Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for Local Anesthesia for Dental Hygienists.
Applicants for certification in the administration of local anesthesia must complete a course in the administration of local anesthesia which is offered by a dental or dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or approved by the board. The course must include a minimum of 30 hours of didactic instruction and 30 hours of clinical experience, and instruction in:
- Theory of pain control.
- Selection-of-pain-control modalities.
- Pharmacology of local anesthetics.
- Pharmacology of vasoconstrictors.
- Psychological aspects of pain control.
- Systematic complications.
- Techniques of maxillary anesthesia.
- Techniques of mandibular anesthesia.
- Infection control.
- Medical emergencies involving local anesthesia.
The dental hygienist must present evidence of current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support with the application for certification to administer local anesthesia.
Upon receipt of a complete application, board staff will add the Local Anesthesia qualification to the license and a new license will be issued. The license is to be prominently displayed at the location where the dental hygienist is authorized to administer local anesthesia.
Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health.
|Application Fee||$35.00 (one-time fee)|
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Section 466.017: Prescription of drugs; anesthesia.
Florida Administrative Codes
Rule 64B5-14: Anesthesia