Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Non-Profit Corporation Permit.
The requirements to receive a non-profit corporation permit can be found in Section 466.025, F.S. and Rule 64B5-7.006, Florida Administrative Code.
A non-profit corporation which is chartered for the purposes of training and teaching dental assistants in the public schools of the state, or promoting research and training among duly licensed dentists in the state or providing dental care for indigent persons, and seeking a permit to employ a non-Florida licensed dentist who is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association shall file an application with the Board which contains the following information:
1. A certified copy of the non-profit corporation’s charter which establishes one or more of the purposes for the organization which are specified in Section 466.025(3), F.S.,
2. proof of registration with the Internal Revenue Service as a nonprofit organization pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3).
3. Justification for the need to provide dental services by dentists who are not licensed in this state.
4. A plan of operation which establishes that any non-Florida licensed dentist employed by the permit holder will be practicing dentistry under the general supervision of a Florida licensed dentist.
5. For non-profit corporations which provide dental care to indigent patients:
1. statistics which establish that only indigent patients have been treated
2. admission criteria that only indigent patients will be treated.
6. A description of the physical plant, available equipment and resources which establish that minimum standards of dentistry are or will be practiced at the facility.
As to each non-Florida licensed dentist employed or sought to be employed:
- The dentist’s name and age,
- Proof of said dentist’s graduation from an accredited dental college or school,
- The dentist’s licensure status in other jurisdictions, including disciplinary action and pending disciplinary action,
- The status of any dental malpractice actions that have been noticed or filed in any jurisdiction,
- Proof of having successfully completed Board approved courses on Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, a course in domestic violence, and proof of current CPR certification.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under chapter 409, chapter 817, or chapter 893, or a similar felony offense committed in another state or jurisdiction, unless the applicant is currently enrolled in a drug court program that allows the withdrawal of the plea for that felony upon successful completion of that program. Any such conviction or plea excludes the applicant from licensure renewal unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years before the date of application.
- For felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years before the date of application, except for felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a).
- For felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), more than 5 years before the date of application.
2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970, or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 since July 1, 2009, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended more than 15 years before the date of the application.
3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to s. 409.913, unless the applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years.
4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application.
5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
Submit the following documents:
- Signed application form
- Copy of non-profit corporation’s charter and proof of registration with IRS as nonprofit organization 501(c)(3)
- Justification for providing dental services by dentists not licensed in the state
- Statistics which establish only indigent patients have been treated
- A description of the physical plant, available equipment and resources which establish that minimum standards of dentistry are or will be practiced at the facility.
The following information is required on non-Florida licensed dentist employed or utilized at the facility:
- Name and age
- Proof of graduation from accredited dental school
- Licensure status in other states including disciplinary actions
- Status of dental malpractice action noticed or filed
- Certificate of attendance from a Board of Dentistry approved course on the prevention of medical errors
- Current CPR card in basic life support
- Certificate of attendance from a Board of Dentistry approved course in domestic violence
Please email questions or comments to our office at:
Submit your application and supporting documentation to the following address:Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance Board of Dentistry 4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #CO8 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Section 456.013: Department; general licensing provisions
Chapter 466: Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and Dental Laboratories
Florida Administrative Code
Rule 64B5-7: Dental Practice Permits
Note: Before practicing dentistry in Florida read Chapter 456 and Chapter 466, Florida Statutes (F. S.) and Rule Chapter 64B5, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C). You must know and comply with the laws and rules as they pertain to your professional practice. Laws and rules are subject to change at any time. For updated information refer to the following web-sites www.leg.state.fl.us (Florida Statutes) and www.flrules.org (Florida Administrative Code).