplicating any lcense,
certification, or permit.

Rulemaking Authority 456.02504) FS. Low Implemented 456.023(4) FS. History-New [-18-87, Amended 1-7-92, Formerfy 21615016, G1F5-
15016, 590-15.016,

64B5-15.017 Application Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conscious Sedation Permits.
{1} The application fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $100.00.

{2} The application fee for a Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $100.00.

(3) The application fee for a Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $100.00.

{4) Application fees are not refundable.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004. 466017 FS. Law Implemented 466017 FS. History-New H-16-89. Formerly 21G-15.017. 61F5-[5.017. 590-
15017, Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-06.

64B5-15.018 Initial Permit Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conscious Sedation Permits.
{1} The initial fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $20¢.,00.

{2} The initiai fee for a Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00,

(3) The imitial fee for a Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00.

(#4) initial permit fees may be refunded if the applicant is denied the permit without inspection.

Rulemaking Authority 466,004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New 17-16-89, Formerly 21G-15.018, 61F5-15.018. 390-
13018 Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-00.

04B85-15.619 Renewal Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conseious Sedation Permits.
(1) The biennial renewal fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $200.00,

{2) The biennial renewal fee for a Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00,

(3) The biennial renewal fee for a Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $206.00.

(4} Renewal fees are nof refundable.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004. 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New [1-16-89, Formerly 21G-15079, 6]1F5-15.019. 590-

Pos



15019 Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-006,

64B5-15.020 Examination Review Fee.
Rulemaking Authority 456.017¢2) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(2) FS. Historv-New 3-25-90, Formerlv 21G-15.020, 61F5-15.020, 590-15.026,
Repealed 4-30-07.

64B5-15.022 Fees for Continuing Education Providers.
(1} The initial fee for approval as a continuing education provider shall be $200.
(2) The biennial renewal fee for an approved continuing education provider shall be $200,

Rulemaking Authority 456.02303) 'S, Law Implemented 456.025(3), 466,014 FS. Historv—New 3-2-91, Formerly 21G-15.022, 61F3-15.022, 590-
15022, Amended 6-11-07.
6485-15.023 Fee for Certification of a Public Record.

The Board shali charge a fee of twenty-five dollars (§25.00) for each request for the certification of a public record.

Rulemaking Authority 436.025(5} FS. Law Implemented 456.025¢3) FS. Historv-New 1.7-92, Formerly 21G-15.023, 61F5-15,023, 590-15023.

64B5-15.024 Fees for Enforcement of Unlicensed Practice Prohibitions,
Rulemoking Authority 436.004 436,065, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.065¢3) FS. History-New 8-28-93, Formerly G1F3-13.024. 590-
15.024, Amended 10-31-01, Repealed 2-13-12.

64B5-15.025 Registration Fee for Dispensing Practitioners.
Each licensed dentist who dispenses medicinal drugs for human consumption to patients in the reguiar course of dental practice for
fee or remuneration of any kind, whether direct or indirect, must register and pay a fee of $100.00 at the time of registration and
upon each biennial renewal of licensure.

Rulemaking Authority 4630276 IS, Law Implemenied 465.0276 S, History-New [ [-22-93, Formerly 61F5-15.025, 59(-15.025.

64B5-15.030 One-Time Fee.

Rulemaking Authority 430.025(4). 466.004¢4), 466.005¢1). (2) FS. Law Implemented 456.025(5) FS. History-New 10-23-07, Amended 4-27-08,
Repealed 2-13-12.
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CHAPTER 64B5-16
REMEDIABLE TASKS DELEGABLE TO DENTAL HYGIENISTS AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS

64B5-16.001 Definitions of Remediable Tasks and Supervision Levels
64B5-16.002 Reguired Training

04B5-16.005 Remediabie Tasks Deiegable to Dental Assistants
64B5-16.006 Remediable Tasks Delegable to a Dental Hygienist
64B35-16.007 Levels of Supervision for Dental Hygienists
64B5-16.0075  Dental Charting by Dental Hygienists

64B5-16.008 Emergency Remediable Tasks

64B5-16.009 Display of Certificates

64B5-16.010 Prior Certification and Training

64B5-16.001 Definitions of Remediable Tasks and Supervision Levels,

{1) Remediable tasks, also referred to as expanded functions of dental assistants, are those intra-oral tasks which do not create
unalterable changes in the oral cavity or contiguous structures, are reversible and do not expose a patient to increased risks. The use
of a laser or laser device of any type is not a remediable task.

(2) A dentist may delegate a remediable task to dental hygienists, and dental assistants so long as delegation of the task poses no
increased risk to the patient and the requirements of training and supervision set out in Chapter 64B5-16, F.A.C., are met.

(3) Remediable tasks are those specified in Section 466.024, F.S.. and those designated as such by the Board. The Board hereby
designates the tasks listed in Chapter 64B5-16, F.A.C., as remediablie tasks.

(4) Direct supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a.condition to be treated, authorize the
procedure to be performed, be on the premises while the procedure is performed, and approve the work performed prior to the
patient’s departure from the premises.

(5) Indirect supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a condition to be treated, authorize the
procedure to be performed, and be on the premises while the procedure is performed.

(6) General supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a condition to be treated, and authorize the
procedure to be performed,

(7) Any authorization for remediable tasks to be performed under general supervision is valid for a maximum of [3 months;
after which, no further treatment under general supervision can be performed without another clinical exam by a Florida licensed
dentist.

{8) Any tfasks delegable to dental assistants will be delegable to dental hygienists under the same supervision. level, unless
otherwise stated in the rules.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 466.024(1). (3} FS. Law Implemented 466.024, 466.003(11), (12) FS. History-New 4-30-80, Amended 8-20-80.
[-28-81. 3-4-81, 10-8-85, Formerly 21G-16.01, Amended 6-30-86, 12-31-86, 7-5-87. 2-21-88, ]-18-89. Formerly 21G-16.001, Amended 3-30-94,
Formerly 6/F5-16.001. Amended 4-6-97, Formerly 590-16.001], Amended 1-6-99. 10-29-00, 2-5-09.

64B5-16.002 Required Training.

(1) Formal training which is required for the performance of certain remediable tasks consists of a dental hygienist's or dental
assistant’s successful compietion of an expanded duty course or program which meets one of the following requirements:

{a) The course or program is administered or was developed as a part of the regular curriculum at a school of dentistry, dental
hygiene or dental assisting accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation, its successor
agency or any other nationally recognized accrediting agency; or

(b) The course or program has been approved by the Board for the purpose of providing expanded-duties training for dental
hygienists and dental assistants; or

(2) For the purpose of positioning and exposing radiographs by dental assistants, formal training may consist of having received
certification as a dental radiographer pursuant to Rule 64B5-9.G11, FAC,

{3) The Board shali approve z course or program specified in paragraph 64B53-16.002(1)b), F.A.C., in expanded duties only
upon the application of the entity seeking to offer the course or program which establishes compliance with the following
requirements. Failure to adhere to these requirements shall subiect the course or program {o revocation of Board approval.
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(a) The course or program curriculum reflects appropriate didactic and clinical training in each remediable task which requires
completion of Board-approved formal training and shall be designed to meet specifically stated educational objectives;

(b) Documentation of the training and experience of faculty members which establishes their qualifications to teach specified
subject areas. Dentists and dental hygienists shall have a minimum of one year experience in expanded duty functions and expanded
duty dental assistants shall have a minimum of 5 years of hands-on experience prior to approval. The student/teacher ratio shall not
exceed one instructor to ten students. Applicants who have had a professional license revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted
against, in Florida or in another jurisdiction, may be disqualified from participation as instructors;

(¢) Submission of a detailed syllabus of the course or program which specifies the educational objectives for participants, the
manner of achieving these specified objectives, including subject matter, hours of instruction and choice of instructional method
{clinical or didactic) and the method of assessing a participant’s performance. Any course offered shall alse include instruction
regarding sterilization and disinfection procedures as stated in Rule Chapter 64B5-23, F.A.C., and instruction in the dental practice
act and administrative code as it relates to dental auxiliaries. _

{d) The course or program requires participants 1o pass clinical or written examinations which adequately test competency in
each subject area. Participants must obtain a score of at least 75% out of a possibie score of 100%. The choice of a clinical or written
examination shall be based on the specified objectives for each subject area; and

(¢) Each participant who successfully completes the course or program is issued a certificate which contains the following
information: name of course or program sponsor; title of course; date course offered; number of hours of instruction; participant’s
name; sighature authorized by the sponsor which attests to the certificate’s validity; and a list of ali remediable tasks in which the
participant has received formal training,

(f) Any clinical course in which patients are freated during instruction must be supervised by a dentist licensed pursuant to
Chapter 466, F.S,

g) Facilities and equipment for each course in which patients are treated during instruction shall be adequate for the subject
matter and method of instruction.

(4) On-the-job training required for the performance of certain remediable tasks consists of training in those tasks by a licensed
dentist who assumes full responsibility for assuring that the dental hygienist or dental assistant has completed hands-on training in
order that he/she is competent to perform the tasks.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.024 FS. Law Implemented 466,023, 466.024 FS History—New 4-30-80, Amended & 20-80, 1-28-81. 3-4-81. 4-
20-81. Formerly 21G-16.02, Amended 6-30-86, 12-31-86. 7-5-87. 2-21-88, 7-12-88. [-]8-89, 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-16.002, 61F5-16.002,
Amended 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.002, Amended 1-29-07, 4.27-09. {]-16-1], 5-2-12.

6435-16.005 Remediable Tasks Delegable to Dental Assistants,

{1) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received formal training and who performs
the tasks under direct supervision:

(a) Placing or removing temporary restorations with non-mechanical hand instruments only;

(b) Polishing dental restorations of the teeth when not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and only
with the following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — bumnishers, siow-speed hand pieces, rubber cups, and
bristie brushes;

(¢) Polishing clinical crowns when not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and only with the following
instruments used with appropriate pelishing materials - slow-speed hand pieces, rubber cups, bristle brushes and porte polishers;

(d) Removing excess cement from dental restorations and appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments only;

{e) Cementing temporary crowns and bridges with temporary cement;

(f) Monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making adjustments only during this administration and turning it off
at the completion of the dental procedure;

(g) Selecting and pre-sizing orthodontic bands, including the selection of the proper size band for a tooth to be banded which
does not include or involve any adapting, contouring, trimming or otherwise medifying the band material such that it would
constitute fitting the band;

(h) Selecting and pre-sizing archwires prescribed by the patient’s dentist so long as the dentist makes al! final adjusiments to
bend, arch form determination, and symmetry prior to final placement;

(i) Selecting prescribed extra-oral appliances by pre-selection or pre-measurement which does not inciude final fit adjustment;
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(1) Preparing a tooth surface by applying conditioning agents for orthodontic appliances by conditioning or placing of sealant
materials which does not include placing brackets;

(k) Using appropriate implements for prefiminary charting of existing restorations and missing teeth and a visual assessment of
existing oral conditions;

{1} Fabricating temporary crowns or bridges intra-orally which shall not inciude any adjustment of occlusion to the appliance or
existing dentition; and

{m) Packing and removing retraction cord, so long as it does not contain vasoactive chemicals and is used solely for restorative
dental procedures; ' ‘

{n) Removing and recementing propetly contoured and fitting loose bands that are not permanently attached to any appliance.

(o} Inserting or removing dressings from alveofar sockets i post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomfortable due to the
ioss of a dressing from an alveclar socket in a diagnosed case of post-operative osteitis;

{p} Making impressions for study casts which are being made for the purpose of fabricating orthodontic retainers;

{q) Taking of impressions for and delivery of at-home bleaching trays.

{1} Taking impressions for passive appliance, occlusal guards, space maintainers and protective mouth guards;

{2} The foliowing remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received formal training and who performs
the tasks under indirect supervision:

{a) Making impressions for study casts which are not being made for the purpose of fabricating any intra-oral appliances,
restorations or orthodontic appliances;

(b) Making impressions 1o be used for creating opposing models or the fabrication of bleaching stents and surgical stents to be
used for the purpose of providing palatal coverage as well as impressions used for fabrication of topical fluoride trays for home
application;

{c) Placing periodontal dressings;

{d) Removing periodontal or surgical dressings;

{e) Placing or removing rubber dams;

(N Placing or removing matrices;

{g) Applying cavity liners, vamishes or bases;

(h) Appiying topical fluorides which are approved by the American Dental Association or the Food and Drug Administration,
inciuding the use of fluoride varnishes; and

(1) Positioning and exposing dental and carpal radiographic film and sensors;

(i) Applying sealants;

{k) Placing or removing prescribed pre-treatment separators;

(1) Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device; and

{(m) Removing sutures,

(3) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under direct supervision:

(a) Applying tepical anesthetics and anti-inflammatory agents which are not applied by agrosol or jet spray and;

{b) Changing of bleach pellets in the internal bleaching process of non-vital, endodontically treated teeth after the placement of
a rubber dam. A dental assistant may not make initial access preparation.

(4) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under indirect supervision:

{a) Retraction of iips, cheeks and tongue;

(b) Irrigation and evacuation of debris not to include endodontic irrigation;

(c) Placement and removal of cofton rolls; and

{d) Taking and recording a patient’s biood pressure, pulse rate, respiration rate, case history and oral temperature,

(e) Removing excess cement from orthodontic appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments only.

(53 The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under general supervision:

{a) Instructing patients in oral hygiene care and supervising oral hygiene care.

{b} Provide educational programs, faculty or staff programs. and other educational services which do not involve diagnosis or

P103



treatment of dental conditions,
(c) Fabricating temporary crowns or bridges in a laboratory.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.024(3) FS. Law Implemented 466.024 FS. History-New 1-18-89, Amended 11-16-89. 3-25-91 9-5-9]. 2-/-
93, Formerly 21G-16.005, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F5-16.005, Amended 1-9-93, 9-27-95, 6-12-97, Formerly 390-16.005, Amended 1-8-01,
4-22-03, 7-13-05. 3-24-08.

64B5-16.006 Remediable Tasks Delegable to a Dentai Hygienist,

(1) The following remediabie tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received formal training and who performs
the tasks under direct supervision;

() Fabricating temporary crowns ot bridges intra-orally which shall not include any adjustment of occlusion to the appliance or
existing dentition;

(b} Selecting and pre-sizing orthodentic bands, including the selection of the proper size band for a tooth to be banded which
does not include or involve any adapting, contouring, trimming or cementing or otherwise modifving the band material such that it
would constitute fitting the band:

(¢} Selecting and pre-sizing archwires prescribed by the patient’s dentist so long as the dentist makes all final adjustments to
bend, arch form determination, and symmetry prior to final placement;

(d) Selecting prescribed extra-oral appliances by pre-selection or pre-measurement which does not include final fit adiustment;

(e) Preparing a tooth surface by applying conditioning agents for orthodontic appliances by conditioning or placing of sealant
materials which does not include placing brackets;

(f) Packing and removing retraction cord, so long as it does not contain vasoactive chemicals and is used solely for restorative
dental procedures;

{2) Removing and re-cementing properly contoured and fitting loose bands that are not permanently attached to any appliance;

(h) Inserting or removing dressings from alveolar sockets in post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomfortable due to the
lfoss of a dreqsmﬁ from an alveolar socket in diagnosed cases of post- opela{we osteitis; and
ply b achmu solition, activate hght source, monitor and remove in-office bleaching materials.

(2) The fol]owxzw remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures in
pre-licensure education or ‘who has received formal training and who performs the tasks under indirect supervision:

{a) Placing or removing rubber dams;

{b) Placing or removing matrices;

{c) Applying cavity liners, varnishes or bases;

(d) Making impressions for study casts which are not being made for the purpose of fabricating any intra-oral appliances,
restorations or orthodontic appliances;

(e} Making impressions to be used for creating opposing models or the fabrication of bleaching stents and surgical stents to be
used for the purpose of providing palatal coverage as well as impressions used for fabrication of topical fluoride trays for home
application;

(f) Placing subgingival resorbable chlorhexidine, doxycyeline hyclate, or minocycline hydrochioride,

{g) Taking of impressions for and delivery of at-home bleaching trays;

th) Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device;

(i) Taking impressions for passive appliances, occlusal guards, space maintainers and protective mouth guards;

(J) Marginating restorations with finishing burs, green stones, and/or burlew wheels with slow-speed rotary instruments which
are not for the purpose of changing existing contours or occlusion;

{k) Cementing temporary crowns and bridges with temporary cement;

(1) Monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making adjustments only during this administration and turning it off
at the completion of the dental procedure; and

(m) Montior and remove in-office bleaching materials, after placement of bleach by dentist.

{3) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures in
pre-licensure education or who has received formal training as defined by Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., and who performs the tasks
under general supervision:

(a) Polishing restorations which is not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and only with the following
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nstruments used with appropriate polishing materials — burnishers, slow-speed hand pieces, rubber cups, and bristie brushes:

{b) Polishing clinical crowns of the teeth which is not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the teeth and only with
the following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — slow-speed hand pieces, bristle brushes, rubber cups, porie
pelishers and air-abrasive polishers;

{c) Applying of topical fluorides which are approved by the American Dental Association or the Food and Drug Administration,
including the use of fluoride varnishes;

(d) Removing excess cement from dental restorations and appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments or ultrasonic
scalers only;

{e) Placing periodontal or surgical dressings;

(f) Removing periodoental or surgical dressings;

(g) Removing suiures;

(h) Using appropriate implements to preassess and chart suspected findings of the oral cavity;

(Y Applying sealants;

(j) Placing or removing prescribed pre-treatment separaiors; and

(k) Insert and/or perform minor adjustments to sports mouth guards and custom fluoride trays.

(4) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures in
pre-licensure education or on-the-job training and who performs the tasks under general supervision:

(a) Fabricating temporary crowns and bridges in a laborasory;

(b) Applying topical anestheiics and anti-inflammatory agents which are not applied by aerosol or jet spray;

(¢) Taking or recording patients’ biood pressure rate, pulse rate, respiration rate, case history and oral temperature;

(d} Retracting lips, cheeks and tongue;

(e) hrigating and evacuating debris not to include endodontic irrigation;

(f) Placing and removing cotton roils;

(g) Placing or removing temporary restorations with non-mechanical hand instruments only; and

(k) Obtaning bacteriological cytological {plaque) specimens, which do not involve cutting of the fissue and which do not
include taking endodontic cultures, to be examined under a microscope for educational purposes.

(3) The following remediable task may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the task under direct supervision: Changing of bleach peliets in the internal bleaching process of non-vital, endodontically
treated teeth after the placement of a rubber dam. A dental hygienist may not make initial access preparations.

(6) Administration of Local Anesthesia:

(a} Notwithstanding Section 466.003(11), F.S., the administration of local anesthesia becomes a remediable and delegable task
if a Florida Hicensed dental hygienist has been appropriately certified by the Board and has received a certificate from the Florida
Department of Health authorizing the dental hygienist to administer local anesthesia in compliance with and pursuant to Section
466.017(5), F.8. Upon the issuance of the certificate, the hygienist will be referred to as a Certified Registered' Dental Hygienist.

(b) Under direct supervision, a CRDH may administer Jocal anesthesia in accordance with the following:

L. The patient must be eighteen years of age or older;

2. The patient must not be sedated; and

3. The CRDH may administer intraoral biock and soft tissue infiltration anesthesia.

(¢) A Registered Dental Hygienist may apply for certification as a Certified Registered Dental Hygienist after completion of the
required education mandated by Section 466.017(5), F.S. and in accordance with Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 4060044, 466.017(6), 466,023, 466,024 FS. Law Implemented 466.01776), 466,023, 466,024 FS. Historv-New |-]8-89,
Amended 11-16-89, 3-25-90, 9-5-9] 2-1-93. Formerty 21G-10.006, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F3-16.006, Amended 1-9-95, 6-12-97
Formerly 590-16.006, Admended 1-25-98. 9-9-98, 3-25-99, 42400, 92701, 7-13-05, 2-14-06, 3-24-08. 7.20-09, 10-17-10. §-5-712.

64B5-16.007 Levels of Supervision for Dental Hygienists,
By virtue of their training and licensure, dental hygicnists are authorized to perform the following remediable tasks without
additional training as defined in Chapter 64B5-16, F.A.C.. under the following levels of supervision:

(1) Direct supervision: Gingival cureitage.

{2y Indirect supervision:
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{a} Root planing,.

{b) Removal of excess remaining bonding adhesive or cement following orthodontic appliance removal with slow-speed rotary
instrument, hand instrument or uftrasonic scalers.

{(3) General Supervision:

{a) Removing calculus deposits, accretions and stains from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from the tooth surfaces within the
gingival sulcus (prophylaxis);

{b) Placing and exposing dental and carpal radiographic film and sensors; and

{4) Without Supervision: Provide educational programs, faculty or staff training programs, authorized fluoride rinse programs,
apply fluoride varnishes, instruct patients in oral hygiene care and supervising patient oral hygiene care and other services which do
not involve diagnosis or freatment of dental conditions.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.023. 466.624 FS. Law Implemented 466023, 466.024{3) FS. History-New [-18-89, Formerly 21G-16.007,
61F5-16.007. Amended 9-27-95, 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.007. Amended 1-8-01, 6-11-07, 7-20-09.

64B5-16.0075 Dental Charting by Dental Hygienists.

(1) Pursuant to Section 460.0235, F.S., a Florida licensed dental hygienist is permitted to, without supervision and within the
lawful scope of their duties as authorized by law, perform dentai charting of hard and soft tissues in public and private educational
institutions of the state and Federal Government, nursing homes, assisted lving and fong-term care facilities, community health
centers, county health departments, mobile dental or health units, health access sertings as defined in Section 466.003, F.S., and
epidemiotogical surveys for public health. A Florida licensed dental hygienist is permitted to perform dental charting on a volunteer
basis at health fairs.

{2) Bach person who receives a dental charting, or the parent or legal guardian of the person receiving dental charting, by a
dental hygienist pursuant to Section 466.0235, F.S., and this rule shall receive a dental charting form that contains the following
information and the patient shall acknowledge the following information before receiving the dental charting procedure:

(a) The patient’s name and the names of the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor.

(b) The patient’s address or the address of the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor.

(c) The date of the dental charting. :

(d) The name, license number, and place of employment of the dental hygienist performing the dental charting.

(e) The location where the dental charting is being performed. .

{) A statement that the purpose of dental charting is to collect data for use by a dentist at a prompt subsequent examination,

g} A statement that the dental charting performed is not a substitute for a comprehensive dental examination.

{h} A statement emphasizing that diagnosis of caries, soft tissue disease, oral cancer, temporo-mandibular joint disease (TMJ),
and dentofacial malocclusions can only be completed by a dentist in the context of delivering a comprehensive dental examination,

(i) A statement emphasizing the inherent limitations of dental charting and encouraging the patient to receive a complete
examination by a dentist in rendering a professional diagnosis of the patient’s overall health needs.

(j) Before performing periodontal probing as part of a dental charting, dental hygienists shall include a written statement on the
dental charting form that the patient has received medical clearance from a physician or dentist,

{3) Denial hygienists are not permitted to receive direct reimbursement for dental charting performed under Section 466.0235,
FF.S., and this rule by Medicaid, heaith insurers, health maintenance organizations, prepaid dentai plans, or other third-party payors
bevond what is otherwise allowable by law.

{4} All referrals made in conjunction with the provision of dental charting services under Section 466.0235, F.S., and this rule
shail be in strict conformance with federal and state patient referral, anti-kickback, and patient brokering laws.

(5) A dental hygiemist performing dental charting without supervision shall not be deemed to have created either a patient of
record or a medical record.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4). 466.0235 FS. Low Implemented 46601235 FS. Historv—New [2-26-06. Amended 6-11-07, 7-1-12.
64B5-10,008 Emergency Remediable Tasks.
In an emergency in which a dentist of record is unable to be physically present to pre-examine the patient, and the patient witl be

seen by a dentist within 3 days, the following remediable tasks may be performed by both dental assistanis and dental hygienists
who hold current CPR certification from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or an equivalent CPR fraining

P106



agency and who are trained pursuant to Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., without pre-examination by a dentist:

(1} Removing and re-cementing properly contoured and fitting Joose bands that are not permanently attached to any appliance;

(2} Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device;

(3) Inserting or removing dressings from aiveolar sockets in post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomfortable due to the
loss of a dressing from an alveolar socket in diagnosed cases of post-operative osteitis;

(4) Placing or removing periodontal dressings when the patient is uncomfortable due to the loss of a periodontal pack during the
prescribed period of treatment;

(5) Cementing temporary crowns or bridges using temporary cement when the patient is uncomfortable due io the loss of a
temporary crown ot bridge; and

(6} Placing temporary medicinal restorative material when the patient is uncomfortable due to the loss of a temporary medicinal
restoration.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4). 466.023. 466.024 FS. Law Implemented 466.023, 466.024 FS Hisiory-New [-18-89. Formerly 21G-16.008,
61 F5-16.008, Amended 6-12-97, Formerly 390-16.008, Amended 8-25-98.

64B5-16.009 Display of Certificates.
The supervising licensee is responsibie for ensuring that any dental assistant or dental hygienist who performs remediable tasks as a
result of formal training shalf display the certificate received at the conclusion of the training in a conspicuous public place where
the tasks are performed. The supervising licensee shall aiso keep a copy of each such certificate on file in the dentat office at which
the dental assistant or dental hygienist performs remediable tasks.

Rulemaking Authority 46600474} FS. Law Implemented 466.024(3) FS. History-New [1-18-89, Formerly 21G-16.009, 61F5-16.009, Amended §-8-
94, Formerfy 590-16.000.

64B5-16.010 Prior Certification and Training.
Dental hygienists and dental assistants trained prior to April 30, 1980, who were at that time authorized to perform tasks set forth by
Board Ruie may continue to perform those tasks without the formal fraining required by Rule Chapter 64B35-16, F.A.C.

Rulemating Authority 466.004¢4), 466.024¢3) FS, Lew Implemented 466.023(4), 466.024(3) FS. Historv—New 4:30-80, Formerly 21G-16.04,
Amended 12-31-86. Formerly 21G-16.004. Amended 1-18-89, Formerly 21 G-16.010, 61 F5-16.010, 390-16.010.
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CHAPTER 64B5-17
DENTAL PRACTICE AND PRINCIPLES

64B5-17.001  Required Availability of Dental Records Upon Relocation or Termination of Practice, ar Death of Practitioner
64B5-17.0011 Change of Address

64B35-17.002  Written Dental Records; Minimum Content; Retention

64B5-17.003  Patient Referrals

64B5-17.004  Emergency Care

64B5-17.0045 Standards for the Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain
64B5-17.065  Identification of Removabie Prosthetic Devices

64B5-17.006  Prescription Forms

6435-17.009  Patient Records; Copying Charges; Timely Release

64B5-17.010  Unlicensed Practice of Dentistry

64B5-17.0105 Ownership of Dental Instruments by a Dental Hygienist
64B3-17.011  Financial Responsibility

64B3-17.012  Use of Sargenti Material

64B5-17.013  Proprietorship by Nondentists

6485-17.014  Removal of Amalgam Fillings

64B5-17.015  Office Safety Requirement

64B5-17.001 Required Availability of Dental Records Upon Relocation or Termination of Practice, or Death of
Practitioner.

(1) Patient records are confidential and may not be released uniess authorized by the patient in writing. This confidentiality
prohibits review of the records by a dentist other than the dentist of record or by other health care providers unless they are actually
involved in care or treatment of the patient. Maintenance of patient records by a deceased dentist’s estate, authorized agent of the
cstate or by a successor-owner dentist of a practice does not authorize review of patient records. However, limited review for the .
purpose of obtaining a patient’s name, address and last date of treatiment in order to comply with this rule is permitted.

{2} Within 90 days of a dentist’s death, the dentist’s estate or agent shall place ail patient records of the deceased dentist in the
care of another Florida licensed dentist,

() The patient records of the deceased dentist shall be maintained and made available to patients for a period of 4 years.

(b) Within 90 days of a dentist’s death the dentist’s estate or agent shall cause a notice to be published in the newspaper of
greatest general circulation in the county where the dentist practiced which advises patients of the dentist’s death. The notice shall
advise patients that they may obtain copies of their dental records and specify the name, address and telephone number of the person
from whom the copies of records may be obtained. The notice shall appear at least once a week for four consecutive weeks.

{¢) The subsequent Florida licensed dentist shall cause to be published a similar notice whenever the patient records of the
deceased dentist are subsequently transferred fo another licensed Florida dentist if such transfer is within 4 vears of the dentist’s
death,

(d) During the four year retention period required by this rule each licensed Florida dentist who is in possession of the deceased
dentist’s patient records shall insure that the original patient records, or in cases where the patient has requested that the records be
released or transferred, coptes thereof remain in his possession.

(3) Dental records of a practitioner who is ferminating or relocating his practice shall be retained by the dentist or his authorized
agent, which may be a successor-owner dentist, and made available to patients for 4 years from the date the patient was Jast
examined or treated.

{(4) Within one month of a dentist’s termination of practice or relocation of practice outside the focal telephone directory service
area of his or her current practice, a notice shall be published in the newspaper of greatest general circulation in the Z:ounty where the
dentist practiced which advises patients of the dentist’s termination of practice or relocation. The notice shall advise patients that
they may obtain copies of their dental records and specify the name, address and telephone number of the person from whom copies
of records may be obtained. The notice shall appear at least once a week for 4 consecutive weeks.

(5) If a dentist relocates his practice but mainiains a listing in the same local telephone directory used in his previous practice
location, notice of relocaticn shall be clearly posted at his practice location for one month prior to relocation. The notice shail state
the date of relocation and the address to which the office is being relocated.
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(6) Records shall be made available at a location within the county where the dentist practices or practiced and shall be made
available at reasonable times.

Rulemalking Authority 456,058, 466.004{3) FS. Law Implemented 436,058 FS. History-New 10-26-80, Formerly 21 G-17.01, Amended 7-16-90, 10-
28-91, 4-23-90. Formerly 21G-17.001, 61 F5-17.001. 59017001

64B5-17.0011 Change of Address.
All licensees are required to notify the Board in writing within 10 days of any change in their address.

Rulemaking Authority 456035, 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 436,035, 466013 FS§. History-New 3-27-90 Formerly 2{G-17.0001 61F5-
170001, 590170011,

64135-17.002 Written Dental Records; Minimum Content; Retention.

(1) For the purpose of implementing the provisions of subsection 466.028(1)(m), F.S., a dentist shall maintain written records
on each patient which written records shall contain, at a minimum, the following information about the patient:

{a) Appropriate medical history;

(b} Results of clinical examination and tests conducted, including the identification, or lack thereof, of any oral pathology or
diseases;

(o) Any radiographs used for the diagnosis or treatment of the patient;

{d) Treatmeni plan proposed by the dentist; and

{e) Treatment randered to the patient.

{f) Whenever patient records are released or transferred, the dentist releasing or transferring the records shall maintain ¢ither the
original records or copies thereof and a notation shali be made in the retained records indicating to whom the records were released
or transferred. However, whenever patient records are released or fransferred directly to another Florida ficensed dentist, it is
sufficient for the releasing or transferring dentist to maintain a listing of each patient whose records have been so released or
transferred which listing also includes the dentist to whom such records were released or transferred. Such listing shall be
maintained for a period of 4 years.

(2) In order that the patients may have meaningful access to their dental records pursuant to subsections 466.028(1 }(m) and (o},
F.S., a dentist shall maintain the written dental record of a patient for a period of at least four (4) years from the date the patient was
last examined or treated by the dentist. However, upon the death-of the dentist, the retention provisions of Rule 64B5-17.601,
¥.A.C, are controlling,

{3) Each licensed dentist in Florida shall retain a copy of each entry in his or her patient appointment book or such other log,
calendar, book, file or computer data, used in lieu of an appointment book for a period of no less than 4 years from the date of each
entry thereon,

{4) The records required above and any other patient records shall be properly annotated to identify the dentist of record. The
dentist of record is the dentist who:

(a} 1s noted in the patient record as the dentist of record: or

{(b) Provides a treatment or service and is noted in the patient record as the dentist of record for that treatment or service; or

(¢) If there has been more than one provider of treatment, is the dentist who places the final restoration, does the surgical
procedure, makes the diagnosis or finishes the service or procedure in question; or

(d) If there has been more than one provider of treatment and neither paragraph {a) not {b} can be determined with reasonable
certainty, is the owner dentist of the practice in which the dental patient was seen or treated.

(5) Ali dental records required by this rule and any additional records maintained in the course of practicing dentistry shall be
the property of the owner dentist of the dental practice in which the dental patient is seen or treated and the owner dentist shall be
ultimately responsible for all record keeping requirements set forth by statute or rule,

(a) The owner dentist is responsible for the records of patients seen or treated by any employee, associate or visiting dentists.

{b) Muitiple owners will be heid equally responsible for the records of patients seen or treated within the dental practice of that
dental group.

(¢} An owner dentist is not respensible for the records of an independent dentist who is merely leasing or renting space or
services for the operation of a separate dental practice.

(6) Patient records may be kept in an electronic data format, provided that the dentist maintains a back-up copy of information
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stored in the data processing system using disk, tape or other efecironic back-up system and that said back-up is updated on a regular
basis, at jeast weckly, to assure that data is not lost due to system failure, Any electronic data system must be capable of producing a
hard copy on demand.

(7 Limited Screenings, Examinations and Treatments: The Board of Dentistry encourages the provision of pro-bono dental
screenings services through organized events such as Dental Health Screenings and Give Kids a Smile Program. A strict
interpretation of this rule would preclude such efforts to the detriment of the public. Therefore, the Board deems that any records
penerated as a resuit of such limited, one-time pro-bono dental screenings, examinations, or freatments through organized events,
should be consistent with the nature and scope of the services rendered, should be provided to the recipient or guardian and will not
result in the dentist performing such services becoming the dentist of record. The minimum content and record retention set forth in
subsection (1) above shall not be required. When the the dentist performs such examinations or treatmenis each recipients or
guardian shall be informed in writing of the following:

(a) The limitation of the sereening to one-time dental examination and treatment that can reasonably be performed on the same
day of screening. In addition, such examinations or ireatments would not reasonably require follow-up treatment;

{b) The results of the screening examination or treatments; and

{c} That the screening is not representative of or a substitute for a comprehensive dental exam.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS, Law Implemenied 456,058, 466.028(1 }{m). (o) FS. History-New | f)~5’—85, Formerly 21G-17.02, Amended 10-
28-91, Formerly 21 CG-17.002, Amended 11-22-93, Formerly 61F5-17.002, 590-17.002, Amended 11-15-99, 4-22.03, 3-14-13.

64B5-17.003 Patient Referrals,

(1} Split-fee arrangements relating to the referral of patients by a client to another health care practice are prohibited.

(2} As used herein, the tenm “health care practice” shall mean a lawful and distinct business entity owned and operated under
one name by an individual or group of duly licensed health care providers with facilities at one or more locations such as a solo
dental practice, group practice, or professional service corporation, which offers health care services to the public within the limits of
the professional Iicenses held by the owners, employees and agents of the business.

(3) Referral of a patient te another dentist in the same health care practice, so long as any remuneration shared by the dentists is
not based upon the number of referrals within the practice and the referral of a patient to another dentist within the practice is in the
best interest of the patient, is not a split-fee arrangement.

(4) Fee arrangemenis between dentists in the same health care practice which are based upon productivity or shared net profits
are not split-fee arrangements.

(3) Referral of a patient to another heaith care practice in which the referring dentist or any owner, employee or agent of the
referring practice or immediate family member thereof has a financial interest, whether direct, indirect, active or passive in nature, is
permitted only if the referral is in the best interest of the patient and the patient first consents to the arrangement by signing a written
notification farm from the referral dentist which informs the patient of (a) the existence of a financial interest and (b) the patient’s
right to request another referral or to independently seek the services recommended. Under no circumstances shall the dentist’s
financial interest be contingent upon or otherwise related to any referral quota or similar requirement. However, in emergency
circumstances where it is in the patient’s best interest that such a referral be made without first seeing the patient, the referring
dentist shall oraily provide the notification required herein. In such emergency situations, the referring dentist shall also make a
notation in the patient’s record at the time of referral that disclosure was made orally due to emergency circumstances, Written
disclosure as required in paragraph 5 of this rule shall be supplied to the patient at the office to which the emergency patient was
referred.

{6) Notification forms signed by patients in accordance with subsection (5) above shall be maintained in the patient’s record.

{7) The written notification required by this rule shali be made on the appropriate form set forth in Rule 64B3-1.021, F.A.C.

Rulemaking duthority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456,052, 466.028(1)(rn) FS. Hisiorv-New 8-30-90, Formerly 2/ G-17.003. §1F5-17.003,
S90-17.003, Amended 8-79-97.
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64B5-17.004 Emergency Care.
It is the responsibility of every dentist practicing in this State 1o provide, either personally, through another licensed dentist, or
through a reciprocal agreement with another agency, reasonable twenty-four {24} hour emergency services for all patients under his
continuging care.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemenicd 466.028(1)(wj. fvi FS. History-New 4-26-87. Formerly 21G-17.004, 61F5-17.004, 590
17.004.

64B5-17.0045 Standards for the Use of Controlied Substances for Treatment of Pain.

{1) The Board of Dentistry recognizes that principles of quality medical practice dictate that the people of the State of Florida
have access to appropriate and effective pain relief. All dentists should become knowledgeable about effective methods of pain
treatment as well as statutory requirements for prescribing controlled substances.

{2) The Board recognizes that controlied substances, including opioid analgesics, may be essential in the treatment of acute pain
due to a dental procedure.

{3) The Board of Dentistry is obligated under the laws of the State of Fiorida to protect the public health and safety. The Board
recognizes that inappropriate prescribing of contrelled substances, including opioid analgesics, may lead to drug diversion and abuse
by individuals who seek them for other than legitimate medical use.

(4) Dentists should be diligent in preventing the diversion of drugs for illegitimate purposes. This includes keeping prescription
blanks i a safe place; not signing prescription blanks in advance; writing out the actual amount prescribed in addition to using a
number to discourage alterations; and assisting pharmacists who may telephone to verify information about a prescription order.

{5) The Board will consider prescribing, ordering, administering, or dispensing controlled substances for pain to be for a
legitimate medical purpose if based on sound clinical grounds. The dental procedure or justification for such prescribing must be
clearly documented in the patient’s record. All such prescribing must be in compliance with applicable state and federal law.

Rulemaking Awtharity 366,004 FS. Law Implemented 466.017, 466.028(1){p} FS. History-New 8-12-02.

64B5-17.005 Identification of Removable Prosthetic Devices.

(1) The Board takes official notice of the large number of elderly dental patients residing in Florida and that many of them are
confined fo hespitals, nursing homes, and other heaith care institutions. The Board also recognizes the continuing difficulty in
providing ongoing dental care to these individuals which is created as a result of the inadvertent misplacing or switching of their
removable dental prosthetic devices, which can enhance the transmission of communicable diseases. Accordingly, in an effort to
enhance the likelihood that these individuals will receive minimally competent dental treatment consistent with the requirements of
Section 466.028(1)(m) and (y), F.S., the Board establishes an identification standard for removable prosthetic devices.

(2) Every licensed dentist in this State making or directing to be made a removable prosthetic device, bridge, appliance or other
structure to be used and worn as a substitute for natural teeth and/or supporting structure shall offer to the patient for whom the
prosthesis is intended the opportunity to have such prosthesis marked at the time of fabrication. The location and method used for
marking the prosthesis shall be determined by the dentist and this marking shail be permanent, legible, and cosmetically acceptable
and shall include the patient’s name.

(3} If the dentist determines that identification is not practicable or clinically safe, the offer to mark the prosthesis need not be
made.

(4} Any removable dental prosthesis fabricated prior to the effective date of this rule, shail be subject to the provisions of
subsection (2) during a laboratory relining or rebasing of the prosthesis,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) S, Lew Implemented 466.028(1)x) I'S. History-New 4-26-87. Amended 6-20-88, Formerly 21G-17.005, 61F5-
[17.005, 590-17.1)5.

G4B5-17.006 Prescripticn Forms.

(1) Approved prescription forms must contain all information necessary for completion of the assigned work and must include
at a minimum:

(a) Title — “Laboratory Procedure Prescription;”

{b) Name, address and ficense number of the registered dental laboratory;

111



(¢) Name, address and license number of the Flarida licensed dentist who owns the prescription form and is authorizing the
procedure;

(d) Patient’s name or number;

(e} Date sent to lab;

(f) Signature of the licensed dentist, which may be an electronic signature;

() Sufficient descriptive information to clearly identify each separate and individual piece of work to be performed by the
dental laboratory; and

(I} Specification of materials to be contained in each work product.

(2) Copies of prescription forms must be maintained, either on paper or stored electronically in an encrypted data base, in the
prescribing dentist’s office for a period of four (4} years following the date the prescription was issued. The original prescription
shall be retained in a file by the dental laboratory for a period of four (4) years .

(3} A registered dental laboratory may perform work for another registered dental laboratory if that work is performed pursuant
to & written authorization form containing alt information necessary for completion of the assigned work and must include at a
minimun;

{a} Title ~ “L.aboratory Procedure Authorization;”

{b) Namme, address and license number of the originating registered dental laboratory;

(cy Name, address and license number of the registered dental laboratory performing the work,

(d) Evidence that the originating laboratory has obtained a valid prescription which shall include the name, address and ticense
number of the ficensed dentist who wrote the original prescription authorizing the procedure.

(e) Sufficient descriptive information ta clearly identify each separate and individual piece of work to be performed by the
dental laboratory; and

(1) Specification of materiais to be contained in each work product.

Rulemaking Authority 466.021 FS. Law Implemented 466.021 FS. History-New 12-21-99, Amended 3-23-06. 10-9-06, 5-28-09.

64B5-17.009 Patient Records; Copying Charges; Timely Release,

(1) A dentist who makes an examination of, or administers treatment to any person, shail upon the request of such person or his
legal representative furnish copies of all reports or records made of such examination or treatment, including x-rays. The furnishing
of copies shall not be conditi(}ned'upon payment of an unpaid or disputed fee for services rendered.

{2} A dentist may charge a fee for copying reports or records not to exceed the cost per page charged by the Clerk of the County
Court where the dentist practices, The fee for copies of x-rays shall not exceed actual cost of duplication. Payment of copying fees
may be required upon delivery of the copies.

(3) A dentist shall comply with a patient’s written request for copies of records and reports in a timely manmer, with due regard
for the patienC’s health needs. In the absence of circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, timely shall mean less than 30
days.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456,061 FS. History-New 4-26-87, Amended 6-20-89, Formerly 21G-17.009. 61F5-
I7.009, 590-17.009, Amended 1-23-01.

64B5-17.010 Unlicensed Practice of Dentistry.
#or the purposes of interpreting Sections 466.003(3), 466.026( 1)) and 466.028(1)g)(bb), F.5., the Board shall not consider it to he
the unlicensed practice of dentistry for an unlicensed person to furnish, supply, construct or reproduce an appliance to be worn in the
human mouth or to verify the patient’s shade-selection outside the dentist’s direct supervision for fixed partiai prosthesis if:

(1) The appliance is a removable mouth protection device that is inserted and removed by the user without adjustment by a
licensed dentist (e.g. athletic mouth guards);

(2} A prescription or dentist’s order is not required in order to obtain the appliance;

(3) The appliance does not adjust or otherwise affect the natural features of the face or mouth or affect any appliance placed in
the mouth by a licensed dentist;

(4} The appliance or device does not have the potential to cause significant or irreparable damage to the dentition and/or oral
tissue:

(5) The request for the shade verification s accompanted by a prescription form or work order written by a lcensed dentist to
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meet the requirements of Section 466.021, .5,

{6) The dentist has previously completed the initial shade selection;

(7) The shade verification site is approved by the dentist and meets all requirements of Sections 466.028(1)u), 466.031(1} and
466.032(1), F.8,;

(8) During shade verification, no appliances or prosthetic devices are to be placed, removed or sealed in the oral cavity at the
site except by a licensed dentist on a patient of record in accordance with the requirements of Sections 466.024(5) and
466.028(H(im), F.S;

(%) During shade verification, contact to the patient is limited to visual contact only;

(10) During shade verification, soft or hard tissue shall not be manipuiated;

(11} During shade verification, the patient shall be instructed or: how to retract his or her own lip, and the shade tab shall only
be held in proximity, but without physical contact to the patient’s dentition; and

(12) During shade verification, photography shall be limited to the patient’s visible dentition during smile and the patient’s
dentition with the patient retracting their lips.

Rulemaking Authority 466.00474) FS. Law Implemented 466.026(1)(aj. 460.028(1)(g). (bb) FS. History—New 9-5-91, Formerly 21G-17.01, 61 F5-
F7.000, Amended 5-9-93, Formerly 580-17.010. Amended 106-8-03.

64B5-17.0105 Ownership of Dental Instruments by a Denial Hygienist,
For purposes of interpreting Section 466.0285, F.S., a Dental Hygienist is not precluded from owning dental instruments used by her
or him in the provision of dental hygiene services, so long as the final authority on the suitability and/or manner in which said
instruments will be used in the provision of dental hygienc services remains with the supervising dentist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Low Implemented 466.0285 FS. History-New 12-23-12.

64B5-17.011 Financial Responsibility.

As a preveguisite for licensure or license renewal every dentist is required to maintain medical malpractice insurance or provide
proof of financial responsibility as set forth herein

(1) Obtaining and maintaining professional liability coverage in an amount not less than $100,000 per claim, with a mmimum
annual aggregate of not less than $300,000, from an authorized insurer as defined under Section 624.09, F.S,, from a surplus lines
insurer as defined under Section 626.914(2), F.8., from a risk retention group as defined under Section 627.942, F.S., from the Joint
Underwriting Association established under Section 627.351(4), F.8., or through a plan of self-insurance as provided in Section
627357, F.S.

(2) Obtaining and maintaining ar unexpired, irrevocable letter of credit, established pursuant to Chapter 675, F.S., in an amount
not less than $100,000 per claim, with a minimum aggregate availability of credit of not less than $300,000. The letter of credit shall
be payable o the dentist as beneficiary upon presentment of a final judgment indicating liability and awarding damages to be paid
by the dentist or upon presentment of a settlement agreement signed by all parties to such agreement when such final judgment or
settlement is a result of a claim arising out of the rendering of, or the failure to render, dental care and services. Such letter of credit
shall be nonassignable and nontransferable. Such letter of credit shall be issued by any bank or savings association organized and
existing under the laws of the State of Florida or any bank or savings association organized under the laws of the United States that
has its principal place of business in this state or has a branch office which is authorized under the laws of this state or of the United
States to receive deposits in this state,

(3) Upon application to the Board, the following licensees shall be exempted from meeting the requirements of this rule:

{(a) Any dentist who practices exciusively as an officer, employee or agent of the federal government or of the State of Florida or
its agencies or subdivision. For purposes of this rule, an agent of the State of Florida, its agencies or its subdivisions is a person who
is eligible for coverage under any self insurance or insurance program authorized by the provisions of Section 768.28(14), F.8_, or
wheo i3 a volunteer under Section 110.501(1), F.S.

{b) Any dentist whose license has become inactive under Chapter 466, F.S., and who is not practicing in this state. Any dentist
applying for reactivation of a Hicense must show either that such licensee maintained tail insurance which provided liability coverage
for mcidents that occurred on or after October 1, 1993, or the initial date of licensure in this state, whichever is later, and incidents
that occurred before the date on which the license became inactive: or such licensee must submit an affidavit stating that such
licensee has no unsatisfied medical malpractice judgments ot settiements at the time of application for reactivation.
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(c) Any dentist licensed or certified under Chapter 466, F.S., who practices only in conjunction with his/her feaching duties at
an aceredited school or in its main teaching hospitals. Such dentist may engage in the practice of dentistry to the extent that such
practice is incidental to and a necessary part of duties in connection with the teaching position in the school.

{d) Any dengist holding an active license under Chapter 466, F.5., who is not practicing in this state. If such person initiates or
resumes practice in this state, he/she must notify the Board of such activity.

{e} Any dentist who can demonstrate to the Board that he/she has no malpractice exposure in the State of Florida.

(4) Every dentist complying with these requirements pursuant to either subsection {1} or (2) above shall ensure that such
insurance or proof covers liability for actions of any dental hygienist supervised by the dentist. Dental hygienists working
unsupervised pursuant to Section 466.0233, F.S., shall be required to maintain medical malpractice insurance or provide proof of
financial responsibility if' he or she is not a volunteer under Section 110.301(1), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 436.048 IS, History-New [1-22-93, Amended 3-31-94, Formerly 61F5-17.011, 590-
17.011, Amended 12-20-98, 3-19-02, 6-13-07.

64B5-17.012 Use of Sargenti Material,

The Board of Dentistry has determined pursuant 10 Sections 466.001 and 466.028{ (%) and (ff), F.8., that the use of “Sargenti
Cement” (e.g., N2, RC2B, or RC2ZW or essentialiy similar compounds) as an endodontic filling material or cement does not meet the
minimum standards of performance for competent dental practice in Florida. The Board specifically finds that “Sargenti Cement”
containing paraformaldehyde, when used as an endodontic filling material or cement, can cause severe and Irreversible damage to
patients. “Sargenti Cernent” that is improperly used or which escapes beyond the root canal is much maore likely to cause significant
damage than incorrectly perfoermed endodontic procedures using alternative filling materials or cements. Most licensed dentists in
Florida do not use “Sargenti Cement” in endodontic therapy. Therefore, the use of “Sargenti Cement” as an endodontic filling
material does not meet the existing minimum standard of performance for competent dental practice in Florida.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 466001, 466.004(4), 466.028(1)tx), (i} FS. History-New 5-29-96. Formerfy 59017012,

64B5-17.013 Proprictorship by Nondentists.

{1y No corporation, lay body, organization, or individual other than a licensed dentist or a professional corporation or limited
liability company composed of dentists shall engage in the practice of dentistry through the means of engaging the services, upon a
salary, commission, or other means of inducement, of any person licensed to practice dentistry in this state. The provisions of this
rule are not applicabie to dentists working under any of the settings described in Section 466.025, F.S.

(2) No dentist shall enter into any agreement with a nondentist which directs, controls, or interferes with the dentist’s clinical
judgment. or which controls the use of any dental equipment or material while such is being used for the provision of dental
services, Nor shall any dentist enter into an agreement which permits any entity which itself is not a licensed dentist to practice
dentistry, or to offer dentistry services to the public through the licensed dentist. The clinical judgment of the licensed dentist must
be exercised solely for the benefit of his/her patients, and shall be free from any compromising control, influences, obligations, or
lovalties. To direct, control, or interfere with a dentist’s clinical judgment shall not be construed to include those matters specifically
excluded by Section 466.0285(1)(c), F.S.

{3) For the purposes of this rule:

(a) The term “clinical” means having a significant refationship, whether real or potential, direct or indirect, to the aciual
rendering or outcome of dental care, the practice of dentistry or the quality of dental care being rendered to one or more patients,

(b} The term “control” shall mean to exercise authority or dominating influence over; having the authority or ability to regulaie,
direct, or dominate,

(4) A licensed dentist may enter into an agreement with a rondentist to receive “Practice Management Services.”” The term
“Practice Management Services” is defined to include consultation or other activities or services offered by someone other than a
Florida licensed dentist regarding one or more of the following types of products or services:

{a) The suitability of dental office space, furnishings and equipment:

{b} Staff necessary to operate a dental practice;

{c} Regulatory compliance expertise and services,

{d) Methods to increase productivity of a dental practice;

{e) Inventory and supplies required to operate a dental practice;
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{f) Information systems designed to produce financial and operational data on the dental practice;

{g) Marketing plans or advertising 1o increase productivity of a dental practice;

{(h) Site selection, relocation, design or physical layout of a dental practice; or

(i) Financial services such as accounting and bookkeeping, monitoring and payment of accounts receivable, payment of leases
and subleases, payroll or benefits administration, biiling and collection for patient services, payment of federal or state income tax,
personal property or intangible taxes, administration of interest expense or indebtedness incurred to finance the operation of the
dental practice, or maipractice insurance expenses.

(33 For purposes of implementing the provisions of Sections 4660285, 466.003 and Sections 466.028(1)g) and (z), F.5., no
dentist shalf enter into a practice management agreement with anyone other than a dentist or group of dentists which provides or
offers to provide, whether by contract or employment, with or without fee, any practice management service which attempts 1o
govern in any way, whether directly or indirectly, the clinical sufficiency, suitability, reliability or efficacy of a particular product,
service, process or activity as it relates to the defivery of dental care. Practice management agreements between dentists and anyone
other than a dentist or group of dentists shall not:

{a} Preclude or otherwise restrict, by penalty or operation, the dentist of record’s ability to exercise independent professional
judgment over all qualitative and quantitative aspects of the delivery of dental care;

(b} Allow anyone other than a dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice to supervise and control the selection,
compensation, terms, conditions, obligations or privileges of employment or retention of clinical personnel of the practice;

(c) Limit or define the scope of services offered by the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice;

(d) Limit the methods of payment accepted by the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice;

(e) Require the use of patient scheduling systems, marketing plans, promotion or advertising for the dentist of record or the
dentist of record’s practice which, in the judgment of the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice will have the effect of
discouraging new patients from coming into the practice or discouraging patients of record from seeing the dentist or postponing
future appointments or which gives scheduling preference to one individual, class or group of existing or new patients over another
individual, class or group of existing or new patients;

(f) Directly or indirectly condition the payment or the amount of the management fee on the referral of patients, and in addition,
the management fee shall reasonably relate to the fair market value of the services provided;

(g) Penalize the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice for reporting perceived violations of this section to, or
seeking clarification from, appropriate state or federai agencies, departments or boards.

(6) For purposes of implementing the provisions of Section 466.028(1)(h), F.S., no dentist shall enter into any agreement, or
series of agreements, with anyone other than a dentist or group of dentists, which violates the parameters established in subsection
(4} or {5) above and entering into such a contract constitutes a de facto employment of the dentist by 2 nondentist. Except as
permitted by Chapter 542, F 5., licensed dentists are prohibited from agreeing not to compete in the provision of dental services with
any entity which is not itself a licensed dentist, or which is not licensed or otherwise permitted by law to provide the services which
are the subject of the agreement not o compete.

("7} The provisions of this rule are not intended to impair the validity of any contract in existence as of the effective date of this
rule. Any existing contract renewed or extended after the effective date of this rule shall be subject to the provisions of this rule.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Lavwe Implemented 466.003, 466.028¢1){g), (=), 466.0285, 466.0283(1}ic} FS. History-New 10-16-96, Formerly
590-17.013, Amended 3-27-02.

64B5-17.014 Removal of Amalgam Fillings.

(1) The Board of Dentistry has determined that claims regarding amalgam fillings as a causal factor in systemic illnesses are not
supported by the Food and Drug Administration, the U.S. Public Health Service, or the National Institutes of Health. The Board
therefore deems that the removal of amalgam fillings for the purported purpese of curing or preventing systemic itlness constitutes
alternative or complementary health care. In compliance with Section 456.41, F.8., any dentist performing such alternative or
complementary health care treatment shall inform the patient of the following:

(a) The nature of the treatment and the benefits and risks associated with the treatment; and

(b) The dentist’s education, experience and credentiats regarding the complementary or alternative treatment option,

(2) Each dentist shall indicate on the patient’s record the method(s} by which the requirements of Section 456.41, .S, were
met.
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Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456,41, 466.028(1)11), twi, £x). (v} FS. History-New 10-21-02.

64B5-17.615 Office Safety Requirement.
As part of the minimum standard of care, every dental office location shall be required io have an automatic external defibrillator by

February 28, 2006, Any dentist practicing after February 28, 2006, without an automatic external defibrillator on site shall be
considered to be practicing below the minimum standard of care.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3)(c) FS. Law Implemenied 466.017(4), 466.028¢1iix) FS. History—New 5-31-04.
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CHAPTER 64B5-25
STERILIZATION AND DISINFECTION PROCEDURES

64B5.25.001  Purpose

64B5-25.002  Definitions .

64B5-25.003 Required Sterilization and Disinfection Procedures

64B5-25.004  Licensees Infected With Hepatitis B Virus

64B5-25.005  Monitoring of Licensees [nfected With the Hepatitis B Virus

64B5-25.006 Emergency Suspension of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus; Initiation of Complaints
64B5-25.007  Disposition of Biochazardous Waste

6485-25.008  Shipment to Dental Laboratories

64B5-25.601 Purpose.
The failure to follow proper sterilization and disinfection procedures in the practice of dentistry presents a significant danger to the
pubiic due to the potential for transmission of infectious diseases to patients during treatment. Failure to follow proper sterilization
and disinfection procedures as set forth in Rule 64B5-25.003, F.A.C., constitutes failure to provide reasenable sanitary facilities and
conditions in violation of Section 466.028(1)(u), F.S., and constitutes negligence in the practice of dentistry in violation of Section
466.028(1)(x}, F.S., as practice which is below the minimum standards of the practice of dentistry.

Specific Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(1)(uj. (x) FS. History-New 2-24-87, Formerly 21G-25.001. 61F5-25.001. 59(-
25.001.

64B5-25.002 Definitions. :

(1) “Sterilization” is defined to mean the process by which all forms of life within an environment are totally destroyed.

(2) “Disinfection™ is defined to mean the destruction or inhibition of most pathogenic bacteria while they are in their active
growth phase and the inactivation of some viruses. Disinfection allows the potential for viable pathogens to remain (e.g., Tubercle
baciili and some viruses, including A, B and C hepatitis virus, and nonA-nonB (NANB) viruses which may survive depending upon
the chermicals used).

(3) For purposes of this rule, the term “infected with the Hepatitis B virus” means that the licensee is sero-positive for the
Hepatitis B surface antigen and the Hepatitis B e-antigen.

Specific Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(1u). ix). 466.041 F8 History-New 2-24-87. Amended -7-92, 2-1-93, Formerly
21G-25.002, 61F3-25.002. 390-25.002, Amended 5-20-01,

6485-25.003 Reguired Sterilization and Disinfection Procedures,

(1) At least one of the following procedures must be used in order to provide proper sterilization:

(a) Steam under pressure {e.g., aufoclave),;

(b} Dry-heat;

{¢) Chemical vapor,

{d) Ethylene oxide;

(e) Disinfectant/sterilant, U.S, Environmental Protection Agency {EPA) approved disinfectant/sterilants or U.S. Food and Drug
Administration {FDA) approved sterilant may be used but are only appropriate for sterilization when used in appropriate dilution
and for the time periods set forth in the manufacturer’s recommendation and only on non-heat folerant instruments which do not
penetrate soft tissue.

(2)(a) Surgical and other instruments that normally penetrate soft tissue or bone, including, but not limited to, forceps, scalpels,
hone chisels, scalers, and surgical burs, must be sterilized after each use.

(b) Instruments that are not intended to penetrate oral soft tissue or bone, including, but not limited to, high speed dental
handpieces, contra-angles, prophy angles, amalgam condensers, plastic instruments, and burs, but that may come into contact with
oral tissues must be sterilized after each use.
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(¢) However, if heat, steam under pressure, or chemical vapor sterilization of an instrument is not technically feasible, due to its
size or composition, the instrument must undergo sterilization with a disinfectant/sterilant that destroys viruses and spores.
Disinfectants must be registered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a disinfectant/sterilant and must be used in
accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations and ihe recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

(d) High speed dental handpieces, slow speed dental sleeves and contra-angles and prophy angles must be sterilized after each
use using a heat or heat with pressure or heat witli chemical method. The method used must be capable of sterilization.

(e} Heat-sensitive instruments may require up to 10 hours of exposure in a liquid chemical agent registered by the U.S.
Environmiental Protection Agency (EPA) as a disinfectant/sterilant,

(3) Before sterilization, instruments must be cleaned to remove debris. Cleaning must be accomphshed by a thorough scrubbing
with soap or a detergent and water or by using a mechanical device, such as an ultrasonic cleaner following the manufacturer’s
recommendations. Metal or heat-stable dental instruments must be sterilized after each use by one of the procedures identified in
paragraphs (a)-(d) of subsection {{} above.

(4) Oral prosthetic appliances received from a dental laboratory must be washed with soap or a detergent and water, rinsed well,
appropriately disinfected and rinsed well again before the prosthetic appliance is placed in the patient’s mouth.

{5y At the completion of dental treatment, ait surfaces that may have become contaminated with blood, saliva or other bodily
fivids must be disinfected using a procedure recommended by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

{6) Disinfectant/sterilants appropriate for use under paragraph (e) of subsection (1} abave are only those disinfectant/sterilants
that are registered by the EPA, Those disinfectant/sterilants must be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations
for correct use as a disinfectant/sterilant.

{7) The sterilization and disinfection procedures required by this rule must be followed unless appropriate disposable items are
used. Disposable #tems may only be used on a one time basis and may never be used on more than one dental patient. The use of
disposable items is encouraged. .

(8) Surgical or examination gloves and surgical masks shall be worn by all dentists, dental hygienists, and denta! assistants
while performing or assisting in the performance of any intra-oral dental procedure on a patient in which contact with blood and/or
saliva is imminent. Surgical or examination gioves must be changed between patients. Hands shall be washed with soap and water
and dried immediately after removing and prior to replacing gloves. Gloves are never to be washed and reused. Surgical or
examination gloves that are punctured or torn must be removed and replaced immediately with new gloves following rewashing of
provider’s hands with soap and water. It is recommended that eye protection be worn by all dentists, dental hygienists, and dental
assistants while performing or assisting in the performance of any dental procedure on a patient in accordance with CDC
recommendations,

(9) The procedures and equipment used for sterilization must have their efficacy tested periodically. Adequacy of steam under
pressure (e.g. autoclave} or chemical vapor sterilization must have their efficacy verified by appropriate biological monitoring at
least once every 40 hours (2400 minutes) of use or at least once every thirty days, whichever comes first, Dry heai and ethylene
oxide sterilizers must have their efficacy verified with appropriate biological monitoring every 120 hours of operaticn at sterifization
parameters or every thirty days, whichever comes first. (Use time is determined by multiplying the number of cycles by the
individual cycle time.) Disinfectant/sterilants as set forth in paragraph (e) of subsection (1) above, when used instead of heat
sterilization procedures, must be used according to the manufacturer’s recommended dijution and exposure time and must be
changed according to the manufacturer’s recommendations.

{10) All OSHA category 2 employees must be provided with and must use the barrier techniques required by this rule when they
are in situations where they may he exposed to blood, saliva, or other bodily fluids from the patient during the treatment or
examination process.

Specific duthority 456.032, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 436.032. 36602801 j(w). (x), 466.041 FS. Historv-New 2-24-87. Amended 12-6-87.
[0-24-88. [-7-92, 4-3-93, Formerly 21G-25.003, Amended 11-22-93. Formerly 61F5-25.003, 590-25.003. Amended 10-31-01. 3-19-02.

64B5-258.004 Licensees Infected With Hepatitis B Virus.

(1) The Board of Dentistry is charged with the responsibility of protecting the public from dentists or dental hygienists who
present a danger to the public. The Board finds that licensees who are infected with the Hepatitis B virus present a grave danger to
the public by virtue of the communicability of this infectious disease in a clinical setting. Absent the identification of infected
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licensees and the implementation of proper barrier techniques, these practitioners represent an unacceptable risk te the health and
safety of their patients. Licensees bear the ultimate responsibility for the safety of their patients when the licensee or personnel
employed by the licensee represent a heaith risk through direct or indirect contact with patients. This rule assures the ability of
infected licensees to practice so ong as adequase safeguards are maintained.

(2) Any Florida licensed dentist or dental hygienist practicing in this State who is infected with the Hepatitis B virus is required
to notify the Board of such in writing no later than 14 days after learning of his or her infection with the Hepatitis B virus. Such
notice shall include a copy of the lab report showing the resuft of that dentist’s or dental hygienist’s Hepatitis B Surface Antigen
(HBSAG) test resuits. The Board will respond to the licensee in writing acknowledging the notification and will provide the licensee
with an outline of criteria to be complied with which are designed to limit the potential spread of the virus. The criteria are:

(a) All licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus must successfully complete, no fater than 6 months after receiving
acknowledgment of their status from the Board, an educational program approved by the Board which will aid in a better
understanding of the disease. In order fo receive Board approval, the program must be at least 6 clock hours in duration and the
program’s curriculum must include, but is not limited to:

1. History and nomenclature of Hepatitis B virus;

. Clinical relationship of Hepatitis B virus to other forms of viral hepatitis;

. Hepatitis B virus mode of transmission and replication,

. Blood curves in the clinical course of the Hepatitis B virus;

. Clinical and laboratory characteristics of Hepatitis B virus infections;

. The Hepatitis B virus infected licensee and his or her lifestyle;

. The Hepatitis B virus infected licensee as a practicing heaith care professional;
. Barrier techniques;

. The consequences of a break in barrier techniques;

10. Proper mechanisms for reporting breaks in barrier techniques;

11, Sterilization and disinfection procedures in the operatory,

12. Sterilization and disinfection procedures in the laboratory;

13. Insurance and legal problems of Hepatitis B virus infected licensees; and

14. Hepatitis B virus vaccine.

Additionally, to obtain Board approval the program must alse administer a written comprehensive examination covering each of the

topics listed above which must be satisfactorily completed by a participant before the participant will be certified as having
completed the program.
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(b} Infected licensees will be monitored on a random basis at least once a year by Board approved consultants for the purpose of
verifying compliance with sterilization, disinfection and barrier techniques. The monitors will verify compliance by utilizing the
criteria set forth in Rule 64B5-25.005, F.A.C, '

The random monitoring wili be performed in addition to any checks conducted by any county health department. The monitor’s
report shall be forwarded 1o the Board’s Executive Director within 14 days of the monitor’s visit.

{¢) Infected licensees shali notify the patient, the Board’s Executive Director and the local county health department at any time
a barrier technique has been or may have been broken. The patient must be notified immediately. Telephonic notification must be
accomplished within 24 hours and must be followed up by written notification no later than 72 hours after the barrier technique has
been broken. Notification by the infecied licensees shall include, at a minimum, the following information:

1. What barrier technique was broken;

2. Steps undertaken to notify affected patient; and

3. Steps undertaken to overcome the break in technique.

{(3) A break in barrier technique includes but is not limited to any puncture, tear or cut in the gloves at any time during which
contact with the patient is made or at any time a break, abrasion or cut of the skin occurs which could expose the patient to risk of
infection.

(4) Each and every notice or report required pursuant to this rule or as a result of the application of this rule shall be confidential
and exempt from the provisions of Section 119.07(1), F.8., as set forth in Section 466.641(3}, F.5.

Specific Authority 456.032, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456,032, 466 028(1)11). (vi, (), 466.031(3) FS. History-New 7-12-88 Amended Hi-
28-87 Formerfy 210G-25,004, Amended 8-12-93, Formerly 61 F3-25.004, 390-25.004
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64B5-25,005 Maonitoring of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus,

{17 Licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus will be monitored by Board approved consultants to verify compliance with
accepted barrier technigues as set forth in Rule 64B5-25.004, F.A.C.

{2) Beard-approved consultants acting as menitors shall be required to successfully compiete a Board approved educational
program for licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus as described in Rule 64B5-25.004, F.A.C., prior to monitoring any licensee
infected with the Hepatitis B virus.

(3) Monitors will perform their duties by making random, on-site visits at least once a year for a three (3) year period and at
least tri-annually thereafter, to any clinical dental setting where an identified Heensee infected with the Hepatitis B virus practices or
is employed. The inspection and evaluation of compliance shall include the following procedures, the resuits of which must be
reported to the Board’s Executive Director within 14 days of the monitor’s visit:

{a) Personal interviews with each member of the office staff regarding procedures which are followed in the clinical setting.

{b} Review of the dentist’s appointment book to document the number of days the dentist has practiced since notification of
being infected or the last evaluation, and the number of patients seen since that date.

(¢) The number of boxes of examination and surgical protective gloves on hand and the number purchased since notification of
infection or the last evaluation.

(d) The number and type of masks on hand and the number and type purchased since notification of infection or the Jast
evaluation.

(&) A determination of whether all personnel since notification of infection or any new personnel since the last evaluation have
been checked for surface antigens and surface antibodies and whether all personnel have been specifically educated regarding
appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier technique necessary {o prevent communication of the Hepatitis B virus.

(f) identification and description of training provided and procedures and protocols utilized.

(g) A determination of whether all office personael are familiar with procedures and reporting requirements which are necessary
if a break in barrier techniques occurs.

(hy A determination of whether heat sterilization is routinely used and whether the heat sterifization is monitored monthly.

(i) A determination of the type of cold disinfectant used, its spectrum, brand name and chemical composition.

(i) A list of instruments and materials which are routinely coid sterilized and a determination of the efficacy of the procedures.

(I} ldentification and documentation of any incidents of a break in barrier technigue or potential breaks which were averted,

(1) Documentation of the monitor’s conciusions regarding compliance which addresses the results of each of the procedures
outlined above.

{4) Should a monitor determine that unreportéd breaks in barrier techniques have occurred, or should the monitor determine that
appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier techniques have not been followed adeguately to protect the public, the monitor
shall so notify the Bouard’s Executive Director by telephone within 24 hours of the on-site inspection and provide written
confirmation within 72 hours.

Specific Authority 456.032, 4660.004¢4), FS. Law lmplemented 456,032, 466.028¢1)1t), (v}, (v}, 466.041{3) FS. History-New 7-12-88, Amended 10-
28-91, Formerly 21G-25.005. 61 F5-25.005, Amended 10-16-96. Formeriy 390-23.005.

64B5-25.006 Emergency Suspension of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus; Initiation of Complaints,

(1) Upon notification that any of the following events have occurred, the Board’s Executive Director shali request an emergency
Probable Cause Panel meeting. The panel shall determine whether the Secretary of the Department should be requested to institute
an emergency suspension of the licensee infected with the Hepatitis B virus pursuant to Section 120.60(8), F.S.

(a) A monitor’s report that the infected licensee has failed to report any break in barrier technique or that the infected licensee
has failed to foliow appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier techniques in a manner which adequately protects the public.

(b) Failure of the infected licensee to have successfully completed the Board approved educational program as required by Rule
64B5-25.004, FAC

(c) A confirmed report that the infected licensee has failed to report a break in barrier technicue as reguired by Rule 64135-
25.004, F.ALC. '

(d) A confirmed report that a licensee is infected with the Hepatitis B virus and has failed to report his or her status (o the Board
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as required by Rule 64B5-25.004, F.A.C.

{2) The Executive Director may consult with any monitor for technical assistance and may request confirmation of a report from
the Office of Investigative Services prior to requesting an emergency Probable Cause Panel Meeting or initiation of a complaint.

(3) The Executive Director shail initiate a complaint or confirm that a comptlaint has already been initiated when a report of a
break in barrier technigue or a report of violation of Rule Chapter 64B3-25, F.A.C., is received. The Board does not intend this
provision to discourage timely and accurate reporting or to imply that disciplinary action against a fcensee will routinely be initiated
by the Department. it is the Board’s intent to protect the public and the licensee by assuring that an adequate investigation is made of
any reported vielation so that an informed decision can be reached regarding the safety of the licensee’s continued practice.

Specific Authority 455.601, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemenied 455.601, 466.028(1i, {v). (v} FS. Historv-New 7-12-88. Amended 10-28-91.
Formerly 21G-25.006, 61F5-25.006. 530-25.006.

64B5-25.007 Disposition of Biohazardous Waste.

(1) Licensees who generate bichazardous waste as defined by Chapter 64E-16, F.A.C., shall comply with the requirements of
that chapter in order to maintain minimum sanitary conditions as required by Section 466.028(1 }v), F.S.

{2) Extracted teeth may be rendered non-bichazardous by disinfection so that they may be returned to the patient or the patient’s
legal guardian. Extracted teeth used for scientific, educational or testing purposes should first be cleaned of adherent patient material
by scrubbing with detergent and water or by using an ultrasonic cleaner. Teeth should then be stored, immersed in a fresh solution of
sodium hypochlorite (household bleach diluted 1:10 with tap water} or any liquid chemical germicide suitable for clinical specimen
fixation.

{3) To render an extracted tooth non-bichazardous it must be decontaminated in accordance with the guidelines set forth in Rule
04B5-25.003, F AC

(4) Extracted teeth and tissue fragments not required for microscopic examination shall be discarded as biohazardous waste or
as a sharp in accordance with Chapter 64E-16, F.A.C.

Spectfic Authority 456032, 4#66.004 FS. Low Implememted 456.032. 466.028¢1)(v). 466.04] FS. History—New [1-]16-89, Amended 1-7-92,
Formerly 21G-25.007, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F5-25.007, 590-25.0417.

64B5-25.008 Shipment to Dental Laboratories.
impressions, apptiances and contaminated dental models sent o dental laboratories must be sealed i an impervious container and
iabeled “treat as infectious material”™ prior o shipment from a dental office.

Speeific Authority 456,032 466.004 FS. Law fmplemented 456032, 466.028(1}v). (vi, 466.041 IFS. History-New 1-7-92, Formerly 21G-25.008,
G1F3.25.008. 590-25.008.
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