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INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this bookiet is to assemble and/or identify in one place the Florida laws and rules to which the
Board of Dentistry, the Department of Health and Florida licensed dentists and dental hygienists must adhere.

All of the Florida statutes and administrative rufes mentioned in this introduction are not included in this booklet
but are easily obtained on request. (Those in bold are included.)

Chapter 460, Florida Stafites, 15 the law which governs the practice of dentisiry in the State of Florida. In
addition to the law, the Board promulgates rules to further define the mandate of the law.

Chapter 64B5 (formerly 59Q), Florida Administrative Code, includes the rules promulgated by the Board of
Dentistry. The Board is required by law to prommigate certain rules to implement specific mandates with Florida
Statutes, Chapters 466, 455 and 120, and the Board has specific authority to promulgate other rules within these
statutes 5o long as the rules are not inconsistent with the laws.

Chapter 456, Flonda Statutes, is the law that governs the Department of Health, Within Chapter 456 the
Department's and the Board's scopes interrelate and intertwine and the Board must/may promulgate rules in order
for the Department to carry out the mandate of the law.

Chapter 120, Florida Statutes, is the Administrative Procedures Act. The purpose of the act is to ensire that the
general public has access to information regarding the functions and duties of administrative bodies, e.g. Board of
Dentistry and Department of Health, whose actions may affect the interests of private citizens.

Under Chapter 120, the Administration Commission (the Governor and Cabinet) has adopted model rules (Chapter
28) by which agencies are required to abide when dealing with rulemaking and hearing procedures fo the extent
that each agency does not adopt a specific rule of procedure covering the subject matter contained in the model
rules applicable to that agency.

Complaints against 2 HCenSee...........coooii i e (850) 245-4339
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ANSWERS TO MOST FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

(As 2 licensee, you are responsible for knowing the laws and rules governing dentistry in Florida. Xeep this
ruie book for reference.)

RENEWAL PERIOD & FEES - Licenses must be renewed each biennium. The biennium is March 1st through
February 28th of every even-numbered year. The fees at present are $305.00 for dentists and $105.00 for
hygienists. The fees for fiture bienniums are subject to change. Renewal notices are mailed at least 90 days
prior to the expiration date of the license; however, pursuant te rule 64B35-12.013¢5), it is the licensee’s
responsibility to renew his/her license whether or not he/she receives a renewal notice. The expiration date is
printed on each license. Ref: 64B5-15, F.A.C.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS - All licensees are required to notify the Board in writing within 10 days of any change
in their addresses. There is no way for a licensee to receive communication from the Board if # has an incorrect
address. Ref: 64B5-17.0011, F.AC,

CONTINUING EDUCATION BENTIEST - For renewal of dental licenses, a total of 30 hours of continuing
education is required which must include 2 hours in the prevention of medical errors.  To receive credit, all
courses niust be taken with board approved providers. Each licensee must complete & course in HIV/AIDS prior
to the first license renewal. Each lcensee must complete a two {2) hour course on domestic violence as part of
every third licensure renewal. In addition to the 30 hours, for each license renewal biennium, a licensed dentist
must complete a CPR course at the basic life support level, which includes training in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for adults, children,
and infants; the relief of foreign body airway obstructions for adults, children, and infants; the use of an
automatic external defibrillator (AETD)); and the use of ambu-bags resulting in certification or recertification by
the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements. DO NOT
SEND PROOF UNLESS YOU ARE AUDITED. Each licensee is required to retain PROOQF at least 4 years.
Ref: 64B5-12, FAC.

Anesthesia permit holders are required to complete at least four (4) hours of continuing education relating to
anesthesia each biennium the permit is held, to include twoe (2) hours dealing with the management of medical
emergencies. These hours would be included in the 30 hours of continuing education required by Section
466.0135(1), Florida Statutes.

CONTINUING EDUCATION DENTAL HYGIENIST - For renewal of a denial hygiene license, a total of 24
hours of continuing education is required, and must include 2 hours in the prevention of medical errors. To receive
credit, all courses must be taken with board approved providers, FEach licensee must complete a course in
HIV/AIDS prior to the first license repewal. Each licensee must complete a two (2) hour course on domestic
violence as part of every third licensure renewal. In addition to the 24 hours, for each Hcense renewal biennium, &
licensed dental hygienist must complete 2 CPR course at the basic life support level, which includes training in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for
adults, children, and infants; the relief of foreign body airway obstructions for adults, children, and infants; the
use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags resulting in certification or
recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent
requirements. DO NOT SEND PROOF UNLESS YOU ARE AUDITED. Each licensee is required to retain
PROOF at least 4 years. Ref: 64B5-12, FAC.

REACTIVATION OF LICENSE - To reactivate a license, the licensee may be required to submit the following
fees: renewal fee, active or mactive fee; delinquency fee; and, if applicable, a processing fee. This is not a penalty

fee, but the normal process a license goes through when allowed to go inactive, pursuant to Chapter 456.036, F.S.

Proof of continuing education must be submitted with the application to reactivate; 12 hours per year for dental
hygienists and 15 hours per year for dentists for each year mactive or delinquent.
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AUDITING CONTINUING EDUCATION - Each licensee must show proof of completion of continuing
education if he/she is selected by random audit. The licensee will be contacted by the Board office if selected.
Ref: Chapter 466,0135 & 466,014, F.S,

DISPENSING PRACTITTIONERS - This designation refers to dentists who, in their offices, fill the prescriptions
they write. This dees not refer to a dentist who writes prescriptions to be filled at a pharmacy. Dispensing
fluorides and chlorohexidine rinse solutions are exempt from this requirement. Do not register as a dispensing
practitioner unless you are one. The Department is required to inspect the dental facilities of all dispensing
practiticners,

DENTAL LAB PADS - Dentists are required to use dental laboratory procedure prescription forms when
prescribing work for dental laboratories. Only the dentist to whom the pads are issued may use them. If the dental
laboratory used is located in Florida, it must be registered and the dentist shall place the lab's registration number
on each preseription form. Dentists may utilize the printing company of their choice for printing of the dental work
order pads. Rule 64B5-17.006, F.A.C., provides the minimum information approved by the Board that must be
included on the form,

MILITARY STATUS - Licensees who are members in good standing in the Armed Forces and/or their spouses
are exempt from the fees and continuing education requirements for license renewal. Military status must be
indicated on the license for this to be applicable. Practice in the private sector is prohibited while on military
status. Reft 456.024,F.S.

FEES FOR DUPLICATE LICENSES AND CERTIFICATIONS - There is a $25 fee for each duplication of 2
license, certification of lcensure and permit. Ref: 64B5-15.016, F.AC, '

REMEDIABLE TASKS - To perform remediable tasks an assistant or hygienist shall post his/her certificate of
completion from a dental hygiene or dental assisting program accredited by the American Dental Association’s
Commission on Dental Accreditation or a course or prograum approved by the Board for the purpose of providing
expanded duties training. If a new task is determined delegable in the rule but was not included in the
licensee's training, the Board approved expanded duty course teaching this task must be completed before
the auxiliary can perform the task. The onlv intra-oral tasks deemed delegable are those listed in 64B5-16.
Ref: Chapter 466.024, F.8. & 64B5-16, F.A.C.

CERTIFICATION FOR DENTAL RADIOGRAPHERS - If an auxiliary has completed a dental hygiene or
dental assisting program approved by the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation,
hefshe need only post in the dental office his’her certificate of completion to position and expose dental
radiographic film. If not, an auxiliary must work under the direct supervision of & Florida licensed dentist assisting
in the positicning and exposing of radiographic film, complete an ADA or Board approved radiology course and
apply for certification on forms provided by the Board. A $35 fee must accompany the application. Ref 64B5-9,
FAC.

LICENSURE EXAMINATIONS — Applicants for licensure as dentists and dental hygienists must successfully
complete the practical or clinical examinations developed by the American Dental Board of Examiners, Inc.
{ADEX) and administered by the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (NERB) or other entities.
Please visit www.erb.org for information about the examinations, such as examination schedules, candidate
manuals and forms.

Dental applicants who take the ADEX exam outside of Florida must meef practice requirements during the first
vear of licensure. For complete information, please review s. 466.006, F.8.

ANESTHESIA PERMITS - Each dentist in Florida who plans to administer general anesthesia, conscious
sedation or pediatric conscious sedation must be permitted by the Board. Fach facility at which he/she
administers must be on file in the Board office with the type of anesthesia indicated for each facility. All permit
holders shall inform the Board office in writing of any change in authorized location for the use of such

permits prior to accomplishing sach changes, Applications are available on the website
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htip:/Awww. floridasdentistry.gov. As soon as the application is complete, it shall be submitted to the Anesthesia
Committee for review. The applicant must be evaluated and the office(s) where anesthesia will be administered
must be inspected prior to issuance of the permit. For requirements to be permitted, refer to rule 64B5-14, F.A.C.
Rel: Chapter 466.017, F.8,, & 64B5-14, F A.C. Ancsthesia permit holders are required to complete at least four
{(4) hours of continuing education relating to anesthesia each biennium the permit is held, to include two (2) hours
dealing with the management of medical emergencies. These hours would be incladed i the 30 hours of
continuing education required by Section 466.0135(1), Florida Statutes.

Telephone mumber for Board of Dentistry: (850) 245-4474

Make checks pavable to: Board of Dentistry
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CHAPTER 466

DENTISTRY, DENTAL HYGIENE, AND DENTAL LABORATORIES

Legislative purpose and intent.

Persons exempt from operation of chap-
ter.

Definitions,

Board of Dentistry.

Expert witness certificate.

Examination of dentists.

Regional licensure examinations,

Appiicatiors for health access dental li-
cense.

Renewal of the health access denial
license. .

Revocation of health access dental li-
cense.

Repeal of a health access dental license.

Examination of dental hygienists.

Appilicants for examination; medicat mal-
practice insurance.

Certification of foreign educational institu-
tions.

Reexamination.

Licensure.

Renewal of license.

Continuing education; dentists.

Continuing education; dental hygienists.

Inactive status.

License to be displayed.

Prescription of drugs; anesthesia.

Bentist of record; patient records.

Advertising by dentists,

Retention of dental laboratories by dentist;
penalty.

Peer review, records; immunity; confiden-
tiality.

Dental hygienists; scope and area of
practice.

Dental charting.

Delegation of duties; expanded functions.

Permiiting of dental inferns serving at
state institutions:; certification of dentists
praclicing at government facilities; per-
mitting of nonprofit corperations.

Prohibitions; penaities.

Sexual misconduct.

Lawful investigations; consent handwrit-
ing samples; mentai or physical exam-
ination.

Establishment of practitioner profile for
designation as a confrolled substance
prescribing practitioner,

Grounds for disciplinary action; action by
the board.

Specialties.

Proprielorship by nondentisis.

“Dental lahoratory” defined.

Registration.

Registration certificates.

Change of ownership or address.

Advertising.

466.036 Information; periodic inspections; equip-
ment and supplies.

466.037 Suspension and revocation; administra-
tive fine.

466.038 Rules.

466.039 Violations.

466,041 °  Hepatitis B carriers.

466.001 Legislative purpose and intent.—The
legislative purpose far enacting this chapter is to ensure
that every dentist or dental hygienist practicing in this
state meets minimum requirements for safe practice
without undue clinical interference by persons not
ficensed under this chapter. 1t is the legisiative intent
that dental services be provided enly in accordance with
the provisions of this chapter and not be delegated 1o
unauthorized individuals. !t is the further legisialive
intent that dentists and dental hygienists who fall
below minimum competency or who otherwise present
a danger to the pubiic shall be prohikited from practicing
in this state. All provisions of this chapter relating to the
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene shall be liberally

construed to carry out such purpose and intent.

History.—ss. 1, 8, ch. 78-830; s8. 2, 3, ch. B1-818; 8. 1, 23, 24, ¢ch. §6-291; 5.
60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91.186; 5. 4, ch. 91-428; 5. 1, ch. 87-67.

466.002 Persons exempt from operation of
chapter.—Nothing in this chapter shall apply 1o the
foliowing practices, acts, and operations:

(1) The practice of her or his profession including
surgical procedures involving the oral cavity by a
physician or surgeon licensed as such under the laws
of this state.

(2) A qualified anesthetist giving an anesthetic for a
dental operation under the direct supervision of a
licensed dentist.

(3) The practice of dentistry in the discharge of their
official duties by graduate dentists or dental surgeons in
the United States Army, Air Force, Marines, Navy,
Pubiic Health Service, Coast Guard, or United States
Departmant of Veterans Affairs.

{4} The practice of dentistry by licensed dentists of
other states or countries at meetings of dental organiza-
tions approved by the board, while appearing as
clinicians.

{5y Students in Florida schools of dentistry and
dental hygiene or dental assistant educational pro-
grams, while performing regularly assigned work
under the curriculum of such schools.

{8y Instructors in Florida schools of dentistry, in-
sfructors in dental programs that prepare persons
holding D.D.S. or D.M.D. degrees for certification by a
specialty board and that are accredited in the United
States by January 1, 2005, in the same manner as the
board recognizes acereditation for Florida schools of
dentistry that are not otherwise affiliated with & Florida
school of dentisiry, or instructors in Florida schools of
dental hygiene or denial assistant educational pro-
grams, while periorming regularly assigned instructional
duties under the curriculum of such schools. A full-time
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dental instructor at a dental school or dental program
approved by the board may be allowed ¢ practice
dentistry at the teaching faciliies of such schooi or
program, upon receiving a teaching permit issued by the
board, in strict compliance with such rules as are
adopted by the board pertaining to the teaching permit
and with the established rules and procedures of the

dental schootl or program as recognized in this section.

Hisfory.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; s5. 2, 3, ch, 81-318; 5. 2, 23, 24, ch, 86-201; 5.
80, ch. 81137, 6. 7, ch. 81-156; 5. 4, ch, 81-429; 5. 22, ch. $3-268; 5. 2, ch. 94-104;
5. 250, ch. 97-108; s. 1, eh. 2005-189.

466.003 Definitions.—As used in this chapter:

(1) “Board” means the Board of Dentistry.

(2) “Dentist” means a person licensed to practice
dentisiry pursuant to this chapter.

(3) "Dentistry” means the healing art- which is con-
cerned with the examination, diagnosis, ireatment
planning, and care of conditions within the human oral
cavity and its adjacent lissues and structures. ltincludes
the performance or attempted performance of any
denial operation,.or oral or oral-maxiliofacial surgery
and any procedures adjunct thereto, including physical
evajuation direcily related to such operation or surgery
pursuant to hospital rules and reguiations. It also
includas dental service of any kind gratuitously or for
any remuneration paid, or to be paid, directly or
indirectly, {0 any perscen or agency. The term “dentisiry”
shall alse include the following:

{a} The taking of an impression of the human tooth,
teeth, or jaws directly or indirectly and by any means or
mathod.

(b} Supplying artificiai substitutes for the natural
feeth or furnishing, supplying, constructing, reprodu-
cing, or repairing any prosthetic denture, bridge, appli-
ance, or any other structure designed to be worn in the
human mouth except on the written work order of a duly
ficensed dentist.

{c) The piacing of an appliance or structure in the
human mouth or the adjusting or attempting to adjust
the same.

{d) Deiivering the same to any person other than the
dentist upon whose work order the work was performed.

(e) Professing to the public by any method to fumish,
supply, construct, reproduce, or repair any prosthetic
denture, bridge, appliance, or other sfructure designed
to be worn in the human mouth.

(fy Diagnosing, prescribing, or treating or professing
to diagnose, prescribe, or treal disease, pain, deformity,
deficiency, injury, or physical condition of the human
taeth or jaws or oral-maxillofacial region.

{g} Extracting or attempting tc extract human teeth.

{h) Correcting or attempting to correct malformations
of teeth or of jaws.

(i} Repairing or attempting to repair cavities in the
human teeth.

(4) “Dental hygiene” means the rendering of educa-
tional, preveniive, and therapeutic dental services
pursuant to ss. 486.023 and 466.024 and any related
exira-oral procedure required in the performance of
such services.

(5) “Dental hygienist” means a person licensed {o
practice dental hygiene pursuant to this chapter.

(8) “Dental assistant” means a persen, other than a
dental hygienist, who, under the supervision and
authorization of & dentist, provides denial care services
directly to a patient. This term shall not include a
certified registered nurse anesthetist licensed under
part | of chapter 464.

(7) *Depariment” means the Department of Health.

(8) “Direct supervision” means supervision wheraby
a dentist diagnoses the condition to be treated, a dentist
authorizes the procedure to be performed, a dentist
remains on the premises while the procedures are
performed, and a dentist approves the work performed
before dismissal of the patient.

(9 “indirect supervision” means supervision where-
by a dentist authorizes the procedure and a dentist is on
the premises while the procedures are performed.

(10) “General supervision” means supervision where-
by a dentist authorizes the procedures which are being
carried out but need not be present when the authorized
procedures are being performed. The authorized pro-
cedures may atso be performed at a place other than
the dentist's usual place of practice. The issuance of a
written work authorization 1o a commercial dental
laboratory by a dentist does not constitute general
supervision.

{11} “lrremediable tasks” are those intracral treat-
ment tasks which, when performed, are irreversible and
create unalterabie changes within the oral cavity or the
contiguous structures or which cause an increased risk
1o the patient. The administration of anesthetics other
than topical anesthesia is considered to be an “irreme-
diable task” for purposes of this chapter.

(12) “Remediabie tasks™ are those intraoral freatment
tasks which are reversible and do not create unalterable
changes within the oral cavily or the contigucus
strtclures and which do not cause an increased risk
o the paiient.

{13) “Oral and maxilicfacial surgery” means the
specialty of dentistry involving diagnosis, surgery, and
adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries, and defects
involving the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard
and soft tissues of the oral and maxiliofacial regions.
This term may not be construed to apply to any
individual exempt under s. 466.002(1).

(14) “Health access setting” means a program or an
institution of the Department of Children and Family
Services, the Department of Health, the Department of
Juvenite Justice, & nonprofit community health center, a
Head Start center, a federally quaiified health center or
look-alike as defined by federal law, a school-based
prevention program, & ciinic operated by an accredited
coliege of dentistry, or an accredited dental hygiene
program in this state if such community service program
or institution immediately reports to the Board of
Dentistry all violaticns of s. 466.027, s. 466,028, or
other praciice act or standard of care violations related
io the actions or inactions of a dentist, dental hygienist,
or dental assistant engaged in the delivery of dental
care in such setting.

(15) “School-based prevention program” means pre-
ventive oral health services offered at a school by one of
the entities defined in subsection (14) or by a nonprofit
organization that is exempt from federal income taxation
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under s, 501(a} of the Internal Revenue Code, and

described in . 501{c}{3) of the Intemnal Revenue Code.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch, 78-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. B1-318; 85. 3, 23, 24, ch. 86-281; &,
60, ch. 81-137, 5.7, ch. 81-156; 5. 4, ch. 91-428; 5. 1, ch. 84-104; 5. 126, ch. §4-218;
s. 2, ch, 87-67; 5. 107, ch. 87-264; 5. 130, ch. 2000-318; s. 1, ch. 2008-84; 5. 4, ch.
2011-95,

466.004 Board of Dentistry.—

{1) To carry out the provisions of this chapter, there
is created within the department the Board of Dentistry
consisting of 11 mermbers who shall be appointed by the
Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.
Seven members of the board must be licensed dentists
actively engaged in the ciinical practice of dentistry in
this siate; two members must be licensed dentai
hygienists actively engaged in the practice of dental
hygiene in this state; and the remaining two members
must be laypersons who are not, and have never been,
dentists, dental hygienists, or members of any closely
related profession or occupation. Each member of the
board who is a licensed dentist must have been actively
engaged 'in the practice of dentistry primarily as &
clinical practitioner for at least 5 years immediaiely
preceding the date of her or his appointment to the
board and must remain primarily in clinical practice
during all subsequent periods of appoiniment to the
bhoard. Each member of the board who is connected in
any way with any dentat college or community college
must be in compliance with 5. 456.007. At least one
member of the board must be 60 years of age or older.
Members shall be appointed for 4-year terms, but may
serve no more than a fotal of 10 years.

(2) To advise the board, it is the intent of the
Legistature that councils be appointed as specified in
paragraphs {a), (b}, and (c). The department shall
provide administrative support to the councils and
shall provide public notice of meetings and agenda of
the councils. Counciis shall include at least one board
member who shall chair the council and shall include
rnonboard members. All council members shall be
appointed by the board chair. Council members shall
be appointed for 4-year terms, and all members shall be
eligibie for reimbursement of expenses in the manner of
board members.

(a) A Council on Dental Hygiene shali be appointed
by the board chair and shall include one dental hygienist
member of the board, who shall chair the council, one
dental member of the board, and three denial hygienists
wno are aclively engaged in the practice of dental
hygiene in this state. In making the appointments, the
chair shall consider recommendations from the Florida
Dental Hygiene Association. The council shall meet at
the request of the board chair, a majority of the
members of the board, or the coungii chair; however,
the council must meet ai least three times a year. The
council is charged with the responsibility of and shafl
meet for the purpose of developing rules and policies for
recommendation io the beard, which the board shall
consider, on matiers pertaining to that pan of dentistry
consisting of educational, preventive, or therapeutic
dental hygiene services; dental hygiene licensure,
discipline, or regulation; and dental hygiene education.
Ruie and policy recemmendations of the council shall be
considered by the board af its next reguiarly scheduled

meeting in the same manner in which it considers rule
and policy recommendations from designated subcom-
mittees of the board. Any rule or policy proposed by the
board pertaining to the specified part of dentistry defined
by this subsection shall be referred to the council for a
recommendation before final action by the board. The
board may take final action on rules periaining to the
specified part of dentistry defined by this subsection
without a council recommendation if the council fails to
submit a recommendation in a timely fashion as
prescribed by the board.

(b) A Councii on Bentai Assisting shall be appointed
by the board chair and shall include one board member
who shall chair the council and three dental assistants
who are acfively engaged in dental assisting. The
council shall meet at the request of the board chair or
a majority of the members of the board. The council
shall meet for the purpose of deveioping recommenda-
tions fo the board on matters pertaining to that part of
dentistry related to dental assisting.

(c) With the concurrence of the Siate Surgeon
General, the board chair may create and abolish
other advisory councils relating to dental subjects,
including, but not iimited to: examinations, access to
dental care, indigent care, nursing home and institu-
fional care, public health, disciplinary guidelines, and
other subjects as appropriate. Such counciis shall be
appoinied by the board chair and shall include at least
one board member whe shall serve as chair,

(3) The board shall maintain its headguarters in
Tallahasses.

(4) The board is authorized to adopt ruies pursuant
to 8. 120.536(1) and 120.54 to implement the provi-
sions of this chapter and chapter 4586, including the
astablisnment of a fee to defray the cost of duplicating
any license certification or permit, not to exceed $10 per
duplication.

{5) The board is authorized tc publish and distripute
such pamphlets, newsletters, and other publications as
are reasonably necessary.

{6} All provisions of chapter 456 relating to the board
shali apply.

History—ss. 1, 3, ch, 78-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55. 4, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; &.
17, ch. 87-172; 5. 47, ch. 80-228; 5. 1, ch. 90-341 &. 80, ¢h. 81-137; 6. 7, ch. 91-156;
s 4, ch, 91-429; 5. 97, ch. 92-148; 5. 127, ch. 94-218; 5. 1, ch. 98-281; 5. 1107, ch.
97-103; 5. 69, ch. 98-166; s. 128, ch. 98-200; 5, 55, ch. 99-5; 5. 1, ch. 99-183; 5. 1,

ch, 2000-115; 8. 128, ch. 2000-160; 5. 2, ch, 2005-180; s, 55, ch. 2006-1; 5. 85, ch.
2008-8.

466.005 Expert witness certificate.—

(1){a) The department shall issue a certificate
authorizing a dentist who holds an active and valid
license to practice dentistry in another state or a
province of Canada to provide expert testimeny in this
state, if the dentist submits {o the department:

1. A complete registration application containing the
dentist’s legal name, mailing address, telephone num-
ber, business locations, the names of the jurisdictions
where the dentist holds an active and valid license to
practice dentistry, and the license number or other
identifying number issued to the dentist by the jurisdic-
tion's licensing entity; and

2. An application fee of $50.

{b) The department shall approve an application for
an expert witness certificate within 10 business days
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after receipt of the completed application and payment
of the application fee if the applicant holds an active and
valid license to practice dentistry in another state or a
province of Canada and has not had a previous expert
witness certificate revoked by the board. An application
is approved by default if the department does not act
upon the application within the required period. A dentist
must notify the department in writing of his or her intent
to rely on a ceriificate approved by default.

{c) An expert witness certificate is valid for 2 years
after the date of issuance.

(2} An expert witness certificate authorizes the
dentist to whom the certificate is issued 1o do only the
following:

(a} Provide a verified written medical expert apinion
as provided in s. 766.203.

{b) Provide expert testimony about the prevailing
professional standard of care in connection with medical
negligence litigation pending in this state against a
dentist licensed under this chapter.

{3} Anexpertwitness certificate does not authorize a
dentist to engage in the practice of dentistry as defined
in s, 466.003. A deniist issued a cerlificate under this
section who does not otherwise practice dentistry in this
state is not required o obtain & license under this
chapter or pay any license fees. An expett witness
ceriificate shall be treated as a license in any disciplin-
ary action, and the holder of an expett witness certificate

shall be subject to discipline by the board.
History.—s. 6, ch. 2011.238,

466.006 Examination of dentists.—

{1)(a) ltis the intent of the Legistature to reduce the
costs associated with an independent state-developed
practical or clinical examination {0 measure an appli-
cant’s ability 1o praciice the profession of dentistry and
io use the American Dental Licensing Examination
developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners,
inc., in {ieu of an independent state-developed practical
or clinical examination. The Legislature finds that the
American Dental Licensing Examination, in both its
structure and function, consistently mests gensraliy
accepted testing standards and has been found, as it is
currenily organized and operaling, 1o adequately and
reliably measure an applicant’s ability to practice the
profession of dentistry.

(b) Any person desiring fo be licensed as a dentist
shall apply o the depariment o fake the licensure
examinations and shail verify the information required
on the application by cath. The application shall include
iwo recent photographs. There shall be an application
fee set by the beard not to exceed $100 which shall be
nonrefundable. There shall also be an examination fee
set by the board, which shall not exceed $425 plus the
aciual per applicant cost to the department for purchase
of seme or all of the examination from the American
Board of Dental Examiners or its successor entity, if
any, provided the board finds the successor entity's
clinical examinafion complies with the provisions of this
section. The examination fee may be refundable if the
applicant is found ineligible to take the examinations.

(2) An applicant shall be entitled to take the exam-
inations required in this section fo practice dentistry in
this state i the applicant:

{(a) Is 18 years of age or older,

(b)1. Is a graduate of a dental school accredited by
the American Dental Association Cormmission on Dental
Accreditation or its successor entity, if any, or any other
denial accrediting entity recognized by the United
States Depariment of Education; or

2. Isadental student in the final year of a program at
such an accredited dental school who has completed ali
the coursework necessary to prepare the student o
perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures required
to pass the examinations. With respect to a dentai
student in the final year of & program at a dental school,
a passing score on the examinations is valid for 365
days after the date the examinations were completed. A
dental school student who takes the licensure examina-
tions during the student’s final year of an approved
dental school must ‘have graduated before being
certified for licensure pursuant to s. 466.011.

{c}1. Has successfully completed the National Board
of Dental Examiners dental examination; or

2. Has an active health access dental license in this
state; and

a. The appiicant has at least 5,000 hours within 4
consecutive years of clinical practice experience pro-
viding direct patient care in a health access setting as
defined in s. 466.003; the applicant is a retired vateran
dentist of any branch of the United States Armed
Services who has practiced dentisiry white on active
duty and has at ieast 3,000 hours within 3 consecutive
years of clinical practice experience providing direct
patient care in a health access setting as defined in .
466.003; or the applicant has provided a portion of his or
her salaried time teaching health profession students in
any public education setting, inciuding, but not limited
to, a community cofiege, college, or university, and has
at least 3,000 hours within 3 consecutive years of
clinical practice experience providing direct patient care
in a health access seting as defined in s. 466.003;

b. The applicant has not been disciplined by the
board, except for citation offenses or minor violations;

¢. The applicant has not filed a report pursuant to s.
456.049; and

d. The applicant has not been convicted of or pled
nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, any
felony or misdemeanor related to the practice of a
health care profession.

(3) Ifan applicant is a graduate of a dental college or
school not accredited in accordance with paragraph
{2Xb) or of a dental college or school not approved by
the board, the applicant is not entitied to take the
examinations required in this section to practice den-
fistry until she or he satisfies one of the following:

(a) Completes a program of study, as defined by the
board by rule, at an accredited American dental school
and demonstrates receipt of a D.D.5. or D.M.D. from
said schoof; or

(b) Submits proof of having successtully completed
at least 2 consecutive academic years at a fulltime
supplemential general dentistry program accredited by
the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
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Accreditation. This program must provide didactic and
clinical education at the fevel of a D.D.S. or D.M.D.
program accredited by the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation.

{4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law in
chapter 456 pertaining to the clinical dental licensure
examination or national examinations, to be licensed as
a dentist in this state, an applicant must successfully
complete the following:

(a) A written examination on the laws and rules of
the state regulating the practice of dentistry;

{b)1. A practical or clinical examination, which shall
be the American Denial Licensing Examination pro-
duced by the American Board of Dental Examiners, inc.,
or iits successor entity, if any, that is administered in this
state and graded by dentists licensed in this state and
employed by the depariment for just such purpose,
provided that the board has attained, and continues to
maintain thereafter, representation on the board of
directors of the American Board of Dental Examiners,
the examination development commitiee of the Amer-
ican Board of Dental Examiners, and such other
commitiees of the American Board of Dental Examiners
as the board deems appropriate by rule 1o assure that
the standards established herein are maintained orga-
nizationally. A passing score on the American Dental
Licensing Examination administered in this siate and
graded by dentists who are licensed in this state is valid
for 365 days after the date the official examination
results are published.

2.a. As an alternative to the requirements of sub-
paragraph 1., an applicant may submit scoraes from an

American Dental Licensing Examination previously’

administered in a jurisdiction other than this state
after October 1, 2011, and such examination results
shall be recognized as valid for the purpose of licensure
in this state. A passing score on the American Dental
Licensing Examinafion administered out-of-state shall
be the same as the passing score for the American
Dentai Licensing Examination administered in this state
and graded by dentists who are licensed in this state.
The examination results are valid tor 365 days afier the
date the official examination results are published. The
applicant must have completed the examination after
October 1, 2011.

b. This subparagraph may notf be given reiroactive
application.

3. If the date of an applicant’s passing American
Dential Licensing Examination scores from an examina-
tion previously administered in a jurisdiction cther than
this state under subparagraph 2. is oider than 365 days,
then such scores shall neverthaless be recognized as
valid for the purpose of licensure in this state, but only if
the applicant demonstrates that all of the following
additicnal standards have been met:

a.{l} The applicant completed the American Dental-

Licensing Examination after October 1, 2011.

{1} This sub-subparagraph may not be given retro-
active application;

b. The applicant graduated from a dental school
accredited by the American Dental Asscciation Com-
mission on Dental Accreditation or its successor entity,
if any, or any other dental accrediting organization

recognized by the United States Department of Educa-
tion. Provided, however, if the applicant did not graduate
from such a dental school, the applicant may submit
proof of having successfully completed a fuli-time
supplemantal general dentistry program accredited by
the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation of af least 2 consecutive academic years
ai such accredited sponsoring institution. Such program
must provide didactic and clinical education at the level
of a D.D.8. or D.M.D. program accredited by the
American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation;

c. The applicant currently possesses a valid and
active dental license in good standing, with no restric-
tion, which has naver been revoked, suspended,
restricted, or otherwise disciplined, from another state
or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia,
or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico;

d. The applicant submits proof that he or she has
never been reporied to the National Practitioner Data
Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data
Bank, or the American Association of Dental Boards
Clearinghouse. This sub-subparagraph does not apply
if the applicant successfully appealed to have his or her
name removed from the data banks of these agencies;

e.(l} Inthe 5 years immediately preceding the date
of application for licensure in this staie, the applicant
must submit proof of having been consecutively en-
gaged in the full-time practice of dentistry in another
state or territory of the United States, the District of
Columbis, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or, if
the applicant has been licensed in another state or
territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or
the Commonwealth of Pueric Rico for less than & years,
the applicant must submit proof of having been engaged
in the full-time practice of dentistry since the date of his
or her initial licensure.

{Il} As used in this section, “full-time practice” is
defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours per year for each
and every year in the consecutive 5-year period or,
where applicable, the period since initial licensure, and
must include any combination of the following:

(A} Active clinical practice of dentistry providing
direct patient care.

{B) Fuli-time practice as a faculty member empicyed
by a dental or denial hygiene school approved by the
board or accredited by the American Dentat Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation,

{C) Fuli-time practice as a student at a posigraduate
dental education program approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Com-
missicn on Dental Accreditation.

(I} The board shall develop rules to deterrmine what
type of proof of full-time practice is required and to
recoup the cost to the board of verifying full-time
practice under this section. Such proof must, at a
minimum, be:

(A) Admissible as evidence in an administrative
proceeding;

(B} Submitted in writing;

(C) Submitted by the applicant under oath with
penalties of periury attached;
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{D) Further documented by an zaffidavit of someone
unrelated to the applicant who is familiar with the
applicant’s practice and testifies with particularity that
the applicant has been engaged in full-time practice;
and

{E) Specifically found by the board to be both
credibie and admissible.

(V) An affidavit of only the applicant is not acceptable
proof of full-time practice untess it is further attested to
by somecne unrelaied {o the applicant who has
personal knowledge of the applicant's practice. If the
board deems it necessary i0 assess credibility or
accuracy, the board may require the applicant or the
applicant's withesses to appear before the board and
give oral testimeny under oath;

f. The applicant must submit documentation that he
or she has completed, or will complete, prior to licensure
in this state, conlinuing education equivalent {o this
state’s requirements for the |last full reporting biennium;

g. The applicant must prove that he or she has
never been convicted of, or pled nolo contendere to,
regardiess of adjudication, any felony or misdemeanor
related to the practice of a health care profession in any
jurisdiction;

h. The applicant must successfully pass a written
examination on the laws and rules of this state regulai-
ing the practice of dentistry and must successfully pass
the compuier-based diagnostic skills examination; and

i. The applicant must submit documentation that he
or she has successfully completed the Naticnal Board of
Dental Examiners dental examination.

{5})(a) The practical examination reguired under
subsection (4) shall be the American Dental Licensing
Examination developed by the American Board of
Dental Examiners, Inc., of its successor entity, if any,
provided the board finds that the successor entity’s
clinical examination complies with the provisions of this
section, and shall include, at a minimum:

1. A comprehensive diagnostic skills examination
covering the full scope of dentistry and an examination
on applied clinical diagnosis and treaiment planning in
dentistry for dental candidates;

2. Two restorations on a live patient or patients. The
board by rule shall determine the class of such
restorations;

3. A demonstration of periocdontal skills on a live
patient;

4. A demonstration of prosthetics and restorative
skilis in compiete and partial dentures and crowns and
bridges and the utilization of practical methods of
evaiuation, specifically including the evaiuation by the
candidate of completed laboratory products such as, but
not limited to, crowns and inlays filled 1o prepared model
teeth;

5. A demonstration of restorative skills on a man-
nequin which requires the candidate 1o compiete
procedures performed in preparation for a cast restora-
fion;

6. A demonstration of endodontic skills; and

7. A diaghostic skills examination demonstrating
ability to diagnose conditions within the human oral
cavity and its adjacent tissues and structures from
photographs, slides, radiographs, or models pursuant to

rutes of the board. If an applicant fails to pass the
diagnostic skills examination in three attempts, the
applicant shall not be eligible for reexamination unless
she or he compietes additional educational require-
ments established by the board.

(b) The department shall consult with the board in
planning the times, places, physicai {acilities, training of
personnel, and other arrangements concerning the
administration of the examination. The board or a duly
designated commitlee thereof shall approve the final
plans for the administration of the examination;

(c} [ the appiicant fails to pass the clinical examina-
tion in three attempts, the applicant shall not be ejigible
for reexamination unless she or he completes additional
educationai requirements established by the board; and

(d) The board may by rule provide for additional
procedures which are o be tested, provided such
procedures shall be commaon to the practice of general
dentistry. The board by rule shall deterrnine the passing
grade for each procedure and the acceptable variation
for examiners. No such rule shall apply retroactively.

The department shall require & mandatory standardiza-
tion exercise for afl examiners prior to each practical or
clinical examination and shall retain for employment
only those dentists who have substantially aghered to
the standard of grading established at such exercise.

(B)(a} Itisthe finding of the Legislature that absent a
threat to the health, safety, and weltare of the public, the
relocation of applicants to practice dentistry within the
geographic boundaries of this state, who are fawfully
and currently practicing dentistry in another state or
territory of the Unifed States, the District of Columbia, or
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, based on their
scores from the American Dental Licensing Examina-
ticn administered in a state other than this state, is
substantially related to achieving the imporiant stale
interest of improving access io dental care for under-
served citizens of this state and furthering the economic
development goals of the state. Therefore, in order 1o
maintain valid active licensure in this state, all applicants
far licensure who are relocating to this state based on
scores from the American Dental Licensing Examina-
tion administered in a state other than this state must
actually engage in the full-time practice of dentistry
inside the geographic boundaries of this state within 1
year of receiving such licensure in this state. The
Legistature finds that, if such applicants do not aciually
engage in the full-time practice of dentistry within the
geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year of
receiving such a license in this state, access 1o dental
care for the pubfic will not significantly increase,
patients’ continuity of care will not be attained, and
the economic development goals of the state wili not be
significantly met.

{b}1. As used in this section, “full-time practice of
dentistry within the geographic boundaries of this state
within 1 year” is defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours in
the initial year of licensure, which must include any
combination of the following:

a. Active cfinical practice of dentistry providing
direct patient care within the geographic boundaries
of this state.
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b. Full-time practice as a faculty member employed
by a dental or denial hygiene school approved by the
board or accredited by the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation and located within
the geographic boundaries of this siate.

¢. Full-time practice as a student at a postgraduate
dental education program approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Com-
mission on Dental Accreditation and iocated within the
geographic boundaries of this state.

2. The board shall deveiop rules to determine what
type of proof of fuli-ime practice of dentisiry within the
geographic boundaries of this state for 1 year is required
in order to maintain active licensure and shall develop
rules fo recoup the cost to the board of vetifying
maintenance of such full-iime practice under this
section. Such proof must, at a minimum: -

a. Be admissible as svidence in an administrative
proceeding;

b. Be submitted in writing;

¢. Be submitted by the applicant under cath with
penalties of perjury attached;

d. Be furiher documented by an affidavit of some-
one unrelated to the applicant who is familiar with the
applicant’s practice and testifies with particularity that
the applicant has been engaged in full-time practice of
dentistry within the geographic boundaries of this state
within the last 365 days; and

e. Include such additional proof as specifically
found by the board to be both credibie and admissible.

3. An affidavit of only the applicant is not acceptable
proof of fuil-ime practice of dentistry within the geo-
graphic boundaries of this stale within 1 year, unless itis
further altested to by someone unreiated to the
applicant who has personal knowledge of the appli-
cant's practice within the last 365 days. If the board
deems it necessary to assess credibility or accuracy,
the board may require the applicant or the applicant's
witnesses to appear before the board and give oral
testimony under oath.

(¢} 1t is the further intent of the Legislature that a
license issued pursuant to paragraph (a) shali expire in
the event the beard finds that it did not receive
accepiable proof of {ui-iime practice within the geo-
graphic boundaries of thig state within 1 year after the
initial issuance of the license. The board shall make
reasonable attempts within 30 days prior to the expira-
tion of such a license o notify the licensee in writing at
his or her fast known address of the need for proof of
fuli-time practice in order to continue licensure. If the
board has not received a satisfactory response from the
licensee within the 30-day period, the ficensee must be
served with actual or constructive notice of the pending
expiration of licensure and be given 20 days in which to
submit proof required in order 1o continue licensure. If
the 20-day petiod expires and the board finds it has not
received acceptable proof of full-time practice within the
geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year after
the initial issuance of the license, then the board must
issue an administrative order finding that the license has
expired. Such an order may be appeaied by the former
licensee in accordance with the provisions of chapter
120. In the event of expiration, the licensee shall

immediately cease and desist from practicing dentistry
and shall immediately surrender to the board the wallet-
size identification card and wali card. A person who
uses or attempts to use a license issued pursuant to this
section which has expired commits unlicensed practice
of dentistry, a felony of the third degree pursuant fo s.
466.026(1)(b), punishable as provided in 5. 775.082, s.

775.083, or 5. 775.084.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; s5. 13, 15, 25, 26, 30, 34, 82, ch. 80-406: 5. 2, §,
ch. 81-318; ss. 8, 38, 41, ch, 82-179; 5. 1, ch. 82-220; 5. 1, ch. 83-172; s, 87, ch.
83-218; 5. 4, ch. BB« 156; 8. 5, 23, 24, ch. 86-281: 5. 15, ch. 86-2085; &. 10, ch, BS-66;
5. 48, ch. 90-228; 5. 2, ch. 80-341: 8. 13, 80, ¢h, §1-137; 5. 7, ch. §1-156; 5. 4, ch.
91-428; 5. 251, ch, 97-103; 5. 108, ch. 97-264; &. 1, ¢h, 2004-300; 5. 3, ch, 2005-189;
s. B, ch. 20G8-64; s, 9, ch. 2011-05; 8. 1, ch. 2012-14.

466.0065 Regional licensure examinations.—

{1} It is the intent of the Legisiature that schools of
dentistry be allowed to offer regionat licensure exam-
inations to dental students who are in the final year of 2
program at an approved denial school for the sole
purpcse of facilitating the student’s licensing in other
iurisdictions. This secifon does not aliow & person to be
licensed as a dentist in this state without taking the
examinations as set forth in s, 466.006, nor does this
section mean that regional examinations administered
under this section may be substituted for complying with
testing requirements under s. 466.006.

{2} Each scheol of dentistry in this state which is
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the
American Dental Association or its successor agency
may, upon written approvat by the Board of Dentistry,
offer regional licensure examinations only to dental
students in the final year of a program at an approved
dental school, if the board has approved the hosting
school's written plan to comply with the following
cenditions:

(&) A member of the regicnal examination body's
board of directors or equivalent thereof must be a
member of the American Association of Dental Exam-
iners,

{b) The student must have successfully passed parts
I and Il of the National Board of Dental Examiners
examination within 2 years before taking the regional
examination.

(c) The student must possess meadical maipractice
insurance in amounts net less than the amounts
required o take the Florida licensure examinations.

(d) Atleast one of the examination menitors must be
a dentist licensed in this state who has compieted all
hecessary standardization exercises required by the
regional examination body. Recruitment of examination
monitors is the responsibiiity of the regional examination
boay.

(e} Adequate arrangemenis, as defined by the
regional examination bedy and as otherwise required
by law, must be made, when necessary, for patients
whe require foliowup care as a result of procedures
performed during the clinical portion of the regional
examination. The regional examination body must
inform patients in writing of their right to folfowup care
in advance of any procedures performed by a student.

{f) The board chair or the chair's designee must be
aflowed to observe testing while # is in progress.

{g) Each student, upon being deemed eligible by the
dental school to apply to the regional examination body
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o take the regional examination, must receive writien
disclosure in at least 12-point boldface type that states:
“This examination does not meet the licensure require-
ments of chapter 466, Florida Statuies, for licensure in
the State of Florida. Persons wishing to practice
dentistry in Florida must pass the Fiorida licensure
examinations.”

(h} The student must be enrolled as a dental student
in the student’s final year of a program at an approved
dental school that is accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or its
successor agency.

{iy The student must have completed all coursework

- deemed necessary by the dental school to prepare the
student to perform all ¢linical and diagnostic procedures
required to pass the regional examination.

{i) The student’s academic record must not inciude
any evidence suggesting that the student poses an
unreasonable risk o any live palienis who are required
for the clinical portion of the regional examination. in
order to protect the health and safety of the public, the
dental school may request additionat information and
documents pertaining to the candidate’s mental and
physical health in order to fully assess the candidate’s
fitness to engage in exercises involving & live patient.

{3) A student who takes the examination pursuant to
this section, a dental school that submits a plan
pursuant o this section, or a regional examination
body that a dental school proposes to nost under this
section does not have standing to assert that a state
agency has taken action for which a hearing may be

sought under ss. 120.569 and 120.57.
History.-s. 2, ch. 2004-300; s. 11, ch. 2011.95.

'466.0067 Application for health access dental
license.—The Legislature finds that there is an im-
portant state interest in attracting dentists to practice in
underserved health access settings in this state and
further, thai allowing out-of-state dentists who meet
certain criteria t0 practice in health access settings
without the supervision of a dentist licensed in this state
is substantially related 1o achieving this important state
interest. Therefore, notwithstanding the requiremenis of
s. 466.008, the board shall grant a health access dental
license to practice dentistry in this state in health access
settings as defined in 8. 466.003 to an applicant that:

(1) Files an appropriate application approved by the
board;

{2) Pays an application ficense fee for a health
access dentai license, laws-and-rule exam fee, and
an initial licensure fee. The fees specified in this
subsection may not differ from an applicant seeking
licensure pursuant to s. 466.006;

(3) Has not been convicted of or pled nole con-
tendere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related {0 the practice of a health care
profession;

{43 Submits proof of graduation from a dental school
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association or ils successor
agency;

{8} Submits documentation that she or he has
completed, or will ocbtain prior to licensure, continuing

education equivalent to this state’s requirement for
dentists licensed under s. 466.006 for the fast full
raporting biennium before applying for a health access
dentai license;

(6} Submits proof of her or his successful completion
of parts | and |l of the dental examination by the National
Board of Dental Examiners and a state or regional
clinical dental licensing examination that the board has
determined effectively measures the applicant's ability
to practice safely;

(7) Currently holds a valid, active, dental license in
good standing which has not been revoked, suspended,
restricted, or otherwise disciplined from another of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or a United
States territory;

(8) Has never had a license revoked from another of
the United States, the District of Columbia, or a United
States territory;

(9) Has never failed the examination specified in s.
466.0086, unless the applicant was reexamined pursuant
to . 466.006 and received a license to practice dentistry
in this state;

(10) Has not been reported to the National Practi-
tioner Data Bank, unless the applicant successfully
appealed to have his or her name removed from the
data bank;

{11) Submits proof that he or she has been engaged
in the active, clinical practice of dentistry providing direct
palient care for 5 years immediately preceding the date
of appiication, or in instances when the applicant has
graduated from an accredited dental school within the
preceding 5 years, submits proof of continuous clinical
practice providing direct patient care since graduation;
and

(12) Has passed an examination covering the laws
and rules of the practice of dentistry in this state as

dascribed in s. 466.006(4)(a).
History.—-ss. 3, 6, ch, 2008-64; 5. 104, ¢h, 2010-5; 5. 10, ch. 2011-95,

"Note,—Repeaied January 1, 2015, by . 6, ch, 2008-64, unisss reenacted by the
Legisiature.

'466.00671 Renewat of the health access dental
license.—

{1} A health access dentai licensee shall apply for
renewal each biennium. At the time of renewal, the
licensee shall sign a statement that she or he has
compiied with all continuing education requirements of
an active dentist licensee, The board shall renew a
health access dental ficense for an applicant that:

(@) Submits documentation, as approved by the
board, from the employer in the health access setting
that the licensee has at alf times pertinent remained an
empioyee;

{b) Has not been convicted of or pled.nolo conten-
dere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a health care
profession;

{c} Has paid a renewai fee set by the board. The fee
specified herein may not differ from the renawal fee
adopted by the board pursuant to 8. 466.013. The
department may provide payment for these fees
through the dentist's salary, benefits, or other depart-
ment furds:
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{dY Has not failed the examination specified in s.
486.006 since initially receiving a health access dental
license or since the last renewal; and

(e} Has not been reported to the National Practitioner
Data Bank, unless the applicant successiully appealed
to have his or her name removed from the data bank.

{2) The board may undertake measures to indepen-
denily verify the health access denial licensee's on-

going employment status in the health access setting.
History.~-ss. 4, 8, ch. 2008-84; s. 12, ch. 2011-95,
‘Note.—Repealed January 1, 2015, by 5. 8, ch. 2008-64, uniess reenacted by the
tegisiature,

1466.00672 Revocation of health access dental
license.—

{1} The board shalt revoke a health access dental
license upor:

{a) The licensee’s termination from employment
from a qualifying health access setting;

{p) Final agency action determining that the licensee
has violated any provision of s. 466.027 or s. 466.028,
other than infractions constituling citation offenses or
minor violations; or

{c) Failure of the Florida dental licensure examina-
tion.

{2) Failure of an individua! licensed pursuant to s.
466.0067 to limit the practice of dentistry to health
access settings as defined in s. 466.003 constitutes the

unilicensed practice of dentistry.

History.—ss. 5, 6, ch. 2008-64; s, 8, ch. 2011-95,

'Note.—Repealed January 1, 2015, by s. 8, ch. 2008-64, uniess reenacted by the
Legislature.

466.00673 Repeal of a health access dental
ticense.—Effective January 1, 2015, ss. 466.0067-
486.00673 are repealed uniess reenacted by the
Legislaiure. Any health access dental license issued
before January 1, 2015, shall remain valid according to

85, 466.0067-466.00673, without effect from repeal.
History.—s. 8, ch. 2008-64.

466.007 Examination of dental hygienists.—

(1) Any person desiring to be licensed as a dental
hygienist shali apply to the department to take the
licensure examinations and shall verify the information
required on the application by oath., The application
shall include two recent photographs of the applicant.
There shall be a nonrefundable application fee set by
the board not to exceed $100 and an examination fes
set by the board which shali not be more than $225. The
examination fee may be refunded if the appiicant is
found ineligible {o take the examinations.

{2) An applicant is entitled to take the examinations
requirad in this section to practice dental hygiene in this
state if the applicant:

{a} Is 18 years of age or older.

{0¥1. s a graduate of a dental hygiene college or
school approved by the board or accredited by the
Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental
Association or its successer entity, if any, or any other
dental hygiene program accrediting entity recognized by
the United States Department of Education; or

2. Is a graduate of a dental college or school
accredited in accordance with s, 466.006(2)b}, or a
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graduate of an unaccredited dental college or schooi,
and has met the requirements of subsection (3).

{c)1. In the case of a graduaie of a dental hygiene
coliege or school under subparagraph (2)(b)i.:

a. Has successiully completed the National Board
of Dental Hygiene examination at any time before the
date of application;

b. Has been certified by the American Dental
Association Joint Commission on National Denial Ex-
aminations at any time before the date of application;

c. Effective January 1, 1997, has completed cour-
sework that is comparabie fo an assocciate in science
degree;

d. Has not been disciplined by a board, except far
citation offenses or minor violations; and

e. Has not been convicted of or pled nola con-
tendere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeanor related to the practice of a healh care
profession.

2. In the case of a graduate of & dental coliege or
school under subparagraph (2)(b)2.:

a. Has successfully completed the National Board
Dental Hygiene Examination or the National Board
Dental Examination;

b. Has not been disciplined by a board, except for
citation offenses or minor violations; and

c. Has not been convicted of or pled nolo con-
tendere to, regardless of adjudication, any felony or
misdemeancr related to the practice of a health care
profession.

(3} A graduate of a dental coliege or school shali be
entitied to take the examinations required in this section
to practice dental hygiene in this state if, in addition to
the requirements specified in subsection {2), the
graduate meeis the following requirements:

{a) Submits the following credentials for review by
the board:

1. Transcripts fotaling 4 academic years of post-
secondary dental education; and

2. Adental school diploma which is comparable to a
D.0.S. or D.M.D.

Such credentials shall be submitted in a manner
provided by rule of the board. The board shall approve
those credentials which comply with this paragraph and
with rules of the board adopted pursuant to this
paragraph. The provisions of this paragraph notwith-
standing, an applicant of a foreign dental coliege or
school not accredited in accordance with s.
466.006(2)(b) who cannot produce the credentials
required by this paragraph, as a result of political or
ofher conditions in the country in which the applicant
received his or her education, may seek the board's
approval of his or her educational background by
submitting, in lieu of the credentials required in this
paragraph, such other reasonabie and reliable evidence
as may be set forth by board rule. The board shall not
accept such other evidence until it has made a reason-
able alternpt to obtain the credentials required by this
paragraph from the educational institutions the appli-
cant is alieged to have altended, unless the board is
otherwise satisfied that such credentials cannot be
obtained.



Ch. 466

DENTISTRY, DENTAL HYGIENE, AND DENTAL LABORATORIES

F.S. 2013

(b} Successfully completes one or more courses, of
& scope and duration approved and defined by board
ruie, that meet the requirements of law for instructing
health care providers on the human immunodeficiancy
virus and acguired immune deficiency syndrome. In
addition, the board may require an applicant who
graduated from a nonaccredited dental coilege or
school to successfully complete additional coursework,
only after failing the initial examination, as defined by
board rute, at an educational institution approved by the
board or aceredited as provided in subparagraph
{2}{b)1. A graduate of a foreign dental college or school
not accredited in accordance with 8. 466.006{2}(b) may
not take the coursework set forth in this paragraph untit
the board has approved the credentials required by
paragraph (a).

(4) Effective July 1, 2012, 1o be licensed as a dental
hygienist in this siate, an applicant must successfuily
complete the following:

(@) A written examination on the laws and rutes of
this state regulating the practice of dental hygiene,

(b) A practical or clinical examination approved by
the board. The examination shall be the Dental Hygiene
Examination produced by the American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc. (ADEX} or its successor entity, if any, if
the board finds that the successor entity's clinical
examination meets or exceeds the provisions of this
section. The board shall approve the ADEX Dental
Hygiene Examination if the board has attained and
continues to maintain represeniation on the ADEX
House of Representatives, the ADEX Dental Hygiene
Examination Development Committee, and such other
ADEX Dental Hygiene committees as the board deems
appropriate through rulemaking to ensure that the
standards established in this section are maintained
organizationally. The ADEX Dental Hygiene Examina-
tion or the examination produced by its successor entity
is & comprehensive examination in which an applicart
rmust demonstrate skills within the dental hygiene scope
of practice on a live patient and any other components
that the board deems necessary for the applicant to
successiully demonstrate competency for the purpose
of licensure. The ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination or
the examination by the successor entity administered in
this state shall be graded by dentists and dental
hygienists licensed in this state who are employed by
the depariment for this purpose.

(5) Effective July 1, 2012, an applicant who has
compieted the ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination in a
jurisdiction other than this state and who has obtained a
passing score may practice dental hygiene in this state if
the applicant;

(@) Has successfully completed the National Board
Dental Hygiene Examination at any time before the date
of application;

{b) Has been certified by the American Denial
Association Joint Commission on National Dental Ex-
aminations at any time before the date of application, as
specified by state law;

{¢} Has successfully completed a written examina-
tion on the laws and rutes of this state regulating the
practice of dental hygiene;
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{d} Has not been disciplined by a board, except for
citation offenses or minor violations: and

(e) Has not been convicted of or pled noko conten-
dere to, regardless of adjudication, any feiony of
misdemeanor rejated te the practice of a health care
profession.

(6)(a) A passing score on the ADEX Dentai Hygiene
Examination administered out of state shall be con-
sidered the same as a passing score for the ADEX
Dental Hygiene Examination administered in this state
and graded by licensed dentists and dentaf hygienists.

(by If an applicant fails to pass the ADEX Dental
Hygiene Examination in three attempts, the applicant is
not eligible to retake the examination unless the
applicant compietes additional education requirements

as specified by the board.

History.~ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318: s5. 6, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; &.
18, ch. BB-205; 5. 60, cb. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. 91-429: &, 88, ch. 92-149;
5. 1, ch. 94-105; s. 2, ch. 86-281; 5. 1108, ch. 87-103; s, 70, ch, 88.166; 5. 128, oh.
2000-160; s. 4, ch. 2005-189; s. 11, ch. 2008-64; 5. 13, ch. 2011-85; 5. 2, ch.
2012-14; 5. 85, ch. 2013-15.

466.0075 Applicants for examination; medical
malpractice insurance.—~—The board may require any
person applying to take the examination to practice
dentisiry in this state or the examination to practice
dental hygiene in this slate to maintain medical mal-
practice insurance in amounts sufficient to cover any
incident of harm to a patient during the clinical

examination.
History.—s. 4, ch. 96-281,

466.008 Certification of foreign educaticnal in-
stitutions.—

(1) The Legislature recognizes the need to ensure
that graduates of foreign dental schools whe have
received an education which is reasonably comparabie
to that of similar accredited institutions in the United
States and which adequately prepare their students for
the practice of dentistry shall be subject to the same
iicensure requirements as graduates of accrediied
dental schools or colleges. It is the purpose of this
section to provide for the evaluation of foreign dentai
schools and the certification of those foreign dental
schoois which provide an education which is reasonably
comparable to that of similar accredited institutions in
the United States and which adequately prepare their
students for the practice of dentistry.

(2) The department shall be responsible for the
certification of foreign dental schools based on stan-
dards established pursuant to subsection (4). The
department may contract with ouiside consultants or
a national professional organization to survey and
evaiuvate foreign dental scheols. Such consuitant or
organization shall report to the department regarding its
findings in the survey and evaiuation.

(3) The department shaii establish a technical
advisory group 1o review and comment upon the survey
and evaluation of a foreign dental school confracted for
pursuant to subsection {2) prior to any final action by the
depariment regarding certification of the foreign dental
school. The technical advisory group shall be selected
by the departmeni and shali consist of four dentists, two
of whom shall be selected from a list of five recognized
United States dental educators recommended by the
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foreign school seeking certification. None of the mem-
bers of the technical advisory group shall be affiliated
with the school seeking certification.

{4} Any foreign dental school which wisheas to be
certified pursuant to this section shall make application
10 the depariment for such certification, which shall be
based upon a finding that the educational program of
the foreign dental school is reasonably comparabie to
that of similar accredited institutions in the United States
and adequately prepares its students for the practice of
dentistry. Curriculum, faculty gualifications, student
attendance, plant and facilities, and other relevant
factors shali be reviewed and evaluated. The board,
with the cooperation of the department, shall identify by
rule the standards and review procedures and metho-
dology to be used in the certification process consistent
with this subsection. The department shali not grant
cerfification if deficiencies found are of such magnitude
as to prevent the students in the school from receiving
an educationai base suftable for the practice of den-
fistry.

(8} Periodic surveys and evaluations of all certified
schools shall be made to ensure continued compliance
with this section. Certification shall inglude provisional
and full certification. The provisional form of certification
shali be for a period determined by the department, not
10 exceed 3 vears, and shall be granted to an institution,
in accordance with rule, o provide reasonable time for
the school seeking permanent certification tc overcome
deficiencies found by the department. Prior to the
expiration of a provisional certification and before the
full certification is granted, the school shall be required
to submit evidence that deficiencies noted at the time of
initial application have been remedied. A school granted
full certification shall provide evidence of continued
compliance with this section. In the event that the
department denies certification or recertification, the
depariment shall give the school a specific listing of the
deficiencies which caused the denial and the require-
ments for remedying the deficiencies, and shall permit
the school, upon request, to demonstrate by satistactory
evidence, within 80 days, that # has remedied the
deficiencies listed by the depariment.

(8) A school shall pay a registration fee established
by rule of the department, not to exceed $1,000, at the
fime of application for certification and shall pay ali
reasonable costs and expenses the department expects
to tncur, in an amount not to exceed $40,000, for the
conduct of the ceriification survey.

(7) The department shall renew a certification upon
receipt of a renewai application, accompanied by a fee
not to exceed $50C. Each fully certifiad institution shall
submit a renewal application every 7 years. Any
certification which is not renewed shail automatically
expire.

History.—s. 99, ch. 82-148.

466.008 Reexamination.—

(1) The department shall permit any person who fails
an examination which is required under s. 466.006 or s.
466.007 to retake the examination. If the examination to
be retaken is a practical or clinical examination, the
applicant shall pay a reexamination fee set by rule of the

11

board in an amount not to exceed the original examina-
fion fee.

{2) f an appiicant for a license to practice dentistry
fails the practical or clinical examination because of a
failing grade on just one part or procedure tested, she or
he shall be required to retake only that part or
procedure, However, if any such appiicant fails more
than one part or procedure of any such examination,
she or he shall be required to retake the entire
examination.

(3} K an applicant for a ficense to practice dental
hygiene fails one portion of the practical or dlinical
examination, such applicant shall be required to retake
only that portion if she ar he reapplies within 12 months.
I, howeaver, the applicant fails the prophylaxis, she or he

shalt be required to retake the entire examination,
History.—ss. 1, 3, ch, 79-330; 55, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55. 23, 24, ch. 85-281; 5. 80,
ch. 91137, 8. 7, ¢h, 91-186; 5. 4, ch. 91-428, 5. 252, ¢h. 87-103; 5. 14, ch. 2011-85,

466.011 Licensure.—The board shall ceriify for
licensure by the department any applicant who satisfies
the requirements of s. 466.008, 5. 466.0067, or 5.
466.007. The board may refuse to certify an applicant
who has violated any of the provisions of 5. 466.026 or 5.
466.028.

History.—ss. 1; 3, ch. 78330, ss. 2, 3, ch, 81-318; ss. 23, 24, ch. 86-291, 8. 50,
ch, 90-228; 8. 4, ch. 80-341; 5. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 8. 4, ch. 81-429; 5. 3,
ch, 94-105; &. 3, ¢ch. 96-281; s. B, ch. 2008-64; 5. 15, ch. 2G11-85.

466.013 Renewal of license.—

(1) The depariment shall renew a license upon
receipt of the renewal application and the {es set by
the board not to exceed $300.

(2) The department shall adopt rules estabiishing a

procedure for the biennial renewal of licenses.
History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; 8s. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 23, 24, ch. 86-291, 5, 36,
ch. 86-162; s. 80, ch. £1-137; 5. 7, ch. 21-158, s. 4, ch. 81-42; 5. 180, ch. 84,118,

466.0135 Continuing education; dentists.—

(1} In addition 1o the other requirements for renewal
set out in this chapter, each licensed dentist shali be
required to complete biennially not less than 30 hours of
continuing professional education in dental subjects.
Programs of continuing education shall be programs of
learning that contribute directly to the dental education
of the dentist and may include, but shall not be imited to,
attendance at lectures, study clubs, college postgrad-
uate courses, or scientific sessions of conventions; and
research, graduate study, teaching, or service as a
clinician. Programs of confinuing educaticn shall be
acceptable when adhering to the following general
guidelines:

{a} The aim of continuing education for dentists is 1o
improve all phases of denial health care delivery to the
public.

{b) Coentinuing education courses shall address one
or mere of the following areas of professionai develop-
ment, including, but not fimited to:

1. Basic medical and scientific subjects, including,
but not limited to, biology, physiciogy, pathology,
biochemistry, and pharmacology;

2, Ciinical and technological subjects, including, but
not limited to, clinical technigques and procedures,
maierials, and equipment; and

3. Subjects pertinent to oral health and safety.
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(c} Theboard may also autharize up to three hours of
credit biennially for a practice management course that
includes principles of ethical practice management,
provides substance abuse, effective communication
with patients, time management, and burnout preven-
tion instruction.

{d} Continuing education credits shall be earned at
the rate of one-half credit hour per 25-30 contact
minutes of instruction and one credit hour per 50-60
contact minutes of instruction.

{2) Programs meeting the general requirements of
subsection (1) may be developed and offered to dentists
by any of the foliowing agencies or organizations:

(a} The American Dental Association, the National
Denial Association, and state, district, or tocal dental
associations and societies affiliated with the Amaerican
Dental Association or the National Dental Association,

{b} Naticnal, state, district, or local dental specialty
organizations affiliated with the American Dental Asso-
ciation.

{c) Dental colleges or schools accredited as pro-
vided in this chapter.

(d) Other organizations, schools, or agencies ap-
proved by the board.

{3} In applying for license renewal, the dentist shall
submit a sworn affidavit, on a2 form acceptable to the
department, attesting that she or he has completed the
continuing education required in this section in accor-
dance with the guidelines and provisions of this section
and listing the date, location, sponsor, subject matter,
and hours of completed continuing education courses.
The applicant shall retain in her or his records such
receipts, vouchers, or certificates as may be necessary
to document completion of the continuing education
courses listed in accordance with this subsection. With
cause, the board may request such documentation by
the applicant, and the board may request such doc-
umentation from applicants selected at random without
cause.

{(4) Compliance with the confinuing education re-
guirements of this section shall be mandatory for the
issuance of a renewal ceriificate by the department;
howaver, the board shall have the authority to excuse
licensees, as a group or as individuals, from said
requirements, or any part thereof, in the event of an

unusual circumstance, emergency, or special hardship.
History.—ss. 3, 5, ¢iv, B5-156; $5. 7, 23, 24, ch, 86-281; 5. 60, ¢h. 91-137;5. 7.
ch. 91-158; s. 4, ch. 81-429; 5. 253, ch. §7-103; &. 5, ch. 2005-189.

466.014 Coniinuing education; denial hygie-
nists.~-In addition to the other requirements for re-
licensure for dental hygienists set cut in this act, the
beard shall require each licensed dental hygienist io
complete not less than 24 hours or more than 36 hours
of continuing professional education in dental subjects,
biennially, in programs prescribed or approved by the
board or in equivalent programs of conlinuing educa-
tion. Programs of continuing education approved by the
board shail be programs of fearning which, in the opinion
of the board, coniribute directly to the dental education
of the dental hygienist. The board shail adopt ruies and
guidelines to administer and enforce the provisions of
this section. In appiying for license renawal, the dental
hygienist shalt submit & sworn affidavit, on a form
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acceptable to the department, atiesting that she or he
has completed the continuing education required in this
section in accordance with the guidelines and provisions
of this section and listing the date, location, sponsor,
subject matter, and hours of completed confinuing
education courses. The appiicant shall retain in her or
his records such receipts, vouchers, or cerificates as
may be necessary to document completion of the
continuing education courses lisied in accordance
with this section, With cause, the board may request
such documentation by the applicant, and the board
may request such documentation from applicants
selected at random without cause. Compliance with
the continuing education requirements shall be manda-
fory for issuance of the renewal certificate, The board
shall have the authority 1o excuse ficensees, as a group
or as individuals, from the continuing educational
requirements, or any part thersof, in the event an
unusual circumstance, emergency, or hardship has

prevented compliance with this section.

History,—ss. 1, 3, ch, 73-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; ss. 8, 23, 24, ch. 86-201; 5.
60, ch. 91-137; 8. 7, ch. 91-186; &. 4, ch. 91-420; 5. 254, ch. §7-108; s, 122, ch.
2000-153,

466.015 Inactive status.—

{1} The board shall adopt rules relating to application
procedures for inactive status, to the renewal of inactive
licenses, and to the reactivation of licenses. The hoard
shall prescribe by rule an application fee for inactive
status, a biennial renewal fee for inactive status, a
delinguency fee, and a fee for the reactivation of a
license. None of these fees may excead the biennial
renewal fee estabiished by the board for an active
licanse.

{2) The department shall not reactivate a ficense
urdess the inactive or delinguent licensee has paid any
applicable biennial renewal or delinguency fee, or both,

and a reactivation fee.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. ¥9-330; 5. 327, ch. 81-259; 55, 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 5. 101, ch.
83-320; s5. 9, 28, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. 60, ch. 91-157; 5. 7, ch. B1-156; 5. 4, ch. 91-429;
s, 181, ch. 94-114.

466.016 License to be displayed.—Every practi-
lioner of dentistry or dental hygiene within the meaning
of this chapter shali post and keep conspicuously
displayed her or his license in the office wherein she
or he practices, in plain sight of the practitioners
patients. Any dentist or dental hygienist who practices
at more than one iocation shall be required to display a
copy of her or his license in each office where she or he

practices.
History.~-ss. 1, 3, ¢ch. 78-330; s5. 2, 3, ch. 8§1-318; s¢. 23, 24, ¢h, 86-291; s. 60,
ch. §1-137; 5. 7, ch, 91-158; 5. 4, ch. 81-429; s. 256, ¢ch, 97-103.

486.017 Prescription of drugs; anesthesia.—

(1} A dentist shall have the right to prescribe drugs
or medicine, subject to iimitations imposed by law;
perform sutgical operations within the scope of her or
his practice and training; administer general or local
anesthesia or sedation, subject te limitations imposed
by law; and use such appliances as may be necessary
to the proper practice of dentistry.

{2y Pharmacists licensed pursuant to chapter 465
may fill prescriptions of legally licensed dentists in this
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state for any drugs necessary for the practice of
dentistry.

{3} The board shall adopt rules which;

(&) Define general anesthesia. .

{b} Specify which methods of general or local
anesthesia or sedation, if any, are limited or prohibited
for use by dentists.

{c) Establish minimal training, education, experi-
ence, or certification for a dentist to use general
anesthesia or sedation, which rules may exclude, in
the board’s discretion, those dentists using general
anesthesia or sedation in a competent and effective
manner as of the effective date of the rules.

(d) Establish further requirements relating to the use
of general anesthesia or sedation, including, but not
limited to, office equipment and the training of dental
assistants or dental hygienists who work with dentists
using general anesthesia or sedation.

{e) Establish an administrative mechanism enabling
the board to verify compliance with training, education,
experience, equipment, or cerfification requirements of
dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants
adopted pursuant 1o this subsection. The board may
charge a fee to defray the cost of verifying compliance
with reguirements adopted pursuant to this paragraph.

(4} A dentist or dental hygienist who administers or
employs the use of any form of anesthesia must
possess a certification in either basic cardiopulmonary
resuscitation for health professionals or advanced
cardiac life support approved by the American Heart
Association or the American Red Cross or an equivalent
agency-sponsored course with recertification every 2
years. Each dental office which uses any form of
anesthesia must have immediately available and in
good working order such resusciative egquipment,
oxygen, and other resuscitative drugs as are specified
by rule of the board in order to manage possible adverse
reactions.

(5) A dental hygienist under the direct supervision of
& dentist may administer local anesthesia, including
intraoral block anesthesia, soft tissue infiltration an-
esthesia, or both, to a nonsedated patient who is 18
years of age or older, if the following criteria are met;

{a) The dental hygienist has successiully compieted
a course in the administration of local anesthesia which
is offered by a dental or dental hygiene program
accredifed by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association or approved by the
board. The course must include a minimum of 30 hours
of didactic instruction and 30 hours of clinical experi-
ence, and instruction in:

Theory of pain control.
Selection-of-pain-control modalities.
Anatomy.

Neurophysioicgy.

Pharmacoiogy of local anesthefics.
Pharmacology of vasoconstrictors.
Psycholegical aspects of pain conirol.
Systematic complications.

. Technigues of maxillary anesthesia.
10. Techniques of mandibular anesthasia.
11. Infection control.

12. Medical emergencies involving iocal anesthesia.

WNo oGt
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{b) The dental hygienist presents evidence of current
certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support.

(c} The dental hygienist possesses a valid certificate
issued under subsection (6).

{6) Any dental hygienist seeking a certificate to
administer local anesthesia must apply to the depart-
mant, remit an application fee, and submit proof of
successful completion of a course in the administration
of focal anesthesia pursuant to subsection (5). The
board shall certify, and the department shall issue a
certificate fo, any dental hygienist who fulfils the
qualifications of subsection {5). The board shall estab-
lish a one-time application fee not to exceed $35. The
certificate is not subject to renewal but is part of the
dental hyglenist’s permanent record and must be
prominently displayed at the location where the dental
hygienist is authorized to adminisier local anesthesia,
The board shall adopt rules necessary to administer
subsection {5) and this subsection.

{7) A licensed dentist may utilize an X-ray machine,
expose dental X-ray films, and interpret or read such
films. The provisions of part IV of chapter 468 to the
contrary notwithstanding, a licensed dentist may author-
ize or direct a dental assistant to operate such equip-
ment and expose such films under her or his direction
and supervision, pursuant to rules adopted by the board
in accordance with s. 466.024 which ensure that said
assistant is competent by reason of training and
experience to operate said equipment in a safe and
efficient manner. The board may charge a fee not to
exceed $35 1o defray the cost of verifying compliance
with requirements adopted pursuant to this section,

{(8) The provisions of s. 465.0276 notwithstanding, a
denfist need not register with the board or comply with
the continuing education requirements of that section if
the dentist confines her or his dispensing activity to the
dispensing of fluorides and chiorohexidine rinse solu-
tions; provided that the dentist complies with and is
subject to afl laws and rules applicable to pharmacists
and pharmacies, including, but not limited to, chapters
465, 499, and 893, and all appiicable federat laws and

regulations, when dispensing such products.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; 85, 13, 15, 25, 27, 30, 34, 62, ch. 8B0-406; 5. 328,
ch. 81-289; 5. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 5. 1, ch. 85-156; s5. 10, 23, 24, ch. 856-291; 5. 1, ch.
87-208; ¢. 37, ch. 89-162; 5, BG, ch. §1-137; 8. 7, ch. 91-156; ¢. 4, ¢h. §1-428; 5. 34,
ch. B5-144; 5. 256, ch. 97-103; 5. 109, ch. 87-264; 5. 3, ch. 2012-14,

466.018 Dentist of record; patient records,—

{1) Each patient shall have a dentist of record. The
dentist of record shall remain primarily responsibie for
ali dental treatment on such patient regardiess of
whether the treatment is rendered by the dentist or by
another deniist, dental hygienist, or dental assistant
rendering such treatment in conjunction with, at the
direction or request of, or under the suparvision of such
dentist of record. The dentist of record shali be identified
in the record of the patient. If treatment is rendered by a
dentist other than the dentist of record or by a denial
hygienist or assistant, the name or initials of such
person shall be placed in the record of the patient. in any
disciplinary proceeding brought pursuant to this chapter
or chapter 456, it shall be presumed as a matier of law
that treatment was rendered by the dentist of record
unless otherwise noted on the patient record pursuant to
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this section. The dentist of record and any other treating
dentist are subject to discipline pursuant to this chapter
or chapter 456 for treatment rendered the patient and
petformed in violation of such chapter. One of the
purposes of this section is to ensure that the respon-
sibility for each patient is assigned to one dentist in a
multidentist practice of any nature and tc assign primary
responsibility to the dentist for treatment rendered by a
dentat hygienist or assistant under her or his super-
vision. This section shall not be construed to assign any
responsibility to a dentist of record for treatment
rendered pursuant to a proper referral to another dentist
not in practice with the dentist of record or te prohibit a
patient from voluntarily selecting a new dentist without
permission of the dentist of record.

(2) if the dentist of record is not identified in the
paiient record as required by subsection (1), it shall be
presumed as a matter of law that the dentist of record is
the owner of the dental practice in which the patient was
ireated. Further, the deniist of record in a multidentist
practice shall not change unless the subsequent ireat-
ing dentist acknowledges in writing in the record that
she or he is now the dentist of record for the patient. 1t
shall be presumed as a matter of law that a new dentist
of record nas taken or reviewed the patient's medica!
history and dental records, that she or he has examined
the patient, and that she or he has either developed a
new treatment plan or has agreed to coniinue the
preexisting treatment plan. However, the dentist of
record shall be changed when the dentist of record
leaves the practice where the treatment was being
rendered and the patient elects to continue treatment in
the office where treatment began.

(3) Every dentist shall maintain written dental re-~
cords and medical history records which justify the
course of treatment of the patient. The records shall
inciude, but nol be fimited to, patient history, examina-
tion results, iest resuits, and, if taken, X rays.

{4) Inamuitidentist practice of any nature, the owner
dentist shalt maintain sither the original or a duplicate of
all patient records, including dental charts, patient
histories, examination and test resuits, study models,
and X rays, of any patien! treated by a dentist at the
owner dentist’s practice facility. The purpose of this
requirement is to impose a duty upon the owner of &
multidentist practice to maintain patient records for all
patients treated at the owner's practice facility whether
or not the owner was invelved in the patient’s treatment.
This subsection does not relieve the dentist of record in
a multidentist practice of the responsibility te maintain
patient records. An owner dentist of a multidentist
practice may be refieved of the responsibility to maintain
the original or duplicate patient records for patients
{reated at the owner dentist's practice facility #, upon
request of the patient or the patient's legal representa-
tive, she or he transfers custody of the records to
another dentist, the patient, or the patient’s legal
representative and retains, in lisu of the records, a
written statement, signed by the owner dentist, the
person who received the records, and two withessaes,
that lists the dale, the records that were fransferred, and
the persons to whom the records were transferred.
Further, the dentist of record may be relieved of the
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responsibility to maintain the original or duplicate patient
records if she or he leaves the practice where the
treatment was rendered, iransfers custody of the
records to the owner of the practice, and retains, in
fieu of the records, a written statement, signed by the
dentist of record, the owner of the practice, and two
witnesses, that lists the date and the records that were
transferred. The owner dentist shall provide reasonable
access to duplicate records at cost.

(5} Al patient records kept in accordance with this
section shall be maintained for a period of 4 y=ars from

the date of the patient's last appointment.

Histery.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330: ss. 2, 3, ch, 81-318; 55. 3, 41, ¢h. 82-179; 8s. 1,
23, 24, ch. B6-291; 5. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-158; 8. 4, ch. 91-428, s, 257, ch.
97-103; 8. 71, ch. 98-166; 5. 130, ch, P00C-160.

466.019 Advertising by dentists.—

{1) The purpose of this section is 10 ensure that the
public has access to information which provides a
sufficient basis upon which to make an informad
selection of dentists while aiso ensuring that the public
is protected from false or misleading adverisements
which would detract from a fair and rational selection
process. The board shall adopt rules to carry out the
intent of this section, the purpose of which shali be to
regulate the manner of such adverlising in keeping with
the provisions hereof.

{2} No advertisement by a licensed dentist shali
contain any false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive
staterment or claim or any statement or claim which:

{a) Contains misrepresentations of fact;

{b) Is likely to mislead or deceive because in context
it makes only a partial disclosure of relevant facts;

{c} Contains taudatory statements about the dentist
or group of dentists;

(d) is intended or is likely to create faise, unjustified
axpectations of favorable results;

{e) Relates to the quaiity of dental services provided
as compared 1o other available dental services;

(fy Is intended or is fikely to appeal primarily ic a
layperson’s fears;

(g} Contains fee information without a disciaimer that
such is & minimum fee only; or

{h) Contains other representations or implications
that in reasonable probability will cause an ordinary,
prudent person to misunderstand or to be deceived.

(3) For purposes of this section, D.D.S. or D.M.D.
are synonymous and may be used interchangeably by
licensed dentists who have graduated from an accre-
dited American dentat school with & D.D.8. or D.M.D.

degree, when advertising dental services.
History.—ss, 1, 3, ch. 79-330; s&. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; s5. 12, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5.
14, 66, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. $1-426.

466.021 Retention of dental laboratories by
dentist; penalty.—Each licensed dentist who uses
the services of any dental taboratory for the purpose
of constructing, altering, repairing, or duplicating any
denture, implant, veneer, partial denture, bridge splint,
orthodontic or other prosthetic appliance, or other
suitable form of artificial oral restorative device shall
be required to furnish the dental laboratory with a written
prescription in a form prescribed by rute of the board.
This prescription shall be dated and signed by the
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dentist and shall include the license number of the
dentist, the patient’s name or number with sufficient
descriptive information to clearly identify each separate
and individual piece of work to be performed by the
dental laboratory, and a specification of materials to be
contained in each work product. A copy of the prescrip-
tion shall be retained in a file in the prescribing dentist's
office for a period of 4 years following the date the
prescription was issued, and the original prescription
shall be retained in a file by the dental laboratory for a
period of 4 years. A registered dental laboratory shall
disclose in writing at the time of delivery of the final
restoration {o the prescribing dentist the materials and
all cettificates of authenticity that constitute each
product manufactured and the point of origin of man-
ufacture of each restoration, including the address and
centact information of the dental laboratory. The file of
prescriptions to be kept by the dentist and the dental
taboratory shall be open to inspection at any reasonable
time by the department or its constituted agent. Failure
of the dentist to keep records of each prescription shail
subject the dentist o suspension or revocation of her or
his license to practice dentistry in this state. Failure of a
dental laboratory that has accepted a prescription to
have the original or electronic copy of each prescription
and to ensure the accuracy of each product’'s material
disclosure at the time it is delivered to the prescribing
dentist as required by this section is admissible
evigence of a violation of this chapter and constitutes
a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as
provided in s. 775.082 or 5. 775.083. This section does
not preciude a registered dental laboratory from working
for another registered dental faboratory if that work is
performed pursuant to written authorization, in a form to
be prescribed by rule of the board, which evidences that
the originating laboratory has cbtained a valid prescrip-
tion and which sets forth the work to be performed and
the resulting material cerlifications to be provided. A
dental laboratory accepting prascriptions from dentists
is liable for damages caused by inaccuracies in the
material disclosure, certificates of authenticity, or point
of origin provided by the dental laboratory to the
prascribing dentist. This section does not preciude a
registered laboratory from providing its services to
dentists licensed and practicing in another state if that
work is requested or otherwise authorized in written
form that ciearly identifies the name and address of the
requesting dentist and sels forth the work 1o be
performed and otherwise complies with all applicabie

laws and treaties.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 3, ch, 81-318; s5. 28, 24, ¢h. 86-291; 5, 60,
ch. 91187, 5. 7, ch. 91156 5. 83, ¢h. 01-224; . 4, ch. 91-420; 5. 258, ch. §7-103; 5.
2, ch. 98-183; 5. 128, ch. 59.387; 5. 6, ch. 2005-189; s. 8, ch. 2008-84,

466.022 Peer review; records; immunity; con-
fidentiality.—

{1) The Legislature finds that effective peer review of
consumer complainis by professional associations of
dentists is a valuable service to the public. in performing
such service, any member of a peer review crganization
or commitiee shali, pursuant to s. 466.028{1){f), report
o the depariment the name of any licensee who he or
she believes has violated this chapter. Any such peer
review committee member shafl be afforded the
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privileges and immunities of any other complainant or
witness which are provided by 5. 456.073(11). Furiher-
more, a prolessional organization or associaticn of
dentists which sponsers, sanctions, or otherwise oper-
ates or paricipates in peer review activities is hereby
afforded the same privileges and immunities afforded 1o
any member of a duly constituled medical review
commitiee by s. 766.101(3).

{2) Information obtained from the official records of
peer review organizations or commitiees shall not be
subject to discovery or introduction into evidence in any
disciplinary proceeding against a licensee. Further, no
person who voluntarily serves on a peer review
committee or who investigates a complaint for the
committee shall be permitted or required to testify in
any such disciplinary proceeding as to any svidence or
other matters produced or presented during the pro-
ceedings of such organization or commitiee or as to any
findings, recommendations, evaluations, opinions, or
other actions of such organization or committee or any
members thereof. However, nothing in this section shall
be construed to mean that information, documents, or
records otherwise available and obtained from origina
sources are immune from discovery or use in any such
disciplinary proceeding merely because they were
presented during proceedings of a peer review organi-
zafion or committee. Members of peer review organiza-
tions shall assist the depariment in identification of such
original sources when possible.

(3) Peer review information obtained by the depart-
ment as background infoermation shall remain confiden-
tial and exempt from ss. 119.07{1) and 286.011
regardless of whether probable cause is found. The
provisions of s. 766.101 continue to apply in fuli
notwithstanding the fact that peer review information
becomes available {o the depariment pursuant to this
chapier. For the purpose of this section, official records
of peer review organizations or commiitees inciude
correspondence hetween the dentist who is the subject
of the complaint and the organization; correspondence
between the compiainant and the organization; diag-
nostic data, treatment plans, and radiographs used by
investigators or otherwise relied upon by the organiza-
tion or committee; results of patient examinations;
interviews; evaiuation worksheets: recommendation
worksheets; and peer review report forms.

(4) The provisions of this section shall apply to ethics
review commitiees of a professional association of

dentists.

History.—ss. 18, 24, ch, 86-201; 5. 2, ch. 87-208; &. 8, ch. 898-182; 5. 60, ¢h.
91-137; 8. 22, ch. 91-140: 5. 7, ¢h. §1-158; 8. 4, ch. 81-429; 5. 35, ch. 95-144; 5. 318,
oh. 96-408; s. 1109, ch. 97-103; 5, 72, ch. §8-166; 5. 131, ¢h. 2000-180.

466.023 Dental hygienists; scope and area of
practice,-—

(1) Except as ctherwise provided in s. 466.024, only
dentai hygienists may be defegated the task of removing
calculus deposits, accretions, and stains from exposed
sutfaces of the teeth and from the gingival suicus and
the task of performing root planing and curettage. in
addition, dental hygienists may expose dental X-ray
films, apply topical preventive or prophylactic agents,
and petform all tasks delegable by the dentist in
accordance with s. 466.024. The board by ruie shall
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determine whether such functions shall be performed
under the direct, indirect, or genera! supervision of the
dentist.

{2} Dental hygienists may perform their duties:

{a) In the cffice of a licensed dentist;

(b} In public health programs and institutions of the
Department of Children and Family Services, Depart-
ment of Health, and Department of Juvenile Justice
under the general supervision of a licensed dentist;

(c) In a health access setiing as defined in s.
466.003; or

(d) Upon a patient of record of a dentist who has
issued a prescription for the services of a dental
hygienist, which prescription shall be valid for 2 years
unless a shorter iength of time is designated by the
dentist, in:

1. Licensed pubiic and private heaith facilities;

2. Other public institutions of the staie and federal
govermnment;

3. Public and private educational instifutions;

4. The home of a nonambulatory patient; and

5. QOther places in accordance with the rules of the
board.

However, the dentist issuing such prescription shall
remain responsibie for the care of such palient. As used
in this subsection, “patient of record” means a patient
upon whom a dentist has faken a complete medical
hisiory, completed a clinical examination, recorded any
pathological conditions, and prepared a treatment plan.

(3} Dental hygienists may, without supervision, pro-
vide educational programs, faculty or siaff training
programs, and authorized fluoride rinse programs;
apply fluorides; instruct a patient in oral hygiene care;
supervise the oral hygiene care of a patient; and
perform other services that do not involve diagnosis
or treatment of dental conditions and that are approved
by rule of the board.

{4) The board by rule may limit the number of dental
hygienists or dental assistants to be supervised by a
dentist if they perform expanded duties requiring direct
or indirect supervision pursuant to the provisions of this
chapter. The purpose of the limitation shall be to protect
the health and safety of patients and to ensure that
procedures which require morg than general super-
vision be adequately supervised. However, the Depart-
ment of Children and Family Services, Department of
Health, Department of Juvenile Justice, and public
institutions approved by the board shall not be so
limited as to the number of dental hygienisis or dental
assistants working under the supervision of a licensed
dentist.

(5) Dental hygienisis may, without supervision, per-
form dental charting as provided in 8. 466.0235.

(6) Dental hygienists are exempt from the provisions
of part IV of chapter 468,

(7} A dentat hygienist may administer local anesthe-

sia as provided in ss. 466.017 and 466.024,

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch, 79-330; s8. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 8. 14, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; s,
680, ch. 91-137: 8. 7, ch. 81-156; ¢. 4, ¢ch. 81-420, 5. 36, ch. 85-144; 5. 5, ch. 96-281;
s. 225, oh. 98-8, 8. 1, ch. 2006-149; 5. 5, ch. 2011-95! 5. 4, ch. 2012-14.
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466.0235 Dental charting.—

(1) For purposes of this section, the term “denial
charling” means a recording of visual observations of
ciinical conditions of the oral cavity without the use of X
rays, laboratory tests, or other diagnostic methods or
equipment, except the instruments necessary to record
visual restorations, missing teeth, suspicious areas, and
pericdontal pockets.

(2) A dental hygienist may, without supervision and
within the lawiful scope of his or her duties as authorized
by law, perform dental charting of hard and soft tissues
in public and private educational institutions of the state
and Federal Governmeni, nursing homes, assisted
living and long-term care facilities, community health
ceniers, county health departments, mobile dental or
health units, health access settings as defined in s,
466.003, and epidemiological surveys for public health.
A dental hygienist may aiso perform dental charting on a
volunteer basis at heaith fairs.

{3) Each person who receives a dental charting
pursuant to this section, or the parent or legal guardian
of the person, shail receive and acknowtedge a written
disclosure form before recelving the dental charting
procedure that states that the purpose of the dentai
charting is to collect data for use by a dentist at a prompt
subsequent examination. The disclosure form shall also
emphasize that diagnosis of caries, soft tissue disease,
oral cancer, temporomandibular joint disease (TMJ},
and dentofacial maiocclusions can only be completed
by a dentist in the context of delivering a comprehensive
dental examination.

(4} The board shall approve the content of charting
and disclosure forms to be used under this section. Both
forms shall emphasize the inherent limitations of dental
charting and encourage complete examination by a
dentist in rendering a professional diagnosis of the
patient’s overall oral health needs.

{5) Dental charling performed under this section is
not a substitute for a comprehensive dental examina-
tion.

(8) Medical clearance by a physician or dentist is
required before a pericdontal probe may be used on a
person who receives a denial chariing.

{7) Nothing in this section shali be construed to
permit direct reimbursement for dental chatiing per-
formed under this section by Medicaid, health insurers,
heaith maintenance organizations, prepaid dental
plans, or other third-party payors beyond what is
ctherwise allowable by law.

(8) All referrals made in conjunction with the provi-
sion of dental charting services under this section shal;
be in strict conformance with federal and state patient
referral, anti-kickback, and patient brokering laws.

(9) A dental hygienist performing dentai charting
without supervision shall not be deemed to have created

either a patient of record or a medical record.
History.—s. 2, ¢h. 2006-148; s. 6, ch. 2011-85.

466.024 Delegation of duties; expanded func-
tions.—

(1) A dentist may not delegate irremediable tasks to
a dental hygienist or dental assistani, except as
provided by law. A dentist may delegate remediable
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tasks o a dental hygienist or dental assistant when such
tasks pose no risk to the patient. A dentist may only
delegate remediabie tasks so defined by law or rule of
the board. The board by rule shall designate which tasks
are remedizble and delegable, except that the following
are by law found to be remediable and delegable:

(&) Taking impressions for study casts but not for the
purpose of fabricating any intraoral restorations or
orthodontic appliance.

{b} Placing periodontal dressings.

(c) Removing periodontal or surgical dressings.

(d) Removing suturas.

{e} Placing or removing rubbar dams.

{i Placing or removing matrices.

(gy Placing or removing temporary restorations.

(h) Applying cavity liners, varnishes, or bases.

(i Polishing amalgam restorations.

(it Polishing clinical crowns of the teeth for the
purpose of removing staing but not changing the
existing contour of the tooth.

(k) Obtaining bacteriological cytological specimens
not involving cutting of the tissue.

(I} Administering locai anesthesia pursuant to s.
466.017(5).

This subsection does not limit delegable tasks to those
specified herein.

(2) A denial hygienist licensed in this state may
perform the following remediable tasks in a health
access sefting as defined in 5. 466.003 without the
physical presence, prior examination, or authorization of
a dentist:

(a) Perform dental charting as defined in s. 466.0235
and as provided by rule.

{b) Measure and record a patient’s bicod pressure
rate, pulse rate, respiration rate, and oral temperature.

(¢} Recotrd & patient’s case history.

(d) Apply topical fluorides, inctuding fluoride
varnishes, which are approved by the American Dental
Association or the Food and Drug Administration.

{e} Apply dental sealants.

(fH Remove caiculus deposits, accretions, and stains
from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from tooth
surfaces within the gingival sulcus.

1. A dentist licensed under this chapier or a
physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459
must give medical clearance before a dental hygienist
removes calculus deposits, accretions, and stains from
exposed surfaces of the teeth or from tooth surfaces
within the gingival sulcus.

2. A dentist shall conduct a dental examination on a
paiient within 13 months after 2 dental hygienist
removes the patient’s calculus deposits, accretions,
and siains from exposed surfaces of the teeth or from
tooth surfaces within the gingival sulcus. Additional oral
hygiene services may not be performed under this
paragraph without a clinical examination by a dentist
who is licensed under this chapter.

This subsection does not authotize a dental hygienist to
perform roct planing or gingival curettage without
supervision by a dentist.
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{3) For all remediable tasks listed in subsection (2,
the following disclaimer must be provided to the patient
in writing before any procedure is performed:

(a) The services being offered are not a substitute
for a comprehensive dental exam by a dentist.

{b) The diagnosis of caries, soft tissue disease, oral
cancer, temporomandibular joint disease (TMJ), and
dentofacial malocciusions will be completed only by a
dentist in the context of delivering a comprehensive
dental exam.

{4) This section does not prevent a program oper-
ated by one of the health access settings as defined in s.
466.003 or a nonprofit organization that is exempt from
federal income taxation under s. 501(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code and described in s. 501{c3) of the
Internal Revenue Code from billing and obtaining
reimbursement for the services described in this section
which are provided by a dental hygienist or from making
or maintaining any records pursuant to s. 456.057
necessary to obtain reimbursement.

{5) A dental hygienist who performs, without super-
vision, the remediable tasks listed in subsection (2}
shall:

(8) Provide a dental referrai in strict complance with
federal and state patient referral, anti-kickback, and
patient brokering iaws.

(b) Encourage the establishment of a dental home.

{c) Maintain professional malpraciice insurance cov-
erage that has minimum limits of $100,000 per occur-
rence and $300,000 in the aggregate through the
empioying health access setting or individual policy.

{8) Notwithstanding subsection (1) or subsection (2),
a dentist may delegate the tasks of gingival curettage
and root planing to a dental hygienist but not to a dental
assistant.

(7} Al other remediable iasks shall be performed
under the direct, indirect, or general supervision of a
dentist, as determined by rule of the board, and afier
such formai or on-the-job training by the dental hygienist
or dental assistant as the board by rule may require. The
board by ruie may establish & certification process for
expanded-duty dental assistanis, establishing such
training or experience criteria or examinations as it
deems necessary and specifying which tasks may be
delegable only to such assistants. if the board does
establish such a certification process, the department
shall implement the application process for such
certification and administer any examinations required.

(8) Notwithstanding subsection (1) or subsection (2),
a dentist may not delegate to anyone other than another
licensed dentist:

{(a} Any prescription of drugs or medications requir-
ing the written order or prascription of a ficensed dentist
or physician.

(b) Any diagnosis for treatment or treaiment plan-
ning.

{9) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a
dentist is primarily responsible for all procedures
delegated by her or him.
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{10) A dental assistant may not perform an intracral
procedure except after such formal or on-the-job train-

ing as the board by rule shall prescribe.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ¢h, 78-330: ss. 13, 15, 25, 28, 30, 34, 62, ch. 80-406; 55. 2. &,
ch. B1-318; 5. 2, ch. B5-158; ss. 15, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch.
91-168; &. 4, ch. 81-429; 5. 259, ch. 87-10%; 5. 7, ch. 2011-85; s, 5, ch. 2012-14.

466.025 Permitting of dental interns serving at
state institutions; certification of dentists practi-
cing at government facilities; permitting of non-
profit corporations.—

(1) The depariment shall, upon presentation of
satisfactory credentials meeting such requirements as
the board may by rule prescribe, issue a permit fo a
graduate of an approved dental school or college who
has not been licensed to practice dentistry in this state
to serve as a dental infern in state-maintained and state-
operated hospitals or institutes of Florida that may offer
such a post or in such hospitals or institutions as shall be
approved by the board; provided such hospitais or
institutions maintain & recognized staff of one or more
licensed dentists. Such intern shall function under the
general supervision of the dental staif of such hospital,
Her or his work shall be limited to the patients confined
to the hospital in which she or he serves, and she or he
shall serve without fee or compensation other than that
received in salary or other remuneration from such
hospital. The board shali have the power to revoke the
permit of any such intern at any time upon the
recommendation by the executive officer of the dental
staff of the hospital or institution in which the intern
serves or for any other just cause.

(2) The department shall have the authority to issue
temporary certificates 1o graduates of aceredited dental
schools o practice in state and county government
facilities, working under the general supervision of
licensed dentists of this state in the state or county
facility, provided such certificates shall be issued only to
graduates of schools approved by the board and further
subject to canceilation for just cause. A certificate
issued under this section is valid only for such time as
the dentist remains employed by & state or county
govermnment facility.

(3) The department shall have the authority, upon
presentation of satisfactory credentials and under such
rules as the board may prescribe, to issue apermitic a
nongrofit corporation chartered for cne or more of the
following purposes:

(a} Training and teaching dentai assistants in the
pubtlic schools of the state.

(b) Promoting research and training among duly
licensed dentists in the state.

{c) Providing dental care for indigent persons.

Such nonprofit corporations shall function pursuant to
rule of the board. The board shall have the power to
revoke the permit issued to any such corporalions for
any violation of the rules. Such permits shall be granted
and issued for a period of 1 year and shall be renewed
only upon appilication and approval of the board and
upon a showing by the nonprofit corporation that it is
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complying and will comply with the rules and regulations

and all provisions prescribed by the board.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330: ss. 13, 15, 25, 28, 30, 34, 62, ch. BG-406; 5. 2, 8.
ch. 81-318; 55, 16, 23, 24, ch. 86-291; &. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-186; 5. 4, ch.
91-428: 5. 100, ch. 92-148; s. 260, ch. 97-103; 5. 7, ch. 2005-189.

466,026 Prohibitions; penalties.—

(1) Each of the following acts constitutes a felony of
the third degree, punishable as provided in 5. 775.082,
5. 775.083, or 5. 775.084:

{(a) Practicing dentistry or dental hygiene uniess the
person has an appropriate, active license issued by the
department pursuant to this chapler,

(b} Using or attempting 1o use a license issued
pursuant to this chapter which license has been
suspended or revoked.

{c) Knowingly employing any person to perform
duties outside the scope aliowed such person under
this chapter or the rules of the board.

{(d) Giving false orforged evidence to the department
or board for the purpose of obtaining a license.

(e) Selling or offering to sell a diploma conferring a
degree from a denial college or dental hygiene school or
coliege, or a license issued pursuant to this chapter, or
procuring such diploma or license with intent that it shall
he used as evidence of that which the document stands
for, by & person other than the one upon whom it was
conferred or o whom it was granted.

{2} Each of the following acts constitutes a mis-
demeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in
8. 775.082 or 5. 775.083:

(a) Using the name or title “dentist,” the letiers
*0.D.&.7 or "D.M.D.”, or any other words, letters, titie,
or descriptive matter which in any way represents a
persen as being able to diagnose, treat, prescribe, or
operate for any disease, pain, deformity, deficiency,
injury, or physical condition of the teeth or jaws or oral-
maxillofacial region unless the person has an active
dertist's license issued by the depariment pursuant to
this chapter.

(b} Using the name “dental hygienist” or the initials
“R.D.H or otherwise holding herself or himself out as
an actively licensed dentat hygienist or implying to any
patient or consumer that she or he is an actively
licensed dental hygienist unless that person has an
active dental hygienist's license issued by the depart-
ment pursuant ic this chapter.

{c} Presenting as her or his own the license of
another.

{d) Knowingly concealing information relative to
viclations of this chapter.

(e) Performing any services as a dental assistant as
definad herein, except in the office of a licensed dentist,

unless authorized by this chapter or by rule of the board.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 78-330; 55, 2, 5, ch. 81-318; 55, 17, 23, 24, ch. 86-281: &.
60, oh, 81-137, 8. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 94, ch. B1-284; 5, 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 261, ch.
97-103; 5. 56, ch. 2000-318.

466.027 Sexual misconduct.—The dentist-patient
relationship is founded on mutual trust. Sexual mis-
congduct in the practice of dentistry means violation of
the dentist-patient relationship through which the dentist
uses said relationship fo induce or attempt to induce the
patientto engage, or o engage cr attempt to engage the
patient, in sexual aclivity outside the scope of the
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practice or the scope of genarally accepted examination
or treatment of the patient. Sexual misconduct in the

practice of dentistry is prohibited.
History,—ss. 1, 3, ch, 78-330; 5. 329, ¢h. 81-259; 85. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55, 28, 24,
ch, 86-291; 5. 60, ¢h, 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-156; 5, 4, ch, 81-428,

466.0275 Lawful investigations; consent hand-
writing samples; mental or physical examination.
Every dentist who accepts a license to practice dentisiry
in this state shall, by so accepting the license or by
making and filing a renewal of licensure to practice in
this state, be deemed to have given consent, during a
tawful investigation of a complaint to the following:

(1} To render a handwriting sample to an agent of
the department and, further, to have waived any
objections o iis use as evidence against her or him.

{2} Only in those circumstances where there is
probable cause that the dentist is guilty of violafions
involving moral turpifude, impairment, violations of laws
governing controlled substances, or any violation of
criminal law, the dentist shall be deemed to waive the
confidentiality and to execuie a release of medical
reports pertaining to the mental or physical condition of
the dentist herseif or himself. The depariment shall
issue an order, based on the need for additional
information, to produce such medical reports for the
fime period relevant te the investigation. As used in this
section, “medical reporis” means a compilation of
medical treatment of the dentist herself or himself
which includes symptoms, diagnosis, treaiment pre-
scribed, relevant history, and progress. The dentist shali
also be deemed to waive any objection to the admis-
sibility of the reports as constituting privileged commu-
nications. Such material maintained by the depariment
shall remain confidential and exempt from s. 119.07{1)
until probable cause is found and an administrative
complaint issued.

History.—s. 20, ch. 88-3082; . 1, ch. 88-288; ss. 60, 84, ch. 81-137; &. 23, ch.
91-140; 88, 7, 8, ¢h, B1-156; 8. 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 319, ch. 98-408; 5. 1110, ¢h, §7-103,

466.02751 Establishment of practitioner profile
for designation as a controlled substance prescrib-
ing practitioner.—The Department of Health shall
establish a practitioner profile for dentisis licensed
under this chapter for a practitioner's designation as a
controlled substance prescribing practitioner as pro-

vided in 5. 456.44.
Histary.—s. 29, ch. 2011-141.

466.028 Grounds for disciplinary action; action
by the board.—

(1) The following acts constitute grounds for denial
of a license or disciplinary action, as specified in s.
456.072(2):

{a) Aftempting o obtain, obtaining, or renewing &
license under this chapter by bribery, fraudulent mis-
representations, or through an arror of the depariment
ot the board.

{b} Having a license to practice dentistry or dental
hygiene revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted
against, including the denial of licensure, by the
licensing authority of another state, territory, or country.

{c) Being convicted or found guilly of or entering a
plea of nolo contendere 1o, regardiess of adjudication, a
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crime in any jurisdiction which relates to the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene. A plea of nolo contendere
shall create a rebuttable presumption of guilt o the
underlying criminal charges.

{d) Advertising goods or services in a manner which
is fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misieading in form or
cordent contrary to s. 466.019 or rules of the board
adopted pursuant thereto.

{e) Advertising, practicing, or attempting to practice
under a name other than one’s own.

{f) Failing to report to the department any person
who the licensee knows, or has reason 1o believe, is
ciearly in violation of this chapter or of the rules of the
department or the board.

{g) Aiding, assisting, procuring, or advising any
unlicensed person to practice dentistry or dental hy-
giene contrary to this chapter or 1o a rule of the
department or the board.

(h} Being employed by any corporation, organiza-
ftor, group, or person other than a dentist or a
professional corporation or limited liability company
composed of dentists to practice dentistry.

{(iy Failing to perform any statutory or legal obligation
placed upen a licensee.

{) Making or filing a report which the licensee knows
to be false, failing to file a report or record required by
state or federal faw, knowingly impeding or obstructing
such filing or inducing another person to do so. Such
reports or records shall inciude oniy those which are
signed in the capacity as a licensee.

(K} Commitiing any act which would constitute sex-
ual battery, as defined in chapter 794, upcn a patient or
intentionally touching the sexual organ of a patient. -

{i Making deceptive, untrue, or frauduient repre-
sentations in or related o the practice of dentistry.

(m} Failing to keep written dental records and medical
history records justifying the course of treatment of the
patient including, but not limiied o, patient histories,
examination resuits, test results, and X rays, if taken.

(n) Failing to make availabie to a patient or client, or
to her or his legal representative or to the department if
authorized in writing by the patient, copies of docurments
in the possession or under control of the licensee which
relate to the patient or client.

(o) Performing professional setvices which have not
been duly authorized by the patient or client, or her or
nis legal representative, except as provided in ss.
766.103 and 768.13.

{p} Prescribing, procuring, dispensing, administer-
ing, mixing, or otherwise preparing a legend drug,
including any controlied substance, other than in the
course of the professional practice of the dentist, For the
purposes of this paragraph, it shall be iegally presumed
that prescribing, procuring, dispensing, administering,
mixing, or otherwise preparing legend drugs, including
ali controlled substances, in excessive or inappropriaie
quantities is not in the best interest of the patient and is
not in the course of the professional practice of the
dentist, without regard to her or his intent.

(@) Prescribing, procuring, dispensing, or adminis-
tering any medicinal drug appearing on any schedule
set forth in chapter 893, by a dentist to herself or
himself, except those prescribed, dispensad, or
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administered io the dentist by another practitioner
authorized to prescribe them.

(r} Prescribing, procuring, ordering, dispensing, ad-
ministering, supplying, selling, or giving any drug which
is a Schedule il amphetamine or a Schedule i
sympathomimetic amine drug or a compound thereof,
pursuant to chapter 893, to or for any person except for
the clinical investigation of the effects of such drugs or
compounds when an investigative protocol therefor is
submitted to, and reviewed and approved by, the board
before such investigation is hegun.

(s} Beingunable to practice her or his profession with
reasonabie skill and safety o patients by reason of
illness or use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or
any other type of material or as a result of any mental or
physical condition. in enforcing this paragraph, the
depariment shall have, upon a finding of the State
Surgeon General or her or his designee that probable
cause exisits to believe that the licensee is unable to
practice dentistry or dental hygiene because of the
reasons stated in this paragraph, the authority to issue
an order to compel z licensee to submit to 2 mental or
physical examination by physicians designated by the
department. If the licensee refuses to comply with such
order, the department’s order directing such examina-
tion may be enforced by filing a petition for anforcement
in the circuit court where the licensee resides or does
business. The licensee against whom the pefitionis filed
shall not be named or identified by initials in any public
court records or documents, and the proceedings shall
be closed to the public. The department shall be entitied
to the summary procedure provided in s. 51.011. A
licensee affected under this paragraph shall at reason-
abte intervals be afforded an opportunity o demonstrate
that she or he can resume the competent practice of her
or his profession with reascnable skili and safety to
patients.

{y Fraug, deceit, or misconduct in the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene.

(uy Faijure to provide and mainiain reasonable
sanitary facilities and conditions.

{v) Failure to provide adequate radiation safeguards.

(w) Performing any procedure or prescribing any
therapy which, by the prevailing standards of dental
practice in the communily, would constitute experimen-
tation on human subjects, without first obtaining full,
informed, and written consent.

{x) Being guilty of incompetence or negligence by
failing to meet the minimum standards of performance
in diagnosis and treatment when measured against
generally prevailing peer performance, including, but
not limited to, the undertaking of diagnosis and treat-
ment for which ihe dentist is not qualified by training or
experience or being guilty of dental malpractice. For
purposes of this paragraph, it shall be legaliy presumed
that a dentist is not guilty of incompetence or negligence
by declining to treat an individual if, in the dentist's
professional judgment, the dentisi or a member of heror
his clinicai staff is not qualified by training and experi-
ence, or the dentist's treatment facility is not clinically
satisfactory or propetly equipped to treat the unigue
characteristics and health status of the dental patient,
provided the dentist refers the patient to a qualified
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dentist or facility for appropriate treatment. As used in
this paragraph, “dental maipractice” includes, but is not
limited to, three or more claims within the previous 5-
year period which resulted in indemnity being paid, or
any single indemnity paid in excess of $25,000 in a
judgment or settiement, as a result of negligent condyct
on the part of the dentist.

{y) Practicing or offering to practice beyond the
scope permitted by law or accepting and performing
professional responsibilities which the licensee knows
or has reason to know that she or he is not competent fo
parform,

(z) Delegating professional responsibilities to a per-
son whe is not qualified by training, experience, or
licensure to perform them,

{aa} The vioiation of a lawful order of the board or
depariment previously entered in a disciplinary hearing;
or failure to comply with a lawfully issued subpoena of
the board or department.

{bb) Conspiring with another licensee or with any
person to commit an act, or committing an act, which
would tend to coerce, intimidate, or preclude another
licensee from lawfuily advertising her or his services.

{cc) Being adjudged mentally incompetent in this or
any other state, the discipline for which shall iast only so
long as the adjudication.

{dd} Presigning blank prescription or iaboratory
work order forms.

(ee) Prescribing, ordering, dispensing, administer-
ing, supplying, seliing, or giving growth hormones,
testosterone or its analogs, human chorionic genado-
tropin (HCG), ar other hormones for the purpese of
muscle building or to enhance athistic performance. For
the purposes of this subsection, the term “muscle
building” does not include the treatment of injured
muscle. A prescription written for the drug products
listed above may be dispensed by the pharmacist with
the presumption that the prescription is for legitimate
medical use.

{ffy Operating or causing 1o be operated a dental
office in such a manner as to result in dental treatment
that s below minimum acceptable standards of perfor-
mance for the community. This includes, but is not
limited to, the use of substandard materials or equip-
ment, the imposition of time limitations within which
dental procedures are to be performed, or the failure to
maintain patient records as required by this chapter.

{gg) Administering anesthesia in & manner which
violates rules of the board adopted pursuant io s.
466.017.

{hh} Failing to report to the depariment any licenses
under chapter 458 or chapter 459 who the dentist knows
has violated the grounds for disciplinary action set out in
the law under which that person is licensed and who
provides health care services in a facility licensed under
chapter 395, or a health maintenance organization
cerfificated under part | of chapter 841, in which the
dentist alsc provides services.

(iiy Failing to report to the board, in writing, within 30
days if action has been taken against one's license to
practice dentistry in another state, territory, or country.

(iy Advertising specialty services in violation of this
chapter.
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(ki) Allowing any person other than another dentist or
a professional corporation or limited liability company
composed of dentists to direct, control, or interfere with
a dentist’s clinicai judgment; however, this paragraph
may not be construed to limit a patient's right of
informed consent. To direct, control, or interfere with
a dentist's clinica! judgment may noi be interpreted io
meahn dental services contractually excluded, the apph-
cation of alternative benefits that may be appropriate
given the dentist’s prescribed course of treatment, of
the appiication of contractual provisions and scope of
coverage determinations in comparison with a dentist’s
prescribed treatment on behalf of a covered pearson by
an insurer, health mainienance organization, or a
prepaid limited heaith service organization.

{ly Providing deceptive or fraudulent expert witnass
testimony related to the practice of dentistry.

(mm} Violating any provision of this chapter or
chapter 456, or any rutes adopted pursuant thersto.

{2} The board may enter an order denying licensure
or imposing any of the penatlties in s. 456.072(2) against
any applicant for licensure or licensee who Is found
guilty of violating any provision of subsection (1) of this
section or who is found guilty of violating any provision
of 5. 456.072(1).

(3) There shall be a minimum 8-month suspension
of the license of a dentist who is convicted of a violation
of paragraph {1}z).

{4y The department shall reissue the license of a
disciplined licensee upon cettification by the board that
the disciplined licensee has complied with all of the
terms and conditions set forth in the final order.

(5) In addition, if the department finds that an
applicant has a complaint filed against her or him in
another jurisdiction, the board may deny the application
pending final disposition of the complaint.

(6) Upon the department’s receipt from an insurer or
self-insurer of a repori of a ciosed claim against a dentist
pursuant to s. 627.912 or upon the receipt from a
claimant of a presuit notice against a dentist pursuant to
5. 766.106 the department shall review each report and
cetermine whether it potentially involved conduct by a
licensee that is subject to disciplinary action, in which
case the provisions of s. 456.073 shall apply. However,
if it is reported thai 2 dentist has had any indemnity paid
in excess of $25,000 in a judgment or settlement or has
had three or more claims for dental malpractice within
the previous 5-year period which resulted in indemnity
being paid, the gepartment shail investigate the occur-
rence upon which the claims were based and determine
if action by the department against the deniist is
warranted.

(7) Subject to the authorily and conditions estab-
lished in 5. 456.073, the probable cause panel of the
board may recommend that the department seek a
specified penally in cases in which probable cause has
been found and the panel has directed that an admin-
istrative complaint be filed. if the depariment seeks a
penalty other than that recommended by the probable
cause panel, the department shali provide the board
with a written statement which sets forth the reasons
therefor. Nothing in this subsection shall preclude a
probable cause panel of any other board under the
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jurisdiction of the department from making similar
recommendations as penalties.

{8) The purpose of this section is to facilitate uniform
discipline for those acts made punishable under this
section and, to this end, a reference o this section
constitutes a general reference under the doctrine of

incorporation by raference.

History.—ss. 1, 3, ch. 79-330; s. 5, ch. B0-354; &. 330, ch, 81-259; s&. 2, 3, ch.
81+318:s. 2, ch, 83-172; 5. 5, ch. 85-6; 85. 18, 23, 24, ch. B6-251; 5. 42, ch. 88-1; 5.
21, ch. 88-277; 5. 214, ch. 88-392; &. 11, ch. B88-66; s, 29, 49, ch. 90-228; 5. &, ch.
90-341: 5, 60, ch, 81-137; 8. 7, ch. 91-156; &. 68, ch. 91-220; s. 4, ch. 91-429; 5. 46,
ch. 92-149; 5, 8, ch. 92-178; &. 2, ch. 94-105; 5. 61, ch. 95-144; 5. 3, ch. 97-67; 5.
2682, ¢h. 87-103; 5. 110, ch. 97-264; &. 73, ch. 98-166; 5. 132, ch. 2000-160; s, 34,
;h. 20;)1-277; 5. 31, ch. 2003-416; . 11, ch. 2005-24C; s. 88, ch. 2008-6; 5. 7, ch.

011-233,

466.0282 Specialties.—

(1) A dentist licensed under this chapter may not
hold himself or herseff out as a speciafist, or advertise
membership in or specialty recognition by an accredit-
ing organization, unless the dentist:

{a) Has completed a specialty education program
approved by the American Dental Association and the
Commission on Dental Accreditation and:

1. Is eligible for examination by a national specialty
board recognized by the American Dental Association;
or

2. Is a diplomate of @ naticnal specialty board
recognized by the American Dental Asscciation; or

{b) Has continuously held himself or herself out as a
specialist since [December 31, 1964, in a specialty
recognized by the American Dental Asscciation.

{2} A dentist licensed under this chapter may not
represent to the public withoul appropriate disclosure
that his or her practice is limited to a specific area of
dentistry other than a specialty area of dentisiry
authorized under subsection {1}, unless the dentist
has attained membership in or has otherwise been
credentialed by an accrediting organization which is
recognized by the board as a bona fide organization for
such an area of denial practice. In order to be
recognized by the board as a bona fide accrediting
organization for a specific area of dental practice other
than & specialty area of dentistry authorized under
subsection (1), the organization must condition mem-
bership or credentialing of its members upon all of the
following:

(a) Successful complstion of a formal, full-time
advanced education program that is affiliated with or
sponsored by a university-based dental school and is:

1. Beyond the dental degree;

2. At the graduate or posigraduate ievel; and

3. Of at least 12 months in duration.

(b) Prior didactic training and clinical experience in
the specific area of dentistry which is greater than that of
cther dentists.

(c) Successiul completion of oral and written exam-
inations based on psychometric principles.

{3) Notwithstanding the requirements of subsections
{1} and {2}, a dentist who lacks membership in or
certification, dipiomate status, or other similar creden-
tiais from an accrediting organization approved as bona
fide by either the American Dental Association or the
board may announce a practice emphasis in any other
area of dental practice if the dentist incorperates in
capital letters or some other manner clearly
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distinguishable frem the rest of the announcement,
solicitation, or advertisement the following statement;
“_(NAME OF ANNOUNCED AREA OF DENTAL PracTicE: IS NOT
RECOGNIZED AS A SPECIALTY AREA BY THE
AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION OR THE FLOR-
IDA BOARD OF DENTISTRY.” If stich an area of dental
practice is officially recognized by an organization which
the dentist desires fo acknowledge or otherwise refer-
ence in the dentist's announcement, solicitation, or
advertisement, the same announcement, solicitation, or
advertisement shall also state prominently: *_nave orF
HEFERENCED onaanizationy 18 NOT RECOGNIZED AS A
BONA FIDE SPECIALTY ACCREDITING ORGANIZA-
TION BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION
OR THE FLORIDA BOARD OF DENTISTRY.”

{4} The purpose of this section is to prevent a dentist
from advertising without appropriate disclosure mem-
bership in an organization which may be perceived by
the public as recognizing or accrediting specialization or
other unigue competencies in an area of dentistry that is
not recognized or accrediied by the American Dentai
Assaciation or the board in accordance with this section.
The purpose of this section is also to prohibit a dentist
from advertising a specialty or other area of dental
practice without appropriate disclosure unless the
special competencies held by the dentist satisfy the
requirements of subsection {1} or subsection (2). The
Legislature finds that dental consumers can reasonably
rely on these requirements as satisfactory evidence of a
deniist’s aitainment of meaningful competencies in the
specialty or other bona fide area of denial practice
advertised. The Legislature aiso finds that this process
for the recognition of dental specialties and other bona
fide areas of dental practice is the least restrictive
means available to ensure that consumers are not

misled about a dentist's unique credentials.
History.—s. 4, ¢h, 84-105; 5. 6, ch. 96-281; 5. 1111, ¢h. §7-103; 5. 3, ¢ch. 98-163.

466.0285 Proprietorship by nondentists.—

(1) No person other than a dentist licensed pursuant
to this chapter, nor any entity other than a professional
corporation or limited liability company composed of
dentists, may:

(a) Employ a dentist or dental hygienist in the
operation of a dental office.

(o) Control the use of any dental eqguipment or
material while such equipment or material is being
used for the provision of dental services, whether those
services are provided by a deniist, a dental hygienist, or
a dentai assistant.

(c) Direct, control, or interfere with a dentist’s clinical
judgment. To direct, control, or interfere with a dentist’'s
clirical judgment may not be interpreted to mean dental
services confractually excluded, the application of
alternative benefits that may be appropriate given the
dentist’s prescribed course of treatment, or the applica-
tion of contractual provisions and scope of coverage
determinations in comparison with a dentist's pre-
scribed treatment on behalf of a covered person by
an insurer, health maintenance organization, or a
prepaid limited health service organization.
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Any lease agreement, rental agreement, or cther
arrangement between a nondentist and a dentist
whereby the nondentist provides the dentist with dental
equipment or dental materials shall contain a provision
whereby the dentist expressly maintains complete care,
custody, and control of the equipment or practice.

{2) The purpose of this section is to prevent a
nondentist from influencing or otherwise interfering
with the exercise of a dentist's independent professional
judgment. In addition to the acts specified in subsection
(1), no person who is not a dentist licensed pursuant to
this chapter nor any entity that is not a professional
corporation or limited liabiiity company composed of
dentists shall enter into & relationship with a licensee
pursuant to which such unlicensed person or such entity
exercises controf over the foliowing:

(a) The selection of a course of treatment for a
patient, the procedures or materials to be used as part
of such course of treatment, and the manner in which
such course of freatment is carried out by the licensees;

(b} The patient records of a dentist;

{c) Policies and decisions relating to pricing, credit,
refunds, warranties, and advertising; and

{d) Decisions relating to office personnel and hours
of practice.

(3) Any person who violates this section commits a
felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s.
775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084,

(4) ‘Any contract or arrangement entered into or
undertaken in violation of this section shail be void as
contrary to public policy. This section applies to con-
tracts entered into or renewed on or after October 1,

1897.

History.—s¢. 4, 41, ch. 82-179; ss. 19, 23, 24, ch. 86-201; 5. 60, ch. 91137, 5. 7,
ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. §1.429; 5, 4, ¢h. 87-67.

466.031 “Dental laboratory” defined.—The ferm
“dental laboratory” as used in this chapter;

(1) Inciudes any person, firm, or corporation who
performs for a fee of any kind, gratuitously, or otherwise,
directly or through an agent or amployee, by any means
or method, or who in any way supplies or manufactures
artificial substitutes for the natural testh, or who
furnishes, supplies, constructs, or reproduces or repairs
any prosthetic denture, bridge, or appliance to be worn
in the human mouth or who in any way holds itself out as
a dental laboratory.

(2) Excludes any dentai laboratory technician who
construcis or repairs dental prosthetic appliances in the
office of & licensed dentist for such dentist only and

under her or his supervision and work order.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; s, 20, 23, 24, ch. B6-281; s.
60, ch. $1-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-156; s. 4, ch. 91.429; 5. 263, ch. 97-103.

466,032 Registration .-

(1} Every person, firm, or corporation operating a
dental laboratory in this state shall register biennially
with the department on forms to be provided by the
department and, at the same time, pay io the depart-
ment a registration fee not to exceed $300 for which the
department shall issue a registration certificate entitling
the holder to operate a dental faboratory for a period of 2
years.
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{2} Uponthe failure of any dental laboratory operator
to comply with subsection {1), the department shall
notify her or him by registered mail, within 1 month after
the regisiration renewal date, return receipt reguested,
at her or his last known address, of such failure and
inform her or him of the provisions of subsections (3)
and {4},

(3} Any dental laboratory operator who has not
complied with subsection {1} within 3 months after the
registration renewal date shall he required to pay a
deiinquency fee of $40 in addition to the regular
registration fee.

{4) The departiment is authorized to commence and
maintain proceedings to enjoin the operator of any
dental laboratory who has not complied with this section
from operating a dental laboratory in this state until she
or he has obtained a registration certificate and paid the
required fees.

(5) The dental laboratory owner or at least one
employee of any dental taboratory renewing registration
on or after July 1, 2010, shall complete 18 hours of
continuing education biennially. Programs of continuing
education shall be programs of learning that coniribute
directly to the education of the dental technician and
may inciude, but are not limited 1o, attendance at
tectures, study clubs, college courses, or scientific
sessions of conventions and research.

(a) Tne aim of continuing education for dentai
technicians is to improve dental health care delivery
to the public as such is impacted through the design,
manufacture, and use of artificial human oral prosthetics
and refated restorative appliances.

(b) Continuing education courses shall address one
or more of the following areas of professional develop-
ment, including, but not limited to:

1. Laboratory and technolcgical subjects, including,
but not fimited to, laboratory techniques and proce-
dures, materials, and equipment; and

2. Subjects pertinent to oral health, infection control,
and safety.

{c} Programs meeting the general requirements of
continuing education may be developed and offered to
dental technicians by the Florida Dental Laboratory
Association and the Florida Dental Association. Other
organizations, schoois, or agencies may also be
approved to develop and offer continuing education in
accordance with specific criteria established by the
department.

{d) Any dentai laboraiory renewing a registration on
or after July 1, 2010, shall submit a sworn affidavit, on a
form approved by the depariment, attesting that either
the dental laboratory owner or one dental technician
employed by the registered dental laboratory has
completed the continuing education required in this
subsection in accordance with the guidelines and
provisions of this subsection and listing the date,
location, sponsor, subject matter, and hours of com-
pleted continuing education courses. The dental labara-
tory shall retain in iis records such receipis, vouchers, or
certificates as may be necessary to document comple-
tion of the continuing education courses listed in
accordance with this subsection. With cause, the
department may request that the documentation be
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provided by the applicant. The department may also
request the documentation from appiicants selected at
random without cause.

{e)1. This subsection does not apply to a dental
iaboratory that is physically located within a dental
practice operated by a dentist licensed under this
chapter.

2. A dental laboratory in another state or country
which provides service to a dentist licensed under this
chapter is not required o register with the state and may
continue to provide services to such dentist with a
proper prescription. A dental laboratory in ancther state
or country, however, may voluntarily comply with this

subsection.

History.—ss, 2, 3, ch. 79-330; 88. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 55, 21, 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5.
38, ch. 89-162; 5, 1, ch. 88-374; . 1, ¢h. B2-548: 5. 60, ch. 81-137, 5.7, ch. 91-156;
s. 4, ch. 31-429; 5. 7, ch. 96-281; 5. 1112, ch, 87-103; 5. 10, ch. 2008-64.

466.033 Registration certificates.—The depari-
ment shall not require an examination, but shall issue
a registration certificate upon completion of the regis-
tration form and compliance with any rules promulgated

by the department under s. 466.038.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-8148: 5. 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. 60,
ch. 91-137; . 7, ch. 81-156; s. 4, ch. 91-429.

466.034 Change of ownership or address.—
When the ownership or address of any dental laboratory
operating in this state is changed, the owner thereof
shall notify the department within 30 days of such

change of ownership or address.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ¢h, 78-330; ss. 2, 8, ch. 81-318; 58, 28, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. 60,
ch, 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 81-158; 5. 4, ch. 91-429.

466.035 Advertising.—Dental labcraiories shall
not solicit or advertise, directly or indirectly, by mail,
card, newspaper, pamphiet, radio, television, or other-
wise to the general public to construct, reproduce, or
repair prosthetic dentures, bridges, plates, or other
appliances to be used or worn as substitutes for natural

teeth or for the regulation of natural testh.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 8, ch. 81-318; s5. 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. 60,
ch. 81-137; 8. 7, ch. 91-156; s. 4, ch. 81-429.

466.036 Information; periodic inspections;
equipment and supplies.~The department may re-
quire from the applicant for a registration certificate to
operate a dental laboratory any information necessary
to carry out the purpose of this chapter, including proof
that the applicant has the equipment and supplies
necessary to operate as determined by rule of the
department, and shall require periodic inspection of all
dental laboratories operating in this state. Such inspec-
tions shall include, but not be limited to, inspection of
sanitary conditions, eguipment, supplies, and facilities
on the premises. The department shall specify dental
equipment and supplies that are not permitted in a

registered dental laboratory.
History.-—ss. 2, 3, ch. 79-330; ss. 2, 5, ch. 81-318; ss. 28, 24, ch. 86-291; 5. 2,
ch, 88-374; 5. 60, ch. 81-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. 91-420; s. 3, ch. 98-130.

486.037 Suspension and revocation; adminis-
trative fine.—The department may suspend or revoke
the certificate of any dental laboratory registerad under
s. 466.032, for failing to comply with the provigions of
this chapter or rules adepted by the department under
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this chapter. The department may impose an adminis-

trative fine.
History.—ss, 2, 3, ch. 79-330: ss. 2, §, ch. 81-318, 55, 23, 24, ch. 86-251; 5. 3,
ch. 89-374; 5. 80, ch. 51-137; 5. 7, ch. 91-156; 5. 4, ch. 91-429; 5, 35, ch. 2001-277.

466.038 Rules.—The depariment, upoh: consulta-
tion with the Board of Dentistry and industry represen-
tatives of the dentai laboratory profession, has authority
to adopt rutes pursuant to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54 to
enforce the provisions of this chapter peraining to and

regulating dental laboratories.
History.—ss. 2, 3, ch. 78-330; ss. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; s5. 23, 24, ch. 86-2891; 5. 4,
ch. 89-874; 5. 60, ch. 91-137; 5. 7, ch. 91156, s. 4, ch. 91-428; 5. 129, ch. 98-200.

466.039 Violations.—It shall be unlawful for any
person, firm, or corporation o operate as a dental
laboratory as defined in this chapter, except those
regisiered as provided in s. 466.032. Violation shall
constitute a misdemeanor of the second degree,

punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
History.-—ss. 2, 3, ch. 78-330; gs. 2, 3, ch. 81-318; 3. 23, 24, ch. 86-281; 5. 60,
ch, 91-137; 5. 7, ¢h, 81-156; s. 95, ch, 81-224; s. 4, ch. 81-428,
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{1) Any licensee or applicant for ficensure who is a
carrier of the hepatitis B virus is required to so notify the
board.

(2) The board shall by rule establish procedures for
reporting carrier status and shall establish practice
requirements which will protect the public from trans-
mission of the hepatitis B virus in a dental practice
setling or during dental procedures.

{3) Any report of hepatitis B carrier status filed by a
licensee or applicant in compliance with the requirg-
ments established by the board shall be confidential and
exempt from the provisions of s. 119.07{1), except for
the purpose of the investigation or prosecution of

alieged viclations of this chapter by the depariment.
History~——ss. 18, 19, ch. 88-374; ss. 69, 65, ch. 91-137; 5. 25, ¢h. 91-140; 8s. 7,
9, ch. 91-1586; s. 4, ch. $1-429; 5. 320, ch. 96-406.

Hepatitis B carriers.—
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CHAPTER 64B5-1
BOARD ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURFE

64B5-1.021 List of Approved Forms; Incorporation
64B5-1.025  Delegation of Certification for Licensure to Chair of Examination Committes; When Permitted (Repealed)

064B5-1.021 List of Approved Forims; Incorporation.
The following forms used by the Board in its dealings with the public are listed as follows and are hereby adopted and
incorporated by reference, and can be obtained from the Board office at 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C08, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-3258:

(1) Application for Dental Examination/Dental Hygiene Examination, DPR/DN/0G3-(Rev. 2/94), effective 8-19-97;

(2) Application for Reactivation of an Inactive Florida Dental/Dental Hygiene License, AHCA/DN/004-(Rev, 5/96),
effective 8-19-97;

(3) Financial Interest Disclosure Form, DPR/DN/017-(Rev, 5/97), effective 8-16-97;

(4) Apptlication for General Anesthesia Permit, AHCA/DN/005-(8/96), effective 8-19-97:

(5) Application for Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permit, AHCA/DN/006-(8/96), effective 8-19-97:

(6) Application for Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit, AHCA/DN/008-(12/96), effective §-19-97;

{7) Application for Certification for Dental Radiographer, AHCA/DR/A01-(Rev. 5/95), effective 8-18-97:

(8) Application for Contiruing Education Credit for Individual Study, Instructors, Teachers and Lecturers,
AHCA/DN/O9-(4/86), effective 8-19-97;

(9) Application for Biennial Providers of Continuing Education, AHCA/DNA01-(4/86), effective 8-19-97;

(10) Application for Dentist/Demntal Hygienist Limited Licensure, DOIVMQA/DNDH LL APPlew, effective $-20-01,

(11) Any person wishing to be issued a Health Access Dental License shall apply to the Board of Dentistry. The
application shall be made on the Application for Health Access Dental License form #DH-MQA 1154 (revised 9/11/08)

kereby adopted and incorporated by reference, and can be obtained from the Board of Dentistry’s website at
http:/fwww.doh.state fl.us/mga/dentistry/.

Rulemalking Authority 466,004 FS. Law Implemented 120.52(15} FS. History—New 8-19-97, Amended 9-20-01, 5-28-05.

64B5-1.025 Delegation of Certification for Licensure to Chair of Examination Committee; When Permitted.

Rulemalking Awthority 466.004(4) FS. Lew Implemented 456.013(2) FS. History-New 4-19-87, Formerly 21G-1.025 61F5-1.025, 590-
1.025, Amended 5-20-01, Repealed 2-13-12.
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CHAPTER 6485-2
EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE OF DENTISTS AND DENTAL HYGIENISTS

64B5.2.0125 Examination Security

64B5-2.0126 Conduct at Examination Site (Repealed)

64B5-2.013 Florida Dental Examinations.

64B35-2.0133 Dental Hygiene Examination

64B5-2.014 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Accredited Schools or Colleges

64185-2.0142 Application for Health Access Dental License

64B5-2.0144 Licensure Requirements for Dental Hygiene Applicants from Unaccredited Dental Schools or Colleges

64B5-2.0146 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colleges

6415-2.0148 Credentials Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colieges, Whose Records Are
Unavailable

64B5-2.0150 American Dental Licensing Exam Scores from Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time Practice Requirements

64B5-2.0152 Licenses Granted Based on The American Dental Licensing Fxam From Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time
Practice Requirements

64B85-2.0155 Time Requirements for Application, Disposition of Untimely or Incomplete Applications and Associated
Fees (Repealed)

64B5-2.016 Evaluation of Credentials (Repeaied)

64B5-2.017 Acceptable Variance of Examiners

64B5-2.020 Selection. of Examiners

64B5-2.021 Additionat Education Requirements for Reexamination

64B5-2.022 Examination Review

64B5-2.0125 Examinafion Security.
Security of the examination shall be maintained by compliance with such procedures and requirements established by the
Department of Health, unless specifically provided otherwise by these rules.

Rulemaking Authority 456.017¢5)(d) F5. Law Implemenied 456.017(1)(d) FS. History—New 3-25-90, Formerly 21G-2.0125, 61F5-2.0123,
590-2.0125.

64B5-2.0126 Condt_act at Examination Site.

Rulemaking Authority 456.004(5), 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 456.017(1)}{d), 456.679 FS. History—New 2-7-96, Amended 5-21-96,
Formerly 590-2.0126, Amended 5-1-02, Repealed 3-18-12.

64B5-2.013 Dental Examination.

Each applicant applying for a Florida dental license is required fe complete the examinations as provided for in Section
466.006, F.5. The Florida examinations for dentistry shall consist of a Written Examination, a Practical or Clinical
Examination and a Diagnostic Skills Examination. All three examinations will be conducted in English. Applicants for
sxamination or re-examination must have taken and successfully completed Part I and Part I of the National Board of Dental
Examiners dental examination.

(1) Practical or Chinical Examinatiomn:

(ay Effective October 1, 2011, the Florida Practical or Clinical Examination and the Diagnostic Skills Examination is
currently the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) developed by the American Board of Dental Fxaminers,
Inc., or its successor entity if the successor entity is determined by the Board of Dentistry to comply with the provision of
Section 466.006, F.5. The ADLEX is inclusive of a comprehensive diagnostic skills examination covering the full scope of
the practice of dentistry.

{b) The ADLEX shall be administered in the State of Ilorida and shail be graded by Florida lcensed dentists.

(c) All parts of the ADLEX shall be completed within eighteen {18) months from the initial start of any portion of the
examination. A failure to complete all parts of the examination within eighteen (18) months wiil require the applicant to retake
the entire exarmination.

{@) Each part of the ADLEX shall be completed with a grade of at least seventy-five (75%) percent.
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(e) Provided the Board of Dentistry maintains representation on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc., and the Examination Development Committee of the American Board of Dental Examiners Inc., the practical
or clinical examination procedures, standards, and criteria of the ADLEX are approved.

(f) If any portion of the clinical or practical portion of the ADLEX exam was completed in a jurisdiction other than
Florida, applicants must comply with the applicable provisions of Sections 466.006(4)(b)3. and 466.006(6), F.S., Rules 64B5-
2.0150 and 64B5-2.0152, F A.C.

(2) Written Examination:

(a) The Written Examination for dental licensure shall consist of the laws and rules of the State of Florida regulating the
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.

{b) A final grade of seventy-five (75%) percent or better is required to pass the Written Examination.

Rulemaking Authority 4356.0G17(1)(b), 466.004(4). 466.006{5)(a) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(1}(b), (2), 466.006(4), 466.006(5)a),
466.009 FS. History—New 10-8-79, Amended 6-22-80, 12-3-81, 12-6-82, 5-24-83, 12.12-83, 5-2-84, 5-27.84, Formerly 21G-2.13, Amended
12-8-85, i2-31-86, 5-10-87, 10-19-87, 12-10-89, 12-24.81, 2-]1-93, Formerly 21G-2.013, 61F5-2.013, Amended 1-9-95, 2-7-96, 7-16 97,
Formerly 590-2.013, Amended 8-25-98, 3-25-99, 11.15-%6, 8-3-05, 7-17-07, 8-1-08, 6-28-09, 8-25-10, 5-8-12.

64B5-2.0135 Dental Hygiene Examination.

(1) Practical or Clinical Examination:

(2) Currently, the Florida practicat or clinical examination is the Dental Hygiene Fxamination developed by the American
Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (ADEX) and administered by the North Eastern Regional Board, Inc. (NERB). Any ADEX
Dental Hygiene Examination administered after June 1, 2010, will meet the clinical or practical examination requirement,
regardiess of the jurisdiction in which the exam was administered.

(b) Any dental hygiene applicant, who fails to pass the Practical or Clinical Examination in three (3) attempts, shail not be
eligible for reexamination until the successful completion of one academic semester of clinical course work at the senior
clinical practice level at a dental hygiene school approved by the American Dental Association Commission on Accreditation.
A failure to comply with the remedial course work in this paragraph will result in a denial of licensure or a denial to sit for
reexamination,

{c) The Board of Dentistry hereby approves the practical or clinical Dental Hygiene Examination developed by ADEX.
All ADEX clinical or practical examination procedures, standards, and criteria are approved and shall remain approved
contingent on the Board of Dentistry maintaining representation on the ADEX House of Representatives and the ADEX
Dental Hygiene Examination Development Committee.

(2) Laws and Rules Examination:

(a} The written examination shall be an examination covering the laws and rules applicable to the practice of a health care
profession, the practice of dentistry and the practice of dental hygiens in the State of Florida.

{(b) The examination shall, at a minimum, cover the following subject areas:

1. The provisions of Chapter 466, F.S.;

2. The provisions of Chapter 456, F.S.; and

3. The provisions of Chapter 64B5, F.A.C.

{¢) No more than three percent (3%) of the examination shall cover the topic of Chapter 456, F.S.

{3) Grading, Passing Resulis, and Time Requirements:

{a) The practical or clinical examination administered in the State of Florida shall be graded by Florida licensed dentists
and hygienists.

(b) The practical or clinical examination must be completed with a score of seventy-five (75) points or greater on both
portions of the examinations, whether administered in Florida or another jurisdiction.

{¢) The written examination shall be compieted with a seventy-five percent (75%) or greater,

(d) In order to be eligible for licensure, the written examination must be completed within eighteen (18) months of
successiully completing the practical or clinical examination. If the applicant takes a board approved laws and rules course
governing the practice of health care professions and dental and dental hygiene, the eighteen months is extended 1o twenty-
four (24) months. The course must be attended in person and consist of no fewer than five (5} clock hours.

{4} Historical Note Florida Dental Hygiene Exam:

{a) On March 23, 2012, legislation became effective, SB 1040, which amended Section 466.007, F.S. Beginning Juiy 1,
2012, the amendment made the Florida Dental Hygiene Exam the hygiene examination developed by ADEX.
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(b) Prior to the legislative change, the Board voted and implemented the Dental Hygiene Exam developed by ADEX and
set June 1, 2010, as the controlling date for acceptance of this exam. Preceding June 1, 2010, the hygiene examination was an
independent administered state exam.

(¢} In accordance with the applicable rules and statutes, June 1, 2010, is the earliest date the Board shall accept for a valid
Dental Hygiene Exam developed by ADEX, as this is the earliest date the Board and Council found the ADEX exam met the
requiremnents of Section 466.007, F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemenied 466,007 FS. History—New 3-16-82, Amended 5-2-84, 5-19-85, 10-8-85, 12-8-85,
Formerly 21G-2.135, Amended 12-31-86, 10-19-87, 2-21-88, 5-29-88, Formerly 2iG-2.0135 61F3-2.0135, Amended 11-15-95. Formerly
38Q-2.0135, Amended 10-31-01, 7-6-03, 12-31-09, 10-10-10, [2-28-11, 8-8-12.

04B5-2.014 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Accredited Schools or Colleges,

Any person who has graduated, or expects fo graduate prior to the examination, or is in their final vear of a dental or dental
hygiene program and has completed all the coursework necessary to prepare the student to perform the clinical and diagnostic
procedures required to pass the examinations, from a school or college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the
American Dental Association or its successor agency, or any other dental or dental hygiene program accredited by an
accrediting entity recognized by the United States Department of Education, may seck licensure as a dentist or dental
hygienist in the following manner:

(1) Dental Hygiene Candidates:

{a) Successfully complete the practical or clinical dental hygiene examination developed by American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc., (ADEX), as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc.;

{b) Successfully complete the National Board Dental Hygiene Written Examination prior to application;

(c) Submit a completed application for licensure, Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1210 (Rev
8/12), incorporated herein by reference and available at hitpi//www.firales.org/Gatewny/reference.asn?No=Ref0201 3or
available on the Department of Health’s website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mga/dentistry. An applicant is eligible for
licensure upon receipt of a completed application, passing scores from the ADEX clinical examination, National Board Dental
Hygiene Examination, and successful completion of the written examination on the laws and rules of Florida regulating the
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. Applicants must comply with all time requiremente for passing the examinations as
specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C.

(2) Dental Candidates:

(a) Successfully complete the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) produced by the American Board of
Dental Examiners, Inc., as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, F.A.C., through the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners,
Inc., which includes the Diagnostic Skills Examination. Candidates who have completed the ADLEX after October 1, 2011 in
another jurisdiction other than Florida and whose scores are over 365 days old are subject to additional application
requirements as mandated in Section 466.006{4)(b)3., F.5. Additionally, all Candidaies whe submit ADLEX scores from
another jurisdiction other than Florida are subject to post licensure requirements as mandated in Section 466.006(6), F.S.

(b} Successfully complete the National Board of Dental Examiners Written Examination;

{¢) Submit a completed application for licensure, Dental Licensure Application, DH-MQA 1182 (Rev. 8/12), incorporated
herein by reference and available at httn:/www.rules.org/Gatewavireference.asp?No=Ref-(2014 or available on the
Department of Health’s website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mag/dentistry. An applicant is eligible for licensure upon receipt
of a completed application, passing scores from the ADLEX clinical examination, Diagnostic Skills Fxamination, National
Board Dental Examination and successful completion of the written examination on the laws and rules of Florida reguiating
the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. Applicants must comply with all time requirements for passing the examinations
as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, FA.C.

(3) 1t is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the application for licensure is complete, inchuiding ensuring that all
required docurments are submitted timely.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456.033, 466 006, 466,007, 466.028 FS. History-New 10-8-79, Amended 4-1-80, 4-
20-81, 3-16-81, 5-2-84, 9-4-84, Formerly 21G-2.14, Amended 12-31-86, 10-8-87, 11-16-89, 10-18-90, Formerly 21G-2.014, 6/F5.2.014,
Amended 9-24-96, Formerly 590-2.014, Amended §-20-97, 3-16-06, 12-26-06, 4.26-10), 3-18-12, 8§-3-12, 12-11-13.

pag



04B5-2.0142 Application for Health Access Dental License.
Any person wishing to be issued a Health Access Dental License shall apply to the Board of Dentistry. The application shali
be made on the Application for Heaith Access Dental License form #DH-MQA 1154 (Rev. 8/12), available at
hitps/rwww flrules.org/Gatewavireference.asp?No=Ref-02023, hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, and can be
obtained from the Board of Dentistry’s website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mga/dentistry;.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.0067 FS. History—New 2-12-12, Amended 12-71-12.

04B5-2.0144 Licensure Requirements for Dental Hygiene Applicants from Unaceredited Dental Schosls or
Colleges.

Applicants for iicensure as dental hygienists who have graduated from an unaccredited dental school or college may seek
ficensure in the following manner:

(1) Submit the following: A completed credentials application, Application for Credentials Review for Graduates From
Non-Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools, Form DH-MQA 1253, 10/11, and incorporated herein by reference. Application
for Credentials Review for Graduates From Non-Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools, Form DH-MQA 1253, 16/11 can be
obtained at http:/www. flrules.org/Gatewayirelerence.asp?No=Ref-01037 or at the Board of Dentistry website at
http://www.doh.state, fi.us/mga/dentistry.

(2) An initial credential evaluation is not an approval for licensure; rather, the applicant must comply with all provisions
of Chapter 466, F.S.

(3) A certified photocopy of the dental school diplema and a certified franslation if the diploma is in a language other than
English, which diploma shall be comparable to a D.D.S. or a D.M.D.

{4) Final official transcripts received directly from the schools where post-secondary dental education was received and
from the dental school which reflects the applicant’s matriculation and graduation dates and degree earned; the transcript shali
be authenticated by the official school stamp or seal as well as the signature of an authorized school official and shall be
accompanied with a certified translation if the documents are in & language other than English.

(5) Proof which establishes successful completion of 4 academic years of post-secondary dental education. Proof of the 4
vears of required education shall include a report from an Education Credential Evaluators (ECE) approved evaluating service,
which evaluation includes a year by year evaluation of the applicant’s credentials. Said report shall not be conclusive, but shall
only be advisory to the Board.

(6) Any graduate of a foreign dental college or school not accredited or approved in accordance with Section
466.607{2)(b), F.S., and not accredited in accordance with Section 466.006(2)(b), F.S., who seeks Hoensure as a dental
hygienist pursuant to Section 466.007(2)(b)2,, F.S., but is unable to supply proper educational credentials due to the political
or other conditions of the country in which the education was received, shall submit any and all documents which would tend
to support the applicant’s claim of proper credentials and shall submit with the application.

{a} A written statement which shall include:

1. A complete chronological account of all schools attended during the candidate’s entire education, including dates of
atiendance and graduation, the addresses of all schools attended;

2. A description of all dental school courses which the applicant successfully completed;

(b) At least five (5) written statements concerning the applicant’s dental education from persons who are directly
acquainted with the candidate’s educational credentials. If the applicant relies on these written siatements to establish
quatifications for licensure, then at least three (3) of the written statements must be from dentists whao are not related to the
applicant; '

(¢} Any applicant who provides false information to the Florida Board of Dentistry on his or her licensure application
and/or written statements as required by this rule will be referred for criminal prosecution pursuant fo Section 456.067, F.S.

(d} Unless the Board is otherwise satisfied that the credentials required by subsections (3) through (5) above cannot be
obtained, the Board will not accept such other evidence as described in this section until the applicant has demonstrated to the
Board that he or she has made a reasonable attempt to obtain the credentials.

(7) Proof received directly from the American Dental Association, that the Nationa! Board of Dental Examiners Written
Examination has been successfully completed within 10 years prior to application; or that the National Board of Dental
Hygiene Examination has been successfully completed within 10 years prior to application.

(8) 1f the applicant’s name has changed since initiation of dental education, a certified copy of the legal document
changing the name or an affidavit sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths that the person
named in credentials submitted and the applicant are the same person.
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{9) Two 2 inch by 2 inch photographs of the applicant which are suitable for identification.

(10)(@) The Applicants applying for licensure under Section 466,007(2)b)2., F.S., whose applications do not indicate
they have obtained Dental Hygiene clinical education to the level of the clinical experience required by an Amerjcan Dental
Association (ADA) accredited Dental Hygiene program in the areas set forth in paragraph {16)(b) below, who have failed the
initial examination, shall be required to obtain remedial coursework in those designated areas that the applicant has not
successfully completed that would meet the ADA clinical requirements at an ADA accredited dental or dental hygiene school,
before being permitted to re-take the dental hygiene examination. Such additional coursework shall be obtained from a
program accredited by the ADA, ouly after the applicant satisfies and the Board approves the education and testing
requirements of subsections (3} thwough (%) above. Such additional coursework must be obtained by the applicant and
approved by the Board prior to the applicant being allowed to sit for the Dental Hygiene examination.

(b) The accredited clinical coursework referenced in paragraph (a) above shall be in the following areas:

1. Radiology: 15 hours didactic and 10 hours lab/clinical;

2. Prophylaxis Performance: 25 hours didactic and 100 hours clinical;

3. Infection Control: 10 hours didactic and 10 hours clinical;

4. Periodontal Therapy: 20 hours didactic and 30 hours ¢linical;

5. Pharmacology: 15 hours didactic and 10 hours clinical;

6. Biomedical Sciences: 10 hours didactic;

7. Clinical History Management: 10 hours didactic;

8. Special Patient Care: 5 hours didactic and 10 hours clinical; and

9. Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR
for adults, chiidren, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags. All such
training shall be sufficient for and shall resuit in current certification or re-certification by the American Heart Association, the
American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

(¢) The additional coursework required by paragraphs (10)(a} and (10}b) of this rule must be obtained and approved by
the Board prior o the applicant being aliowed to sit for the Dental Hygiene examination,

{11 Upon approval of the credentials, the applicant shall apply for licensure in the following manner;

(a} Successfully complete the Florida practical or clinical examination developed by the American Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc., (ADEX), as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C., through the North East Regxonal Board of Dental
Examiners, Inc. (NERB); and

(b) Submit a complete application, Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1210 (Rev. &/12),
incorporated herein by reference. Dental Hygiene Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA 1210 {Rev, 8/12), is available at
http:/fwww, firnles ore/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-02016  on the  Department of  Health’s  website  at
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentistry. An applicant is eligible for Lcensure wpon receipt of a completed application,
passing scores from the ADEX dental hygiene examination, the National Board Dental Hygiene or National Board Dental
Examination, and successful completion of the written laws and rules of Florida regulating the practice of deatistry and dental
hygiene. Applicants must comply with all time requirements for passing the examinations as specified in Rule 64B5-2.0133,
F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.007 FS. Law Implemented 466.007 FS. History-New 1-18-95, Formerly 590-2.0144, Amended 8-19-97,
8-20-97, 3-20-01, 12-2]-06, 5-8-08, 4-26-10, 3-18-12, 12-11-12.

64B5-2.0146 Licensure Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colieges.
Prior to applying to take the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX), as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, F.A.C,
complete and submit Application for Credentials Review For Graduates From Non-Accredited Dental Colleges or Schools,
Form DH-MQA 1254, (10-11), incorporated herein by reference and available at
iy rwsww frules.orgiGateway/reference asp"No=Ref-02022  or  the  Department of  Health's  website  at
http:/rwrww.dobstate. fl.us/mga/dentistry,

{1} An applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of Section 466.006(3), F.S., and chooses to apply pursuant (o
Section 466.006(3)ay, F.5., will be required to:

(a} Complete, at an accredited American dental school, a matriculated general dental program which consists of either 4
years of dental subjects or 2 years of predental education followed by 3 years of dental subjects.

(5) Receive a D.D.S. or D.M.D. from the institution at which the dental school is located.

{c) Present to the Board at least 30 days prior to the dental examination the following documents:
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1. Official transcripts issued by the dental school which verify completion of all coursework requirements of the dental
program or certified copies thereof.

2. AD.D.S. or D.M.I. issued by the dental school or a certified copy thereof.

(2} An applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of Section 466.006(3), F.S., and chooses to apply pursuant fo
Section 466.006(3)(b), F.S., will be required to:

{a) Complete a full-time, matriculated, American Dental Association recognized dental speciaity education program
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or a Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association accredited supplemental general dentistry programs, which provides
didactic and clinical education to the level of an accredited D.D.S. or D.M.D. program, either of which have a duration of at
least two consecutive academic years at the sponsoring institution.

(b) Receive a dental diploma, degree or certificate from the sponsoring institution upon successful completion of the
Program.

{¢) Present to the Board the following documents:

1. Offictal transcripts issued by the spensaring institution which verify completion of all coursework requirements of the
supplemental dental education program;

2. A dental diploma, degree or certificate issued by the sponsoring institution or a certified copy thereof; and

(3) It is the applicant’s responsibility to assure that the application for licensure is complete, including assuring that all
required documents are submitted timely.

{4) After approval to sit for the ADLEX examination, the applicant shall successfully complete the practical or clinical
examination which is the American Dental Licensing Examipation (ADLEX) produced by the American Board of Dental
Examiners and the Diagnostic Skills Examination, as specified in Rule 64B5-2.013, F.A.C., through the North Fast Regional
Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (NERB). Cndidaies who have completed the ADLEX after October 1, 2011 in another
jurisdiction other than Florida are subject to additional requirements as stated in Section 466.006, F.S.

(5} After completion of the ADLEX examination, applicants shall submit Dental Licensure Application, Form DH-MQA
1182 (Rev. 8/12), incorperated herein by reference and avatlable at hup:/fwww. flrules ore/Galewav/reference asn?No=Ref-
{2019 or the Department of Health’s website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentistry.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.006(3) FS. Law Implemented 466.006 FS. History-New 10-]15-92, Formerly 21G-2.0146, §1F5-
2.0146, Amended §-24-56, Formerly 390-2.0146, Amended 8-19-97, 5-20-01, 6-7-05, 12-26-06, 6-30-09, 3-]18-12, 12-11-12.

64B5-2.0148 Credentials Requirements for Applicants from Non-Accredited Schools or Colleges, Whose Records
Are Unavailable.

Any person who seeks licensure as a dentist but is unable to supply proper educational credentials due to the political
conditions of the country in which the education was received shall submit any and all documents whick would tend to
support the applicant’s claim of proper credentials and shall submit prior to the examination:

{1) Proof received directly from the American Dental Association, that the National Board of Dental Examiners Written
Examination has been successfully completed in ne more than three attempts to successfully compleie it, prior to application.

{2) An affidavit sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths which shall inciude:

(a) A complete chronological account of all schools attended during the candidate’s entire education, including dates of
attendance and graduation, the addresses of all schools attended:

(b} The date that the applicant received any license io practice dentistry, including the name and address of the issuing
authority and any license ninmber assigned;

{c) A description of all dental school courses which the applicant successfully completed;

(d) A complete chronological dental practice history, including addresses of practice, names of associates in practice and
current location of any practice associates; and

(&) Complete disclosure regarding any litigation in which the candidate is or was invoived;

(3) Affidavits concerning the applicant’s dental education or dental practice history, sworn before a notary public or other
person authorized to administer cath, from persons who are directly acquainted with the candidate’s dental practice history or
educational credentials, If the applicant relies primarily on affidavits to establish gualifications for lcensure, at lease three
affidavits must be from dentists who are not related to the applicant;

{4y Any other evidence that may aid in verification of graduation from a bona fide dental school;

(5) In cases where actual credentials cannot be presented, the Board shall be the judge of the evidence presented and shail
decide if evidence presented is sufficiently substantial fo warrant the applicant’s acceptance,
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Rulemalking Authovity 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.006 FS. History—New 11-16-89, Amended 10-]8-90, Formerly 21G-2.0148,
61F5.2.0148 590-2.01 48, Amended 7-29-97, 12-26-06, 3-18-12.

64B5-2.0150 American Dental Licensing Exam Scores from Other Jurisdiction: Full-Time Practice Requirements.
The Florida dental clinical or practical examination is currently the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX)
developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. The examination shall be administered in Florida ané shall be
graded by dentists licensed in Florida. An applicant for a dental license in Florida can submit ADLEX scores from a
jurisdiction other than Florida if the examination was completed after October 1, 2011, If, however, the passing scores from
the ADLEX are over 365 days old, the results will not be recognized unless all criteria below are met.

(1) Applicable Definitions:

(a) Fuli-time practice — means completing one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours of practice per calendar year; when
applicable, the hours shall be breken down to one hundred (100) howrs per month.

(b) Month —~ means thirty (30) days,

(c} Practice ~ means any combination of the following: 1) Active clinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient
care; 2) Full-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation; or 3) Full-time practice as a student at a
postgraduate dental education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission
on Dental Accreditation.

{d) Recognized or Other Jurisdiction — means a state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the
Commonweslth of Puerto Rico.

(e} Verified — means the document shali be verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S.

(2) Mandatory Criteria: The applicant shall meet alf of the following criteria.

(a) Compliance with all provisions of Section 466.006(4)(b)3., F.S. The applicant should carefully review this section of
the Florida Statutes.

(b) Provide documentation that the applicant has been consecutively engaged in fuli-time practice in a recognized
jurisdiction for the preceding five (5) years or since initial licensure, if less than five years, prior to the date of application for
licensure to the Florida Board of Dentistry.

(3) Mandatory Documentation: The applicant shall comply with providing the following mandatory documentation.

(a) Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet:

1. The submission of a calendar month-by-calendar month and year-by-year chronological history of the applicant’s full-
fime practice in a spreadsheet format,

2. The spreadsheet shall be headed with the applicant’s full legal name and sub-headed “History of Full-Time Practice.”

3. Each page shall be sequentially paginated in the lower right hand corner with the applicant’s last name followed by a
hyphen with an Arabic numeral. {(Exampie: Smith-2, Smith-3, Smith-4, sicetera).

4. The applicant shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet by placing at the end of the document, “Under penalties
of perjury, 1 deciare that | have read the foregoing History of Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet and that the facts stated in it are
frue.” The applicant shall sign directly under the verification statement and date the document. Reference Saction 92.525,°F.5.,
concerning verification of documents.

5. Someone unrelated to the applicant shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet, by signing the same document with
the same verification clause or by submitting a document (affidavit) verified in compliance with Section 2.325, F.8. The
verified document must attest that the applicant has been engaged in the full-time practice as indicated by the Full-Time
Practice Spreadsheet.

(b) Additional Verified Documents:

Each category of full-time practice claimed must be supported by the following documentation, which establishes or supports
the spreadsheet submitted. There must be documentation submitted from subparagraph 1. and 2. below, if applicable.

1. A verified copy of financial or business record documents, reflecting the daies of employment that match the
spreadshest; a verified copy of a patient log or appointment schedule (names of patients shall be redacted to reflect the initials
oniy). The Board will request verified financial billing documents to correborate the patient log if the Board finds the patient
log or appointment schedule lacking credibiiity.

2. An original and official letter from the dean of the schoel or program sent directly from the program or school to the
Board, that supports that the applicant did engage in full-time practice as a faculty member or as a student which matches the
dates month-for-month and year-for-year as listed on the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.
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3. Any other verified documentation that supports the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.

(4} Mandatory Board Appearance and Delays:

(a) It is in the best interest of the applicant o carefully review all documents submitted for accuracy, authenticity,
legibility, and statutory and rule comphiance to avoid unnecessary delays, board appearances, or dendals.

(b) The Board is authorized to require the applicant and the applicant’s witness to appear before the Board to give oral
testimony under oath to assess credibility or accuracy of the full-time practice requirements. Section 466.006(4)(b)3.e.(1V),
F.S. In addition, the Board can require a mandatory appearance regarding any licensure application and a failure to appear at
one of the next two regularly scheduled meetings shail result in a denial of licensure and will toll the time for ruling on the

application. Section 456.013(3), F.S. Finally, any incomplete subrnission can delay the application process. Section 120.60{1}),
F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.006(4)(b)3.e.({I) FS. Law Implemented 466.004, 4656.006(6) FS. History-New 7-1-12.

64B5-2.0152 Licenses Granted Based on The American Dental Licensing Exam From Other Jurisdiction: Full-

Time Practice Requirements.
The Florida dental clinical or practical examination is currently the American Dental Licensing Fxamination (ADLEX)
developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. The examination shall be administered in Florida and shall be
graded by dentists licensed in Florida. An applicant for a dental license in Florida can submit ADLEX scores from a
jurisdiction other than Florida if the examination was completed after October 1, 2011, Applicants who are relocating to this
state based on scores from the ADLEX that was administered in a jurisdiction other than Florida must engage in the full-time
practice of dentisiry inside the geographical boundaries of this state within the first year of receiving a dental license in
Fiorida. In order to maintain the dental license the licensee must meet the following criteria.

{1) Applicable Definitions:

(a) Full-Time Practice ~ means completing one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours of practice within the geographical
boundaries of Florida within the first year of obtaining a Florida dental license,

(b) Practice — means any combination of the following: 1) Active clinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient
care; 2) Fuli-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or
accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation; or 3) Full-Time practice as a student at
a postgraduate dental education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation,

(c) Another or Other Jurisdiction — means another state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

{(d} Fuil-Time Practice Log ~ means a log the licensee must keep from the initial date of Heensure in Florida which
documents the daily practice tirne of the lcensee.

{e) Relocating Applicants —~ means those applicants who are lawfully and currently practicing dentistry in another
Jjunsdiction who apply for licensure in Florida based on the ADLEX administered in another jurisdiction. Lawfully and
currently means those applicants that have or had a license to practice dentistry in another jurisdiction within the past six (6)
- montbs and those who bave practiced the profession in any manner utilizing such license within the past six (6)months, prior
to submitting the application for licensure in Florida,

(D) Verified — means the document shall be verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S.

(2) Mandatory Criteria;

The licensee shall meet all of the following criteria,

(a) Compliance with all provisions of Section 466.006{6), F.S, The dentist should carefully review this section of the
Florida Statutes.

(b) Provide documentation that the relocating dentist has been consecutively engaged in full-time practice within the first
year of licensure in Florida.

{¢) Maintain & Full-Time Practice Log.

{d) A failure to meet the required full-time practice requirements will cause the dental license to expire as enemerated in
Section 466.006(6), F.S.

{3) Mandatory Documentation:

The dentist shall comply with providing the following mandatory documentation.

(a) Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet:
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1. The submission of a month-by-month chronological history of the dentist’s full-time practice in a spreadsheet format
from the date of initial license in Florida. :

2. The spreadsheet shall be headed with the dentist’s full legal name and sub-headed “History of Full-Time Practice.”

3. Each page shall be sequentially paginated in the lower right hand comer with the dentist’s iast name followed by a
hyphen with an Arabic numeral. (Example: Smith-2, Smith-3, Smith-4, etcetera.).

4. The dentist shall verify the Fuli-Time Practice Spreadsheet by placing at the end of the document, “Under penalties of
periury, I declare that I have read the foregoing History of Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet and that the facts stated in it are
true.” The dentist shall sign directly under the verification statement and date the document. Reference Section 92.525, .S,
concerning verification of documents.

5. Someone unrelated to the dentist shall verify the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet, by signing the same document with
the same verification clause or by submitting a document (affidavit) verified in compliance with Section 92.525, F.S. The
verified document must attest that the dentist has been engaged in the full-time practice as indicated by the Full-Time Practice
Spreadsheet.

{b} Additional Verified Documents:

Each category of full-time practice claimed must be supported by the following documentation, which establishes or supports
the spreadsheet submitted.

1. A verified copy of financial or business record documents, reflecting the dates of employment that match the
spreadsheet; a verified copy of a pafient log or appointment schedule (names of patients shall be redacted to reflect initials
only}. The Board will request verified financial billing documents to corroborate the patient log if the Board finds the patient
log or appointment schedule lacking credibility.

2. A verified copy of the Full-Time Practice Log.

3. An original and official letter from the dean of the school or program sent directly from the program or schoo! to the
Board, that supports that the dentist did engage in full-time practice as a faculty member or as a student which maiches the
dates month-for-month as listed on the spreadsheet,

4. Any other verified document that supports the Full-Time Practice Spreadsheet.

{4) Mandatory Submission:

(a) All documentation shall be submitted to the Board office within thirty days prior to the expiration of the first year of
practice. The initial day of licensure shall not count, A failure to timely submit all required documentation will lead to the
expiration of licensure in compliance with Section 466.006(6)(c), F.S.

(b) The dentist shall make certain that all submissions are timely, accurate, legible, and authentic to avoid the expiration
of the dental licensee. The Board is authorized to require the licensee and the licensees’ witnesses to appear before the Board
and give oral testimony under oath to assess credibility and accuracy.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.006(6}(bi2 FS. Law Implemenied 466.004, 466.006(6) FS. History—New 5-13-12.

64B5-2.0155 Time Requirements for Application, Disposition of Untimely or Incomplete Applications and
Associated Fees,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.006, 466.007 FS. History—New 11-J6-89, Formerly 21G-2.0155, 61F3-2.0153,
590-2.0133, Repealed 3-18-12.

04B5-2.016 Evaluation of Credentials.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466,006, 466.007 FS. History—New 10-8-79, Amended 10-26-80, 5-2-84, Formerly
21G-2.16, Amended 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-2.016, 61F5-2.016, 590-2.016, Repealed 3-18-12.

04B5-2.017 Acceptable Variance of Examiners.

{1) All clinical gradings by examiners are to be made independentiy. Each clinical procedure shall be graded by three {3)
examiners. On the clinical portion of the dental hygiene examination described in Rule 64B5-2.0135, F.A.C., the three
independent grades shall be utilized in a system of corroborated errors to determine an applicant’s final grade on each
procedure of the clinical portion. The corroborated errors grading sysiem requires that at least two of the independent
examiners must agree on the presence of the error before the error may be used in calculating an applicant’s grade.

(2) There shall be a variance review of all grades of all applicants taking the clinical part of the examination for the
purpose of determining inter-examiner variance,
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Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4), 466.006(5)(d} FS. Law Implemented 455, 006¢3)(d) FS. History-New 12-10.79, Amended 6-22-86, 4-20-
81, 5-24-82, 12-6-62, 5-24-83, 5-2-84, 5-19-85, Formerly 21G-2.17, 21G-2.017, 61F5-2,017, 590-2.017. Amended 10-12-04, 10-10-10, 1-
10-12.

64B5-2.020 Selection of Examiners.

(1) In order te be eligible for selection and retention as an examiner, a Florida licensed dentist or dental hygienist must
meet the following minimum gualifications:

(a) Has been actively engaged in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene in Florida for five years immediately
preceding selsction;

(b) Has demonstrated inferest in continuing dental education; and .

{c) 1s not connected n any way with any medical college or dental college.

(2} Licensees who meet the base gqualifications listed in paragraphs (1)a) and (b) and have never acted as an examiner
1ust be recommended fo the Department of Health by the Board. Those Heensees who meet the base qualifications listed in
paragraphs (1){a) and (b} and have acted as an examiner at previous examinations may be asked to be an examiner by the
Department so long as their previous performance as an examiner was satisfactory as determined by post-examination
examiner variance statistics compiled by the Department.

(3) Prior to each examination the Department will determine the number of examiners it will need to administer the
examination. Once that determination is made, the Department will establish a pool of individuals from which the actual
examiners will be selected. In forming this pool the Department will initially contact those individuals who have previously
exanuned and whose past performance is deemed satisfactory based on posi-examination examiner variance Statistics
compiled by the Department. When the Department 15 unable to establish a sufficient pool of individuals with satisfactory
experience as examiners, it will notify the Board who will then recommend a list of individuals meeting the qualifications of
paragraphs {1){(a) and (b}. The Department will select from the Board’s recommended list sufficient individuals to insure that
there will be an adequate pool from which to draw the requisite number of examiners.

{4) Those individuals forming the pool from which the examiners will be selected shall attend every session of the pre-
examination standardization exercise conducted by the Department. At the conclusion of standardization, the individual
members of the peol will be tested on their ability to adhere to and apply the examination grading criteria and they will be
rank-ordered based on their performance on the standardization test. Selecting those individuals in the pool with the highest
rank-order, the Department will submit a list of proposed examiners to the Board for its approval. However, if an individual
has examined previously and his score on the Department’s post-examination examiner variance study reflects a higher
adherence to the criteria than his rank-order on the standardization test, the Department will utilize his post-examination
variance score rather than his standardization rank-order in determining whether to recommend him as an examiner, If the
Board rejects any proposed examiner the Department shall return to the rank-order list and shall recommend remaining pool
members based on their rank-order.

(5) Subsequent to the examination, the Department wili compile post-examination variance statistics for each examiner
which statistics shall be utilized in determining whether a particular examiner will be requested to participate in any future
pools of prospective examiners.

(6) In an attempt to continually replenish the pool of pessible examiners, no individual will be permitted to examine for
more than four (4) consecutive years. Any such individual will be eligible for the pool of prospective examiners after not
examining for a pericd of one (1) vear. However, this prohibition will not be enforced when the Department is unable to
establish a sufficient pool of prospective examiners.

(7) In determining whether to ask an otherwise qualified individual to participate in the examiner pool, the Department
and the Board may also consider the following factors:

(a) Whether the individual is currently or has ever had a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene revoked,
suspended, or otherwise acted against, including the denial of licensure by the licensing authority of another state, territory or
cCOuUniry;

(b) Whether the individual limits his practice of dentistry to a recognized specialty area;

{c) Whether the individual has any criminal convictions;

{d} Whether the individual has been involved in any civil lifigation and, if so, the nature and result of the litigation;

{e) Whether the individual has been associated with a dental hygiene program.

Rulemaking Authority 436.017(1)(b), 466.G04(3) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(1)(b} FS. History—New 35-24-83, Amended 5-27-84,
Formerly 21G-2.20, 21G-2.020, 61F5-2.020, 590-2.020, Amended 2-15-06.

P35



64B5-2.021 Addifional Education Requirements for Reexamination,

(1} Any applicant who has failed to pass the clinical examination in three attempts shall not be eligible for reexamination
until he or she completes a one year general practice residency, advanced education general dentistry residency, or pedodontic
residency or a mimmum of one academic year of undergraduate clinical coursework in dentistry at a dental schoo! approved
by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation. At the time of application for reexamination the
applicant must furnish proof from the educational institution of successful completion of one of the residency programs listed
above or the required coursework. However, for those applicants completing their coursework immediately prior to the
examination or those applicants who have completed at least 9 months of a general practice residency, who cannot provide an
official transcript, proof of having successfully completed the required coursework or residency shall consist of & statement
from the dean of the schocl where the coursework or residency was completed that the requirements of this rule will have
been met prior to the date set for issuance of examination grades. Grades received by a candidate taking the examination
pursuant to this exception will not be certified, and grade results will be null and void if successful completion of the
coursework or residency has not been established prior fo the date set for issuance of exammatlon grades. Successful
completion of coursework shall be established by submission of an official transcript.

{(2) The statutory provision that an applicant complete additional educational requirements if he or she fails to pass a
specified portion of the examination three times is interpreted by the Board o mean that additional education shall be required
after every third unsuccessfil attempt, i.e., after the third, sixth, ninth, etc., atlempts.

Rulemalking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.006. FS. History-New 9-4-84, Formerly 21G-2.21, Amended 1-6-87, 11-16-89,
Formerly 21G-2.021, 61F3-2.021, 590-2.021, Amended 6-12-00.

64B5-2.022 Examination Review.
A candidate is entifled to review his examinatior under such terms and conditions as may be prescribed by the Department of
Health and upon payment of the fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.020, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authovity 456.017(2} FS. Law Implemented 456.017(2) FS." History-New 3-23-90, Formerly 21G-2.022, 61F5-2.022, 590
2.022.
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CHAPTER 64B5-4
ADVERTISING

64B5-4.002  Advertising and Soliciting by Dentists
64B5-4.003  Advertisement of Fees and Discounted Services
64B5-4.004  Advertising Specialty Services (Repealed)
64B5-4.005  Advertising of HIV/AIDS Status

64B5-4.002 Advertising and Seliciting by Denfists.

(1) As used in the rules of the Board, the ferms “advertisement” and “advertising” shall mean any statements, oral or
written, disseminated to or before the public or any portion thereof with the intent of furthering the pﬁrpose, either directty or
indirectly, of selling professional services, or offering fo perform professional services, or inducing members of the public to
enter info any obligation relating to such professional services. The provisions of this rule shall apply to media exposure of
any nature regardless of whether it is in the form of paid advertising.

(2) All advertising in any media must identify the Florida Jicensed dentist, who assumes total responsibility for the
advertisement. The term “identify” shall mean the use of the license number of the dentist as it appears on his license and
renewal certificate or the use of the licensee’s commonly used name together with the cwrent address and teiephone number
the Hcensee has on file with the Department.

{3) No dentist shall disseminate or cause the dissemination of any advertisement or advertising which is in any way
fravdulent, false, deceptive, or misleading in form or content. Additionally, no dentist shall disseminate or cause the
dissemination of any advertisement or advertising which:

{a) Contains misrepresentations of fact;

{b) Is likely to mislead or deceive because in its context or in the context in which it is presented it makes only a partial
disclosure of relevant facts;

{c} Contains laudatory statements about the dentist or group of dentists;

(d) Is intended or is likely to create false, unjustified expectations of favorable results;

(e) Relates to the quality of dental services provided as compared to other availabie dental services;

(f) Contains other representations or implications that in reasonable probability will cause an ordinary prudent person to
misunderstand or to be deceived. For example, it is franduient, false, deceptive, and misleading for a dentist who utilizes the
laser in his dental practice to advertise that the use of lasers is painless, heals faster, or provides better results than other dental
procedures. However, a denfist may advertise that he treats patients with a laser in certain instances.

(g} Is intended or is likely to appeal primarily to a layperson’s fears.

(4) In person and telephone solicitation of dental services by a dentist or his agent poses an inherent danger to the public
because such advertising cannot be supervised, may exert pressure, and often demands an immediate response without
affording the recipient an opporfunity for comparisen or reflection. Unlike an advertisement appearing in print or on television
or radio, in person and telephone solicitation does not simply provide information and leave the recipient free to act or not, but
is ripe with the potential for overbearing persuasion. Accordingly, in person and telephone solicitation of dental services by a
dentist or his agent is prohibited. The term “solicitation” as used in this rule does not include in person or ielephone
communication by a dentist or his or her agent with a patient or former patient for purposes of scheduling an appointment or
offering follow-up care,

(5) Advertising which includes the name of a person who is not either actually involved in the practice of dentistry at the
advertised location or an owner of the practice being advertised is not permitted. However, to facilitate the smooth transition
of a practice after its sale from one licensee to another, # 8 permissible to identify the previous owner in advertising by the
new owner for a reasonable period of time not to exceed a period of 2 years. This rule does not provide authority to use a
previous owner’s name in any advertising without first obtaining that licensee’s written permission to do so.

(6) Any dentist who advertises by, through or with a referral service shall be held responsible for the content of such
advertising and all such advertisements shall comply with this rule and contain the following:

{a) A statement that the advertisement is for a dental referral service and is in behalf of the dentist members of the referral
service.

(b} A statement that the referral service refers only to those dentists who have paid or been otherwise sclected for
membership in the referral service.

(c) A statement that membership in the referral service is limited by the referral agency.

{d) A siatement that dentists who receive referrals from the referral service charge no more than their usual and customary

P37



professional fees for service,

(e) These required statements shall be present in reasonably recognizable print or volume equivalent to the size or volume
of other information in the advertisement. '

(7) No licensee may use, or cause the use of the term “sleep dentistry” in any advertisement, unless the licenses possesses
a valid general anesthesia permit issued by the Board of Dentistry pursuant to the requirement of subsection 64B35-14.003(1)
and Rule 64B5-14.005, F.A.C.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4}, 466.019 FS. Law Implemented 466.019, 466.028¢1)(d) FS. History-New 7-7-87, Amended 1-11-89, 10-
29-90, 4-24-91, 7-14-92, Formerly 21 G~4.002, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F5-4.002, 590-4.002, Amended 3-20-0, 1-29-03, 2-26-06.

04B5-4.003 Advertisement of Fees and Discounted Services.

(1) An appropriate disclosure regarding advertised fees is necessary to protect the public since there is no uniform code
available which would enable a fair and rational selection based upon advertised fees.

(2) Any advertisement containing fee information shall contain a disclaimer that the fee is a minimum fee only.

{(3) Any advertised fee for a dental service shall state a specified period during which the fee is in effect or that service
shall remain available at or below the advertised fee for at least 90 days following the final advertisement for that service.

(4) Any dental service for which a fee 15 advertised shall be accompanied either by a description of that service using the
exact wording for that service contained in the American Dental Association’s “Code on Dental Procedures and
Nemenclature” which is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference or by the specific ADA Code number or numbers
which accurately and fully describes the advertised dental service. Listing of a category of service {diagnostic, preventive,
restorative, endodontics, periodontics, prosthodontics-removable, prosthodontics-fixed, oral surgery, orthodontics) or a sub-
category (any procedure whose ADA Code # ends in 00, ie., root canal therapy 03300) is not sufficient for the purpose of
advertising a fee. The advertisement must specify by use of exact nomenciature or exact code number what procedure within
the sub-category is being offered. If no fee is specified for a procedure advertised then a general description of procedure by
category or sub-category is permitted.

(5) Any advertisement for free or discounted services must comply with the requirements of Section 456.062, E.S., and
must also clearty identify the dates that free, discounied or reduced fee services will be available.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004{4). 466.019 FS. Law Implemented 466.019, 466.628(1)(d} FS. History—New 1-11-89, Amended 10-29-9¢, 3-
11-92, Formerly 21G-4.003, 61 F5-4.003, 590-4.063.

04B5-4.004 Advertising Specialty Services.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4). 466.019 FS. Law Implemented 466.019, 466.028(1)(d), 466.0282 FS. History—New [-11-89, Formerly
21G-4.004, 61F5-2.004, Amended 6-9-96, Formerly 590-4.004, Repealed 7-5-10.

64B5-4.005 Advertising of HIV/AIDS Status.

(1) Public fear regarding the possibility of HIV transmission from heaith care workers to patients, although scientifically
unfounded, has resnited in concerns regarding the safety of dental care. In order to prevent the inappropriate exploitation of
such fears and the fostering of such concerns, the advertising of dental health care workers’ HIV status must be sufficiently
regulated. '

(2) Public misunderstanding of the significance of HIV test results may cause an inappropriate reliance on negative test
results. Reliance on test results may diminish vigilance necessary for the success of universal precautions in the safe practice
of dentistry. HIV antibody testing is extremely accurate in detecting existing HIV antibodies. However, there are limitations to
the testing technoiogy. The “window™ period between infection and the appearance of HIV antibodies may produce false
negative results. The existence of this “window” period diminishes the reliability of any negative test results.

(3} It is the position of the Board of Dentistry that HIV/AIDS issues are best handled on an individual basis directly
between patients and dental health care workers. However, if such advertising is to be utilized the following guidelines must
be followed:

{a) No dental health care licensee may represent that he or she is HIV negative or free from AIDS. Only representations
as {o test results may be advertised or noticed; and

(b} Any such advertisement or nofice must clearly state the following:

THIS NEGATIVE HIV TEST CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT 1 AM CURRENTLY FRER OF HIV.
{c) Any referral or endorsement of a dental health care licensee based upon the licensee’s negative HIV test result must
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clearly state the following:
THIS NEGATIVE HIV TEST CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT THE PERSON TESTED IS CURRENTLY FREE OF HIV.

(d) Any representation as to a dental health care licensee’s HIV test results must include the exact date of the HIV fest
result that is the basis of such representations. '

(e) No dental health care licenses may state or imply in any advertisement or notice of his or her own HIV test results that
any other licensee is or may be a greater risk to patients due to a failure or refusal to provide similar advertising or notice.

(f) Any dental health care licensee who advertises or provides nofice of his or her HIV test resolts must produce upon the
request of a patient, a prospective patient, a former patient, or & Department of Health Investigator, an original HIV test result
provided by a clinical laboratory regulated by the Department of Health, indicating the result of an HIV test. If the
advertisement or notice states that the dental health care licensee has tested negative for HIV, the required test result must
indicate a negative resuli,

Rulemaking Authority 456,032, 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456,032, 466.019 FS. History—New [12-10-91, Formerly 21G-4.003, 61F5-
4.005, 590-4.005,
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CHAPTER 64B5-7
DENTAL PRACTICE PERMITS

64B5-7.001 Requirements for Approval and Operation of Internship and Residency Programs

64B5-7.003 Permit Reguirements for Dentat Interns and Residents

04B35-7.0035 Temparary Certificate Requirements for Dentists Practicing in State and County Government Facilities
6485-7.005 Teaching Permits

64B5-7.006 Non-Profit Corporation Permits

64B5-7.007 Limited License as Allowed in Section 456.015, F.S

6415-7.001 Requirements for Approval and Operation of Internship and Residency Programs.

(1} For the purpose of recetving a dental intern permit pursuant to Section 466.025(1), F.S., dental internships include
dental residency programs for dental school graduates.

(2} Al} dental internships or residency programs approved by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation are deemed to be Board approved programs.

(3) Any hospital or institution. which seeks to provide a dental internship or residency program which has not been
approved pursuant to subsection 64B5-7.001(2), F.A.C., shall apply to the Board for approval. The application for approval
shail contain:

{a) A plan for operation of the program which establishes compliance with subsection 64B5-7.001{(4), F.A.C.;

{b) An outline of the duties and proposed schedule for dental interns or residents;

(¢) Any information relating to the program review by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation or information regarding the program not being reviewed; and

(d) Any other information requested by the Board which is reievant to the Board’s evaluation of the program.

{4) Any dental internship or residency program shall be directed by an identified staff consisting of at least one Florida
licensed dentist who shall provide for the continued education and instruction of the dental interns or residents.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.025 FS. Law Implemented 466.025 FS. History—Repromulgated 1-1-75, Formerly 21G-7.01,
Amended 1-29-89, Formerly 21G-7.001, 61F3-7.001, 5390-7.001, Amended 3-28-99.

04B5-7.003 Permit Requirements for Dental Interns and Residents.

(1} Any person wishing fo be issued a permit as a dental intern or resident, pursuant to Section 456.025(1), F.S., shall
apply on the Residency/Intern Application, form DH-MQA 1224, (8/12}, incorporated herein by reference and available at
https://www firules.orp/Gatewaviveference asp?No=Ref-01891  or  on  the Department of Health’s website at
hitp:/rwww.doh.state. fl us/mga/dentistry, and provide proof of the followmg

{a) Applicant’s name and age;

(b} Applicant’s graduation from a dental college or school or verification that the applicant is expected to graduate within
the next sixty days. (The proof submitted shall include either a true and correct copy of a diploma awarded by the dental
school or college or a letter from the dean of the dental school or college.);

{c) Applicant’s licensure status in other jurisdictions, including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action;

(d} The status of any dental malpractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction;

(¢} The name and address of the internship or residency program at which the applicant will be practicing dentistry; and

(2} Graduates of dental schools or colleges that are not accredited by the ADA shall be issued permits only for practice in
internship or residency programs that are accredited by the ADA,

(3) Any hospital, institution or clinic emploving & dental intern or resident shall inform the Board office of the fermination
of that individual. Such notice shall be in writing and within 30 days of termination of empioyment or training.

(4) Experience obtained by an individual pursuant to a permit issued under the authority of this rule and Section 466.023,
E.8., is not acceptable for the purpose of fulfilling the supplemental education program set forth in Section 466.006(3)(b), F.S.

(5) Every applicant 1s required to provide proof of current CPR certification prior to being issued a permit. Applicants
who are not certified but who are otherwise eligible for a permit shall be allowed 60 days to obtain such certification
following issuance of the permit,

{6) Dental intern and resident permits are subject to cancellation, revocation or other discipline by the Board for failure to
comply with Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., and Chapier 64B5, F.A.C,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466,025 FS. Law Implemented 456.0633, 466.025 FS. Histoij»wRepmmulgaled 1-1-75, Amended 1-9-77,
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Formerly 21G-7.03, Amended 1-28-89, Formerly 21G-7.003, Amended 8-12-93, 3-30-94, 7-18-94, Formerly 61F5-7.003, Amended 7-12-935,
Formerly 590-7.003, Amended 11-710-98, 3-28-99, 11-19-12.

64B5-7.0035 Temporary Certificate Requirements for Dentists Practicing in State and County Government
Facilities.

(1) Any unlicensed dentist who wishes to practice dentistry at a state or county government facility in Florida is required
to obtain a temporary certificate.

{2) Any unlicensed dentist who is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission or Accreditation of the
American Dental Association and who applies to the Board for such certification shall be certified by the Board for receipt of
4 temporary certificate.

(3) Prior to issuance of a temporary certificate, the unlicensed dentist shall submit proof of current CPR certification. The
facility at which the unlicensed dentist intends to practice shall provide to the board office the name(s} and license number(s)
of the licensed dentist(s) under whose supervision the certificate holder shalt work.

{4) Each state or county facility at which an unlicensed dentist practices dentistry shall inform the Board cffice of the
termination or transfer of the temporary certificate holder. Such notice shall be in writing and within 30 days of termination or
transfer of the certificate holder.

{(5) A temporary certificate shall be renewed each biennium. At the time of renewal the certificate holder shall sign a
statement that he or she has complied with all coptinuing education requirements of active licensees. Additionally, each
certificate holder shall complete, no later than upon first renewal, 2 Board-approved course on Human Immunodeficiency
Viras (HIV) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. A
temporary certificate shall be canceled by the Board upon the unlicensed dentist being terminated from employment by a state
or county government facility or upon a finding by the Board that the temporary certificate holder has violated any provision
of Section 466.027 or 466.028, F.S., or has failed the Florida dental licensure examination.

Rulemaking Auwthority 466.004(4) FS. Law Inplemented 456.033, 466.017(4), 466.025 FS. History-New 8-12-93, Formerly 61F5-7.0635,
580-7.0033, Amended 11-10-98, 3-23.99, 12-25-0], 1-12-04, ]2-25-06.

64B5-7.605 Teaching Permits,

(1) A teaching permit shall be issued by the Board of Dentistry to a full time dental instructor of a dental program
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association and, except for the orthodontic
specialty program at Jacksonviile University, shall be located within & dentat school as defined herein or in a medical school
accredited by the American Medical Association’s Liaison Committee for Medical Education upon the request of the dean if
the faculty member:

{a) Has a degree in dentistry and either: 1) is eligible to take the Fiorida dental licensure examination and has not failed
the examination on three occasions or; 23 was at one time eligible to take the Florida examination, and has not failed the
Florida dental licensure examination on three cccasions or; 3) has successfully completed a post-doctoral training program of
at feast two years in duration and aceredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association
or; 4} is not eligible to take the Florida examination, but obtained the degree from a foreign dental education program and
agrees to practice dentistry only under the general supervision of a Florida licensed dentist; and

(b} Is a full-time dental instructor; and

(c) Beginning on March 1, 2014, all new applicants must pass the Florida Dental Laws & Rules Examination; and

{d) Beginning with the March 1, 2014 biennium licensure renewal cycle, all teaching permit holder’s must comply with
the continuing education mandates in Rule Chapter 64B3-12, F.A.C.; and

(e) Does not engage in the practice of dentisiry, except at the teaching facilities under the accredited dental program.

(2) A dental school is an educational institution that includes a predoctoral dental education program of not less than four
vears from which students praduate with a D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree.

(3) A teaching permit or temporary teaching permit authorizes the holder to practice dentistry at the teaching facility
under the following terms and conditions:

{a} All records pertaining o the teaching practice shall be subject to review and available 1o the Board.

(b} Upon the Board’s request, the permit hoider shali submit any information the Board deems necessary to evaluate
compliance with Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., and Chapter 64R5, F A C.

{c} Permits shall be in effect anly as long as the holder is a full-time dental instructor and shall be automatically cancelled
and nullified by the termination of the holder as a dental instructor at the teaching facility or third time failure of the Florida
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dental Heensure examination.

{d) Teaching permits are subject to canceilation or revocation by the Board for failure to comply with Chapters 456 and
466, F.S., and Chapter 6485, F.A.C.; and the biennium continuing education licensure requirements.

¢4) Prior to issuance of a teaching permit, each faculty member must provide proof of current CPR certification. If
otherwise eligible, the faculty member will be granted a permit with the requirement that current CPR certification be obtained
within 60 days. Each faculty member holding a teaching faculty permit shall maintain current CPR certification.

(5) Ar applicant for a teaching permit shall submit Appiication for Teaching Permit, form DHE-MQA 1225 (2/13),
incorporated herein by reference and available at httpy//www . firles ore/Gatewav/reference.asp?No=Ref-03126 or on the
Department of Health’s website at htip://www.doh.state.fl.us/Mga/dentistry.

Rulemaking Authority 466.002(6), 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.002(6) F3. History-New 4-30-80, Amended 1-13-81, Formerly
21G-7.05, Amended 1-29-89, Formerly 21G-7.005, 61F5-7.005, Amended 10-16-96, 3-16-97, Formerly 590-7.005, Amended 11-10-98, &-
3.00, 1-12-04, 911068, [1-19-12, -17-13.

64B5-7.006 Non-Profit Corporation Permits.

(1) Any non-profit corporation which is chartered for the purposes specified in Section 466.025(3}, F.S., seeking a permit
to employ a non-Florida licensed dentist who is a graduate of & dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association shall file an application with the Board which contains the following
information:

(a) A certified copy of the nom-profit corporation’s charter which establishes one or mote of the purposes for the
organization which are specified in Section 466.025(3), F.S., and proof of registration with the Internal Revenue Service as a
nonprofit organization pursuvant to 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3).

{b) Justification for the need to provide dental services by dentists whe are not licensed in this state.

(¢) A plan of operation which establishes that any non-Florida licensed dentist employed by the permit holder will be
practicing dentistry under the general supervision of & Florida licensed desitist.

(d) For non-profit corporations which provide dental care to indigent patients, statistics which establish that only indigent
patients have been treated or admission criteria that only indigent patients will be treated. A description of the physical plant,
available equipment and resources which establish that minimum standards of dentistry are or will be practiced at the facility.

{e) Any other information pertinent to the application which is requested by the Board.

{f) As to each non-Florida licensed dentist employed or sought io be employed:

1. The dentist’s name and age,

2. Proof of said dentist’s graduation from an accredited dental college or school,

3. The dentist’s licensure status in other jurisdictions, including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action,

4. The status of any dental malpractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction,

5. Proef of having successfully completed Beard approved courses on Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Acguired
Immune Deficiency Syndrome, a course in domestic viclence, and proof of cusrent CPR certification.

(2) A non-profit corporation permit holder shali follow the reguirements of subsection 64B5-7.001(4), F.A.C., and Rule
64B5-7.003, F.A.C,, regarding application, requirements for conducting the program and qualifications for any permit holders
who wili be employed at their facility.

(3) Any non-Florida licensed dentist employed by the holder of a permit pursuant to this rule shall be beund by all
requirements for permit holders set forth in Rule 64B35-7.003, F.A.C., and shall be compensated only by salary which is not
based upon productivity.

{4) Each non-profit corporation at which a non-Florida ticensed dentist practices dentistry shall inform the Board office of
the termination of practice of said dentist, Such notice shall be in writing and within thirty (30) days of termination.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.025(3} FS. History-New 11-16-89, Formerly 21 G-7.006, 6] F5-7.006, 590-
7.006, Amended 3-25-99, 6-12-00, 12.25-06.

04B5-7.067 Limited License as Allowed in Section 456.015, F.S.

(1) A limited license shail be issued by the Board of Dentistry o an applicant who has retired or intends to retire from the
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene and intends to practice only pursuant to the restrictions of the limited license granted
pursuant to Section 456.015, F.S., if the applicant:

{a) Has been licensed for practice in any jurisdiction in the United States for at least ten (10) vears in the profession for
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which the applicant seeks a limited license.

(b} Has not committed or is not under investigation for prosecution for any act which would constitute the basis for
discipline pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 466, F.S.

{c) Practices only in the employ of public agencies or non-profit agencies or institutions which meet the requirements of
Section 501(c}3), F.S., of the Internal Revenue Code, are permitted under Rule 64B5-7.006, F.A.C., and which provide
professional liability coverage for acts or omissions of the Hmited licensee.

{d) Complies with all continuing education requirements of active licensees.

{e) If the applicant for a limited license submits a notarized statement from the employer stating the applicant will not
receive monetary compensation for eny service involving the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, the application fee and afl
licensure fees shall be waived.

{f) Submits Form DH-MQA 1201, Application for Limited Licensure Dentist/Dental Hygienist {Rev. 8/12), incorporated
herein by reference and available at hitp//www flrales org/Gateway/reference. asp?No=Ref-(1939 or availasble on the
Department of Health’s website at http://www.doh.state. fl.us/mqga/dentistry,

{2) A limited licensee may provide services only to the indigent, or critical need populations within the state. The standard
for determining indigency shall be recognized by the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines produced by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services.

Rulemaking Authoriry 456,015, 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456,013, 466.006, 466.007, 466.011 FS. History-New 7-19-01, Amended 6-
2203, 11-28-12.
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CHAPTER 64B5-9 :
PRESCRIPTIONS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE SERVICES AND CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL
RADIOGRAPHERS

64B5-9.010 Prescriptions for the Services of a Dental Hygienist
64B5-9.011 Radiography Training for Denial Assistants

6485-9.010 Prescriptions for the Services of a Dental Hygienist.

(1) For the purposes of Section 466.023(2)(c), F.S., a dentist’s prescription for his patient of record for dental hygiene
services shall contain the following information:

{a) The patient’s name and address;

(b) The dentist’s name, business address and Heense number;

(c) The name, business address and professional license number of the dental hygienist who is being authorized to
perform the service; and

(d) A statement of the specific services authorized and the frequency of the services authorized.

(2) The prescription must be printed, handwritten or typed on the dentist’s prescription pad or on his professional
ietterhead stationery,

(3} The original prescription shall be given to the patient, and a copy shall be maintained in the patient’s file in the office
of the prescribing dentist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.023(2)(d} FS. History-New §-4-8G, Formerly 21G-8.10, Amended 1-18-89,
Formerly 21G-9.010, 61 F3-9.010, 590-9.014,

64B5-9.011 Radiography Training for Dental Assistants.

(1) Licensed dentists may position and expose dental radiographic films pursuant to Section 466.017, ¥.S.

(2) Dental hygienists may position and expose dentai radiographic films pursuant to Section 466.023, F.S., and Chapter
64RB5-16, F.A.C.

(3) Denial assistants may position and expose dental radiographic films only if they have been certified by the
Department as dental radiographers or have graduated from a Board-approved dental assisting school or program.

(4) Dental assistants may be certified as dental radiographers if they comply with the following requirements:

(a) Apply for certification on DH-MQA 1202, Dental Radiography Certification Application (Rev. 8/12), incorporated

Department of Health’s website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mga/dentisiry, and submit the nonrefundable fee prescribed by
Ruie 648B5-15.015, F.A.C,;

(b} Document having completed at least 3 months of continuous on-the-job training through assisting in the positioning
and exposing of dental radiographic film under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist; and .

(¢) Document successful completion of a Board-approved course which meets the requirements of subsection 6485-
9.011{5), F.A.C. within 12 months after completion of the on-the-job training required by paragraph 64B5-6.011(4)(b), F.A.C.

(5) Only courses which provide training in the following areas may receive Board approval:

(a) Dental radiography practice and equipment;

{b) Radiation biology and radiation safety techniques;

{¢) Hands-on instruction in the positioning of dental radiograph films through the use of eppropriate mannequins that will
provide the didactic objectives;,

{d) Radiographic anatomy;

(¢) Radiographic film and processing;

(f) Intra-oral radiographic fechniques;

{g) Supplemental techniques of dental radiography; and

(hy Infection control and sterilization techniques.

(6) A dental assistant’s certification as a dental radiographer must be conspicucusly dispiayed te the public in any dental
office where these services are performed,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.01 7(7} FS. Law Implemented 466.017(7) FS. History-New 9-20-80, Amended 1-28-81, Formerly 21G-
9.11, Amended 12-31-86, 1-18-89, 4-24-9], Formerly 21G-9.011, G1F5-9.011, 590-9.011, Amended 6-12-00, 5-20-01, 12.11-12.
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| CHAPTER 64B5-10
INACTIVE LICENSURE STATUS, RENEWAL, REACTIVATION, AND EXEMPTIONS

64B5-10.004 Exemption of Spouses of Members of Armed Forces From Licensure Renewal Provisions
64B5-10.003 Inactive Status and Renewal of Inactive Status

64B5-10.007 Requirements for Reactivation of an Inactive License

6485-10.010 Delinquent Status License

64B5-10.011 Retired Status and Reactivation of Retired Status License.

64B5-10.004 Exemption of Spouses of Members of Armed Forces From Licensure Renewal Provisions,
A licensee who is the spouse of a2 member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was caused to be absent from the
State of Florida for a period of at least six consecutjve months because of the spouse’s duties with the armed forces and who at
the time the absence became necessary was in good standing with the Board of Dentistry and entitled to practice dentistry or
dental hygiene in Florida shall be exempt from all ficensure renewal provisions under these ruies. The licensee must show
satisfactory proof of the absence and the spouse’s military status.

Rulemaking Authority 456.024(2), 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.024¢2} FS. History-New ]2-31-86, Formerly 21G-10.004, 61F3-
10.004, 390-10.004.

64B5-10.005 Inactive Status and Renewal of Inactive Status.

(1) A licensee may elect at any time to place the license into inactive status by filing with the Department a completed
application for inactive status as set forth in Section 456.036, F.S., and the appropriate fees required by Rule Chapter 64B5-
15, F.A.C. Active status licensees choosing inactive status at the time of license renewal must pay the fee for renewal of
mactive license required by Rule 64B5-15.008, F.A.C., any applicable delinquency fee as required by Rule 64B5-15.011,
F.A.C., and the Change of Status Processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C. Active status licensees choosing
inactive status at any time other than at the time of license renewal shall pay the change of status processing fee required by
Rule 64B5-15.012, F A.C.

{2) Inactive licenses must be renewed biennizally including payment of the renewal fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.008,
FAC :

(3) An inactive license can be reactivated at any time provided the licensee meets the requirements of Rule 64B85-10.007,
F.A.C. Inactive status licensees choosing active status at the time of license renewal must pay the renewal fee required by
Rule 64B3-15.006, F.A.C,, the reactivation fee as required by Rule 64B3-15.009, F.A.C., any applicable delinquency fee as
required by Rule 6485-15.011, F.A.C., and the change of status processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C. Tnactive
status licensees choosing active status at any time other than at the time of license renewal shall pay the reactivation fee as
required by Rule 64B5-15.00%, F.A.C., and the change of status processing fee required by Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.015 FS. Law Implemenied 456.036 FS. History-New 7-12-95, Formeriy 390-10.005, Amended 5-20-
178

64B5-16.007 Requirements for Reactivation of an Inactive License,

Ax inactive license shall be reactivated upon demonstration that the licensee has paid the applicable fees set forth in Rule
Chapter 64B3-15, F.A.C., and has complied with the following requirements:

(1} As a conditicn fo the reactivation of an inactive license, & dentist or dental hygienist must submit proof of having
completed the appropriate continuing education requirements as set forth in Rule 64B3-12.613, F.A.C.

(2) However, any licensee whose license has been inactive for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and
who has not practiced for two out of the previous four years in another jurisdiction shall be required to appear before the
Board and establish the ability to practice with the care and skill sufficient to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the
public. At the time of such appearance, the licensee must:

(a) Show compliance with subsection (1) above;

{b) Account for any activities related to the practice of dentistry in this or any other jurisdiction during the period that the
license was inactive and establish an absence of malpractice or disciplinary actions pending in any jurisdiction;

{¢) Prove compliance with the financial responsibility requirements -of subsection 456.048, F.S., and Rule 64B5-17.011,
F.A.C. (dentists only);

{d) Prove compliance with subsection 456.033, F.S., and Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C.
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(3} The Department shall not reactivate the license of any dentist or dental hygienist who has:

(a) Committed any act or offense in this or any other jurisdiction which would constitnte the basis for disciplining a
licensee pursuant to subsection 466.028, F.S.

(b} Failed to comply the financial responsibility requirements of Section 456.048, F.S., and Rule 64B5-17.011, F.A.C.
{dentists only).

{c) Failed to comply with the provisions of Section 456.033, F.S., and Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 456,036, 466.015 FS. History—New 7-12-93, Formeriy 590-10.007, Amended 3-20-01.

64B5-16.010 Delinquent Stafus License,

(1} The failure of any license holder to either renew the license or elect inactive status before the license expires shall
cause the license to become delinquent.

(2} The delinquent status licensee must affirmatively apply for active or inactive status during the licensure cycle in which
the license becomes delinguent, The failure by the delinquent status licensee (o cause the license to be renewed or made
inactive before the expiration of the licensure cyele in which the license became delinguent shall render the license null and
void without further action by the Board or the Department.

(3) The deiinquent status licensee who applies for license renewal or inactive status ghall:

(a) Apply to the Department for either license renewal as required by Section 466.015, F.S_, or inactive status as required
by Section 456,036, F.S.

(b) Pay to the Board either the license renewal fee as set forth in Ruie 64B5-15.006, F.A.C., or the inactive status fze as
set forth in Rule 6485-15.008, F.A.C.; the delinquency fee as set forth in Rule 64B5-15.011, F.A.C.; and, if applicable, the
processing fee as set forth in Rule 64B5-15.012, F.A.C,; and

(c} If renewal is elected, demonstrate compliance with the continuing education requirements found in Rule 64B5-12.013,
FAC.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 456,036 FS. Hisiory-New 7-12-95, Formerly 590-16,010.

64B5-10.011 Retired Status and Reactivation of Retired Status License.

(1} A Hicensee may place an active or inactive license in retired status at any time. If the license is placed in retired status
at the time of renewal the licensee shall pay the retired status fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0122, F.A.C. If the licensee
chooses to place the license in retired status at any time other than at the time of license renewal the licensee shall pay the
change of status processing fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0121, F.A.C,, and the retired statys fee set forth in Rule 64RBS-
150122, F.AC.

(2) A licensee may reactivate a retired status license at any time, subject to meeting the following requirements:

{a) Paying the reactivation fee set forth in Rule 64B35-15.0001, F A.C.;

(b) Showing documentary proof of satisfying the continuing education requirements of Rules 64B5-12.013, 64B5-12.016,
64B5-12.019, 64B5-12.020, F.A.C., for cach licensure biennial period in which the license was in retired status.

(¢} Dentists must demonstrate comphance with Rule 64B5-17.011, F.A.C,, Financial Responsibility.

(3) Any dentist whose license has been on retired status for more than five (5) years or a licensee from another state who
has not been in the active practice of dentistry within the past five (5) years shall be required 1o appear before the Credentials
Committee of the Board and establish the ability to practice with care and skill sufficient to protect the heaith, safety and
welfare of the public. At the time of such appearance, the dentist must;

(a) Demonstrate compliance with subsection (2) above;

(b) Account for any activities related to the practice of dentistry during the period that the licensee was on retired status or
not practicing in another jurisdiction and establish an absence of malpractice or disciplinary actions pending in any
jurisdiction.

(4) The Department shall refuse to reactivate the license of a retired status dentist who is under investigation or
prosecution in any jurisdiction for an action that would constitute a violation of this chapter or the professional practice acts

administered by the department and the boards, until 15 days after the Department receives the final results of the
investigation or prosecution.

Rulemaking Authority 456.036 FS, Law Implemented 456.036 FS. History~New 2-14-06, Amended 6-9-10.
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CHAPTER 64B5-12
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION

64B5-12.013 Continuing Education Requirements

64B5-12.0135  Licensees Excused from Continuing Educational Requirements
64B5-12.014 Committee on Continning Professional Fducation

64B5-12.016 Subject Area Requirements

64B5-12.017 Application for Provider Status

64B5-12.0175  Standards for Approved Providers

64B5-12.018 Individual Study .

64B5-12.0185  Standards for Board Approval of Pro Bono Programs
64B5-12.019 Courses Required for Initial Licensure, Renewal, or Reactivation
64B5-12.020 Courses Required of Licensees for Renewal and Reactivation

64B5-12.013 Continuing Fducation Requirements,

(1) Dentists shall complete 30 hours of continuing professional education during each license renewal biennium as a
condition of license renewal. Dentists shall also complete a Board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on
domestic violence as defined in Section 741.28, F.S., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C., as part of every third
biennial licensure renewal. In addition to the 30 hours required herein, each licensed dentist shall complete the training in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) required in subsection 64B5-12.020(1), F.A.C. Furthermore, each person is required fo
complete no later than upon first licensure renewal a Board approved course on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and
Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) as required by Section: 456.033, F.S., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019,
F.AC.

(2y Dental hygienists shall complete 24 hours of continuing professional education as a condition of license renewal.
Dental hygienists shail also complete a Board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on domestic violence as
defined in Section 741.28, F.8., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019, F.A.C., as part of every third biennial licensure renewal.
In addition, during each license renewal biennium licensed dental hygienists shall complete training in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, which results in certification or recertification in CPR by the American Heart
Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements. Furthermore, each person is required to
complete no later than upon first licensure renewal a Board approved course on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and
Acquired Immwne Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) as required by Section 456.033, F.S., and described in Rule 64B5-12.019,
FAC.

(3) Continving education credit shall be awarded only for educational experiences that are specifically appropriate for,
and contain vseful information directly pertinent to, dentistry and only if received through the following methods:

(a} By participating in courses offered by a Board-approved continuing education provider; or

(b) By participating in courses offered by:

1. The American or National Dental Associations and their constituent and component and affiliate dental associations
and societies, mncluding affiliated specialty organizations or a provider organization recognized by either the American or
National Dental Associations; . :

2. The American or National Dental Hygienist Association and their constituent and component assoclations and
societies;

3. The Academy of General Dentistry and ifs constituent and component organizations or a provider approved by the
Academy of General Dentistry’s National Sponsor Approval Program;

4. A dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on
Dental Accreditation;

5. A hospital, college, university, or community college, accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the United
States Department of Education;

6. The American Red Cross, American Heart Association, and the America Cancer Society; and

7. An educational program or course associated with a medical schocl which is accredited by the American Medical
Asscciation’s Liaison Committee for Medical Education;

{c) By participating in Board-Approved individual study; and

(d) By participating in examination standardization exercises. Dentists and dental hygienists may receive a maximum of 6
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continuing education credits per biennium for participating in the dental hygiene exercise; dentists may recefve a maximum of
8 continuing education credits for the dental clinical exercise; and dentists may receive a maximum of 11 continuing
education credits per biennium for participating in both exercises;

(e) By participating in programs approved by the Board pursuant to Rule 6485-12.0185, F.A.C., that provide substantial
pro bono dental and dental hygiene services to the indigent, to dentally underserved populations or to persons who reside in
areas of critical need within Florida. Dentists and dental hygienists may obtain a maximum of 7 hours per bienninm of
required continuing education credit for participating in such programs. Continuing education credit shall be calculated at a
ratio of 1 continuing education credit for each 1 hour of patient services provided to approved programs.

{f) By participating as an expert witness in the review of disciplinary cases, a licensee may receive a maximum of 11
hours of continuing education credit for comipleting five disciplinary cases in each biennium. By participating as an expert
witness in the review of disciplinary cases, a licensee may receive a maximum of 4 hours of continuing education credit for
completing two disciplinary cases in each biennium. A maximum of 11 hours in any one biennium may be sarned toward
license renewal.

(g) By participating as part of a course at a dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the ADA
Commission on Dental Accreditation, its successor agency or other nationally recognized accrediting agency, an adjunct, part-
time faculty member may receive 3 continuing education hours per semester/quarter by providing the following requirements:
application, documentation from the teaching institution which shall include the number of the semesters/quarters the licensee
tanght the course.

(h) Up to 4 hours of credit per renewal cycle may be earned by attending a meeting of the Board of Dentistry wherein
disciplinary cases are considered. The licensee must check in with staff prior to the beginning of the disciplinary proceedings.
After the conclusion of the meeting, Board staff will issue a certificate of attendance to the licensee. Credit hours shall be
awarded on an hour for hour basis up to a maximum of 4 hours. Credit hours may not be earned when the licensee attends a
disciplinary case session as a party to a disciplinary action.

(1) By participating as an anesthesia inspection consultant, a licensee may receive two hours of continuing education
credit each biennium.

(4) The Department shall send a fcense renewal application to each licensee at the jicensee’s last address of record during
cach license renewal period. The application shall contain an affidavit form to be completed and sworn to by the licensee
stating that the lcensee has completed required continuing education. The licensee shall retzin documentation of having
commpleted the continuing education hours claimed on the renewal application for a period of 4 vears.

{(5) Failure of the Department to send or the licensee to receive a Iicense renewal notice shall not affect the licensee's
responsibility to timely renew licensure.

(6) The Board will randomly audit licensees’ continuing education documentation to assure compliance with continuing
education requirements. Failure to maintain docementation or the submission of false or misleading information or
documentation shall subject the licenses te discipline, up to and including revocation of licensure,

Rulemaking Authority 456.013(8), 456.031, 466.004(4), 466.0135, 466,074, 466.017(3), (4} FS. Law Implemenied 436.013(8), 456.031,
466.0135, 466.014, 466.017(3), (5), 466.028(1}(i), (bb) FS. History—New 4-2-86, Amended 12-31-86, 4.26-87, 7-20-87, 9-16-87, ]]-] 58-89,
7-9-80, Formerly 21G-12.013, Amended 3-19-94, 7-18-94, Formerly 61F5-]2.013, Amended 1]-15-93, 4-8-96, Formerly 590-12.013,
Amended 2-17-98, 2-15-99, 3-11-99, 11-9-00, 5-20-01, 8-25-03. 5.37-04, 7-13-05, 2-14-06, ]2-25-06, 10-16-]0.

6485-12.0135 Licensees Excused from Continuing Educational Requirements.

(1) Licensees shali not be required to compiete continuing education requirements during the biennivm in which they
receive mitial licensure,

(2) Dentists shall not be required to complete continuing education requirements during any biennium in which they are:

(2) Enrclled full-time in a post-graduate specialty training or residency program at a dental school aceredited by the
American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation; or

(b) Serving as full-time faculty members at a dental, dental bygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American
Dental Association’s Commission of Dental Accreditation.

{3} Dental hygienists shall not be required to complete continuing education requirements during any biennium in which
they are;

(a) Enrolied full-time in an academic program directly related to dentistry or dental hygiene; or

(b) Serving as full-ime faculty members at a dental, dental hygiene school or dental assisting school accredited by the
American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation.
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{4) No provision of this section shall relieve a licensee from the obligation to obtain training required by Sections
456.013(7),456.031, 456.033, F.5., as a condition of licensure renewal.

Rulemaking Authority 466.00474), 466.0135, 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 456.013(7), 436.031, 456,033, 466.0135, 466.014 FS, History-
New [-18-88, Formerly 21G-12.0135, 61F5-12.0135, 590-12.0135, Amended 5.1 7-06,

64B5-12.014 Committee on Continuing Professional Education,

{1) The Chairman of the Board shall appoint a Continuing Professional BEducation Committes to effectively administer
contimung education requirements.

{2) The committee shal} consist of at least one dentist member, one public member, and one dental hygienist member. A
guorum shall be a majority of the committee members.

(3) The committee shall prepare for the Board's consideration and final approval or disapproval, requests for continuing
education provider status and requests for continuing education credit for individual study.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 466.0133, 466,014 FS. History-New 4-2-86, Amended 6-30-86, 1-15-89,
Formerly 21G-12.014, 61 F5-12.014, 590-12.014.

64B5-12.016 Subject Area Requirements.

(1} Regardless of the mannér by which a licensec obtains continuing education, no credit will be awarded unless the
subject matter falls within the following subject matter categories:

{a) Basic medical and scientific subjects, including but not limited to — biology, microbiology, anatomy, dental anatomy,
microscopic anatomy, pathology, physiology, chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry, neuroiogy, pharmacology,
anesthesia, analgesia, diet and nuirition as it relates to the conditions of the human oral cavity.

(b) Clinical and technical subjects, including but net limited to — technigues in general dentistry or recognized specialties,
dental materials and equipment, diagnosis and treatment planning, asepsis and sterilization techniques and radiology.

(c) Patient heaith and safety subjects including but not limited to — public health problems, communicable diseases,
emergency care, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, advanced life support, anesthesia, patient stress mansgement and risk
management,

(d) Subjects dealing with licensees’ legal responsibilities, including but not limited to the laws and rules governing the
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.

(e) Formal group discussions concerning case presentations sponsored by approved providers.

{2) Except as expressly allowed below in this section, no continuing education credit shall be giver for courses which do
not directly refate to providing dental care. The following types of courses do not relate directly to providing dental care —
organization or design of a dental office, practice development or management, marketing of dental services, investments or
financial management and personnel management,

(3) No continuing education credit shall be given for identical courses taken during the same biennium.

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section to the contrary, a dentist may earn up to three hours of continuing
education renewal credit per biepnium, by completing an approved course in denfistry practice management, that meets the
criteria set forth in Section 466.0135(1)c), F.S.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4), 466.0135, 466.0/4 FS. Law Implemented 456,031, 466.0135, 466.014 F§. History—New 4-2-86, Amended
1-18-89, 7.8.90, 2-1-93, Formeriy 21G-12.016, §1F5-]12.016, Amended 9-27-95, Formerly 590-12.016, Amended 10-29-00, 5-20-01, 5-3]-
04, 7-6-08, 12-25-06.

64B5-12.017 Application for Provider Status.

(1) Entities or individuals who wish to become approved providers of continuing education must submit the approval fee
set forth in subsection 64B5-15.022(1), F.A.C,, and an application on the appropriate form set forth in Rule 64B5-1.021,
F.A.C., which contains the following information and which is accompanied by the following documentation:

(a) The name of the contact person: who will fulfill the reporting and documentation requirements for approved providers
and whe will assure the provider’s compliance with Rule 64B5-12.0175, F.A.C.; and

(b} The qualifications of all instructors, which may be evidenced by a curriculum vitae or professional licensure in the
subject arca taught. Because domestic viclence courses must contain information specifically appropriate for, directly
pertinent to, and useful in, dentistry, all domestic violence instructors shall identify dental injuries indicative of domestic
violence, mandatory reporting and patient records confidentiality for dentists under Florida and federal law, and incidence
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statistics in the dental profession.

(2) Provider approval may be granted for a period not to exceed the time from the date of approval to the end of the next
successive licensure biennium afier approval was obtained. Application for renewal of provider status shall be made at least
90 days prior to the end of the biennium in which approval expires and must be accompanied by the biennial renewal fee set
forth in subsection 64B5-15.022(2), F.A.C. Renewal applications shall contain all information required for initial provider
approval as well as course outlines and information evidencing compliance with Rule 64B5-12.0175, F.A.C., for each course
offered during the provider status.

(3} Study clubs which are composed of at least five licensees, are formed for the purpose of scientific study and which
have adopted writien by-laws may apply to become approved continuing education providers.

Rulemaking Authority 456.027, 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 436.027, 466.0135, 466.014 FS. History—New 4-2-86, Amended
10-26-87, 1-18-88, 7-9-90, 5-2-81, Formerly 21G-12.017, 61F5-12.017, 590-12.017, Amended 8-19-97, 10-29-00, 5-20-01.

64B5-12.0175 Standards for Approved Providers.

Approved continuing professional education providers and providers authotized pursuant to paragraph 64B5-12.013(3)(b),
I A.C., shall comply with the following requirements:

(1) Ali courses shall reflect appropriate didactic and clinica! training for the subject matter and shall be designed to meet
specifically stated educational objectives.

(2) Instructors shall be adequately qualified by training, experietice or licensure to teach specified courses. Because
domestic violence courses must contain information specifically appropriate for, directly pertinent to, and useful in, dentistry,
all domestic violence instructors shall be familiar with dental injuries indicative of domestic violence, reporting obligations
under Florida and federal faw, and incidence statistics in the dental profession. Instructors who have had a professional license
revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted against, in Florida or in another jurisdiction, shall be disgualified when the nature and
number of disciplinary actions indicate a conscious disregard for the laws, rules and ethics of the profession.

{3) Any clinical dental hygiene course in which patients are treated during instruction must be supervised by a licensed
dentist.

{4) Facilities and equipment for each course in which patients are treated during instruction shall be adequate for the
subject matter and method of instruction.

(5) Course length shall be sufficient to provide meaningful education m the subject matter presented. One half hour or one
hour of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 25 or 50 minutes of actual classroom or clinical instruction,
respectively, No continuing education credit shall be awarded for participation of less than 25 minuies,

(6} Providers shall provide writter certification to each participant who completes a continuing education course or
portion of that course which consists of at least 25 minutes of instruction, Certification shali include the participant’s name
and license number, the provider’s name and number, the course title, instructor, location, date offered and hours of
contiruing education credit awarded and validation through the signature of the provider, official representative or instructor.

(7} Providers shall maintain records of each course offering for 4 years following each licensure biennium during which
the course was offered. Course records shall include a course outline which reflects its educational objectives, the instructor’s
name, the date and location of the course, participants” evaluations of the course, the hours of continuing education credit
awarded for each participant and a roster of participants by name and license number.

(8) Providers’ records and courses shall be subject to Board review. Failure to maintain the standards set forth in this rule
shall subyect the provider to the suspension or rescission of the providership,

{9) The provider number shall not be used on any advertisement or certification for a course that does not meet the
requirements of Rule 64B5-12.016, FA.C.

{10} A licensee who has been approved as a provider may not give more than 12 hours of continuing education credit in
subjects other than cardiopulmonary resuscitation to office staff, employees, or fellow employees during a biennium.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Law Implemenied 466.0135, 466.014 FS. History-New 1-18-89, Amended 7-9-90, Formerly
21G-12.0175, 61F35-12.0175, 5390-12.0175, Amended 10-3-99, 10-29.00, 3-7-02,

04B5-12.018 Individual Study.

(1) Licensees may receive continuing education credit for individual study by submitting an application for approval on a
form provided by the Board which is accompanied by documentation of compliance with the requirements of this rule.

(2) Credit for individual study shall only be awarded in the following manner, for the following educational experiences:
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(a) The initial presentation of material falling within the subject areas set forth in Rule 64R5-12.016, F.A.C., which is part
of a professional conference or meeting or which is offered at a formal course given in conjunction with a professional
conference or meeting. Two hours of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 50 mimute segment of a
presentation. The licensee must submit documentation which includes: the name of the professional conference or meeting
and its sponsoring organization; the date, location and subject of the presentation; and written confirmation of this information
by the sponsoring organization.

(b) Publication of an article or book devoted to a subject area set forth in Rule 64B35-12.016, F.A.C., in journals or other
media which select materials through an editorial review process. Continuing education credits in an amount determined by
the Board may be awarded for a published articie or for a published book upon the licensee’s documentation of the following:
the title, authors, subject and length of the article or book; the publisher’s name and date published; and if the licensee co-
authored an article or book, documentation of the licensee’s actual contribution to the finished product.

{c) Presentation of a lecture devoted to a subject area set forth in Rule 64B5-12.016, F.A.C., when given as part of a
course at a dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on
Dental Accreditation, its successor agency or other nationally recognized accrediting agency, or as part of a formal course or
program approved by the Board pursuant t¢ Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C. Two hours of continuing education credit shall be
awarded for each 50 minutes of actual lecture time upon the licensee’s documentation of the following: name of the
mstitution, course and prograry; subject, length and date of the lecture; and written confirmation of this information from the
sponsoring institution or program. Licensees may obtain a maximum of 15 hours per biennium.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 4660135, 466.014 FS. History—New 4-2-86, Amended 9-7-87, 3-28-88, 1-
18-89, Formerly 21G-12.018, 61F5-12.018 390-12.018, Amended 7-13-03.

64B5-12.0185 Standards for Board Approval of Pro Bono Programs.

(1) To receive Board approval, programs secking to provide continuing education credit for the provision of pro bono
dental services must meet the following guidelines;

(a) Pragrams must be organized as or as part of a not-for-profit entity that provides substantial pro hono dental services fo
the indigent or dentally underserved populations or persons who reside in areas of critical need within Flonida.

(b} The program must require the dentist and dental hygienist volunteers to provide beneficial dental services to indigent
patients, without compensation.

{c) Any volunteer dental hygienist must be under the appropriate supervision of a Florida licensed dentist as set forth in
Chapter 64B5-16, F.AC,

(d) The program must require the volunteer dentist or dental hygienist to register with the program director or designee
before commencing to provide dental or dental hygiene services. Such registration shall occur on each day that the volunteer
participates in the pro bono activities.

{¢) The program must require the volunteer dentist or dental hygienist to sign out with the program’s director or designee
upon concluding the rendering of pro bono dental or dental hygiene services,

(f) The program shall calculate the award of continuing education credit based upon the time each dentist or dental
hygienist has actually dedicated to the performance of substantial professional dental or dental hygiene services for indigent
patients.

(g) The program must retain documentation of the number of hours of volunteer professional service coniributed by each
volunteer involved in the program’s pro bone activities. This documentation shall contain the name and license number of
each participant; the dates and times of all pro bono activity; the location of the related patient records; and in the case of
dental hygienist volunteers, the name and license number of the supervising Florida licensed dentist. Such records must be
maintained for a minieum of 4 years foliowing the biennium in which the pro bono services are provided.

(2) The foliowing pro bone programs are found by the Board to meet the foregoing requirements and are hereby approved
by the Board:

{a) Programs affiliated with Project Dentists Care.

(b) Programs operated by accredited dental colleges or schools and accredited dental hygiene programs.

(3) Other formalized not-for-profit programs may petition for Board approval by {iling & written petition with the Board
that establishes the program's compliance with the requirements of this rule,

Rulemaking Authority 456.013(9) FS. Law Implemented 456.013(9) FS. History—New 2-15-99,
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64B5-12.019 Courses Required for Initial Licensure, Renewal, or Reactivation.

{I) No license shall be granted and no license shall be renewed or reactivated unless the applicant or licensee submits
confirmation to the Board that he or she has successfully completed, no later than upon first renewal, a Board-approved course
on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS), and other infectious diseases
pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene and a Board-approved course on prevention of medical errors. All
licensees must complete a Board approved two (2) hour continuing education .course on domestic viclence as defined in
Section 741.28, E.S., as part of every third biennial licensure renewal.

(2) To receive Board approval, courses on HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and
dental hygiene shall consist of instruction which shall inciude, but need not be limited to, viral counts, hepatitis, sterilization
and infection conirol requirements, identification of oral lesions associated with infectious disease, how the presence of
infectious disease directly affects treatment decisions of dentists, and the subject areas set forth under Section 456.033,F.S.

(3) Every such course for the purpose of obtaining initial licensure shall have a minimum of two (2) hours dedicated to
the subject areas set forth. Every such course for the purpese of renewal or reactivation of licensure shail have no less than one
(1) hour dedicated to the subject areas set forth. Furthermore, every such course shall include information on current Florida
law and its impact on testing, confidentiality of test results, and treatment of patients. However, any such course completed
outside of Florida, which complies with the criteria set forth in paragraph (2} above shall be approved by the Board if the
applicant or licensee submits to the Board a statement that he or she has reviewed and studied current Florida law and its
impact on testing, confidentiality of test results, and treatment of patienits. To fulfill the requirements of this paragraph every
HIV/AIDS course shall include or each appiicant or licensee shall review and study Chapters 381 and 384, F.S.

{4) Only courses on HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene that meet
the requirements set forth in subsections 64B5-12.019(2) and (3), F.A.C., and that are offered in compliance with subsection
64B5-12.013(3), F.A.C., shall be and are hereby approved by the Board, Home study courses are permitted for the purpose of
meeting the requirements of HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene
education, provided they comply with the requirements set forth in subsections (2) and (3}, above.

(5) Each applicant or licensee may submit confirmation of having completed a course which complies with subsections
64B5-12.019(1), (2) and (3), F.A.C., on the form prepared by the Department of Health and provided by the Board. Each
licensee shall submit confirmation of having completed a Board-approved domestic violence continuing education course, on
a form provided by the Board, when submitting fees for every third biennial renewal.

(6} The requirements of this rule shall alse apply to the initial issuance and renewal of any permit held pursuant to
Chapter 64B3-7, F.A.C. Confirmation of compietion shall be submitted at the time of applying for an initial permit and
biennially thereafier,

(7) Courses taken subsequent to licensure and for the purpose of compliance with the HIV/AIDS portion of this rule may
be included by the licensee in the total continuing education hours required pursuant to subsections 64B5-12.013(1) and {2,
F.A.C., as a condition of biennial license renewal.

(8} To receive Board approval, courses on domestic violence must be a minimum of 2 hours long, must cover the
substantive areas set forth in Section 456.031, F.8., and must be approved by any state or federal government agency or
professional association or offered by a Board-approved continuing education provider,

(9) To receive Board approval, courses on prevention of medical errors shall include a study of root cause analysis, error
reduction and prevention, and patient safety. Every such course shall have a minimum of two {2) hours dedicated to the
subject areas set forth.

Rulemaldng Authority 456,031, 456.033 FS. Law Implemenied 456.013, 456.031, 456.033 F5. History—New 1-18-89, Amended 10-25-91, 2-
1-93, Formerly 21G-12.019, Amended 6-14-94, Formerly 61F5-12.019, Amended 11-15-95, 2-10-97, Furmerly 590-12.019, Amended 10-
29-04, 8-2-01, 9-27-01, 12-23-02, 1-12-04, 12-25-G6.

64B5-12.020 Courses Required of Licensees for Renewal and Reactivation.

Licensed dentists and dental hygienists are required to complete the foliowing continuing education during each license
renewal biennium. _

(1) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the hasic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer
CPR for adults, children, and infants; the relief of foreign body airway obstructions for adults, children, and infants; the use of
an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags resulting in certification or recertification by the
American Heart Asscciation, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

(2) A course in the prevention of medical errors of at least 2 hours in relevant topics including a study of root cause
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analysis, error reduction and prevention, and paiient safety.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456.013(6), (7}, (8), 466.0135 466.014, 466.017(4) FS. Historp-New 4-11-94,
Amended 7-18-94, Formerly 61F5-12.020, 590-12.020, Amended 1-23-01, 6-7-01, 9-27-01, 12-23-02, 10-8-03, 5-11-03.
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CHAPTER 64B5-13
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

64B5-13.001 Determination of Probable Cause
64B5-13.002 Time for Payment of Administrative Fines
64B5-13.0045  Minor Violations

64B5-13.0046  Citation Authority

64835-13.005 Disciplinary Guidelines

64B5-13.0606 Post Board Order Activity

64B5-13.001 Determination of Probable Cause.

{1} The probable cause pansl by majority vote shall determine whether probable cause exists to believe that a Heensee has
viclated the provisions of Chapter 456 or 466, F.8., or the rules of the Department or Board,

(2} The probabie cause panel shail be appointed by the Chairman and shall be composed of three members, two of which
must be dentists who hold valid and active dental licenses in this State. At least two members of the probable cause panel must
be present to constitute a quorum. I only two members are present, the determination of probable cause shall require the
affirmative vote of both members present.

(a) One or two members may be former dentist or consumer Board members.

(b} At least one member must be a current Board member who holds a valid and active license in this State,

(c) At least one member must be a current or former consumer member of the Board if one is available and willing to
serve.

(d) Any former dentist member of the Board appointed to the panel must currently hold a valid and active dental Heense
m this State.

(2) Probable cause pansi members shall serve for one year terms but may serve successive terms.

(3} The probable cause panel shall meet as necessary to conduct business as determined by the Chairmat of the Board or
the Chairman of the panel.

Rulemaking Authorily 456.073(4), 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.073(4) FS. Historv—New 11-11-79, Amended 12-7-81, 7-13-82.
Formerly 21G-13.01, Amended 1-18-89, Formerly 21G-13.001, Amended ]1-22-93, Fom_eriy 61F5-13.001, 590-13.001, Amended §-27-01,

64B5-13.002 Time for Payvment of Administrative Fines.
When the Board imposes an administrative fine in a disciplinary or initia] licensure proceeding, the fine shall be paid within
30 days from the effective date of the Beard’s final order, unless specifically provided otherwise.

Rulemaking Authority 436.0G72(2), 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 456.072(2) FS. History-New 10-26-80, Formerly 2] G-13.02, Amended
1-18-89, Formerly 21G-13.002, 61F3-13.002, 590-13.002.

64B5-13.0045 Minor Violations.

(1) Subject to the limitations imposed by this rule, the following viclations are designated as minor for the purposes of
Section 456.073(3), E.S.

(&) Violation of Section 466.026(1)(a}, F.S., by practicing for a period of less than two months without an active license.

(b) Violation of Section 466.028(1)(d), F.S., by the following errors or omissions:

1. Violation of subsection 64B5-4.002(2), F.A.C.

2. Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(2), (3}, (4) or (5), F.A.C,, so long as there is no allegation of consumer injury as a
result of the violation and the advertisement which is in violation is capable of being withdrawn from circulation to the public
within 15 days of issuance of the notice of noncompliance.

3. Violation of Rule 64B5-4.004, F.A.C., so long as there is no allegation of consumer injury as a result of the violation
and the advertisement which is in violation is capabie of being withdrawn from circulation to the public within 15 days of
issuance of the notice of noncompliance.

{c) Violation of Section 466.028(1)(n}, F.S., so long as the records have been releasad.

{d) Violaticn of Section 466.028(1)(aa}, F.S., by violating Rule 64B5-17.0011, F.A.C., which requires the licensee to
noiify the Board of changes of address.

(e) Violation of Section 466.028(1)(dd), F.S., by presigning aboratory work order forms.

{2) This designation of vioiations as minor for the purposes of Section 456.073(3), F.S., is limited fo mitial violations.
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(3) A monthly report of notices of noncomphance issued by the Department shall be reviewed by the Board to monitor
the use and success of this procedure,

(4) Notices of noncompliance issued shall be reviewed by the Probable Cause Panel in any consideration of subseguent
allegations of similar violations by the licensee.

Rulemaking Authority 456.673(3) FS. Law Implemented 456.073(3) FS. History—New 7-9-90, Formerly 21G-13.0045, 61F5-13.0045, 590-
13.0045.

64B5-13.0046 Citation Authority.

(1) Pursuant to Section 456.077, F.S. (2000}, the Board sets forth below those viclations for which there is no substantial
threat to the public health, safety, and welfare; or, if there is a substantial threat o the public health, safety, and welfare, such
potential for harm has been removed prior to the issuance of the citation and the appropriate penalties for specific violations.
In addition to the penalty, the costs of the investigatior: and prosecution shall be assessed pursuant to Section 456.072(2), F.S.
The following subsections indicate those violations which may be disposed of by citation, with the accompanying penalty.

(2) Violation of Section 466.026(1)(a) and/or 466.028(1)(aa}, F.S., by practicing for a period of 2-6 months without an
active license. The penalty for a dentist shall be a $1,000.00 fine to be in addition t any reactivation fee, and completion
within 6 months of 4 hours of continuing education in risk management. Said continuing education to be in complance withk
Rule Chapter 64B3-12, F.A.C,, and in addition to any continuing education required for biennial renewal of licensure. The
penalty for a dental hygienist shall be a $250.00 administrative fine.

{3} A first time violation of Sections 466.028(1)(1) and/or 466.028(1){a), F.8., and/or subsection 64B5-12.013(1) or (2),
F.A.C., by renewing a license without completing the required continuing education credits. The penalty for a dentist shall be
an administrative fine of §100.00 per hour not completed as required and completion of all continuing education hours that
were not completed. The penalty for a dentist shall be an administrative fine of $15¢ for not compileting the required training
in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic life support level. Said continuing education shall be in compliance with
Rule Chapter 64B5-12, F.A.C., and shall not count toward any continuing education required for the biennium in which it is
completed. Furthermore, the licensee shail submit proof of completion of all required continuing education under this rule o
the Board office no later than 12 months from the date of the citation. The penalty for a dental hygienist shall be an
administrative fine of $25.00 per hour not completed as required and compietion of all continuing education hours that were
not completed. The penalty for a dental hygienist shall be an administrative fine of $50 for not completing the required
training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic life support level. Said continuing education shall be in
compiiance with Rule Chapter 64B5-12, F.A.C., and shall not count toward any continuing education required for the
bienninm in which it is completed. Furthermore, the licensee shall submit proof of completion of all required continning
education under this rule to the Board office no later than 12 months from the date of citation.

(4) Violation of Rule 64B5-4.002, F.A.C., as follows:

(a) Violation of Rude 64B5-4.002, F.A.C., by failing to properiy identify through lcense number or use of the licensee’s
commonly used name the Florida licensed dentist, who assurnes total responsibility for the advertisement.

(b) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.002(3), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement or
advertising which 1s in any way fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading in form or content,

(¢} Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(a), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that contains misrepresentations of facts,

(d) Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(b), F.A.C., by disseminating or cavsing the dissemination of any advertisement
that is likely to mislead or deceive because in its context or in the context in which it is presented it makes only a partial
disclosure of relevant facts.

{e) Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(c), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that contains landatory statements about the dentist or group of dentists,

{f) Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(d), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that is mtended or is fikely to create false, unjustified expectations of favorabie results.

{g) Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(e), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that relates to the quality of dental services provided as compared to other available dental services.

{h} Violation of paragraph 64B5-4.002(3)(f), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that contains other representations or implications that in reascnable probability will cause an ordinary prudent person to
misunderstand or to be deceived.

{i) Violation of subsection 64B85-4.002(4), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
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through in person and telephone solicitation of dental services by a dentist or his agent.

(j) Violation of subsection 64B35-4.002(5), F.A.C., by disseminating or causing the dissemination of any advertisement
that includes the name of a person who is not either actually invelved in the practice of dentistry at the advertised location or
an owner of the practice being advertised.

{5) Violation of Rule 64B85-4.003, F.A.C., as follows:

(a) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(2), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement that failed to contain fee information
with a disclaimer that the fee is a minimum fee only.

(b) Violation of subsection 64B5-4,003(3), F.A.C., by providing an advertised fee for a dental service which does not
state a specified period during which the fee is in effect,

{c) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003(4), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement which states a particufar demntal service
is for a fee yet it is not accompanied by a description of that service using the exact wording for that service contained in the
American Dental Association’s “Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature™.

{d) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.003{5), F.A.C., by providing an advertisement for free or discounted services which
does not comply with the requirements of Section 456.062, F.S., and/or clearly identify the dates that free, discounted or
reduced fee services will be available.

{(6) Violation of Rule 64B5-4,004, F.A.C., as follows;

(a) Viclation of subsection 64B35-4.004(2), F.A.C,, by providing an advertisement of specialty services which does not
state whether the service will be performed by a general dentist or a specialist.

(b) Violation of subsection 64B5-4.004(4}, F.A.C., by providing an advertisement that states that a dentist is a specialist
when the dentist does not meet the applicable criteria.

(6} Violation of subsection 64B35-4.664(5), F.A.C., by advertising a service in a manner which in its form or content
would lead a reasonable person to believe that the service is a specialty unless that service is a specialty recognized by the
Board.

{7) The penalty for a violation of Rule Chapter 64B5-4, F.A.C., as enumerated above is as follows: first offense wil] result
in a $250.00 fine; second offense will result in a $1,000.00 fine, reprimand and four (4) hour continuing education in ethics.
Violations ocourring subsequent to the second offense of the same rule or statute shall reguire the procedures of Section
456,073, F.S., 1o be followed.

(8) Viotation of subsection 466.028(1)(n), ¥.S., failure to make available to a patient or client, or to his legal
representative or to the Department, if authorized in writing by the patient, copies of documents in the possession or under
control of the licensee, which relate to the patient or client. Failure to comply will result in 2 $1,000.00 fine.

(9} Violation of subsection 466.028(1 )(mr), F.S., by violation of Section 456.035(1), F.S., which requires licensees to
notify the Board of change of address. Fatlure to comply will result in 2 $250.00 fine.

(10) Violation of subsection 466.028(1)(dd), F.S., by presigning laboratory work order forms. Failure to comply will
result in a $560.00 fine. \

(11) Violations of Rule 64B5-15,030, F.A.C., through a violation of Section 466.028(1)(11), F.S., for failing to pay the
one-time fee by no later than Februéry 28, 2008, will result in a $1,000 fine.

(12) Violation of Sections 466.028(1){(a), (aa) and {1}, F.S., by means of submission of insufficient funds for initial
license or renewal or any other payment to the Department of Health.

(13) Citations shall be issued to licensees by the Bureau of Investigative Services only after review by the legal staff of
the Department of Health. Such review may be by telephone, in writing or facsimile machine.

(14) Except for violations of Rule Chapter 64B5-4, F.A.C., as stated above, the procedures described herein apply only
for an initial offense of the alleged violation. Subsequent violation(s) of the same rule or statute shall require the procedures of
Section 456.073, F.8., to be followed. In addition, should an initial offense for which a citation could be issued occur in
conjunction with viclations not described herein, then the procedures of Section 456,073, F.S., shall apply.

{15) Citations are to be served upon the subject either by personal service or by certified mail, restricted delivery, to the
last known business or residence address of the subject,

(16) The subject has 30 days from the date the citation becomes a final order to pay the fine and costs. All fines and costs
are 1o be made payable to the “Board of Dentistry - Citations” and sent to the Department of Health in Tallahassee. A copy of
the citation shall accompany the payment of the fine or costs.

(17) If the subject rejects the Department of Health’s offer of the citation then the procedures of Section 456.073, F.S.,
shall apply to the original charge. In cases where the subject fails to comply with the penalty, 2 complaint for violation of
Section 456.072(1){(¢), F.S., shall be filed and investigated.
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Rutlemaking Au.thorizj} 436.077, 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 456.072(3)fa), 456.077 FS. History-New 12-24-91, Formerly 21G-
13.0046, Amended 11-22-93, Formerly 61F5-13.0046, 590-13.0046, Amended 7-19-01, 10-9-06, 2.7-08, 8-25-10).

64B5-13.005 Disciplinary Guidelines.

{1) When the Board finds an applicant, licensee, or certificate holder whom it regulates under Chapter 466, F.S., has
committed any of the acts set forth in Section 456.072(1) or 466.028, F.S., it shall issue a final order imposing appropriate
enalties as recommended in these disciplinary guidelines. For any violation found that is for fraud or making a false or
frandulent representation, the Board will impose a fine of $10,000.00 per-count or offense. The use of terms to describe the
offenses herein within the individual guidelines is intended te be only a generally descriptive use of the terms. For an accurate
description of the actual offenses, the reader should refer to the statutory disciplinary provisions. The maximum penalties set
forth in any individual offense guideline include all of the less severe penalties that would fali in between the maximum and

the minimum penalties stated:

VIOLATION

{a) Attempting to obtain, obtaining or
renewing a license by bribery, frandulent
misrepresentations or error of the Board.
(Sections 466.028(1)(a), 456.072(1 )},
F.8)

First Offense

Second Offense

{b) Having a license to practice dentistry
or dental hiygiene revoked, suspended, or
otherwise acted against, including the
denial of licensure, by the licensing
authority of another state, tertitory, or
couniry.

(Sections 466.028{1)(b), 456.072(1)(f),
FS)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

MINIMUM

Denial $500 fine and
referral to State Attorney’s
office if not licensed

Probation with conditions
$3500 fine

$1,000 fine

Imposition of discipline
which would have been
imposed if the substantive
violation occurred in
Florida. Probation and
$1,000 fine

One vyear suspension
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PENALTY
RANGE

MAXIMIUM

Denial/revocation $10,000 fine and
referral to State Aftorney’s office if not
licensed

Revocation $10,000 fine permanent denial
and revocation

Suspension/denial until the license is
unencumbered and active in the
jurisdiction in which the disciplinary
action was originally taken, or up to five
vears foliowed by probation and $10,000
fine or revocation

Revocation until the Hcense is
unencumbered in the jurisdiction in which
disciplinary action was taken and $10,000
fine :

Revocation and permanent denial and



(¢) Guilty of a crime directly relating to
practice or ability to practice.

(Sections 466.028{1){c), 456.072(1}c},
F.5)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(d) Advertising goods or services in a
manner which is fraudulent, false,
deceptive, or misleading in form.

(Section 466.028(1)(d), F.S.)

First Offense
Second Offense
Third Offense

{e) Advertising, practicing, or attempting
to practice under a name other than one’s
own.

(Section 466.028(1)e), F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense
Third Offense

(f) Failing to report any person in
violation of this chapter or of the rules
of the department or the board.

(Sections 466.028(13(f), 456.072(1)(i), F.S.)

First Offense

followed by probation and
$5,000 fine

51,000 fine

One year suspension
followed by probation and
$1,000 fine

Revocation and $2,500 fine

$500 fine

i year probation with
conditions and §3,000 fine

2 years probation with
conditions and §3,000 fine

$1,600 fine

Probation with conditions
and $3,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine

$£500 fine
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$10,000 fine

Demial or 2 years suspension,

2 years probation with conditions and
510,000 fine, or revocation

Denial or revocation and $10,000 fine,

with conditions

Revocation and $10,000 fine

1 year probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

1 year suspeasion 2 years probation with
conditions and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

1 vear suspension and $16,600 fine

Denial or revocation and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

1 year probation with conditions
and $1,000 fine



Second Offense

Third Offense

1 year probation with
condttions and $1,000 fine

1 year probation with
conditions and $3,000 fine

6 months suspension, 1 year probation
with conditions and $3,000 fine

1 year suspension, 1 vear probation with
conditions and §5.000 fine

{g) Aiding, assisting, procuring, or

advising any unlicensed person to

practice dentistry or dental hygiene.
{Sections466.028(1)e), 456.072(1)(3), F.S.)

First Offense $1.000 fine

Second Offense

1 vear suspension, 2 years

6 months suspension, | vear probation
with conditions and $10,000 fine

2 years suspension, 2 years probation with

probation with conditions
and $5.000 fine

Third Offense 2 years suspension followed
by 2 vears probation with
conditions and $10.000 fine

(h) Being employed by any corporation,
organization, group, or person other
than a dentist or a professional
corporation or limited Liability company
composed of dentists to practice
dentistry.

(Section 466.028(1}h), F.5.)

conditions and $10,000 fine

BDenial/revocation and $10,000 fine

First Offense

51,000 fine

2 years probation with conditions and up
to suspension, and $10,000 fine

Suspension, 1 year probation with

Second Offense 1 year probation with
conditions, reprimand and
£3,000 fine

Thiré¢ Offense 1 vear suspension,

reprimand and $5,000 fine

(1) Failing to perform any statutory or
legal obligation placed upon a licensee.
{Sections 466.028(1)(1), 456.072(1¥k),

conditions and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fne

F.S)

First Offense

Second Offense

$500 fine

1 year probation with
conditions and $1,000 fine
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2 years probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

2 years probation with conditions and
$10,009 fine



Third Offense 2 years probation with
conditions and $2.000 fine

{j) Making or filing a false report,

failing to file a report or record required

by state or federal law, knowingly
mmpeding or obstructing such filing.
(Sections 466.028(1)7), 456.672(1x1), F.S.)

First Offense : $1,000 fine
Second Offense 1 year probation with
conditions and §$2,500 fine

Third Offense 2 years probation with
conditions and $3,000 fine

{k) Sexuval battery, as defined in Chapter
764, F.8., upon a patient.
{Sections 466.028(1)(k), 456.072(1)(u),

ES)

First Offense & months suspension
followed by probation and
$2.500 fine

Second or Subsequent Offense 3 years suspension foliowed
by probation with

conditions and $5,000 fine

(H Making deceptive, untrue, or

fraudulent representations in or related

to the practice of dentistry.

(Sections 466.028(1 X1, 456.072(1)(a), F.5.)

First Offense $1,000 fine
Second Offense 1 year probation with
conditions and $1,000 fine

Third Offense 2 years probation W’ith
conditions and $2,500 fine

(1) Failing to keep written records and
history justifying the course of treatment of
the patient.

{Section 466.028(1)(m), F.S.)

First Offense $500 fine

Pso

1 year suspansion and $10,000 fine

1 year probation with corditions and up to
suspension, and $10,000 fine

Suspension, probation with conditions and
£10,000 fine

Denialfrevocation and $10,000 fine

Denial or revocation and $10,000 fine

Dental/revocation and $10,000 fine

6 months probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

& months suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $7,500 fine



Second Offense
Third Offense

(n) Fatling to make available to a patient or
client, copies of documents which relate to
the patient or client.

(Section 466.028(1)(n), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{0) Performing professional services
which have not been authorized by the
patient or chent.

(Section 466.028(1Xo}, F.8.)

First Offense

Second Qffense
Third Offense

{p) Prescribing a legend drug, other
than in the course of the professional
practice of the dentist.

(Section 466.028(1Xp), F.8.)

First Offense
Second Offense

Third Offense

{q) Prescribing any medicinal drug

scheduled in Chapter 8§93, F.S., to herself or

himsslf,
{Section 466.028{1(q), F.8.)

First Offense

Probation with conditions
and §1,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and 52,500 fine

$500 fine

$1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $2.500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine

$500 fine
Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $5,000 fine

3300 fine

P§1

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $7,500 fine

Probation with conditions and $10,000
fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $8,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions, $10,000 fine
and up to suspension

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Suspension followed by probation with
conditions and $10,000 fine



Second Offense Probation with conditions
and $2,300 fine

Third Offense Suspension followed by
probation and $5,000 fine

{r} Prescribing any drug which is a Schedule
II amphetamine or a Schedule IT
sympathomimetic amine drug, pursuant to
Chapter 893, F.S.

(Section 466.028(1)(1), F.S.)

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions
and $2,500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine

(3) Being unable 1o practice her or his
profession with reasonabie skill and safety
to patients by reason of iliness or use of
alechol, drogs, narcotics, chemicals, or any
other type of material or as a result of any
mental or physical condition.

{Sections 466.028(1)(s), 456.072(1)(y},
FS)

First Offense Denial, or suspension until
licensee petitions the Board
and demonstrates ability to
practice with reasonable
skifl and safety, followed by
probation with conditions
and up to $5,000 fine

Second Offense Denial, or suspension until
licensee petitions the Board
and demonstrates ability 1o
practice with reasonable
skill and safety, followed by
probation with conditions
and vp to $5,000 fine

Third Offense Denial, or suspension ungil
licensee petitions the Board
and demonstrates ability to
practice with reasonable
skill and safety, followed by

Ps2

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $16,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $10,000

fine

Suspension followed by probation and

310,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Suspension followed by probation and

310,660 fine

Revocation and $10,0600 fine



(t) Fraud, deceit, or misconduct in the
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene.
{Section 466.028(1)(t), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense
Third Offense

(u) Failure to provide and maintain

reasonable sanitary facilities and conditions.

(Section 466.028(1)(w), F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{v} Failure {o provide adequate radiation
safeguards.

(Section 466.028{1)(v), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{w} Performing any procedure which would

constitute experimentation on human
subjects, without first obtairung full,
informed, and written consent.
{Section 466.028({1)(w), F.5.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

probation with conditions
and vp to §10,000 fine

$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $8,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $10,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and §3,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $8,000 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $3,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and §8.000 fine

$1,000 fine

Probaticn with conditions
and $3,500 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $5,000 fine
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Probation with conditions and $8,000 fine

Suspension foliowed by probation and
$£10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $8,000 fine

Suspension, probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and 38,000 fine

Suspension followed by probation and
510,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $3.000 fine

Suspension followed by probation and
£10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine



{x) Being guilty of incompetence or
negligence, including, but not limited to,
being guilty of dental malpractice.
(Section 466.028(1)(x), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(v} Practicing beyond the scope that she or

he is competent to perform.
(Sections 466,028(1)(v), 456.072(1){0),
ES)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(z) Delegating or contracting for

professional responsibilities to a person who

is not qualified to perform them.
{Sections 466.028(1)(z), 456.072{1}(p),
F.8)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions
and $5,000 fine

Probation with conditions
and $7.500 fine

Probation with conditions and $10,600
fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and $10,000
fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and 310,000 fine

Probation with conditions, $10,0600 fine
and suspensicn

Suspension followed by probation and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10.000 fine

Any violation of Section 466.028(1}(z), F.8., will result in a minimum Heensure suspension of six months, it addition to any

other penalty authorized for this viclation, except where revocation is imposed.

(aa) The violation of a fawful order of
the board, or failure to comply with
subpoena of the board or department.
(Sections 466.028(1)(aa),
456.072(1){q), F.S.)

First Offense $5,000 fine
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Suspension until compliant with



Second Offense $10,000 fine

Third Offense . Revocation and $10,000 fine

{bb} Conspiring with another licensee
or with any person to commit an act,
which would tend to coerce,
intimidate, or preclude another
licensee from advertising services.
(Section 466.028(1){(bb), F.S.)

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$2,300 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

{cc) Being adjudged mentally
mecompetent in this or any other state,
the discipline for which shall last only
so long as the adjudication.

{Section 466.628(1)cc), F.8.)

First and any subsequent offense Suspension until adjudged
competent by same court

{dd) Presigning blank prescription

forms.

First Offense $300 fine

Second Offense 51,000 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and

$2,500 fine

(ee) Prescribing growth hormones,
testosierone or its analogs, human
chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), or
other hormones for the purpose of
muscle building or to enhance athletic
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order or subpoena, probation
with conditions and $10,000
fine

Suspension unti! compliant with
order or subpoena followed by
probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Suspension untii adjudged
competent by same court

Probation with conditions and
$500C fine

Probation with conditions and
$7.500 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



performance.
(Section 466.028(1)ee), F.8.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{ff) Operating a dental office such as
to result in dental treatment that is
below mininmam acceptable standards
of performance for the community.

(Section 466.028(1)(ff), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{gg)y Administering anesthesia in a
manner which violates rules of the

board.
(Section 466.028(1}gg), F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{kh) Failing to report any licensee
under Chapter 458 or 459, F.S., who
the dentist knows has violaied the

grounds for disciplinary action.
(Section 466.628(1)(kh), F.8.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2.,500 fine

$5,000 fine

$300 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$4,000 fine

$1,000 fine
Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
34,000 fine

$1,000 fine

§2,500 fine

$3,500 fine

PES

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10.000 fine

$10,0060 fine

$10,000 fine



(i) Failing to report to the board,

within 30 days action has been taken

against one’s license {o practice

dentistry in another state, ferritory, or

country.
{Section 466.028(13(11), F.5.)

First Offense
Second Offense
Third Offense

(i) Advertising specialty services in
violation of this chapter,

{Section 466.028(1(i), F.S)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(k) Allowing any person to interfere

with a dentist’s clinical judgment.
(Section 466.028(1)(kk), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(1) Vielating any provision of
Chapters 456 and 466, F.S5., or any
rules adopted pursuant thereto.
{Sections 466.028(1)(1),

456.072(1 }(b), 456.072{1)cc), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

$1,000 fine

Probation and $1,500 fine

Suspension followed by probation
and $3,000 fine

$1,000 fine

$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

$1,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

$730 fine

Probation with conditions and
$1,060 fine
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Denial, revocation and $8,000
fine

Denial, revocation and $10,000
fine

Denial, revocation and $10,000
fine

$7,300 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,060 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine

$5,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$1G,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$106,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine



Third Offense

{mm) Failing t¢ comply with the
educational course requirements for

HIV.
(Section 456.072(1)e), F.S.)
First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{rm} Having been found liable in a
civil proceeding for knowingly filing
a false report or complaint with the
department against another licensee,

(Section 456.072(1)g), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

(o0} Making deceptive, untrue, or
fraudulent representations in or
related to the practice of a profession
or employing a trick or scheme in or
related to the practice of a profession.

(Section 456.072(1){m), F.S.)

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

{pp) Exercising influence on the
patient or client for the purpose of
financial gain of the Heensee or a

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

$500 fine

$1.000 fine

51,500 fine

$1.000 fine

$3,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
35,000 fine

$1,000 fine

$3,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fire
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Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine

Probation with condifions and
$1,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$7,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
38,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine



third party.
{Section 456.072(1)n), E.S.)

First Offense $1.000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$2.500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$3,500 fine

{qq) Wrong patient, wrong-site
procedure, a wrong procedure,
medically unnecessary.
(Section 456.072(1)(aa), F.S.)

First Offense $1,000 fine
Second Offense Probaticn with conditions and
$2,000 fine
Third Offense Suspension foliowed by probation

with conditions and $3,000 fine

{rr) Improperly interfering with an
investigation or inspection authorized
by statute, or with any disciplinary
proceedmng.

(Section 456.072(1){r), F.S.}

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
£2,500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

{ss) Failing to comply with the
educational course requirements for
domestic violence.

(Section 456.072(1)(s), F.8.)

First Offense $500 fine
Second Offense Probation with conditions and
© 81,000 fine
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Probation with. conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension and $185,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and

$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension foliowed by
probation and $10,000 fine

Revocation and 510,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with condifions and
34,000 fine



Third Offense $2.500 fine

{tt) Failing to comply with Sections
381.026 and 381.0261, F.S., patient
rights and how {o file a patient
complaint.

(Section 456.072(1)(1), F.8.)

First Offense $500 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$1,000 fine

Third Offense $2,500 fine

{uw) Engaging or attempting to
engage in sexual misconduct as
defined and prohibited in Section
456.063(1),F.5.

(Section 456.072(1)(u), F.5.)

First Offense $2,500 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
£5,000 fine

Third Offense Suspension followed by probation

with conditions and §8,000 fine

{vv} Failing to report to the board, in
writing within 3¢ days after the
licensee has been convicted or found
guilty of, or entered a piea of nolo
contendere to regardiess of
adjudication, a crime in any
jurisdiction.

{Section 456.072{1)}{(w), E.5.)

First Offense $300 fine
Second Offense Probation with conditions and
' $1,000 fine
Third Offense Suspension followed by probation

with conditions and $2,500 fine
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Probation with conditions and
$8.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$2,500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$4,000 fine

Probation with condifions and
$8,000 fine

Revocation or probation with
conditiens and $16,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions or

revocation, and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Revocation and $1G,000 fine



{(ww) Using information about people
involved in motor vehicle accidents
which has been derived from accident
reports.

(Section 436.072(1)x), F.S)

Firgt Offense $500 fine
Second Offense $1.000 fine
Third Offense ' $2,300 fine

{xx) Leaving a foreign body mn a
patient.
(Section 456.072{1)(bb), F.§)

First Offense $1,000 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
£2,500 fine

Third Offense Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

(vy) Testing positive for any drug, on
any preemployment or employer-
ordered drug screening.

(Section 456.072(1)(z), F.S.)

First Offense $500 fine
Second Offense $1.000 fine
Third Offense $2,500 fine

{zz) Intentionally submitting &
personal infury protection claim
required by Ssction 627.736, F.S.,
statement that has been “upcoded™ as
defined in Section 627.732, F.S.
{Section 456.072(1)(dd), F.S.)

First Offense $500 fine

Probation with conditions and
$5,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8,0C0 fine

Suspension followed by
probation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspenston followed by
probation with conditions and

$10,000 fine

Suspension and/or revocation
and $10.,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
38,000 fine

Suspension followed by
probation with conditions and

$10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and



Second Offense $1,000 fine

Third Offense $2,500 fine

(aaa) Intentionally submitting a
personal injury protection claim
required by Section 627.736, F.8., for
services that were not rendered.
{Section 456.072(1)(ee), F.8.)

First Offense $500 fine
Second Offense $1,000 fine
Third Offense $2,500 fine

(bbb) Engaging in a pattern of
practice of prescribing medicinal
drugs or controlied substances which
demonstrates a lack of reasonable
skill or safety to patients.

{Section 456.072(1)(ff}, F.8.)

First Offense $1,300 fine

Second Offense Probation with conditions and
$3,000 fine

Third Offense $5.,000 fine

{cee) Failing to comply with, failing
1o successfully complete, or being
terminated from an impaired
practitioner freatment program.
(Section 456.072(1 }gg), F.5.)

First Offense Suspension, until compliéut,
followed by 2 years probation with
conditions and $2,000 fine

Second or Subsequent Offense Three vears suspension followed by
5 years probation with conditions
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$8,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by

probation with conditions and
$10.000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Suspension followed by

probation with conditions and
$10,000 fine

Probation with conditions and
$8,000 fine

Suspension and $10,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine

Suspension until compliant,
followed by 5 years probation
with conditions and $5,000 fine

Revocation and $10,000 fine



and $10,000 fine

(ddd) Bemng convicted of, or entering
a plea of nolo contendere fo, any
misdemeanor or felony, regardiess of
adjﬁdication, under 18 UJ.5.C. 5. 669,
ss. 285-287, 5. 371, 5. 1001, s, 1035,
5. 1341, s. 1343, 5, 1347, 5. 1349, or s,
1518, 0r42 U.S.C. 8. 1320a-7b,
relating fo the Medicaid program.
{Section 456.072(1)(ii), F.S.)

First Offense Misdemeanor — Reprimand, $10,000

fine, suspension

Second Offense Felony — Revocation

{(eee) Failing to remit the sum owed
to the state for any overpayment from
the Medicaid program pursuant to &
final order, judgement, or stipulation
or settlement.

{Section 456.672(1)(ij), F.S.)

First Offense $1.000 fine, letter of concern
Second Offense $7,500 fine, reprimand

{(fff) Being terminated from the state
Medicaid program pursuant to
Section 409.913, ¥.5., any other state
Medicaid program, or the federal
Medicare program, unless eligibility
to participate in the program from
which the practitioner was
termnated has been restored.
{Section 456.072({1 ){kk}, F'.8.

First Offense $1,000 fine, letter of concern
Second Offense $7.500 fine, reprimand

{geg) Being convicted of, or entering
a piea of guilty or nolo contendere, to
any misdemeanor or felony,
regardiess of adjudication, a crime In
any jurisdiction which relates to
health care fraud.

{(Section 456.072(1 )1, F.S.)

First Offense Misdemeanor - $10,000 fine,
Reprimand
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Misdemeanor — $10,000 fine,
revocation

Felony — revocation

$10,000 fine suspension

$10,000 fine, revocation

$10,000 fine, suspension

$10,000 fine, revocation

Misdemeanor ~ $10,G00 fine,
suspension



Second Offense $10.000 fine, revocation $10,000 fine, revecation

(hhh) Failure to comply with the
controlled substance prescribing
requirements of Section 456.44, F.S.
(Section 456.072(1 }{mmy), F.S.}

First Offense Suspension of license for a period of Revocation and ant administrative
six (6) months followed by a period fine of $10,000.00
of probation and an administrative
fine in the amount of $10,000.00

Second Offense Suspension of Hicense for a period of Revocation and an administrative
one (1} year followed by probation fine in the amount of $10,000.00
and an adminstrative fine i the
amount of $10,600.00

{iii) Providing false or deceptive
expert witness testimony related to
the practice of dentistry.

{Section 466.028(1}11), F.S.)

First Offense Reprimand and an administrative Revocation and an administrative
fine of $5,000.00 fine of $10,000.00

Second Offense Revocation and an administrative Revocation and an administrative
fine of $10,006.00 fine of $10,000.00

(2) Based upon consideration of aggravating or mitigating factors, present in an individual case, except for explicit
statutory maximum and minimum penalty requirements, the Board may deviate from the penalties recommended in
subsections (1) above and (3} below. The Board shall consider as aggravating or mitigating factors the following:

{a) The danger to the public;

(b) The number of specific offenses, other than the offense for which the licensee is being punished.;

(¢) Prior discipiine that has been imposed on the licenses,

(d} The length of time the licensee has practiced;

(e) The actual damage, physical or otherwise, caused by the violation and the reversibility of the damage;

{f) The deterrent effect of the penalty imposed,

{g) The effect of the penalty upon the licensee,

{h} Efforis by the licensee towards rehabilitation;

(1) The actual knowledge of the licensee pertaining to the violation;

(§) Attempts by the licensee to correct or stop the violation or refusal by the licensee to correct or stop the violation; and

(k) Any other relevant mitigating or aggravating factor under the circumstances.

(3) Penalties imposed by the Board pursuant to subsections (1) and (2) above may be imposed in combination or
individualiv, and are as follows:

(a) Issuance of a reprimand or letter of concern, which may be imposed in any disciplinary case, regardless of whether the
penalty is referenced in any individual offense guideline;

(b) Imposition of an administrative fine not to exceed $10,000.00 for each count or separate offense; for any violation
found that is for fraud or making a false or fraudulent representation, the Board will impose a fine of $10,000.00 per each
count or offense, pursuant to Section 456.072(2)d}, F.S.;

(c) Restriction of the authorized scope of practice or license. In taking disciplinary action against any persot, whether or
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not the action also involves placing a licensee on probation, or imposing any penalty, the Board may impose restrictions on
the practice or the license that include, but are not limited to the following;

1. Requiring remedial education as a requirement of continued practice;

2, Restricting the licensee from practicing in certain settings;

3. Restricting the licensee to work in only certain settings or under designated conditions;

4. Restricting the licensee from performing or providing designated clinical and administrative services;

3. Restricting the licensee from practicing a designated number of hours;

6. Any other restriction found io be necessary for the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare.

(d} Placement of the licensee on probation for a period of time and subject to such conditions as the Board may specify:

1. Probation Term. Unless otherwise specified above within each individual offense guideline, or unless a lesser period of
time is stated in the order imposing probation, the period of probation will be for a period of five (5) years:

2. Probation Conditions. Probation conditions may include but not be limited to the following and may be imposed
regardiess of whether the term “conditions™ is referenced in an individual offense guideline:

&. Requiring the licenses io attend additional continuing education courses or remedial education,

b. Requiring the licensee to pass an examination on the content and requirements of Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., and
Chapter 64B5, F.A.C., :

¢. Requiring the licensee to work under the supervision of another licensee, including the submission of documents and
reporis from the supervisor and licensee,

d. Tolling of the running of the probationary period when the licensee ceases to practice in Florida, or fails to maintain
compliance with the probation requirements,

e. Compliance with all terms of the order that imposes probation,

f. Evaluation by an impaired practitioners network or program and entering or maintaining complance with a
recommended impaired practitioners program contract,

g. Submitting to a continuing education audit for the next two consecutive biennial licensure renewal periods beginning
with the date of the order imposing probation

k. Corrective action related to the violation, including but not limited to the repayment of any fees billed and collected
from a patient or third party on behalf of the patient,

1. The licensee is responsibie for all costs associated with compliance with the terms of probation.

(e} Suspension of a license. Unless otherwise specified above within each individual offense guideline, or unless a lesser
period of time is stated in the order imposing suspension, the period of suspension will be for a period of three years;

() Revocation of 2 license; which shall be permanent unless specified otherwise in the final order;

{g) Denial of an application for licensure, any violation of a provision of Section 456.072(1) or Section 466.028(1), F.S..
may be the basis for denial or issuance of lcensure with restrictions or conditions; and

(h) Costs. The licensee is responsibie for payment of all costs of investigation and prosecution related to a disciplinary
case. Additionally, all costs related to compliance with an order taking disciplinary action are the obligation of the licensee.

(4) The provisions of subsections (1) through (3) above are not intended and shall not be construed to limit the ability of
the Board to informally dispose of disciplinary actions by stipulation, agreed settlement or consent order pursuant to Section
120.57(4), F.8.

(5) The provisions of subsections (1) through {4) above are not intended and shall not be construed to limit the ability of
the Board to pursue or recommend the Agency pursue collateral civil or criminal actions when appropriate.

Rulemaking Authority 456.079¢1) FS. Law Implemented 436.072(2), 456.079(1), 466.028 FS. History-New 12-31-86, Amended 2-21-88, 1-
18-89, 12-24-91, Formerly 21G-13.005, 61F5-13.005, 390-13.003, Amended 4-2-02, 8-25-03, 2-27-06, 12-25-06, 6-11-07, 9-]15-10, ]2-2-
H), [-24-12.

64B5-13.606 Post Board Order Activity.

(1) Any licensee whose license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene has been revoked or suspended by the Board shall:

{a) lmmediately surrender the revoked or suspended license to the Department of Health or its authorized representatives.
When a suspension is ordered, the license shall be held by the Department for the duration of the suspension period;

(b) Refrain from misrepresenting the status of his license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene to any patient or fo the
general public;

{c) Be prohibited irom receiving any compensation from any person, group practice, partnership, or corporate practice for
dental or dental hygiene services provided to any person subsequent to revocation or during the period of suspension. This
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subsection is not intended to preclude a revoked or suspended licensee from receiving fees to which he is entitled as a result of
services performed prior to the effective date of his suspension or revocation but which are received subsequent to revocation
or during the period of suspensioxn; '

(d) During a period of suspension, a licensee shall not accept fees from any capitation or third party payment program to
which he might otherwise be entitled. This subsection is not intended to preclude a suspended licensee from recetving such
fees for services performed during a period of {ime prior to the effective date of his suspension.

(2) Any keensee whose License to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Florida has been revoked or suspended for a
period of one (1} year or more i length shafl:

{a} Notify his patients of record of the suspension or revocation by mail no later than one (1) month after the effective
date of the suspension or revocation;

(b} Remove any telephone listings identifying him as licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the State of
Florida;

(c} Remove his name from any sign, door or advertising material identifying him as one licensed to practice dentistry or
dental hygiene in the State of Florida;

(d) Refrain from addressing the public in any manner which may suggest that he is licensed to practice dentistry or dental
bygiene in the State of Florida.

Rulemaking Awthority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(2) FS. History—New 9-1-87, Formerly 21G-13.006, 61F5-13.006, 590-
13.006.
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CHAPTER 64B5-14
ANESTHESIA

Definitions

Prohibitions

Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits
Itinerate/Mobile Anesthesia ~ Physician Anesthesiologist
Hinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — General Anesthesia Permit Holders
Treatment of Sedated Patients by Dentists Without an Anesthesia Permit
Use of a Qualified Anesthetist

Additional Requirements

Application for Permit

Reporting Adverse Occurrences

Inspection of Facilities and Demonstration of Sedation Technique
Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation

Conscious Sedation

Pediatric Conscious Sedation

6485-14.001 Definitions.

(1) Anesthesia ~ The loss of feeling or sensation, especially loss of the sensation of pain.

(2) General anesthesia ~ A controlled state of unconsciousness, produced by a pharmacologic agent, accompanied by a
partial or complete loss of protective reflexes, including inability to independently maintain an airway and respond
purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal command. This modality includes administration of medications via parenteral
routes; that is: intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or jnhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral,
rectal, or transmucosal.

(3) Deep Sedation — A confrolied state of depressed conscionsness accompanied by partal loss of protective reflexes,
mcluding either or both the inability to continually maintain an airway independently or to respond appropriately to physical
stimulation or verbal command, produced by pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic method or combination thereof, Deep
sedation includes administration of medications via parenteral routes; that is intravenous, intra muscular, subcutanecus,
submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral, rectal, or transmucosal.

(4) Conscious sedation — A depressed level of consciousness produced by the administration of pharmacologic
substances, that retains the patient’s ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately
to physical stimulation and verbal command. This modality includes administration of medications via all parenteral routes,
that is, intravenous, inframuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that ig oral, rectal, or
transmucosal. The drugs, and techniques used should carry a margin of safety wide enough fo render unintended loss of
consciousness unlikely.

(5) Pediatric Conscious Sedation ~ A depressed level of consciousness produced by the administration of pharmacologic
substances, that retains a chiid patient’s ability to independently and continuously maintain an ajrway and respond
appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal command. This modality includes adminiszration of medication via all
parenteral routes; that is intravenous, inframuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, and ali enteral routes; that is
oral, rectal, or transmucosal. The drugs, doses, and techniques used should carry a margin of safety wide enough to render
unintended loss of consciousness unlikety. For the purposes of this chapter, a child is defined as an individual under 18 years
of age, or any person who has special needs, which means having a physical or mental impairment that substantiaily limits one
ot more major life activities.

(6) Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia — The administration by inhalation of & combination of nitrous-oxide and oxygen
producing an aitered level of consciousness that retains the patient’s ability to independently and continuously maintain an
airway and respond appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal command.

(7) Local anesthesia — The ioss of sensation of pain in a specific area of the body, generally produced by a topicaily
appiied agent or injected agent without causing the loss of consciousness.

(8) Anaigesia — Absence of sensibility of pain, designating particularly the relief of pain without loss of consciousness.

{9} Office team approach — A methodology emploved by a dentist in the administration of general anesthesia, deep
sedatior, conscious sedation, and pediatric sedation whereby the dentist uses one or more qualified assistants/dental hygienists
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who, working under the direct supervision of the dentist, assist the dentist, and assist in emergency care of the patient.

(10) Minimal Sedation {anxiolysis) ~ The perioperative use of medication to relieve anxiety before or during a dental
procedure which does not produce a depressed level of consciousness and maintains the patient’s ability to maintain an airway
independently and to respond appropriately to physical and verbal stimulation. This minimal sedation shall include the
adminisiration of a single enteral sedative or 2 single narcotic analgesic medication administered in doses appropriate for the
unsupervised treatment of anxiety and pain. If clinically indicated, an opiod analgesic may also be administered during or
following a procedure if needed for the treatment of pain. Except in extremely unusual circumstances, the cumulative dose
shall not exceed the maximum recommended dose (as per the manufacturers recommendation). It is understood that even at
appropriate doses a patient may occasionally drift into a state that is deeper than minimal sedation. As long as the intent was
minimal sedation and all of the above guidelines were observed, this shall not automatically constitute a violation. A permit
shall not be required for the perioperative use of medication for the purpose of providing anxiolysis.

(11) Titration of Oral Medication ~ The administration of small incremental doses of an orally administered medication
until an intended level of conscious sedation is observed.

(12) Physician anesthesiologist — Any physician licensed pursuant to Chapter 458 or 459, F.S., who is currently board
certified or board eligible by the American Board of Anesthesiology or the American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiclogy, or
is credentialed to administer anesthesia in a hospital or ambulatory surgical facility licensed by the Department of Health.

(13} Qualified Anesthetist: means an Advanced Registered Nurse Practiioner who is licensed in this state to practice
professional nursing and who is certified in the advanced or specialized nursing practice as a certified registered nurse
anesthetist pursnant to Chapter 464, Part I, F.S.

(14) Certified Registered Dental Hygienist: means any Florida Heensed dental hygienist who is certified by the Board and
has received a certificate from the Department of Health that allows the administration of Iocal anesthesia while the CRDH is
appropriately supervised by a Florida licensed dentist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), 466.17(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.002¢3), 466.01 7(3), 466.017¢5} FS. History-New 1-31-
80, Amended 4-7-86, Formerly 21G-14.01, Amended 12-31-86, 6-1-87, 9-1-87, 2-1-93, Formerly 21(G-14.001, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly
61F5-14.001, Amended §-8-96, Formerly 590-14.001, Amended 3-9-03, 11-4-03, 7-3-06, 6-11-07, §-5-12.

64B5-14.002 Prohibitions. ‘

(1) General anesthesia or deep sedation. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer general anesthesia or deep
sedation in the practice of dentistry until they have obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chaper.

{2) Conscious sedation. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer conscious sedation in the practice of dentistry
until they have obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter.

(3) Pediatric Conscious Sedation: No dentist licensed in this State shall administer Pediatric Conscious Sedation in the
practice of dentistry until such dentist has obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter.

(4} Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer nitrous-oxide mhalation
analgesia in the practice of dentistry until they have complied with the provisions of this rule chapter.

(5} Local anesthesia. Dentists licensed in this State may use local anesthetics to produce local anesthesiz in the course of
their practice of dentistry. Certified Registered Dental Hygienists are the only hygienists allowed fo adminster local
anesthesia.

{6) The only agents that can be vsed for inhalation analgesia pursuant te Rule 64B35-14.003, F A C., below ate nitrous-
oxide and oxygen.

{7) Titration of Oral Medication. The Board of Dentistry has determined that the perioperative titration of oral
medication(s) with the intent to achieve a level of conscious sedation poses a potential overdosing threat due to the
unpredictability of enteral absorption and may result in an alteration of the state of consciousness of a patient bevond the
intent of the practiticner. Such potentially adverse consequences may require immediate intervention and appropriate training
and equipment. Beginning with the effective date of this rule, no dentist licensed in this state shall use any oral medication{s)
to induce conscious sedation until such dentist has obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule chapter. The use
of enteral sedatives or narcotic analgesic medications for the purpose of providing minimal sedation {arxiolysis) as defined by
and in accordance with subsection 64B5-14.001(10}, F.A.C., shall not be deemed titration of oral medication and shall not be
prohibited by this rule.

(8) The following general anesthetic drugs shall not be empioyed on or administered to a patient by a dentist unless the
dentist possesses a valid general anesthesta permit issued by the Board pursuant io the requirements of this chapter: propofol,
methohexital, thiopental, etomidate, or ketamine,
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Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), 466.017(5) FS. History-New 1-31-80,
Amended 4-20-81, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.02, 21G-14.002, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.002, Amended §-8-96, Formerly
390-14.002, Amended 3-9-03, 11-4-03, 6-15-06, 12-25-06, 12-1]-]11, 8-5-12.

64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits.

(1) General Anesthesia Pernzit.

(a) A permit shall be issued to an actively licensed dentist authorizing the use of general anesthesia or deep sedation at &
specified practice location or locations on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided the dentist:

1. Has completed a minimum of one year residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation in
dental anesthesiology or has completed an oral and maxillofacial surgical residency program accredited by the Commission on
Dental Accreditation beyond the undergraduate dental school level; or

2.Is a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; or

3. Is eligible for examination by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; or

4. Is a member of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

{b) A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the
administration of general anesthesia, staffed with supervised assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably
handling procedures, problems and emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of
delivering positive pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of general anesthesia or deep sedation requires at lsast three
individuals, each appropriately trained: the operating dentist, a person responsible for monitoring the patient, and a person t¢
assist the operating dentist.

(c} A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be
certified mn an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopuimonary
resuscitation course at the basic life support level to include one person CPR, two person CPR, infant resuscitation and
obstrucied airway, with a periedic update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure bienniurn conpunencing on
March of 2000, a dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Auiomated
Extemal Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the
basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing general anesthesia or deep sedation must be
currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support} or ATLS {Advanced Trauma Life Support).

(6} A dentist permitied to administer general anesthesia or deep sedation under this rule may administer conscious
sedation and nitrous-oxide inhalation conscious sedation.

{e) A dentist employing or using deep sedation shall maintain an active and current permit to perform general anesthesia.

{2} Conscious Sedation Permit.

{a} A permit shalt be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of conscious sedation at a specified practice location or
locations on an cutpatient basis for dental pafients provided such dentist;

1. Has received formal training in the use of conscious sedation; and

2. Is certified by the instifution where the training was received to be competent in the adminisiration of conscious
sedation; and

3. Is competent to handle all emergencies relating to conscious sedation.

(b) Such certification shall specify the type, the number of hours, the number of patients treated and the length of training.
The minimum number of didactic hours shall be sixty, which must include four (4) hours of airway management. Airway
management must include emergency airway management protocols. Chnical training shall include personal administration
for at least twenty patients including supervised training, clinical experience and demonstrated competence in airway
management of the compromised airway. The program must certify that a total of three (3) hours of clinical training was
dedicated to hands-on simulated competence in airway management of the compromised airway.

(c) This formal training program shall be sponsored by or affiliated with a university, teaching hospital or part of the
undergraduate curriculum of an accredited dental school.

{d) A dentist utilizing conscious sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the administration of conscious
sedation, staffed with supervised assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems,
and emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive pressure oxygen
ventilation. Administration of conscious sedation requires at least two individuals: a dentist, and an auxiliary trained in basic
cardiac life support. It shall be incumbent upon the operating dentist to insure that the patient is appropriately monitored.

(e) A dentist utilizing conscious sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be cerlified in an American
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Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic
life support fevel to include one person CPR, two person CPR, infant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic
update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and all
assistant/dental hygienist personne! shail also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillaior or a
defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In
addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing conscious sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac
Life Support) or ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support).
(f) Dentists permitted to administer conscious sedation may administer nitrous-cxide inhalation conscious sedation.

{g) Dentists permitted to administer conscious sedation may administer pediatric conscious sedation in compliance with
Rule 64B3-14.010, F AC,

{3) Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit.

(a) A permit shall be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of pediatric conscicus sedation at a specified practice location
or locations on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided such dentist;

1. Has received formal training in the use of pediatric conscious sedation. This formal training program shall be
sponsored by or affiliated with a university, teaching hospital or other facility approved by the Board of Dentistry or part of
the undergraduate curriculum of an accredited dental school; and

2. Is certified by the institution where the training was received to be competent in the administration of pediatric
conscious sedation. This certification shall specify the type, the number of hours, the number of patients treated and the iength
of training. The minimum number of didactic hours shall be sixty. Clinical training shall include management of sedation for
at least twenty patients including supervised training, clinical experience and demonstrated competence in airway
management of the compromised airway; and

3. Is competent to handle all emergencies relating to pediatric conscious sedation. A dentist utilizing pediatric conscious
sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the administration of pediatric conscious sedation, staffed with
supervised assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems, and emergencies
incidental thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive pressure oxvgen ventilation.
Adminstration of pediatric conscious sedation requires at least two individuals: a dentist, and an auxiliary trained in basic
cardiac life support. It shall be incumbent upen the operating dentist to insure that the patient is appropriately monitored.

(b} A dentist utilizing pediatric conscious sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be certified in an
American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at
the basic life support level to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic
update not o exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a dentist and all
assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a
defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In
addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing pediatric conscious sedation must be currently trained in ACLS {Advanced
Cardiac Life Support), PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support), or a course providing similar instruction which has been
approved by the Board. An entity seeking approval of such a course shall appear before the Board and demonstrate that the
content of such course and the hours of instruction are substantially equivalent to those in an ACLS or PALS course,

{¢) Dentists permitted to administer pediatric conscious sedation may administer nitrous-oxide inhalation conscious
sedation.

{d) Dentists permitted to administer conscious sedation may administer pediatric conscious sedation,

(4) Nitrous-Oxide Inhalation Analgesia.

{a) A dentist may employ or use nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided
such dentist:

1. Has completed no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental Association’s “Guidelines
for Teaching and Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry” or its equivalent: or

2. Has iraining equivalent to that described above while a student in an accredited school of dentistry; and

3. Has adequate equipment with fail-safe features and a 25% minimum oxygen flow,

(b} A dentist witlizing nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia and such dentist’s assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be
certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary
resuscitation course at the basic life support leve! to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed
airway with a periodic update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a
dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist persomnel shall also be trainad in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator
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or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In
addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing pediatric conscious sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced
Cardiac Life Support), ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support), or PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support).

{c) A dentist who regularly and routinely utilized nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an outpatient basis i a competent
and efficient manner for the three-year period preceding January 1, 1986, but hias not had the benefit of formal training
outlined in subparagraphs 1. and 2. of paragraph (4)(a) above, may continue such use provided the dentist fulfills the
provisions set forth in paragraph 3. of paragraph (4)(a) and the provisions of paragraph (b) above.

(d} Nitrous oxide may be used in combination with a single dose enteral sedative or a single dose narcotic aralgesic to
achieve a minimally depressed level of consciousness se long as the manufacturer’s maximum recommended dosage of the
enteral agent is not exceeded. Nitrous oxide may not be used in combination with more than one (1) enteral agent, or by
dosing a single enteral agent in excess of the manufacturer’s maximum recommended dosage unless the administering dentist
holds a conscicus sedation permit issued in accordance with subsection 64B5-14.003(2), F.A.C., or a pediatric conscious
sedation permit issued in accordance with Rule 6485-14.010, F A.C.

(5) Local Anesthesia Certificate or Permit: A permit or certificate to administer local anesthesia under the direct
supervision of a Florida licensed dentist to non-sedated patients eighteen (18) vears of age or older shall be issued by the
Department of Health to a Florida licensed dental hygierist who has completed the appropriate didactic and clinical education
and experience as required by Section 466.017(5), F.S., and who has been certified by the Board as having met all the
requirements of Section 466.017, F.S,

(a} A registered dentaf hygienist who is seeking a permit or certificate for administering local anesthesia must apply to the
department on form DHE-MQA 1261 (May 2012), Application for Dental Hygiene Certification Administration of Local
Anesthesia, herein incorporated by reference and available at httg/rwww. flroles org/Gatewavireference. asp? No=Ref-0 1 469
or available on the Florida Board of Dentistry website at hitp://www doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentistry.

(b) An applicant shall submit the following with the application:

L. A thirty-five doliar ($33) non refundable certificate or permit fee;

2. A certified copy of the applicant’s transcripts that reflect the required didactic and clinical education and experience;

3. A certified copy of the diploma or certificate issued by the applicant’s institution, program, or school; and

4. Proof of acceptable certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for health professionals or Advanced Cardiac Life
Support as defined in Section 466.017, ¥.8.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), (6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), (5), (6) FS. History—New [-31-80, Amended 4-20-81,
2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.03, Amended 12-31-86, 11-8-90, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-14.003, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.003,
Amended 8-8-96, 10-1-86, Formerly 590-14.003, Amended 2-17-98, 12-20-98, 5-31-00, 6-7-01, [1-4-03, 6-23-04, 6-11-07, 2-8-12, §-16-12
(Lifa)tf), 8-16-12 (5), 8-19-13.

64B5-14.0032 ltinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — Physician Anesthesiologist.
The provisions of this rule control the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office setting where a physician
anesthesiologist has performed the sedation services. This rule shall control notwithstanding any rule provision in this Chapter
that prohibits such conduct. The level of sedation is not restricted to the level of the permit held by the treating dentist. The
ievel of sedation may be any level necessary for the safe and effective treatment of the patient.

{1) General Anesthesia Permit Holders:
A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit may treat their adult, pediatric, or special needs patients when a physician
anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following coaditions shall apply:

{a) The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia and the physician anesthesiologist is
responsible for the anesthesia procedure;

(b) The dental freatment takes place in the general anesthesm permit holder’s board-inspected and board-registered dental
office.

{2} Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit Holders:
A pediatric dentist, as recognized by the American Dental Association, who holds a pediatric conscious sedation permit may
treat their pediatric or special needs dental patients when & physician anesthesiclogist perfermﬂ the sedation services. The
following conditions shall apply:

(aj The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the physician anesthesiologist is
responsible for the anssthesia procedare;

(b) The treatment takes place in the permit holder’s board-inspected and board-registered dental office:;
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(c¢) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C..

(d) A board-approved inspector performs an inspection of the dental office and the 1nspac‘£0r reports the office to be in full

compliance with the minimum supply, equipment, ané facility requirements.
A pediatric dentigt who holds an active conscious sedation permit and not a pediatric conscious sedation permit shall meet the
sedation permit requirement of this rule until the next biennial license renewal cycle that follows the effective date of this rule.
At the next biennial license renewal cycle that follows the effective date of this rule, a pediatric dentist who hold a conscious
sedation permit may transfer the permit to a pediatric conscious sedation permit without any additional cost besides the
renewal fee.

{3) Conscious Sedation Permit Holders:

A dentist who holds a conscious sedation permit may treat their aduit or adult special needs dental patients when a physician
anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following conditions shall apply:

(a) The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the physician anesthesiclogist is
responsible for the anesthesia procedure;

{b) The treatment takes place i the permit holder’s properly board-mspected and board-registered dental office;

(c) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C.:

(d) A board-approved inspector performs an inspection of the dental office and the inspector reports the office to be in full
cornpliance with the minimum supply, equipment, and facility requirements.

{4) Non-Sedation Permit Holders:

All provisions of this Chapter relating to the administration of any type of anesthesia or sedation and treatment to sedated
patients shall remain in full force and effect. Nothing in this section supersedes, alters, or creates a varjance fo any
prohibitions and mandates applicabie to non-sedation permit holding dentists.

{5) Staff or Assistants:

A dentist treating a patient pursuant to this rule must have at least three (3) properly credentialed individuals present as
mandated in Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C. To fulfill the mandatory minimum required personnel requirements of Rule 64B5-
14.003, F.A.C., a physician anesthesiologist assistant or & certified registered nurse anesthatist in addition to, or in lieu of &
dental assistant or dental hygienist may be utilized. However, the dentist must have a dedicated member of the team to assist
in the dental procedure or during dental emergencies.

{6) Equipment;

A dentist may comply with the electrocardiograph and end tidal carbon dioxide monitor equipment standards set by Rule
64B5-14.008, F.A.C., by utilizing mobile or non-fixed equipment if the dentist meets the following conditions:

{a) During the required board inspection, the equipment 18 available for inspection; and the dentist supplies an inspection
of the equipment, which 2 licensed health care risk manager performed. A licensed health care risk manager mspection is valid
for a period of twelve months; and

(b) The dentist shall malke the inspected equipment available during all required inspections and the equipment must be
immediately available for an adverse incident inspection,

{7) Records:

The treating dentist shall maintain a compiete copy of the anesthesia records in the patient’s dental chart. The dentist shali
make certain that name and license numbers identify the treating dentist, the physician anesthesiclogist, and all personnel
utilized during the procedure.

Rulemalking Authority 466,004(4), 466.017(3) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3} FS. H.isroerNeﬁz 8-20-12, Amended 11-19-12, 2-21-13.

64B5-14.0034 Itinerate/Mobile Anesthesia — General Anesthesia Permit Holders.
The provisions of this rule control the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office where a dentist with a general
anesthesia permit performs the sedation services for a treating dentist. The treating dentist must possess a general anesthesia
permit, conscious sedation permit, or pediatric conscious sedation permit. The level of anesthesia administered shail be to any
level necessary to safely and effectively treat the dental patient. This rule shell control notwithstanding any rule provision in
this Chapter that prohibits such conduct.

(1) General Anesthesia Permit Holder’s Office:
A general anesthesia permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another general anesthesia permit
hoider or conscious or pediafric conscious sedation permit holder in his or her office or in another general anesthesia permit
holder’s office. In this setting, the following shall apply:

(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by a treating dentist who holds a valid anesthesia permit of any level;
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{b).The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident reporting under Rule
64B5-14.006, F.A.C.

{2} Conscious and Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit Holder's Office:
A general anesthesiz permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another dentist who holds a conscious
sedation permit or 2 pediatric conscious sedation permit at the office of the treating dentist. In this setting, the following shall
apply:

(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by the conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation permit hoider;

{(b) The general anesthesia permit holder may perform general anesthesia services once an additional board-inspection
establishes that the office complies with the facility, equipment and supply requirements of Rule 64B35-14.008, F.A.C.:

{¢) The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident reporting requirements
under Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C.

{3) Equipment:
When the general anesthesia permit holder performs the anesthesia services in a dental office of a conscious or pediatric
conscious sedation permit holder’s office, the electrocardiograph and end tidal carbon dioxide monitor equipment mandates
may be met as follows:

(2) The general anesthesia permit holder provides the equipment which has already been inspected during the general
anesthesia permit holder’s required inspection;

{b) The squipment is available for inspection during the office’s mandated inspection; and

{c) The equipment is immediately available for an adverse incident report inspection.

(4) Staff or Personnel:
An anesthesia provider and the treating dentist are both responsible for ensuring that a minimum number of three (3)
personmel are present during the procedure. The personnel must meet the minimum credentialing requirements of Rule 64R3-
14.003, F.A.C.

(5) Records: The treating dentist shall maintain a complete copy of the anesthesia records in the patient’s dental chart.
The dentist performing the anesthesia must maintain the original anesthesia records. The treating dentist must identify by
name and license number all personnel utilized during the procedure,

Rulemaling Authority 466.004¢4), 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History—New 3-]4-13,

64B5-14.0036 Treatment of Sedated Patients by Dentists Without an Anesthesia Permit.

The provisions of this rule control the freatment of patients where an anesthesia permitted dentist sedates the dental patient in
his or her board-inspected and board-registered dental office and a Florida licensed dentist without an anesthesia permit
performs the dental treatment. This rule shall conirol notwithstanding any rule provision in this Chapter to the contrary, which
prohibits such conduct.

{1) The permitted dentist shall perform the sedation in his or her out-patient dental office where the permitted dentist is
registered to perform the anesthesia services;

(2) The permitted dentist shall remain with the patient from the onset of the performance of the anesthesia until discharge
of the patient;

(3) The permitted dentist shali have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin the performance of any other
anesthesia services until the patient is discharged;

{4) The treating dentist shall have taken a minimum of four hours of continuing education in airway management prior to
treating any sedated patient. Two hours must be in didactic training in providing dentistry on sedated patients with
compromised airways and two hours must inciude hands-on training in airway management of sedated patients. After the
initial airway management course, the treating dentist shall continue to repeat a mintmum of four hours in airway management
every four years from the date the course was last taken by the dentist. The continuing education courses taken may be
credited toward the mandatory thirty hours of continuing education required for licensure renewal. The requirement that a
dentist must first have taken an initial airway management course before treating a sedated patient shall not take effect unti!
March 1, 2014,

Rulemaling Authority 466.G04(4), 466.017 FS. Law fmplemented 466.017 FS. History-New 3-14-13, Amended 8-719-13.
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64B5-14.0038 Use of a Qualified Anesthetist.
In an outpatient dentat office, and pursuant to Section 466.002(2), F.S., a dentist may supervise a qualified anesthetist who is
administering anesthetic for a dental procedure on a patient of the supervising dentist. The type of supervision required is
direct supervision as defined in Section 466.003(8}, F.S. In an outpatient dental office, the supervising dentist must have a
valid permit for administering sedation to the level of sedation that the qualified anesthetist will be administering to the dental
patient during the dental procedure. The dentist must maintain all office equipment and medical supplies required by this
chapter to the level of the sedation that the qualified anesthetist will administer to the dental patient.

Rulemaling Aufﬁorz’zy 466.004(4), 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.002(2), 466.017, 466.003(8) FS. History-New [1-11-13.

64B5-14.004 Additional Requirements.

(1) Office Team — A dentist licensed by the Board and practicing dentistry in Florida and who is permitted by these rules
to induce and administer general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, pediatric conscious sedation or nitrous-oxide

_inhalation analgesia may employ the office team approach. '

(2) Dental Assistants, Dental Hygienists ~ Dental assistants and dental hygienists may monitor nitrous-oxide inhalation
analgesia under the direct supervision of a dentist who is permitted by rule to use general anssthesia, conscious sedation,
pediatric conscious sedation, or nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia, while rendering dental services aliowed by Chapter 466,
F.S., and under the following conditions: .

(a) Satisfactory completion of no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental Association’s
“Guidelines for Teaching and Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry” or its equivalent; and

{b) Maintenance of competency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation evidenced by certification in an American Heart
Association or American Red Cross ar equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life
support jevel to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway, with a periodic update not to
exceed two years.

(3) After the dentist has induced a patient and established the maintenance level, the agsistant or hygienist may monitor
the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making only adjustments during this administration and furning it off at the
commpletion of the dental procedure.

{4) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow a dentist or dental hygienist or assistant to administer to himself or to
any person any drug or agent used for anesthesiz, analgesia or sedation other than in the course of the practice of dentistry.

(5) A dentist utilizing conscious sedation in the dental office may induce only one patient at 2 time. A second patient shall
not be induced until the first patient is awake, alert, conscious, spontaneously breathing, has stable vital signs, is ambulatory
with assistance, is under the care of a responsible adult, and that portion of the procedure requiring the participation of the
dentist is complete. In an office setting where two or more permit holders are present simultaneously, each may sedate one
patient provided that the office has the necessary staff and equipment, as set forth in paragraph 64B5-14.003(2)(d), F.A.C., for
each sedated patient,

(6) All dentists who hoid an active sedation permit of any level must complete four (4} hours of continuing education in
airway management and four (4) hours of continuing education in medical emergencies, every four (4) years from the last date
the dentist took the continuing education course, The four (4) hours in airway management must include two hours didaciic
training in providing dentistry on sedated patients with compromised airways and two hours must include hands-on training in
airway management of sedated patients. The continuing education must be taken through a board approved contimuing
education provider. The continuing education required by this subsection will take effect on March 1, 2014. The continuing
education required by this subection may be included in the thirty (30) hours required by Section 466.0135, F.S.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3) F5. Law Implemented 466.017¢(3) FS. History-New ]-31-80, Amended 2-13-86 Formerly
21G-14.04, Amended 12-31-86, 12-28-92, Formerly 21G-14.004, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.004, Amended §-8-96, Formerly
580-14.004, Amended 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 5-24-05, 8-19-13.

64B5-14.005 Application for Permit.

(1) No dentist shall administer, supervise or permit another health care practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001, F.S., to
perform the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation in 2 dental
office for dental patients, unless such dentist possesses a permit issued by the Board. A permit is required even when another
health care practitioner, as defined in Section 456,001, F.S., administers general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation,
or pediatric conscious sedation in a dental office for a dental patient. The dentist holding such a permit shall be subject to
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review and such permit must be renewed biennially. Each dentist in a practice who performs the administration of general
anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation or pediatric conscious sedation shall each possess an individual permit. Nothing
in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit administration of anesthetics as part of a program authorized by Rule 6485-
14.003, F.A.C., any other educational program authorized by Board rule, for training in the anesthetic being administered, or
pursuant to a demonstration for inspectors pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C.

{2) An applicant for any type of anesthesia permit must demonstrate both:

{a) Training in the particular type-of anesthesia listed m Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.; and

{(b) Documentahon of actual clihical admlmstration of anesthetics to 20 dental or oral and mamllofamal patients w1thm
fwo {2) vears: przor o apphoatlon of the pamcﬁlar type of anesthetics for the permit applied for. : S

(3) Prior to the issuance of such permit, an oR-site mspecnon of the__fac;hty, equipment ‘and perqonnel w1ﬂ be conducted
pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C., fo determine if the lequxremems of this chapter'have been met. -

(4) An application for a general anesthesia permit must inclide the application fee specified in Rule 64B5-15 017 F.A. C
which is non-refundabie; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is
denied without inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter;
and identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ general

anesthesia or deep sedation. ‘
' (5) An application for a conscious sedation permit must include the application fee specified in Rule 64R5-15.017,
F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the
application is denied without inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of
this chapter; and identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ
conscious sedation,

(6) An application for a pediafric conscious sedation permit must include the application fee specified in Rule 64B3-
15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundabie; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the
application 1s denied without inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of
this chapter; and identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ
pediatric conscious sedation.

(7} The Board shall rencw the permit biennially upon application by the permit holder, proof of continuing education
required by subsection 648544.004(6), F.AC, and payment of the renewal fee specified by Rule 64B5-15.019, F.AC.,
unless the holder is imformed in writing that a re-evaluation of his credentials and facility is to be required. In determining
whether such re-evaluation is necessary, the Board shall consider such factors as it deems pertinent including, but not limited
to, patient complaints, reports of adverse occurrences and the results of inspections conducted pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007,
F.A.C. Such re-evaluation shall be carried out in the manner described in subsection (2) set forth above. A renewal fee of
$25.00 must accomparny the biennial application.

(8) The holder of any general anesthesia, conscious sedation, or pediatric conscious sedation permit is authorized to
praciice pursuant o such permit ondy at the location or locations previcusly reported to the Board office.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017, 466.017(5) FS. History—-New 4-7-86, Amended 1-29-
&89, 11-16-85, 11-8-90, 4-24-91, Formerly 21G-14.0065, Amended [2-20-93, Formerly 6175-14.003, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 590-
14.005, Amended 12-12-00, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 2-22-66, 6-28-07, 7-3-10, §-5-12.

04135-14.006 Reporting Adverse Occurrences.

{1} Definitions:

(a) ddverse occurrence — means any mortality that occurs during or as the result of a dental procedurs, or ap incident that
results in the temporary or permanent physical or mental injury that requires hospitalizatior or emergency room treatment of a
dental patient that ocourred during or as a direct result of the use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscicus ssdation,
padiatric conscious sedation, oral sedation, minimal sedation (anxiolysis), nitrous oxide, or local anesthesia.

(b} Supervising Dentist — means the dentist that was directly responsible for supervising the Certified Registered Dental
Hygienist (CRDH)} who is authorized by proper credentials to administer local anesthesia.

{2) Dentists: Any dentist practicing in the State of Florida must notify the Board in writing by registered mail within
forty-elight bours (48 hrs.) of any mortality or other adverse occurrence that occurs in the dentist’s outpatient facility, A
complete written report shall be filed with the Board within thirty (30) days of the mortality or other adverse occurrence. The
complete written report shatl, at a minipum, include the following:

{(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient;
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{b) A detailed description of the dental procedure;

(¢) A detailed description of the préoperative physical condition of the patient;

(d) A detailed tist of the drugs administered and the dosage administered;

(€) A detailed description of the technigues utilized in administering the drugs;

(f) A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of complications and the onset and
type of symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and type of treattnent rendered to the patient; and 3) the onset and
type of response of the patient to the treaiment rendered; and

(g} A List of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address. _

(3) A failure by the dentist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements mandated by this rule is a
basis for disciplinary action by the Board, pursuant to Section 466.028(1), F.S.

(4) Certified Registered Dental Hygienists: Any CRDH administering loca? anesthesia must notify the Board, in writing
by registered mail within forty-cight hours (48 hrs} of any adverse occurrence that was related to or the result of the
administration of local anesthesia. A complete written report shall be filed with the Board within thirty (30} days of the
mortality or other adverse occurrence. The complete written report shail, at a minimum, inciude the following:

{(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the supervising dentist;

(b} The name, address, and telephone number of the patient;

{e) A detailed description of the dental procedure;

{d} A detailed description of the preoperative physical condition of the patient;

{e} A detailed list of the local anesthesia administered and the dosage of the local anesthesia administered;

{fy A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs;

{g) A detailed description of any other drugs the patient had taken or was administered;

(h) A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of complications and the onset and
type of symptoms cxperienced by the patient; 2) the onset and type of treatment rendered to the patient; and 3) the onset and
type of response of the patient to the ireatment rendered; and

(1) A list of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address.

(5) A failure by the hygienist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements mandated by this rule
is a basis for discipiinary action by the Board pursuant to Section 466.028(1), F.S.

(6) Supervising Dentist:

If a Certified Registered Dental Hygienist is required to file a report under the provisions of this rule, the supervising dentist
shall also file 2 contemporaneous report in accordance with subsection {2).

(7) The initial and complete reports required by this rule shall be mailed to; The Florida Board of Dentistry, 4052 Bald

Cypress Way, Bin #C08, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), (6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), (5} FS. Historp-New 2-12-86, Amended 3-27-91),
Formerly 21G-14.006, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 01F5-14.006, Amended §-8-96, Formerly 590-14.006, Amended 11-4-03, 12-25-06, §-
5-12.

6485-14.007 Inspection of Facilities and Demonstration of Sedation Technique.

{1) The Chatirman of the Board or the Board by majority vote shall appoint consultants who are Florida licensed dentists
to- inspect facilities where general anesthesia, deep sedation, conscious sedation, or pediatric conscious sedation is performed.
Consuliants shall receive instruction in inspection procedures from the Board prior (o initiating an inspection.

(2) Prior to issuance of a general anesthesia permit, conscious sedation permit, or pediatric conscicus sedation permit, the
applicant must demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of the use of the required equipment and drugs as follows:

(a) Demonstration of General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation. A denta] procedure utilizing general anesthesia/deep sedation
must be observed' and evaluated. Any general anesthesia/deep sedation technique that is routinely employed may be
demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while sedated and during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team
must physically demonstrate by simulation an appropriate response {o the following emergencies:

1. Airway obstruction;

2. Bronchospasm;

3. Aspiration of foreign object;

4. Angina pectoris;

5. Myocardial infarction;

6. Hypotension;
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7. Hypertension;

8. Cardiac arrest;

9. Allergic reaction,

10, Convuisions;

11. Hypoglveemia;

12. Syncope; and

13. Respiratory depression.

(b) Demonstration of Conscious Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing conscious sedation must be observed and
evaluated, Any conscious sedation technique that is routinely employed may be demonstrated. The patient shail be monitored
while sedated and during recovery, Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically demonstrate by simulation an

-appropriate response to the foliowing emergencies:

1. Adrway cbstruction;

. Bronchospasm;

. Aspiration of foreign object;
. Angina pectoris;

. Myocardial infarction;

. Hypotension;

. Hypertension;

. Cardiac arrest;

=R R B R A

. Allergic reaction;

10, Convulsions;

il Hypoglvcemia,

12. Syncope; and

13, Respiratory depression.

(¢} Demenstration of Pediatric Coascious Sedation, A dental procedure wtilizing pediatric conscious sedation must be
observed and evaluated. Any pediatric conscious sedation technique that is routinely employed may be demonstrated. The
patient shall be monitored while sedated and during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physicaliy
demonstrate by simulation an appropriate response to the following emergencies:

1. Airway obstruction;

. Bronchospasm;

. Aspiration of foreign object;
. Angina pectoris; '

. Myocardial tofarction;

. Hypotension;

. Hypertension;

. Cardiac arrest;

. Allergic reaction,;

10. Convulsions;

11. Hypoglycemza,

12. Syncope; and

13. Respiratory depression.

(3) Any dentist who has applied for or received a general anesthesia permit, conscious sedation permit, or pediatric
conscious sedation permit shall be subject to announced or unannounced on-site inspection and evaluation by an inspection
consultant. This imspection and evaluation shail be required prior to issuance of an anesthesia permit. However, if the
Deparmment cannot complete the required inspection prior fo licensure, such inspection shall be waived until such tme that it
can be completed following licensure.

(4) The inspection: consultant shall determine compliance with the requirements of Rules 64B5-14.008, 64B5-14.009 and
64B5-14.010, F.A.C., as applicable, by assigning a grade of pass or fail.

(5) Any applicant who receives a failing grade as a result of the on-site inspection shall be denied a permit for general
anesthesia and conscious sedation.

(6) Any permit holder who fails the inspection shall be so notified by the anesthesia inspection consultant and shall be
given & written statement at the time of inspection which specifies the deficiencies which resulted in a failing grade. The
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inspection feam shall give the permit holder 2C days from the date of inspection to correct any decumented deficiencies. Upon
notification by the permit holder fo the inspection consultant that the deficiencies have been corrected, the inspector shall
reinspect to msure that the deficiencies have been corrected, If the deficiencies have been correctad, a passing grade shall be
assigned. No permit holder who has received a failing grade shall be permitted 20 days to correct deficiencies unless he
voluntarily agrees in writing that no general anesthesia or deep sedation or conscious sedation will be performed until such
deficiencies have been corrected and such corrections are verified by the anesthesia inspection consultant and a passing grade
has been assigned.

(7) Upon a determination of the inspection consultant that a permit holder has received a failing grade and that the permit
‘holder has not chosen to exercise his option by taking immediate remedial action and submitting to reinspection, or
reinspection has established that remedial action has not been accomplished, the Inspection Consultant shall determine
whether the déficiencies constitute an imminent danger to the public. Should ap imminent danger exist, the consaltant shall
report his findings to the Executive Director of the Board. The Executive Director shall immediately request an emergency
meeting of the Probable Cause Panel. The Probable Cause Panel skall determine whether an imminent danger exists and upon
this determination of imminent danger request the Secretary of the Department to enter an emergency suspension of the
anesthesia permit. If no imminent danger exists, the consultant shall report his findings to the Probable Cause Panel for further
action against the permit holder. Nothing herein is intended to affect the authority of the Secretary of the Department to
exercise his emergency suspension authority independent of the Board or the Probable Cause Panel.

(8) When a patient death or other adverse occurrence as described in subsection 64B5-14.006(1), F.A.C., is reported to
the Department pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., the initial report shall be faxed or otherwise telephonically fransmitted
to the Chairman of the Board’s Probable Cause Panel or another designated member of the Probable Cause Panel to determine
if an emergency suspension order is necessary. If so, the Depariment shall be requested to promptly conduct an investigation
which shall inciude an inspection of the office involved in the patient death.

(a) If the results of the investigation substantiate the previous determination, an emergency suspension order shall be
drafied and presented to the Secretary of the Department for consideration and execution. Thereafier, a conference call
meeting of the Probable Cause Panel shall be held to determine the necessity of further administrative action.

{b) If the determination is made that an emergency does noi exist, the office involved with the patient death shall be
inspected as soon as practicable following receipt of the notice required by Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C. However, in the event
that the office has previously been inspected with a passing result, upon review of the inspection results, the Chairman of the
Probable Cause Panel or other designated member of the Probable Cause Panel shall determine whether or not a reinspection
is necessary. The compiete writien report of the adverse occurrence as required in Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., shall be
provided to the Probable Cause Panel of the Board to determine if further action is appropriae.

{c) If a routine inspection reveals a failure to comply with Rule 64B3-14.006, F.A.C., the Inspection Consultant shall
obtain the information which was required to be reported and shall determine whether the failure to report the death or
incident reveals that an imminent danger to the public exists and report to the Executive Director or Probable Cause Panel as
set forth in subsection 64B3-14.007(6), F.A.C.

(9) The holder of any general anesthesia, conscious sedation, or pediatric conscious sedation permit shall inform the
Board office in writing of any change in authorized iocations for the use of such permits prior to accomplishing such changes.
Written notice shali be required prior to the addition of any location or the closure of any previously identified location.

(10} Failure to provide access to an inspection team on two successive occasions shall be grounds for the issuance of an
emergency suspension of the licensee’s permit pursuant to the provisions of Section 120.60(8), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466,017(3) FS. Law Implemented 120,605}, 466.017(3) FS. History-New 10-24-88, Amended 3-27-90, 1]1-8-90, 4-
24-91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21 G-14.007, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.007, Amended §-8-96, Formerly 590-14.007, Amended }1-4-
03, 6-11-07.

64B5-14.008 Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation.
General Anesthesia Permit applicants and permit hoiders shall comply with the following requirements at each location where
anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at
each location.

{1) The operatory where anesthesia is to be administered must:

{(a) Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnel and to permit
effective emergency management;

{p) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a chair or cardiopulmonary
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resuscitation {CPR) board suitable for CPR,;

{c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction.

(2) If a recovery room is present it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressure
oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to
allow emergency access and management. The recovery room shall be situated to allow the patient to be observed by the
Dentist or an office team member at all times.

(3) The following equipment must be readily available to the operatory and recovery room and maintained in good
working order: :

{a) A positive pressure oxygen defivery system and backup system, inciuding full face mask for adults and for pediatric
patients, if pediatric patients are treated;

(b) Oral and nasal airways of various sizes;

fc) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope; and

(dy Caréioscop'e - electrocardiograph (EKG) machine, pulse oximeter, and end tidal carbon dioxide, to provide
continuous monitoring of heart thythm and rate, oxygen saturation of the blood, and ventilation, This equipment shall be used
for each procedure;

{e) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; and

(f} Thermometer.

{4) The following emergency equipment must be present:

{a) Appropriate 1.V. set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

{b) Laryngoscope with current batteries;

(¢} McGill foreeps and endotracheal tubes;

{d) Suction with backup suction;

(e} Appropriate syringes;

(f) Tourniquet and tape;

{g) CPR board or chair suitable for CPR;

() Styiet;

(i} Spare buibs and batteries;

(j) Cricothyrotomy equipment;

(k) Precordial stethoscope or capnometer; and

(1) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope.

(5) The following drugs or type of drugs with & current shelf life must be maintained and easily accessible from the
operatory and recovery room:

{a) Epinephrine;

(b) Atropine;

{c¢) Lidocaine;

{d) Amiodarone;

{e) An antihistamine;

(f) A vasodilator;

(g) A bronchodilator,

{h) An antihypeglyeemic agent;

(i) A vasopressor,

(i} A corticostercid;

(k) An anticonvulsant,

(1 A muscle relaxant;

(m} A narcotic and benzodiazepine antagonist;

{n} An appropriate antiarrhythmic medication;

{0) Nitroglvcerine;

{(p) Antiemetic,

{q) Adenosine; and

{r) Dantrolene, when used with volatile gases,

{6) The applicant or permit hoider shall provide written emergency protocols, and shall provide tramlng to familiarize
office personnel in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:
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(a) Laryngospasm;,

(b) Bronchospasm;

{c) Emesis and aspiration,

{d) Airway blockage by foreign body;

{e} Angina pectoris;

(f) Myocardial infarction;

(g) Hypertension/Hypotension;

(h) Hypertensive crisis;

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions;

() Convulsions;

(k) Seizures;

(1) Syncope;

{m) Phiebitis;

(n) Intra-arterial injection; and

{0} Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation.
The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which reflects the date, time, duration and
tvpe of fraining provided to named personnel.

{7) The foliowing records are required when general anesthesia is administered:

{a) The patient’s current written medica] history, including known allergies and previous surgery: and

{b) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and pulse; and

(¢} An anesthesia record which shall include:

1. Continuous monitoring of vital signs taken at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and sequence of
administration;

3. Duration of the procedure;

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity,

5. Status of patient upon discharge, and to whom the patient is discharged;

(d) Names of participating personnel.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New 10-24-88, Amended 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-
714.008, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.008. Amended §-8-96, Formerly 590-14.008, Amended 5-31-00, 6-23-04, 9.14-05, 3-23-06,
70-24-11.

64B5-14.009 Conscions Sedation.

Comnscious Sedation Permit applicants or permit holders shall comply with the following requirements at each location where
anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at
each location.

(1) The operatery where sedation is to be administered must:

(a) Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnel and to permit
effective emergency management,

(o) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a CPR board or chair suitable for CPR;

{c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction catheters,

(2) If' a recovery room is present it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressurs
oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to
allow emergency access and management. The recovery room shall be situated so that the patient can be observed by the
dentist or an office team member at all times.

(3) The following equipment must be readily available to the operatory and recovery room and maintained i good
working order:

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for adults and for pediatric
patients, if pediatric patients are treated;

(b) Oral and nasal airways of varous sizes,

{c) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope;

{d) Suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction;
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(&) A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxvgen saturation of the blood shall be
used during each procedure;

() A backup lighting system;

{g) A Precordial stethoscope or capnometer;

(k) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; and

(i) Thermometer.

(4) The following emergency equipment must be present:

{a) Appropriate intravenous set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

(b} Appropriate syringes;

(c} Tourniquet and tape.

(5) The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be maintained and easily accessible from the
operatory and recovery room:

{a) Epinephrine;

(b) Atropine;

(c) Lidocaine;

(d) Narcotic {e.g., Naloxone HCI) and benzodiazepine (¢.g., Flumazenil) antagonists, if these agents are used;

(e) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine HCI);

(£} A corticosteroid {e.g., Hydrocortisone};

{g) Nitroglycering;

{h) A bronchoditator (e.g., Albuterol inhaler);

{i) An antihypoglycemic (e.g., 50% glucose};

{j) Amiodarone;

(k) Vasopressor;

{1y Anticonvuisant;

{m} Antihypertensive;

{z} Anticholinergic; and

{0) Antiemetic.

{6) The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency protocols, and shall provide training to familiarize
office personnel in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:

{a) Laryngospasny,

() Bronchospasm;

{c) Emesis and aspiration

(d) Airway blockage by foreign body;

(e} Angina pectoris;

{f) Myocardial infarction;

{(g) Hypertension/Hypotension;

(h) Hypertensive crisis;

(1} Allergic and toxicity reactions;

() Convulsions;

(k) Seizures;

(1) Cardiac arrest;

(m) Intra-arterial injection;

{n) Syncope; and

{0) Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation.
The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which reflects the date, time, duration and
type of training provided to named personnel.

(7} The following records are reguired when conscious sedation is administered:

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, inciuding known allergies and history of previous surgery and anesthesia
history;

(b) Physical and risk assessment (e.g., ASA classification);

(¢) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and pulse; and

{d) A sedation record which shall include:
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1. Periodic vital signs recorded at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and sequence of
administration;

3. Duration of the procedure;

4. Documentation of compiications or morbidity;

5. Status of patient upon discharge and to whom discharged; and

6. The patient whe is administered a drug(s) for conscious sedation, must be continuously monitored intraoperatively by
pulse oximetry. A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope must be zvailable to assist in the monitoring of heart and respiratory
rates. A sphygmomanometer shall be immediately available.

(e) Names of participating personnel,

Rulemaling Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466,017 FS. History-New 10-24-88, Amended 11-16-89, 4-24-91, Formerly
21G-14.009, 61F3-14.009, Amended §-8-96, 10-1-96, Formerly 390-14.009, Amended §-2-00, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 3-23-06, 10-26-11,

64B5-14.010 Pediatric Conscious Sedation.

Pediatric Conscious Sedation Pertnit applicants or permit holders shall comply with the following requirements at each
location where anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall be met and equipment permanently maintained
and available at each location.

{1) The operatory where the sedated child patient is to be treated must;

(2) Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnel and to permit
effective emergency management;

(b) Be equipped with & chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a CPR board or chair suitable for CPR;

{c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction catheters,

(2) If' a recovery room is present, it shall be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, positive pressure
oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. The recovery room shall alse be of adequate size and design to
allow emergency access and management. The recovery room shall be situated so that the patient can be observed by the
dentist or an office team member at all times.

{(3) The following equipment must be readily available to the operatory and recovery room and maintained in good
working order:

{a} A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including fuil face mask for pediatric patients;

(b) Adrways of appropriate size for the pediatric patient;

(c) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope;

(d) Suction and backup suction equipment, also including tonsil suction and suction catheters;

(2) A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxygen saturation of the blood shall be
used during each procedure, .

(f) A scale for weighing pediatric patients; and

(g) Thermometer.

(4} The following emergency equipment must be present:

{a) Appropriate iniravenous set-up, including appropriate hardware and fluids;

(b} Appropriate syringes; '

{c) Tourniguet and tape; and

{(d) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated.

(5) The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be maintained and easily accessible from the
operatory and recovery room:

(a) Epinephrine:

(b) Atropine;

{c) Lidocaine;

(d) Narcotic (e.g., Naloxene HCI) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil) antagonists, if these agents are used;

(e) An antihistamine {e.g., Diphenhydramine HCI);

() A corticosteroid {e.g., Hydrocortisone);

g} Nifroglycerine;
{hy A bronchodilator {e.g., Albuterol inhaler);
(1) An antihypoglycemic (e.g., 50% glucose);
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() A vasopressor;

(k) An anticonvulsant;

(1} An antihypertensive;

{m} Nitroglycerin;

(n) An anticholinergic;

{0} An antiemetic; and

(p) Amiodarone.

(6} The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency protocols, and shall provide training to familiarize
office personnel in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:

{(a) Laryngospasmy;

{b} Bronchospasm;

(c) Emesis and aspiration;

{d) Airway blockage by foreign body;

{e) Cardiac arthythmias;

{f) Hypertension/Hypotension;

{g) Hypertensive crisis;

(1) Allergic and toxicity reactions;

(i) Convulsions;

(i) Byperventiiation/Hypoventilation;

(k) Syncepe;

(1) Seizures;

{(m) Cardiac arrest;

{(n) Intra-arterial injection;

{0} Angina pectonis; and

(p} Myocardial infarction.

The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record which reflects the date, time, duration and
type of training provided to named personnel.

(7} The following records are required when pediatric conscious sedation is administered:

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known aliergies, history of previous surgery and anesthesia,
and the patient’s age, weight, and caleulation of maximum allowable local anesthesia.

(b} Physical and risk assessment (e.g., ASA classification);

(c) Base line vital signs, including pulse, percent hemoglobin oxygen saturation, and when possible, blood pressure;

{d) A sedation record which shall include:

1. Periodic vital signs recorded at appropriate intervals during the procedure;

2. Drags, including local anesthetics, administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time
and sequence of administration,

3. Duration of the procedure;

4, Documentation of complications or morbidity; and

3. Status of patient upon discharge and to whom discharged.

{e) Names of participating perscnnel.

(8) Drugs for conscious sedation must be administered in a dentai office and the patient musi be observed by a qualified
office staff member, Continuous monitoring with pulse oxymetry must be initiated with early signs of conscious sedation and
continued unti! the patient is alert. A precordial, pretracheal stethoscope or capnometer must be available to assist
interoperatively in the moniforing of heart and respiratory rates. A sphygmomanometer shall be immediately availabie.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History—New 8-8-96, Formerly 590-14.010, Amended 8-2-04,
5-20-01, 3-23-06, 10-26-11. )



CHAPTER 64B5-15

FEE SCHEDULE
64B5-15.001 Collection and Payment of Fees
64B5-15.002 Application Fees
64B5-15.003 Examination Fees
64R5-15.004 Reexamination Fees
64B35-15.006 Ficensure and Renewal Fees
64B5-15.008 Fee for Renewal of Inactive License
64B5-15.008 Fee for Reactivation of Inactive License
64B3-15.0091  Fee for Reactivation of Retired License
64B5-15.011 Delinquency Fee
64B5-15.012 Change of Status Processing Fee

64B3-15.0121
64B5-15.0122

Change of Status Processing Fee for Retired Status
Retired Status Fee

64B5-15.015 Fee for Certification as a Pental Radiographer

6485-15.016 Fee for Duplicating Licenses, Certifications, and Permits

64B5-15.017 Application Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation
Permits

6485-15.018 Initial Permit Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation
Permits

64B5-15.019 Renewal Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Parenteral Conscious Sedation
Permits

64B35-15.020 Examination Review Fee (Repealed)

64B5-15.022 Fees for Continuing Education Providers

64B5-15.023 Fee for Certification of a Public Record

64B5-15.024 Fess for Enforcement of Unlicensed Practice Prohibitions (Repealed)

64B5-15.025 Registration Fee for Dispensing Practitioners

64B5-15.030 One Time Fee (Repealed)

641B5-15.001 Collection and Payment of Fees.
All fees shali be made payable to the Department of Health.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 456,025 FS. Hisiory-New 4-1-80, Formerly 21G-15,0}, 2FG-15.001, 61F5-15.001,
390-15.001.

64B5-15.002 Application Fees, .
The application fee for licensure as a dentist shall be one hundred dollars (§100.00), and the application fee for licensure as a
dental hygientst shall be fifty dollars ($50.G0). The application fee for a Health Access Dental License shall be one hundred
dollars (8100.00).

Rulemaking Authority 466,004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.006(1), 466.007 FS, Historv—New 4-1-80, Amended 5-9-82, Formerly 21(-
15.02, 21G-15002, 6IF3-15.002, 590-15.002, Amended 4-27-09.

04B5-15.603 Examinatien Fees,
The examination fee for the dental examination is $425.00 plus the actual costs to the Department for the portions of the
examination purchased from the Northeast Regional Board of Dental Examiners or similar mational organization; the
examination fee for the dental hygiene examination is $225.00; and the examination fee for the manual skills examination is
§250.00. The examination fee must be submitted at the same time the application and application fee is submitted. However,
the Department of Health will refund one-half of the examination fee of any applicant who notifies the Department in writing
at least 14 days prior to the examination date that he is not going to take the examination.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.606(1), 466.007(1) FS. Law Implemented 466.006(1}, (3)(c), 466.007¢1) FS. History—New 4-1-80,
Amended 10-26-80, 5-9-82, 3-11-84, 10-8-85, Formerly 21G-15.03, Amended 9-14-87, 10-4-88, Formerly 21G-15.003, 61F5-15.003, 590-
15.003
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64B5-15.004 Reexamination Fees.

A person applying to retake the dental or the dental hygiene examination, or any portion or part thereof, must pay the
appropriate applications and reexamination fees. The reexamination fee for the practical portion of the dental examination, or
any part of the practical portion of the dental examination shall be $345.00; the reexamination fee for the practical portion of
the dental hygiene examination shall be $200.00; the reexamination fee for the manual skills examination shall be $250.00;
the reexamination fee for the diagnostic skills portion of the dental examination shall be $30.00 plus the costs of the
examination; and the reexamination fee for the written portion of the dental examination shall be $50.00 and the dental
hygiene examination shall be $25.00. ‘

Rulemaking Authority 456.017(2}, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(2). 466.009¢1} FS. History-Nevw 4-1-80, Amended 6-22-80, 5-
9-82, 3-11-84, Formerly 21G-15.04, Amended 9-14-87, 10-24-88, Formerly 21G-13.604, 61F5-15.004, 590-15.004.

64B5-15.006 Licensure and Renewal Fees.

{1} The fee for biennial renewal of both a dental license and of a health access dental license shali be $300.0C. The
biennial renewal fee for a dental hygiene license shall be $100.00,

(2} Initial licensure fees shall be the same as renewal fees. However, applicants granted initial licensure during the second
year of the biennium shall pay one half of the normal fee.

Rulemalking Authority 456.013, 456.025, 466.013 FS. Law Implemented 456,013, 456.025, 466.013 FS. History-New 4-1-80, Amended -
2382, 10-3-83, Formerly 21G-15.06, Amended 11-16-89, 8-13-92, Formerly 2]1G-15.006, 61F5-15.006, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 590-
15.006. Amended 8-2-01, 6-11-07, 4-27-09.

64B5-15.008 Fee for Renewal of Inactive License.
The fee for renewal of an inactive dental license shall be §300. The fee for renewal of an inactive dental hygiene license shall
be $100.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.015 F3. Law Implemented 466,015 FS. History-New 4-2-84, Formerly 21G-15.08, Amended ]-18-87,
11-16-89, 8-13-92, Formerly 21 G-15.008, 61F5-15,008, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 590-15.008, Amended 9-27-01, 6-18-07,

64B5-15.009 Fee for Reactivation of Inactive License.
The fee for reactivation of an inactive dental license shall be $300. The fee for reactivation of an inactive dental hygiene
license shall be $100,

Rulemalking Authority 466.004, 466.015 FS. Law Implemenied 466,015 FS. History-New 4-2-84, Formerly 21G-15.09, Amended 1-18-87,
11-16-89, 8-13-92, Formerly 21G-15.009, 61F5-15.009, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 590-15.009, Amended 9-27-01, 6-18-07.

64B5-15.0091 Fee for Reactivation of Retired License,
The fee for reactivation of a retired license shall be payment of all biennial renewal fees that would have been imposed on an
active status licensee pursuant to Rule 64B5-15.006, F.A.C,, for all of the biennial periods wherein the licensee had a retired
license.

Rulemaking Authority 456.036 FS. Law Implemented 436.036 FS. History—New 2-14-06.

64B5-15.01) Delinquency Fee.
The fee for delinquent status of a dental License shall be $50.00 for renewals postmarked no later than March 31 of the even
numbered years. The fee for delinguent status of a dental license renewal postmarked after March 31 of the even numbered
years shall be $150.00. The fee for delinquent status of a dental hygiene license shall be $25.0¢ for renewals postmarked no
later than March 31 of the even numbered years. The fee for delinquent status of a dental hygiene license renewal postmarked
after March 31 of the even numbered years shall be §75.00,

Rulemaking Authority 456,030, 466.004(4), 466.013, 466.015 FS. Law Implemented 456.036, 466.015 FS. History—New 7-17-93, Amended
5-6-96, Formerly 590-15.011, Amended 9-27-01, 5-11-05.
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04B5-15.012 Change of Status Processing Fee,

The fee for processing a licensee’s request to change status at any time other than at the beginning of a licensure cycle shall be
§300 for a dental license and $100 for a dental hvgiene license.

Rulemaking Authority 436.036, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.036 FS. Hisiorv—New 7-12-95, Amended 5-6-96, Formerly 390-
15.012, Amended 9-27-01, 6-11-07.

64B5-15.0121 Change of Status Processing Fee for Retired Status.

The fee for changing to retired status at any time other than at license renewal shall be $3G0 for 2 dental license and $100 for a
dental hygiene license,

Rulemaking Authority 456.036 FS. Law Implemented 456.036 FS. History—New 2-14-06, Amended 6-1]-07,

64B5-15.0122 Retired Status Fee.
The retired status fee shall be $50.00.

Rulemaking Authorily 436.036 F5. Law Implemented 456,036 FS. History—New 2-14-06.

64B5-15.015 Fee for Certification as a Dental Radiographer.
The fee for certification as a dental radiographer pursuant fo Rule 64B5-9.011, F.A.C., shall be $35,

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(5) FS. History~New 1-18-87, Formerly 21G-15.015, 61F5-15.015, 590
15.015, Amended 6-11-07.

64B5-15.016 Fee for Duplicating Licenses, Certifications, and Permits.

The Board shall charge a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per duplication to defray the cost of duplicating any license,
certification, or permit, :

Rulemaking Authority 456.025(4} FS. Law Implemented 456.025(4) FS. History—New 1-18-87, Amended 1-7-92, Formerly 21G-15.016,
GIF5-15.016, 590-15.016.

64B5-15.017 Application Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conscious Sedation
Permits.

(1) The application fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $100.00.

{2} The appiication fee for a Conscious Sedatior. Permit shall be $100.00.

{3} The application fee for a Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $106.00.

{(4) Application fees are not refundable.

Rulemaldng Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466,017 FS. History--New [1-16-89, Formerly 21G-15.017, §1F5-15.017,
590-15.017, Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-06,

64B5-15.018 Initial Permit Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conscious Sedation
Permits.

{1} The initial fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $200.00.

{2} The nitial fee for a Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $2G0.00.

(3) The initial fee for a Pediairic Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00.

{4) Inttial permit fees may be refunded if the applicant is denied the permit without inspection.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History-New 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-15.018, 61F5-15.018,
590-15.018, Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-(16.

64B5-15.019 Renewal Fees for General Anesthesia, Pediatric Conscious Sedation, and Conscious Sedation Permits.
(1) The biennial renewal fee for a General Anesthesia Permit shall be $200.00.

(2) The biennial renewal fee for a Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00.

{3) The biennial repewal fee for & Pediatric Conscious Sedation Permit shall be $200.00.

{4) Renewal fees are not refundable.
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Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History—New 11-16-89, Formerty 21G-15.019, 61F5-15.019
590-15.019, Amended 9-9-98, 2-14-06.

64B5-15.020 Examination Review Fee.

Rulemaking Authority 456.017(2} FS. Law Implemented 456.017(2) FS. History-New 3-23-90, Formerly 21G-15.020, 61F5-15.0210, 590-
15.020, Repealed 4-30-07.

64B5-15.022 Fees for Continuing Education Providers.
(1) The initial fee for approval as a continuing education provider shall be $§200.
(2) The biennial renewal fee for an approved continuing education provider shall be $200.

Rulemaking Authority 456.025¢3) FS. Law Implemented 456.025(3), 466.014 FS. History-New 5-2-91, Formerly 21G-13.022, 6/F5-13.022,
590-15.022, Amended 6-11-07.

64B5-15.023 Fee for Certification of a Public Record.
The Board shail charge a fee of twenty-five doliars (325.00) for each request for the certification of a public record.

Rulemaking Authority 456.025(5) FS. Law Implemented 456.025(5) FS. History-New [-7-92, Formerly 21G-15.023, 61F5-15.023, 590-
15.023.

64B5-15.024 Fees for Enforcement of Unlicensed Practice Prohibitions.

Rulemaling Authority 456,004 456.065. 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.065(3) FS. History-New 8-29-93, Formeriy 61F5-15.024,
S590-15.024, Amended 10-31-01, Repealed 2-13-12.

64B5-15.025 Registration Fee for Dispensing Practitioners.
Each ticensed dentist who dispenses medicinal drugs for human consumption to patients in the regular course of dental
practice for fee or remuneration of any kind, whether direct or indirect, must register and pay a fee of $100.00 at the time of
registration and upon each biennial renewal of licensure.

Rulemalking Authority 465.0276 FS. Law Implemented 465.0276 FS. History-New 11-22-93, Formerly 61F3-15.025, 590-13.023.
64B5-15.030 One-Time Fee.

Rulemaking Authority 456.025(4), 466.004(4), 466.015(1), (2) FS. Law Implemented 456.025(5) FS. History-New 10-23-07, Amended 4-27-
08, Repealed 2-13-12.
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CHAPTER 64B5-16
REMEDIABLE TASKS DELEGABLE TO DENTAL HYGIENISTS AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS

64B5-16.001 Definitions of Remediable Tasks and Supervision Levels
64B5-16.002 Required Training

64B5-16.005 Remediable Tasks Delegable to Dental Assistants
64B5-16.006 Remediable Tasks Delegabie to a Dental Hygienist
64B5-16.007 Levels of Supervision for Dental Hygienists
6485-16.0075  Dental Charting by Dental Hygienists

64B5-16.008  Emergency Remediable Tasks

6485-16.009 Display of Certificates

64B85-16.010 Prior Certification and Training

64B85-16.001 Definitions of Remediabie Tasks and Supervision Levels.

(1) Remediable fasks, also referred to as expanded functions of dental assistants, are those intra-oral tasks which do not
create unalterable changes in the oral cavity or contiguous structures, are reversible and do not expose a patient to increased
risks. The use of a laser or laser device of any type is not a remediable task,

(2) A dentist may delegate a remediable task to dental hygienists, and dental assistants so long as delegation of the task
poses no increased risk to the patient and the requirements of training and supervision set out in Chapter 64B5-16, F.A.C., are
met.

(3) Remediable tasks are those specified in Section 466,024, F.S., and those designated as such by the Board. The Board
hereby designates the tasks listed in Chapter 6485-16, ¥ A.C., as remediable tasks,

{4) Direct supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a condition to be treated, authorize the
procedure to be performed, be on the premises while the procedure is performed, and approve the work performed prior to the
patient’s departure from the premises. '

{5) Indirect supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a condition to be treated, authorize
the procedure to be performed, and be on the premises while the procedure is performed.

{6) General supervision requires that a licensed dentist examine the patient, diagnose a condition to be treated, and
authorize the procedure to be performed.

(7) Any authorization for remediable tasks to be performed under general supervision is valid for a maximum of 13
months; after which, no further treatment under general supervision can be performed without another clinical exam bya
Florida licensed dentist.

(8) Any tasks delegable to dental assistants will be delegable to dental hygienists under the same supervision level, unless
otherwise stated in the rules.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.024(1), (3) FS. Law Implemented 466.024, 466.603¢11}, (12} FS. History—New 4-30-80, Amended &-
20-80, 1-28-81, 3-4-81, 10-8-85, Formerly 2]1G-16.01, Amended 6-30-86, 12-31-86, 7-5-87, 2-2]-88, 1.18-89, Formerly 21G-16.001,
Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 6/F5-16.001, Amended 4-6-97, Formerly 590-16.001, Amended 1-6-99, 10-29-00, 2-5-09,

04B5-16.002 Required Training.

(1) Formal training which is required for the performance of certain remediable tasks consists of a dental hygienist’s or
dental assistant’s successful completion of an expanded duty course or program which meets one of the foilowing
requirements;

{a) The course or program is administered or was developed as a part of the regular curriculum at 2 school of dentistry,
dental hygiene or dental assisting accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation, its
successor agency or any other nationally recognized accrediting agency; or

(b) The course or program has been approved by the Board for the purpose of providing expanded-duties training for
dental hypienists and dental assistants; or

{2) For the purpose of positioning and exposing radiographs by dental assistants, formal training may consist of having
recetved certification as a dental radiographer pursuant to Rule 64B5-6.011, F.AC,

{3) The Board shall approve & course or program specified in paragraph 64B5-16.002(1)(b), F.A.C., in expanded duties
only upon the application of the entity seeking to offer the course or program which establishes compliance with the following
requirements. Failure to adhere to these requirements shall subject the course or program to revocation of Board approval,

(a) The course or program curricuium reflects appropriate didactic and clinical training in each remediable task which
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requires completion of Board-approved formal training and shall be designed to meet specifically stated educational
obiectives;

(b) Documentation of the training and experience of faculty merobers which establishes their qualifications to teach
specified subject areas. Dentists and dental hygienists shall have a minimum of one year experience in expanded duty
functions and expanded duty dental assistants shall have a minimum of 5 years of hands-on experience prior to approval. The
student/teacher ratio shail not exceed one instructor to ten students. Applicants who have had a professional license revoked,
suspended, or otherwise acted agatnst, in Floride or in another jurisdiction, may be disqualified from participation as
instructors;

(¢} Submission of a detailed syliabus of the covrse or program which specifies the educational objectives for participants,
the manner of achieving these specified objectives, including subject matter, hours of instruction and choice of instructonal
method (clinical or didactic) and the method of assessing a participant’s performance. Any course offered shall also include
instrection regarding sterilization and disinfection procedures as stated in Rule Chapter 64B5-25, F.A.C., and instruction in
the dental practice act and administrative code as it relates 1o dental auxiliaries.

{d} The course or program requires participants to pass clinical or written examinations which adequately test competency
in each subject area. Participants must obtain a score of at least 75% out of a possibie score of 100%. The choice of a clinical
or written: examination shall be based on the specified objectives for each subject area; and

() Each participant who successfully completes the course or program is issued a certificate which contains the following
information: name of course or program sponsor; fitle of course; date course offered; number of hours of instruction:
participant’s name; signature authorized by the sponsor which attests to the certificate’s validity; and a list of all remediable
tasks in which the participant has received formal training,

{f} Any clinical course in which patients are treated during instruction must be supervised by a dentist licensed pursuant to
Chapter 466, F.S.

{g) Facilities and equipment for each course in which patients are treated during instruction shall be adequate for the
subject matter and method of instruction.

(4) On-the-job fraining required for the performance of certain remediable tasks consists of training in those tasks by a
licensed dentist who assames full responsibility for assuring that the dental hygienist or dental assistant has completed hands-
on training in order that he/she is competent fo perform the tasks,

Rulemaling Authority 466,004, 466.024 F5. Low Implemented 466.023, 466.024 FS. History—New 4-30-80, Amended 8-20-80, 1-28-81, 3-4-
81, 4-20-81, Formerly 21G-16.02, Amended 6-30-86, 12-31-86, 7-3-87, 2-21-88, 7-12-88, I-18-89. 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-16.002, 61F3-
16.002, Amended 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.002, Amended 1-29-07, 4-27-09, ]11-16-11, 5:-2-12.

64B5-16.905 Remediable Tasks Delegable to Dental Assistants.

(1) The foliowing remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received formal training and who
performs the tasks under direct supervision:

(a) Placing or removing temporary restorations with non-mechanical hand instruments only;

(b Polishing dental restorations of the tecth when not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and
only with the following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — burnishers, slow-speed hand pieces, rubber
cups, and bristie brushes;

{c} Polishing clinical crowns when not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and only with the
following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — siow-speed hand pieces, rubber cups, bristle brushes and
porte polishers;

(d) Removing excess cement from dental restorations and appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments only;

(e} Cementing temporary crowns and bridges with temporary cement;

{f) Monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making adjustments only during this administration and
turning it off at the completion of the dental procedure;

(g) Selecting and pre-sizing orthodontic bands, including the selection of the proper size band for a tooth to be banded
which does not mclude or involve any adapting, contouring, tritnming or otherwise modifying the band material such that it
would constitute itting the band;

(h) Selecting and pre-sizing archwires prescribed by the patient’s dentist so long as the dentist makes all final adjustments
to bend, arch form determination, and symmetry prior to final placement,

(i} Selecting prescribed extra-oral appliances by pre-selection or pre-measurement whick does not include final fit
adjustment;
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(i} Preparing a tooth surface by applying conditioning agents for orthodontic appliances by conditioning or placing of
sealant materials which does not include placing brackets;

(k) Using appropriate implements for preliminary charting of existing restorations and missing teeth and a visual
assessment of existing oral conditions;

(I} Fabricating temporary crowns or bridges intra-orally which shall not include any adjustment of occlusion to the
appliance or existing dentition; and

{m) Packing and removing retraction cord, so.long as it does not coniain vasoactive chemicals and is used solely for
restorative dental procedures;

(n) Removing and recementing properly contoured and fitting loose bands that are not permanently attached to any
appliance.

(0) Inserting or removing dressings from alveolar sockets in post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomiortable due
to the loss of a dressing from an alveolar socket in a diagnosed case of post-operative osteitis:

(p) Making impressions for study casts which are being made for the purpose of fabricating orthodontic retainers;

(q) Taking of impressions for and delivery of at-home bleaching trays.

{z} Taking impressions for passive appliance, occlusal guards, space maintainers and protective mouth guards;

(2) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received formal training and who
performs the tasks under indirect supervision:

{a) Making impressions for study casts which are not being made for the purpose of fabricating any intra-oral appliances,
restorations or orthodontic appliances;

(b) Making impressions to be used for creating opposing models or the fabrication of bleaching stents and surgical stents
to be used for the purpose of providing palatal coverage as well as impressions used for fabrication of topical flucride trays for
home application;

(¢) Placing periodontal dressings;

(d) Removing periodontal or surgical dressings;

(e) Placing or removing rubber dams;

(f} Placing or removing matrices;

(g) Applying cavity liners, varnishes or bases;

(h) Applying topical fiuorides which are approved by the American Dental Association or the Food and Drug
Administration, including the use of fluoride varnishes; and

(i) Positioning and exposing dental and carpal radiographic film and sensors;

() Applying sealants;

(k) Placing or removing prescribed pre-treatment separators;

(1) Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device; and

(m} Removing sutures.

(3) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under direct supervision:

{a) Applying topical anesthetics and anti-inflammatory agents which are not applied by aeroso} or jet spray and;

(b) Changing of bleach pellets in the internal bleaching process of nor-vital, endodontically treated teeth after the
placement of a rubber dam. A dental assistant may not make initial sccess preparation.

(4) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under indirect supervision:

{a) Retraction. of lips, cheeks and tongue;

(b) hrigation and evacuation of debris not to include endodoniic frigation;

(¢) Placement and removal of cotion rolls; and

{d) Taking and recording & patient’s blood pressure, puise rate, respiration rate, case history and oral temperature.

{2} Removing excess cement from orthodontic appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments only.

(3) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental assistant who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the tasks under general supervision:

(a} Instructing patients in oral hygiene care and supervising oral hygiene care.

(b) Provide educational programs, faculty or staff programs, and other educational services which do not involve
diagnosis or treatment of dental conditions.

{c) Fabricating temporary crowns or bridges in a lzboratory.
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Rulemaking Authority 466,004(4), 466.024(3) FS. Law Implemented 466,024 FS. History—New 1-18-89, Amended 11-16-89, 3-25-90 9-5-
91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-16.005, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61 F5-16.005, Amended 1-9-95, 9-27-95, 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.005,
Amended 1-8-01, 4-22-03, 7-13-05, 3-24-08. '

04B5-16.006 Remediable Tasks Delegable to a Dental Hygienist.

(1) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received formal training and who
performs the tasks under direct supervision:

{2) Fabricating temporary crowns or bridges intra-orally which shall not include any adjustment of occlusion to the
appliance or existing dentition; '

(b) Selecting and pre-sizing orthodontic bands, mcluding the selection of the proper size band for a tooth to be banded "
which does not include or involve any adapting, contouring, trimming or cementing or otherwise modifying the band material
such that it wounld constitute fitting the band,

(c) Selecting and pre-sizing archwires prescribed by the patient’s dentist so long as the dentist makes all final adjustments
io bend, arch form determination, and symmetry prior to final placement;

{d) Selecting prescribed exira-oral appliances by pre-selection or pre-measurement which does not include final fit
adjustment;

{e) Preparing a tooth surface by applying conditioning agents for orthodontic appliances by conditioning or placing of
sealant materials which does not include placing brackets; _

(f) Packing and removing retraction cord, so long as it does not contain vascactive chemicals and is used solely for
restorative dental procedures;

{g) Removing and re-cementing properly contoured and fitting loose bands that are not permanently attached to any
appliance;

{(h) Inserting or removing dressings from alveolar sockets in post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomfortable due
to the loss of a dressing from an alveolar socket in diagnosed cases of post-operative osteitis; and

(i} Apply bleaching solution, activate light source, monitor and remove in-office bleaching materials.

{2) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures
in pre-licensure education or who has received formal training and who performs the tasks under indirect supervision:

(a) Placing or removing rubber dams;

(b} Placing or removing matrices;

{c) Applying cavity liners, varnishes or bases; _

{d) Making impressions for study casts which are not being made for the purpose of fabricating any intra-oral appliances,
restoraticons or orthodontic appliances;

{¢) Making impressions to be used for creating opposing models or the fabrication of bleaching stents and surgical stents
to be used for the purpese of providing palatal coverage as well as impressions used for fabrication of iopical finoride trays for
home application,

(f) Placing subgingival resorbable chlorhexidine, doxycycline hyclate, or minocycline hydrochloride;

{g) Taking of impressions for and delivery of at-home bieaching trays;

{h) Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device;

(i) Taking impressions for passive appliances, occlusal guards, space maintainers and protective mouth guards;

(j} Marginating restorations with finishing burs, green stones, and/or burlew wheels with slow-speed rotary instruments
which are not for the purpose of changing existing contours or occlusion;

(k) Cementing temporary crowns and bridges with temporary cement;

{ Monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making adjustments only during this admimstration and
furning it off at the compietion of the dental procedure; and

{m) Montior and remove in-office bleaching materials, after placement of bleach by dentist.

(3) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures
in pre-licensure education or who has received formal training as defined by Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., and who performs the
tasks under general supervision:

(a) Polishing restorations which is not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the tooth and only with the
following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — burnishers, slow-speed hand pieces, nubber cups, and bristle
brushes;

(b} Polishing clinical crowns of the teeth which is not for the purpose of changing the existing contour of the teeth and
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only with the following instruments used with appropriate polishing materials — slow-speed hand pieces, bristle brushes,
rubber cups, porte polishers and air-abrasive polishers;

{¢) Applying of topical fluorides which are approved by the American Dental Association or the Food and Drug
Administration, including the use of fluoride varnishes;

{d) Removing excess cement from dental restorations and appliances with non-mechanical hand instruments or ulirasonic
scalers only;

{(e) Placing periodontal or surgical dressings;

(£ Removing periodontal or surgical dressings;

{g) Removing sutures;

{h} Using appropriate implements to preassess and chart suspected findings of the oral cavity;

(i} Applying sealants;

(3) Placing or removing prescribed pre-treatment separators; and

{k) Insert and/or perform minor adjustments to sports mouth guards and costom fluoride frays.

{4) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures
in pre-licensurs education or on-the-job training and who performs the tasks under general supervision:

{a) Fabricating temporary crowns and bridges in a laboratory;

(b) Applying topical anesthetics and anti-inflammatory agents which are not applied by aerosol or jet spray;

(¢} Taking or recording patients’ blood pressure rate, pulse rate, respiration rate, case history and oral temperature;

(d) Retracting lips, cheeks and {fongue;

(e} Irrigating and evacuating debris not to include endedontic irrigation;

(f) Placing and removing cotion rolis;

{g) Placing or removing temporary restorations with non-mechanical hand instruments only; and

(h) Obtaining bacteriological cytological (plaque) specimens, which do not involve cutting of the tissue and which do not
include taking endodontic cultures, to be examined under a microscope for educational purposes.

(5} The foliowing remediable task may be perforraed by a dental hygienist who has received on-the-job training and who
performs the task under direct supervision: Changing of bleach pellets in the internal bleaching process of non-vital,
endodontically treated teeth after the placement of a rubber dam. A dental hygienist may not make initial access preparations.

(6} Administration of Local Anssthesia:

(a) Notwithstanding Section 466.003(11}, F.S., the administration of local anesthesia becomes a remediable and delegable
task if a Fiorida licensed dental hygienist has been appropriately certified by the Board and has received a certificate from the
Florida Departmen? of Health authorizing the dental hygienist to administer local anesthesia in compliance with and pursuant
to Section 466.017(5), F.S. Upon the issuance of the certificate, the hygienist will be referred to as a Certified Registered
Dental Hygienist,

(b) Under direct supervision, a CRDH may administer local anesthesia in accordance with the following:

1. The patient must be eighteen years of age or older;

2. The patient must not be sedated;-and

3. The CRDH may admimster infraoral block and soft fissue infiltration anesthesia.

{c) A Registered Dental Hygienist may apply for certification as a Certified Registered Dental Hygienist after completion
of the required education mandated by Section 466.017(5), F.8. and in accordance with Rule 6485-14.003, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(6), 466.023, 466.024 FS. Law Implemented 466.017(6), 466.023, 466.024 FS. History—New -
18-89, Amended 11-16-89, 3-25-90, 9-5-91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-16.006, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F5-16.006, Amended 1-9-95, 6-
12-97, Formerly 590-16.006, Amended 1-25-98, 9-9-98, 3-25-99, 4-24-00, 9-27-(, 7-13-05, 2-14-06, 3-24-08, 7-20-09 10-17-10. 8-5-12.
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64B85-16.007 Levels of Supervision for Dental Hygienists.
By virtue of their training and licensure, dental hygienists are authorized to perform the following remediable tasks without
additional training as defined in Chapter 64B5-16, F.A.C., under the following levels of supervision:

{1} Direct supervision: Gingival curettage.

{2) Indirect supervision:

{a} Root planing.

{(b) Removal of excess remamning bonding adhesive or cement following orthodontic appliance removal with slow-speed
rofary instrument, hand instrument or ultrasenic scalers.

(3) General Supervision:

(a) Removing calculus deposits, accretions and stains from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from the tooth surfaces
within the gingival sulcus (prophylaxis);

{b) Placing and exposing dental and carpal radiographic film and sensors; and

(4) Without Supervision: Provide educational programs, faculty or staff training programs, authorized fluoride rinse
programs, apply fluoride vamishes, instruct patients in oral hygiene care and supervising patient oral hygiene care and other
services which do not involve diagnosis or treatment of dental conditions,

Rulemaling Authority 466.004, 466.023, 466,024 FS. Law Implemented 466.023, 466.024¢3) FS. Historp-New 1-18-89. Formerly 21 G-
16.007, 61F3-16.007, Amended 9-27-95, 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.007, Amended 1-8-01, 6-11-07, 7-20-09.

64B5-16.0075 Dental Charting by Dental Hygienists,

(1) Pursuant to Section 466.0235, F.5., a Florida licensed dental hygienist is permitted to, without supervision and within
the lawful scope of their duties as authorized by law, perform dental charting of hard and soft tissues in public and private
educational institutions of the state and Federal Government, nursing homes, assisted living and long-term care facilities,
comnunity heaith centers, county health departments, mobile dental or health units, health access settings as defined in
Section 466.003, F'.S., and epidemiological surveys for public health. A Florida licensed dental hygienist is permitted to
perform dental charting on a volunteer basis at health fairs.

(2) Each person who receives a dental charting, or the parent or legal guardian of the person receiving dental charting, by
a dental hygienist pursuant to Section 466.0235, F.§., and this rule shall receive a dental charting form that contains the
following information and the patient shall acknowledge the following information before receiving the dental charting
procedure:

(a) The patient’s name and the names of the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor.

(b) The patient’s address or the address of the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor.

(¢} The date of the dental charting. :

(d) The name, license number, and place of empioyment of the dental hygienist performing the dental charting.

(e) The location where the dental charting is being performed.

{f) A statement that the purpose of dental charting is to collect data for use by a dentist at a prompt subsequent
examination.

{g) A statement that the dental charting performed is not a substitute for a comprehensive dental examination.

{(h) A statement emphasizing that diagnosis of caries, soft tissue disease, oral cancer, temporo-mandibular joint disease
(TMJ}, and dentofacial malocclusions can only be completed by a deniist in the context of delivering a comprehensive dental
examination,

(i) A statement emphasizing the inherent limitations of dental charting and encouraging the patient to receive a complete
examination by a dentist in rendering a professional diagnosis of the patient’s overall health needs.

(i) Before performing periedontal probing as part of a dental charting, dental hygienists shalt include a written statement
on the dental charting form that the patient has received medical clearance from a physician or dentist. '

(3) Dental hygienists are not permitted to receive direct reimbursement for dental charting performed under Section
466.0235, .S, and this rule by Medicaid, health insurers, heaith maintenance organizations, prepaid dental plans, or other
third-party payors beyond what is otherwise allowable by law.

(4) All referrals made in conjunction with the provision of dental charting services under Section 466.0235, F.S., and this
rule shall be in strict conformance with federal and state patient referral, anti-kickback, and patient brokering laws.
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(5) A dental hygienist performing dental charting without supervision shall not be deemed to have created ejther a patient
of record or a medical record.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.0235 FS. Law Implemented 466.0235 FS. History—New 12-26-06, Amended 6-11-07, 7-1-12.

64B5-16.088 Emergency Remediable Tasks.
In an emergency in which a dentist of record is unable to be physically present to pre-examine the patient, and the patient will
be seen by a dentist within 3 days, the following remediable tasks may be performed by both dental assistants and dental
hygienists who hold cutrent CPR certification from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or an equivalent
CPR training agency and who are trained pursuant to Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., without pre-examination by a dentist:

(1) Removing and re-cementing properly contoured and fitting loose bands that are not permanently attached to any
appliance;

(2) Securing or unsecuring an archwire by attaching or removing the fastening device,

(3) Inserting or removing dressings from alveolar sockets in post-operative osteitis when the patient is uncomfortabie due
to the loss of a dressing from an alveolar socket in diagnosed cases of post-operative ogteitis;

{4) Placing or removing periodontal dressings when the patient is uncomfortable due to the loss of a periodontal pack
during the prescribed period of treatment;

(5) Cementing temporary crowns or bridges using femporary cement when the patient is uncomfortable due to the loss of
a temporary crown or bridge; and

(6) Placing temporary medicinal restorative material when the patient is uncomfortable due to the loss of a temporary
medicinal restoration.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.023, 466,024 FS. Law Inplemented 465.023, 466.024 FS. History-New 1-18-89, Formerly 21G-
16.008, 61F5-16.008, Amended 6-12-97, Formerly 590-16.008, Amended §-25-98.

64B5-16.009 Display of Certificates.
The supervising licensee is responsible for ensuring that any dental assistant or dental hygienist who performs remediable
tasks as a result of formal training shall display the certificate received at the conclusion of the training in a conspicuous
public place where the tasks are performed. The supervising licensee shall also keep a copy of each such ceriificate on file in
the dental office at whach the dental assistant or dental hyvgienist performs remediabie tasks.

Rulemaking Authorify 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.024(3) FS. History-New 1-18-89, Formerly 21G-16.009, 61F5-16.009
Amended 8-8-94, Formerly 590-16.009.

64B5-16.010 Prior Certification and Training.
Dental hygienists and dental assistants trained prior to April 30, 1980, who were at that time authorized to perform tasks set
forth by Board Rule may continue to perform those tasks without the formal training required by Rule Chapter 64B5-16,
FAC

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.024(3} FS. Law Implemented 466.023(4), 466.024(3) FS. History-New 4-30-80, Formerly 21 G-
16.04, Amended 12-31-86, Formerly 21G-16.004. Amended 1-18-89, Formerly 21G-16.010, 61F5-16.010, 500-16.010.
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CHAPTER 64B5-17
DENTAL PRACTICE AND PRINCIPLES

64B5-17.001 Required Availability of Dental Records Upon Relocation or Termination of Practice, or Death of
Practitioner

64B35-17.0011  Change of Address

64R5-17.002 Written Dental Records; Minimum Content; Retention

64B5-17.003 Patient Referrals

64B5-17.004 Emergency Care

64B5-17.0045  Standards for the Use of Controlled Substances for Treatment of Pain

64B5-17.005 Identification of Removabis Prosthetic Devices

64B5-17.006 Prescription Forms

64B5-17.009 Patient Records; Copying Charges; Timely Release

04B5-17.010 Unlicensed Practice of Dentistry

64B5-17.0105  Ownership of Dental Instruments by a Dental Hygienist

64B5-17.011 Financial Responsibility

64B5-17.012 Use of Sargenti Majerial

64B5-17.013 Proprietorship by Nondentists

- 64B5-17.014 Removal of Amalgam Fillings

64B5-17.015 Office Safety Requirement

64B5-17.001 Required Availability of Dental Records Upon Relocation or Termination of Practice, or Death of
Practitioner.

(1) Patient records are confidemtial and may not be released uniess authorized by the patient in writing. This
confidentiality prohibits review of the records by a dentist other than the dentist of record or by other health care providers
untess they are actually involved in care or treatment of the patient. Maintenance of patient records by a deceased dentist’s
estate, authorized agent of the estate or by a successor-owner dentist of a practice does not authorize review of patient records.
However, limited review for the purpose of obtaining a patient’s name, address and last date of treatment in order to comply
with this rule is permitted.

(2} Within 90 days of a dentist’s death, the dentist’s estate or agent shall place all patient records of the deceased dentist
in the care of another Florida licensed dentist,

(a) The patient records of the deceased dentist shall be maintained and made availabie to patients for a period of 4 years.

(b) Within 90 days of a dentist’s death the dentist’s estate or agent shall cause a notice o be published in the newspaper of
greatest general circulation in the county where the dentist practiced which advises patients of the dentist’s death. The notice
shall advise patients that they may obtain copies of their dental records and specify the name, address and telephone mumber
of the person from whom the copies of records may be obtained. The notice shall appear at least once a wesk for four
consecutive weeks.

(¢} The subsequent Florida licensed dentist shall cause to be published & similar notice whenever the patient records of the
deceased dentist are subsequently transferred to another licensed Fiorida dentist if such transfer is within 4 years of the
dentist’s death.

{d) During the four year retention period required by this rule each licensed Fiorida dentist who is in possession of the
deceased dentist’s patient records shall insure that the original patient records, or in cases where the patient has requested that
the records be released or transferred, copies thereof remain in his possession.,

{3) Demntal records of a practitioner who is terminating or relocating his practice shall be retained by the dentist or his
authorized agent, which may be a successor-owner dentist, and made available to patients for 4 vears from the date the patient
was last examined or treated.

(4) Within one month of a dentist’s termination of practice or relocation of practice outside the local telephone directory
service area of his or her current practice, a notice shall be published in the newspaper of greatest general circulation in the
county where the dentist practiced which advises patients of the dentist’s termination of practice or relocation. The notice shall
advise patients that they may obtain copies of their dental records and specify the name, address and telephone number of the
person from whom copies of records may be obtained. The notice shall appear at least once a week for 4 consecutive weeks.

{5) If a dentist relocates his practice but maintains a Hsting in the same local telephone directory used in his previous
practice location, notice of relocation shall be clearly posted at his practice location for one moenth pror o relocasion. The
notice shall state the date of relocation and the address to which the office is being relocated.
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(6) Records shall be made available at a location within the county where the dentist practices or practiced and shall be
made available at reasonable times.

Rulemaking Authority 456.058, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 436,058 FS. History~New [0-26-80, Formerly 21G-17.01, Amended 7-16-
90, 10-28-91, 4-23-96, Formerly 21G-17.001, 61F5-17.001, 59Q-17.001.

04B5-17.0011 Change of Address.
All licensees are required to notify the Board in writing within 10 days of any change in their address.

Rulemaking Authority 436.035, 466,004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 456.033, 466,013 FS. History—New 3-27-90, Formerly 21G-17.0011,
G6IF5-17.0011, 590-17.0011.

64B5-17.002 Written Dental Records; Minimum Content; Retention.

(1) For the purpose of implementing the provisions of subsection 466.028(1)(m), F.S., a dentist shall maintain written
records on each patient which written records shall contain, at a minimum, the following information about the patient:

(a) Appropriate medical history;

(b) Results of clinical examination and tests conducted, including the identification, or lack thereof, of any oral pathology
or diseases;

(c} Any radiographs used for the diagnosis or treatment of the patient;

{d} Treatment plan proposed by the dentist; and

(&) Treatment rendered to the patient.

(f) Whenever patient records are released or transferred, the dentist releasing or transferring the records shall maintain
either the original records or copies thereof and a notation shall be made in the retained records indicating to whom the
records were released or transferred. However, whenever patient records are released or transferred directly to another Florida
licensed dentist, it is sufficient for the releasing or transferring dentist to maintain a listing of each patient whose records have
been so released or transferred which listing also includes the dentist to whom such records were released or transferred. Such
listing shall be maintained for a period of 4 years.

(2} In order that the patients may have meaningful access to their dental records pursuant to subsections 466.028(1)(m)
and (n), F.S., a dentist shall maintain the written dental record of a patient for a period of at least four (4} years from the date
the patient was last examined or treated by the dentist. However, upon the death of the dentist, the retention provisions of Rule
64B5-17.001, F.A.C., are controlling.

(3) Each licensed dentist in Ilorida shall retain a copy of each entry in his or her patient appointment book or such other
log, calendar, book, file or computer data, used in lieu of an appointment book for a period of no less than 4 vears from the
date of each entry thereon.

(4} The records required above and any other patient records shall be properly annotated to identify the dentist of record.
The deniist of record is the dentist who:

{a} Is noted in the patient record as.the dentist of record; or

(b) Provides a treatment or service and is noted in the patient record as the dentist of record for that treatment or service;
or

(¢} If there has been more than one provider of treatment, is the dentist who places the final restoration, does the surgical
procedure, makes the diagnosis or finishes the service or procedure in question; or

(d) If there has been more than one provider of treatment and neither paragraph (a) nor {b) can be determined with
reasonable certainty, is the owner demtist of the practice in which the dental patient was seen or treated.

{5) All dental records required by this rule and any additional records maintained in the course of practicing dentistry
shall be the property of the owner dentist of the dental practice in which the dental patient is seen or treated and the owner
dentist shall be ultimately responsible for all record keeping requirements set forth by statute or rule.

{a) The owner dentist is responsible for the records of patients seen or treated by any employee, associate or visiting
dentists.

{b) Multiple owners will be held equally responsible for the records of patients seen or treated within the dental practice
of that dental group.

{c) An owner dentist is not responsible for the records of an independent dentist who is merely leasing or renting space or
services for the operation of a separate dental practice,

{6) Patient records may be kept in an electronic data format, provided that the dentist maintains a back-up copy of
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mformation stored in the data processing system using disk, tape or other electronic back-up system and that said back-up is
updated on a regular basis, at least weekly, to assure that data is not lost due to system failure. Any elecironic data system
must be capable of producing a hard copy on demand.

(7) Limited Screenings, Examinations and Treatments: The Board of Dentistry encourages the provision of pro-bono
dental screenings services through organized events such as Dental Health Screenings and Give Kids a Smile Program. A
strict interpretation of this rule would preclude such efforts to the detriment of the public. Therefore, the Board deems that any
records generated as a result of such limited, one-time pro-bono dental screenings, examinations, or treatments throngh
organized events, should be consistent with the nature and scope of the services rendered, should be provided to the recipient
or guardian and will not result in the dentist performing such services becoming the dentist of record. The minimum content
and record retention set forth in subsection (1) above shall not be required. When the the dentist performs such examinations
or treatments each recipients or guardian shali be informed in writing of the following;

(a) The limitation of the screening 1o one-time dental examination and treatment that can reasonably be performed on the
same day of screening. In addition, such examinations or treatments would not reasonably require follow-up treatment;

{b) The results of the screening examination or treatments; and

{c) That the screening is not representative of or a substitute for a comprehensive dental exan.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.038, 466.028(1)(m), (o) FS. History-New 10-8-85, Formerly 21G-17.02,
Amended 10-28-91, Formerly 21G-17.002, Amended 11-22-93, Formerly 61F5.17.002, 590Q-17.002, Amended 11-15-95, 4-22-03, 3-14-13.

64B5-17.003 Patient Referrals.

(1) Split-fee arrangements relating to the referral of patients by a client to another health care practice are prohibited.

{2) As used herein, the term “health care practice” shall mean a lawful and distinct business entity owned and operated
under one name by an individual or group of duly Heensed health care providers with facilities at one or more locations such
as 2 solo denta] practice, group practice, or professional service corporation, which offers health care services to the public
within the limits of the prefessional licenses held by the owners, emplovees and agents of the business.

(3) Referral of a patient to another dentist in the same health care practice, so long as any remuneration shared by the
dentists is not based upon the number of referrais within the practice and the referral of a patient to another dentist within the
practice is i the best interest of the patient, is not a split-fee arrangement.

{4) Fee arrangements between dentists in the same health care practice which are based upon productivity or shared net
profits are not split-fee arrangements.

(5) Referral of a patient to another health care practice in which the referring dentist or any owner, employee or agent of
the referring practice or immediate family member thereof has a financial interest, whether direct, indirect, active or passive in
nature, is permitied only if the referral is in the best interest of the patient and the patient first consents to the arrangement by
signing a written notification form from the referral dentist which informs the patient of (a) the existence of 2 financial interest
and (b) the patient’s right to request another referral or to independently seek the services recommended. Under no
circumstances shall the dentist’s financial interest be contingent upon or otherwise relaied to any referral quota or similar
requirement. However, in emergency circumstances where it is in the patienf’s best interest that such a referral be made
without first seeing the patient, the referring dentist shall orally provide the notification required herein. In such SMErgency
sitmations, the referring dentist shall also make a notation in the patient’s record at the time of referral that disclosure was
made orally due to emergency circumstances. Written disclosure as required in paragraph S of this rule shalf be supplied to the
patient at the office to which the emergency patient was referred.

(6) Notification forms signed by patients in accordance with subsection (5) above shall be maintained in the patient’s
record.

(7) The written notification required by this rule shall be made on the appropriate form set forth in Rule 64B5-1.021,
FAC

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.052 FS. Histary-New 8-30-906, Formerly 21G-17.003, 61F5-17.003, 590-
F7.003, Amended §-19-97.
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64B5-17.004 Emergency Care.
It is the responsibility of every dentist practicing in this State to provide, either personally, through another lcensed dentist, or
through a reciprocal agreement with another agenucy, reasonable twenty-four (24) hour emergency services for all patients
under his continuing care.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004¢4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(1)(t), {x} FS. Historv-New 4-26-87, Formerly 21G-17.004, 61F3-17.004,
590-17.004.

G4B5-17.8045 Standards for the Use of Contrelled Substances for Treatment of Pain.

(1) The Board of Dentistry recognizes that principles of quality medical practice dictate that the people of the State of
Florida have access to appropriate and effective pain relief. All dentists should become knowledgeable about effective
methods of pain treatment as well as statutory requirements for prescribing controlled substances,

(?) The Board recognizes that controlled substances, including opioid analgesics, may be essential in the treatment of
acute paim due to a dental procedure.

(3) The Board of Dentistry is obligated under the laws of the State of Florida to protect the public health and safety. The
Board recognizes that inappropriate prescribing of controlled substances, inciuding opioid analgesics, may lead to drug
diversion and abuse by individuals who seek them for other than legitimate medical use,

(4) Dentists should be diligent in preventing the diversion of drugs for illegitimate purposes. This includes keeping
prescription blanks in a safe place; not signing prescription blanks in advance; writing out the actual amount prescribed in
addition 1o using a number to discourage alterations; and assisting pharmacists who may telephone to verify information about
a prescription order,

(5} The Board will consider prescribing, ordering, administering, or dispensing controlled substances for pain to be for a
legitimate medical purpose if based on sound clinical grounds. The dental procedure or justification for such prescribing must
be clearly documented in the patient’s record. All such prescribing must be in compliance with applicable state and federal
law.

Rulemaking Authority 466,004 FS. Law Implemented 466.017, 466.028(1)(p} FS. Hisiory—New 8-12-02.

64B5-17.005 Identification of Removable Prosthetic Devices.

(1) The Board takes official notice of the large number of elderly dental patients residing in Florida and that many of them
are confined to hospitals, nursing homes, and other health care institutions. The Board also recognizes the continuing
difficulty in providing ongoing dental care to these individuals which is created as & result of the inadvertent misplacing or
switching of their removable dental prosthetic devices, which can enhance the transmission of communicable diseases.
Accordingly, in an effort to enhance the likelihood that these individuals will receive minimally competent dental treatment
consistent with the requirements of Section 466.028(1)(x), F.S., the Board establishes an identification standard for removable
prosthetic devices.

(2) Every licensed dentist in this State making or directing to be made a removable prosthetic device, bridge, appliance or
other structure to be used and wom as a substiute for natural teeth and/or supporting structure shall offer to the patient for
whom the prosthesis is intended the opportunity to have such prosthesis marked at the time of fabrication. The location and
method used for marking the prosthesis shall be determined by the dentist and this marking shall be permanent, legible, and
cosmetically acceptabie and shall include the patient’s name.

(3) If the dentist determines that ideniification is not practicable or clinically safe, the offer to mark the prosthesis need
not be made.

(4) Any removable dental prosthesis fabricated prior to the effective date of this rule, shall be subject to the provisions of
subsection {2} during a iaboratory relining or rebasing of the prosthesis.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(1)(x) FS. History-New 4-26-87, Amended 6-20-89, Formerly 21G-17.005,
61F5.17.005 59017005,

64B5-17.006 Prescription Forms.

(1) Approved prescription forms must contain all information necessary for completion of the assigned work and must
melude at a minimum:

{a) Title — “Laboratory Procedure Prescription;”

{b) Name, address and license number of the registered dental laboratory;
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(c) Name, address and license number of the Florida licensed dentist who owns the prescription form and is autherizing
the procedure;

(d) Patient’s name or number;

{e) Date sent to lab;

() Signature of the licensed dentist, which may be an electronic signature;

g} Sufficient descriptive information fo clearly identify each separate and individual piece of work to be performed by
the dental laboratory; and

(h) Specification of materials to be contained in each work product.

(2) Copies of prescription forms must be maintained, either on paper or stored electronically in an encrypted data base, in
the prescribing dentist’s office for a period of four (4) years following the date the prescription was issued. The original
prescription shall be retained in a file by the dental laboratory for a period of four (4) years .

(3) A registered dental laboratory may perform work for another registered dental laboratory if that work is performed
pursuant to a written authorization form containing all information necessary for compietion of the assigned work and must
mchude at a minimum,;

(a) Title — “Laboratory Procedure Authorization;”

{b) Name, address and license number of the originating registered dental laboratory;

(¢) Name, address and license number of the registered dental laboratory performing the work;

(d) Evidence that the originating laboratory has obtained a valid prescription which shall include the name, address and
license number of the licensed dentist who wrote the original prescription authorizing the procedure.

(e) Sufficient descriptive information to clearly identify each separate and individual piece of work to be performed by
the dental laboratory; and

() Specification of materizls to be contained in each work product,

Rulemaking Authority 466.021 FS. Law Implemented 466.021 FS, History—New 12-21-99, dmended 3-23-06, 10-9-08, 5-28-09.

64B5-17.009 Patient Records; Copying Charges; Timely Release.

(1) A dentist who makes an examination of, or administers treatment to any person, shall upon the request of such person
or his legal representative furnish copies of all reports or records made of such examination or treatment, including X-Tavs.
The fornishing of copies shall not be conditioned wpon payment of an unpaid-or disputed fee for services rendered,

(2} A dentist may charge a fee for copying reports or records not to exceed the cost per page charged by the Clerk of the
County Court where the dentist practices. The fee for copies of x-rays shall not exceed actual cost of duplication. Payment of '
copying fees may be required upon delivery of the copies.

(3) A dentist shall comply with a patient’s written request for copies of records and reports in a timely manner, with due
regard for the patient’s health needs. In the absence of circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, timely shall mean less
than 30 days.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 456.057 FS. History-New 4.26-87, Amended 6-20-89, Formerly 21G-17.009,
61F5-17.009, 590-17.009, Amended 1-23-01.

64B5-17.010 Unlicensed Practice of Dentistry.
For the purposes of interpreting Sections 466.003(3), 466.026(1)(a) and 466.028(1)g)bb), E.S., the Board shall not consider
it to be the unlicensed practice of dentistry for an unlicensed person to farish, supply, construct or reproduce an appliance to
be womn in the human mouth or to verify the patient’s shade-selection outside the dentist’s direct supervision for fixed partial
prosthesis if:

(1) The appliance is a removable mouth protection device that is inserted and removed by the user without adjustment by
a licensed dentist {e.g. athletic mouth guards);

(2) A prescription or dentist’s order is not required in order to obtain the appliance;

(3) The appliance does not adjust or otherwise affect the natural features of the face or mouth or affect any appliance
placed in the mouth by a licensed dentist;

(4) The appliance or device does not have the potential to cause significant or irreparable damage to the dentition and/or
oral tissue;

{5) The request for the shade verification is accompanied by a prescription form or work order written by a licensed
dentist to meet the requirements of Section 466.021, F.S ;
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{6) The dentist has previously completed the initial shade selection;

(7) The shade verification site is approved by the dentist and meets all requirements of Sections 466.028(1)(u),
466.031(1) and 466.032(1), F.S.;

(8) During shade verification, no appliances or prosthetic devices are to be placed, removed or seaied in the oral cavity at
the site except by a licensed dentist on a patient of record in accordance with the requirements of Sections 466.024(5) and
466.028(1)(m), F.S.;

(9) During shade verification, contact to the patient is limited to visual contact only;

(10) During shade verification, scft or hard tissue shall not be manipulated;

{11) During shade verification, the. patient shall be instructed on how io retract his or her own lip, and the shade tab shall
onky be held in proximity, but without physical contact to the patient’s dentition: and

(12) During shade verification, photography shall be limited to the patient’s visible dentition during smile and the
patient’s dentition with the patient retracting their lips.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4} FS. Law Implemented 466.026(1}(a), 465. 028(1)(g). (bb) FS. History-New 9-5-91, Formerly 21G-17.010,
G6IF5-17.010, Amended 5-9-95, Formerly 390-17.010, Amended 10-8-03.

64B5-17.0105 Ownership of Dental Instruments by a Dental Hygienist,
For purposes of interpreting Section 466.0285, F.S., a Dental Hygienist is not precluded from owning dental instruments used
by her or him in the provision of dental hygiene services, so long as the fina} authority on the suitability and/or manner in
which said instruments will be used in the provision of dental hygiene services remains with the supervising dentist.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.0285 FS. History—New 12-33-02,

64B5-17.011 Financial Responsibility,

As a prerequisite for licensure or license renewal every dentist is required te maintain medical malpractice insurance or
provide proof of financial responsibility as set forth herein:

(1) Obtaining and maintaining professional Hability coverage in an amount not less than $100,000 per claim, with a
minimum annal aggregate of not less than $300,000, from an authorized insurer as defined under Section 624.09, F.S., from
a surplus lines insurer as defined under Section 626.914(2), F.S., from a risk retention group as defined under Section
627.942, F.8., from the Joint Underwriting Association established under Section 627.351(4), F.S., or through a plan of self-
Insurance as provided m Section 6§27.357, F.S.

(2) Obtaining and maintaining an unexpired, irrevocable letter of credit, established pursuant to Chapter 675, F.8., in an
amount not less than $§100,000 per claim, with a minimum aggregate availability of credit of not less than $300,000. The letter
of credit shall be payable to the dentist as beneficiary upon presentment of a firal judgment indicating liability and awarding
damages to be paid by the dentist or upon presentment of a settiement agreement signed by all parties 1o such agreement when
such final judgment or settlement is a result of a claim arising out of the rendering of, or the failure fo render, dental care and
services. Such letter of credit shall be nonassignable and nontransferable. Such letter of credit shall be issued by any bank or
savings association organized and existing under the laws of the State of Florida or any bank or savings association organized
under the laws of the United States that has its principal place of business in this state or has a branch office which is
authorized under the laws of this state or of the United States to receive deposits in this state.

(3) Upon application to the Board, the following licensees shall be exempted from meeting the requirements of this rule:

{a) Any dentist who practices exclusively as an officer, employee or agent of the federal government or of the State of
Flerida or its agencies or subdivision. For purposes of this rule, an agent of the State of Florida, its agencies or its subdivisions
is a person who is eligible for coverage under any self insurance or insurance program authorized by the provisions of Section
768.28(14), F.8., or who is & volunieer under Section 110.501(1), F.S, :

(b} Any dentist whose license has become inactive under Chapter 466, F.S., and who is not practicing ir this state. Any
dentist applying for reactivation of a license must show either that such licensee maintained tail insurance which provided
liability coverage for incidents that occurred on or after October 1, 1993, or the initial date of licensure in this state, whichever
is later, and incidents that occurred before the date on which the license became inactive: or such licensee must submit an
affidavit stating that such licensee has no unsatisfied medical malpractice judgments or settlements at the time of application
for reactivation.

(c) Any dentist licensed or certified under Chapter 466, F.S., who practices onty in conjunction with his/her teaching
duties at an accredited school or in its main teaching hospitals. Such dentist may engage in the practice of dentistry to the
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extent that such practice is incidental 1o and a necessary part of duties in connection with the teaching position in the school.

(d) Any dentist holding an active license under Chapter 466, F.S., who is not practicing in this state. If such person
initiates or resumes practice in this state, he/she must notfy the Board of such activity.

{e) Any dentist who can demonstrate fo the Board that he/she has no malpractice exposure in the State of Florida.

{4} Every dentist complying with these requirements pursuant to either subsection (1) or (2) above shall ensure that such
insurance or proof covers liability for actions of any dental hygienist supervised by the dentist. Dental hygienists working
unsupervised pursuant to Section 466.0233, F.S., shall be required to maintain medical maipractice insurance or provide proof
of financial responsibility if he or she is not a volunteer under Section 110.501(1), F.8.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.048 FS. History-New 11-22-93, Amended 3-31-94, Formerly 61F5-17.011,
300-17.011, Amended 12-20-98, 3-19-02, 6-13-07.

64B5-17.012 Use of Sargenti Material. _

The Board of Dentistry has determined pursuant to Sections 466.001 and 466.028(1)(x) and (ff), F.S., that the use of “Sargenti
Cement” (e.g., N2, RC2B, or RC2W or essentially similar compounds) as an endodontic filling material or cement does not
meet the minimum standards of performance for competent dental practice in Florida. The Board specifically finds that
“Sargenti Cement” containing paraformalidehyde, when used as an endodontic filling material or cement, can cause severe and
irreversible damage to patients. “Sargenti Cement” that is improperly used or which escapes bevond the root canal is much
more likely to cause significant damage than incorrectly performed endodontic procedures using alternative filling materials
or cements. Most licensed dentists in Florida do not use “Sargenti Cement”™ in endodontic therapy. Therefore, the use of
“Sargenti Cement” as an endodontic filling material does not meet the existing minimum standard of performance for
competent dental practice in Florida,

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4; FS. Law Implememed 466,001, 466.004(4), 466.028(1;(x), () FS. History—New 5-29-96, Formerly 500-
17.012,

64B5-17.013 Proprietorship by Nondentists.

(1) No corporation, lay body, organization, or individual other than a licensed dentist or a professional corporation or
limited liability company composed of dentists shall engage in the practice of dentistry through the means of engaging the
services, upon a salary, commission, or other means of inducement, of any person licensed to practice dentistry in this state.
The provisions of this rule are not applicable to dentists working under any of the setiings described in Section 466.025, F.8.

(2) No dentist shall enter info any agreement with a nondentist which directs, controls, or interferes with the dentist’s
clinical judgment, or which controls the use of any dental equipment or material while such is being used for the provision of
dental services. Nor shall any dentist enter into an agreement which permits any entity which itself is not e licensed dentist to
practice dentistry, or to offer dentistry services to the public through the licensed dentist. The clinical judgment of the licensed
dentist must be exercised solely for the benefit of his/her patients, and shall be free from any compromising control,
influences, obligations, or lovalties. To direct, control, or interfere with a dentist’s ciinical judgment shall not be construed to
include those matters specifically excluded by Section 466.0285(1){(ch, F.S,

(3) For the purposes of this rule:

(ay The term “clinical” means having a significant relationship, whether real or potential, direct or indirect, to the actual
rendering or outcome of dentai care, the practice of dentistry or the quality of dental care being rendered to one or more
patients.

(b) The term “control” shall mean to exercise authority or dominating influence over; having the authority or ability to
regulate, direct, or donunate.

{4) A licensed dentist may enter into an agreement with a nondentist to receive “Practice Management Services.” The
term “Practice Management Services” is defined to include consultation or other activities or services offered by someone
other than a Florida licensed dentist regarding one or more of the following tvpes of produsts or services:

{a) The suitability of dental office space, furnishings and equipment;

{b) Staff necessary to operate a dental practice;

() Regulatory compliance expertise and services;

{d) Methods to increase productivity of a dental practice;

{e) Inventory and supplies required to operate a dental practice;

(f) Information systems designed to produce financial and operational data on the dental practice;
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2) Marketing plans or advertising to increase productivity of a dental practice;

() Site selection, relocation, design or physical layout of a dental practice; or

{1} Fimancial services such as accounting and bookkeeping, monitoring and payment of accounts receivable, payment of
leases and subleases, payroll or benefits administration, billing and collection for patient services, payment of federal or state
income tax, personal property or mtangible taxes, administration of interest expense or indebtedness incurred to finance the
operation of the dental practice, or malpractice insurance expenses,

(5) For purposes of impiementing the provisions of Sections 466.0283, 466.003 and Sections 466.028(1)g) and (z), F.S.,
no dentist shall enter into a practice management agreement with anyone other than a dentist or group of dentists which
provides or offers to provide, whether by contract or employment, with or without fee, any practice management service
which attempts fo govern in any way, whether directly or indirectly, the clinical sufficiency, suitability, reliability or efficacy
of a particular product, service, process or activity as it relates to the delivery of dental care. Practice management agreements
between dentists and anyone other than a dentist or group of dentists shall not:

(a) Preclude or otherwise restrict, by penalty or operation, the dentist of record’s ability to exercise independent
professional judgment over ali qualitative and quantitative aspects of the delivery of dental care;

{b) Allow anyone other than a dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice to supervise and control the selection,
compensation, terms, conditions, obligations or privileges of employment or retention of clinical personnel of the practice;

(c) Limit or define the scope of services offered by the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s pracﬁce;

(d) Limit the methods of payment accepted by the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice;

(e} Require the use of patient scheduling systems, marketing plans, promotion or advertising for the dentist of record or
the dentist of record’s practice which, in the judgment of the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice will have the
effect of discouraging new patients from coming into the practice or discouraging patients of record from seeing the dentist or
postponing future appointments or which gives scheduling preference to one individual, class or group of existing or new
patients over another individual, class or group of existing or new patients;

() Directly or indirectly condition the payment or the amount of the management fee on the referral of patients, and in
addition, the management fee shall reasonably relate to the fair market vaiue of the services provided;

{g) Penalize the dentist of record or the dentist of record’s practice for reporting perceived violations of this section to, or
seeking clarification from, appropriate state or federal agencies, departments or boards.

{6) For purposes of implementing the provisions of Section 466.028(1)(h), F.S., no dentist shall enter into any agreemeant,
or series of agreements, with anyone other than a dentist or group of dentists, which violates the parameters established in
subsection (4) or (5) above and entering into such a contract constitutes a de facto employment of the dentist by a nondentist.
Except as permitted by Chapter 542, F.5., licensed dentists are prohibited from agreeing not t compete in the provision of
dental services with any entity which 15 not itself a licensed dentist, or which is not lcensed or otherwise permitted by law to
provide the services which are the subject of the agreement not to compete.

(7) The provisions of this rule are not intended to impair the validity of any contract in existence as of the effective date of
this rule. Any existing contract renewed or extended after the effective date of this rule shall be subject to the provisions of
this rule.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 466.003, 466 028¢1)(g), (2}, 466.0285, 466.0285(1)(c) FS. History~New [0-16-96,
Formerly 590-17.013, Amended 3-27-02.

64B5-17.014 Removal of Amalgam Fillings.

(1) The Board of Dentistry has determined that claims regarding amalgam fillings as a causal factor in systemic illnesses
are not supporied by the Food and Drug Administration, the U.S. Public Heaith Service, or the National Institutes of Health,
The Board therefore deems that the removal of amaigam fillings for the purported purpose of curing or preventing systemic
iliness constitutes alternative or complementary health care. In compliance with Section 456.41, F.S., any dentist performing
such alternative or complementary health care treatment shail inform the patient of the following:

(a) The natore of the treatment and the benefits and risks associated with the treatment; and

{b) The dentist’s education, experience and credentials regarding the corplementary or aliernative treatment option.

{2) Each dentist shall indicate on the patient’s record the method(s) by which the requirements of Section 456.41, F.S.,
were met.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456,41, 466.028(1)(1), (w), (), (y) FS. Historn-New 10-21-02.
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64B5-17.015 Office Safety Requirement.
As part of the minimum standard of care, every dental office location shall be required to have an automatic external

defibrillator by February 28, 2006. Any deniist practicing after February 28, 2006, without an automatic external defibrillator
on site shall be considered to be practicing below the minimum standard of care.

Rulemaling Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3)(c) FS. Law Implemented 466.017¢4), 466.028(1)x) FS. History-New 5-31-04.
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: CHAPTER 64B5-25
STERILIZATION AND DISINFECTION PROCEDURES

64B5-25.001 Purpose

64B5-25.002 Definitions

64R5-25.003 Required Sterilization and Disinfection Procedures

64B5-25.004 Licensees Infected With Hepatitis B Virus

64B5-25.005 Monitoring of Licensees Infected With the Flepatitis B Virus

64B5-25.006 Emergency Suspension of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus; Initiation of Complaints
64B5-25.007 Disposition of Biohazardous Waste

64B5-25.008 Shiprzent to Dental Laboratories

64B5-25.001 Purpose.
The failure to follow proper sterilization and disinfection procedures in the practice of dentistry presents a significant danger
to the public due to the potential for transmission of infectious diseases to patients during treatment. Faiture to follow proper
steritization and disinfection procedures as set forth in Rule 64B5-25.003, F.A.C., constitutes failure to provide reasonable
sanitary facilities and conditions in violation of Section 466.028{1)(u}, F.S., and constitutes negligence in the practice of

dentistry in violation of Section 466.028{1){x), F.S_, as practice which is below the minimum standards of the practice of
dentistry.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.028(1)(w), (x} F5. History—-New 2-24-87, Formerly 21G-25.001, 61F5-25.001,
S90-25.001.

64B5-25.002 Definifions.

(1) “Sterilization” is defined to mean the process by which all forms of life within an environment are totally destroved.

(2) “Disinfection” is defined to mean the destruction or inhibition of most pathogenic bacteria while they are in their
active growth phase and the inactivation of some viruses, Disinfection allows the potential for viable pathogens to remain
{e.g., Tubercle bacilli and some viruses, including A, B and C hepatitis virus, and nonA-nonB (NANB) viruses which may
survive depending upon the chemicals used).

(3) For purposes of this rule, the term “infected with the Hepatitis B virus” means that the licensee is sero-positive for the
Hepatitis B surface antigen and the Hepatitis B e-antigen.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law bmplemented 466.028(1)(w), (v}, 466.04] FS. History-New 2-24-87, Amended 1-7-92, 2-1-93,
Formerly 21G-25.002, 61F5-25.002, 590-25.002, Amended 5-20-01.

64B5-25.003 Required Sterilization and Disinfection Procedures.

(1) At least one of the foliowing procedures must be used in order o provide proper sterilization:

{a) Steam under pressure (e.g., autociave);

(b) Dry-heat;

{(c) Chemical vapor,

(d) Ethylene oxide;

(e) Disinfectant/sterilant. U.S. Envirommental Protection Agency {EPA} approved disinfectant/sterilants or U.S. Food and
Drug Administration (FDA) approved sterilant may be used but are only appropriate for sterilization when used in appropriate
dilution and for the time periods set forth in the manufacturer’s recommendation and only on nen-heat tolerant instruments
which do not penetrate soft tissue,

(2)(a) Surgical and other instruments that normally penetrate soft tissue or bone, including, but not limited to, forceps,
scalpels, bone chiseis, scalers, and surgical burs, must be sterilized afier each use.

{b) Instruments that are not intended to penetrate oral soft tissue or bone, including, but not limited to, high speed dental
handpieces, contra-angles, prophy angles, amalgam condensers, plastic instruments, and burs, but that may come into contact
with oral tissues must be sterilized after each use,

(¢} However, if heat, steam under pressure, or chemical vapor sterilization of an instrument is not technically feasible, due
to its size or composition, the instrument mmust undergo sterilization with a disinfectant/sterilant that destroys viruses and
spores. Disinfectants must be registered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a disinfectant/sterilant and
must be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations and the recommendations of the Centers for Discase
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Contrel ({CDC).

(d) High speed dental handpieces, slow speed dental sleeves and contra-angles and prophy angles must be sterilized after
cach use using a heat or heat with pressure or heat with chemical method. The method used must be capable of sterilization.

(¢} Heat-sensitive instruments may require up o 10 hours of exposure in a liquid chemical agent registered by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) ag a disinfectant/sterilant.

(3) Before sterilization, instruments must be cleaned to remove debris. Cleaning must be accomplished by a thorough
scrubbing with soap or a detergent and water or by using a mechanical device, such as an ultrasonic cleaner following the
manufacturer’s recommendations. Metal or heat-stable dental instruments must be sterilized after each use by one of the
procedures identified in paragraphs (a)-(d) of subsection (1) above.

(4) Oral prosthetic appliances received from a dental laboratory must be washed with soap or a detergent and water,
rinsed well, appropriately disinfected and rinsed weli again before the prosthetic appliance is placed in the patient’s mouth.

(5) At the completion of dental treatment, all surfaces that may have become contaminated with blood, saliva or other
bodily fluids must be disinfected using a procedure recommended by the Centers for Disease Controt (CDC).

(6) Disinfectant/sterilants appropriate for use under paragraph (e) of subsection (1) above are only those
disinfectant/sterilants that are registered by the EPA. Those disinfectant/sterilants must be nsed in accordance with the
manufacturer’s recommendations for correct use as a disinfectant/sterilant.

{7) The sterilization and disinfection procedures required by this rule must be followed unless appropriate disposable
items are used. Disposable items may only be used on a one time basis and may never be used on more than one dental
patient. The use of disposable items is encouraged.

{8) Surgical or examinatior gloves and surgical masks shall be worn by all dentists, dental hygienists, and dental
agsistants while performing or assisting in the performance of any intra-oral dental procedure on a patient in which contact
with biood and/or saliva is imminent, Surgical or examination gloves must be changed between patients. Hands shall be
washed with soap and water and dried immediately after removing and prior to replacing gloves. Gloves are never to be
washed and reused. Surgical or examination gloves that are punctured or torn must be removed and replaced inumediately with
new gloves following rewashing of provider’s hands with soap and water. It is recommended that eye protection be worn by
all dentists, dental hygienists, and dentai assistants while performing or assisting in the performance of any dental procedure
on a patient in accordance with CDC recommendations.

(9) The procedures and equipment used for sterilization must have their efficacy tested periodically. Adequacy of steam
under pressure (e.g. autoclave) or chemical vapor sterilization must have their efficacy verified by appropriate biological
morutoring at least once every 40 hours {2400 minutes) of use or at least once every thirty days, whichever comes first, Dry
heat and ethylene oxide sterilizers must have their efficacy verified with appropriate biological monitoring every 120 hours of
operation. at sterilization parameters or every thirty days, whichever comes first. (Use time is determined by multiplying the
number of cycles by the individual cycle time.) Disinfectant/sterilants as set forth in paragraph {e} of subsection (1) above,
when used instead of heat sterilization procedures, must be used according to the manufacturer’s recommended dﬂamon and
exposure time and must be changed according to the manufacturer’s recommendations.

(10) All OSHA category 2 employees must be provided with and must use the barder techniques required by this rule
when they are in situations where they may be exposed to blood, saliva, or other bodily fluids from the patient during the
treatment or examination process.

RWW@@MWMMM%ZMMWMHMWWWMMM%M%4M@MMU@4%MH%MMWWWZMMAWMM
[2-6-87, 10-24-88, 1-7-92, 4-5-93, Formerly 21G-25.003, Amended 1]-22-93, Formerly 61F5-25.003, 59Q 25.003, Amended 10-31-01, 3-
19-02.

6485-25.004 Licensees Infected With Hepatitis B Virus.

(1) The Board of Dentistry is charged with the responsibility of protecting the public from dentists or dental hygienists
who present a danger to the public. The Board finds that licensees who are infected with the Hepatitis B virus present a grave
danger to the public by virtue of the communicability of this infectious disease in a clinical setting. Absent the identification
of infected licensees and the implementation of proper barrier techniques, these practitioners represent an unacceptable risk to
the heaith and safety of their patients. Licensees bear the uitimate responsibility for the safery of their patients when the
licensee or personnel empioyed by the licensee represent 2 health risk through direct or indirect contact with patients. This
rule assures the ability of infected licensees to practice so long as adequate safeguards are maintained.

(2} Any Florida licensed dentist or dental hygienist practicing in this State who is infected with the Hepatitis B virus is
requirec to notify the Board of such in writing no later than 14 days after learning of his or her infection with the Hepatitis B

P115



virus. Such notice shall include a copy of the lab report showing the result of that dentist’s or dental hygienist’s Hepatitis B
Surface Antigen (HBSAG) test resuits. The Board will respond to the licensee in writing acknowledging the notification and
will provide the licensee with an outline of criteria to be complied with which are designed to limit the potential spread of the
virus, The criteria are:

(a) All licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus must successfully complete, no later than 6 months after receiving
acknowledgment of their status from the Board, an educational program approved by the Board which will aid in a better
understanding of the disease. In order to receive Board approval, the program must be at least 6 clock hours in duration and
the program’s curriculum must include, but is not limited to:

1. History and nomenclature of Hepatitis B virus:

2. Clinical relationship of Hepatitis B virus to other forms of viral hepatitis;

3. Hepatitis B virus mode of transmission and replication;

4, Blood curves in the clinical course of the Hepatitis B virus;

5. Clinical and laboratory characteristics of Hepatitis B virus infections;

6. The Hepatitis B virus infected licensee and his or her lifestyle,

7. The Hepatitis B virus infected licensee as a practicing health care professional;

§. Barrier techniques;

9. The consequences of a break in barrier techniques;

16. Proper mechanisms for reporting breaks in barrier techniques;

11. Sterilization and disinfection procedures in the operatory;

12. Sterilization and disinfection procedures in the laboratory;,

13, Insurance and legal problems of Hepatitis B virus infected licensees; and

14, Hepatitis B virus vaccine.

Additionally, to obtain Board approval the program must also administer a written comprehensive examination covering each
of the topics listed above which must be satisfactorily completed by a participant before the participant will be certified as
having completed the program,

(b) Infected licensees will be monitored on a random basis at least once a year by Board approved consultants for the
purpose of verifying compliance with sterilization, disinfection and barrier technigues. The monitors will verify compliance
by utilizing the criteria set forth in Rule 64B35-25.005, F.A.C.

The random monitoring will be performed in addition to any checks conducted by any county health department, The
monitor’s report shall be forwarded to the Board’s Executive Director within 14 days of the monitor’s visit,

(c) Infected licensees shall notify the patient, the Board’s Executive Director and the local county health department at
any time a barrier technique has been or may have been broken. The patient must be notified immediately, Telephonic
notification must be accomplished within 24 hours and must be followed up by writter notification no later than 72 hours after
the barrier technique has been broken. Notification by the infected licensees shall include, at 2 minimwm, the following
information:

1. What barrier technique was broken;

2. Steps undertaken to notify affected patient; and

3. Steps undertaken to overcome the break in technique,

(3} A break in barrier technique includes but is not limited to any puncture, tear or cut in the gloves at any time during
which contact with the patient is made or at any time a break, abrasion or cut of the skin oceurs which could expose the patient
to risk of infection.

(4) Each and every notice or report required pursuant to this rule or as a result of the application of this rule shall be
confidential and exempt from the provisiens of Section 119.07(1), F.S., as set forth in Section 466.041(3), F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 436.032, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 456.032, 466.028(1)(1), (v), (), 466.041(3) FS. History-New 7-12-88,
Amended 10-28-91, Formerly 21G-25.004, Amended 8-12-93, Formerily 61F5-25.004, S§0-25.004.

64B5-25,005 Monitoring of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus.

(1) Licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus will be monitored by Board approved consultants to verify compliance
with accepted barrier technigues as set forth in Rule 64B5-25.004, F.AC.

(2) Board-approved consuitants acting as monitors shall be required to successfully complete 2 Board approved
educational program for licensees infected with the Hepatitis B virus as described in Rule 64B35-25.004, F.A.C., prior to
monitoring any lcensee infected with the Hepatitis B viras.

P116



(3) Monitors will perform their duties by making random, on-site visits at least once a year for a three (3) year period and
at least tri-annuaily thereafter, to any clinical dental setting where an identified licensee infected with the Hepatitis B virus
practices or is employed. The inspection and evaluation of compliance shall include the following procedures, the results of
which must be reported to the Board’s Executive Director within 14 days of the monitor’s visit;

(a) Personal interviews with each member of the office staff regarding procedures which are followed in the clinical
setting.

(b) Review of the dentist’s appointment book to document the number of days the dentist has practiced since notification
of being infected or the last evaluation, and the number of patients seen since that date.

(c) The number of boxes of examination and surgical protective gloves on hand and the number purchased since
notification of infection or the last evaluation,

(¢} The number and type of masks on hand and the number and type purchased since notification of infection or the last
evaluafion.

(e) A defermination of whether ail personnel since notification of infection or any new personnel since the last evaluation
have been checked for surface antigens and surface antibodies and whether all personnel have been specifically educated
regarding appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier technique necessary to prevent communication of the Hepatitis B
virus.

(f) Identification and description of training provided and procedures and protocols utilized.

(g) A determination of whether all office personnel are familiar with procedures and reporting requirements which are
necessary if a break in barrier techniques occurs.

(h) A determination of whether heat sterilization is routinely used and whether the heat sterilization is monitored monthly.

(i) A determination of the type of cold disinfectant used, its spectrum, brand name and chemical composition.

(j} A Hst of instraments and materials which are routinely cold sterilized and a determination of the 'efficacy of the
procedures,

(k) Identification and documentation of any incidents of a break in barrier technique or potential breaks which were
averted.

(I} Documentation of the monitor’s conclusions regarding compliance which addresses the results of each of the
procedures outlined above.

{(4) Shouid a monitor determine that unreported breaks in barrier techniques have occurred, or should the monitor
determine that appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier techniques have not been followed adequately to protect the
public, the monitor shall so notify the Board’s Executive Director by telephone within 24 hours of the on-site inspection and
provide written confirmation within 72 hours,

Rulemaking Authority 456.032, 466.004(4), FS. Law Implemented 456.032, 466.028(1)(1), fv), (), 466.041(3) FS. History~New 7-12-88,
Amended 10-28-91, Formerly 21G-25.005, 61F5-25.003, Amended 10-16-96, Formerly 590-25.005.

64B5-25.006 Emergency Suspension of Licensees Infected With the Hepatitis B Virus; Initiation of Complaints.

(1} Upon notification that any of the following events have occurred, the Board’s Executive Director shall request an
emergency Probable Cause Panel meeting. The panel shall determine whether the Secretary of the Department should be
requested fo institute an emergency suspension of the licensee infected with the Hepatitis B virus pursuant to Section
120.60(8), F.5,

(a) A monitor’s report that the infecied licensee has failed to report any break in barrier technique or that the infected
licensee has failed to follow appropriate sterilization, disinfection and barrier techniques in 2 manner which adequately
protects the public.

{b) Failure of the infected licensee to have successfully completed the Board approved educational program as required
by Rule 64B5-25.004, F A.C.

(c) A confirmed report that the infected licensee has failed to report a break in barrier technique as reguired by Rule
64R5-25.004, FA.C.

(d) A confirmed report that a licensee is infected with the Hepatitis B virus and has failed to report his or her status to the
Board as required by Rule 64B85-25.004, F.A.C.

(2) The Executive Director may consult with any monitor for technical assistance and may request confirmation of a
report from the Office of Investigative Services prior (o reguesting an emergency Probable Cause Panel Meeting or initiation
of a complaint,

{3) The Executive Director shall initiate a complaint or confirm that a complaint has aiready been initiated when a report
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of a break in barrier technique or a report of violation of Rule Chapter 64B5-25, F.A.C., is received. The Board does not
intend this provision to discourage timely and accurate reporting or to imply that disciplinary action against a licensee will
routinely be initiated by the Department. It is the Board’s intent to protect the public and the lcensee by assuring that an
adequate mvestigation is made of any reported violation so that 2n informed decision can be reached regarding the safety of
the licensee’s continued practice.

Rulemaking Authority 455.601, 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 4535.601, 466.028(1)(x), (v}, (v} FS. History—New 7-12-88. Amended 10-
28-81, Formerly 21G-25.006, 61F5-25.006, 59Q)-25.006.

64B85-25.067 Disposition of Biochazardous Waste.

(1) Licensees who generate bichazardous waste as defined by Chapter 645-16, F.A.C., shall comply with the
requirements of that chapter in order to maintain minimum sanitary conditions as required by Section 466.028(1)(v), E.S.

(2) Extracted teeth may be rendered non-biohazardous by disinfection so that they may be returned to the patient or the
patient’s Jegal guardian. Extracted teeth used for scientific, educational or testing purposes should first be cleaned of adherent
patient material by scrubbing with detergent and water or by using an ultrasonic cleaner. Teeth should then be stored,
immersed in a fresk solution of sodium hypochlorite (household bleach diluted 1:10 with tap water) or any Iiquid chemical
germicide suitable for clinical specimen fixation.

(3) To render an extracted tooth non-biohazardous it must be decontaminated in accordance with the guidelines set forth
in Rule 64B5-25.003, F.AC, :

(4) Extracted teeth and tissue fragments not required for microscopic examination shall be discarded as biohazardous
waste or as a sharp in accordance with Chapter 64E-16, F.A.C.

Rulemaking Authorizy 456,032, 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456.032, 466.028(1)(»), 466.04] FS. History—New 11-16-89, Amended 1-7-
92, Formerly 21G-25.007, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F3-25.007, 590-25.007.

64B5-25.008 Shipment to Dental Laboratories.
Impressions, appiances and contaminated dental models sent to dental laboratories must be sealed in an impervious container
and labeled “treat as infectious material” prior to shipment from a dental office.

Rulemaking Authority 436.032, 466.004 FS. Law Implemented 456.032, 466.028¢(1)(v}, (), 466.04] FS. History—New [-7-92, Formerly
21G-25.008, 61F5-25.008. 380-25.008.
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