Dental Hygienist


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Dental Hygienist.

The requirements for licensure by examination are as follows and can be found in Section 466.007, F.S.:

1.  Is at least 18 years of age

2.  Has graduated from:

1. a dental hygiene college or school approved by the board
or accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the
American Dental Association or its successor agency, if any,
or any other dental hygiene program accrediting entity
recognized by the United States Department of Education;

OR

2. is a graduate of an unaccredited dental college or school,
and has completed a minimum of 4 years of postsecondary
dental education and received a dental school diploma which
is comparable to a D.D.S. or D.M.D.

3.  Successful completion of the following examinations:

1.  Dental Hygiene National Board Examination

(Graduates of non-accredited dental schools have the option
of completing the National Board Dental Examination)

         2.  ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination administered in Florida;

OR

3.  ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination administered in
a jurisdiction other than Florida

Florida Laws and Rules Examination Applicants are required to submit the following documents for licensure:

  1. National Board Dental Hygiene Examination scores mailed to the Board office directly from the American Dental Association
  2. Final official transcripts sent to the Board office by the registrar’s office with appropriate stamps, seals, degree and signatures. All final transcripts must indicate the matriculation date, graduation date, degree earned, and be embossed with the school seal. We will not accept any transcript that has “issued to student” stamped on the transcript. Any transcript, which does not conform to these standards, shall be deemed unofficial and unacceptable.
  3. Proof of completion of a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors within the past two years. Information regarding board approved providers and courses can be viewed at www.cebroker.com.
  4. If applicable, a certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license. The certification should state that your license is in good standing; appropriate signatures and embossed seal of the certifying Board are needed for validation.
  5. Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one – rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED) and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:

  1. For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  2. For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  3. For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;

2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;

3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;

4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;

5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.

The following steps apply to graduates of dental hygiene programs ACCREDITED by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation:

  1. Applicant must request that the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination scores be mailed to the Board office directly from the American Dental Association
  2. Applicant must have completed the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination or be an applicant for the examination
  3. Applicant must apply for licensure by submitting the Dental Hygiene Licensing Application. Applicants will be notified of their eligibility to schedule state Laws and Rules Examination upon receipt of the completed licensure application and national board scores.

The following documents are required prior to licensure:

  1. Final official transcripts
  2. Certificate of completion of a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors
  3. Certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license.
  4. Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level

Graduates of dental colleges or schools that are NON ACCREDITED by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation must be approved by the Board office to schedule the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination.

The applicant must submit a completed APPLICATION FOR CREDENTIALS REVIEW FOR GRADUATES FROM NON-ACCREDITED DENTAL COLLEGES OR SCHOOLS.

The following documents are required to complete this application:

  1. Credentials Evaluation
  2. Subject Analysis Evaluation Report completed by the Educational Credentials Evaluators Inc. (ECE).
  3. Proof of completion of dental degree in accordance with s. 466.007(3), Florida Statutes and Rule 64B5-2.0144, Florida Administrative Code (transcripts and copies of dental diploma; all documents must be translated)
  4. Proof of successful completion of the:

National Board Dental Examination (Part I and II)

OR

National Board Dental Hygiene Examination.

The documentation must be mailed to our office directly from the American Dental Association. The Board office will notify NERB and the applicant upon approval of the application.

5. Applicant must apply for licensure by submitting the Dental Hygiene Licensing Application. Applicants will be notified of their eligibility to schedule state Laws and Rules Examination upon receipt of the completed licensure application and national board scores.

The following documents are required prior to licensure:

  1. Final official transcripts
  2. Certificate of completion of a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors
  3. Certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license.
  4. Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level

Visit www.nerb.org for ADEX applications, candidate manuals, dates/sites

The mailing address for supporting documentation relating to the licensure application is:

Department of Health
Board of Dentistry
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C-O8
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258
 
(850) 245-4474 Telephone Number
(850) 921-5389 Fax Number

The following fees are payable to the Department of Health for the application for licensure. Additional fees will be required by Prometric when an applicant schedules the Laws and Rules examination.

TOTAL FEE- $205.00

Application fee – $50.00

Laws and Rules fee – $50.00

Licensure fee – $105.00*

*Initial license fee is $55 for applicants applying in the second year of the biennium.

All initial licenses expire February 28 of the following even numbered year.

Licensure biennium dates are March 1 – February 28 of the even years.

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions

Chapter 466: Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and Dental Laboratories

Section 466.007: Examination of dental hygienists

Section 466.023: Dental Hygienists; scope and area of practice

Section 466.0235: Dental charting

Section 466.024: Delegation of duties; expanded functions

Florida Administrative Code

Chapter 64B5: Board of Dentistry

Rule 64B5-2: Examination and Licensure of Dentists and Dental Hygienists

Rule 64B5-16: Remediable Tasks Delegable to Dental Hygienists and Dental Assistants