Dental Residency/Intern Permits


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Dental Residency/Intern Permits.

The requirements for dental residency/intern permits can be found in Section 466.025, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B5-7.003, Florida Administrative Code and include the following:

  1. Graduation from a dental college or school or verification that the applicant is expected to graduate within the next sixty days. (The proof submitted shall include either a true and correct copy of a diploma awarded by the dental school or college or a letter from the dean of the dental school or college.)

Graduates of dental schools or colleges that are not accredited by the ADA shall be issued permits only for practice in internship or residency programs that are accredited by the ADA.

Note: Every applicant is required to provide proof of current CPR certification prior to being issued a permit. Applicants who are not certified but who are otherwise eligible for a permit shall be allowed 60 days to obtain such certification following issuance of the permit.

Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:

  1. For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  2. For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  3. For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;

2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;

3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;

4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;

5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.

The residency program director shall apply on behalf of any person wishing to be issued a permit as a dental intern or resident. The program director shall apply on the Residency/Intern Application and provide proof of the following:

  1. Applicant’s name and age;
  2. Proof of graduation from a dental college or school or verification that the applicant is expected to graduate within the next sixty days. (The proof submitted shall include either a true and correct copy of a diploma awarded by the dental school or college or a letter from the dean of the dental school or college.);
  3. Applicant’s licensure status in other jurisdictions, including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action;
  4. The status of any dental malpractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction;
  5. The name and address of the internship or residency program at which the applicant will be practicing dentistry; AND
  6. Graduates of dental schools or colleges that are not accredited by the ADA shall be issued permits only for practice in internship or residency programs that are accredited by the ADA.

Any hospital, institution or clinic employing a dental intern or resident shall inform the Board office of the termination of that individual. Such notice shall be in writing and within 30 days of termination of employment or training.

Experience obtained by an individual pursuant to a permit issued under the authority of this rule and Section 466.025, F.S., is not acceptable for the purpose of fulfilling the supplemental education program set forth in Section 466.006(3)(b), F.S.

Every applicant is required to provide proof of current CPR certification prior to being issued a permit. Applicants who are not certified but who are otherwise eligible for a permit shall be allowed 60 days to obtain such certification following issuance of the permit.

Dental intern and resident permits are subject to cancellation, revocation or other discipline by the Board for failure to comply with Chapters 456 and 466, F.S., and Chapter 64B5, F.A.C.

None

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions

Chapter 466: Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and Dental Laboratories

Florida Administrative Code

Chapter 64B5: Board of Dentistry