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 BOARD OF DENTISTRY  
GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES 

August 23, 2019 
Omni Jacksonville Hotel 

245 Water Street 
Jacksonville, Florida 32202 

(904) 355-6664 
7:30 A.M. 

 
Participants in this public meeting should be aware that these proceedings are being recorded 

and that an audio file of the meeting will be posted to the board's website. 
 

 

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL 

 
MEMBERS PRESENT     STAFF PRESENT  
Claudio Miro, DDS, Chair    Jennifer Wenhold, Executive Director 
Nick White, DMD     Jessica Sapp, Program Administrator   
Nick Kavouklis, DMD                           
T.J. Tejera, DMD, MD     BOARD COUNSEL 
Angela Sissine, RDH     David Flynn, Esq. 
Fabio Andrade, Consumer Member   Senior Assistant Attorney General 
      
       PROSECUTION SERVICES UNIT  
MEMBERS ABSENT     John Wilson, Esq. 
Matthew Freedman, DMD    Octavio Ponce, Esq.                 
Naved Fatmi, DMD, Vice-Chair   Chad Dunn, Esq. 
Catherine Cabanzon, RDH, BASDH   Kelly Fox, Esq. 
   
COURT REPORTER 
Phipps Reporting 
Mary Hlavac, RMR, CRR 
Hlavac.Mary@gmail.com 
(904) 476-1556  
 

 
II. DISCIPLINARY  PROCEEDINGS 

A. Informal Hearings 

i. Charles Graper, DDS, Case No. 2018-06783 

(PCP – Miro, Gesek, Melzer) 

 

Dr. Graper was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Tullio 
Iacono, Esq. 
 
Mr. Ponce summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violations: Count I: Section 466.028(1)(b), Florida Statutes, by having the Georgia Board of 
Dentistry revoke his license to practice dentistry in the State of Georgia. Count II: Section 
456.072(1)(f), Florida Statutes, by voluntarily relinquishing his medical license in the State 
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of Georgia in response to or in anticipation of disciplinary action. Count III: Section 
466.028(1)(ii), Florida Statutes, by failing to report to the Board in writing within 30 days of 
the discipline taken in Georgia.  
 
Respondent untimely submitted a motion to dismiss Count II of the Administrative 
Complaint. After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. White to dismiss Count II 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 

 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to find that the Respondent was properly served and has requested 
an informal hearing. 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Dr. White to adopt the findings of fact as set forth in the Administrative 
Complaint.    
Second: by Dr. Kavouklis 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to adopt the investigative report into evidence in this proceeding.  
Second: by Dr. White  
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Dr. White to adopt the conclusions of law as set forth in the Administrative 
Complaint and find that the conduct alleged constitute violations of the Practice Act 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to impose revocation 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Costs: by Mr. Andrade to assess costs in the amount of $11,360.97 to be paid within 1 year 
Second: Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Respondent requested two years to pay the costs 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to amend the motion for costs to allow two (2) years to pay costs.  
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 

ii. Case Tabled 
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iii. Justin DeVack, DDS, Case No.  

(PCP – Fatmi, Morgan, Cabanzon) 

 
Dr. Devack was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Evan 
Marowitz, Esq.  
 
Mr. Ponce summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violation: Count I: Section 456.028(1)(c), Florida Statutes, by entering a guilty plea to one 
count of Possession of a Controlled Substance, a third-degree felony in violation of Section 
893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, which relates to the practice of, or the ability to practice 
dentistry.  
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to find that the Respondent was properly served and has requested 
an informal hearing. 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to adopt the findings of fact as set forth in the Administrative 
Complaint.    
Second: by Dr. White   
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to adopt the investigative report into evidence in this proceeding.  
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to adopt the conclusions of law as set forth in the Administrative 
Complaint and find that the conduct alleged constitute violations of the Practice Act 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to impose the following penalties: 

• Letter of concern 

• $5,000.00 fine to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Probation to run concurrent with his PRN contract 

• Prohibited from seeking reinstatement of DEA license 

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules Exam 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
Vote:  Passed 4/2 
 
Costs: by Dr. Tejera to assess costs in the amount of $1,358.18 to be paid within one (1) 
year 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
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B. Settlement Agreements 

i. Case Tabled 

 

ii. Ganesh Rajagopalan, DDS, Case No. 2017-13074 

(PCP – Fatmi, Britten, Morgan) 
 
Dr. Rajagopalan was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by 
Richard Brooderson, Esq.  
 
Ms. Fox presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violations: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(m), Florida Statutes, by failing to justify in writing 
why Respondent gave one or more prescriptions for Percocet, and who the prescription 
was intended for. Count II: Section 466.028(1)(p), Florida Statutes, by prescribing drugs 
other than in the course of the professional practice as a dentist. 
 
A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Letter of Concern 

• Fine of $2,000.00 to be paid within six (6) months 

• Costs of $2,809.27 to be paid within six (6) months 

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry: 3 clock hours on Prescribing Medications  

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
 
A vote was not taken and after further discussion, Ms. Sissine withdrew the motion. 
 
Motion: by Dr. White to reject the Settlement Agreement and counter with the following terms: 

• $17,500.00 fine to be paid within one (1) year  

• Complete a 3-credit hour course in Ethics 

• Permanently restricted from prescribing scheduled 2 controlled substances 

• All other terms to remain the same 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Respondent will have 10 days to respond to the counter offer.  
 

iii. Anthony Di Re, DMD, Case No. 2015-09557 

(PCP – Thomas, Britten, Calderone) 
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Dr. Di Re was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Jon 
Pellett, Esq.  
 
Mr. Dunn presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violations: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(m), Florida Statutes, by failing to keep a written 
dental record of the exam results of tooth number 31 in justification of the root canal 
treatment. Count II: Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, by failing to adequately 
diagnose the perforation of tooth number 31; and by failing to adequately obturate the 
canals of tooth number 30 during the root canal treatment. 
 
A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Letter of Concern 

• Fine of $3,000.00 to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Costs of $3,561.32 to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry: 3-6 hours in Diagnosis and Treatment Planning and 3-6 hours in 
Endodontics 

• Patient reimbursement in the amount of $4,762.40 to be paid within twelve (12) 
months  

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the Settlement Agreement 
Second: by Dr. Kavouklis 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

iv. Case Tabled 

 

v. Michael Andrew Gorman, DMD, Case No. 2016-29290 

(PCP – Fatmi, White, Morgan) 

 
Dr. Gorman was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by 
Michael Ragan, Esq.  
 
Mr. Ponce presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violations: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, by failing to diagnose and/or 
treat a root canal perforation in patient’s tooth 15; by failing to refer patient to another 
expert endodontist for resolving complications; by failing to inform patient about the 
perforation. Count II: Section 466.028(1)(m), Florida Statutes, by failing to document the 
root canal perforation in the clinical notes.  
 
A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Letter of Concern 

• Fine of $5,000.00 to be paid within twelve (12) months 
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• Costs of $4,393.17 to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry: 3 hours in Risk Management, 3-6 hours in Diagnosis and Treatment 
Planning, and 3-6 hours in Endodontics 

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
After discussion, the Board dismissed Count II of the Settlement Agreement and following 
action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to accept the Settlement Agreement 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

vi. Julie Ann Kennedy, DMD, Case No. 2017-08720 

(PCP – Fatmi, Britten, Morgan) 
 
Dr. Kennedy was present and sworn in by the court reporter. She was represented by Jon 
Pellett, Esq.  
 
Mr. Ponce presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violation: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(p), Florida Statutes, by prescribing, procuring, 
dispensing, administering, mixing, or otherwise preparing a legend drug, including any 
controlled substance, other than in the course of the professional practice of dentistry.  
 
A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Letter of Concern 

• Costs of $3,899.11 fine to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry: 3-6 hours in Pharmacology 

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to dismiss the charge of Section 466.028(1)(p), Florida Statutes and 
to impose a record keeping violation, Section 466.028(1)(p), Florida Statutes. Dr. Tejera 
rejected the settlement and offered a counter that includes the same terms except to 
require a 3-6 Record Keeping course instead of Pharmacology. 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Respondent agreed on the charge and accepted the counter agreement on the record.  
 

vii. Duongvannak J.B. Keo, DMD, Case No. 2017-04930 

(PCP – Miro, Gesek, Melzer) 
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Dr. Keo was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Jon Pellett, 
Esq.  
 
Mr. Ponce presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violation: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, by failing to remove all of the 
decay on patient’s tooth 15 before permanently cementing a crown; by failing to adequately 
seat and seal the crown he permanently cemented to avoid open margins; by failing to 
place the crown he permanently cemented to avoid violating patient’s biologic width; and by 
failing to diagnose one or more of the above deficiencies.  
 
A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Letter of Concern 

• Fine of $3,000.00 to be paid within six (6) months 

• Costs of $3,940.69 to be paid within six (6) months  

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry: 3-6 hours in Diagnosis and Treatment Planning and a 3-6 hour course 
in Crown and Bridge 

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Kavouklis to accept the Settlement Agreement 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

viii. Veronica Anne Thompson, DDS, Case No. 2014-16208 

(PCP – Fatmi, Thomas, Britten/Fatmi, Thomas, Morgan/Miro, Gesek, 
Melzer) 

 
Dr. Thompson was present and sworn in by the court reporter. She was represented by 
Carol Schriefer, Esq.  
 
Mr. Wilson presented the case to the Board. Respondent was charged with the following 
violations: Count I:  Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, by failing to obtain a medical 
consultation from the patient’s doctor prior to administering anesthesia; by failing to conduct 
a pre-anesthesia examination including airway evaluation and risk assessment; by failing to 
administer the proper amount of anesthesia to the patient; by failing to properly titrate 
anesthesia medication to the patient; by failing to follow the proper emergency protocols 
when the patient went into cardiac arrest by not administering Epinephrine; by failing to use 
an oropharyngeal airway or nasopharyngeal airway to improve ventilation; by failing to 
administer Flumazenil or Naloxone to the patient. Count II: Section 466.028(1)(gg), Florida 
Statutes, by failing to examine and record the examination including airway and risk 
assessment. Count III: Section 466.028(1)(gg), Florida Statutes, by failing to record the 
patient’s vital signs every five minutes. Count IV: Section 466.028(1)(gg), Florida Statutes, 
by failing to obtain a deep sedation permit prior to administering deep sedation to the 
patient.  
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A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms: 

• Appearance 

• Reprimand 

• Fine of $10,000.00 to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Costs of $28,681.34 to be paid within twelve (12) months 

• Suspension of license until compliant with the continuing education requirement 

• Restriction of license: Respondent shall not engage in the practice of conscious 
sedation dentistry and never apply for a conscious sedation permit. 

• Continuing Education to be completed through a Florida accredited college of 
dentistry:  

o A continuum in managing dental emergencies, to include Airway 
Management, Managing Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 
Prevention of Medical Errors, and Risk Management. 

o Three hours in Record Keeping 

• Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months 
 
 
The Board took official recognition of the Respondent’s Notice of Filing. 
 
Dr. Smith, DDS, was present and answered the Board’s questions regarding the events 
that occurred.  
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to reject the Settlement Agreement and directed Prosecution 
Services to litigate the case at the Division of Administrative Hearings.   
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

C. Voluntary Relinquishment 

i. Anna Krawiew, DR, Case No. 2018-05649 

(PCP – Waived) 

 

Ms. Krawiew was not present nor represented. She allegedly violated Sections 
456.072(1)(a)(c)(k)(l)(m)(n)(dd), Florida Statutes, and Sections 466.028(1)(c)(i)(j)(l)(t)(mm), 
Florida Statutes.  

 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the Voluntary Relinquishment 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

III. PROSECUTION REPORT 
A. Chad Dunn, Assistant General Counsel 

 
Mr. Dunn presented the prosecution report. 
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Motion: by Dr. Tejera to allow prosecution to continue processing year and older cases 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous  
 
 

IV. PETITION FOR MODIFICATION OF FINAL ORDER 

A. Carolina Ospina, DN 20909 

Case No. 2017-06884 

 
Dr. Ospina was not present nor represented by counsel. She submitted a petition on June 
21, 2019 requesting the Board grant an extension of 90 days after the return to practice to 
pay her fine.  The Board previously granted a 90-day extension on May 23, 2019. 
 

After discussion, the following action was taken: 

 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to grant the extension as requested 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

B. Sarah G. Parker, DH 21611 

Case No. 2017-09002 

 

Ms. Parker was present and sworn in by the court reporter. She submitted a petition on July 
22, 2019 requesting the Board waive the Ethics course requirement, or replace with 
community service hours, imposed in her previous discipline.  
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to modify the Order to allow for a 3-hour online Ethics course by a 
board approved CE provider 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 

V. PETITION FOR VARIANCE OF WAIVER OF RULE 

A. Tallahassee Memorial Hospital and David Rubin, DN 14780 

Rule 64B5-17.013, F.A.C. 
 
Jon Pellett, Esq was present to represent Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare (TMH). Also 
present was Dr. Watson, MD, Vice President of TMH. A petition was filed requesting the 
Board grant a variance from Rule 64B5-17.013, F.A.C., which prohibits non-dentists from 
employing oral/maxillofacial surgeons to provide inpatient services, and the Petitioners be 
allowed to meet the purpose of the statutes by permitting Tallahassee Memorial Hospital 
(TMH) to employ Dr. Rubin and other oral/maxillofacial surgeons to provide inpatient 
oral/maxillofacial services to TMH patients. 
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After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Kavouklis to grant the petition as discussed 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Motion failed with a 3/3 vote 
 
The Board and petitioner discussed tabling this matter until the next meeting to allow the 
petitioner to file a Declaratory Statement. Petitioner waived the 90-day requirement 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to continue to the November meeting 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

 
VI. REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS 

A. Application for Moderate Sedation Permit 

i. Raul Molina, DN23743 
 
Dr. Molina was present and sworn in by the court reporter. His appearance was requested 
by the Anesthesia Chair, as the board office has not received proof of twenty (20) cases of 
clinical sedation using moderate sedation agents as required by Rule 64B5-14.003(2)(c).   
 
Dr. Molina withdrew his application.   
 

B. Application for Dental License 

i. Sheryl Green 
 
Dr. Green was present and sworn in by the court reporter. Her appearance was requested 
due to her previous discipline in North Carolina and Texas.  
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to grant the license 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

C. Application for Dental Hygiene License 

i. Jeremy Chciuk Davis 
 
Mr. Davis was present and sworn in by the court reporter. His appearance was requested 
due to his previous criminal history. 
 
Danielle Driscoll was present to support Mr. Davis and act as a character witness. 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
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Motion: by Ms. Sissine to approve this license with conditions that he complete an Anger 
Management course within 6 months. He must submit a proposal to the Chair within 15 
days and submit certificate of previous course he completed while incarcerated.  
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

ii. LaTasha Johnson 
 
Ms. Johnson was present and sworn in by the court reporter. Her appearance was 
requested due to her previous criminal history. 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to deny licensure due to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes. 
Second: by Dr. Miro 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

iii. Liliana Ortega 
 
Ms. Ortega was present and sworn in by the court reporter. Her appearance was requested 
due to her previous criminal history. 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to approve licensure 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

iv. Annette Utsler 
 
Ms. Utsler was present and sworn in by the court reporter. Her appearance was requested 
due to her previous criminal history. 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to approve licensure 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

 
VII. REQUEST FOR EVENT APPROVAL AND TO PROVIDE CONTINUING EDUCATION 

A. SmileFaith, Inc.  

 
Daniel Hernandez, Esq. was present to represent SmileFaith, Inc. A petition was filed 
requesting the Board approve the use of dentists licensed in other states to provide free 
dental care to indigent patients at upcoming charitable events. SmileFaith has a current 
non-profit permit issued by the Board of Dentistry, set to expire September 28, 2019. 
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SmileFaith, Inc filed a separate petition asking the Board to authorize them to provide 
continuing education credits for the provision of pro bono dental services at SmileFaith’s 
upcoming events. 
 

i. Request to Provide CE Pursuant to 64B5-12.0185, F.A.C. 
 

After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Kavouklis to approve 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Amend Rule 64B5-12.0185, F.A.C. to add SmileFaith, Inc.  
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be 
designated as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

ii. Petition for Approval of Event Pursuant to s. 466.002, F.S. 

 

After discussion, the following action was taken: 

 
Motion: by Dr. Kavouklis to table this request until SmileFaith, Inc. can prove they have a 
formal credentialing process in place.  
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 

VIII. REPORTS 

A. Board Counsel 

i. Rules Report 

ii. Annual Regulatory Plan  
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to delegate authority to the Chair and Board counsel to approve 
Second: by Ms. Sissine 
Vote: Unanimous 

iii. Rule 64B5-12.013, F.A.C. 

 
In response to HB 549, the following language has been proposed: 

64B5-12.013 Continuing Education Requirements; Specific Continuing Education 

Course Requirements; and Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Certification. 

(1) Minimum Continuing Education Hours: During each licensure biennium renewal period 
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(biennium), dentists shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education and dental 

hygienists shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education. 

(2) through (4) NO CHANGE 

(c) The HIV/AIDS course shall count towards the requirement of subsection (1). 

(5) Prescribing of Controlled Substances:  As part of ever biennial licensure renewal or for 

reactivation of a dental license, all licensed dentist shall complete a board-approved, two-hour 

continuing education course on the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substances.   

(a) The Board hereby deems the courses previously approved pursuant to section 456.0301, 

F.S., as approved to meet the requirement of this subsection.   

(b) This course shall count towards the requirement of subsection (1).   

(6) NO CHANGE 

 

This section is being proposed based on legislation passed in 2019 – HB 549; Ch. 2019-111, 
Laws of Florida (eff. July 1, 2019).   Previously, the course had to be offered by an entity that did 
not include the ability of a dental organization to offer the course and the requirement only 
applied to those who held a DEA permit.  The legislation now allows the course to be offered 
pursuant to the provision of Chapter 466 and it mandates that all licensed dentist take the 
course, not just those with a DEA permit.   
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Ms. Sissine to approve the proposed language 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be 
designated as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

iv. Rule 64B5-12.019, 12.020, and 12.020, F.A.C. 

 
These rules are being proposed for repeal as they have been incorporated into Rule 64B5-
12.013, F.A.C. 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to repeal 
Second: by Dr. Kavouklis 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
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v. Rule 64B5-10, F.A.C. 

 
The following revisions were proposed in response to correspondence received from the Joint 
Administrative Procedures Committee. 
 

64B5-10.004 Exemption of Spouses of Members of Armed Forces From Licensure Renewal 

Provisions. 

A licensee who is the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was 

caused to be absent from the State of Florida for a period of at least six consecutive months 

because of the spouse’s duties with the armed forces and who at the time the absence became 

necessary was in good standing with the Board of Dentistry and entitled to practice dentistry or 

dental hygiene in Florida shall be exempt from all licensure renewal provisions under these rules. 

The licensee must show satisfactory proof of the absence and the spouse’s military status through 

official military documents issued by the United States Armed Forces and through a marriage 

certificate.   
 
David orally amended to include documents by the Department of Defense and Homeland 
Security 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to approve the proposed language 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Ms. Andrade that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be 
designated as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

64B5-10.011 Retired Status and Reactivation of Retired Status License. 

(1) A licensee may place an active or inactive license in retired status at any time. If the license 

is placed in retired status at the time of renewal the licensee shall pay the retired status fee set 

forth in Rule 64B5-15.0122, F.A.C. If the licensee chooses to place the license in retired status at 

any time other than at the time of license renewal the licensee shall pay the change of status 

processing fee set forth in Rule 64B5-15.0121, F.A.C., and the retired status fee set forth in Rule 

64B5-15.0122, F.A.C. 

(2) A licensee may reactivate a retired status license at any time, subject to meeting the 

following requirements: 

(a) Paying the reactivation fee mandated in s. 456.036(12). F.S. forth in Rule 64B5-15.0091, 

F.A.C. ,, which mandates that the licensee “pay any renewal fees imposed on an active status 

licensee for all biennial licensure periods during which the licensee was on retired status.” 

(b) Showing documentary proof of satisfying the continuing education requirements of Rules 

64B5-12.013, 64B5-12.016, 64B5-12.019, 64B5-12.020, F.A.C., for each licensure biennial 

period in which the license was in retired status. 

(c) Dentists must demonstrate compliance with Rule 64B5-17.011, F.A.C., Financial 
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Responsibility. 

(3) Any dentist whose license has been on retired status for more than five (5) years or a 

licensee from another state who has not been in the active practice of dentistry within the past 

five (5) years shall be required to appear before the Credentials Committee of the Board and 

establish the ability to practice with care and skill sufficient to protect the health, safety and welfare 

of the public. At the time of such appearance, the dentist must: 

(a) Demonstrate compliance with subsection (2), above; 

(b) Account for any activities related to the practice of dentistry during the period that the 

licensee was on retired status or not practicing in another jurisdiction and establish an absence 

of malpractice or disciplinary actions pending in any jurisdiction. 

(4) The Department shall refuse to reactivate the license of a retired status dentist who is 

under investigation or prosecution in any jurisdiction for an action that would constitute a violation 

of this chapter or the professional practice acts administered by the department and the boards, 

until 15 days after the Department receives the final results of the investigation or prosecution. 

 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to approve the proposed language 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be 
designated as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

i. Rule 64B5-4.003, F.A.C. 

 
This rule was tabled to a future meeting 

 
B. Executive Director 

i. Financial Reports 

ii. Introduction of the application re-design project 

iii. SB 152, Dental Therapy 
 

C. Chair 
 

 
D. Board Members 

i. Ms. Sissine 

• Rules Committee Report 

The rules committee proposed the following revisions: 
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64B5-25.003 Required Sterilization and Disinfection Procedures. 

(1) At least one of the following procedures must be used in order to provide proper sterilization: 

(a) Steam under pressure (e.g., autoclave); 

(b) Dry-heat; 

(c) Chemical vapor; 

(d) Ethylene oxide; 

(e) Devices used to achieve sterilization must be approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA) for sterilization. 

(e) (f) Disinfectant/sterilant. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved 

disinfectant/sterilants or U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved sterilant may be used but are 

only appropriate for sterilization when used in appropriate dilution and for the time periods set forth in the 

manufacturer’s instructions for use recommendation and only on non-heat tolerant instruments which do 

not penetrate soft tissue. 

(2)(a) Surgical and other instruments that normally penetrate soft tissue or bone, including, but not 

limited to, forceps, scalpels, bone chisels, scalers, and surgical burs, must be sterilized after each use. 

(b) Instruments that are not intended to penetrate oral soft tissue or bone, including, but not limited to, 

high speed dental handpieces, contra-angles, prophy angles, amalgam condensers, plastic instruments, 

and burs, but that may come into contact with oral tissues must be sterilized after each use according to 

the manufacturer’s instructions for use. 

(c) However, if heat, steam under pressure, or chemical vapor sterilization of an instrument is not 

technically feasible, due to its size or composition, the instrument must undergo sterilization with a 

disinfectant/sterilant that destroys viruses and spores. Disinfectants must be registered by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a disinfectant/sterilant and must be used in accordance with 

the manufacturer’s recommendations and the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) 

in accordance with CDC Guidelines as defined and incorporated by reference in Rule 64B5-25.002(4), 

F.A.C. 

(d) High speed dental handpieces, slow speed dental sleeves and contra-angles, and prophy angles 

must be sterilized after each use using a heat or heat with pressure or heat with chemical method. The 

method used must be capable of sterilization. 

(e) Heat-sensitive instruments may require up to 10 hours of exposure in a liquid chemical agent 

registered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a disinfectant/sterilant. 

(3) Before sterilization, instruments must be cleaned to remove debris. Cleaning must be accomplished 

by a thorough scrubbing with soap or a detergent and water or by using an FDA approved mechanical 

device, such as an ultrasonic cleaner or an FDA-approved instrument washer following the manufacturer’s 

instructions for use recommendations. Metal or heat-stable dental instruments must be sterilized after each 

use by one of the procedures identified in paragraphs (a)-(d), of subsection (1), above. 

(4) Oral prosthetic appliances received from a dental laboratory must be washed with soap or a 

detergent and water, rinsed well, appropriately disinfected and rinsed well again before the prosthetic 

appliance is placed in the patient’s mouth. 

(5) At the completion of dental treatment, all surfaces that may have become contaminated with blood, 

saliva or other bodily fluids must be disinfected in accordance with CDC Guidelines as defined and 

incorporated by reference in Rule 64B5-25.002(4), F.A.C. using a procedure recommended by the Centers 

for Disease Control (CDC). 

(6) Disinfectant/sterilants appropriate for use under paragraph (e), of subsection (1), above, are only 

those disinfectant/sterilants that are registered by the EPA. Those disinfectant/sterilants must be used in 

accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations for correct use as a disinfectant/sterilant. 

(7) The sterilization and disinfection procedures required by this rule must be followed unless 
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appropriate disposable items are used. Disposable items may only be used on a one time basis and may 

never be used on more than one dental patient. The use of disposable items is encouraged.   

(8) Surgical or examination gloves and surgical masks shall be worn by all dentists, dental hygienists, 

and dental assistants while performing or assisting in the performance of any intra-oral dental procedure 

on a patient in which contact with blood and/or saliva is imminent. Surgical or examination gloves must be 

changed between patients. Hands shall be washed with soap and water and dried immediately after 

removing and prior to replacing gloves. A healthcare grade alcohol-based hand rub may also be used 

according to the most current CDC Guidelines as defined and incorporated by reference in Rule 64B5-

25.002(4), F.A.C. Gloves are never to be washed and reused. Surgical or examination gloves that are 

punctured or torn must be removed and replaced immediately with new gloves following rewashing of 

provider’s hands with soap and water. It is recommended that Protective eyewear protection must be worn 

by all dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants while performing or assisting in the performance of 

any dental procedure on a patient in accordance with OSHA’s Bloodborne Pathogen Standard, as defined 

and incorporated by reference in Rule 64B5-25.002(5), F.A.C., and the CDC Guidelines as defined and 

incorporated by reference in Rule 64B5-25.002(4), F.A.C . recommendations. 

(9) The procedures and equipment used for sterilization must have their efficacy tested periodically. 

Adequacy of steam under pressure (e.g. autoclave) or chemical vapor sterilization must have their efficacy 

verified by appropriate biological monitoring at least once every 40 hours (2400 minutes) of use or at least 

once every thirty days, whichever comes first. Dry heat and ethylene oxide sterilizers must have their 

efficacy verified with appropriate biological monitoring every 120 hours of operation at sterilization 

parameters or every thirty days, whichever comes first. (Use time is determined by multiplying the number 

of cycles by the individual cycle time.) Disinfectant/sterilants as set forth in paragraph (e), of subsection (1), 

above, when used instead of heat sterilization procedures, must be used according to the manufacturer’s 

recommended dilution and exposure time and must be changed according to the manufacturer’s 

recommendations. 

(10) All OSHA category 2 employees must be provided with and must use the barrier techniques 

required by this rule when they are in situations where they may be exposed to blood, saliva, or other bodily 

fluids from the patient during the treatment or examination process. 

 

After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to accept the proposed language 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be 
designated as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 

Motion: by Ms. Sissine to open the disciplinary guidelines to incorporate sanitization violations 
Second: by Dr. Miro 
Vote: Unanimous 
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ii. Ms. Cabanzon 

• Council on Dental Hygiene Report 

 
This item was tabled to the November board meeting.  

 

iii. Dr. Tejera 

•  Chapter 14, F.A.C. Revisions 

Proposed changes are attached as Exhibit A. Oral amendments made are reflected in the 
motions below.  
 
Rule 64B5-14.001 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to accept the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. Tejera 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. Miro 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Rule 64B5-14.002 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Rule 64B5-14.0025 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the proposed revisions 
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Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Sub-paragraphs (4)(5) and (6) will be left as originally drafted while the applications are being 
redesigned. 
 
Rule 64B5-14.003 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
In sub-paragraph (1)(c) and (2)(f), and strike out “special needs patient”. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions as orally amended  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The number of general anesthesia permit holders that treat patients is a small number. The 
airway management course and medical emergencies is being combined to alleviate the 
burden. 
 
Notify permit holders, specifically moderate sedation permit holders, of the team approach 
changes.  
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Rule 64B5-14.0032 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. Kavouklis 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
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Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.0036 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.004 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.005 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to repeal this section 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
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The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.006 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Rule 64B5-14.007 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. Kavouklis 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.008 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
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The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 
Rule 64B5-14.009 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
Rule 64B5-14.010 
 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera to approve the proposed revisions 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
The Board considered the economic impact and determined that a Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was not necessary and the rule will not need legislative ratification. 
 
Motion: by Dr. Tejera that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated 
as a minor violation.  
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

IX. DISCUSSION 
 

X. FOR YOUR INFORMATION 

A. 2018 Florida SEOW Annual Report 
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XI. NEW BUSINESS 

A. Licensure Ratification Lists 

 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to approve 
Second: by   Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 

 

B. Anesthesia Ratification List 

 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Mr. Andrade to approve 
Second: by Dr. White 
Vote: Unanimous 

 
 

XII. OLD BUSINESS 

A. Approval of Board Meeting Minutes – May 17, 2019 

 
After discussion, the following action was taken: 
 
Motion: by Dr. White to approve 
Second: by Mr. Andrade 
Vote: Unanimous 
 
 

XIII. ADJOURNMENT 
 

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m. 
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CHAPTER 64B5-14 

ANESTHESIA 

64B5-14.001 Definitions 

64B5-14.002 Prohibitions 

64B5-14.0025 Application for Permit  

64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits 
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64B5-14.007 Inspection of Facilities and Demonstration of Sedation Technique 

64B5-14.008 Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation: Operatory, Recovery 

Room, Equipment, Medicinal Drugs, Emergency Protocols, Records, and Continuous 

Monitoring 

64B5-14.009 Moderate Sedation Requirements: Operatory, Recovery Room, Equipment, 

Medicinal Drugs, Emergency Protocols, Records, and Continuous Monitoring 

64B5-14.010 Pediatric Moderate Sedation Requirements: Operatory; Recovery Room, Equipment, 
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64B5-14.001 Definitions. 

(1) Anesthesia – The loss of feeling or sensation, especially loss of the sensation of pain. 

(2) General anesthesia – A controlled state of unconsciousness, produced by a pharmacologic 

agent, accompanied by a partial or complete loss of protective reflexes, including inability to 

independently maintain an airway and respond purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal 

command. This modality includes administration of medications via parenteral routes; that is: 

intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that 

is oral, rectal, or transmucosal. 

(3) Deep Sedation – A controlled state of depressed consciousness accompanied by partial loss 

of protective reflexes, including either or both the inability to continually maintain an airway 

independently or to respond appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal command, produced by 

pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic method or combination thereof. Deep sedation includes 

administration of medications via parenteral routes; that is intravenous, intra muscular, 

subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral, rectal, or 

transmucosal. 

(4) Moderate sedation – A depressed level of consciousness produced by the administration of 

pharmacologic substances, that retains the patient’s ability to independently and continuously 

maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal command. This 

modality includes administration of medications via all parenteral routes, that is, intravenous, 

intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, as well as enteral routes, that is oral, 

rectal, or transmucosal. The drugs, and techniques used should shall carry a margin of safety wide 

enough to render unintended loss of consciousness unlikely. 

(5) Pediatric Moderate Sedation – A depressed level of consciousness produced by the 

administration of pharmacologic substances, that retains a child patient’s ability to independently 

and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal 

command. This modality includes administration of medication via all parenteral routes; that is 

intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous, submucosal, or inhalation, and all enteral routes; that is 

oral, rectal, or transmucosal. The drugs, doses, and techniques used should shall carry a margin of 

safety wide enough to render unintended loss of consciousness unlikely. For the purposes of this 

chapter, a child pediatric patient is defined as an individual under 18 years of age, or any person 

who has special needs, which means having a physical or mental impairment that substantially 
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limits one or more major life activities. 

(6) Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia – The administration by inhalation of a combination of 

nitrous-oxide and oxygen producing an altered level of consciousness that retains the patient’s 

ability to independently and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical 

stimulation or verbal command. 

(7) Local anesthesia – The loss of sensation of pain in a specific area of the body, generally 

produced by a topically applied agent or injected agent without causing the loss of consciousness. 

(8) Analgesia – Absence of sensibility of pain, designating particularly the relief of pain without 

loss of consciousness. 

(9) Office team approach – A methodology employed by a dentist in the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, and pediatric sedation whereby the dentist uses one 

two or more qualified assistants/dental hygienists who, working under the direct supervision of the 

dentist, assist the dentist, and assist in emergency care of the patient. A dentist who is permitted by 

these rules to administer and employ the use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate 

sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation shall employ the office team approach.  

(10) Minimal Sedation – The perioperative use of medication to relieve anxiety before or during a 

dental procedure which does not produce a depressed level of consciousness and maintains the 

patient’s ability to maintain an airway independently and to respond appropriately to physical and 

verbal stimulation. This minimal sedation shall include the administration of a single enteral sedative 

or a single narcotic analgesic medication administered in doses a single dose appropriate for the 

unsupervised treatment of anxiety and pain. If clinically indicated, an opiod analgesic may also be 

administered during or following a procedure if needed for the treatment of pain. Except in extremely 

unusual circumstances, the cumulative dose shall not exceed the maximum recommended dose (as 

per the manufacturers recommendation). It is understood that even at appropriate doses a patient 

may occasionally drift into a state that is deeper than minimal sedation. As long as the intent was 

minimal sedation and all of the above guidelines were observed, this shall not automatically 

constitute a violation. A permit shall not be required for the perioperative use of medication for the 

purpose of providing minimal sedation. 

(11) Titration of Oral Medication – The administration of small incremental doses of an orally 

administered medication until an intended level of moderate sedation is observed. 

(12) Physician anesthesiologist – Any physician licensed pursuant to Chapter 458 or 459, F.S., 



4 

 

who is currently board certified or board eligible by the American Board of Anesthesiology or the 

American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology, or is credentialed to administer anesthesia in a 

hospital or ambulatory surgical facility licensed by the Department of Health.pursuant to Chapter 

395, F.S. 

(13) Qualified Anesthetist: means an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Practitioner who is 

licensed in this state to practice professional nursing and who is certified in the advanced or 

specialized nursing practice as a certified registered nurse anesthetist pursuant to Chapter 464, Part 

I, F.S. 

(14) Certified Registered Dental Hygienist: means any Florida licensed dental hygienist who is 

certified by the Board and has received a certificate from the Department of Health that allows the 

administration of local anesthesia while the CRDH is appropriately directly supervised by a Florida 

licensed dentist. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), 

466.017(5) FS. History–New 1-31-80, Amended 4-7-86, Formerly 21G-14.01, Amended 12-31-86, 

6-1-87, 9-1-87, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-14.001, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.001, Amended 

8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.001, Amended 3-9-03, 11-4-03, 7-3-06, 6-11-07, 8-5-12, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.002 Prohibitions. 

(1) Levels of Anesthesia. No dentist licensed in this state shall administer or employ the use of 

general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, and pediatric moderate sedation until they 

have obtained a permit as required by the provision of this chapter, unless specifically authorized 

otherwise by this chapter. The permit requirements of this chapter do not apply when treating 

patients at hospitals or ambulatory surgery centers licensed pursuant to Chapter 395, F.S. 

 (1) General anesthesia or deep sedation. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer 

moderate anesthesia or deep sedation in the practice of dentistry until they have obtained a permit 

as required by the provisions of this rule chapter. 

(2) Moderate sedation. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer moderate sedation in 

the practice of dentistry until they have obtained a permit as required by the provisions of this rule 

chapter. 

(3) Pediatric Moderate Sedation: No dentist licensed in this State shall administer Pediatric 

Moderate Sedation in the practice of dentistry until such dentist has obtained a permit as required by 

the provisions of this rule chapter. 

(24) Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia. No dentists licensed in this State shall administer 

nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia in the practice of dentistry until they have complied with the 

provisions of this rule chapter. No agents other than nitrous-oxide and oxygen shall be  used for 

inhalation analgesia pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C. 

(35) Local anesthesia. Dentists licensed in this State may use local anesthetics to produce local 

anesthesia in the course of their practice of dentistry. Certified Registered Dental Hygienists are the 

only hygienists allowed to adminster local anesthesia. 

(6) only agents that can be used for inhalation analgesia pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C., 

below are nitrous-oxide and oxygen. 

(47) Titration of Oral Medication. The Board of Dentistry has determined that the perioperative 

titration of oral medication(s) with the intent to achieve a level of moderate sedation poses a 

potential overdosing threat due to the unpredictability of enteral absorption and may result in an 

alteration of the state of consciousness of a patient beyond the intent of the practitioner. Such 

potentially adverse consequences may require immediate intervention and appropriate training and 

equipment. Beginning with the effective date of this rule, Nno dentist licensed in this state shall use 

any oral medication(s) to induce moderate sedation until such dentist has obtained a permit as 
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required by the provisions of this rule chapter. The use of enteral sedatives or narcotic analgesic 

medications for the purpose of providing minimal sedation as defined by and in accordance with 

subsection 64B5-14.001(10), F.A.C., shall not be deemed titration of oral medication and shall not 

be prohibited by this rule. 

(58) The following general anesthetic drugs shall not be employed on or administered to a 

patient by a dentist unless the dentist possesses a valid general anesthesia permit issued by the 

Board pursuant to the requirements of this chapter: propofol, methohexital, thiopental, etomidate, 

ketamine, dexmedetomidine, or volatile gases (i.e., sevoflurane, isoflurane). 

(69) A hygienist certified by the board to administer local anesthesia shall not administer local 

anesthesia to a patient sedated by general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or 

pediatric moderate sedation. If a dentist has administered nitrous-oxide to the patient, the certified 

dental hygienist may administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of the supervising 

dentist. A patient who has been prescribed a medical drug by their licensed health care provider for 

the purposes of life functions may be administered local anesthesia by the certified dental hygienist 

under the direct supervision of the supervising dentist. If, however, the medical drug is prescribed or 

administered for the purposes of a dental procedure which is intended to induce minimal sedation, 

the hygienist may not administer local anesthesia to the patient. 

(7) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to allow a dentist or dental hygienist or assistant to 

administer to herself or himself or to any person any drug or agent used for anesthesia, analgesia or 

sedation other than in the course of the practice of dentistry. 

(8) A dentist utilizing general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or pediatric 

moderate sedation in the dental office may only have one patient at a time induced. A second 

patient shall not be induced until the first patient is awake, alert, conscious, spontaneously 

breathing, has stable vital signs, is under the care of a responsible adult, and that portion of the 

procedure requiring the participation of the dentist is complete. In an office setting where two or 

more permit holders are present simultaneously, each may sedate one patient provided that the 

office has the necessary staff and equipment for each sedated patient. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), 

466.017(5) FS. History–New 1-31-80, Amended 4-20-81, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.02, 21G-

14.002, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.002, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.002, 

Amended 3-9-03, 11-4-03, 6-15-06, 12-25-06, 12-11-11, 8-5-12, 12-15-14, 7-14-16, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.0025 Application for Permit. 

(1) Unless authorized by this chapter, no dentist shall administer, supervise or permit another 

health care practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001, F.S., or perform the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation or pediatric moderate sedation in a dental office for 

dental patients, unless such dentist possesses a permit issued by the Board.  A permit is required 

even when another health care practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001, F.S., administers general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation in a dental office for 

a dental patient. The dentist holding such a permit shall be subject to review and such permit must 

be renewed biennially. Each dentist in a practice who performs the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation or pediatric moderate sedation shall each possess 

an individual permit. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit administration of 

anesthetics as part of a program authorized by Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C., any other educational 

program authorized by Board rule, for training in the anesthetic being administered, or pursuant to a 

demonstration for inspectors pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C. 

(2) An applicant for any type of anesthesia permit must demonstrate submit proof of both: 

(a) Training in the particular type of anesthesia listed in Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.; and, 

(b) Documentation of actual clinical administration of anesthetics to 20 dental or oral and 

maxillofacial patients within two (2) years prior to application of the particular type of anesthetics for 

the permit applied for. However, if the applicant is aplying for a pediatric moderate sedation permit 

and the actual clinical demonstration of anesthetics has been more than two years prior to the 

submission of the application, the applicant shall be entitled to licensure if the aplicant has 

completed the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry’s comprehensive course on the Safe & 

Effective Sedation for the Pediatric Dental Patient within six (6) months prior to the submission of 

the pediactric moderate sedation permit application.  

(3) Prior to the issuance of such permit, an on-site inspection of the facility, equipment, drugs 

and personnel will shall be conducted pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C., to determine if the 

requirements of this chapter have been met. 

(4) An application applicant for a general anesthesia permit shall apply on form DH-MQA XXX. 

(8/19), incorporated herein by reference and available at http:// … and must include the application 

fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 

64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without inspection of the 
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8 

 

applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and 

identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or 

employ general anesthesia or deep sedation. 

(5) An application applicant for a moderate sedation permit shall apply on form DH-MQA XXXX 

(8/19), incorporated herein by reference and avaliable at http:// … and must include the application 

fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 

64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without inspection of the 

applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and 

identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or 

employ moderate sedation. 

(6) An application applicant for a pediatric moderate sedation permit shall apply on form DH-

MQA XXXX, (8/19) incorporated herein by reference and avaliable at http:// … and must include the 

application fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee 

specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without 

inspection of the applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this 

chapter; and identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized 

to use or employ pediatric moderate sedation. 

(7) The Board Department shall renew the permit biennially upon application by the permit 

holder, proof of continuing education required by subsection 64B5-14.004, F.A.C., and payment of 

the renewal fee specified by Rule 64B5-15.019, F.A.C., unless the holder is informed in writing that 

a re-evaluation of his credentials and facility is to be required. In determining whether such re-

evaluation is necessary, the Board shall consider such factors as it deems pertinent including, but 

not limited to, patient complaints, reports of adverse occurrences and the results of inspections 

conducted pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C. Such re-evaluation shall be carried out in the 

manner described in subsection (2), set forth above.  

(8) The holder of any general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation 

permit is authorized to practice pursuant to such permit only at the location or locations previously 

reported to the Board office. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 4-7-86, Amended 1-29-89, 

11-16-89, 11-8-90, 4-24-91, Formerly 21G-14.005, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.005, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-

14.005, Amended 12-12-00, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 2-22-06, 6-28-07, 7-5-10, 8-5-12, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits. 

(1) General Anesthesia Permit. 

(a) To be eligible for Aa permit to authorize the use of general anesthesia or deep sedation  shall 

be issued to an actively licensed dentist authorizing the use of general anesthesia or deep sedation 

at a specified practice location or locations on an outpatient basis for dental patients, provided the 

dentist shall comply with Rules 64B5-14.0025, F.A.C., and: 

1. Has completedComplete a minimum of a two year residency program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation in dental anesthesiology or has completed an oral and 

maxillofacial surgical residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

beyond the undergraduate dental school level, or 

2. Is a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, or 

3. Is eligible for examination by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery., or 

 4. Is a member of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. 

(b)  A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation shall maintain a properly 

equipped facility for the administration of general anesthesia, pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C. 

staffed with supervised assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling 

procedures, problems and emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment 

capability of delivering positive pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of general anesthesia or 

deep sedation requires at least three individuals, each appropriately trained in accordance with this 

chapter: the operating dentist, a person responsible for monitoring the patient, and a person to 

assist the operating dentist. 

(c) A dentist employing or using general anesthesia or deep sedation and all assistant/dental 

hygienist personnel shall be certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or 

equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to 

include one person CPR, two person CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway, with a 

periodic update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on 

March of 2000, a dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use 

of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, 

a dentist utilizing general anesthesia or deep sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced 
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Cardiac Life Support) or ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support). Effective March 1, 2022, If treating 

a patient under the age of 7, or a special needs patient,  a dentist utilizing any level of sedation must 

be currently trained in PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support). 

(d) A dentist permitted to administer general anesthesia or deep sedation under this rule may 

administer moderate sedation, pediatric moderate sedation and nitrous-oxide inhalation moderate 

sedation. 

 (e) A dentist employing or using deep sedation shall maintain an active and current permit to 

perform general anesthesia. 

(2) Moderate Sedation Permit. 

(a) To be eligible for Aa permit to authorize the shall be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of 

moderate sedation at a specified practice location or locations on an outpatient basis for dental 

patients, the dentist shall comply with Rules 64B5-14.0025, F.A.C., and: provided such dentist: 

1. Has received Complete a formal training course offered through a Commission on Dental 

Accreditation accredited dental school or program in the use of moderate sedation, or though an 

accredited teaching hospital.; Clinical training must take place at the CODA accredited dental school 

or accredited teaching hospital; and, 

2. iIs certified by the institution where the formal training was received to be competent in the 

administration of moderate sedation; and, iIs competent to handle all emergencies relating to 

moderate sedation. 

(b) Such The institution’s certification shall specify the type, the number of hours, the number of 

patients treated and the length of training. The minimum number of didactic hours shall be sixty (60), 

which must include four (4) hours of airway management. Airway management must include 

emergency airway management protocols. Clinical training shall include personal administration for 

at least twenty (20) patients including supervised training, clinical experience and demonstrated 

competence in airway management of the compromised airway. The program must certify that a 

total of three (3) hours of clinical training was dedicated to hands-on simulated competence training 

in emergencyin airway management of the compromised airway. 

(c) Personal Administration of Moderate Sedation: The board shall award credit towards the 

required twenty (20) dental patients, if and only if, the applicant is responsible for and remains with 

the patient from pre-anesthetic evaluation through discharge. The evaluation and responsibilities 

include the following: pre-anesthetic evaluation, induction, maintenance, emergencey, recovery, and 
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approval for discharge. The board will not award credit for dental anesthetic procedures performed 

that are greater than or less than the administration of moderate sedation. 

 (d) This formal training program shall be offered through an accredited dental school or 

program; or through an accredited, teaching hospital. 

(e) A dentist utilizing moderate sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the 

administration of moderate sedation, pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.009, F.A.C. staffed with supervised 

assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems, and 

emergencies incident thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive 

pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of moderate sedation requires at least two three 

individuals, each trained in accordance with this chapter: the operatinga dentist, a person resonsible 

for monitoring the patient, and a person to assist the operating dentist. and an auxiliary trained in 

basic cardiac life support. It shall be incumbent upon the operating dentist to ensure that the patient 

is appropriately monitored. 

(f) A dentist utilizing moderate sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall be 

certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency sponsored 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to include one person CPR, two 

person CPR, infant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic update not to exceed two 

years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, Aa dentist and all 

assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External 

Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing moderate 

sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support) or ATLS (Advanced 

Trauma Life Support). Effective March 1, 2022, if treating a patient under the age of 7 or special 

needs patient, a dentist utilizing moderate sedation must be currently trained in PALS (Pediatric 

Advanced Life Support). 

(g) Dentists permitted to administer moderate sedation may administer nitrous-oxide inhalation 

moderate sedation. 

(h) Dentists permitted to administer moderate sedation may also administer pediatric moderate 

sedation in compliance with Rule 64B5-14.010, F.A.C. 

(3) Pediatric Moderate Sedation Permit. 

(a) To be eligible for a permit to authorize the use of pediatric moderate sedation at a specified 
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practice location or locations on an outpatient basis for dental patients, the dentist shall comply with 

Rules 64B5-14.0025, F.A.C., and: A permit shall be issued to a dentist authorizing the use of 

pediatric moderate sedation at a specified practice location or locations on an outpatient basis for 

dental patients provided such dentist: 

1. Has receivedComplete formal training in the use of pediatric moderate sedation. This formal 

training program shall be offered through an Commission on Dental Accreditation accredited dental 

school or program, or through an accredted teaching hosital,; or through an CODA accredited 

pediatric residency program. Clinical training must take place at the CODA accredited dental school 

or accredited teaching hospital ;n accredited teaching program; and, 

2. Is certified by the institution where the formal training was received to be competent in the 

administration of pediatric moderate sedation and is competent to handle all emergencies relating to 

pediatric moderate sedation. This certification shall specify the type, the number of hours, the 

number of patients treated and the length of training. The minimum number of didactic hours shall 

be sixty (60), which must include four (4) hours of airway management. Clinical training shall include 

personal administration for at least twenty (20) patients including supervised training, management 

of sedation, clinical experience and demonstrated competence in airway management of the 

compromised airway. The program must certify that three (3) hours of clinical training was dedicated 

to hands-on simulated competence training in emergency airway management of the compromised 

airway; and, 

3. Personal Administration of Pediatric Moderate Sedation: The board shall award credit towards 

the required twenty (20) pediatric dental patients, if and only if, the applicant is responsible for and 

remains with the patient from pre-anesthetic evaluation through discharge. The evaluation and 

responsibilities include the following: pre-anesthetic evaluation, induction, maintenance, emergency, 

recovery, and approval for discharge. The board will not award credit for dental anesthetic 

procedures performed that are greater than or less than the administration of pediatric moderate 

sedation, or 

4. The applicant demonstrates that the applicant graduated, within 24 months prior to application 

for the permit, from an accredited post-doctoral pediatric residency. The pediatric residency 

anesthesia requirements must meet the minimum number of sedation cases as required in 

subsection (2). 

5. Is competent to handle all emergencies relating to pediatric moderate sedation. A dentist 
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utilizing pediatric moderate sedation shall maintain a properly equipped facility for the administration 

of pediatric moderate sedation, pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.010, F.A.C., staffed with supervised 

assistant/dental hygienist personnel, capable of reasonably handling procedures, problems, and 

emergencies incidental thereto. The facility must have the equipment capability of delivering positive 

pressure oxygen ventilation. Administration of pediatric moderate sedation requires at least two 

three individuals, each trained in accordance with this chapter: the operatinga dentist, a person 

resposible for monitring the patient, and a person to assist the operating dentist. an auxiliary trained 

in basic cardiac life support. It shall be incumbent upon the operating dentist to ensure that the 

patient is appropriately monitored. 

(b) A dentist utilizing pediatric moderate sedation and his assistant/dental hygienist personnel 

shall be certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent agency 

sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to include one person 

CPR, two person CPR, infant resuscitation, and obstructed airway with a periodic update not to 

exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 2000, a A dentist 

and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated 

External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing 

pediatric moderate sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support), 

PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support), or a course providing similar instruction which has been 

approved by the Board. An entity seeking approval of such a course shall appear before the Board 

and demonstrate that the content of such course and the hours of instruction are substantially 

equivalent to those in an ACLS or PALS course. 

(c) Dentists permitted to administer pediatric moderate sedation may administer nitrous-oxide 

inhalation moderate sedation. 

 (d) Dentists permitted to administer moderate sedation may administer pediatric moderate 

sedation. 

(4) Nitrous-Oxide Inhalation Analgesia. 

(a) A dentist may employ or use nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an outpatient basis for 

dental patients provided such dentist: 

1. Has completed no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental 

Association’s “Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students” 
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(eff. 10/07) Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry” , which is hereby incorporated 

by reference and avliable at http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-_ or available at 

http://www.floridadentistry.gov, or its equivalent, or 

2. Has training equivalent to that described above while a student in an accredited school of 

dentistry; and, 

3. Has a dental nitrous-oxide delivery system adequate equipment with fail-safe features and a 

2530% minimum oxygen flow. 

(b) A dentist utilizing nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia and such dentist’s assistant/dental 

hygienist personnel shall be certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or 

equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to 

include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway with a periodic 

update not to exceed two years. Starting with the licensure biennium commencing on March of 

2000, Aa dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either 

an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, 

a dentist utilizing pediatric moderate sedation must be currently trained in ACLS (Advanced Cardiac 

Life Support), ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support), or PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support). 

(c) A dentist who regularly and routinely utilized nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an 

outpatient basis in a competent and efficient manner for the three-year period preceding January 1, 

1986, but has not had the benefit of formal training outlined in subparagraphs 1. and 2., of 

paragraph (4)(a), above, may continue such use provided the dentist fulfills the provisions set forth 

in subparagraph 3., of paragraph (4)(a), and the provisions of paragraph (b), above. 

(d) Nitrous oxide may be used in combination with a single dose enteral sedative or a single 

dose narcotic analgesic to achieve a minimally depressed level of consciousness so long as the 

manufacturer’s maximum recommended dosage of the enteral agent is not exceeded. Nitrous oxide 

may not be used in combination with more than one (1) enteral agent, or by more than a single 

dose, or by dosing a single enteral agent in excess of the manufacturer’s maximum recommended 

dosage unless the administering dentist holds a moderate sedation permit issued in accordance 

with subsection 64B5-14.003(2), F.A.C., or a pediatric moderate sedation permit issued in 

accordance with Rule 64B5-14.003(3)10, F.A.C. 

(e) Dental assistants and dental hygienists may monitor nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia under 
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the direct supervision of a dentist if the dental assistant or dental hygienist has complied with the 

training requirements in Rule 64B5-14.003(4)(b) and has completed, at a minimum, a two-day 

course of training as described in the American Dental Association’s “Guidelines for Teaching Pain 

Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students” or its equivalent. After the dentist has 

induced a patient and established the maintenance level, the assistant or hygienist may monitor the 

administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making only diminishing adjustments during this 

administration and turning it off at the completion of the dental procedure. 

 

(5) Local Anesthesia Certificate or Permit: A permit or certificate to administer local anesthesia 

under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist to non-sedated patients eighteen (18) years 

of age or older shall be issued by the Department of Health to a Florida licensed dental hygienist 

who has completed the appropriate didactic and clinical education and experience as required by 

Section 466.017(5), F.S., and who has been certified by the Board as having met all the 

requirements of Section 466.017, F.S. 

(a) A registered dental hygienist who is seeking a permit or certificate for administering local 

anesthesia must apply to the department on form DH-MQA 1261 (May 2012), Application for Dental 

Hygiene Certification Administration of Local Anesthesia, herein incorporated by reference and 

available at http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-01469, or available on the 

Florida Board of Dentistry website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/dentistryfloridasdentistry.gov. 

(b) An applicant shall submit the following with the application: 

1. A thirty-five dollar ($35) non refundable certificate or permit fee, 

2. A certified copy of the applicant’s transcripts that reflect the required didactic and clinical 

education and experience, 

3. A certified copy of the diploma or certificate issued by the applicant’s institution, program, or 

school; and, 

4. Proof of acceptable certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for health professionals or 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support as defined in Section 466.017, F.S. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), (6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), (4), (5), (6) FS. History–New 1-31-80, Amended 

4-20-81, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.03, Amended 12-31-86, 11-8-90, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-14.003, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 

61F5-14.003, Amended 8-8-96, 10-1-96, Formerly 59Q-14.003, Amended 2-17-98, 12-20-98, 5-31-00, 6-7-01, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 6-

11-07, 2-8-12, 8-16-12 (1)(a)-(f), 8-16-12 (5), 8-19-13, 12-16-13, 3-9-14, 7-14-16, 11-13-17. 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-01469
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64B5-14.0032 Itinerate/Mobile Anesthesia – Physician Anesthesiologist. 

The provisions of this rule control the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office 

setting where a physician anesthesiologist has performed the sedation services. This rule shall 

control notwithstanding any rule provision in this chapter that prohibits such conduct. The level of 

sedation is not restricted to the level of the permit held by the treating dentist. The level of sedation 

may be any level necessary for the safe and effective treatment of the patient. 

(1) General Anesthesia Permit Holders: 

A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit may treat their adult, pediatric, or special needs 

patients when a physician anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following conditions 

shall apply: 

(a) The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia and the 

physician anesthesiologist is responsible for the anesthesia procedure. ; 

(b) The physician anesthesiologist shall have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin 

the performance of any other anesthesia services until the patient is discharged; 

(c) The dental treatment takes place in the general anesthesia permit holder’s board-inspected 

and board-registered dental office that is on file with the board as an authorized location to perform 

sedation services and that has been inspected pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C . 

(2) Pediatric Moderate Sedation Permit Holders: 

A pediatric dentist, as recognized by the American Dental Association, who holds a pediatric 

Moderate sedation permit may treat their pediatric or special needs dental patients when a physician 

anesthesiologist performs the sedation services. The following conditions shall apply: 

(a)The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the 

physician anesthesiologist is responsible for the anesthesia procedure; 

(b)The physician anesthesiologist shall have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin 

the performance of any other anesthesia services until the patient is discharged;  

(b) (c)The treatment takes place in the permit holder’s dental office that is on file with the board 

as an authorized location to perform sedation services and that has been inspected pursuant to 

Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C. board-inspected and board-registered dental office; 

(c) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule Commented [SJ3]: David to add: Nothing in the rule shall 

prohibit the MDA from using their equipment… 
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64B5-14.008, F.A.C.; 

(d) A board-approved inspector performs an additional inspection of the dental office and the 

inspector reports the office to be in full compliance with the minimum supply, equipment, and facility 

requirements. 

 A pediatric dentist who holds an active Moderate sedation permit and not a pediatric moderate 

sedation permit shall meet the sedation permit requirement of this rule until the next biennial license 

renewal cycle that follows the effective date of this rule. At the next biennial license renewal cycle 

that follows the effective date of this rule, a pediatric dentist who hold a moderate sedation permit 

may transfer the permit to a pediatric moderate sedation permit without any additional cost besides 

the renewal fee. 

(3) Moderate Sedation Permit Holders: 

A dentist who holds a moderate sedation permit may treat their adult or adult special needs dental 

patients when a physician anesthesiologist performs the sedation services.  The following conditions 

shall apply: 

(a)The physician anesthesiologist performs the administration of the anesthesia, and the physician 

anesthesiologist is responsible for the anesthesia procedure; 

(b) The physician anesthesiologist shall have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin the 

performance of any other anesthesia series until the patient is discharged;  

 (b)(c) The treatment takes place in the permit holder’s properly board-inspected and board-

registered dental office dental office that is on file with the board as an authorized location to 

perform sedation services and that has been inspected pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C.; 

(c) The dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility requirements as mandated in Rule 

64B5-14.008, F.A.C.; 

(d) A board-approved inspector performs an additional inspection of the dental office and the 

inspector reports the office to be in full compliance with the minimum supply, equipment, and facility 

requirements. 

(4) Non-Sedation Permit Holders: 

All provisions of this Chapter relating to the administration of any type of anesthesia or sedation and 

treatment to sedated patients shall remain in full force and effect. Nothing in this section 

supersedes, alters, or creates a variance to any prohibitions and mandates applicable to non-

sedation permit holding dentists. 
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(5) Staff or Assistants: 

A dentist treating a patient pursuant to this rule must have at least three (3) properly credentialed 

individuals present as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C. tTo fulfill the mandatory minimum 

required personnel requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C., a physician anesthesiologist 

assistant or a certified registered nurse anesthetist in addition to, or in lieu of a dental assistant or 

dental hygienist may be utilized. However, the dentist must have a dedicated member of the team to 

assist in the dental procedure or during dental emergencies. 

(6) Equipment: 

A dentist may comply with the electrocardiograph equipment requirements and end tidal carbon 

dioxide monitor equipment standards set by Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C., by utilizing the physician’s 

mobile or non-fixed equipment if the dentist meets the following conditions: 

 (a) During the required board inspection, the equipment is available for inspection, or the dentist 

supplies an inspection of the equipment, which a licensed health care risk manager performed. A 

licensed health care risk manager inspection is valid for a period of twelve months; and, 

(b) The dentist shall make the inspected equipment available during all required inspections, if 

specifically requested within 48 hours in advance of the inspection, and the equipment must be 

immediately available for an adverse incident inspection. 

(c) As long as the permit holder’s dental office meets the supply, equipment, and facility 

requirements as mandated in Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C., nothing in this rule shall be interpreted to 

prevent a physician anesthesiologist from utilizing their non-fixed mobile equipment when providing 

anesthesia services in the permit holder’s dental office.  

(7) Records: 

The treating dentist shall maintain a complete copy of the anesthesia records in the patient’s dental 

chart. The dentist shall make certain that name and license numbers identify the treating dentist, the 

physician anesthesiologist, and all personnel utilized during the procedure. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3) FS. History–New 8-

20-12, Amended 11-19-12, 2-21-13, 12-16-13, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.0034 Itinerate/Mobile Anesthesia – General Anesthesia Permit Holders. 

The provisions of this rule control the treatment of dental patients in an outpatient dental office 

where a dentist with a general anesthesia permit performs the sedation services for a treating 

dentist. The treating dentist must possess a general anesthesia permit, moderate sedation permit, 

or pediatric moderate sedation permit. The level of anesthesia administered shall be to any level 

necessary to safely and effectively treat the dental patient. This rule shall control notwithstanding 

any rule provision in this chapter that prohibits such conduct. 

(1) General Anesthesia Permit Holder’s Office: 

A general anesthesia permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another 

general anesthesia permit holder or moderate or pediatric moderate sedation permit holder in his or 

her office or in another general anesthesia permit holder’s office. In this setting, the following shall 

apply: 

(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by a treating dentist who holds a valid 

anesthesia permit of any level; 

(b).The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident 

reporting under Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C. 

(2) Moderate and Pediatric Mmoderate Sedation Permit Holder’s Office: 

A general anesthesia permit holder may perform sedation services for a dental patient of another 

dentist who holds a moderate sedation permit or a pediatric moderate sedation permit at the office 

of the treating dentist. In this setting, the following shall apply: 

(a) The dental treatment may only be performed by the moderate sedation or pediatric moderate 

sedation permit holder; 

(b) The general anesthesia permit holder may perform general anesthesia services once an 

additional board-inspection establishes that the office complies with the facility, equipment and 

supply requirements of Rule 64B5-14.008, F.A.C.; 

(c) The treating dentist and the anesthesia provider are both responsible for the adverse incident 

reporting requirements under Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C. 

(3) Equipment: 

When the general anesthesia permit holder performs the anesthesia services in a dental office of a 

moderate or pediatric moderate sedation permit holder’s office, the electrocardiograph and end tidal 
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carbon dioxide monitor equipment mandates may be met as follows: 

(a) The general anesthesia permit holder provides the equipment which has already been 

inspected during the general anesthesia permit holder’s required inspection; 

(b) The equipment is available for inspection during the office’s mandated inspection; and, 

(c) The equipment is immediately available for an adverse incident report inspection. 

(4) Staff or Personnel: 

An anesthesia provider and the treating dentist are both responsible for ensuring that a minimum 

number of three (3) personnel are present during the procedure. The personnel must meet the 

minimum credentialing requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C. 

(5) Records: The treating dentist shall maintain a complete copy of the anesthesia records in the 

patient’s dental chart. The dentist performing the anesthesia must maintain the original anesthesia 

records. The treating dentist must identify by name and license number all personnel utilized during 

the procedure. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 3-14-

13, Amended 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.0036 Treatment of Sedated Patients by Dentists Without an Anesthesia Permit. 

The provisions of this rule control the treatment of patients where an anesthesia permitted dentist 

sedates the dental patient in his or her board-inspected and board-registered dental office that is on 

file with the board as an authorized location to perform sedation services that has been inspected 

pursuant to 64B5-14.007, F.A.C.,  and a Florida licensed dentist without an anesthesia permit 

performs the dental treatment. This rule shall control notwithstanding any rule provision in this 

Chapter to the contrary, which prohibits such conduct. 

(1) The permitted dentist shall perform the sedation in his or her out-patient dental office where 

the permitted dentist is registered  authorized to perform the anesthesia services; 

(2) The permitted dentist shall remain with the patient from the onset of the performance of the 

anesthesia until discharge of the patient; 

(3) The permitted dentist shall have no other patient induced with anesthesia or begin the 

performance of any other anesthesia services until the patient is discharged; 

(4) The treating dentist shall have taken a minimum of four hours of continuing education in 

airway management prior to treating any sedated patient. Two hours must be in didactic training in 

providing dentistry on sedated patients with compromised airways and two hours must include 

hands-on training in airway management of sedated patients. After the initial airway management 

course, the treating dentist shall continue to repeat a minimum of four hours in airway management 

every four years from the date the course was last taken by the dentist. The continuing education 

courses taken may be credited toward the mandatory thirty hours of continuing education required 

for licensure renewal. The requirement that a dentist must first have taken an initial airway 

management course before treating a sedated patient shall not take effect until March 1, 2014. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 3-14-

13, Amended 8-19-13. 
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64B5-14.0038 Use of a Qualified Anesthetist. 

In an outpatient dental office, and pursuant to Section 466.002(2), F.S., a dentist may supervise a 

qualified anesthetist who is administering anesthetic for a dental procedure on a patient of the 

supervising dentist. The type of supervision required is direct supervision as defined in Section 

466.003(8), F.S. In an outpatient dental office, the supervising dentist must have a valid permit for 

administering sedation to the level of sedation that the qualified anesthetist will be administering to 

the dental patient during the dental procedure. The dentist must maintain all office equipment and 

medical supplies required by this chapter to the level of the sedation that the qualified anesthetist 

will administer to the dental patient. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.002(2), 466.017, 466.003(8) 

FS. History‒New 11-11-13.   
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64B5-14.004 Additional Continuing Education Requirements. 

(1)  Office Team – A dentist licensed by the Board and practicing dentistry in Florida and who is 

permitted by these rules to induce and administer general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate 

sedation, pediatric moderate sedation or nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia may employ the office 

team approach. 

(2)  Dental Assistants, Dental Hygienists – Dental assistants and dental hygienists may monitor 

nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia under the direct supervision of a dentist who is permitted by rule 

to use general anesthesia, moderate sedation, pediatric moderate sedation, or nitrous-oxide 

inhalation analgesia, while rendering dental services allowed by Chapter 466, F.S., and under the 

following conditions: 

(a) Satisfactory completion of no less than a two-day course of training as described in the 

American Dental Association’s “Guidelines for Teaching and Comprehensive Control of Pain and 

Anxiety in Dentistry” or its equivalent; and, 

(b) Maintenance of competency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation evidenced by certification in an 

American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency sponsored 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to include one man CPR, two 

man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway, with a periodic update not to exceed two 

years. 

(3)  After the dentist has induced a patient and established the maintenance level, the assistant 

or hygienist may monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making only adjustments 

during this administration and turning it off at the completion of the dental procedure. 

(4)  Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow a dentist or dental hygienist or assistant to 

administer to himself or to any person any drug or agent used for anesthesia, analgesia or sedation 

other than in the course of the practice of dentistry. 

(5) A dentist utilizing moderate sedation in the dental office may induce only one patient at a 

time. A second patient shall not be induced until the first patient is awake, alert, conscious, 

spontaneously breathing, has stable vital signs, is ambulatory with assistance, is under the care of a 

responsible adult, and that portion of the procedure requiring the participation of the dentist is 

complete. In an office setting where two or more permit holders are present simultaneously, each 

may sedate one patient provided that the office has the necessary staff and equipment, as set forth 
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in paragraph 64B5-14.003(2)(d), F.A.C., for each sedated patient. 

(1)(6) All dentists who hold an active sedation permit of any level must complete four (4) hours of 

continuing education in airway management and four (4) hours of continuing education in medical 

emergencies, which shall include the use of the team aproach and include airway management, 

every four two (24) years from the last date the dentist took the continuing education course. The 

four (4) hours in airway management must include two hours didactic training in providing dentistry 

on sedated patients with compromised airways and two hours must include hands-on training in 

airway management of sedated patients. The continuing education must be taken through a board 

approved continuing education provider. The continuing education required by this subsection will 

take effect on March 1, 2014. The continuing education required by this subection may be included 

in the thirty (30) hours required by Section 466.0135, F.S. 

(2) During the licensure biennial renewal period that begins on March 1, 2020 and ever licensure 

biennial renewal period thereafter, all dentists who hold an active sedation permit of any level shall 

take the following continuing education instead of the continuing education required in subsection 

(1): A  four (4) hour board approved continuing education course in Medical Emergencies that shall 

include airway management as a component of the course.   

 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3) FS. History–New 1-

31-80, Amended 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.04, Amended 12-31-86, 12-28-92, Formerly 21G-

14.004, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.004, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.004, 

Amended 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 5-24-05, 8-19-13, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.005 Application for Permit. 

(1) No dentist shall administer, supervise or permit another health care practitioner, as defined in 

Section 456.001, F.S., to perform the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate 

sedation or pediatric moderate sedation in a dental office for dental patients, unless such dentist 

possesses a permit issued by the Board. A permit is required even when another health care 

practitioner, as defined in Section 456.001, F.S., administers general anesthesia, deep sedation, 

moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation in a dental office for a dental patient. The dentist 

holding such a permit shall be subject to review and such permit must be renewed biennially. Each 

dentist in a practice who performs the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation, 

moderate sedation or pediatric moderate sedation shall each possess an individual permit. Nothing 

in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit administration of anesthetics as part of a program 

authorized by Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C., any other educational program authorized by Board rule, 

for training in the anesthetic being administered, or pursuant to a demonstration for inspectors 

pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C. 

(2) An applicant for any type of anesthesia permit must demonstrate both: 

(a) Training in the particular type of anesthesia listed in Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.; and, 

(b) Documentation of actual clinical administration of anesthetics to 20 dental or oral and 

maxillofacial patients within two (2) years prior to application of the particular type of anesthetics for 

the permit applied for. 

(3) Prior to the issuance of such permit, an on-site inspection of the facility, equipment and 

personnel will be conducted pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C., to determine if the requirements 

of this chapter have been met. 

(4) An application for a general anesthesia permit must include the application fee specified in 

Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, 

F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without inspection of the applicant’s 

facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and identification of 

the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ general 

anesthesia or deep sedation. 

(5) An application for a moderate sedation permit must include the application fee specified in 

Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 64B5-15.018, 
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F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without inspection of the applicant’s 

facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and identification of 

the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or employ moderate 

sedation. 

(6) An application for a pediatric moderate sedation permit must include the application fee 

specified in Rule 64B5-15.017, F.A.C., which is non-refundable; the permit fee specified in Rule 

64B5-15.018, F.A.C., which may be refunded if the application is denied without inspection of the 

applicant’s facilities; evidence indicating compliance with all the provisions of this chapter; and 

identification of the location or locations at which the licensee desires to be authorized to use or 

employ pediatric moderate sedation. 

(7) The Board shall renew the permit biennially upon application by the permit holder, proof of 

continuing education required by subsection 64B5-14.004(6), F.A.C., and payment of the renewal 

fee specified by Rule 64B5-15.019, F.A.C., unless the holder is informed in writing that a re-

evaluation of his credentials and facility is to be required. In determining whether such re-evaluation 

is necessary, the Board shall consider such factors as it deems pertinent including, but not limited 

to, patient complaints, reports of adverse occurrences and the results of inspections conducted 

pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.007, F.A.C. Such re-evaluation shall be carried out in the manner 

described in subsection (2), set forth above. A renewal fee of $25.00 must accompany the biennial 

application. 

(8) The holder of any general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation 

permit is authorized to practice pursuant to such permit only at the location or locations previously 

reported to the Board office. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–

New 4-7-86, Amended 1-29-89, 11-16-89, 11-8-90, 4-24-91, Formerly 21G-14.005, Amended 12-20-

93, Formerly 61F5-14.005, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.005, Amended 12-12-00, 11-4-03, 6-

23-04, 2-22-06, 6-28-07, 7-5-10, 8-5-12, 11-13-17. 
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64B5-14.006 Reporting Adverse Occurrences. 

(1) Definitions: 

(a) Adverse occurrence – means any mortality that occurs during or as the result of a dental 

procedure, or an incident that results in the temporary or permanent physical or mental injury that 

requires hospitalization or emergency room treatment of a dental patient that occurred during or as 

a direct result of the use of general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, pediatric 

moderate sedation, minimal sedation, nitrous oxide, or local anesthesia. 

(b) Supervising Dentist – means the dentist that was directly responsible for supervising the 

Certified Registered Dental Hygienist (CRDH) who is authorized by proper credentials to administer 

local anesthesia. 

(2) Dentists: Any dentist practicing in the State of Florida must notify the Board in writing by 

registered mail within forty-eight hours (48 hrs.) of any mortality or other adverse occurrence that 

occurs in the dentist’s outpatient facility. A complete written report shall be filed with the Board within 

thirty (30) days of the mortality or other adverse occurrence. The complete written report shall, at a 

minimum, include the following: 

(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient; 

(b) A detailed description of the dental procedure; 

(c) A detailed description of the preoperative physical condition of the patient; 

(d) A detailed list of the drugs administered and the dosage administered; 

(e) A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs; 

(f) A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of 

complications and the onset and type of symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and 

type of treatment rendered to the patient; and, 3) the onset and type of response of the patient to the 

treatment rendered, 4) final disposition of the patient; and, 

(g) A list of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address. 

(3) A failure by the dentist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements 

mandated by this rule is a basis for disciplinary action by the Board, pursuant to Section 466.028(1), 

F.S. 

(4) Certified Registered Dental Hygienists: Any CRDH administering local anesthesia must notify 

the Board, in writing by registered mail within forty-eight hours (48 hrs.) of any adverse occurrence 

that was related to or the result of the administration of local anesthesia. A complete written report 
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shall be filed with the Board within thirty (30) days of the mortality or other adverse occurrence. The 

complete written report shall, at a minimum, include the following: 

(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the supervising dentist; 

(b) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient; 

(c) A detailed description of the dental procedure; 

(d) A detailed description of the preoperative physical condition of the patient; 

(e) A detailed list of the local anesthesia administered and the dosage of the local anesthesia 

administered; 

(f) A detailed description of the techniques utilized in administering the drugs; 

(g) A detailed description of any other drugs the patient had taken or was administered; 

(h) A detailed description of the adverse occurrence, to include 1) the onset and type of 

complications and the onset and type of symptoms experienced by the patient; 2) the onset and 

type of treatment rendered to the patient; and, 3) the onset and type of response of the patient to the 

treatment rendered; and, 

(i) A list of all witnesses and their contact information to include their address. 

(5) A failure by the hygienist to timely and completely comply with all the reporting requirements 

mandated by this rule is a basis for disciplinary action by the Board pursuant to Section 466.028(1), 

F.S. 

(6) Supervising Dentist: 

If a Certified Registered Dental Hygienist is required to file a report under the provisions of this rule, 

the supervising dentist shall also file a contemporaneous report in accordance with subsection (2). 

(7) The initial and complete reports required by this rule shall be mailed to: The Florida Board of 

Dentistry, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C08, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258. 

(8) When a patient death or other adverse occurrence as described in subsection 64B5-

14.006(1), F.A.C., is reported to the Department pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., the initial 

report shall be faxed or otherwise telephonically transmitted to the Chairman of the Board’s 

Probable Cause Panel or another designated member of the Probable Cause Panel to determine if 

there is legal sufficency that there has been a violation of the practice act. If so, the Adverse Incident 

Report shall be referred to the Department of Health, Consumer Services Unit.  
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64B5-14.007 Inspection of Facilities and Demonstration of Sedation Technique. 

(1) The Department, in consult with the Anesthesia Chair The Chairman of the Board or the 

Board by majority vote shall appoint consultants who are Florida licensed dentists who holds an 

active general anesthesia permit, or moderate sedation permit, or a pediatric moderate sedation 

permit to inspect facilities where general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or pediatric 

moderate sedation is performed. Consultants shall receive instruction in inspection procedures from 

the Board prior to initiating an inspection. 

(2) Prior to issuance of a general anesthesia permit, moderate sedation permit, or pediatric 

moderate sedation permit, the applicant must shall pass an initial inspection. The initial inspection 

shall require the applicant to show compliance with Rule 64B5-14.008, 64B5-14.009 or 64B5-

14.010, F.A.C., as applicable and demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of the use of the 

required equipment and drugs as follows: 

(a) Demonstration of General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing general 

anesthesia/deep sedation must be observed and evaluated. Any general anesthesia/deep sedation 

technique that is routinely employed may be demonstrated. Demonstration must include placement 

of intravenous catheter. The patient shall be monitored while sedated and during recovery. 

Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically demonstrate by simulation aan 

appropriate response to the following emergencies that express full knowledge and treatment of the 

patient: 

1. Airway obstruction, 

2. Bronchospasm, 

3. Aspiration of foreign object, 

4. Angina pectoris, 

5. Myocardial infarction, 

6. Hypotension, 

7. Hypertension, 

8. Cardiac arrest, 

9. Allergic reaction/Anaphylactic ,reaction, 

10. Convulsions, 

11. Hypoglycemia, 

12. Syncope; and, 
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13. Respiratory depression/Apnea. 

(b) Demonstration of Moderate Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing moderate sedation must be 

observed and evaluated. Any moderate sedation technique that is routinely employed may be 

demonstrated. Demonstration must include placement of intravenous catheter. The patient shall be 

monitored while sedated and during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must 

physically demonstrate by simulation an appropriate response to the following emergencies that 

express full knowledge and treatment of the patient: 

1. Airway obstruction, 

2. Bronchospasm, 

3. Aspiration of foreign object, 

4. Angina pectoris, 

5. Myocardial infarction, 

6. Hypotension, 

7. Hypertension, 

8. Cardiac arrest, 

9. Allergic reaction, /Anaphylactic reaction, 

10. Convulsions, 

11. Hypoglycemia, 

12. Syncope; and, 

13. Respiratory depression/ Apnea. 

(c) Demonstration of Pediatric Moderate Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing pediatric 

moderate sedation must be observed and evaluated. Any pediatric moderate sedation technique 

that is routinely employed may be demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while sedated and 

during recovery. Furthermore, the dentist and his or her team must physically demonstrate by 

simulation an appropriate response to the following emergencies that express full knowledge and 

treatment of the patient: 

1. Airway obstruction, 

2. Bronchospasm, 

3. Aspiration of foreign object, 

4. Angina pectoris, 

5. Myocardial infarction, 
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6. Hypotension, 

7. Hypertension, 

8. Cardiac arrest, 

9. Allergic reaction/Anaphylactic reaction, 

10. Convulsions, 

11. Hypoglycemia, 

12. Syncope; and, 

13. Respiratory depression/Apnea.  

(3) Any applicant who fails to comply with any of the above requirements as a result of the initial 

inspection shall receive a failing grade and shall be denied a permit for general anesthesia, 

moderate sedation or pediatric moderate sedation. 

 (43) Any dentist who has applied for or received a general anesthesia permit, moderate 

sedation permit, or pediatric moderate sedation permit shall be subject to announced or 

unannounced onsite routine inspection and evaluation by an inspection consultant. Routine 

inspections shall be conducted, at a minimum of, every three years. The routine inspection shall 

include: 

(a) Compliance with the requirements of Rule 64B5-14.008, 64B5-14.009 or 64B5-14.010, 

F.A.C., as applicable, by assigning a grade of pass or fail. This inspection and evaluation shall be 

required prior to issuance of an anesthesia permit. However, if the Department cannot complete the 

required inspection prior to licensure, such inspection shall be waived until such time that it can be 

completed following licensure. 

(4) The inspection consultant shall determine compliance with the requirements of Rules 64B5-

14.008, 64B5-14.009 and 64B5-14.010, F.A.C., as applicable, by assigning a grade of pass or fail. 

(5) Any applicant who receives a failing grade as a result of the on-site inspection shall be 

denied a permit for general anesthesia, moderate sedation and pediatric moderate sedation. 

(6b) Any permit holder who fails the inspection shall be so notified by the anesthesia inspection 

consultant and shall be given a written statement at the time of inspection which specifies the 

deficiencies which resulted in a failing grade. The inspection teamconsultant shall give the permit 

holder 20 days from the date of inspection to correct any documented deficiencies. Upon notification 

by the permit holder to the inspection consultant that the deficiencies have been corrected, the 

inspector shall reinspect or accept a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) to ensure that the deficiencies 
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have been corrected. If the deficiencies have been corrected, a passing grade shall be assigned. No 

permit holder who has received a failing grade shall be permitted 20 days to correct deficiencies 

unless he voluntarily agrees in writing that no general anesthesia or deep sedation or moderate 

sedation will be performed until such deficiencies have been corrected and such corrections are 

verified by the anesthesia inspection consultant and a passing grade has been assigned. 

(c7) Upon a determination of the inspection consultant that a permit holder has received a failing 

grade and that the permit holder has not chosen to exercise his option by taking immediate remedial 

action within the 20 day time period and submitting to reinspection, or reinspection has established 

that remedial action has not been accomplished, the Inspection cConsultant shall refer the permit 

holder to the Department of Health, Consumer Services Unit. determine whether the deficiencies 

constitute an imminent danger to the public. Should an imminent danger exist, the consultant shall 

report his findings to the Executive Director of the Board. The Executive Director shall immediately 

request an emergency meeting of the Probable Cause Panel. The Probable Cause Panel shall 

determine whether an imminent danger exists and upon this determination of imminent danger 

request the Secretary of the Department to enter an emergency suspension of the anesthesia 

permit. If no imminent danger exists, the consultant shall report his findings to the Probable Cause 

Panel for further action against the permit holder. Nothing herein is intended to affect the authority of 

the Secretary of the Department to exercise his emergency suspension authority independent of the 

Board or the Probable Cause Panel. 

 (8) When a patient death or other adverse occurrence as described in subsection 64B5-

14.006(1), F.A.C., is reported to the Department pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., the initial 

report shall be faxed or otherwise telephonically transmitted to the Chairman of the Board’s 

Probable Cause Panel or another designated member of the Probable Cause Panel to determine if 

an emergency suspension order is necessary. If so, the Department shall be requested to promptly 

conduct an investigation which shall include an inspection of the office involved in the patient death. 

(a) If the results of the investigation substantiate the previous determination, an emergency 

suspension order shall be drafted and presented to the Secretary of the Department for 

consideration and execution. Thereafter, a conference call meeting of the Probable Cause Panel 

shall be held to determine the necessity of further administrative action. 

(b) If the determination is made that an emergency does not exist, the office involved with the 

patient death shall be inspected as soon as practicable following receipt of the notice required by 
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Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C. However, in the event that the office has previously been inspected with a 

passing result, upon review of the inspection results, the Chairman of the Probable Cause Panel or 

other designated member of the Probable Cause Panel shall determine whether or not a 

reinspection is necessary. The complete written report of the adverse occurrence as required in 

Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., shall be provided to the Probable Cause Panel of the Board to determine 

if further action is appropriate. 

(c) If a routine inspection reveals a failure to comply with Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., the 

Inspection Consultant shall obtain the information which was required to be reported and shall 

determine whether the failure to report the death or incident reveals that an imminent danger to the 

public exists and report to the Executive Director or Probable Cause Panel as set forth in subsection 

64B5-14.007(7), F.A.C. 

(59) The holder of any general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation 

permit shall inform the Board office in writing of any change in authorized locations for the use of 

such permits prior to accomplishing such changes. Written notice shall be required prior to the 

addition of any location or the closure of any previously identified location. Any additional location 

shall be subject to a routine inspection no later than one year from the date of added location.  

(610) Failure to provide access to an an inspection teama inspection consultant on two 

successive occasions shall be grounds for discipline for failure to comply with a legal obligation. the 

issuance of an emergency suspension of the licensee’s permit pursuant to the provisions of Section 

120.60(6), F.S. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.017(3) FS. Law Implemented 120.60(8), 466.017(3) FS. History–New 10-

24-88, Amended 3-27-90, 11-8-90, 4-24-91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-14.007, Amended 12-20-93, 

Formerly 61F5-14.007, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.007, Amended 11-4-03, 6-11-07, 11-13-

17. 
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64B5-14.008 Requirements for General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation: Operatory, 

Recovery Room, Equipment, Medicinal Drugs, Emergency Protocols, Records, and 

Continuous Monitoring. 

General Anesthesia Permit applicants and permit holders shall comply with the following 

requirements at each location where anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall 

be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at each location. 

(1) Operatory: The operatory where anesthesia is to be administered must: 

(a) Be of adequate size and design to accommodate the patient on a table or in an operating 

chair and permit an operating team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the 

patient.  An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team 

can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform 

for the management of CPR. permit physical access of emergency equipment and personnel and to 

permit effective emergency management; 

(b) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a chair or 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) board suitable for CPR; 

(c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and 

tonsil suction. 

(2) Recovery Room: If a recovery room is present, it shall be equipped with suction and back up 

suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. 

The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to allow emergency access and 

management. The recovery room shall be situated to allow the patient to be observed by the dentist 

or an office team member at all times. 

(3) Standard Equipment: The following equipment must be readily available to the operatory and 

recovery room and maintained in good working order: 

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for 

adults and for pediatric patients, if pediatric patients are treated; 

(b) Oral and nasal airways of various sizes; 

(c) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope; 

(d) Cardioscope – electrocardiograph (EKG) machine, pulse oximeter, and capnograph; 

(e) Precordial stethoscope; 

(f) Suction with backup suction, including suction catheters and tonsil suction; 
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(g) Thermometer (Continuous temperature monitoring device, if volatile gases are used); 

(h) A backup lighting system; and, 

(i) A scale to weigh patients. 

(4) Emergency Equipment: The following emergency equipment must be present, readily 

available and maintained in good working order: 

(a) Appropriate I.V. set-up, including appropriate supplies and fluids; 

(b) Laryngoscope with spare batteries and spare bulbs; 

(c) McGill forceps, endotracheal tubes, and stylet; 

(d) Appropriate syringes; 

(e) Tourniquet and tape; 

(f) CPR board or chair suitable for CPR; 

(g) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; 

(h) Cricothyrotomy equipment; and, 

(i) A Supraglottic Airway Device (SAD) or a Laryngeal Mask Airway (LMA). 

(5) Medicinal Drugs: The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be 

maintained and easily accessible from the operatory and recovery room and must be maintained in 

sufficient amounts to address medical emergencies: 

(a) Epinephrine; 

(b) A narcotic (e.g., Naloxone) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil) antagonist, if these agents 

are used; 

(c) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine); 

(d) A corticosteroid (e.g., Dexamethasone); 

(e) Nitroglycerin; 

(f) A bronchodilator (e.g., Albuterol inhaler); 

(g) An antihypoglycemic agent (e.g., D50W IV solution); 

(h) Amiodarone; 

(i) A vasopressor (e.g., Ephedrine); 

(j) An anticonvulsant (e.g., Valium or Versed); 

(k) Antihypertensive (e.g., Labetalol); 

(l) Anticholinergic (e.g., atropine); 

(m) Antiemetic; 
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(n) A muscle relaxant (e.g., Succinylcholine);A paralytic agent that is appropriate for the 

breakage of a laryngospasm or for the use of rapid sequence intubation;  

(o) An appropriate antiarrhythmic medication (e.g., Lidocaine); 

(p) Adenosine; and, 

(q) Dantrolene or ryanodex, if volatile gases are used. 

(6) Emergency Protocols: The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency 

protocols, and shall annually provide training to familiarize office personnel in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(a) Laryngospasm; 

(b) Bronchospasm; 

(c) Emesis and aspiration; 

(d) Airway blockage by foreign body; 

(e) Angina pectoris; 

(f) Myocardial infarction; 

(g) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(h) Hypertensive crisis; 

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions; 

(j) Seizures; 

(k) Syncope; 

(l) Phlebitis; 

(m) Intra-arterial injection; 

(n) Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation; 

(o) Cardiac arrest; and, 

(p) Cardiac arrhythmias. 

The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record, which reflects the 

date, time, duration, and type of training provided to named personnel annually. 

(7) Records: The following records are required when general anesthesia or deep sedation is 

administered: 

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies and previous surgery; 

(b) Physical examination including airway evaluation and risk assessment (e.g., Mallampati 

Classification, Body Mass Index, and ASA Classification); 
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(c) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and pulse; and, 

(d) An anesthesia record which shall include: 

1. Continuous monitoring of vital signs, which are taken and recorded at a minimum of every 5 

minute intervals during the procedure; 

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and 

sequence of administration; 

3. Duration of the procedure, including the start and finish time of the procedure; 

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity (See Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., for Adverse 

Incident Reporting Requirements); 

5. Status of patient upon discharge, and to whom the patient is discharged; and, 

6. Names of participating personnel. 

(8) Continuous Monitoring: The patient who is administered drug(s) for general anesthesia or 

deep sedation must be continuously monitored intra-operatively by electrocardiograph (EKG), pulse 

oximeter, and capnograph to provide heart rhythm and rate, oxygen saturation of the blood, and 

ventilations (end-tidal carbon dioxide). This equipment shall be used for each procedure. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 10-24-88, 

Amended 11-16-89, Formerly 21G-14.008, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.008, Amended 8-

8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.008, Amended 5-31-00, 6-23-04, 9-14-05, 3-23-06, 10-24-11, 3-9-14. 

64B5-14.009 Moderate Sedation Requirements: Operatory, Recovery Room, Equipment, 

Medicinal Drugs, Emergency Protocols, Records, and Continuous Monitoring. 

Moderate Sedation Permit applicants and permit holders shall comply with the following 

requirements at each location where anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall 

be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at each location. 

(1) Operatory: The operatory where anesthesia is to be administered must: 

(a) Be of size and design to accommodate the patient on a table or in an operating chair and 

permit an operating team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient.  An 

operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for 

the management of CPR.Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to permit effective emergency management; 
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(b) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a chair or 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) board suitable for CPR; 

(c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and 

tonsil suction. 

(2) Recovery Room: If a recovery room is present, it shall be equipped with suction and backup 

suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. 

The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to allow emergency access and 

management. The recovery room shall be situated to allow the patient to be observed by the dentist 

or an office team member at all times. 

(3) Standard Equipment: The following standard equipment must be readily available to the 

operatory and recovery room and must be maintained in good working order: 

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for 

adults and for pediatric patients, if pediatric patients are treated; 

(b) Oral and nasal airways of various sizes;  

(c) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope; 

(d) A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxygen 

saturation of the blood shall be used during each procedure; 

(e) A Precordial stethoscope; 

(f) Capnograph; 

(g) Suction with backup suction, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction; 

(h) Thermometer; 

(i) A backup lighting system; and, 

(j) A scale to weigh patients. 

(4) Emergency Equipment: The following emergency equipment must be present, readily 

available and must be maintained in good working order: 

(a) Appropriate I.V. set-up, including appropriate supplies and fluids; 

(b) Laryngoscope with spare batteries and spare bulbs; 

(c) McGill forceps, endotracheal tubes, and stylet; 

(d) Appropriate syringes; 

(e) Tourniquet and tape; 

(f) CPR board or chair suitable for CPR; 
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(g) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; 

(h) Cricothyrotomy equipment; and, 

(i) A Supraglottic Airway Device (SAD) or a Lyryngeal Mask Airway (LMA). 

(5) Medicinal Drugs: The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be 

maintained and easily accessible from the operatory and recovery room and must be maintained in 

sufficient amounts to address medical emergencies:: 

(a) Epinephrine; 

(b) A narcotic (e.g., Naloxone) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil) antagonists, if these 

agents are used; 

(c) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine); 

(d) A corticosteroid (e.g., Dexamethasone); 

(e) Nitroglycerin; 

(f) A bronchodilator (e.g., Albuterol inhaler); 

(g) An antihypoglycemic agent (e.g., D50W IV solution); 

(h) Amiodarone; 

(i) A vasopressor (e.g., Ephedrine); 

(j) An anticonvulsant (e.g., Valium or Versed); 

(k) Antihypertensive (e.g., Labetalol); 

(l) Anticholinergic (e.g, atropine); 

(m) Antiemetic; 

(n) A muscle relaxant (e.g., Succinylcholine); A paralytic agent that is appropriate for the 

breakage of a laryngospasm or for the use of rapid sequence intubation; 

(o) An appropriate antiarrhythmic medication (e.g., Lidocaine); and, 

(p) Adenosine. 

(6) Emergency Protocols: The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency 

protocols, and shall annually provide training to familiarize office personnel in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(a) Laryngospasm; 

(b) Bronchospasm; 

(c) Emesis and aspiration; 

(d) Airway blockage by foreign body; 
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(e) Angina pectoris; 

(f) Myocardial infarction; 

(g) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(h) Hypertensive crisis; 

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions; 

(j) Seizures; 

(k) Syncope; 

(l) Phlebitis; 

(m) Intra-arterial injection; 

(n) Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation; 

(o) Cardiac arrest; and, 

(p) Cardiac arrhythmias. 

The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record, which reflects 

the date, time, duration, and type of training provided to named personnel annually . 

(7) Records: The following records are required when moderate sedation is administered: 

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies and previous surgery; 

(b) Physical examination including airway evaluation and risk assessment (e.g., Mallampati 

Classification, Body Mass Index, and ASA Classification); 

(c) Base line vital signs, including blood pressure, and pulse; and, 

(d) A sedation or anesthesia record which shall include: 

1. Continuous monitoring of vital signs, which are taken and recorded at a minimum of every 5 

minute intervals during the procedure; 

2. Drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, time and 

sequence of administration; 

3. Duration of the procedure including the start and the finish times of the procedure; 

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity (See Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., for Adverse 

Incident Reporting requirements); 

5. Status of patient upon discharge, and to whom the patient is discharged; and, 

6. Names of participating personnel. 

(8) Continuous Monitoring: The patient who is administered a drug(s) for moderate sedation 

must be continuously monitored intraoperatively by pulse oximetry, and capnograph to provide pulse 
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rate, oxygen saturation of the blood, and ventilations (end-tidal carbon dioxide). A 

precordial/pretracheal stethoscope must be available to assist in the monitoring of the heart rate and 

ventilations. 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 10-24-88, 

Amended 11-16-89, 4-24-91, Formerly 21G-14.009, 61F5-14.009, Amended 8-8-96, 10-1-96, 

Formerly 59Q-14.009, Amended 8-2-00, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 3-23-06, 10-26-11, 3-9-14, 4-17-16, 11-

13-17. 
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64B5-14.010 Pediatric Moderate Sedation Requirements: Operatory; Recovery Room, 

Equipment, Medicinal Drugs, Emergency Protocols, Records, and Continuous Monitoring. 

Pediatric Moderate Sedation Permit applicants and permit holders shall comply with the following 

requirements at each location where anesthesia procedures are performed. The requirements shall 

be met and equipment permanently maintained and available at each location. 

(1) Operatory: The operatory where the sedated child patient is to be treated must: 

(a) Be of size and design to accommodate the patient on a table or in an operating chair and 

permit an operating team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient.  An 

operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for 

the management of CPR.Be of adequate size and design to permit physical access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to permit effective emergency management; 

(b) Be equipped with a chair or table adequate for emergency treatment, including a 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) board of chair suitable for CPR; 

(c) Be equipped with suction and backup suction equipment, also including suction catheters and 

tonsil suction. 

(2) Recovery Room: If a recovery room is present, it shall be equipped with suction and backup 

suction equipment, positive pressure oxygen and sufficient light to provide emergency treatment. 

The recovery room shall also be of adequate size and design to allow emergency access and 

management. The recovery room shall be situated so that the patient can be observed by the 

dentist or an office team member at all times. 

(3) Standard Equipment: The following equipment must be readily available to the operatory and 

recovery room and maintained in good working order: 

(a) A positive pressure oxygen delivery system and backup system, including full face mask for 

pediatric patients; 

(b) Oral and Nasal Airways of appropriate size for the pediatric patient; 

(c) Blood pressure cuff and stethoscope or automated unit; 

(d) A pulse oximeter which provides continuous monitoring of pulse and rate of oxygen 

saturation of the blood shall be used during each procedure; 

(e) A Precordial stethoscope; 

(f) Capnograph; 
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(g) Suction with backup suction, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction; 

(h) Thermometer; 

(i) A backup lighting system; and, 

(j) A scale for weighing pediatric patients. 

(4) Emergency Equipment: The following emergency equipment must be present, readily 

available and maintained in good working order: 

(a) Appropriate I.V. set-up, including appropriate supplies and fluids; 

(b) Laryngoscope with spare batteries and spare bulbs; 

(c) McGill forceps, endotracheal tubes, and stylet; 

(d) Suction with backup suction, also including suction catheters and tonsil suction; 

(e) Appropriate syringes; 

(f) Tourniquet and tape; 

(g) CPR board or chair suitable for CPR; 

(h) Defibrillator equipment appropriate for the patient population being treated; and, 

(i) Cricothyrotomy equipment. 

(j) A Supraglottic Airway Device (SAD) or a Lyryngeal Mask Airway (LMA). 

(5) Medicinal Drugs: The following drugs or type of drugs with a current shelf life must be 

maintained and easily accessible from the operatory and recovery room and must be maintained in 

sufficient amounts to address medical emergencies: 

(a) Epinephrine; 

(b) A narcotic (e.g., Naloxone) and benzodiazepine (e.g., Flumazenil) antagonists, if these 

agents are used; 

(c) An antihistamine (e.g., Diphenhydramine HCl); 

(d) A corticosteroid (e.g., Dexamethasone); 

(e) Nitroglycerin; 

(f) A bronchodilator (e.g., Albuterol inhaler); 

(g) An antihypoglycemic agent (e.g., D50W IV solution); 

(h) Amiodarone; 

(i) A vasopressor (e.g., Ephedrine); 

(j) An anticonvulsant (e.g., Valium or Versed); 

(k) Antihypertensive (e.g., Labetalol); 
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(l) Anticholinergic (e.g., atropine); 

(m) Antimetic; 

(n) A muscle relaxant (e.g., Succinylcholine);A paralytic agent that is appropriate for the 

breakage of a laryngospasm or for the use of rapid sequence intubation;  

(o) An appropriate antiarrhythmic medication (e.g., Lidcaine); and, 

(p) Adenosine. 

(6) Emergency Protocols: The applicant or permit holder shall provide written emergency 

protocols, and shall annually provide training to familiarize office personnel in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(a) Laryngospasm; 

(b) Bronchospasm; 

(c) Emesis and aspiration; 

(d) Airway blockage by foreign body; 

(e) Angina pectoris; 

(f) Myocardial infarction; 

(g) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(h) Hypertensive crisis; 

(i) Allergic and toxicity reactions; 

(j) Seizures; 

(k) Syncope; 

(l) Phlebitis; 

(m) Intra-arterial injection; 

(n) Hyperventilation/Hypoventilation; 

(o) Cardiac arrest; and, 

(p) Cardiac arrhythmias. 

The applicant or permit holder shall maintain for inspection a permanent record, which reflects the 

date, time, duration, and type of training provided to named personnel annually. 

(7) Records: The following records are required when pediatric moderate sedation is 

administered: 

(a) The patient’s current written medical history, including known allergies, history of previous 

surgery and anesthesia, and the patient's age, weight, and calculation of maximum allowable local 
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anesthesia; 

(b) Physical examination including airway evaluation and risk assessment (e.g., Mallampati 

Classification, Body Mass Index, and ASA Classification); 

(c) Base line vital signs, including pulse, percent hemoglobin oxygen saturation, and when 

possible, blood pressure; and, 

(d) An anesthesia or sedation record which shall include: 

1. Periodic vital signs recorded a minimum of every 5 minute intervals during the procedure; 

2. Drugs, including local anesthetics, administered during the procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, time and sequence of administration; 

3. Duration of the procedure, including the start and finish times of the procedure; 

4. Documentation of complications or morbidity (See Rule 64B5-14.006, F.A.C., for Adverse 

Incident Reporting Requirements); 

5. Status of patient upon discharge, and to whom the patient is discharged; and, 

6. Names of participating personnel. 

(8) Continuous Monitoring: The patient who is administered a drug(s) for pediatric moderate 

sedation must be continuously monitored intra-operatively by pulse oximetry and capnograph to 

provide pulse rate, oxygen saturation of the blood, and ventilations (end-tidal carbon dioxide). 

Rulemaking Authority 466.004, 466.017 FS. Law Implemented 466.017 FS. History–New 8-8-96, 

Formerly 59Q-14.010, Amended 8-2-00, 5-20-01, 3-23-06, 10-26-11, 3-9-14, 4-17-16, 11-13-17. 




