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Dental Licensure Application Instructions 

 
Applicants are strongly encouraged to review s. 466.006, F.S. and Rule Chapter 64B5-2, F.A.C. prior to 

submitting this application.   

 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: 

• Successful completion of the National Board Dental Examination (Part I and II) 

• Successful completion of the ADEX Dental Licensing Examination administered in Florida; OR 

• Successful completion of the ADEX Dental Licensing Examination in a jurisdiction other than Florida, if 

the examination was completed after October 1, 2011 

• Successful completion of the Florida Laws and Rules Examination 

 

Applicants must apply for the Florida Laws and Rules examination with The Commission on Dental Competency 

Assessments (CDCA).   Please visit www.cdcaexams.org to register.  

 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 

Graduation from a dental school accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental 

Accreditation or its successor agency; OR 

Graduation from a dental school not accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association and completion of at least 2 consecutive academic years at a full-time supplemental general dentistry 

program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.  This program must 

provide didactic and clinical education at the level of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. program accredited by the American 

Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.   

 

FEES: 

Application fee            100.00   

Licensure fee                300.00*                        

Unlicensed Activity fee     5.00 

TOTAL FEE               $405.00     

   

*Licensure fee is $155 for applicants applying in second year of biennium.  All initial licenses expire February 28 

of the following even numbered year.  Licensure biennium dates are March 1 – February 28 of the even years. 

 

The fee must accompany the application.  Please make check or money order payable to the Department of 

Health and mail with application, supporting documentation and credentials to: 

 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

P.O. BOX 6330 

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32314-6330 

 

Any supporting documentation and credentials mailed separately from the application should be mailed to: 

 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

4052 BALD CYPRESS WAY, BIN #C08 

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32399-3258 

REFUNDS 

The application fee is non-refundable. Applicants who require board approval will be scheduled for an appearance 

at the next board meeting. 

 
If an application is received without the fee attached, the application will automatically be returned. A social security 

number issued by the Federal Government is required for licensure.  After completing the application, double check 

http://www.cdcaexams.org/


DH-MQA 1182, Rev. 05/2019, Rules 64B5-2.014 and 2.0146, F.A.C.   3 
 

to make sure you have marked all questions as “yes” or “no” or not applicable. Also be sure to sign and date the 

application. If you answered, “yes” to question(s) 5, 6, 7, and/or 12, please submit all supporting documentation 

with the application. 

 

CREDENTIALS: 

All credentials mailed separately to the Board of Dentistry office should be sent to 4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN 

#C08 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258. 

 

(1) National Board Score: The Board office must receive proof of successful completion of the National 

Board Dental Examination.  The scores must be mailed to our office from The Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations.   

 

(2) Final Official Transcript:  Dental transcripts shall be sent to the Board of Dentistry by the 

registrar’s office. ALL final transcripts must indicate the matriculation date, graduation date, degree 

earned, and be embossed with the school seal. We will not accept any transcript that has “issued to 

student” stamped on the transcript.  Any transcript, which does not conform to these standards, shall 

be deemed unofficial and unacceptable. 

 

(3) Certification of Licensure: Please submit certification of licensure from each state in which you 

hold or have held a dental or dental hygiene license. This certification should state that your license is 

in good standing; appropriate signatures and embossed seal of the certifying Board are needed for 

validation. 

 

(4) CPR Certification: Each applicant must provide proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and 

infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags. All such 

training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American 

Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements. 

 

(5) Other: If you have changed your name in any way or added or deleted part of your name from the time 

you started your dental education, you must submit a copy of your name change document. If you do 

not have a name change document filed with the courts, submit a notarized affidavit stating the names 

are one and the same. Please notify the board office if you have documents being sent to us in another 

name. 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

Applicants who complete the ADEX examination in a jurisdiction other than Florida may be required to complete 

additional requirements. Please read s. 466.006, Florida Statutes, Rule 64B5-2.0150, F.A.C., and Rule 64B5-

2.0152, F.A.C prior to submitting your application.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0400-0499/0466/Sections/0466.006.html
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?title=EXAMINATION%20AND%20LICENSURE%20OF%20DENTISTS%20AND%20DENTAL%20HYGIENISTS&ID=64B5-2.0150
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?title=EXAMINATION%20AND%20LICENSURE%20OF%20DENTISTS%20AND%20DENTAL%20HYGIENISTS&ID=64B5-2.0152
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?title=EXAMINATION%20AND%20LICENSURE%20OF%20DENTISTS%20AND%20DENTAL%20HYGIENISTS&ID=64B5-2.0152
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Dental Licensure 
Application 

PO Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 

Phone: (850) 245-4474 
Fax: (850) 921-5389 

 
Please complete this application 
in its entirety prior to submitting 

Do Not Write in this Space 
For Revenue Receipting Only 

1. Examination History 
 
Date of ADEX Exam: ___________________    Location of ADEX Exam: ___________________ 

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to: DOH Florida Board of Dentistry 

 

2. Application Profile Data 
 
Name: ________________________________________________________   Date of Birth: __________________ 
            Last                                            First                               Middle               MM/DD/YYYY 

 

 
Mailing Address: (Give the address where mail and your license should be sent) 
 
_________________________________________  _______________  __________________________________________ 
Street/PO Box                                                              Apt. No.                   City 
 
_____________________________  _______________  _____________________  ________________________________ 
State                                                    Zip                           Country                                Primary Telephone 
 
 
Physical Location: (Required if mailing address is a P.O. Box- This address will be posted on the Department of Health's 
website.) 
 
________________________________________  _______________  ___________________________________________ 
Street                                                                         Apt./Suite No.          City 
 
____________________________  _______________  _____________________  _________________________________ 
State                  Zip                    Country         Secondary Telephone 

 
Have you ever changed your name through marriage or through action of a court, or have you ever been known by 

any other name?    Yes   No 

If yes, list name(s) and date(s) of change(s): _______________________________________________________ 
 
Email Notification: If you want to be notified of the status of your application by email please check the "Yes" box and 
write your email address on the line provided below. If you choose this form of notification, you will receive information 
regarding your application file through email. You will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your 

email address with the Board office.        Yes   No     

 
Email Address: __________________________________________________ 
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public 
records request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. 
 

Equal Opportunity Data: We are required to ask that you furnish information as part of your voluntary compliance with Section 2, Uniform 
Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 CFR 38295 and 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is gathered for statistical and 
reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 
 

RACE:  White   Black or African American   Asian  American Indian or Alaska Native  Hispanic   Two or More Races   
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3. Applicant Education and Examination Data 
 
Dental School Attended: _____________________________ City: ___________________  State: ___________  

 
Degree: __________________________  Date Graduated/Anticipated Graduation: ________________________ 
 
Official transcripts including degree and date of graduation must be sent DIRECTLY from your school to the Board of Dentistry 
before your application can be deemed complete.  

 

Have you successfully completed the National Board Dental Exam?   Yes   No     

 

If taken under another name, please provide: ________________________________  
 
These results must be sent directly from The Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations to the Florida Board of 
Dentistry.  The contact information is:  211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60611, (800) 323-1694. 

5. Criminal History 
 

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to a crime in any jurisdiction 
other than a minor traffic offense?  You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld by 
the court so that you would not have a record or conviction.  Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is not a 
minor traffic offense for purposes of this question.             Yes   No       
         
If you answered “Yes” to the question above you are required to send the following items: 

 Self Explanation describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense; including dates, city and state, charges 

and final results. 

 Final Dispositions and Arrest Records for all offenses. The Clerk of the Court in the arresting jurisdiction will provide you 

with these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the form of a letter from the Clerk of the Court. 

 Completion of Sentence Documents. You may obtain documents from the Department of Corrections. The report must 

include the start date, end date and that the conditions were met.                                                                                        

 Yes   No     

4. Applicant Licensure Status 
 

Do you now hold or have you ever held a license to practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene in any state, U.S. territory 
or foreign country? (List most recent first)              Yes   No   

 

State/Jurisdiction    License No.     If no longer licensed, state why and when 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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  6. Criminal and Health Care Fraud Questions 
IMPORTANT NOTICE:   Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be excluded from licensure, 
certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.  If you 
answer YES to any of the following questions, please provide a written explanation for each question including the county and state of each 
termination or conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documentation to the address below. Supporting 
documentation includes court dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 

 
1. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony 

under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to fraudulent 
practices), Chapter 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another 
state or jurisdiction? If “no”, skip to #2.                                          Yes   No  

 

a. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of the plea, 

      sentence and completion of any subsequent probation?                          Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

           

b. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the plea, 
sentence and completion of any subsequent probation?  (This question does not apply to felonies of the third degree 
under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes).                  Yes   No      

 

c. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more 
than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation?          Yes   No    

 

d. If “yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony offense 
being withdrawn or the charges dismissed?  (If “yes”, please provide supporting documentation).       Yes   No    

 

2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony 
under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, 
welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)?   If “no”, skip to #3.               Yes   No  

 

a. If “yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any         
subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended?                   Yes   No 

 

3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 409.913, Florida 

       Statutes?  If “no”, skip to #4.            Yes   No 

        

a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid Program  

   for the most recent five years?                     Yes   No 

 

4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state from any 
other state Medicaid program?  If no, skip to #5.        Yes   No 

 

a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years?     Yes   No 

 

b. Did the termination occur at least 20 years prior to the date of this application?          Yes   No  

 

5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General's 
List of Excluded Individuals and Entities?           Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
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  7.   Applicant History – Professional Licensure – If any below questions are answered “YES”, you must provide 

complete details as to state(s), license number(s), dates, and relevant circumstances on attached sheet. 
 
Have you ever been denied the right to take a Dentistry or Dental Hygiene examination in any state?     Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
 
Have you ever been refused a license to practice Dentistry, Dental Hygiene or any other license, or the renewal thereof in any 
state?                              Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
 
Have you ever had a license or a certificate of registration to practice Dentistry, Dental Hygiene or any other licensed profession 
revoked, suspended or otherwise acted against (including probation, fine or reprimand) in a disciplinary proceeding in any state?                    
                    Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
 
Are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of the complaint against you was in alleged 
negligence, malpractice or lack of professional competence?                 Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
 
In any jurisdiction, do you have a pending complaint against your professional conduct or competence as a Dentist or Dental 
Hygienist?                   Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

  
         

8.   Statement of Financial Responsibility 
 
  I have obtained and will maintain professional liability coverage in an amount of not less than $100,000, with a minimum 
annual aggregate of not less than $300,000 from an authorized insurer as defined under Section 624.09, F.S., from a surplus 
lines insurer as defined under Section 626.914(2), F.S., from a risk retention group as defined under Section 627.942, F.S., 
from the Joint Underwriting Association established under Section 627.351(4), F.S., or through a plan of self-insurance as 
provided in Section 627.357, F.S 
 
  I have obtained and will maintain an unexpired, irrevocable letter of credit, established pursuant to Chapter 675, F.S., in an 
amount of not less than $100,000 per claim, with a minimum aggregate availability of credit not less than $300,000. 
 
  I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility because I practice exclusively as an officer, employee or agent of 
the federal government, or of the state or its agencies or subdivisions. 
 
  I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility because I practice only in conjunction with my teaching duties at 
an accredited school or in its main teaching hospitals. 
 
  I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility because I do not practice in the State of Florida. 
 
  I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility because I have no malpractice exposure in the State of Florida. 

9.   Drug Enforcement Administration Registration 
 
Are you registered with the DEA to prescribe controlled substances?    Yes   No                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

 
If yes, please provide your DEA number: _________________________ 
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  10.   Oath/Verification of Document 

 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and 
present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities 
(local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Florida Department of Health my information files or records requested by 
the department in connection with the processing of this application.  I further authorize the Florida Department of Health to 
release to the organizations, individuals and groups listed above, any information which is material to my application. I 
understand that it is my responsibility to supplement my application as needed to reflect any material changes in any 
circumstance or condition stated in the application which might affect the decision of the department and which takes place 
between the initial filing of the application and the final granting or denial of licensure.  I understand that the application fee is 
non-refundable. 

Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, 
suspension, or revocation of any license to practice in the State of Florida the profession for which I am applying.  

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing Dental Licensure Application and that the facts stated in 
it are true.  

 

Applicant Signature ________________________________________ Date __________________________  

 

 

  11.   Remarks 
 

This section is for any additional information you would like to give us.  Please refer to the section number 
(within the application) you are referring to.  An example would be:  #2, Applicant Profile Data.  

 
________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE* 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
*Pursuant to 466(a)(13), 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13), the department is required and authorized to collect 
Social Security Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure. Additionally, section 
456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes the collection of Social Security Numbers as part of the 
general licensing provisions. This information is exempt from public records disclosure. 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

12.   Name:             Social Security Number: 
 
__________________________________________________        _______________________________  
Last   First   Middle 

13.   Applicant Health History - If you answer "YES" to any of the following questions, you must submit a current 

mental health status report from a licensed mental health professional, wherein this professional practitioner opines that 
you are able to practice with reasonable skill and safety to patients or clients. 
 

1. Do you have any condition that currently impairs your ability to practice your profession with reasonable 
skill and safety?           Yes   No    

           

2. Are you using medications, other drugs, narcotics, or intoxicating chemicals that impair your ability to 
practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety?      Yes   No    

      

If you answered "yes" to either of the above questions, please provide a letter from a licensed health care 
practitioner, who is qualified by skill and training to address your condition, which explains the impact your 
condition may have on your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety, and stating 
either that you are safe to practice your profession without restriction or indicating what restrictions are 
necessary. If necessary, you may attach additional sheets. Documentation must be current within the last 
year. If you fail to disclose the information requested in this section, your application may be denied. 
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CERTIFICATE OF LICENSURE 

 

Instructions:  For your convenience, you may tear out this page and send it to the Secretary of the Board in the state(s) 
where you hold or have held a license. However, only certificates bearing the ORIGINAL signature of certifying authorities 
will be accepted by the Florida Board of Dentistry. 

CERTIFICATION OF SECRETARY OF BOARD OF THE STATE 
IN WHICH APPLICANT HOLDS OR HAS HELD A  

DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE 
(Required of all previously licensed candidates) 

 
I, _______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Secretary of _____________________________________________________________________ 
                                                               Official name of Board 
 

Hereby certify that _________________________was granted State Certificate No. ______________ 
 
to practice       Dentistry          Dental Hygiene       in the state of _______________________ 
 
on the _____________ day of _____________, 20_____, on the basis of ____________________ 
 
 

 
➢ I hereby certify that the said applicant is in good standing with this board and there have not been 

any disciplinary procedures against, or pending on, said applicant. 
 
 
 
                (SEAL) 
     NOT VALID WITHOUT 
             STATE SEAL                                                  _______________________________________ 
                                                                                                     Secretary 
 
➢ If disciplinary action has been taken, please indicate, and submit supporting information. 
 
 


	IMPORTANT INFORMATION
	Applicants who complete the ADEX examination in a jurisdiction other than Florida may be required to complete additional requirements. Please read s. 466.006, Florida Statutes, Rule 64B5-2.0150, F.A.C., and Rule 64B5-2.0152, F.A.C prior to submitting ...



