Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Limited Dentist License.
Requirements for a limited dentist license can be found in Section 456.015, Florida Statutes and Rule 64B5-7.007, Florida Administrative Code and include:
- Graduation from a college of dentistry which is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association
- Held a license to practice dentistry in any jurisdiction in the United States for at least ten (10) years
- Has not committed or is not under investigation for prosecution for any act which would constitute the basis for discipline pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 466, F.S.
- Practices only in the employ of public agencies or non-profit agencies or institutions which meet the requirements of Section 501(c)(3), F.S., of the Internal Revenue Code, are permitted under Rule 64B5-7.006, F.A.C., and which provide professional liability coverage for acts or omissions of the limited licensee.
- Complies with all continuing education requirements of active licensees.
If the applicant for a limited license submits a notarized statement from the employer stating the applicant will not receive monetary compensation for any service involving the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, the application fee and all licensure fees shall be waived.
A limited licensee may provide services only to the indigent, or critical need populations within the state. The standard for determining indigency shall be recognized by the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines produced by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
Controlled Substance Prescriber
Effective January 1, 2012, a dentist licensed under chapter 466 who prescribes any controlled substance, listed in Schedule II, Schedule III, or Schedule IV as defined in s. 893.03, for the treatment of chronic nonmalignant pain, must:
Designate himself or herself as a controlled substance prescribing practitioner and comply with the requirements of this section and applicable board rules.
“Chronic nonmalignant pain” means pain unrelated to cancer which persists beyond the usual course of disease or the injury that is the cause of the pain or more than 90 days after surgery.
Submit the application for licensure for dentists/dental hygineists and the following items:
- Dental school transcripts or copy of diploma
- Certification of Licensure from other state(s) including disciplinary actions
- Current CPR card in basic life support
- Letter of intent to employ from employing agency
- $305 licensure fee or fee waiver if volunteering
Submit your application, supporting documentation, and applicable fee payment, to the following address:Department of Health Board of Dentistry 4052 Bald Cypress Way, #C08 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258
Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health.
|Application Fee||$305.00 (non-refundable)|
|Initial license fee||Is included in the application fee|
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Section 456.013: Department; general licensing provisions
Section 456.015: Limited licenses
Chapter 466: Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and Dental Laboratories
Florida Administrative Code
Rule 64B5-7: Dental Practice Permits
Rule 64B5-12: Continuing Professional Education
Note: Before practicing dentistry in Florida, read Chapter 456 and Chapter 466, Florida Statutes (F. S.) and Rule Chapter 64B5, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C). You must know and comply with the laws and rules as they pertain to your professional practice. Laws and rules are subject to change at any time. For updated information refer to the following websites www.leg.state.fl.us (Florida Statutes) and www.flrules.org/default.asp (Florida Administrative Code).