BOARD OF DENTISTRY GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES

Aloft Jacksonville Tapestry Park 4812 W. Deer Lake Drive Jacksonville, FL 32246 (904) 998-4448 May 20, 2022 7:30 A.M. ET

Participants in this public meeting should be aware that these proceedings are being recorded and that an audio file of the meeting will be posted to the board's website.

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

MEMBERS PRESENT

T. J. Tejera, DMD, MD, Chair
Fabio Andrade, Consumer Member, Vice Chair
Claudio Miro, DDS
Nick White, DMD
Karyn Hill, CRDH, BS
Bradley Cherry, DDS, MD
Christine Bojaxhi, DMD
Thomas McCawley, DDS
Jose Mellado, DMD

COURT REPORTER

Angela Johnson, RDH

Magnolia Court Reporting Cindy Green (407)-896-1813 reportingorlado@aol.com

STAFF PRESENT

Jessica Sapp, Executive Director Paulette Schofill, Program Administrator

BOARD COUNSEL

Ed Tellechea, Chief Assistant Attorney General

PROSECUTION SERVICES UNIT

Christina Shideler, Chief Legal Counsel Chad Dunn, Deputy General Counsel Mohamad Cheikhali, Assistant General Counsel

Mr. Andrade read the Department of Health's mission: To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

II. DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

A. Informal Hearings

i. Thomas Roberts, DDS, Case No. 2020-06835(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Mellado)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Mellado were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Roberts was present and sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Michael Ragan, Esq.

Mr. Cheikhali summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following violation: **Count I**: Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, for failing to meet the standards of performance in diagnosis and treatment by failing to recognize and/or identify the

risk of performing an extraction on a patient who had undergone radiation therapy; failing to discuss the risk of performing and extraction on a patient who had undergone radiation therapy with Patient C.Z.; failing to make a timely referral for Patient C.Z. to see a specialist for more than a year after the extraction of tooth 31.

Motion by: Dr. White to adopt the findings of fact as set forth in the Administrative Complaint and to find that the Respondent was properly served and has requested an informal hearing.

Motion by: Dr White to adopt the conclusions of law as set forth in the Administrative Complaint and find that this constitutes a violation of the practice act.

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. White to impose the following penalties:

- Reprimand
- Fine of \$10,000 to be paid with one (1) year
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level II (7-12 hour) in Diagnosis and Treatment Planning; Level II (7-12 hour) in Radiology; Level III (13-18 hour) in Risk Management, Level III (13-18 hour) in Oral Surgery, and Level III (13-18 hour) in Oral Medicine.
- Successful completion of a three-semester hour course in Ethics to be completed at or through (online) any accredited college or university within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order
- Patient Reimbursement to be paid within one (1) year

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

Motion: by Dr. White to impose costs of \$4167.35 to be paid within one (1) year.

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

B. Settlement Agreements

Rafik Dib, DDS, Case No. 2020-23663
 (Case tabled until the August meeting)

ii. Dasha Frias Landa, DMD, Case No. 2020-36331(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Mellado)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Mellado were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Landa was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. She was represented by Nichole Koford, Esq.

Mr. Dunn summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following violation(s): **Count I**: Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, for failing to meet the standards of performance in diagnosis and treatment by failing to take radiographs upon completion of Patient S.G.'s root canal treatment to ensure that the treatment was done properly; overfilling a

canal during Patient S.G.'s root canal treatment; and/or having an indemnity paid in the amount of \$185,000 to Patient S.G.as a result of negligent conduct by the Respondent.

A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms:

- Appearance
- Letter of Concern
- Fine of \$5,000 to be paid within one (1) year of the filing of the Final Order
- Costs in the amount of \$4,279.70 be paid within one (1) year of the filing of the Final Order
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level II (7-12 hour) course in Endodontics; Level II (7-12 hour) course in Risk Management.
- Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion by: Dr. White to accept the Settlement Agreement

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

iii. Charles Stamitoles, DDS, Case No. 2021-10997

(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Mellado)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Mellado were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Stamitoles was not present. He was represented by Edwin Bayo, Esq.

Mr. Cheikhali summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following violation(s): **Count I:** Section 466.028(1)(aa) for a violating a lawful order of the Board of Dentistry by failing to take and pass the Laws and Rules examination governing the practice of dentistry in the State of Florida within twelve (12) months of the issuance of the Final Order.

A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms:

- Appearance (waived by the Chair)
- Reprimand
- Fine of \$5,000 to be paid within ninety (90) days of the filing of the Final Order
- Costs in the amount of \$1,000 to be paid within ninety (90) days of the filing of the Final Order

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion by: Dr. White to accept the Settlement Agreement

Second: Dr. McCawley Vote: Unanimous

iv. Kyle Duffy, DMD, Case No. 2019-39372

(PCP – Miro, Mellado)

Dr. Morgan was recused during PCP—please notate on record.

Dr. Miro and Dr. Mellado were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Duffy was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Vilma Martinez, Esq.

Ms. Shideler summarized the case for the Board. Respondent was charged with the following violation(s): **Count I:** Section 466.028 (1)(f) for failing to report to the department any person who the licensee knows, or has reason to believe, is clearly in violation of chapter 466 or of the rule of the department or the board by failing to report Dr. L.D. when Respondent knew or had reason to believe that Dr. L.D. was in violation of Rule 64B5-14.002(1) when he administered general anesthesia to Patient D.B. without a general anesthesia permit. **Count II:** Section 466.028(1)(mm), Florida Statutes for violating Rule 64B5-14.0036(4), F.A.C. for failing to complete the airway management within four years of his initial completion on or about September 26, 2014.

A Settlement Agreement was presented to the Board with the following terms:

- Appearance
- Letter of Concern
- Fine of \$10,000 to be paid within one (1) year of the filing of the Final Order
- Costs in the amount of \$6,800.50 to be paid within one (1) year of the filing of the Final Order
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level III (13-18 hour) course in Anesthesia; Level I (3-6 hour) course in Record Keeping
- Successful completion of a three-semester hour course in Ethics to be completed at or through (online) any accredited college or university within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order
- Probation of one (1) year.
- Successful completion of the Florida Laws and Rules examination within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion by: Dr. Cherry to reject the Settlement Agreement

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

Ms. Johnson offered a counter settlement to include the following terms:

- Reprimand
- Fine of \$10,000 fine to be paid within one (1) year
- Permanent Restriction of administration of Anesthesia
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level II (7-12 hour) course in Crown and Bridge; Level II (7-12 hour) course in Recordkeeping; Level II (7-12 hour) course in Pediatric Dentistry; Level II in Caring for Special Needs Patients (may accept the courses he has already completed)
- Successful completion of a three-semester hour course in Ethics to be completed at or through (online) any accredited college or university within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order
- Successful completion of the Florida Laws and Rules examination within twelve (12)

months of the filing of the Final Order.

• Costs in the amount of \$6,800.50 to be paid within one (1) year of the filing of the Final Order

Second: Mr. Andrade

Vote: 7/1 Motion carried. Dr. McCawley opposed

Dr. Duffy has seven (7) days to accept the counter settlement agreement.

C. Determination of Waiver

i. Sharone V. Reid, DDS, Case No. 2020-03814(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Bojaxhi)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Bojaxhi were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Reid was not present. She was not represented by counsel.

Mr. Cheikhali summarized the case for the Board. Respondent is charged with the following violations: **Count I:** Section 466.028(1)(x), Florida Statutes, for failing to meet the standards of performance in diagnosis and treatment by failing to diagnose Patient P.V.'s periodontal disease and/or refer Patient P.V. to a specialist; failing to place Patient P.V.'s permanent crown on tooth 12 on adequately healthy gums; failing to place Patient P.V.'s bridge spanning teeth 18 through 20 on adequately health gums; and/or failing to place Patient P.V.'s bridge spanning teeth 12 through 15 on adequately healthy gums

Motion: by Dr. White to find the Administrative Complaint was properly served on Respondent and that Respondent failed to timely respond to the Administrative Complaint and has waived the right to request a hearing, to adopt the allegations of fact in the Administrative Complaint as the findings of fact of the Board, and to find the Respondent in violation of the Florida Statutes as charged in the Administrative Complaint.

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Mellado to impose the following penalties:

- Reprimand
- Fine of \$10,000 to be paid within ninety (90) days
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level III (13-18 hour) course in Periodontics; Level II (7-12 hour) course in Diagnosis and Treatment Planning; Level II (7-12 hour) course in Crown and Bridge
- Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

Motion: by Dr. White to impose costs of \$6,178.62 to be paid within ninety (90) days.

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

ii. Jared Schmitt, DMD, Case No. 2021-02015

(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Mellado)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Mellado were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Schmitt was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Dennis Vandenberg, Esq.

Dr. Shideler summarized the case for the Board. Respondent is charged with the following violations: **Count I:** Section 456.072(1)(bb), Florida Statutes, for performing or attempting to perform health care services on the wrong patient, a wrong procedure, or an unauthorized procedure that is medically unnecessary by performing a wrong site procedure by erroneously extracting tooth 10 instead of the intended tooth H

Motion: by Dr. White to find the Administrative Complaint was properly served on Respondent and that Respondent failed to timely respond to the Administrative Complaint and has waived the right to request a hearing, to adopt the allegations of fact in the Administrative Complaint as the findings of fact of the Board, and to find the Respondent in violation of the Florida Statutes as charged in the Administrative Complaint.

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Cherry to impose the following penalties:

- Letter of Concern
- Fine of \$7,500 to be paid within ninety (90) days
- Continuing Education to be completed in person at or through a Florida accredited college of dentistry within one year: Level II (7-12 hour) course in Pediatric Dentistry, Level II (7-12 hour) course in Oral Surgery
- Successful completion of a three-semester hour course in Risk Management to be completed at or through (online) any accredited college or university within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order
- Successful completion of the Laws and Rules exam within twelve (12) months of the filing of the Final Order

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

Motion: by Dr. White to impose costs of \$5000 to be paid within ninety (90) days.

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

iii. Robin Young, DDS, Case No. 2021-14662(PCP – Miro, Morgan, Bojaxhi)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Bojaxhi were recused due to participation in the probable cause panel.

Dr. Young was not present. She was not represented by counsel.

Mr. Cheikhali summarized the case for the Board. Respondent is charged with the following violations: Count I: Section 466.028 (1)(aa) for a violating a lawful order of the Board of Dentistry by failing to pay the costs associated with the Final Order.

Motion: by Dr. White to find the Administrative Complaint was properly served on Respondent and that Respondent failed to timely respond to the Administrative Complaint and has waived the right to request a hearing, to adopt the allegations of fact in the Administrative Complaint as

the findings of fact of the Board, and to find the Respondent in violation of the Florida Statutes as charged in the Administrative Complaint.

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. White for revocation of the license

Second: Dr. Cherry Vote: Unanimous

Motion: by Dr. White to impose costs of \$1,370.10 to be paid within ninety (90) days.

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

D. Voluntary Relinquishment

i. Michelle J. Luchey Charles, DDS, Case No. 2021-01634
 (PCP – Miro, Morgan, Bojaxhi)

Dr. Miro and Dr. Bojaxhi were recused due to participation in probable cause panel.

Dr. Luchey Charles was not present. She was not represented by counsel.

The department withdrew the Voluntary Relinquishment

III. PROSECUTION REPORT

A. Assistant General Counsel

Ms. Shideler presented the Board with the current status of Board Cases.

<u>Case Status</u>	11/19/2021	2/18/2022	5/20/2022
Total cases open/active in Prosecution Services:	251	200	188
Cases in Emergency Action Unit:	2	1	2
Cases under legal review:	137	90	71
Cases awaiting supplemental investigation/expert opinion:	24	19	20
Cases with PCP recommendation:	37	37	56
Cases where probable cause has been found:	6	13	1
Cases where DOAH has been requested:	22	21	19
Cases pending before DOAH:	3	2	0
Cases on Board meeting agendas:	15	14	14
Cases on appeal:	0	0	0
Cases older than one year:*	58	54	63

^{*} Does not include cases currently agendaed for final action by the Board.

Motion: by Mr. Andrade to continue prosecuting year and older cases

Second: Dr. White Vote: Unanimous

IV. REQUEST TO SET TERMS OF PROBATION

A. Jacob Leibovici, DDS Case Nos. 2017-01507 and 2018-02998

Dr. Leibovic was not present. Dr. Leibovici appeared before the Board at the February 18, 2022 meeting. His proposed Settlement Agreement was rejected by the Board and a counter Settlement Agreement was offered. Dr. Leibovici accepted the counter Settlement Agreement, and the Order was filed on March 2, 2022. One of the terms of the counter Settlement Agreement was two (2) years of Probation with Chart Reviews. This is being brought back before the Board for clarification of the probationary terms, so his probation can be accurately monitored.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. White to set the following terms:

Respondent shall be indirectly monitored by a board approved monitor of a dentist who is fully licensed under Chapter 466. The Respondent shall submit the CV or resume of the monitor to the Compliance Officer for approval. The Board Chair has delegated authority to approve the monitor.

The probationary term begins only after the monitor has been approved.

The monitor shall review a random sample of active chart reviews of no less than 25% of Respondents patients.

The Respondent shall ensure the monitor submits quarterly reports, in affidavit form, to include:

- Dates the monitor visited Respondent's office
- Brief summary of why the Respondent is on probation
- The number of records reviewed
- Summary of the overall quality of the records reviewed
- Summary of the issues addressed and topics discussed
- Detail any problems or concerns that may have arisen with Respondent

In the event Respondent does not actively engage in professional practice for a period of 30 days or more, the probation shall be tolled until such time Respondent returns to active practice in Florida.

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

V. PETITION FOR VARIANCE OR WAIVER OF RULE

i. Karanjit Purewal

This item was tabled until the August meeting.

VI. PETITION FOR MODIFICATION OF FINAL ORDER

A. Briggitte Martin, DDS

Case No. 2019-39257

Dr. Martin was not present. She was not represented by counsel.

On March 21, 2022, Dr. Martin made a request to modify her Final Order on Case No. 2019-39257. The Final Order required her to pay a fine of \$5,000.00, costs of \$2,971.47, complete a Level I course in Crown and Bridge, successfully pass the Florida Laws and Rules exam, and reimburse the patient in the amount of \$397.50 within one year of the filing of the Final Order. Dr. Martin is requesting an extension to complete the requirements.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Ms. Johnson to reject the Petition

Second: Dr. Miro Vote: Unanimous

B. Denise Shuman, RDH

Case No. 2017-08706

Ms. Shuman was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. She was represented by Vanessa L. King, Esq.

On April 11, 2022, Ms. Shuman made a request to modify her Final Order on Case No. 2017-08706. The Final Order required Ms. Shuman to pass the Florida Laws and Rules

examination by March 9, 2022. Ms. Shuman took the laws and rules exam on January 28, 2022, and February 23, 2022, and was unable to pass the exam. She is scheduled to sit for the exam again on April 29, 2022, and is requesting an extension to complete the requirement.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Ms. Hill to grant the extension for the Law and Rules examination and to deny the request for an extension of time to pay the fines and costs

Second: Mr. Andrade

Vote: 9/1 Motion carried. Ms. Johnson opposed.

VII. REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS

A. Application for Dental License

i. John Craig

Dr. Craig was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Ed Bayo, Esq. His appearance was requested due to past discipline.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. McCawley to grant licensure

Dr. McCawley withdrew his motion.

Motion: by Dr. Tejera to deny the application for failure to comply with a previous Final

Order and being convicted of a crime related to the practice of dentistry.

Second: Mr. Andrade

Vote: 6/4 Motion carried. Dr. Cherry, Dr. McCawley, Dr. Mellado, and Ms. Hill opposed.

B. Application for Dental Teaching Permit

i. Susan Adams

Dr. Adams was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. She was not represented by counsel. Her appearance was requested due to her previous health history.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Miro to approve the application pending receipt that Dr. Adams is full-time

faculty. Dr. Adams has thirty (30) days to provide the letter.

Second: Dr. White Vote: Unanimous

C. Application for Moderate Sedation Permit

i. Kyle Duffy, DN 20738

Dr. Duffy was present and was sworn in by the court reporter. He was represented by Vilma Martinez Esq. His appearance was requested due to past discipline.

Dr. Duffy withdrew his application.

VIII. REPORTS

A. Board Counsel

i. Rules Report

Mr. Tellechea provided the Board with a current status of the rules currently in process

ii. JAPC Correspondence

a. Rule 64B5-13.005, F.A.C.

NOTICE OF CHANGE

Notice is hereby given that the following changes have been made to the proposed rule in accordance with subparagraph 120.54(3)(d)1., FS, published in Vol. 47, No. 188, of the September 28, 2021, issue of the Florida Administrative Register. The changes are in response to written comments submitted by the staff of the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee and discussion and subsequent vote by the board at a public meeting held February 18, 2022. The changes are as follows:

64B5-13.005 Disciplinary Guidelines.

(1) When the Board finds an applicant, licensee, certificate holder, or telehealth registrant whom it regulates under chapter 466, F.S., has committed any of the acts set forth in section 456.072(1), 466.028, or 456.47, F.S., it shall issue a final order imposing appropriate penalties as recommended in these disciplinary guidelines. For any violation found that is for fraud or making a false or fraudulent representation, the Board will impose a fine of \$10,000.00 per count or offense. The use of terms to describe the offenses herein within the individual guidelines is intended to be only a generally descriptive use of the terms. For an accurate description of the actual offenses, the reader should refer to the statutory disciplinary provisions. The maximum penalties set forth in any individual offense guideline include all of the less severe penalties that would fall in between the maximum and the minimum penalties stated. For telehealth registrants, a suspension may be accompanied by a corrective action plan that addressees the conduct which resulted in the underlying disciplinary violations. The Board may require a corrective action plan be completed prior to reinstatement of the suspended registration or the corrective action plan may follow a suspension for a definite term.

VIOLATION			PENALTY RANGE		
	MINIMUM	MAXIMUM		TELEHEALTH	TELEHEALTH
				REGISTRANT	REGISTRANT
				MINIMUM	MAXIMUM
(a) Attempting to obtain,					
obtaining or renewing a					
license by bribery,					
fraudulent					
misrepresentations or					
error of the Board.					
(Sections 466.028(1)(a),					
456.072(1)(h), F.S.)					
1. Obtain license by					
<u>bribery.</u>					
First Offense	\$500 fine and	\$5,000 fine and	l one (1)		
	two (2) years'	year suspensior	<u>1.</u>		

	1		T	T
	probation or			
	application			
	denial, \$500 fine			
	and referral to			
	State Attorney's			
	office if not			
	licensed.			
Second Offense	\$ <mark>10,000 5,000</mark>	\$10,000 fine and		
	fine and one (1)	Permanent Revocation.		
	year suspension			
	or application			
	denial, \$10,000			
	500 fine and			
	referral to State			
	Attorney's office			
	if not licensed.			
2. Obtain license by				
fraudulent				
misrepresentations.				
First Offense	Denial \$500 fine	Denial/or five (5) year	Denial of	Revocation or
	and referral to	suspension revocation		Denial of
	•	\$10,000 fine and referral to		Application.
		State Attorney's office if		
	licensed.	not licensed.		~
Second Offense				<u>Same.</u>
	fine.	permanent denial and	<u>Denial</u>	
	iiic.	revocation.		
(b) Having a license to				
practice dentistry or				
dental hygiene revoked,				
suspended, or otherwise				
acted against, including				
the denial of licensure, by				
the licensing authority of				
another state, territory, or				
country.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(b),				
456.072(1)(f), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Suspension/denial until the	Letter of	One (1) year
		h		Suspension or
		and active in the	>p	Denial of
		jurisdiction in which the		Application.
		disciplinary action was		
		originally taken, or up to		
		five years, followed by probation and		
		\$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine or		
		revocation.		
Second Offense	Imposition of	Suspension until the license	One (1) month	Three (3) year
	discipline which			Suspension.
	would have been	jurisdiction in which	P VALUE OF THE	

	1 *641	Tar e ar	-	
		disciplinary action was		
	substantive	taken, followed by five (5) years' probation and		
	in Florida.	\$10,000 fine.		
	Probation and	\$10,000 IIIIe.		
	\$1,000 fine.			
Third Offense	One year	Revocation and	One (1) year	Revocation.
	suspension	permanent denial and	suspension.	
		\$10,000 fine.		
	probation and			
	\$5,000 fine.			
(c) Guilty of a crime				
directly relating to				
practice or ability to				
practice.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(c),				
456.072(1)(c), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Denial or 2 years	One (1) month	Three (3) year
		suspension followed by 2	Suspension	Suspension or
		years probation with		Denial of
		conditions and \$5,000		Application.
		10,000 fine, or revocation.		
Second Offense	One year	Denial or five (5) year	Six (6) month	Revocation
	suspension	suspension followed by	Suspension.	
	followed by probation and	probation with conditions revocation and \$7,500		
	\$ <mark>2,500</mark> 1,000 fine.	10,000 fine , .		
Third Offense	Five (5) year	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation
Time Officise	suspension	fine.	Suspension	Keyocation
	followed by		Suspension	
	probation			
	Revocation and			
	\$ <u>7,500</u> 2,500 fine.			
(d) Advertising goods or				
services in a manner				
which is fraudulent, false,				
deceptive, or misleading				
in form.				
(Section 466.028(1)(d),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	One (1) year probation	One (1) month	One (1) year
		with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year suspension	Six (6) month	Eighteen (18)
Second Offense	probation with	followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	month
	conditions and	probation with conditions	Suspension.	Suspension.
	\$3,000 fine.	and \$ <u>8,000</u> 10,000 fine.		Suspension.
Third Offense	Two (2) years	Revocation and	One (1) year	Revocation
	probation with	permanent denial and	Suspension	
	conditions and \$5,000 fine.	\$10,000 fine.		

	T		T	ı
(e) Advertising,				
practicing, or attempting				
to practice under a name				
other than one's own.				
(Section 466.028(1)(e),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.		Reprimand	One (1) year
		and \$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine.		Suspension or
				Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year <u>p</u> Probation with conditions and	Two (2) years suspension followed by two (2) years probation Denial or	Six (6) month Suspension	Revocation
	\$3,000 fine.	revocation and \$ <mark>7,500</mark> 10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	Two (2) years	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and			
(A) E 11 4 4	\$5,000 fine.			
(f) Failing to report any				
person in violation of this				
chapter or of the rules of				
the department or the				
board.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(f),				
456.072(1)(i), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	1		a (5)
rirst Oliense	\$500 line.	1 year probation with conditions and \$1,000	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		fine.		Suspension or
		inic.		Denial of
G 1000				Application.
Second Offense	1 year probation	6 months suspension, 1	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	with conditions and \$1,000 fine.	year probation with conditions and \$3,000	Suspension.	Suspension.
	and \$1,000 mie.	fine.		
Third Offense	1 year probation	1 year suspension, 1 year	One (1) year	Revocation.
Timu Girense	with conditions and \$3,000 fine.	probation with conditions and \$5,000 fine.	Suspension.	Kevocation.
(g) Aiding, assisting,				
procuring, or advising				
any unlicensed person to				
practice dentistry or				
dental hygiene.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(g),				
456.072(1)(j), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Six (6) months suspension	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		followed by one , (1) year		Suspension or
		probation with conditions		Denial of
		and \$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine.		Application.
Second Offense	1 year suspension followed by 5 (2) years probation	2 years suspension followed by two; (2) years	Six (6) month Suspension.	Revocation.

	15.1 15.2 1	l 1 /2 - 24 - 12/2		
		probation with conditions		
		and \$8,000 10,000 fine.	0 (1)	
Third Offense		Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	\$5,000 fine.	inie.	Suspension.	
(h) Being employed by				
any corporation,				
organization, group, or				
person other than a dentist				
or a professional				
corporation or limited				
liability company				
composed of dentists to				
practice dentistry.				
f ·				
(Section 466.028(1)(h),				
F.S.)	¢1 000 €	T (2)		0 (1)
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Two (2) years probation with conditions and up to	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		suspension, and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
		·		Application.
Second Offense		One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	with conditions,	followed by one (1) year	Suspension.	
	reprimand and	probation with conditions		
TTI : 1 0 00	\$3,000 fine.	and \$8,000 10,000 fine.	0 (1)	
Third Offense	1 year suspension, reprimand and	ino change.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	\$5,000 fine.		Suspension.	
(i) Failing to perform any				
statutory or legal				
obligation placed upon a				
licensee.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(i),				
456.072(1)(k), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	Two (2) years probation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	1 year probation	Two (2) years probation	Six (6) month	One (1) year
Second Offense	with conditions	with conditions and \$7,500	Suspension.	Suspension.
	and \$ <mark>2,000</mark>	10,000 fine.	Suspension.	ouspension.
	fine.			
Third Offense		One (1) year suspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
	with conditions	and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	and \$ <u>5,000</u> 2,000			
(1) 1.5.1.1.	fine.			
(j) Making or filing a				
false report, failing to file				
a report or record required				
by state or federal law,				
knowingly impeding or				
obstructing such filing.				

		I	-	
(Sections 466.028(1)(j),				
456.072(1)(1), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	One (1) year probation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		with conditions and up to		Suspension or
		suspension, and \$5,000 10,000 fine.		Denial of
		10,000 me.		Application.
No change.	1 year probation	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	with conditions	followed by one (1) year,	Suspension.	Suspension.
	and \$2,500 fine.	probation with conditions		
		and \$ <mark>7,500</mark> 8,000 10,000		
	2	fine.	2 (1)	
No change.	2 years probation with conditions	No change.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	and \$5,000 fine.		Suspension.	
(k) Sexual battery, as	απα ψ5,000 mmc.			
defined in chapter 794,				
F.S., upon a patient.				
(Section 466.028(1)(k),				
, , , , , ,				
F.S.)	Revocation-6	Same Denial or revocation	Danielan	G
First Offense	months suspension		Denial or	Same.
	followed by	and \$10,000 tine.	Revocation.	
	probation and			
	\$2,500 fine.			
Second or Subsequent	Revocation and	SameDenial/revocation and	Denial or	Same.
Offense	\$10,000 fine 5	\$10,000 fine.	Revocation.	
	years suspension		220 / 00001011	
	followed by			
	probation with			
	conditions and			
(1) 17.11	\$5,000 fine.			
(l) Making deceptive,				
untrue, or fraudulent				
representations in or				
related to the practice of				
dentistry.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(1),				
456.072(1)(a), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Six (6) months probation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	1 year probation	Six (6) months suspension	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	with conditions	and \$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	Suspension.	Suspension.
	and \$ <mark>2,000</mark> 1,000			
	fine.	D 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1		
Third Offense		Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	with conditions and \$ <mark>5,000</mark> 2,500	fine.	Suspension.	
	and \$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine.			
(m) Failing to keep				
written records and		l .	<u> </u>	

history justifying the				
course of treatment of the				
patient.				
(Section 466.028(1)(m),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$ <u>2,500</u> <u>1000 500</u>	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	One (1) year
	fine.	with conditions and \$ <mark>5,000</mark>		Suspension or
		\$ <u>7,500</u> fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
		and \$ <mark>10,000</mark>	Suspension.	
	conditions and		<u>Suspension.</u>	
	\$ <u>5,000</u> <u>2,500</u> <u>1,000</u>			
	fine.			
Third Offense			One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>-</u>	fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and			
	\$ <mark>7,500</mark> 5,000 2,500 fine.			
(n) Failing to make	me.			
available to a patient or				
client, copies of				
documents which relate				
to the patient or client.				
(Section 466.028(1)(n),				
F.S.)	Φ Ξ 00 Θ	0 (1) D 1 1		
First Offense	\$500 fine.		Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		with conditions and \$5,000 7,500 fine.		Suspension or
		7,500 IIIIe.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	\$1,000 fine.		Six (6) month	One (1) year
		with conditions and \$ <u>5,000</u> 7,500 10,000 fine.	Suspension.	Suspension.
Third Offense	\$ <mark>5,000 2,500 fine.</mark>		One (1) year	Revocation.
			Suspension.	
(o) Performing				
professional services				
which have not been				
authorized by the patient				
or client.				
(Section 466.028(1)(o),				
F.S.)	¢1 000 C	O (1) D 1 ('		G1 (6) 11
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$5,000	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		8,000 fine.		Suspension or
		<u>0,000</u> mc.		Denial of
		- 41		Application.
Second Offense	Probation with	1 07 500 10 000 6	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	conditions and	and \$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	Suspension.	Suspension.
	\$2,500 fine.			

Third Offense		Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	conditions and \$5,000 fine.	fine.	Suspension.	
(p) Prescribing, procuring, dispensing, administering, mixing, or otherwise preparing a				
legend drug or controlled substance, other than in the course of the professional practice of the dentist. (Section 466.028(1)(p), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions, and \$5,00010,000 fine and up to suspension.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and \$2,500 fine.	One (1) year sSuspension and \$7,50010,000-fine.	Six (6) month Suspension.	One (1) year Suspension.
Third Offense	Suspension followed by probation and \$5,000 fine.	Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(q) Prescribing any medicinal drug scheduled in chapter 893, F.S., to herself or himself. (Section 466.028(1)(q), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine and PRN referral.	One (1) year sSuspension followed by probation with conditions, including PRN referral with conditions and \$5,00010,000-fine.		One (1) year Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year pProbation with conditions, PRN referral, and \$2,500 fine.	One (1) year s&uspension and \$7,50010,000 fine.	Six (6) month Suspension.	Revocation.
Third Offense	One (1) year <u>s</u> Suspension followed by probation, including PRN referral and \$5,000 fine.	Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(r) Prescribing any drug which is a Schedule II amphetamine or a Schedule II Elorida Board of Dentistry				11

	T	T	T	T
sympathomimetic amine				
drug, pursuant to chapter				
893, F.S.				
(Section 466.028(1)(r),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
C 1 O.C	Two (2) years	One (1) year sSuspension	G! (C) 41-	
Second Offense	p Probation with	followed by two (2) years	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	conditions and	probation and $\$\frac{7,500}{}$	Suspension.	
	\$2,500 fine.	$\frac{10,000}{10}$ fine.		
Third Offense	_	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
Tillia Offelise	-	fine.	Suspension.	Kevocation.
	conditions and		Suspension.	
	\$5,000 fine.			
(s) Being unable to				
practice her or his				
profession with				
reasonable skill and				
safety to patients by				
reason of illness or use of				
alcohol, drugs, narcotics				
chemicals, or any other				
type of material or as a				
* -				
result of any mental or				
physical condition.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(s),				
456.072(1)(z), F.S.)				
First Offense	Denial, or		Denial of	Two (2) year
	suspension until		Application or	suspension,
	licensee petitions		Suspension until	demonstration of
	the Board and		demonstration of	ability to practice
	demonstrates		ability to	with reasonable
	ability to practice with reasonable		practice with	skill and safety as
	skill and safety,		reasonable skill	condition of
	followed by		and safety.	reinstatement.
	probation with		una sarciy.	ı amsaaamena
	conditions and up			
	to \$5,000 fine.			
Second Offense		Suspension followed by	Two (2) year	Revocation.
		probation and \$10,000	suspension,	
		fine	demonstration of	
	the Board and		ability to	
	demonstrates			
	ability to practice		practice with	
	with reasonable		reasonable skill	
	skill and safety,		and safety as	
	followed by		condition of	
	probation with		reinstatement.	

	conditions and up			
	to \$5,000 fine.			
Third Offense	Denial, or	Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	Five (5) year	Revocation.
	suspension until licensee petitions	ime.	suspension,	
	the Board and		demonstration of	
	demonstrates		ability to	
	ability to practice		practice with	
	with reasonable		reasonable skill	
	skill and safety,		and safety as	
	followed by probation with		condition of	
	conditions and up		<u>reinstatement.</u>	
	to \$10,000 fine.			
(t) Fraud, deceit, or				
misconduct in the				
practice of dentistry or				
dental hygiene.				
(Section $466.028(1)(t)$,				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$2,500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$7,500 8,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	<u>p</u> Probation with	followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	Suspension.
	conditions and \$8,000 fine.	probation and \$10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	Two (2) years	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and			
	\$10,000 fine.			
(u) Failure to provide and				
maintain reasonable				
sanitary facilities and				
conditions.				
(Section 466.028(1)(u),				
F.S.) First Offense	No Change.	One (1) year pProbation	Not Applicable	
riist Offense	1 to Change.	with conditions and \$5,000	to Telehealth	
		8,000 fine.	Registrants.	
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year s S uspension,	Not Applicable	
Second Officials	pProbation with	followed by two (2) years	to Telehealth	
	conditions and	probation with conditions	Registrants.	
	\$3,000 fine.	and \$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	-	
Third Offense	One (1) year	Revocation and \$10,000	Not Applicable	
	<u>p</u> Probation with conditions and	fine.	to Telehealth	
	\$8,000 fine.		Registrants.	
(v) Failure to provide	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,			
adequate radiation				
safeguards.				

(0 .: 466.000(1)(.)				
(Section 466.028(1)(v),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	No Change.	One (1) year pProbation	Not Applicable	
		with conditions and \$5,000 8,000 fine.	to Telehealth	
		8,000 fine.	Registrants.	
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	Not Applicable	
	<u>p</u> Probation with	followed by probation and	to Telehealth	
	conditions and	\$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	Registrants.	
	\$3,000 fine.			
Third Offense	Two (2) years	Revocation and \$10,000	Not Applicable	
	<u>p</u> Probation with	fine.	to Telehealth	
	conditions and		Registrants.	
() D C .	\$8,000 fine.			
(w) Performing any				
procedure which would	L			
constitute				
experimentation or				
human subjects, without				
first obtaining full	,			
informed, and written	1			
consent.				
(Section 466.028(1)(w),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Probation with conditions	Renrimand	Six (6) month
That Official	7 – 90 0 0 – 1 – 1 0 0	and \$3,000 fine.	кертинана.	g .
		, . ,		
				Denial of
	D 1 41 141	G • 6 H 11		Application.
Second Offense	Probation with	Suspension followed by	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	conditions and \$3,500 fine.	probation and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	Suspension.
This of Office	Suspension	Revocation and \$10,000	0 (1)	D 4
Third Offense		fine.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	probation and	ime.	Suspension.	
	\$5,000 fine.			
(x) Being guilty of	φε,σσσ Inic.			
incompetence or				
negligence, including, but				
not limited to, being				
guilty of dental				
malpractice.				
(Section $466.028(1)(x)$,				
F.S.)				
First Offense	<mark>\$<u>2,500</u> </mark>	One (1) year pProbation	Reprimand or	One (1) year
		with conditions and \$7,500	Denial of	Suspension or
		5,000 10,000 fine.	Application.	Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
Second Offense	pProbation with	and $\$\frac{10,000}{7,500}$ $\frac{7,500}{10,000}$	Suspension.	ac vocation.
	conditions and	fine.	Suspension.	
	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 1,000			
	fine.			

TI . 1 0 00	T (2)	Danagation and \$10,000	a (1)	h .
Third Offense		Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	\$7,500 \(\frac{5,000}{2,500}\)	nne.	Suspension.	
	ֆ <u>7,500</u> 5,000 2,500 fine.			
(y) Practicing beyond the				
scope that she or he is				
competent to perform.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(y),				
456.072(1)(o), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation	Reprimand or	One (1) year
		1.4 1.1 1.4 7.000	Denial of	Suspension or
		10,000 fine.	Application.	Denial of
			тррисатон.	Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
Second Offense		followed by one (1) year	Suspension.	Kevocation.
	conditions and	probation with conditions	Suspension.	
		and \$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	One (1) year	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
		fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and		<u></u>	
	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine.			
(z) Delegating or				
contracting for				
professional				
responsibilities to a				
person who is not				
qualified to perform				
them.				
(Sections 466.028(1)(z),				
456.072(1)(p), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$2,500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation	Reprimand or	One (1) year
		with conditions and, \$7,500	Denial of	Suspension or
		10,000 fine and suspension.	Application.	Denial of
			тррисацон.	Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
Second Offense		followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	Kevocation.
		probation and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	\$5,000 fine.	F		
Third Offense	One (1) year	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and		<u></u>	
	\$7,500 fine.			
=		<u>vill result in a minimum lic</u>	_	
		this violation, except when	e revocation is imp	osed.
(aa) The violation of a				
lawful order of the board,				
or failure to comply with				
subpoena of the board or				
department.				
(Sections				
466.028(1)(aa),				
456.072(1)(q), F.S.)				
Florido Poord of Dontietry				າາ

T: 0.00	\$5,000 fine.	Cuananaian until	h	G! (C) (I
First Offense	\$5,000 line.	Suspension until compliant with order or	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		subpoena, probation with		Suspension or
		conditions and \$10,000		Denial of
		fine.		Application.
Second Offense	\$10,000 fine.	Suspension until	Six (6) month	One (1) year
		compliant with order or	Suspension.	Suspension.
		subpoena followed by		
		probation with conditions and \$10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	Revocation and	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
Timu Officiase	\$10,000 fine.	fine.	Suspension.	Revocation.
(bb) Conspiring with				
another licensee or with				
any person to commit an				
act, which would tend to				
coerce, intimidate, or				
preclude another licensee				
from advertising services.				
(Section 466.028(1)(bb),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	\$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
				Suspension or
				Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year pProbation	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	<u>p</u> Probation with	with conditions and $\frac{57,500}{100,000}$	Suspension.	Suspension.
	conditions and \$2,500 fine.	10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	One (1) year	One (1) year sSuspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
Tillia Offense	p P robation with	followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	Kevocation.
	conditions and	probation and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	\$5,000 fine.			
(cc) Being adjudged				
mentally incompetent in				
this or any other state, the				
discipline for which shall				
last only so long as the				
adjudication.				
(Section 466.028(1)(cc),				
F.S.)	Suspension until	Suspension until	D	G
First and any subsequent offense.	adjudged	adjudged competent by	Denial of	Same.
subsequent offense.	competent by	same court.	Application or	
	same court		suspension until	
			adjudged competent by	
			same court.	
(dd) Presigning blank	1		paille Coult.	
prescription or laboratory				
work order forms.				
(Section 466.028(1)(dd),				
F.S.)				
Florida Board of Dentistry	,i.	1	1	23

First Offense \$500 fine. One (1) year pProbation Reprimand. Six (
1.1 1.1 1.65 0.00	6) month
with conditions and \$5,000 Suspen	sion or
fine. Denial	<u>of</u>
Applic	<u>ation.</u>
Second Offense \$\frac{\\$2,500}{1,000}\$ fine. One (1) year pProbation Six (6) month One	(1) year
with conditions and \$7,500 Suspension. Suspen	sion.
fine.	
Third Offense One (1) year One (1) year Suspension One (1) year Revoca	<u>tion.</u>
pProbation with followed by two (2) years conditions and probation and \$10,000 fine.	
conditions and <u>probation</u> and \$10,000 fine.	
	
(ee) Prescribing growth	
hormones, testosterone or	
its analogs, human	
chorionic gonadotropin	
(HCG), or other	
hormones for the purpose	
of muscle building or to	
enhance athletic athletic	
performance.	
(Section 466.028(1)(ee),	
F.S.)	
First Offense \$1,000 fine. One (1) year pProbation Reprimand or One	(1) year
with conditions and \$5,000 Denial of Susper	ision or
10,000 fine. Application. Denial	of
Applic	ation.
Second Offense One (1) year Three (3) years pProbation Six (6) month Revoca	ition.
<u>p</u> Probation with with conditions and \$7,500 Suspension.	
conditions and 8,000 fine.	
\$2,500 fine	
Third Offense \$5,000 fine. One (1) year sSuspension One (1) year Revoca	<u>ition.</u>
and \$10,000 fine. Suspension.	
(ff) Operating a dental	
office such as to result in	
dental treatment that is	
below minimum	
acceptable standards of	
performance for the	
community.	
(Section 466.028(1)(ff),	
F.S.)	
4500 6 70 10	6) month
with conditions and \$5,000 Susper	
10,000 fine. Denial	of
Applic	
	(1) year
Second Offense II wo (2) years One (1) year sausbension Nix (n) month ii ma	
Second Offense Two (2) years One (1) year sSuspension Probation with and \$7,500 \(\frac{10,000}{10,000}\) fine.	SIOH.
	ISIOII.
<u>p</u> Probation with conditions and \$7,500 \ 10,000 \ fine. Suspension. Suspension.	ision.
pProbation with conditions and \$7,500 \(\frac{10,000}{10,000} \) fine. Suspension.	

	T	T	1	1
	conditions and			
	\$ <u>5,000</u> 4,000 fine.			
(gg) Administering				
anesthesia in a manner				
which violates rules of the				
board.				
(Section 466.028(1)(gg),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine and Reprimand.	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 10,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth	
			Registrants.	
Second Offense	One (1)year pProbation with conditions and \$2,500 fine.	One (1) year s S uspension and \$7,500 10,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
Third Offense	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 4,000 fine.	Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
(hh) Failing to report any	<u> 2,000</u> 1,000 ппс.			
licensee under chapter				
458 or 459, F.S., who the				
dentist knows has				
violated the grounds for				
disciplinary action.				
(Section 466.028(1)(hh),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine <u>and</u>	One (1) year pProbation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
	Letter of Concern.	with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	\$2,500 fine and	\$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine <u>and two</u>	Six (6) month	One (1) year
	Reprimand.	(2) years probation.	Suspension.	Suspension.
Third Offense	\$ <mark>5,000 3,500 fine</mark>	\$10,000 fine and two (2)	One (1) year	Revocation.
Time Offense	and thirty (30) days		Suspension.	THE VOCALION .
	suspension.		<u> эцэрсняюн.</u>	
(ii) Failing to report to the board, within 30 days action has been taken against one's license to practice dentistry in another state, territory, or				
country.				
(Section 466.028(1)(ii),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	05 000 fm 1 1D 1 1	Donning and	One (1)
rirst Offense	φ1,000 11110.	\$5,000 fine and dDenial	Reprimand or	One (1) year
		of application or two (2)	Denial of	Suspension or
		years suspension	Application.	Denial of
		followed by three (3)		Application.
		years probation,]

	1			
		revocation and \$8,000		
		fine .		
Second Offense	One (1) year	\$ <mark>7,500 10,000 fine and</mark>	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation and	two (2) years suspension	Suspension.	
	\$ <u>2,500</u> 1,500	or Denial, revocation and		
	fine.	\$10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	One (1) year	\$10,000 fine and dDenial	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>s</u> Suspension	of application or ;	Suspension.	
	followed by two	revocation and \$10,000		
	(2) years probation	line.		
	and \$ <u>5,000</u> 3,000 fine.			
(::) A dti-i	inie.			
(jj) Advertising specialty				
services in violation of				
this chapter.				
(Section 466.028(1)(jj),				
F.S.)	₫1 000 6	Φ. 0007 500 C		
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	\$ <u>5,000</u> 7, 500 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
				Suspension or
				Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	\$2,500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation	Six (6) month	One (1) year
		with conditions and	Suspension.	Suspension.
TI 1-1 Officer	Two (2) years	\$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine. One (1) year s S uspension	0 (1)	D 4
Third Offense	p P robation with	followed by two (2) years	One (1) year	Revocation.
	conditions and	probation and \$10,000 fine	Suspension.	
	\$5,000 fine.	procuron una ¢10,000 mm		
(kk) Allowing any person				
to interfere with a				
dentist's clinical				
judgment.				
(Section 466.028(1)(kk),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	\$5,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
i list offense			reprimara.	Suspension or
				Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	Two (2) years pProbation	Six (6) month	One (1) year
Second Offense	pProbation with	with conditions and \$7,500	Suspension.	Suspension.
	conditions and	10,000 fine.	<u>ouspension.</u>	Suspension.
	\$2,500 fine.			
Third Offense	Two (2) years	One (1) year sSuspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and			
(II) XV 1	\$5,000 fine.		+	
(ll) Violating any				
provision of Chapters 456				
and 466, F.S., or any rules				
adopted pursuant thereto.				
(Sections				
466.028(1)(mm),				

17 (072 (1) (1)	1	T	1	
456.072(1)(b),				
456.072(1)(dd), F.S.)	♦==0.0			
First Offense	\$750 fine.	Six (6) months pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 8,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	Six (6) months	One (1) year pProbation	Siv (6) month	
Second Offense	pProbation with conditions and \$2,500 1,000 fine	with conditions and \$7,500 tine.	Six (6) month Suspension.	One (1) year Suspension.
Third Offense	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 2,500 fine.	One (1) year sSuspension followed by probation and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(mm) Failing to comply with the educational course requirements for HIV. (Section 456.072(1)(e), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	Six (6) months pProbation with conditions and \$1,500 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
Second Offense	\$1,000 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
Third Offense	\$ <u>2,500-1,500</u> fine.	Eighteen (18) months Probation with conditions and \$7,500 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
(nn) Having been found liable in a civil proceeding for knowingly filing a false report or complaint with the department against another licensee. (Section 456.072(1)(g), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Six (6) months pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 8,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	\$3,500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$7,500 10,000 fine.	Six (6) month Suspension.	One (1) year Suspension.
Third Offense	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 fine.	One (1) year sSuspension and \$10,000 fine.	One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(oo) Making deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent				

	1	1	1	1
representations in or				
related to the practice of a				
profession or employing a				
trick or scheme in or				
related to the practice of a				
profession.				
(Section 456.072(1)(m),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine and	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
	Letter of Concern.	with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		8,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years	One (1) year suspension	Six (6) month	One (1) year
Second Offense	probation with	followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	Suspension.
	conditions and	pProbation with conditions	Suspension.	Suspension.
	\$ <u>2,500</u> -3,500 fine.	and \$ <mark>7,500 8,000 10,000</mark>		
		fine.		
Third Offense	Two (2) years	Five (5) years sSuspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	and \$10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	conditions and			
() T	\$5,000 fine.			
(pp) Exercising influence				
on the patient or client for				
the purpose of financial				
gain of the licensee or a				
third party.				
(Section 456.072(1)(n),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine <u>and</u>	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand or	One (1) year
	Letter of Concern.	with conditions and	Denial of	Suspension or
		\$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine.	Application.	Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	followed by two (2) years	Suspension.	
	conditions and	probation with conditions		
	\$2,500 fine.	and \$7,500 8,000 10,000		
TELL: 1 O.CC	One (1) year	fine. Revocation and \$10,000	0 (1)	D 4
Third Offense	suspension	fine.	One (1) year	Revocation.
	followed by two	inic.	Suspension.	
	(2) years			
	p P robation with			
	conditions and			
	\$ <u>5,000</u> 3,500 fine.			
(qq) Wrong patient,				
wrong-site procedure, a				
wrong procedure,				
medically unnecessary.				
(Section 456.072(1)(bb),				
F.S.)				
μ.ω. <i>/</i>	L	1	I	I

	Letter of Concern.	with conditions and \$5,000 <u>10,000</u> fine	Reprimand or Denial of Application.	One (1) year Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	<u>p</u> Probation with conditions and	followed by two (2) years probation with conditions and \$7,500 10,000 fine.	Six (6) month Suspension.	Revocation.
Third Offense	One (1) year sSuspension followed by two (2) years probation with conditions and \$5,000 3,000 fine.		One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(rr) Improperly interfering with an investigation or inspection authorized by statute, or with any disciplinary proceeding. (Section 456.072(1)(r), F.S.)				
	\$1,000 fine.	One (1) year pProbation with conditions and \$5,00010,000 fine.	Reprimand.	Six (6) month Suspension or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and \$2,500 fine.		Six (6) month Suspension.	One (1) year Suspension.
Third Offense		O+	One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
(ss) Failing to comply with the educational course requirements for domestic violence. (Section 456.072(1)(s), F.S.)				
	\$500 fine.		Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
Second Offense	conditions and \$1,000 fine.	Probation with conditions and \$4,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
		Probation with conditions and \$8,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	
(tt) Failing to comply with sections 381.026 and				

	•	T	1	
381.0261, F.S., patient rights and how to file a				
patient complaint. (Section 456.072(1)(u),				
F.S.) First Offense	\$500 fine.	Probation with conditions and \$2,500 fine.		First Offense
		,	to Telehealth Registrants.	
Second Offense	conditions and \$1,000 fine.	Probation with conditions and \$4,000 fine.	to Telehealth Registrants.	Second Offense
Third Offense	\$2,500 fine.	Probation with conditions and \$8,000 fine.	Not Applicable to Telehealth Registrants.	Third Offense
(uu) Engaging or attempting to engage in sexual misconduct as defined and prohibited in section 456.063(1), F.S. (Section 456.072(1)(v), F.S.)				
First Offense	\$2,500 fine <u>and</u> Reprimand.	One (1) year suspension followed by three (3) years Revocation or probation with conditions and \$7,500 10,000 fine.	One (1) year suspension.	Revocation or Denial of Application.
Second Offense	Three (3) years pProbation with conditions and \$5,000 fine.	\$10,000 fine and three (3) year sSuspension followed by five (5) years probation with conditions or revocation, and \$10,000 fine.	Revocation	Same
Third Offense		Revocation and \$10,000 fine.	Revocation	<u>Same</u>
(vv) Failing to report to the board, in writing within 30 days after the licensee has been convicted or found guilty of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to regardless of adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction. (Section 456.072(1)(x), F.S.)				

	↑ = 0 0 0		1	T
First Offense	\$500 fine.	One (1) year pProbation	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		10,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	One (1) year	Two (2) years pProbation	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with	with conditions and \$ <mark>7,500</mark>	Suspension.	
	conditions and	10,000 fine.		
	\$ <u>2,500</u> 1,000 fine.			
Third Offense	One (1) year	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
	<u>s</u> Suspension	fine.	Suspension.	
	followed by two			
	(2) years probation			
	with conditions and			
() II.' ' C	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine.			
(ww) Using information				
about people involved in				
motor vehicle accidents				
which has been derived				
from accident reports.				
(Section $456.072(1)(y)$,				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine <u>and</u>	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	One (1) year
	Letter of Concern.	with conditions and \$5,000		Suspension or
		fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	\$2,500 1,000 fine	Four (4) years pProbation	Six (6) month	Revocation.
Second Offense	and Reprimand.	with conditions and \$7,500	Suspension.	Ite (ocurion
	-	8,000 fine.	Suspension.	
Third Offense	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine	One (1) year sSuspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
	and Reprimand.	followed by five (5) years	Suspension.	
		probation and \$10,000 fine.		
(xx) Leaving a foreign				
body in a patient.				
(Section 456.072(1)(cc),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$1,000 fine.	Two (2) years pProbation	Not Applicable to	
		with conditions and	<u>Telehealth</u>	
		\$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine.	Registrants.	
Second Offense	Probation with	Suspension followed by	Not Applicable to	
	conditions and	Five (5) years probation	<u>Telehealth</u>	
	\$2,500 fine.	with conditions and	Registrants.	
	D 1 41 141	\$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	NT 4 A 10 11 4	
Third Offense	Probation with conditions and	\$10,000 fine and two (2) years sSuspension followed	Not Applicable to	
	\$5,000 fine.		Registrants.	
	φυ,σου IIIIC.	with monitoring and/or	region anto.	
		revocation and \$10,000		
		fine.		
(yy) Testing positive for				
any drug, on any				
preemployment or				
employer-ordered drug				
screening.				
Florida Board of Dentistry	I	l	1	31

	1		1	
(Section 456.072(1)(aa),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	Six (6) month
		with conditions and		Suspension or
		\$ <u>5,000</u> 8,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Second Offense	\$ <mark>2,500 </mark>	Four (4) years Suspension	Six (6) month	One (1) year
		followed by probation with	Suspension.	Suspension.
		conditions and \$7,500		
	↑ 7 000 6 7 00 8	10,000 fine.		
Third Offense	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine.	One (1) year suspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
		followed by five (5) years probation with conditions	Suspension.	
		Revocation and \$10,000		
		fine.		
(zz) Intentionally				
submitting a personal				
injury protection claim				
required by section				
627.736, F.S., statement				
that has been "upcoded"				
as defined in section				
627.732, F.S.				
· ·				
(Section 456.072(1)(ee),				
F.S.)	\$500 fine.	True (2) reason m Duchation	D 1	0 (1)
First Offense	\$500 line.	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		\$5,000 8,000 fine.		Suspension or
		φ <u>σ,σσσ</u> σ,σσσ τιπ σ .		Denial of
	φ <mark>α =00 1 000</mark> 8*	E (A) E 1 :		Application.
Second Offense	\$ <u>2,500</u> 1,000 fine.	Four (4) years pProbation	Six (6) month	Revocation.
		with conditions and $\frac{7,500}{10,000}$ fine.	Suspension.	
Third Offense	\$ <mark>5,000 2,500 fine.</mark>		0 (1)	Domonation
I fill Offense	φ <u>υ,000 2,500</u> IIIIc.	followed by five (5) years	One (1) year	Revocation.
		probation with conditions	Suspension.	
		and \$10,000 fine.		
(aaa) Intentionally				
submitting a personal				
injury protection claim				
required by section				
627.736, F.S., for services				
that were not rendered.				
(Section 456.072(1)(ff),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	\$500 fine.	Two (2) years pProbation	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		with conditions and		Suspension or
		\$ <u>5,000</u> 8,000 fine.		Denial of
				Application.
Carand Offers	\$ <mark>2,500 1,000 fine.</mark>	Four (4) years pProbation	Six (6) month	Revocation.
Necona Uliense	UZOUU TAUUU			
Second Offense	φ <u>2,500</u> 1111 c.	with conditions and \$7,500	Suspension	Kevocation.

	1	T	1	1
Third Offense	\$ <u>5,000</u> 2,500 fine.	One (1) year sSuspension	One (1) year	Revocation.
		followed by <u>five (5) years</u> probation with conditions	Suspension.	
		and \$10,000 fine.		
(bbb) Engaging in a		and \$10,000 fme.		
pattern of practice of				
prescribing medicinal				
drugs or controlled				
substances which				
demonstrates a lack of				
reasonable skill or safety				
to patients or a violation				
of sections 893.055 and				
893.0551, F.S., or law and rules relating to				
and rules relating to prescribing practitioners.				
(Section 456.072(1)(gg),				
F.S.)	\$1,500 fine.	Two (2) years nProbation	D . 1	0 (1)
First Offense	\$1,500 line.	Two (2) years pProbation with conditions and \$5,000	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		$\frac{8,000}{8}$ fine.		Suspension or
		o,ooo iiic.		Denial of
	T. (2)	0 (1) 0 :		Application.
Second Offense	Two (2) years	One (1) year sSuspension	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	<u>p</u> Probation with conditions and	and \$ <u>7,500</u> 10,000 fine.	Suspension.	
	\$3,000 fine.			
Third Offense	\$5,000 fine.	Revocation and \$10,000	One (1) year	Revocation.
Time Offense	40,000 11110	fine.	Suspension.	Kevocation.
(ccc) Failing to comply	7		<u>Suspension.</u>	
with, failing to				
successfully complete, or				
being terminated from an				
impaired practitioner				
treatment program.				
(Section 456.072(1)(hh),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	Suspension, until	Suspension until	Denial of	Same
I iist Offense	compliant,	compliant, followed by 5	Application or	<u>Same</u>
	followed by 2	years probation with	Suspension until	
	years probation	conditions and \$5,000	Complaint,	
	with conditions	fine.	followed by	
	and \$2,000 fine.		Corrective	
			Action Plan.	
Second on Subsequent	Three years	Revocation and \$10,000	i i	Revocation.
Second or Subsequent Offense	suspension	fine.	<u>Same</u>	NEVOCALIOII.
Offense	followed by 5			
	years probation			
	with conditions			
	and \$10,000 fine.			
(ddd) Being convicted of	1			
or entering a plea of nolo				

contendere to, any				
misdemeanor or felony	,			
regardless	É			
adjudication, under 18	3			
U.S.C. s. 669, ss. 285-287	,			
s. 371, s. 1001, s. 1035, s.				
1341, s. 1343, s. 1347, s.				
1349, or s. 1518, or 42				
U.S.C. ss. 1320a-7b				
relating to the Medicaid	1			
program.				
(Section 456.072(1)(ii),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	Misdemeanor –	Misdemeanor – \$10,000	Damagatian	Damagatian
First Offense		fine, revocation.	<u>kevocation.</u>	Revocation.
	-	Felony – Revocation.		
	,	reiony – Revocation.		
	suspension.			
	Felony – Revocation.			
C 1.000		Misdemeanor or Felony –	g	g
Second Offense	Felony –	Revocation and \$10,000	<u>Same</u>	<u>Same</u>
		fine.		
	\$10,000 fine.			
(eee) Failing to remit the				
sum owed to the state for				
any overpayment from				
the Medicaid program				
pursuant to a final order,				
F				
judgement, or stipulation				
or settlement.				
(Section 456.072(1)(jj),				
F.S.)	 			
First Offense		<u> </u>	Reprimand and	Revocation or
	letter of concern	one (1) year suspension.		Denail of
			Suspension.	Application.
Second Offense	\$7,500 fine, reprimand.	\$10,000 fine, revocation.	Revocation.	Revocation.
(fff) Being terminated				
from the state Medicaid				
program pursuant to				
section 409.913, F.S., any				
other state Medicaid				
program, or the federal				
Medicare program, unless				
eligibility to participate in				
the program from which				
-				
terminated has been				
restored.				
(Section 456.072(1)(kk),				
F.S.				

F: O.SS	¢1 000 £: 1 .	¢5 000 10 000 € · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	b • • •	b
First Offense	letter of concern.	\$ <u>5,000</u> 10,000 fine, <u>one (1)</u> year suspension <u>followed</u>		Revocation or
		by two (2) years probation.	One (1) year	Denail of
		• • • •	Suspension.	Application.
Second Offense		\$10,000 fine <u>and two (2)</u>	Revocation.	Revocation.
	and a, reprimand.	year's suspension followed		
		by three (3) years		
	¢10,000 C C	probation, revocation.		
Third Offense	\$10,000 fine, five (5) year suspension	\$10,000 fine and	Revocation.	Revocation.
	followed by five	ievocation.		
	(5) years probation.			
(ggg) Being convicted of				
or entering a plea of guilty				
or nolo contendere, to any				
misdemeanor or felony.				
regardless of				
adjudication, a crime in				
any jurisdiction which				
relates to health care				
fraud.				
(Section 456.072(1)(ll),				
F.S.)				
First Offense		Misdemeanor – \$10,000	Reprimand and	Revocation or
	\$10,000 fine,	fine, suspension.	One (1) year	Denail of
	reprimand.	Felony – Revocation	Suspension.	Application.
	0	\$10,000 fine.		
	Revocation			
	\$10,000 fine.			
Second Offense		Misdemeanor or Felony –	Revocation	Revocation
	• /	\$10,000 fine, revocation.		
	fine, revocation.			
(hhh) Failure to comply				
with the controlled				
substance prescribing				
requirements of section				
456.44, F.S. (Section				
456.072(1)(mm), F.S.)				
First Offense	Suspension of	Revocation and an	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		administrative fine of		Suspension or
	period of six (6)	\$10,000.00.		Denial of
	months followed			Application.
	by a period of			Application.
	probation and an			
	administrative			
	fine in the amount			
	of \$10,000.00.			
Second Offense		Revocation and an	Six (6) month	Revocation.
		administrative fine in the	Suspension.	
		amount of \$10,000.00.		
	year followed by			
	probation and an			
	adminstrative fine]	1

	I.	T	1	
	in the amount of			
(iii) Providing false or	\$10,000.00.			
deceptive expert witness				
testimony related to the				
practice of dentistry.				
Γ				
(Section 466.028(1)(ll),				
F.S.)	Danwin and and	Danasation and an		0 (1)
First Offense		Revocation and an administrative fine of	Reprimand.	One (1) year
		\$10,000.00.		Suspension or
	σε φείσσοισσι	Ψ10,000.000		Denial of
	70 (1)	70 (1)		Application.
Second Offense	Revocation and	Revocation and an administrative fine of	Six (6) month	Revocation.
	fine of \$10,000.00.		Suspension.	
(jjj) Willfully failing to		φ10,000.00.	One (1) ween	Dayagatian
comply with section			One (1) year Suspension.	Revocation.
627.64194 or 641.513.			Suspension.	
F.S., with such frequency	1			
as to indicate a general				
business practice.				
(Section 456.072(1)(00),				
F.S.				
First Offense	Renrimand and a	Probation with conditions	Not Applicable	
rirst Offense	\$5,000 fine.	and \$7,500 fine.		
	φε,000 ππε.	απα φ <i>τ</i> ,ου ο πποι	to Telehealth	
Second Offense	Reprimand;		Registrants.	
Second Offense	suspension for 6		Not Applicable	
	months followed		to Telehealth	
	by Probation with		Registrants.	
	Conditions; and			
	\$8,000 fine.			
(kkk) Failure to comply				
with the parental consent				
requirements of s.				
1014.06.				
(Section 456.072(1)(rr),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	<u>Letter of</u>	Reprimand and \$500	Reprimand.	One (1) month
	Concern.	<u>fine.</u>		suspension.
Second Offense	Reprimand and	Probation with	One (1) month	Six (6) month
	\$250 fine.	conditions.	suspension.	suspension.
Third or Subsequent	Probation with	One (1) year suspension	One (1) year	Denial or
Offense		and \$5,000 fine.	suspension.	revocation of
	\$2,500 fine.			License.
First Offense	Letter of	Reprimand and \$500	Reprimand.	One (1) month
	Concern.	fine.		suspension.
(III) Being convicted or				
found guilty of,				
entering a plea, or				
committing or				
Florido Poord of Dontistry	<u>I</u>	I .	ı	26

attempting, soliciting,				
or conspiring to commit				
an act that would				
constitute a violation of				
any of the offenses				
<u>listed in s. 456.074(5),</u>				
F.S. or similar offense				
in another jurisdiction.				
(Section 456.072(1)(ss),				
F.S.)				
First Offense	Denial or	Denial or revocation of	Denial or	Same.
	revocation of	license and \$5,000 fine.	revocation of	
	license.		license.	
Second or Subsequent	Denial or	Denial/revocation of	Denial or	Same.
Offense	revocation of	license and \$10,000 fine.	revocation of	
	license and		license.	
	\$ <mark>5,000 </mark>			
	fine.			

- (2) Based upon consideration of aggravating or mitigating factors, present in an individual case, except for explicit statutory maximum and minimum penalty requirements, the Board may deviate from the penalties recommended in subsection (1), above, and subsection (3), below. The Board shall consider as aggravating or mitigating factors the following:
 - (a) through (j) No change.
- (k) <u>Degree of contrition and acceptance of responsibility by Respondent</u> Any other relevant mitigating or aggravating factor under the circumstances.
 - (3) through (5) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 456.079(1) <u>456.47(7)</u>, FS. Law Implemented 456.072(2), 456.079(1), <u>456.47(4)</u>, 466.028 FS. History–New 12-31-86, Amended 2-21-88, 1-18-89, 12-24-91, Formerly 21G-13.005, 61F5-13.005, 59Q-13.005, Amended 4-2-02, 8-25-03, 2-27-06, 12-25-06, 6-11-07, 9-15-10, 12-2-10, 1-24-12, 4-25-17, 11-14-18,

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Mr. Andrade to allow board counsel to provide response with amended changes

proposed on the record Second: Dr. White

Vote: Unanimous

The Board found there was no economic impact, that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated as a minor violation, that this rule shall not include a sunset provision. and that a Statement of Regulatory Cost was not necessary and will not need legislative ratification.

64B5-14.002 Prohibitions.

- (1) No change.
- (2) Nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia. No dentists or dental hygienist licensed in this State shall assist the dentist in initiating administer nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia in the practice of dentistry until they have complied with the provisions of this rule chapter, nor shall a hygienist assist the dentist in initiating administer—nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia to a patient previously sedated. No agents other than nitrous-oxide and oxygen shall be used for

inhalation analgesia pursuant to Rule 64B5-14.003, F.A.C.

- (3) through (5) No change.
- (6) A hygienist certified by the board to administer local anesthesia shall not administer local anesthesia to a patient sedated by general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or pediatric moderate sedation. If a dentist or dental hygienist has assisted the dentist in initiating administered nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia to the patient, the certified dental hygienist may administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of the supervising dentist. A patient who has been prescribed a medical drug by their licensed health care provider for the purposes of life functions may be administered local anesthesia by the certified dental hygienist under the direct supervision of the supervising dentist. If, however, the medical drug is prescribed or administered for the purposes of a dental procedure which is intended to induce minimal sedation, the hygienist may not administer local anesthesia to the patient.
 - (7) though (8) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), 466.017(6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), 466.017(5) FS. History—New 1-31-80, Amended 4-20-81, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.02, 21G-14.002, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.002, Amended 8-8-96, Formerly 59Q-14.002, Amended 3-9-03, 11-4-03, 6-15-06, 12-25-06, 12-11-11, 8-5-12, 12-15-14, 7-14-16, 11-13-17, 3-10-20.

64B5-14.003 Training, Education, Certification, and Requirements for Issuance of Permits.

- (1) through (3) No change.
- (4) Nitrous-Oxide Inhalation Analgesia.
- (a) A dentist may employ or use, or employ and authorize a dental hygienist to assist the dentist in initiating administer under indirect supervision, as specified by Rule 64B5-16.006, nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia on an outpatient basis for dental patients provided such dentist and dental hygienist have:
- 1. Has Ceompleted no less than a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental Association's "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students (eff. 10/16), which is hereby incorporated by reference and available at http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-11670 or available at http://www.floridadentistry.gov, or its equivalent, or
- 2. Has <u>T</u>training equivalent to that described above while a student in an accredited school of dentistry <u>or dental</u> <u>hygiene</u>; and,
 - 3. Has a A dental nitrous-oxide delivery system with fail-safe features and a 30% minimum oxygen flow.
- (b) A dentist utilizing nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia and such dentist's assistants and 4 dental hygienist personnel shall be certified in an American Heart Association or American Red Cross or equivalent Agency sponsored cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level to include one man CPR, two man CPR, infant resuscitation and obstructed airway with a periodic update not to exceed two years. A dentist and all assistant/dental hygienist personnel shall also be trained in the use of either an Automated External Defibrillator or a defibrillator and electrocardiograph as part of their cardiopulmonary resuscitation course at the basic life support level. In addition to CPR certification, a dentist utilizing pediatric moderate sedation must be currently trained in PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support).
 - (c) through (d) No change.
- (e) Dental assistants and dental hygienists may monitor nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia under the indirect supervision of a dentist if the dental assistant or dental hygienist has complied with the training requirements in paragraph 64B5-14.003(4)(b), F.A.C., and has completed, at a minimum, a two-day course of training as described in the American Dental Association's "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students" or its equivalent. After the dentist or dental hygienist has induced a patient and established the maintenance level, the assistant or hygienist may monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide oxygen making only diminishing adjustments during this administration and turning it off at the completion of the dental procedure.
 - (5) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(3), (6) FS. Law Implemented 466.017(3), (4), (5), (6) FS. History—New 1-31-80, Amended 4-20-81, 2-13-86, Formerly 21G-14.03, Amended 12-31-86, 11-8-90, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-14.003, Amended 12-20-93, Formerly 61F5-14.003, Amended 8-8-96, 10-1-96, Formerly 59Q-14.003, Amended 2-17-98, 12-20-98, 5-31-00, 6-7-01, 11-4-03, 6-23-04, 6-11-07, 2-8-12, 8-16-12 (1)(a)-(f), 8-16-12 (5), 8-19-13, 12-16-13, 3-9-14, 7-14-16, 11-13-17, 3-10-20, 8-5-21, _______.

b. Rules 64B5-14.002 and 14.003, F.A.C.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Ms. Johnson to allow board counsel to provide response changing the language from "administer to "assist the dentist in the initiation of nitrous oxide".

Second: Dr. Cherry Vote: Unanimous

c. Rule 64B5-16.006, F.A.C.

64B5-16.006 Remediable Tasks Delegable to a Dental Hygienist.

- (1) No change.
- (2) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures in pre-licensure education or who has received formal training as defined by Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., and who performs the tasks under Direct supervision:
 - (a) through (h) No change.
- (i) Assist the dentist in the initiation of Administer nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia-oxygen to a special needs or American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Category IV dental patients provided the patient has not been previously sedated and the Dental Hygienist is in full compliance with the requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003(4)(b), F.A.C.
 - (3) through (5) No change.
- (6) The following remediable tasks may be performed by a dental hygienist who has received training in these procedures in pre-licensure education or who has received formal training as defined by Rule 64B5-16.002, F.A.C., and who performs the tasks under Indirect supervision:
 - (a) through (f) No change.
- (g) Assist the dentist in the initiation of Administer Monitor the administration of the nitrous-oxide inhalation analgesia oxygen to American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Category I III dental patients provided the Dental Hygienist is in full compliance with the requirements of Rule 64B5-14.003(4)(b), F.A.C. making adjustments only during this administration and turning it off at the completion of the dental procedure; and,
 - (h) No change.
 - (7) through (11) No change.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.017(6), 466.023, 466.024 FS. Law Implemented 466.017(6), 466.023, 466.024 FS. History—New 1-18-89, Amended 11-16-89, 3-25-90, 9-5-91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-16.006, Amended 3-30-94, Formerly 61F5-16.006, Amended 1-9-95, 6-12-97, Formerly 59Q-16.006, Amended 1-25-98, 9-9-98, 3-25-99, 4-24-00, 9-27-01, 7-13-05, 2-14-06, 3-24-08, 7-20-09, 10-17-10, 8-5-12, 6-28-17, 8-29-17, 2-27-18, 12-9-18, 3-25-20, 3-30-21______.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Ms. Johnson to allow board counsel to provide response changing the language from "Administer to "assist the dentist in the initiation of nitrous oxide"

Second: Dr. Cherry

Vote: Unanimous

B. Executive Director

i. Financial Reports

Ms. Sapp provided the financial reports to the Board for informational purposes

- C. Chair
- D. Board Members
- E. Inspection Report
 - i. Ron Dilworth

Mr. Dilworth provided the Board with an update on the inspection program and the inspector training held on May 9 - 12, 2022. As of January 1, 2022, they have completed 292 inspections. Twenty-one (21) of those inspections were initial inspections.

IX. RULES DISCUSSION

A. Rule 64B5-1.002, F.A.C.

64B5-1.002 Unexcused Absences of Board Members.

- (1) A Board member's absence from a Board meeting shall be considered unexcused if the Board member had not received approval of the Chair or the Chair's designee prior to missing the meeting.
- (2) Arriving late for a Board meeting or leaving early from a Board meeting without prior approval of the Chair or the Chair's designee shall be considered an unexcused absence.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Miro to accept the proposed language

Second: Dr. McCawley Vote: Unanimous

The Board found there was no economic impact, that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated as a minor violation, that this rule shall not include a sunset provision. and that a Statement of Regulatory Cost was not necessary and will not need legislative

ratification.

B. Rules 64B5-2.013 and 2.0135, F.A.C

64B5-2.013 Dental Examination.

Each applicant applying for a Florida dental license is required to complete the examinations as provided for in Section 466.006, F.S. The Florida examinations for dentistry shall consist of a Written Examination, a Practical or Clinical Examination and a Diagnostic Skills Examination. All three examinations will be conducted in English. Applicants for examination or re-examination must have taken and successfully completed of the National Board of Dental Examiners dental examination.

- (1) Practical or Clinical Examination:
- (a) Effective October 1, 2011, the Florida Practical or Clinical Examination and the Diagnostic Skills Examination is currently the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADLEX) developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc., or its successor entity if the successor entity is determined by the Board of Dentistry to comply with

the provision of Section 466.006, F.S. The ADLEX is inclusive of a comprehensive diagnostic skills examination covering the full scope of the practice of dentistry.

- (b) All parts of the ADEX shall be completed within eighteen (18) months from the initial start of any portion of the examination. A failure to complete all parts of the examination within eighteen (18) months will require the applicant to retake the entire examination.
 - (c) Each part of the ADEX shall be completed with a grade of at least seventy-five (75%) percent.
- (d) Provided the Board of Dentistry maintains representation on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc., and the Examination Development Committee of the American Board of Dental Examiners Inc., the practical or clinical examination procedures, standards, and criteria of the ADEX are approved.
- (e) If any portion of the clinical or practical portion of the ADEX exam was completed in a jurisdiction other than Florida, applicants must comply with the applicable provisions of Sections 466.006(4)(b)3. and 466.006(6), F.S., Rules 64B5-2.0150 and 64B5-2.0152, F.A.C.
- (f) Candidates for the dental examination may only assess patients for suitability as exam patients at a dental office under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist, or at an accredited dental program under the direct supervision of a program faculty member.
 - (2) Written Examination:
- (a) The Written Examination for dental licensure shall consist of the laws and rules of the State of Florida regulating the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.
 - (b) A final grade of seventy-five (75%) percent or better is required to pass the Written Examination.

Rulemaking Authority 456.017(1)(b), 466.004(4), 466.006(5)(a) FS. Law Implemented 456.017(1)(b), (2), 466.006(4), 466.006(5)(a), 466.006(5)(a), 466.009 FS. History—New 10-8-79, Amended 6-22-80, 12-3-81, 12-6-82, 5-24-83, 12-12-83, 5-2-84, 5-27-84, Formerly 21G-2.13, Amended 12-8-85, 12-31-86, 5-10-87, 10-19-87, 12-10-89, 12-24-91, 2-1-93, Formerly 21G-2.013, 61F5-2.013, Amended 1-9-95, 2-7-96, 7-16-97, Formerly 59Q-2.013, Amended 8-25-98, 3-25-99, 11-15-99, 8-3-05, 7-17-07, 8-1-08, 6-28-09, 8-25-10, 5-8-12, 2-25-15, 6-24-21.

64B5-2.0135 Dental Hygiene Examination.

- (1) Practical or Clinical Examination:
- (a) Currently, the Florida practical or clinical examination is the Dental Hygiene Examination developed by the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (ADEX) and administered by the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA). Any ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination administered after June 1, 2010, will meet the clinical or practical examination requirement, regardless of the jurisdiction in which the exam was administered.
- (b) Any dental hygiene applicant, who fails to pass the Practical or Clinical Examination in three (3) attempts, shall not be eligible for reexamination until the successful completion of one academic semester of clinical course work at the senior clinical practice level at a dental hygiene school approved by the American Dental Association Commission on Accreditation. A failure to comply with the remedial course work in this paragraph will result in a denial of licensure or a denial to sit for reexamination.
- (c) The Board of Dentistry hereby approves the practical or clinical Dental Hygiene Examination developed by ADEX. All ADEX clinical or practical examination procedures, standards, and criteria are approved and shall remain approved contingent on the Board of Dentistry maintaining representation on the ADEX House of Representatives and the ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination Development Committee.
- (d) Candidates for the dental hygiene examination may only assess patients for suitability as exam patients at a dental office under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist, or at an accredited dental hygiene program, or an accredited dental school under the direct supervision of a program faculty member.
 - (2) Laws and Rules Examination:
- (a) The written examination shall be an examination covering the laws and rules applicable to the practice of a health care profession, the practice of dentistry and the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Florida.
 - (b) The examination shall, at a minimum, cover the following subject areas:
 - 1. The provisions of chapter 466, F.S.,
 - 2. The provisions of chapter 456, F.S.; and,

- 3. The provisions of chapter 64B5, F.A.C.
- (c) No more than three percent (3%) of the examination shall cover the topic of chapter 456, F.S.
- (3) All parts of the ADEX shall be completed within eighteen (18) months from the initial start of any portion of the examination. A failure to complete all parts of the examination within eighteen (18) months will require the applicant to retake the entire examination.
 - (4) Grading, Passing Results, and Time Requirements:
- (a) The practical or clinical examination must be completed with a score of seventy-five (75) points or greater on both portions of the examinations, whether administered in Florida or another jurisdiction.
 - (b) The written examination shall be completed with a seventy-five percent (75%) or greater.
 - (5) Historical Note Florida Dental Hygiene Exam:
- (a) On March 23, 2012, legislation became effective, SB 1040, which amended section 466.007, F.S. Beginning July 1, 2012, the amendment made the Florida Dental Hygiene Exam the hygiene examination developed by ADEX.
- (b) Prior to the legislative change, the Board voted and implemented the Dental Hygiene Exam developed by ADEX and set June 1, 2010, as the controlling date for acceptance of this exam. Preceding June 1, 2010, the hygiene examination was an independent administered state exam.
- (c) In accordance with the applicable rules and statutes, June 1, 2010, is the earliest date the Board shall accept for a valid Dental Hygiene Exam developed by ADEX, as this is the earliest date the Board and Council found the ADEX exam met the requirements of section 466.007, F.S.

Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4) FS. Law Implemented 466.007 FS. History—New 3-16-82, Amended 5-2-84, 5-19-85, 10-8-85, 12-8-85, Formerly 21G-2.135, Amended 12-31-86, 10-19-87, 2-21-88, 5-29-88, Formerly 21G-2.0135, 61F5-2.0135, Amended 11-15-95, Formerly 59Q-2.0135, Amended 10-31-01, 7-6-05, 12-31-09, 10-10-10, 12-28-11, 8-8-12, 1-27-15, 9-1-15, 5-3-21.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the proposed changes

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

The Board found there was no economic impact, that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated as a minor violation, that this rule shall not include a sunset provision. and that a Statement of Regulatory Cost was not necessary and will not need legislative ratification.

C. Rule 64B5-9.011, F.A.C.

i. Application

The application has been updated to incorporate changes to Rule 64B5-9.011, F.A.C. that became effective on April 3, 2022.

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. Tejera to accept the proposed changes to the application

Second: Mr. Andrade Vote: Unanimous

The Board found there was no economic impact, that no part of this rule or a violation of this rule should be designated as a minor violation, that this rule shall not include a sunset provision. and that a Statement of Regulatory Cost was not necessary and will not need legislative ratification.

X. DISCUSSION

A. Sedation of Special Needs Patients – Kent Weitzel, DMD

Dr. Weitzel addressed the board regarding the lack of access to dental care for adult special needs patients. Dr. Weitzel refenced the Pennsylvania model which is made up of education in the dental schools, clinical facilities in the dental schools, and treating special needs patients with the combined efforts of a dental anesthesiologist and a general dentist. He also referenced the Pennsylvania anesthesia dental law which allows non-sedation permitted dentists to bring in a mobile anesthesiologist for treatment of adult special needs patients. He noted that Ohio, Arizona, Texas, Colorado, and California have adopted similar models in their respective states. Allison Seaman and Robert McLean also addressed the board regarding difficulties they have personally encountered in obtaining dental care for their special needs children. The Board thanked Dr. Weitzel for his presentation and thanked Ms. Seaman and Mr. McLean for sharing their concerns but believe that making a change to our anesthesia rule would not increase access to care and could compromise patient safety.

Casey Stoutamire spoke on behalf of the Florida Dental Association (FDA) regarding the access to care and stated that the FDA will continue to work on this issue.

XI. FOR YOUR INFORMATION

A. Florida Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) Monthly Report

XII. NEW BUSINESS

A. Licensure Ratification Lists

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. White to approve the licensure ratification list

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

B. Anesthesia Ratification List

After discussion, the following action was taken:

Motion: by Dr. White to approve the anesthesia ratification list

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

XIII. OLD BUSINESS

A. Approval of Board Meeting Minutes – February 18, 2022

Motion: by Dr. White to approve the minutes

Second: Ms. Hill Vote: Unanimous

XIV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:30 p.m.