Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Dental Teaching Permit.
The requirements to obtain a teaching permit are outlined in s. 466.002, Florida Statutes and Rule 64B5-7.005, Florida Administrative Code and include the following:
- Is a full-time dental instructor;
- Does not engage in the practice of dentistry, except at the teaching facilities under the accredited dental program.
- Has completed CPR certification at the basic life support level. If otherwise eligible, the faculty member will be granted a permit with the requirement that current CPR certification be obtained within 60 days. Each faculty member holding a teaching faculty permit shall maintain current CPR certification.
- Has a degree in dentistry and either:
1) is eligible to take the Florida dental licensure examination and has not failed the examination on three occasions
2) was at one time eligible to take the Florida examination, and has not failed the Florida dental licensure examination on three occasions
3) has successfully completed a post-doctoral training program of at least two years in duration and accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association
4) is not eligible to take the Florida examination, but obtained the degree from a foreign dental education program and agrees to practice dentistry only under the general supervision of a Florida licensed dentist
- Pass the Dental Laws & Rules Examination.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
The dean of the dental school shall submit Application for Teaching Permit, along with a cover letter requesting the permit with emphasis on teaching experience of applicant, subject areas to be taught and status of any malpractice claims or state board disciplinary actions, as well as proof of current CPR certification at basic life support level and proof of graduation from dental school (final transcript or copy of diploma).
Teaching permit applicants must successfully complete the Dental Laws and Rules examination. The permit will be issued upon receipt of a passing score and a completed application. The licensure letter and dental teaching permit will be mailed to the dean.
Applicants for teaching permit may take the Florida Laws and Rules examination at any time by registering with the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) at www.cdcaexams.org.
Once the applicant has completed the Florida Laws and Rules examination, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with the applicant name and date of examination.