Dentist


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Dentist.

The State of Florida does not have reciprocity with any state and does not issue licenses by endorsement or credentials. The requirements for licensure by examination are as follows and can be found in Section 466.006, F.S.:

An applicant must be:

  1. Is at least 18 years of age
  1. A graduate of a dental school accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation or its successor entity, if any, or any other dental accrediting entity recognized by the United States Department of Education; or

    A dental student in the final year of a program at such an accredited dental school who has completed all the coursework necessary to prepare the student to perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures required to pass the examinations. With respect to a dental student in the final year of a program at a dental school, a passing score on the examinations is valid for 365 days after the date the examinations were completed. A dental school student who takes the licensure examinations during the student’s final year of an approved dental school must have graduated before being certified for licensure pursuant to s. 466.011; or

    If an applicant is a graduate of a dental college or school not accredited in accordance with paragraph (2)(b) or of a dental college or school not approved by the board, the applicant is not entitled to take the examinations required in this section to practice dentistry until she or he satisfies one of the following:
    Completes a program of study, as defined by the board by rule, at an accredited American dental school and demonstrates receipt of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. from said school; or

    Submits proof of having successfully completed at least 2 consecutive academic years at a full-time supplemental general dentistry program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. This program must provide didactic and clinical education at the level of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

  1. Successfully complete the following examinations:
  • Dental National Board Examination
  • Florida Laws and Rules Examination
  • ADEX Dental Licensing Examination

Scores from ADEX Dental Licensing examinations administered in Florida are valid for 365 days after the date the official examination results are published.

Scores from ADEX Dental Licensing Examinations administered in a jurisdiction other than Florida must be completed on or after October 2, 2011.

POST LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS IF ADEX COMPLETED IN A JURISDICTION OTHER THAN FLORIDA

In order to maintain valid active licensure in this state, all applicants for licensure who are relocating to this state based on scores from the American Dental Licensing Examination administered in a state other than this state must actually engage in the full-time practice of dentistry inside the geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year of receiving such licensure in this state.

Full-time practice of dentistry within the geographic boundaries of this state within 1 year is defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours in the initial year of licensure, which must include any combination of the following:

-Active clinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient care within the geographic boundaries of this state.

-Full-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation and located within the geographic boundaries of this state.

-Full-time practice as a student at a postgraduate dental education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation and located within the geographic boundaries of this state.Failure to meet this requirement will cause the license to expire. Please review s. 466.006(6), F.S. for additional information concerning the specific requirements.

PRE- LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS IF ADEX COMPLETED IN A JURISDICTION OTHER THAN FLORIDA AND THE ADEX SCORES ARE OLDER THAN 365 DAYS

Applicants who completed the ADEX Dental Licensing Examinations administered in a jurisdiction other than Florida on or after October 2, 2011 and older than 365 days must submit proof of having been consecutively engaged in the full-time practice of dentistry in another state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or, if the applicant has been licensed in another state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico for less than 5 years, the applicant must submit proof of having been engaged in the full-time practice of dentistry since the date of his or her initial licensure.

As used in this section, “full-time practice” is defined as a minimum of 1,200 hours per year for each and every year in the consecutive 5-year period or, where applicable, the period since initial licensure, and must include any combination of the following:

-Active clinical practice of dentistry providing direct patient care.

-Full-time practice as a faculty member employed by a dental or dental hygiene school approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.-Full-time practice as a student at a postgraduate dental education program approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:

  1. For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  2. For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  3. For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;

2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;

3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;

4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;

5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.

The following steps apply to graduates of dental schools Accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation:

Applicant must successfully complete the required examinations:

1. National Board Dental Examination (Parts I and II)

2. ADEX Dental Licensing Examination

3. Florida Laws and Rules Examination*

*The Florida Department of Health has contracted with The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) to provide the Laws and Rules examination. Examination registration began April 1, 2015 with the CDCA and associated fees are the same. Please visit http://www.cdcaexams.org to register for examination and view candidate manuals.

Upon completion of the required examinations, download an application for licensure from the Resources page or apply online.

Credentials to be submitted with the Application for Licensure are:

  1. National Board Dental Examination scores mailed to the Board office directly from the American Dental Association
  2. Final official transcripts sent to the Board office by the registrar’s office with appropriate stamps, seals, degree and signatures. All final transcripts must indicate the matriculation date, graduation date, degree earned, and be embossed with the school seal.
  3. Proof of completion of a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors within the past two years. Information regarding board approved providers and courses can be viewed at www.cebroker.com.
  4. If applicable, a certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license.
  5. Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one – rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED) and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

Graduates of dental colleges or schools that are not accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation must be approved by the Board office to schedule the ADEX Dental Licensing Examination.

The applicant must submit a completed APPLICATION FOR CREDENTIALS REVIEW FOR GRADUATES FROM NON-ACCREDITED DENTAL COLLEGES OR SCHOOLS.

The following documents are required to complete this application:

  1. Proof of completion of at least 2 consecutive academic years at a full-time supplemental general dentistry program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. This program must provide didactic and clinical education at the level of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation
  2. Proof of successful completion of the National Board Dental Examination (Part I and II) . The national board scores must be mailed to our office directly from the American Dental Association.

The Board office will notify the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) of the applicant’s eligibility to schedule the Clinical and Florida Laws & Rules examinations once the Credentials application is reviewed and approved.

Upon completion of the Clinical and Florida Laws and Rules Examinations, download an application for licensure from the Resources page or apply online.

Credentials to be submitted with the Application for Licensure are:

  • Proof of completion of a minimum two hour course in the prevention of medical errors within the past two years. Information regarding board approved providers and courses can be viewed at www.cebroker.com.
  • If applicable, a certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license. The certification should state that your license is in good standing; appropriate signatures and embossed seal of the certifying Board are needed for validation.
  • Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one – rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED) and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.

All applicants must visit www.cdcaexams.org to register for the Florida Laws and Rules examination.

The mailing address for supporting documentation relating to the licensure application is:

Department of Health
Board of Dentistry
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C-O8
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258
(850) 245-4474 Telephone Number
(850) 921-5389 Fax Number

Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health.

TOTAL FEE $255.00
Application Fee $100.00
Licensure Fee $155.00*

 

*The initial licensure fee collected at this time is one half of the biennial licensure fee for applicants applying in the second year of the biennium. Applicants who pay the partial fee and become licensed during the beginning of the renewal cycle which begins in late 2015 will be required to submit an additional fee for a full two year license.

All initial licenses expire February 28 of the following even number year.

Licensure biennium dates are March 1- February 28 of the even years.

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions

Chapter 466: Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and Dental Laboratories

Florida Administrative Code

Chapter 64B5: Board of Dentistry