Dental Temporary Certificates


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Renewal Requirements, Process, Fees and Continuing Education (CE) for a Dental Temporary Certificates.

Dental temporary certificates expire on February 28 of the even numbered years.

Temporary certificates shall be renewed each biennium.

The board office staff will mail a letter to each certificate holder approximately 90 days before the expiration of the certificate.

The certificate holder will be required to affirm that he or she has completed the continuing education requirements for renewal and return the letter to the board office.

None

Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

To locate board approved CE Courses for this profession, please click here

Required Subject AreaRequired Number of HoursImportant Information
General Hours28
Medical Error2
Domestic Violence2Due every third biennium.
HIV/AIDS2Due for the first renewal only.
Current CPR Certification0Required to have a current CPR Certification and it must be a live course.
Safe and Effective Prescribing of controlled substances2Effective July 1, 2019, required for all dentists at every renewal. This course may be included to meet the 30 total general hours required. Board approved courses are found at https://apps.cebroker.com/cs/courses/fl/dentist/sa=3313.
Human Trafficking1Each licensee or certificate holder shall complete a board-approved, 1 hour continuing education course on human trafficking. The course may be included in the total general hours required and must be completed by January 1, 2021. Required in accordance with Section 456.0341, Florida Statutes.

*Note: The 1 hour of Human Trafficking is included in the required general hours.

sm_divider

First Biennium Renewal: If you are newly licensed and renewing your license for the first time you are only required to complete 2 hours on Prescribing Controlled Substances and 2 hours of HIV/AIDS.

Florida Statutes

Section 456.013: Department; general licensing provisions

Florida Administrative Code

Rule 64B5-7.0035: Temporary Certificate Requirements for Dentists Practicing in State and County Government Facilities