Dental Laboratory


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Renewal Requirements, Process, Fees and Continuing Education (CE) for a Dental Laboratory.

Registered Dental Laboratories are required to renew their license no later than midnight, Eastern Time, on February 28, 2018.

The department will renew your license upon receipt of:

1.Completed Renewal application
2.Required fee
3.Your current primary place of practice address

Note: To ensure you receive notification from the department regarding the renewal, the Department must have your current mailing address on file. Failure to renew an active license by the expiration date will result in the license being placed in delinquent status. Failure by a delinquent licensee to renew before September 1st, of the even numbered years renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department.

Fingerprint Retention Requirements

Individuals who submitted fingerprints as a condition of licensure on or after January 1, 2013, are required by section 456.0135, Florida Statutes, to have their fingerprints retained in Florida’s Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse). Fingerprints stored in the Clearinghouse, are retained for a period of five years from the date of submission.

The Clearinghouse is a single data source used to retain background screening results of persons required to be screened by law. The Clearinghouse allows the results of criminal history checks to be shared among participating agencies when a person has applied to volunteer, be employed, be licensed, or enters into a contract that requires a state and national fingerprint-based criminal history check. Section 435.12, Florida Statutes.

Section 456.0135, Florida Statutes, requires the cost of fingerprint processing, including the cost of retained fingerprints, be paid by the applicant/licensee who is the subject of background screening. The retained print fee is $42.00 due every five years. If your retained prints are not renewed prior to the expiration date, they will not be retained in the Clearinghouse and you will be required to be fingerprinted again.

The Department will notify licensees prior to their expiration date to renew their enrollment in the Clearinghouse. The notification will contain instructions on how to renew your enrollment and pay the retained print fee.

For more information, please visit the Department’s website at: http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening and click on the Livescan Service Providers tab.

Current licenses will expire at midnight, Eastern Time, February 28, 2018

The process to renew a license can take up to three weeks. Initiating contact to confirm the receipt of fees or the status of your license prior to this time will not expedite the renewal process.

Note: At least 90 days before your license expires, the department will mail you a renewal notice to your last known address of record. You will have until midnight on the day your license expires to renew. Failure to renew an active license by the expiration date will result in the license being placed in delinquent status. Failure by a delinquent license to renew before September 1st, of the even numbered years renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department.

You may RENEW ONLINE if:

1. You have a credit card/debit card to complete the transaction.

If you lose your user identification and password you may recover it by clicking Login Help. After logging in to the renewal system, licensees will be prompted to answer a series of questions and required to provide certain information, if appropriate. The renewal process typically takes 10-15 minutes and licensees pay their renewal fee by Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover when they are done.

You must RENEW BY MAIL if:

1. You do NOT have a credit card/debit card to complete the transaction and need to pay using a cashier’s check or money order.


To Print Your Renewal Notice Online:

  1. Go to www.FLHealthsource.gov
  2. Click the Renew My License button
    1. You will need your user ID and password to logon
    2. If you do not know your user ID and password click on Login Help
  3. Once you are properly logged in, you may print your renewal notice by selecting the Renew License link, then click on the Renew by Mail option.

Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health

Current licenses will expire at midnight, Eastern Time, February 28, 2018.

If renewing BEFORE your license expires, your fees will be:

Active to Active$205.00

If renewing AFTER your license expires (on or after 03/01/2018 through 05/31/2018)

for licenses that expired on 02/28/2018, your fees will be:

Active to Active$205.00

If renewing AFTER the Renewal Period (on or after 06/01/2018 through 08/31/2018)

for licenses that expired on 02/28/2018, your fees will be:

Active to Active$245.00

Failure by a delinquent licensee to renew before September 1st, of the even numbered years renders the license  Null & Void1 without any further action by the board or the department.

 

sm_divider

 1Null & Void -The licensee failed to renew their licensure status within six months of becoming delinquent, resulting in their license expiring.

Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

Required Subject AreaRequired Number of HoursImportant Information
General Hours13 to 15Total general hours depends on the number of hours completed in the Laws and Rules course
Medical Error2 Must be Board Approved
Laws and Rules1 to 3Course can be a minimum of 1 hour or up to 3 hours. Coursework must be based on laws and rules that govern dental laboratories and dental technicians.

sm_divider

First Biennium Renewal: If you are newly licensed and renewing your license for the first time you are required to complete 18 hours as stated above.

CE Reporting Information →

Board Rule Approved Providers

  • Florida Dental Association
  • Florida Dental Lab Association

Other Methods of Obtaining Continuing Education per Biennium

  • Dental labs in another state or country which provides service to a dentist licensed under this chapter is not required to register with the state of Florida
  • Up to 4 hours (per biennium) for performance of pro bono services
  • May obtain CE hours for attendance at lectures, study clubs, college courses, conventions, and research by an approved provider if approved and listed on report provided by the Board of Dentistry

Helpful Information

  • The owner/operator or agent listed is responsible for ensuring the information is in the CE tracking system
  • The owner/operator or employee (employed by the lab for a minimum of one year, during the biennium, must be documented by W-2 forms, time cards, or pay stubs) may complete the required course hours
  • Not applicable to the dental laboratories physically located within the office of a license dentist

Florida Statutes

Section 466.021: Retention of dental laboratories by dentist; penalty
Section 466.031: “Dental Laboratory” defined
Section 466.032: Registration
Section 466.033: Registration certificates
Section 466.034: Change of ownership or address
Section 466.035: Advertising
Section 466.036: Information; periodic inspections; equipment and supplies
Section 466.037: Suspension and revocation; administrative fine
Section 466.038: Rules
Section 466.039: Violations

Florida Administrative Code

Rule 64B27-1.001: Dental Laboratory Inspections, and Practice and Procedure for Healthy and Safe Dental Laboratory Operation
Rule 64B27-1.002: Dental Laboratory Biennial Registration
Rule 64B27-1.003: Continuing Education Requirements
Rule 64B27-2.001: Disciplinary Guidelines
Rule 64B27-2.002: Notice of Noncompliance for Minor Violations
Rule 64B27-2.003: Citation Authority
Rule 64B27-2.004: Mediation